reviews for: listing #172742ha - Tamarindo, Costa Rica rental

Harry's, El Escondite ~ FREE SURFBOARDS & BIKES!
  • bedrooms  0
  • pool  yes
  • type  Studio
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • rates (USD)  $ 80 / night
    $ 499 / week
    $ 1,714 / month
  • sleeps  3
  • pets considered  no

sort by:

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 14, 2007   Date of arrival: November 1, 2007

Harry: you rock man. your place looks even better in person than it does online. all the ammenities we could want- LOTS of boards and bikes too. but the most valuable service you offer your guests is your expert local knowledge.
from where to eat, surf, and grab a brew to how to solve computer problems, harry is on top of it. i would definitely reccommend harry's as a place for first-timers to costa rica. i couldnt be happier with my experience.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Great place

Review submitted: June 25, 2014   Date of arrival: June 15, 2014

Great place to stay. Harry the owner is a very cool guy and he lives in one of the cabanas. He also has a few bikes and tons of surfboards that he lends out to guest for free. We had a full kitchen, google tv, wifi, own hammock, and a pool. 5 star value. 10 min walk from beach and all of Tamarindo. Also has a really cool dog named Don't. Don't is a very smart and nice dog. He will bark at you the first time you meet him, but once he knows you are a guest, he never barks again at you. He leaves you alone, but if you call him over he will gladly let you pet him. All and all, the wife and I are really glad we stayed at Harry's. Just make sure you print out the map to the place, it won't come up on your GPS. We had trouble finding it the first time, but really easy if you know where you are going.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Happy travelers recommend Harry's!

Review submitted: September 3, 2013   Date of arrival: August 16, 2013

M and I arrived hot and grumpy to Harry's after a red-eye flight and long drive from San Jose. Spirits were immediately lifted to find a happy host, full supplied kitchen (including coffee and milk!), a nice little pool, and a higher tech media set-up than we have at home in the San Francisco Bay Area. There's a GoogleTV in each cabina stocked up with movies, music, and of course high speed internet... just in case if you're stuck inside during the rain. M brought his surfboards from California and in retrospect, we could have just used Harry's because he has a selection of well maintained shortboards, longboards, and foamies. Over the course of our week, we made friends with our cabina neighbors, grilled fresh fish up on the rooftop deck, surfed at a lot of beaches (we had a rented car), and went on a few boating expeditions. Bonus: if you're interested in ocean fishing, Harry connected us with Jason at Pedro's fishing, and it was a highlight of our trip!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Awesome Stay!

Review submitted: June 17, 2013   Date of arrival: May 5, 2013

Harry went above and beyond to help make us feel at home here! Just an example- my bag got lost and never made it to San Jose when I landed, but Harry worked with the airlines to ensure my bag would get delivered all the way from San Jose to Tamarindo. And sure enough it was there the next morning!

He was super helpful and knows the area like the back of his hand. He always gave great recommendations and our trip wouldn't have been the same without him!

Thanks for an amazing trip Harry! :)

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Excellent accommodations and great vibes

Review submitted: March 13, 2013   Date of arrival: March 4, 2013

I couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. The cabinas were excellent and provided everything we needed. The pool, gardens, hammocks, and lots of shade provided the ultimate relaxation environment and the upstairs deck and BBQ were perfect for dinner and drinks. Harry is so righteous, was great to hang out with, and provided us with all sorts of excellent advice. The availability of bikes and surfboards was a huge bonus and saved us some cash. All in all it was a fantastic spot and I can't wait to get back there.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

A fantastic spot!

Review submitted: February 6, 2013   Date of arrival: January 24, 2013

El Escondite is a fantastic place to stay for many reasons. The first and most important important is the host. Harry is a real gentleman and ambassador to the region. With his helpful advise we were able to put together a dream vacation. Local knowledge and contacts are priceless and Harry was always eager to assist. The rooms are very quiet, clean, private and secure. Our Cabina had a kitchenette that included an apartment size fridge and stove. We used the kitchen regularly and really missed it when we moved to another town. The bathroom was well equipped and very clean. Hot water was always available for showers and the tap water is drinkable without concern. The rooftop outdoor kitchen with barbeque was awesome. We loved to mingle with the other guests and share food, laughs and travel stories there. The pool is perfectly refreshing with a great deck to hang-out on. The private terraces have chairs, tables and hammocks to suit your mood. We really loved the google TV with hundreds of movies and tv shows available on demand on our flat screen TV. I can write all day about this place but to sum it up we loved it and there is no better valued place to stay in Tamarindo! The use of bikes and surf boards was also included and we took full advantage. Thanks Harry for for spoiling us and we will certainly be back.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Vacation

Review submitted: July 14, 2012   Date of arrival: July 1, 2012

Our stay at Harry's Escondite was exactly what we expected plus more!  The cabinas are in a very good location and had everything we needed and very comfortable.  All the amenities such as surfboards and bicycles made the trip that much more enjoyable.  Our entire experience at Harry's Escondite was relaxing and very enjoyable!  We definitely  will be returning.  

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Harry's Escondite is the Best!

Review submitted: March 26, 2012   Date of arrival: March 14, 2012

We had the best time at Harry's Escondite. Harry is a great host (and an awesome guy), and always had the inside as to where to go and what to do. His Cabina was perfect, low key, and in a quiet location. We highly recommend staying here and plan to return many times. We could not of asked for a better honeymoon. Thanks Harry, FOR EVERYTHING!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Awesome

Review submitted: January 12, 2012   Date of arrival: December 22, 2011

Seriously, I stayed for two weeks over the holidays with my girlfriend and we had a great time. We didn't venture very far from Tamarindo the whole time and had plenty to do. Harry was a great host and helped us with everything we needed. The cabina was clean and a perfect place for unwinding after long days in the sun. The new lookout deck proved to be really useful and is a great touch. We'll definitely be staying at Harry's the next time we go to Tamarindo.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best vacation ever!

