reviews for: listing #172607ha - Ojochal, Costa Rica rental

Luxury Home, Mtn & Ocean Views, Book Now for Best Green Season Rates
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • rates (USD)  $ 140 - $ 182 / night
    $ 728 - $ 1,128 / week
    $ 2,100 - $ 3,120 / month
  • sleeps  8
  • pets considered  no

sort by:

Felt like a home away from home!

Review submitted: April 21, 2014   Date of arrival: April 5, 2014

Villa Tranquila is a very comfortable house in an idyllic location. We are a family of 4 and took my parents and had plenty of room. It is off the beaten path and away from crowds so it was a very restful place to be. We all enjoyed cooling off in the pool after being out for the day. Although it was hot the house has fans everywhere and felt comfortable since it is at a high elevation.

Alan was very helpful with his directions and tips. We recommend having a 4 wheel drive car as the road to the house is unpaved and it takes about 15 minutes to get up the hill from the main paved road. We enjoyed the French bakery at the bottom of the hill and highly recommend the Indonesian restaurant up the road called Ylang Ylang. Cinco Ventanas beach is very close by and a beautiful beach to visit.

Costa Rica is a beautiful country and I highly recommend visiting it.

Nancy from Georgia

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Stunning villa with all the amenities

Review submitted: November 16, 2013   Date of arrival: November 6, 2013

Three of us stayed at Villa Tranquila for a week. Located near Ojochal on the SW coast, we felt lucky to be in a part of the country that isn't overrun with tourists. The grounds were private, lushly landscaped with exotic blooms and shrubs. The pool was clean and refreshing, a welcome relief during the heat of the afternoon and a good way to cool off before sleeping. The inside of the villa was beautiful, soaring vaulted ceilings, tile floors, well appointed kitchen, and comfortable beds. The view was stunning. We found the location to be perfect and very convenient for those who want to venture into the Corcovado.

Alan was so helpful, providing information and answers to questions about the country, currency, getting around, things to do, places to go, etc.

Costa Rica is beautiful and should be on everyone's Destinations list. Villa Tranquila suited us perfectly and comes highly recommended from this traveler.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful setting in the hill near Ojochal

Review submitted: August 13, 2013   Date of arrival: July 31, 2013

Our stayof 4 nights in the villa was a great conclusion
to our vacation of three weeks in Costa Rica. While in Ojochal we dined at Citrus and Exotica,
two great restaurants. We spend a day at Marina Ballena and we went to Sierpe to do a great
boat tour of the mangrove ( in two hours we saw Howler Monkeys, Squirrel Monkeys, White
Face Monkeys, Crocodile, Caiman and many species of birds including the Mangroves Hawk
and Blue Heron). The arrival at the house was easy with the direction
send by the owner. The house was spacious and well furnished and it was a great deal. The location is wonderful in the hill near Ojochal with
a lot of birds. Thank you Alan.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

wonderful Place

Review submitted: January 7, 2013   Date of arrival: December 31, 2012

I'm from Costa Rica and I must confess I did not know the area of Osa. It is the most beautiful I've ever met in my country. Allan's house has every thing and more ... The area is exquisite. Back of the house you can see the rain forest and a few kilometers the most impresionates beaches. All services at hand . That was the best holiday of our families. Thanks Allan for allowing us to be in your piece of paradise.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Peaceful retreat

Review submitted: December 3, 2012   Date of arrival: November 16, 2012

My wife and I spent 5 quiet and relaxing days at Villa Tranquila. The settings Alan developed lent to a wonderful and relaxing visit. The beautiful gardens are postcard worthy and we took a number of great pictures while there.

Alan has thought of everything and made our visit on for the memory books!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Villa Tranquila Lives Up to Its Name and More !!

Review submitted: November 13, 2012   Date of arrival: June 6, 2012

It is my distinct pleasure to write about the experience my partner and I had at Villa Tranquila…….in a word it was Excellent. The house is as beautiful as the pictures….they are not staged…..it really is beautiful and very tastefully furnished. Furthermore, it is “fully equipped” which allows you take meals at house if you truly want to relax, enjoy the pool, the surrounding wilderness scenery, or tropical birds. However, if you don’t want to cook (with fresh fish from the local store) then you can go a mile or so down the road to a 5 star restaurant. This is surprising to find a restaurant of this quality in this secluded area but it is true!
The house is in close proximity to a beautiful beach (Marino Ballena National Park) and whale watching (during the migration season) . The beach is surprisingly devoid of tourists ! Many other Costa Rica attractions are within comfortable driving distance.
In summary, I recommend Villa Tranquila very highly and with no reservations….you will not be disappointed!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Bird watchers' paradise

