reviews for: listing #1726 - Asheville, North Carolina House rental

Mountain House-Spectacular views in private setting
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Fairview
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $209 - $209 /nt
    $1,295 - $1,295 /wk
    $4,290 - $4,290 /mth

sort by:

Well cared for home at the top of the mountain

Review submitted: October 24, 2013   Date of arrival: October 13, 2013

My girlfriends and I have stayed in several rental properties over the years and found this property to breath taking. The journey to the house is like going around a mountain - loads of fun. At the end of the road is this well loved home. that is warm and inviting; the views are amazing. Best of all, it is within minutes of Asheville and the surrounds which makes it the perfect retreat after a day of touring. There are grocery stores nearby as well as a wonderful Chinese Carry out and Italian restaurant. The owner was very easy to deal with, providing prompt responses to any questions. Security deposit was returned promptly. We would highly recommend this property.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful home and views

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: August 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed a week with our two daughters. The house is very nice and comfortable, with spectacular views from the back porch. The area is very peaceful and relaxing, but just a short drive to Asheville. We did day trips for hiking and sightseeing, and always looked forward to returning to Chestnut Forest. The kitchen is very well done and stocked with useful kitchen utensils. David was extremely helpful and a pleasure to deal with.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Second visit to this wonderful home

Review submitted: July 8, 2013   Date of arrival: May 27, 2013

My wife and I have rented this wonderful retreat twice...each time for two weeks. I guess it was just dumb luck finding this place, because I cannot imagine anything much better. The home is spacious, well designed for up to 6 people, decorated with many unique items you might find in your own home. The kitchen is well equipped and there is a very nice gas grill on the side of the home.

The most appealing part of the house has to be the large deck and hot tub with a view that is quite hard to describe. Sitting in the Adirondack chairs or at the outdoor table one can see for miles over green blue hills of thick forest, full birds and other wildlife. Often I would get up around 7 and take a cup of coffee and a book outside. The temperature was typically 60-65 degrees and the mountain birds would be singing delightfully. I could pass an hour or two simply enjoying the view or reading my book and sipping coffee...incredibly relaxing.

My wife and I have enjoyed this home and Asheville so much that we are considering purchasing a second home in the area where we could live in the summers, but it would have to have a setting and view similar to this home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

What a View!

Review submitted: May 26, 2013   Date of arrival: May 15, 2013

Actually, the picture from the deck doesn’t really do it justice. Before we even unlocked the door, we walked around to see the mountain vista and it was truly beautiful. Then we tried out the Adirondack chairs and almost didn’t get up. During our stay, we enjoyed everything from wine and appetizers to coffee and bowls of cereal from our personal front row view of the mountains. We watched the fog rolling up the sides of the hills, the hawks playing in the draft of rising warm air, and listened to the pileated woodpeckers calling to one another and the nest of baby chickadees chirping away in their cozy house. Each night the hardest decision we faced was whether to eat at one of the many restaurants in town or pick up something from Ingles supermarket on the way back to the house and enjoy the privacy and the view. Be sure to stay enough nights to do both and maybe even bring a pre-made dinner from home to make it easy. As far as eating in town, make reservations before you leave home if you want to eat at one of the more popular restaurants. A few places won’t take reservations but do take call ahead seating which will put you at the top of the list when you arrive. A tip for parking downtown: if you use the parking garages, they give you the first hour free and cost 25 cents/hour less than the street meters so don’t sweat it if you can’t parallel park.

We originally made reservations at the Grove Park Inn but changed our minds and rented this beautiful home instead. It was definitely the right decision for us since we really enjoyed having all the amenities and privacy of home plus the beautiful view and just a 15-20 minute drive to downtown Asheville. Thanks for a great vacation, David, and for your help with directions and restaurant suggestions. We will definitely come back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Retreat

Review submitted: May 1, 2013   Date of arrival: April 24, 2013

We rented this home for a family reunion. We found the décor of the house very warm and comfortable. The beds were really nice, the kitchen well equipped. The location is serene and peaceful - the only noise was the birds chirping and the hot tub running! The views are phenomenal, I think the on line photos are nice but the view is actually more beautiful than the photos. The grille on the deck is also well equipped and enjoyed using it. The hot tub was great to soak in and enjoy the view. The main floor bathroom is simply gorgeous. Our families had a fantastic time and we are sure that this home played a great role in our experience. The Owner, David was great to rent from and we surely would rent again from him. The location is great, only a short drive, scenic drive to downtown Asheville. Good restaurants are nearby – we enjoyed “Piazza Pizza” (great pizza that could hold its own in Chicago), “Nachos and Beer” was good Mexican food. For breakfast we especially enjoyed “Tupelo Honey”. We found a great coffee/chocolate shop in downtown Asheville (French Broad Chocolate Lounge) and the Oaxaca hot chocolate was incredible. We also took the micro brewery beer tour (Asheville Brewery tour – say hi to Critter our tour guide for us) – visited Piscah, Highland, Wicked Weed, and Green Man, and a moonshine distillery (Troy & Sons). All of the stops on the tour were highly enjoyable. Of course we also visited Biltmore which is quite a house too.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

AMAZING!