Review submitted: December 6, 2011   Date of arrival: November 12, 2011

My boyfriend and i got back from Harry's about 2 weeks ago and we still haven't stopped talking about it, Tamarindo was our best vacation ever! Harry's place was everything we were looking for, very laid back, the cabinas were very spacious and had everything we needed ie; air conditioner, full kitchenette, a huge shower,wireless internet, satellite t.v. ( if you even have time to watch), king size bed, etc..Our cabina had privacy and beautiful greenery and plants all around not to mention the pool and the roof top deck with bbq, where many nights we just hung out having some drinks..Harry has lots of bikes and surf boards for free use at any time which is key and a bike is all you need to get around in Tamarindo...
Our next vacation was gonna be Australia next year but after staying at Harry's we scrapped that idea and we're going back to Tamarindo and Harry's El Escondite!
We couldn't ask for anything more, the weather,the amazing beaches(especially if you don't like crowds),the food and it's safe, the people who live here are so friendly!, and you can't beat the price!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great price for a cute place

Review submitted: September 12, 2011   Date of arrival: February 14, 2011

Harry was super welcoming. Having the the surf boards and bikes was a definite plus! It's about a 5 to 10 minute bike ride down to the beach, but that makes it quieter at night.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing 2 weeks

Review submitted: March 23, 2011   Date of arrival: March 7, 2011

Me and my spouse went to harry's for a two week holiday and what can I say, im still having issues coping with the working life. Lots of great things to do and best of all harry's knowdlege about the area The rodeo on the last night was the icing on the cake. Harry have a beer for me at nogui's and hopefully i will see you soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Harry's Place Is Great

Review submitted: January 30, 2011   Date of arrival: December 18, 2010

Harry's places are a trip. Not luxuary by any means but mildly rustic perfection in its own funky way. Both Harry the owner and the location are what it is all about. If you are high maintenance skip it. If you are all about having one hell of a kicked back and off-the-grid break from things then you could not do any better than hanging with Harry and the crew that rents his places. Lots of respect and lots of fun.

My wife and I went for our 25th wedding anniversery and could not have wished for more.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Harry's hiding place

Review submitted: January 20, 2011   Date of arrival: December 3, 2010

We stayed in the orange cabina for 5 days and enjoyed every minute. Harry's provides a real Costa Rica get away with the beautiful natural setting and his relaxed manner. Our cabina was comfortable and provided all of the comforts of home. It was nice having A/C when we needed it. Don't the dog got to know us the first day and greeted us with a smile and wagging tail from there on. The cat liked getting to know some new folks too. We felt very safe at Harry's and will stay there and nowhere else. Thanks Harry for the great local advice and nice stay in Tamarindo.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Intimate tropical paradise with surfboards , bikes ,pool

Review submitted: November 28, 2010   Date of arrival: November 11, 2010

Harry's El Escondite is great. We loved the pool and the beautiful landscaping around it. It truly was a tropical paradise. We enjoyed the small intimate setting much better than the large resorts . Harry was the most sociable host, always helpful with suggestions of where to eat or drink; he truly added to the enjoyment of the trip. Our Cabina was private, spacious, clean and had everything we needed, plus he has surfboards & bicycles. It is close and convenient to everything in town. The patio with a hammock and large seating area was a great place to relax when not enjoying the pool. Everyone should go to Harry's; its the best place to stay in Tamarindo. We are planning our return trip already. But now that the secrets out, we hope we can still get a reservation. Our favorite places to eat & drink were Kahiki, Nogui's on the beach, and the smoothie shack.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Harry's Ell Escondite

Review submitted: November 7, 2010   Date of arrival: July 24, 2010

Harry’s was great!! My wife and I had a terrific vacation due to Harry’s hospitality and local know-how. Harry took the time to walk us through Tamarindo on our first day to show us around. Any advice Harry gives about local cuisine, surf spots or tours is golden. The cabina we stayed in (green) was super clean and the a/c made everything comfortable. We loved the pool and used the bikes and surfboards everyday. We would go back to Harry’s in a heartbeat. Thanks again Harry!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

relaxing and quiet

Review submitted: September 20, 2010   Date of arrival: September 11, 2010

We loved our stay at Harry's. it was low season so we were there all by ourselves in the blue cabina. Harry is an excellent host. we loved the dog and cat who stayed in our cabina some. we hope to come back soon. We spent our 1 year anniversay there. great relaxing time.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent experience

Review submitted: July 2, 2010   Date of arrival: June 14, 2010

My wife and I are probably not the normal guests in that we are twice the age of most guests Harry gets. We did not use either the surfboards or the bikes but had an excellent time and accomplished everything we come for....relaxation, getting a feel for the country and the community, etc.

Having so many positive reviews I initially accused Harry of writing his own - but then confided even if he had it would have been necessary to to come down there just to meet someone so creative. He really doesn't have to write them because it really is that good of an experience.

We ate where he suggested, fished with Jason as he suggested, spoke with the realtor he suggested - even explored to meet the "real" characters of Tamarindo as he suggested. HE WAS RIGHT on all counts.

Thanks Harry from "T" and "Q"

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Good price, easy place to stay, excellent host.

Review submitted: June 21, 2010   Date of arrival: June 2, 2010

Had a great time at Harry's. The price was right, low key and at no time did I feel unsafe. No worries about being ripped off. The use of the surfboards was a nice money saving addition to the trip.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great vacation, poor weather

Review submitted: June 17, 2010   Date of arrival: May 20, 2010

We had a great time in the orange cabin. Unfortunately, it rained half the time we were in Tamarindo which lower the value of the free surfboards a little bit. We'd recommend having a car since it's a fair walk with the boards to the beach. We can definitely recommend elescondite for everyone who wants a friendly place to crash after a day on the beach.

