reviews for: listing #17239 - San Francisco, California Apartment rental

4 Bedroom Victorian Flat - Garage Parking - Washer/Dryer
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  Apartment
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Castro/Upper Market
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $550 - $550 /nt
    $3,500 - $3,500 /wk

sort by:

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 14, 2007   Date of arrival: November 1, 2007

Absolutely Brilliant location, 2 blocks to all forms of transport and big supermarket. down the street -crn Noe st & Market st -is one of the City's best Cafes. Awesome restaurants very close by.
Very Spacious apartment with all amenities. would highly recommend property and location, we would definetly stay there again, cannot speak highly enough oh it!

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 

Lovely House but noisey.

Review submitted: October 25, 2013   Date of arrival: October 16, 2013

The house was great for four single people, plenty of room and reasonable fittings. Excellent location. Noise was the main issue, there is a great restaurant down stairs but the noise comes through loud and clear until it cloeses at 11pm. Then you get the upstairs people walking around on the wood floors in the morning. It is also on a busy street with lots of walkers. So not good if you want to sleep.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wonderful San Francisco apartment

Review submitted: August 3, 2013   Date of arrival: July 25, 2013

The apartment is spacious with lots of natural light in the day. The two sets of bedrooms were at opposite ends of a long hallway which gives some privacy -- we had seven people sleeping there. The beds were very comfortable and the kitchen was well equipped. It comes with a garage space and is close to groceries, restaurants and public transportation. It's in a lovely, walkable and safe neighborhood. We LOVED it and would return.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Excellent location and very clean

Review submitted: July 6, 2013   Date of arrival: June 28, 2013

This is our 3rd time staying here and plan to be back.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Lovely location

Review submitted: April 24, 2013   Date of arrival: April 11, 2013

We had such a great vacation staying in this rental. The location is perfect. We loved the restaurant below us and the cafe just up the street. There is quite a bit of noise throughout the evening. Not a problem for us. I highly recommend this property. Everything was great!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful Place

Review submitted: October 8, 2012   Date of arrival: September 29, 2012

This place has all the old victorian charm with a bunch of modern updates. The rooms are big - each bedroom has lots of room and theres plenty of room in the living room and dining room. And the high ceilings add even more to the expansiveness. The kitchen has nice marble countertops, a dishwasher and disposal as well as everything you need for basic cooking and eating with a big group.

And its all located in a nice neighborhood with good local restaurants (try the Slider Bar on Market, Jumpin Java just half a block away, and L'Ardoise right below the flat) and easy and inexpensive transportation options a few blocks away on Market.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

An urban oasis with turn-of-the-century charm!

Review submitted: August 22, 2012   Date of arrival: August 9, 2012

The beauty of this Victorian-era flat is something that can only be experienced first-hand. As soon as we walked up the short staircase into the main hallway and living space of this 2nd floor apartment, we were taken aback at its sheer exquisite beauty. I made the comment that I was 'afraid to touch anything, it was so beautiful!' However, the apartment quickly made us feel welcome, and after just one day of sight-seeing, we felt like we were coming back home at night. The spacious living areas and modern kitchen were well-used each day. We found ourselves wanting for nothing while we fell into our daily routine of breakfast and a late dinner in the dining room with a full San Fran day in between. The 2 bathrooms and 4 bedrooms are well-appointed with luxury linens and modern fixtures. The rooms all have modern conveniences and electronics (an iHome in each room!) Also, with 5 adults using the flat, we never even ran out of hot water!

We spent a day walking up and down Market St., which is a stone's throw from the flat, checking out the thrift and re-sale stores. Since the flat is also about a block from 3 forms of public transport- Muni rail, bus and streetcar, we also had easy access to downtown, Golden Gate Park, and the North Beach area. While there is a parking spot available for the flat, it's so easy to see the city without a car, so we never used it!

We agree with the owner and recommend the Squat and Gobble cafe down the street. Noe St., closer to Market, is also lined with little convenience stores, and there was even a vendor selling fresh-cut flowers right on the corner! It was a shame the French restaurant l'Ardoise on the 1st floor of our building was never open while we were there, because their menu looked really good. If you like specialty beer, pay a visit to Healthy Spirits- the beer and hummus shop on the corner of 15th and Castro next to the bus stop. Sounds strange, I know- but take a look- it's worth it! For those who like nightlife, the bartenders at Lucky 13 on Market made us feel like locals by the 2nd night.