Review submitted: February 28, 2012   Date of arrival: February 22, 2012

We have been staying at this spacious house for the past week. It is fully equipped with all the modern amenities you could want, even a computer. There is a wonderful pool and patio. Its wide open floor plan is great for the mountain breezes. There are pristine mountains and jungle behind the house---just like the picture shows.
This is a bird-watchers paradise indeed, with a tremendous variety of birds, blue morphs by the streams and plenty of beautiful flowers.
As is always recommended in Costa Rica, rent a 4 wheel drive vehicle.
Alan has exceeded our expectations with his kindness and assistance in making our stay wonderful. His communication and attention to detail has been extraordinary. We highly recommend this house if you want a vacation in paradise.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Highly recommend!!!!

Review submitted: February 21, 2012   Date of arrival: February 4, 2012

8 of us stayed at Alan's house Feb 4-20th, 2012! Our entire trip and experience with renting the house from Alan was amazing. He made it such an easy process!!! The house had everything we needed; washer/dryer, air conditioning in the main bedrooms (which was barely needed because of all the great windows in the house, fully loaded kitchen, computer with wireless internet and flat screen tv. Alan even had recommend areas to visit while on vacation.
During our stay we only had one issue with the pool going a bit green, but the second I emailed Alan he was already fixing the problem and was fixed by the very next day =) When the housekeeper had came to clean the house he had noticed the pool and notified Alan immediately.
Would highly recommend all vacationers wanting to travel to Costa Rica to rent through Alan! House was beautiful!!!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect place to stay!

Review submitted: January 14, 2012   Date of arrival: December 30, 2011

We spent 5 days in Alan'House with 6 adults and 4 children.
The house is well-equiped and perfectly located, 15-20 min drive from the ocean.
We really enjoyed our stay, the region is absolutely wonderfull with lots of activities to do not far.
Importantly, Alan was very helpfull for all.
I warmly recommand the house!
Arnaud Saimpont

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Experience authentic Costa Rica in comfort

Review submitted: December 27, 2011   Date of arrival: December 6, 2011

Being of moderate means, my new husband and I wanted as much bang for our buck out of our honeymoon as possible. Costa Rica was an excellent choice, with beauty and outdoor activities surpassing Hawaii without the high price tag or legions of other tourists. Villa Tranquila gave us a private home base from which to experience authentic Costa Rica from the comfort of luxurious Western-style accommodations.

Villa Tranquila is spacious, beautiful, and well-appointed. Tile floors throughout stay cool and are easy to keep clean. Ceiling fans kept the house comfortable without air conditioning even during the humid season. A fully-stocked kitchen made it easy to enjoy good food without always going out, and a full-size washer and dryer allowed us to pack only carry-ons. The villa’s blooming garden and jungle view are gorgeous; you’re surrounded by paradise when relaxing outside or in the pool.

A 4WD car is necessary, as many roads in CR are rough. We had problems with our rental car and the caretaker (Roy) and his wife Irene (the housekeeper) were saints. However, like many Costa Ricans, they do not speak English. At least a rudimentary Spanish vocabulary is recommended; you can get by without it (as we did) by begging the patience of the people you’re imposing upon and carrying a phrase book.

The villa’s neighborhood was quiet and primarily American/Canadian. Nearby Ojochal is a charming village with basic services and some great restaurants. We ate at a tiny restaurant called Soda Landi, where we had a cheap ($4) and delicious traditional lunch, and at Exotica, where dinner was fantastic French-fusion-comfort food at standard US prices. The local grocery supplied the rest of our meals. Specialty foods are hard to find in the country, so bring what you need to meet dietary restrictions.

Access to nearby Playa Ventana is $2 per car + $1 per person. It’s WORTH it! The beach is beautiful, private and swimmable. Take the 80km trip to Manuel Antonio Park for an easy hike and guaranteed exotic animal sightings. If you like mountain biking, the house comes with 2 very nice Treks, but beware the humidity.

In short, if all-inclusive resorts are your thing, this is not the vacation place for you. If you prefer being immersed in a new culture, love wildlife and outdoor activities, and want private, luxurious accommodations with all the comforts of home, then Villa Tranquila will be a better fit for you–experientially and financially –than any hotel/resort.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review