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lil escondite tamarindo

Review submitted: May 11, 2010   Date of arrival: May 4, 2010

We had a great time in Tamarindo.. The Cabinas were very relaxing and dipping in the pool was refreshing. The whole experience of Pura Vida can be captured from this location. Harry knows his way around the town, and recommends a great local spot to catch beautiful sunsets.
I highly recommend this spot and will return soon.

Had a hard time leaving CR.. the lifestyle is addicting!

Christian

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

What are you waiting for? Book your cabina!

Review submitted: May 11, 2010   Date of arrival: May 3, 2010

What can I say that’s not already been said? My husband and I spent a week (3-10 May) at Harry’s in the blue cabina, and I am already planning a return trip.

We arrived later than expected, due to a flight delay, but Harry and Don’t the Dog were there to greet us with smiles. Having experienced everything from hostels to resorts to 5-star hotels, I must say, Harry’s place is definitely my favorite!

Harry has a knack for knowing the needs of his guests--always was there when we needed him or wanted to chat, but also was magically invisible at times, so we felt as though we had the place to ourselves. He’s a quick friend, gracious host, and a breath of fresh air. His advice on things to do, places to eat, local customs, and spots to visit were more than we could have ever asked for. (I'm already sad that I won't be drinking a cranberry-vodka at Nougi's with him, watching the sunset!)

Everything was top notch! A few amenities that you’ll love: comfortable bed, great water pressure, deceptively deep pool, clean cabinas, and cold A/C. The location is a quick walk or bike ride into town or the beach and is at the end of a quiet cul-de-sac. What more could you ask for? Oh yeah, a friendly pup and a talkative cat! =)

Harry even went out of his way to surprise us with champagne that my work arranged to be waiting on us one night. When I got back to work this morning, one of the first things mentioned was how great, easy to work with, and on the ball he was when they emailed to coordinate the gift. I appreciate that he was willing to take the extra step that many would have just regarding as an inconvenience.

If you are contemplating where to stay in Tamarindo, don’t hesitate…book a cabina with Harry. I look forward to seeing him again soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: May 11, 2010   Date of arrival: May 11, 2010

What can I say that’s not already been said? My husband and I spent a week (3-10 May) at Harry’s in the blue cabina, and I am already planning a return trip. We arrived later than expected, due to a flight delay, but Harry and Don’t the Dog were there to greet us with smiles. Having experienced everything from hostels to resorts to 5-star hotels, I must say, Harry’s place is definitely my favorite! Harry has a knack for knowing the needs of his guests--always was there when we needed him or wanted to chat, but also was magically invisible at times, so we felt as though we had the place to ourselves. He’s a quick friend, gracious host, and a breath of fresh air. His advice on things to do, places to eat, local customs, and spots to visit were more than we could have ever asked for. (I'm already sad that I won't be drinking a cranberry-vodka at Nougi's with him, watching the sunset!)Everything was top notch! A few amenities that you’ll love: comfortable bed, great water pressure, deceptively deep pool, clean cabinas, and cold A/C. The location is a quick walk or bike ride into town or the beach and is at the end of a quiet cul-de-sac. What more could you ask for? Oh yeah, a friendly pup and a talkative cat! =)Harry even went out of his way to surprise us with champagne that my work arranged to be waiting on us one night. When I got back to work this morning, one of the first things mentioned was how great, easy to work with, and on the ball he was when they emailed to coordinate the gift. I appreciate that he was willing to take the extra step that many would have just regarding as an inconvenience. If you are contemplating where to stay in Tamarindo, don’t hesitate…book a cabina with Harry. I look forward to seeing him again soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Sweet Stay

Review submitted: May 3, 2010   Date of arrival: April 8, 2010

Harry's place was awsome! Thanks for everything Harry!
Harry's vacation rental was just as described, if not better. There is a full selection of surf boards and bikes, and a deep pool which was amazing to jump into at anytime of the day when trying to cool off from the insane heat. The rental is hidden away from the downtown of Tamarindo which makes it a quite stay. The room had a nice air conditioning system that saves you from the heat while your trying to sleep through the night. Also, as described in other reviews, Harry himself is a great guy, with a great knowledge of the Tamarindo area. This place is a safe and quite stay (Harry has even installed a safe in the room to lock up your valuables). I could write more about Harry's pad, but you should just go and get the experience yourself.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Tamarindo Oasis

Review submitted: May 2, 2010   Date of arrival: April 21, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed in the blue cabina at Harry's at the end of April for one week and had a wonderful relaxing stay. We used the free surfboards and bikes every day which made our overall experience in Tamarindo that much more fun and cheaper. The cabinas are clean, quiet, very comfortable and private. We spent a fair amount of time just hanging out at the cabina, grilling food, laying in the hammock, or taking a dip in the pool. Harry is an open and welcoming host who shared his knowledge of the town and hooked us up with a great surf instructor as well as the perfect bar for sunset-beers. The cabinas are a little walk from the beach but truly made up for it as a serene oasis from the beachfront "scene". Hop on a bike and you're beachfront in 2 minutes.

Recommended for: tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

great spot

Review submitted: April 21, 2010   Date of arrival: April 11, 2010

Harry's cabinas are a great spot to come back to after a long day of surfing and scorching in tropical sun. There is plenty of shade, nice balconies with hammocks and clothing lines and a small pool that is great to soak in with a cold beer. It's just out of the cut at Tamarindo so it's not crazy and loud but an easy walk into town and to surf spots. Harry is a great host with good advice and local knowledge. He won't smother you either. I love the "guard dog" - his name is Don't - very friendly dog that keeps vermin and intruders at bay.