I highly recommend this location to anyone who wants to visit the heart of the city and take in its local ambiance. This flat truly enhanced our San Francisco experience!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Confortable and ideally located

Review submitted: August 10, 2012   Date of arrival: July 25, 2012

Very nice, clean and comfortable appartment, ideally located in a pleasant neighborhood. We all appreciated being close to public transportation and nice restaurants. I definitely recommend 153 Noe St.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Confortable and ideally situated

Review submitted: August 5, 2012   Date of arrival: July 25, 2012

Very nice, clean and comfortable appartment, ideally situated in a pleasant neighborhood. We all appreciated being close to public transportation and nice restaurants. I definitely recommend 153 Noe St!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

wonderful apartment in San Fran

Review submitted: July 24, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

What a wonderful experience. We were a party of 10, 8 adults and 2 children. Rented the smaller apartment on Henry street at the same time. The smaller bedroom is ideal for children. The furnishings and amenities were beautiful . The apartment was spotless and we took advantage of the wonderful French restaurant below. Highly recommend this apartment for a weeks stay in SF

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great for families!

Review submitted: July 20, 2012   Date of arrival: July 11, 2012

We were in the area for a family vacation to visit our daughter and son in law at Travis Air Force Base. The flat was a wonderful option for our family. We were able to access public transportation nearby as promised. The flat was just as it looked in the pictures and you-tube video. We especially liked the tree lined street and the sitting area in front of the flat. Restaurants were a short walk away.

The front of the flat was noisy until the French restaurant below the flat closed (I think it was only open until 9-10 on weeknights and 11 on weekends.)

The flat worked very well for our large family: kids, spouses and toddlers. I would rent it again on another trip to the city.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great for families!

Review submitted: July 20, 2012   Date of arrival: July 11, 2012

We were in the area for a family vacation to visit our daughter and son in law at Travis Air Force Base. The flat was a wonderful option for our family. We were able to access public transportation nearby as promised. The flat was just as it looked in the pictures and you-tube video. We especially liked the tree lined street and the sitting area in front of the flat. Restaurants were a short walk away.

The front of the flat was noisy until the French restaurant below the flat closed (I think it was only open until 9-10 on weeknights and 11 on weekends.)

The flat worked very well for our large family: kids, spouses and toddlers. I would rent it again on another trip to the city.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great for families

Review submitted: July 20, 2012   Date of arrival: July 11, 2012

We were in the area for a family vacation to visit our daughter and son in law at Travis Air Force Base. The flat was a wonderful option for our family. We were able to access public transportation nearby as promised. The flat was just as it looked in the pictures and you-tube video. We especially liked the tree lined street and the sitting area in front of the flat. Restaurants were a short walk away.

The front of the flat was noisy until the French restaurant below the flat closed (I think it was only open until 9-10 on weeknights and 11 on weekends.)

The flat worked very well for our large family: kids, spouses and toddlers. I would rent it again on another trip to the city.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Place - Well located, appointed & maintained.

Review submitted: July 8, 2012   Date of arrival: June 25, 2012

I look forward to visiting here again and have recommended to others already. Everything was as per photos, with an overall feeling of civilized living that was appreciated once there. We also appreciated the clean condition on arrival - the housekeepers appear to be regulars and were on the ball again as we departed. The kitchen was well-equipped for home-cookers, and the sushi place across the street an excellent value with wide selection and some artistry. Did not manage to sample the french bistro downstairs - must make reservations early if you are a party of 3 or more. Subway line and street car make getting around easy. Those with cars should take seriously the warning about vehicle size and the garage.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

family reunion week-end

Review submitted: June 14, 2012   Date of arrival: June 8, 2012

Four siblings and spouses shared this house for a family reunion. Everything was great. The key was where it was supposed to be, the internet and TV worked. There were basic supplies, like paper towels, toilet paper and soap, coffee filters and spices.
The house is charming, in a nice neighborhood, convenient to activities that we had planned.
We raffled which couple stayed in which room. The smallest of the couples ended up with the smallest room, the one with the trundle bed. The rest of us were lucky to get a larger bed.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful flat

Review submitted: May 22, 2012   Date of arrival: May 17, 2012

This was a perfect location to stay with family for a 4-day San Francisco holiday. The owners were helpful and flexible and the home could not have been more comfortable and clean. We would stay here again without question.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Long Weekend Retreat!