Review submitted: April 14, 2013   Date of arrival: April 6, 2013

This is the first time my husband and I have rented a vacation home and everything about the experience exceeded our expectations. The views were just as beautiful (if not better) than the photos. The accomodations were spacious, clean, and well maintained. Great attention was paid to the details - from scented soaps to high quality cookware - everything you could want was readily available. The location is ideally situated in the mountains but within 20 minutes of Asheville. Lots to do or not do - the choice is yours. If you are looking for a luxurious home to get away from it all this place is ideal.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Thanksgiving to remember

Review submitted: November 27, 2012   Date of arrival: November 18, 2012

What a wonderful Thanksgiving week! We arrived the weekend before Thanksgiving to this wonderful, and beautifully maintained, mountain retreat. A binder of information specific to the house awaited us. Area attractions and businesses were also listed for our convenience. We started a fire , propped our feet up and started to unwind.
The home and surrounding yard are meticulously maintained. The owner was readily available should we have needed help or information of some sort but, truthfully,all of our needs had been anticipated and we did not find anything lacking.
The home is located centrally to all that we wanted to do... from hiking trails along the Blue Ridge Parkway, to visiting Asheville. The deck with hot tub provided glorious morning and evening vistas to sit back and enjoy. The kitchen is a cook's dream! Everything you could possible need was provided, and all was of good quality. Information books, and pamphlets,specific to the area are available in the home, which also has wifi for those who wish it.
I have rented numerous mountain retreats over the years and I can say, without doubt, this home exceeded my expectations in every way. And I have pretty high standards! My husband and I agree this was the best mountain vacation, by far, due in great part to this property. Our 20 something daughters agree..... the best vacation yet!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Best decision in 2012

Review submitted: November 20, 2012   Date of arrival: November 11, 2012

I have just returned from a great week at this welcoming home..this was difficult year for me..I had suffered a huge personal loss.. arriving here I immediately felt like I came home. Every room of the home has been meticulously maintained and is decorated beautifully. EVERYTHING has been thought out so you can arrive and never need to worry about a thing. All the info you need is in 1 binder..read and relax for the balance of your time away.. Beds are comfy,Cozy! You have amazing veiws from many windows in the ho use and even better veiws from the deck.. I hope to visit again.,this was my first trip to the mountains., I NEED to come back and experience every season here.. While staying at the house we did dome sightseeing around the area. I had some really amazing meals in downtown Nashville.e but the highlight of my visit was simply relaxing in the house., enjoying the veiws and the peaceful atmosphere of this home!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The best of the Blue Ridge Mountains

Review submitted: November 4, 2012   Date of arrival: October 13, 2012

I fine it difficult to say something the previous reviews haven't said already. We have stayed in western North Carolina every year for the past 10 years. This was our 3rd time at David's house and without a doubt is the best in every category. The house is just 10 minutes from grocery stores, gas stations and restaurants in Fairview. And you can be in downtown Asheville in 20 minutes or less. The house is ideal: it makes you feel like you are home, except for the view of course! We won't consider another rental when we return to the Smokey Mountains next time.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The view alone would be enough!

Review submitted: September 29, 2012   Date of arrival: September 23, 2012

This property could NOT be more perfect! The pictures posted of the views are no exaggeration! Whether sitting in the hot tub, relaxing in the hammock, or lounging in the comfortable deck furniture - GORGEOUS. Everything you could possibly need is there! Kitchen -top notch, Beautiful bathroom with fabulous shower! Comfy beds and pillows with cozy comforters. Perfectly located close to everything. Downtown Asheville, Biltmore, and a myriad of waterfalls.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Perfect Retreat

Review submitted: June 13, 2012   Date of arrival: June 8, 2012

This home has all the necessary amenities and more! It is so nice to be close to the city yet be able to quickly retreat to this quiet haven when you're ready to rest and recoup. We found ourselves just wanting to go back to this rental rather than explore the area. The fireplace, hot tub, bedrooms, deck furniture, tv, deck views, and kitchen are all functional, well-decorated, clean and over the top to make this a perfect vacation rental. We are already making plans to return again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Doesn't Get Any Better Than This

Review submitted: April 21, 2012   Date of arrival: April 1, 2012

This house has the most awesome views!! The pictures can't even capture how beautiful it really is. The house is fabulous! I thought that I had died and gone to heaven while sitting with my sister in the hot tub each evening with a tasty glass of wine and looking out over that beautiful view. Everything was clean and so very comfortable. The outside is very private. You can't see any other houses on the mountain and the houses on the other mountains are so far away you would need binaculars to really see anyone. I highly recommend this place.
Patti

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Chestnut Forest Cabin

Review submitted: June 8, 2011   Date of arrival: May 26, 2011

The cabin was very private with a spectacular view! The view from the deck is amazing so we spent most of our time enjoying the outdoor amenities (hot tub, patio, grill).

The property was well maintained inside and outside. It is well stocked with everything you need for the stay and very comfortable.

The owner provided lots of information on things to do in the area. Asheville offers an enjoyable downtown area with lots of art, food, and shopping. The Biltmore Estates are fabulous and worth the admission price. Golfing at the local golf course was very affordable.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Best view in Asheville

Review submitted: May 9, 2011   Date of arrival: April 21, 2011

I had one of the best times ever in the western NC/ Tennessee region.... all thanks to my stay at the Chestnut Forest cabin. Excellent amenities! Everything we needed was right there (and then some!). This was our first stay in Asheville and we hope to stay many more times in the future. The area is just beautiful and there are many places to go and things to see. There's something for everyone. If you ever choose to visit Asheville, I highly recommend staying at the Chestnut Forest property. We enjoyed many gorgeous views and not to mention, a gorgeously attired decor. It was also very cozy and we felt right at home. David and Mary did an excellent job at attending to our needs. I can't stop saying good things about this place.... A+++

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review