If you are looking for maids and room service go somewhere else. If you're looking for comfort, security, and free access to a wide range of surfboards - look no further.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 10, 2010   Date of arrival: March 10, 2010

Harry is one of the BEST hosts I have encountered in my travels. The Cabina's are spotless,everything you would want is there. The pool is awesome & the atmosphere is relaxed/laid back. Don't is the sweetest canine & had I had room in my luggage he would have come to Canada! THANK YOU Harry for sharing with us your Oasis! Costa Rica is amazing! We will be back soon.....that I can guarantee!
Cheers!
Maureen & Jackie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 9, 2010   Date of arrival: March 9, 2010

Just came back from a great vacation at Harry's El Escondite. Harry was very helpful in showing us around the many amenities of the cabinas and telling us about places of local interest. He was also very accomodating of a couple of last minute changes on our end. Plus I loved the pool, shaded by palm trees. I think I want to build one at my house.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 8, 2010   Date of arrival: March 8, 2010

We stayed at Harry's place for two weeks, and it was amazing. Harry told us about all the local spots, hooked us up with contacts for activities, and taught us to surf. Everything about the cabinas was so convenient . . . contents/amenities, location, etc. What a fantastic vacation. Thanks Harry!!! You made our stay a great experience and a total blast. See ya next time! :)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 22, 2010   Date of arrival: February 22, 2010

I just got home from a fabulous stay at Harry's place for 2 weeks and I miss it already.

The cabinas are very comfortable and quiet. Having a private pool within 10 feet from my door was amazing, and the beach was only a couple of blocks.

Harry is the best host ever! His recomendations were always right on. He was fun, helpful and patient enough to teach even me how to surf:)

I highly recommend staying at Harry's!!

Lynn Harvey

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 18, 2010   Date of arrival: February 18, 2010

We had a great stay at Harry's last May! The Cabinas are very clean and spacious and the air conditioning was a great plus. We were really happy to have that wonderful little pool on the days we were roasted from the sun and really stoked to have access to surfboards whenever we wanted!
We also loved how it was an easy option if you hate resorts.

Harry was so laid back and easy to talk to. I would definitely recommend staying here!

Also, a MUST eat: Kahiki Restaurant (part of hotel Mamiri) We had two fish dishes that were spectacular!

Thanks for a sweet time Harry!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: January 27, 2010   Date of arrival: January 27, 2010

Spent a wonderful 3 nights with Harry. Great place and great recommendations for where yo eat in Tamarindo. Thanks Harry.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: December 29, 2009   Date of arrival: December 29, 2009

We were living in a surfer's paradise. The voice of nature, the surfboard choice and the free spirit spended us an unforgetable time in Costa Rica. If we will have the possibility to fly back one time to Costa Rica, than we will stay at the Harry's El Escondite of course. Harry: Thank you very much again! It was a big pleasure for us to know you! Christa and Pädi

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: December 15, 2009   Date of arrival: December 15, 2009

Had a great time staying in Tamarindo at Harry's. His place had everything I could have wanted and he was a great host who took time to show me around town, recommend restaurants, etc. Thanks for everything Harry.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: November 12, 2009   Date of arrival: November 12, 2009

Thanks for everything, Harry! It was everything that we wanted out of our vacation. You can't beat a peaceful place with a pool that is close to the beach and has surf boards and bikes to boot. We totally had a blast and will come back again sometime soon. This is the only way to vacation. See ya later.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 14, 2009   Date of arrival: October 14, 2009

Harry's El Escondite Surf Vacations was absolutely the BEST!!! We could walk to everywhere in Tamarindo, and Harry was our personal guide to the great surf that Doug enjoyed on our vacation.... Harry can tell you the BEST places to dine as well as the best tours to attend. I will absolutely be back with friends!!! I can't wait to go back to visit!!!

xoxo
Amanda

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 5, 2009   Date of arrival: July 5, 2009

Harry's was awesome! He is a great host, his place
is super clean, comfortable and relaxing. The pool
is great to cool off in, the cabinas have everything
you need for your stay and the beach is a short
walk away. Harry gave us great suggestions on
places to eat, sites to see, and nightlife to check
out. Sunset beers at Noguis were highly
recommended by Harry and it was our favorite spot!
Compared to the other places around his was the
best quality and price- we will definitely stay again
on our next trip to costa rica. Thanks Harry!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 22, 2009   Date of arrival: June 22, 2009

Our stay in Tamarindo was nothing short of perfect and that has everything to do with staying at Harry's. The property and cabinas are fabulous and Harry truly provides you with everything you need - great accommodations, hospitality, surfboards and a place to rest your head at night. On top of that, he knows all the best places to eat and had no problem inviting my brother and I out for beers at sunset on our first night there. Thanks Harry, our trip was fantastic and I can't wait to come back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 9, 2009   Date of arrival: June 9, 2009

My brother and I stayed at Harry's place after a few
weeks of traveling around Costa Rica. Without a
doubt Harry's cabinas were the nicest lodging we
encountered throughout our whole trip. Harry was
an amazing host. He is familiar with all of the local
bars/restaurants and has connections with people
throughout Tamarindo that can arrange any activity
you could think of. The cabinas are spotless and
the hot water, great water pressure, air
conditioning, and full kitchen make them a steal.
With the access to surfboards, bikes, pool, and
Harry's local knowledge choosing Harry's El
Escondite should be an easy decision. As Harry is
an experienced surfer as well as host, his cabinas
are suitable for any and all travels.

Thanks for a great vacation Harry!