Review submitted: April 9, 2012   Date of arrival: April 5, 2012

This is a gem, perfect location with access to transit, restaurants, and exploring the city. Great spot for the entire family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful huge old apartment in great location

Review submitted: April 1, 2012   Date of arrival: March 16, 2012

This apartment is huge! I think it is larger than the owner's Youtube video makes it look. With two bedrooms at the front and two at the back, it gives good privacy so that everyone can feel they have their own space. It is in an accessible location from the municipal line (subway) as well as the trains to the Noe Valley shopping area. The apartment itself is very well supplied so that you can make and enjoy your own meals in the full sized kitchen and huge dining room. The only drawback - not something the owner can modify - is that there is a certain amount of noise at the front of the building from outside traffic (4-way stop just under the window) and the restaurant downstairs, but it is all pretty good after about 11 p.m. until around 6 a.m. This mostly affects the front two bedrooms and the dining room. The restaurant noise is not bothersome, but the odd truck rolling by outside in the moring can be enough to waken lighter sleepers, so put those guests in the two rooms by the kitchen.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: January 2, 2010   Date of arrival: January 2, 2010

Our international family of 7 stayed for 4 nights
and loved every minute of it. The flat was very
large and beautifully furnished with lots of charm,
color and comfy furnishings. The beds were
perfect as was the well stock kitchen. Close to evey
thing and easy to get around on the street cars,
buses and trollies. If we're ever fortunate enough
to come to San Francisco again, this will be our
choice. Thanks for a really memorable stay!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Top Notch Flat on Noe

Review submitted: August 6, 2008   Date of arrival: July 25, 2008

I rented this apartment in July for an extended Girls Weekend in SanFran. It was fabulous! The kitchen and bathrooms were remodeled with stylish cabinets, granite and marble. The furnishings and artwork were very nice.
It was exceptionally homey, clean and a great place for all 5 of us to start our day with coffee and end it with a nightcap. We rented an apartment over hotels because rooms were expensive and we wanted a place where we could gather and visit. I would highly recommend this flat for groups or a big family. It's located in the Castro Neighborhood (a gay neighborhood) which was not mentioned in the ad. There are great restaurants. We ate at the Purple Haze. The drawback to the eatery (a big one for us) were the small screens showing gay borderline porn which were visible from our table. The flat is close to the streetcar (just 2 blocks to Market) which takes you right into Union Square.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 6, 2008   Date of arrival: August 6, 2008

VRBO Bear stayed here - 08/01/2008 - "on site review: This charming Victorian flat is a must for truly getting the effect of living in the heart of San Francisco. It has all the modern conveniences of home with the authenticity of the Victorian era. Dramatic high ceilings with detailed crown molding and lovely sculptured light fixtures were found in almost every room. The hardwood floors throughout the flat are extremely beautiful as is the remodeled kitchen and marble bathrooms.

We were impressed by the layout of the flat with two bedrooms in the front and two in the back with a long hallway adjoining. It is extremely spacious and perfect for two families. There is a beautiful formal dining room and comfy living room with plenty of space to relax after a day touring the city! Speaking of relaxing, the beds were heavenly! We spent one evening strolling the neighborhood, picking up a few things at a local market and dining in. It was an experience in itself to soak up the ambiance of this historical place.

We have to say that the bear fell in love and left his heart in San Francisco! "

The VRBO Bear

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

travellers from NZ

Review submitted: March 1, 2008   Date of arrival: September 1, 2007

This flat easily met its description. My adult family and friends, 6 of us, had a wonderful stay in September 07.
The house was spotless, well supplied with linen etc, roomy, comfortable and felt like home for the 2 weeks.
Public transport is excellent making all of the city accessible, and locally we enjoyed Chow on Church St for late night informal food, Porchlight on Monday Night at Cafe du Nord and The Castro.
It is on the second floor so not suitable if you are disabled and the owners are right in recommending a small car as garage access is tight.
We have recommended this flat to friends visiting later this year.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 8, 2007   Date of arrival: May 8, 2007

I have been meaning to send you a note since the crew got back. They loved your place and are still raving about it! It worked so well as far as location goes with everything at their finger tips and was just a great place to download the days events and hangout!
We would definitely love to use your property again should the occasion arise.

Thank you again
Cheers Richelle

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review