reviews for: listing #17228 - Peaks Island, Maine House rental

Pondsea Place: Between the Atlantic & Great Trout Pond!
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  15
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $2,000 - $3,000 /wk

sort by:

A cozy spot on an amazing island

Review submitted: August 6, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

Our experience at Peaks was perfect - we never left the island and rarely used our car (mostly strollers for children or bikes). We had a total of 5 small children and 8 adults in our group and there was plenty of room for all in the cabin. The kitchen was well stocked with supplies and we mostly ate in. The house itself was very nice - plenty of space for children to spread out and play games etc. It would be even better if the downstairs could get more of a breeze w/ screen doors. the location was pretty good - near the fun indian trails which were perfect for children to hike and also close to town and our favorite beach on Greenwood St. Next time I may choose a house a bit closer to the ocean to be able to hear the water and also being near a pond there were definitely a good number of mosquitos to deal with, but nothing extreme. I would definitely recommend this house if you want something affordable and not super luxurious to use as a home base for a fun week on peak's.

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: Thank you for your informative review. Our landscaper has applied an all natural solution for the mosquitos and our most recent guests told us that it is definitely working! Again thanks for the feedback. It was most helpful!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spacious, clean, beautiful views. Well worth it!

Review submitted: June 14, 2013   Date of arrival: June 7, 2013

I stayed here with a few friends for a long weekend and we were very impressed. There rooms were great, all had comfortable beds and most had bureaus for clothing and whatnot. The kitchen appliances (fridge, stove, oven, dishwasher...) were all nice and clean and working great. The deck out back had a great view of the ocean and a smaller pond directly behind the house. I would definitely stay at Pondsea Place again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Pondsea Place

Review submitted: August 28, 2012   Date of arrival: August 18, 2012

Description was accurate. Property was clean and welcoming. Owner provided lots of helpful information - where to swim, restaurants, bike rental. We had a big group of teenagers who loved exploring the island on their bikes and trying the different beaches. The house is beautifully equipped for cooking and eating. Some beds are less comfortable than others and some of the pillows were hard but there were enough to allow choices for everyone. The deck is private and spacious. We played games and ate out there a lot. The overlook is always alive with herons, gulls and just below us were a pair of black ducks always upending themselves for food. Very peaceful. We came away feeling that Peaks, especially on the Ram Island side, is extraordinarily beautiful.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Worth The Trip

Review submitted: October 29, 2011   Date of arrival: October 14, 2011

My five friends and I spent a long weekend celebrating our fiftieth year at Pondsea. Everything we could have wanted and more was available to us. We'd all go back and plan on doing so in the near future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you for your appreciative words! It is a genuine pleasure to host bithdays, family reunions, small weddings and other occasions for celebration at Pondsea Place. We look forward to having you back in the future!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

A Wonderful Vacation House

Review submitted: August 23, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

We have just returned from a great week staying at Pondsea Place.

The kids (12 and 14 year olds) had lots of room to roam and to just chill out. The adults had a great kitchen to work in, lots of room for relaxing on the deck, and the peace of Peaks Island.

Pondsea Place is close enough to the ferry landing area so that biking over for ice cream or an ocassional item from the store is easy, but far enough away that the day-trip crowd never comes by. We rented bikes for the week and did not miss having a car at all.

This house is well-cared for, clean, and spacious. We'll be back.

(one note: the oven wasn't working at full strength while we were there, so we could not bake, but I'm sure it has been fixed)

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you Tamara for your great review! Today we bought a brand new gas range. We love keeping things in great condition for our guests. We look forward to having you and your family back again!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The layout of the house is ideal, plenty of space

Review submitted: July 28, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

My family has been going to Peaks Island for generations and we have so many wonderful memories. This year I wanted all of my family to be together in one house so I rented Pondsea Place mostly because of the size. It was beyond my expectations. My kids and I stayed the whole week and were able to accommodate all the other family and friends that came to visit us quite comfortably. The layout of the house is ideal, allowing plenty of space to all be together or find a little peace and quiet for yourself. The setting is beautiful and the location is perfect. From the deck we could see the pond below and the ocean beyond, I don’t know another spot on the island that offers this view. I highly recommend this property to anyone looking for a large, clean beautiful home for their vacation.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had an absolutely wonderful time!

Review submitted: July 16, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

Hi Carolyn,


We had an absolutely wonderful time up on the island, your home is beautiful. If you ever need anyone to supply a recommendation for your property please let me know.

All the best,

Shelley

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review