Steve & Kevin

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: March 26, 2009   Date of arrival: March 26, 2009

Harry's place is nothing short of amazing. It's everything the surfer needs, and just a little bit more. The pool area is beautiful, the cabinas are set up so that it creates a sort of community. Everyone staying there was great, and Harry's extreme hospitality, guidance, and good will really put the whole experience over the edge for us. I think you would be hard-pressed to find a set up like this anywhere else in the world. Harry, you are a gentleman and a scholar, thank you for the honor of staying at your place. We'll definitely be back soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 24, 2009   Date of arrival: March 24, 2009

Harry was awesome! The cabinas were incredibly well
kept and I couldn't have asked for anything else. Harry
gave great pointers about everything from the surf to
the local restaurants. I would definitely stay at El
Escondite again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: January 5, 2009   Date of arrival: January 5, 2009

Harry`s....Without any hesitations I may add That`s what Your Doc recommends.For multiple, countless reasons to stay at Harry`s again; the therapeutic index is high-meaning lots of benefits over absolute absence of stress.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 3, 2009   Date of arrival: January 1, 2009

My friends and I had an excellent vacation at Playa Tamarindo thanks in no small part to Harry's excellent cabins and local knowlege. Between the pool, the grill, full kitchen, awesome water pressure in the shower, bikes, surfboards, and all round relaxed atmosphere, we were in total heaven. Thanks for everything Harry!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 4, 2008   Date of arrival: December 1, 2008

Harry's place is one of the best places I have ever been. It was very clean. When you are there, it's like you have your own little piece of paridise. Harry is a great host. He know's alot of the locals and all the hot spots to go. If you ever get a chance to go there Harry will make you feel just like you are at home. He is a great surfer, and you can learn alot if you pay attention. He will also show you one of the best spot's on the beach for morning coffee and sunset beers at Nogie's. Thanks for everything Harry. I can't wait to come back. Kevin

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 16, 2008   Date of arrival: September 1, 2008

Harry's place rocks! The place is such a bargain! It was so relaxing... I didn't want to leave! The rooms were great and I loved that you have your own private patio. The pool is awesome! We will DEFINITELY be back next year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 9, 2008   Date of arrival: September 1, 2008

I had an amazing time in Tamarindo staying at Harry's El Escondite. Property is quiet, lush and beautiful, with a unique pool located in the middle which is perfect for cooling down or unwinding after a long surf. The hammocks strung thoughout the compound were perfect for spending a lazy afternoon reading. And Harry's bikes and surfboards were extremely convenient. Plus Harry's local knowledge was invaluable, from a good place to eat to knowledge of all the local surf spots, or even transportation and tour questions. I spent a month at Harry's, and I can't wait to go back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 2, 2008   Date of arrival: September 1, 2008

If you are looking for a place away from the beeping taxi's of donwtown Tamarindo but still close enough to the beach then Harry's is the place to be. After a long 7 hour flight Harry greeted us with a smile and a beer (what a perfect way to make us feel welcomed!). Our day's consisted of waking up, grabbing surf boards (provided free of charge from Harry) and walking to the beach. We shreded till the afternoon, came back and relaxed on the amazing hammocks and AWESOME pool with the great beer Imperial. If you want to just explore the town Harry also has bikes to use free of charge. We woke up one morning and biked to Langosta (the beach nearby). Harry is great and so are his cabina's. They are also very very very clean! If you want a place that you can really call home then def stay at the cabina's =) We will be back Harry....we fell in love with Tamarindo! PURA VIDA

ps) I miss the early morning
meows from your cat. I love that cat!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 8, 2008   Date of arrival: June 1, 2008

Thank you so much Harry for making my first trip
to Tamarindo an UNFORGETTABLE experience! Your
cabinas were the perfect retreat in where I believe
is Paradise. So many beautiful shades of green, and
the sunsets were amazing. From the 1st Annual
Raft Up, and the Crazy Monkey Bar, to crossing the
Estuary and biking for sushi, you are the ultimate
vacation guru! We are already planning our next
trip down...The Tan Clan will ride again!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 29, 2008   Date of arrival: March 1, 2008

hey harry, yous place rocked!! it was AWESOME having your expert knowledge of the area at our fingertips!! can't wait to come back!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 11, 2008   Date of arrival: March 1, 2008

Great place, clean, comfortable and harry was very nice and full of good information about the area. I highly recommend this place.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 11, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

Harry is the coolest!! My husband and I stayed in the blue cabina for a month and we had a blast! Harry is a wealth of knowledge about the local surf areas, bars, restaurants and basically anything you need to know. The cabinas are within walking distance to the beach and are clean and well equipped as well you have access to surf boards, bikes, pool, BBQ, laundry, and internet at no extra cost. Harry joined us for many great meals at our cabina, when we weren't out enjoying the local cuisine and night life.
We often joined Harry at Nogui's Bar for a sunset drink, or next door at Pedro's Restaurant for a great seafood dinner.(His friend Jason, a surfer and fisherman, is a partner at Pedro's) We met many of Harry's friends and along with his other guests at the cainas had fabulous, laid back vacation.
I would highly recommend Harry's to anyone looking for fun, relaxing, reasonable accommodations in Tamarindo. We were sad to leave - especially my husband Ray who surfed just about every day, and we also miss your cat!!
Thanks again Harry for everything!!
Love ya!
Sharon & Ray

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 15, 2008   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

Harry's is a very good and pacefully place!....and Harry is a good and funny person! I really love his cat too! I miss Tamarindo and El Escondite....PURA VIDA!!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 22, 2007   Date of arrival: December 1, 2007

For an authentic surf vacation, kicking back,and a safe central home base Harry's is the best choice. Its apparent Harry is a well connected and respected long time local and can often pass this advantage to his guests. If your into surfing and socializing harry's usually in for a few waves and a few beers at sunset. If you want privacy/quiet you can get that too. Harrys offers all the amenities of the expensive hotels in town at a fraction of the cost with a much more personalized service. Harry's is cosy, cool, clean and set up.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 26, 2007   Date of arrival: August 1, 2007

Harry's place rocks! We stayed in the orange cabina and it was great! We loved it, our home away from home. Highlights include, luxury pool, private patio with awesome hammock, location (quiet and chill), and Harry's great!

