reviews for: listing #17286 - Manitou Springs, Colorado Cabin rental

At the Springs Cabin: Walking Location-Luxury-Charm
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Manitou Springs
  • sleeps  3
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $110 - $165 /nt

sort by:

Great for a Romantic Get Away

Review submitted: April 10, 2012   Date of arrival: February 10, 2012

I would recommend this place to any one looking for a romantic get away. Cute place (even cuter than the pictures), cozy bed, big jacuzzi tub, very clean, nice electric fireplace, great location within walking distance of down town Manitou Springs.

I am giving it a 4 and not a 5 for a couple of minor reasons. We visited in Feb. and this place does not have central heat, which isn't a big deal with the fireplace, but when you get up in the morning and walk into the kitchen...burr. Also, I would recommend to the owner that they start up the hot water heater a few days before guests arrive in the winter. On the first night, we were not able to get enough hot water for the jacuzzi and had to forgo that until the next night. The TV is in the kitchen area - not the bed room, so we bundled up together on the couch with a provided space heater to watch the morning news.

Perfect to get away. If you go in the winter, bring warm pj's and socks and you'll be fine.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Cute cabin in beautiful Manitou!

Review submitted: August 29, 2011   Date of arrival: June 1, 2011

My husband and I have always wanted to visit Colorado for the scenery and mountains and this cabin was perfect for the two of us. It's just a short walk from downtown Manitou, which is the cutest and most picturesque town we've ever visited. The cabin was small but cozy and clean- one bedroom, a bathroom and the combined kitchen/living room area, and we had all the amenities we wanted (TV, stove, fridge, utensils, coffee, outdoor grill, etc). We loved the antique decor, the charming stained glass windows and comfy bed. Jeanne was fun to talk to and she even shipped back my toothbrush charger when I accidentally left it behind. I would definitely recommend this cabin rental to anyone who is looking to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life. Thanks for a great stay Jeanne!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

In town for family reunion and sight seeing

Review submitted: August 16, 2011   Date of arrival: August 4, 2011

Alden and I enjoyed the small house even though there were 31 steps to climb to get to the front door, A little huffing and puffing being Alden has COPD but he did well in the good climate. The little house was decorated so very nice and neat and beautiful antique furniture throughout.
We had our brother-in-law with us but would recommend the accomodations for one couple or a family of three as the hideabed is in the kitchen/dining area and the bathroom is very large and nice but on the other side of the master bedroom thus having to walk through that to get to the kitchen.
We would have enjoyed it much more if it had been just the two of us. We loved the location - just a short walk to downtown and to Cog Railroad. Lots of good restaurants near by and would definitly use it again if in Manitou Springs.
Jeanne had the kitchen well supplied for quick breakfast and coffee. NICE!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Manitou Springs is a mountain town. Most cabins including ours all have quite a few steps unless they are one of the cabins down in the Motel-main drag area of town, which doesn't back National Forest like At the Springs does. We are in a residential backing heavy forested area just 3 blocks from downtown. I agree with the guests comments that At the Springs is best for two. It is just not as comfortable for three people because of the layout but ideal for two and can sleep three as pictured because the settee in the living room is a hideabed. I do my best to describe the cabin to guests and I always welcome guests comments. The Cabin is not fussy so both Men and Women seem to really like the decor. No teddy bears or lace curtains here, just sophisticated Colorado Decor that many guests have told me they feel is very romantic! Hope you'll come stay and make your special memories here as well!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Very Nice Stay

Review submitted: August 6, 2011   Date of arrival: July 29, 2011

Very quaint, extremly clean, Just right for the two of us. Easy location to lots of attractions. Quiet, awesome for parking. Jeanne was helpful,and available.
The mattress is very firm, not what we were used to.
Would definitly recommend this cottage.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Location!

Review submitted: September 19, 2010   Date of arrival: September 9, 2010

We rented the cottage in addition to a two bedroom property a block away to bring three generations together for a hike up Pikes Peak. The cottage is stocked with items you might want during your stay. It is well appointed, comfortable, and clean. Perfect location if you are hiking Pikes Peak, taking a ride on the cog railroad, visiting the shops in Manitou Springs and any destination in or near Colorado Springs. The cottage is in easy walking distance to the cog railroad, Barr Trail trailhead (Pike's Peak)and to the shops in Manitou. It was so nice walk to shops, restaurants and trailhead rather than deal with parking hassels. Owner had guides to many area attractions including one that was very helpful and we hadn't seen in other locations. Very nice stay, we had an excellent time! Thank you Jeannie, we'll be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful Stay!

Review submitted: September 16, 2010   Date of arrival: August 4, 2010

The cabin was wonderful, very clean and comfortable with a cozy warmth, we slept better than we have in years with the windows open and fresh air! Location was great, Manitou Springs just down the hill, and the Cog Railway just up the hill...close to many attractions...Garden of the Gods, Seven Falls, Colorado Springs, Old Colorado City, etc. Jeanne was a wealth of information, quick to recommend restaurants and sites with suggestions for comfort. Great Place! We look forward to staying there again when in the area. Thanks Jeanne!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

At the Springs Cabin

Review submitted: July 20, 2010   Date of arrival: July 9, 2010

My daughter & I thoroughly enjoyed our stay! The cabin was immaculately clean, quaint and just the right size for the two of us. With the exception of hot air ballooning, which was over in the next town, and a VERY short drive to the Garden of the Gods, everything we wanted to do was within walking distance-and I use a cane. Jeanne, the owner, was a wealth of information and every attraction, shop and restaurant she recommended to us was just as she described. We rode the Cog Railway to the summit of Pike's Peak, toured the Manitou Cliff Dwellings and Marimont Castle, trekked through the Garden of the Gods and joyfully discovered the many shops, restaurants and even wineries in town. We even came home with a remarkable piece of art from a local gallery. We would definitely stay here again if our travels bring us back to Manitou Springs!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Quiet, Comfortable and Convenient

Review submitted: May 28, 2010   Date of arrival: May 19, 2010

This well remodeled Victorian cottage is perfectly situated close (couple blocks) from the main drag and just literally 5 steps to a wonderful, perfect hike from your front door. It takes about 45 mins. and has easy inclines/declines and goes rt. into the little downtown. The windows open to fresh mountain air and a refreshing creek sound. The romantic little remote controlled gas burning stove in the bedroom was quieter than most I've experienced. Very luxury oriented. The innkeeper was very available and helpful. The things I didn't expect and would have liked were: the unopenable bathroom windows and no exhaust fan or airfreshener, so while we absolutely loved the jacuzzi tub, it got stuffy and awkward when the air was stagnant, and odors lingered in the bathroom. Also, there was only 1 piece of soap for both of us to share for handwashing as well as for bathing or showering. It was a high grade luxury mini-bar but awkward to have to share at sink/shower/tub. And, honestly, the beautifully remodelled jacuzzi tub was actually not well cleaned with hair and grime from the previous guest(s). Aside from that, the location, quiet tranquility, comfort of the bed which is NON pillowtop (essential for my back), quaintness, nice little parlor room w/small stove to heat up oatmeal or soup, sit & read, etc., made for a very relaxing, restful, home away from home sort of vacation.

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We welcome comments from guests and strive to make their stay as comfortable as possible. Not all our guests ask questions or tell us when there is a problem. Our main bathroom stained glass window does open. There are always two bars of soap in the bathroom and in all of the guests we've had, we've been complimented on the extreme cleanliness of the jacuzzi,etc. However, we are human. If something is not as clean as it should be or if there seems to be only one bar of soap or say another roll of toilet paper is needed, a simple phone call to the owner would get that taken care of immediately.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review