Each cabina was made with great care and quality. You won't be disappointed in this escondite!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 10, 2007   Date of arrival: August 1, 2007

Harry's place was great! My wife and I stayed in the blue room which was equipped with all of the modern commodoties you could possibly want. One of the best parts was the free use of the boards, bikes, and pool. It was also great having Harry available to answer any questions or point you in the right direction; to the beach or Noguis bar and restaurant. I highly recommend harry's place for fun in the sun. Thanks Harry for everything!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 4, 2007   Date of arrival: May 1, 2007

Harry's El Escondite is a quaint, rustic accomodation that is ideal for lodging in Costa Rica. It is close to the beach and stores and town. You can take the bike and be at the beach in 4 minutes or walk and be there in ten. I recommend staying here...it has everything you will need. Thanks Harry!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 7, 2007   Date of arrival: February 1, 2007

Harry's El Escondite is slightly off the beaten path... just what I needed. Minutes from the heart of Tamarindo and the beach, Harry's is a great place to spend hot days in a hammock listening to great music or just chill out.
Harry is very helpful in helping you get what you need and was an amazing host. Bikes and bords are also available.
I look forward to commimg back.
Thanks harry!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 17, 2007   Date of arrival: January 1, 2007

Good times, clean place, nice boards. Surfing was *fun*! Harry hooked us up with all sorts of other activities from fishing to tours. We loved our time there and have no complaints!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 22, 2006   Date of arrival: September 1, 2006

Harry! Thanks for a great time. We are already talking about when we will go back and surf again. Peace!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 15, 2006   Date of arrival: September 1, 2006

Harry & his cabins are awesome, the cabins are clean and comfortable, the selection or boards and bikes are great and save you tons of money, and the surf lessions by Harry were great. Overall an A+, Harry also has the lowdown on the good places to surf, eat, and party, when i come back im most def staying at Harry's. THX

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 29, 2006   Date of arrival: August 1, 2006

Mellow and close to the beach with a nice selection of boards. Harry was helpful and told us about good places to eat and surf. Good fun!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 4, 2006   Date of arrival: August 1, 2006

Repeat Offending and proud of it, Harry's comfy
confines and new bodega full of boards and bikes is
making the experience better & better. We can't
wait come back and hopefully drag our friends
along. Get Stoked surfing and chill in the
pool...Pura Vida

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 1, 2006   Date of arrival: May 1, 2006

Thanks to Harry for the great place to stay, surf and get married. We surfed the morning of our wedding and relaxed in the pool the evening. It was great to be traveling and have a place that feels like home to stay at.
Hoping to spend our first aniversary there mext year.

Kevin and Suzanne

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 25, 2006   Date of arrival: March 1, 2006

Tickets for four to Costa Rica $2,200, Cash for food and sun block $500, Relaxing at Harry's and taking in the sights and surf of Tamarindo -priceless!!!

Hola Harry..My family and I are glad to have discovered your "Escondite" and would definitely plan to visit you again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 6, 2006   Date of arrival: March 1, 2006

Harry I had the best time!! Thanks for the surf lesson, board, hospitality, I am addicted to surfing! I hope to see you again next year! Gracious xxx

Kelly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 5, 2006   Date of arrival: March 1, 2006

thanks for the hospitality and insider tips Harry! surf, eat, sleep, repeat. What more could one ask from a vacation?

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 3, 2006   Date of arrival: March 1, 2006

A perfect spot to stay in Tamarindo for surfing. Harry has a wide selection of boards, the beach is a short walk or an ever shorter bike ride to the beach. Of course both the use of the board and the bikes is free saving you some more money on an already inexpensive spot. A nice pool about five steps from you bedroom and on top of all that Harry, who can let you know where to eat, where to party and most importantly, where to surf. A great ten days.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 1, 2006   Date of arrival: March 1, 2006

Harry!! Thanks for a super rad place to stay for our
10 days of surfing. I felt like I was staying at your
home (which is was) rather than a hotel. Super chill
place with bikes and waaay nicer boards than
expected, not crappy soft tops. there were boards
for every skill level and wave type from the sick old
fish to long boards to fun to the super floaty short
board. aaah warm water is nice. wake up, hear kitty
meowing, ride to the beach with board under arm,
come back eat breakfast, chill then go for the
sunset session. thanks harry, will definitely be back.
wearing a wetsuit all year and watching for big
whitey in the lineup all year gets old. movie waves!
shaka attack! pura vida!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 16, 2006   Date of arrival: February 16, 2006

We will definitely be back for more… It was our honeymoon… I think we want to do a honeymoon every year.Our mornings at Harry's consisted of waking up and riding the bikes (which Harry supplies) to the grocery store and picking up food for breakfast (if it wasn't already in the fridge). Once home the cooking began (I cooked while my wife lounged in one of the many hammocks, she wouldn't really move until the FRESH COSTA RICAN coffee was brewed and I brought her a cup). Hot peppers where added to everything we made because they grew right outside our door. After eating we would have a nap in a hammock… then jump in the pool… then have a nap in order to dry off. After our busy day of napping, eating, and floating in the pool (on pool toys Harry supplied) we would then grab a couple of surfboards (again supplied by Harry… He's great) and head to the beach. There is no such thing as locals only here… everyone gets treated like a local. (if you're a little intimidated about doing it alone… Harry will gladly accompany you to the bar, or the beach… but not in that order) From the bars and restaurants to the beach and shops… no one is treated like an outsider.If you are looking for an absolutely amazing place to visit for two weeks or two months this is it.Harry's place is close enough to walk to anywhere you will need to go in town but far enough away that you can just spend an evening relaxing by the pool in the moon light with that special someone and not have to worry about being disturbed. Thank you Harry for making our stay there a truly wonderful experience.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 16, 2006   Date of arrival: February 1, 2006

We will definitely be back for more… It was our honeymoon… I think we want to do a honeymoon every year.

Our mornings at Harry's consisted of waking up and riding the bikes (which Harry supplies) to the grocery store and picking up food for breakfast (if it wasn't already in the fridge). Once home the cooking began (I cooked while my wife lounged in one of the many hammocks, she wouldn't really move until the FRESH COSTA RICAN coffee was brewed and I brought her a cup). Hot peppers where added to everything we made because they grew right outside our door. After eating we would have a nap in a hammock… then jump in the pool… then have a nap in order to dry off. After our busy day of napping, eating, and floating in the pool (on pool toys Harry supplied) we would then grab a couple of surfboards (again supplied by Harry… He's great) and head to the beach.

There is no such thing as locals only here… everyone gets treated like a local. (if you're a little intimidated about doing it alone… Harry will gladly accompany you to the bar, or the beach… but not in that order) From the bars and restaurants to the beach and shops… no one is treated like an outsider.
If you are looking for an absolutely amazing place to visit for two weeks or two months this is it.

Harry's place is close enough to walk to anywhere you will need to go in town but far enough away that you can just spend an evening relaxing by the pool in the moon light with that special someone and not have to worry about being disturbed.

Thank you Harry for making our stay there a truly wonderful experience.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 11, 2006   Date of arrival: February 1, 2006

Stayed at Harry's El Escondite for a week in Febuary it was a great time and a great value. Harry's help is invalueable for the first time visitor.He also has an awesome recipe for a dorado marinade.I plan to book with him again next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 1, 2006   Date of arrival: February 1, 2006

Thanks for the awesome week Harry! It's very convenient to have bikes and boards so accessible. Harry's advice regarding the local surf breaks and restaurants is invaluable. Anyone heading to CR for the first time can't go wrong staying at El Escondite.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 24, 2005   Date of arrival: November 1, 2005

Harry's place is a great little cabina, tucked away, with rainforest all around and a cute cat! Having bikes, surf boards and surf lessons available makes it a perfect place to stay, especially if you haven't visited Costa Rica before. Thanks for showing us around Harry!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 20, 2005   Date of arrival: October 1, 2005

Thanks Harry for the great time and place to stay.

To others: Harry is the man... great surfing lessons, he knows great places to eat, he knows everybody so he can hook you up with what ever you want to do. The El Escondite was a great place to hangout. It is close to the beach, has a pool, has surf boards and bikes. What else can you ask for?

If I am ever in Tamarindo again, I will definitely try to stay at Harry's.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 24, 2005   Date of arrival: August 1, 2005

Stayed with Harry for 4 days in August. Great place, tasty waves and a cool buzz. WILL BE BACK for sure! If you need to know, Harry's is the place to go. Do the math, you won't find a better deal and Harry is a great host. Plus, he has the best pool in town when you need to cool off after a long day of leg burners at Playa Grande.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 2, 2005   Date of arrival: July 1, 2005

THANX HARRY, FOR ALL YOUR HELP & SUGGESTIONS. WE REALLY ENJOYED OUR STAY AT EL ESCONDITE & FELL IN LOVE WITH THE COUNTRY & PEOPLE OF COSTA RICA. HASTA PRONTO !

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 22, 2005   Date of arrival: June 1, 2005

I didn't stay at El Escondite, but Harry was an
enormous part of our trip to Tamarindo. Never
having surfed before, Harry gave me a land lesson
at his place (half hour tops) and then took me to
the beach. We surfed for a couple hours, and I was
actually able to get up. No great feat, maybe, but he
was a killer teacher and kept me motivated even as
i was getting a load of saltwater up my nose.
Thanks again Harry. I had a wicked time.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 18, 2005   Date of arrival: June 1, 2005

Basically if you want to have the most killer-awesome surf holiday of all time, stay with Harry at El Escondite. Bikes, boards, a sweet pool, and way more fun than you could ever hope to have. Harry is el heffe in Tamarindo, and he is an awesome surf coach. Buy him a Bavaria Negra when you figure out how cool his place really is. I've been home for 3 weeks now and I can't wait to get back there. Check out the Takayama tuff-lite too, sick board. Thanks Harry. See you soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 9, 2005   Date of arrival: June 1, 2005

We had an awesome Honeymoon staying at
Harry's. The location is perfect and
quiet with an amazing pool for cooling
off. The cabina was cozy and Harry is a
great host. We can't wait to hang out
with Harry and surf the warm waters
again. El Escondite is a special place.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 26, 2005   Date of arrival: April 1, 2005

Truly amzaing. A 5 star cabina just off
the beaten track. If you want to learn
to surf, believe me, Harry's the man
to teach you. He's local knowledge
gives you one up on the rest.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 14, 2005   Date of arrival: April 1, 2005

Our stay at Harry's was great. He made us feel right at home and provided everything we needed for a GREAT trip; amazing surfing with a great instructor, knowledge on where to eat, drink, and a comfortable place to lay our heads. We will be back for sure!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 13, 2005   Date of arrival: April 1, 2005

Harry's is a great place to stay in Tamarindo. If you
are planning a surf trip or just hanging out, Harry's
cabinas are perfect. He has several surfboards to
suit your needs and a few bikes to ride around
town. I will definitely be a repeat offender.

Thanks Harry.
Clay G

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 22, 2005   Date of arrival: March 1, 2005

Had a great time in Tamarindo. Harry's place was great and had everthing we needed. He even let us use the grill after catching some tunas. He also is a patient surf guide. Thank you so much Harry

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 9, 2005   Date of arrival: March 1, 2005

Harrys was a great place to stay letting you enjoy the energy of the beach when you wanted to and to relax at a nice cabina away from it all after a long day out. Harry knows the area and more importantly the people to go to. Great surf instructor with a good selection of boards and the knowledge and patience to teach. He pointed us to good food and great sunsets, Thanks Harry

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 25, 2005   Date of arrival: February 1, 2005

I had a great time in Tamarindo and Harry has a great spot to stay with a nice pool to refresh yourself in after a hard day playing. I would recomend Harry's El Escondite to anyone and am looking forward to another visit. Harry is also a wealth of knowledge about the area and is very helpfull in your quest for discovery of the area. Hang 10 Harry...

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 24, 2005   Date of arrival: February 1, 2005

I stayed Harry's El Escondite from2/10 to 2/13 2005.That's experience was nice for me.Harry is really kind man.I rented a really nice short board and fun board and enjoyed surf at Tamarindo beach.He also taught me about the surf point in tamarindo.The room was clean and big,so I enjoyed very confortable life there.Thanks Harry!If I will go to tamarindo someday,I want to stay that house again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 13, 2004   Date of arrival: December 1, 2004

I just wanted to say l tryed to stay at Harry's place in Nov.04 but Harry was full for the month but l did stay in Tamarindo. The first day l phoned Harry booked some surf lessons rented a board from him and ended up with a great guide. Harry knows everything and everyone in Tamarindo. He is a one stop shop, l did hang out in his pool a couple afternoons waiting for high tide he has a great spot to stay he knows the best surf, where the party is, he has the patience to teach the beginner and the knowledge to hang with the pro, his place comes with everything you need from bikes to boards,a couple minute walk and you are on the beach(or town) but you don't get the Tamarindo traffic l heard staying in town. l will not make the same mistake next year l will book early with Harry. And once you add up surf lesson normally 40 dollars and hour, board rental 20 a day, bike rental a guide you can't find anything that compares to Harry's place and prices, thanks again Harry keep that 7'6" l love that board.Dave

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 6, 2004   Date of arrival: December 1, 2004

2 friends and I stayed at Harry's pad for a week and had a blast! Harry took excellent care of us - taught us how to surf (we were all catching waves by the time we left), showed us the good local watering holes, and just relaxed after a long day in the pool! The studio apartment is spacious and clean. I look forward to returning. -Leah

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 2, 2004   Date of arrival: December 1, 2004

Harry-
Thanks for an awesome time. You are a spectacular host. There's nothing like hanging out with a local to discover the best surf spots, food and sunsets.

Not to mention what an wonderful surf instructor you are. Can't wait to come back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 2, 2004   Date of arrival: November 1, 2004

What a great time! The place was super clean and spacious with an awesome chill out area, hammock and of course the brand new "shell pool". Harry was very helpful with the local knowledge, surf spots with free boards, lessons, bikes etc etc etc. What else can I say? Fantastic value, fantastic time! Pura Vida till next year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 23, 2004   Date of arrival: September 1, 2004

Hey Harry,Thanks for everything.Had a
great time!Hope I didn't ding up your
board to bad when I had the yard sale
with the bike.The cool pool turned out
really nice,awsome back yard,nice and
private.Nice digs and a very reasonable
price,thanks for everything,hope to be
back soon,keep the f

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 8, 2004   Date of arrival: September 1, 2004

El Escondite was fabulous! Pool, air conditioning, surf lessons! Thanks so much for everything Harry, i really had a great time in Tamarindo at your place, like a home away from home. See you next year!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 16, 2004   Date of arrival: August 1, 2004

MY FRIEND AND I STAYED AT HARRY'S FOR A WEEK. IT IS CLEAN COMFORTABLE AND AFFORDABLE. TAMERINDO IS A GREAT LITTLE TOWN AND HARRY'S A GOOD TOUR GUIDE. SURFERS LOVE IT HERE, BUT WE WERE JUST A COUPLE OF MIDDLE AGED WOMEN LOOKING FOR AN UNUSUAL VACATION. WE FOUND IT HERE. I LOOK FORWARD TO MY NEXT TRIP TO COSTA RICA. PURA VIDA!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 11, 2004   Date of arrival: August 1, 2004

Hey Harry, Your place is wonderful. Great location, with A/C and bikes is hard to beat! You were a fantastic host, thanks for showing us around.I hope to return very soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 23, 2004   Date of arrival: July 1, 2004

That was wicked! Thanx Harry for everything, you're a great host and the best surf teacher ever! You made my stay at Tamarindo unforgettable! I'll see you next year! Annie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 15, 2004   Date of arrival: July 1, 2004

Hey Harry,

We had a great time at your place! Loved
the surfing lessons. The week flew by. Can't
wait to come back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 8, 2004   Date of arrival: July 1, 2004

everything was great. location was really convenient. peace and quiet. it made our stay at tamarindo quite enjoyable. Harry is a great local guide and surf instructor!
Jen & Virginia

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 7, 2004   Date of arrival: July 7, 2004

Awesome time Harry!

Thanks so much. I can't believe the week went by so fast. I'm just getting over paddling the estuary!!

you are a terrific host - who knows, maybe next time we meet at Nogie's we'll be toasting a new land purchase and another Whistlerite in Tamarindo!

Can't wait to see the pool finished.

XOX Kristina (one of the Canadian girls in Boston.)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 7, 2004   Date of arrival: July 7, 2004

Harry,

Wow! What a great time! Thanks for showing us around town, and where to hang out! Enjoyed your company, the surfing and of coarse the food!

Lucky to have my first surfing lessons in a beautiful place like Tamarindo.

Life is definitely a wonderful gift.

Thanks for the memories!

Will enjoy seeing the pool and Tamarindo again.

Karen (Canadian Boston girl)!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 5, 2004   Date of arrival: July 1, 2004

cozy cabina on the edge of town harry the owner was quite helpful hard to beat especially when you throw in the boards and bikes the pool wasnt finished when i was there but it will be when i return which will be soon i hope

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review