reviews for: listing #173458ha - Manhattan, New York rental

Sankofa Guest Apartment, a Portal for the Soul
  • bedrooms  0
  • pool  no
  • type  Townhome
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • rates (USD)  $ 185 - $ 200 / night
    $ 1,295 - $ 1,400 / week
    $ 3,999 - $ 4,479 / month
  • sleeps  3
  • pets considered  no

sort by:

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 28, 2007   Date of arrival: November 1, 2007

Staying at Sankofa Guest Apartment was a wonderful experience. The apartment is stunningly beautiful and has every amenity a traveller could possibly need or desire, even a footspa. The whole apartment is incredibly attractive and it is a pleasure to simply sit and admire the artwork on the walls and the furniture and finishings within the apartment. Our hostesses, Edith and Norma are incredibly warm and helpful. We feel as if we have made friends. It has added an extra dimension to our first-time New York experience to be able to stay in Harlem and be welcomed with such kindness. Within the apartment you will find NYC guidebooks and other helpful printed information to help you take advantage of your time in New York. The apartment's location is fantastic. Catching public transport is a breeze. We favoured the bus during the day to give us a better idea of the lay of the land. The subway is quick and efficient and is only a few blocks' walk through this safe neighbourhood. We walked day and night through the neighbourhood and felt perfectly comfortable. The bed is extremely comfortable and we enjoyed being able to cook breakfast each morning. Being able to wash and dry our clothes each night also allowed us to pack a little lighter than we would otherwise have been able to do. We would never, ever stay anywhere else on our next visit to Manhattan - Sankofa has it all. Thank you Edith and Norma for our wonderful visit. You and your apartment are true gems.

Helpful votes: 19 / 19

 

perfect base for exploring NY

Review submitted: June 11, 2014   Date of arrival: May 1, 2014

My wife and I had a wonderful 2 weeks staying at Sankofa in May 2014, The apartment is very spacious and comfortable and it has all the facilities required by the traveller. It feels like a real home away from home and the African art that adorns the apartment is a real treat. Edith and Norma are the nicest and most helpful hosts you could possibly hope for. Harlem is a vibrant area of Manhattan and we felt comfortable and safe at all times. The neighbourhood near Sankofa is very quiet at night allowing for a good sleep. The apartment is located close to great restaurants and well stocked grocery stores. The bus stop is just around the corner and the subway only around 5 mins walk away. The northern end of Central Park, which has the beautiful Conservatory Gardens, is only a 10 min walk and Morganside Heights and the Hudson River is only 15 mins walk. The world famous Apollo Theater is only 5 blocks away and I was lucky enough to attend a great jazz show there during our stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Extraordinary

Review submitted: May 25, 2014   Date of arrival: May 17, 2014

We can only add to the other rave reviews. Edith and Norma are charming, considerate, wonderful hostesses. The apartment is beautiful as well as comfortable. Outstanding African art throughout the apartment adds to its character. The location is great if you want to be up in Harlem or near Columbia University and still have easy access to the rest of the city. You are about a 10 minute walk to the A, B, C, D, 2, and 3 subways and a 15 minute walk to Central Park. There are also a number of excellent restaurants and bars typical of the resurgent area within walking distance. Sankofa is a true gem. We could not recommend it more enthusiastically.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Two Senior Australians

Review submitted: April 30, 2014   Date of arrival: February 27, 2014

Our fifth stay in five years, each more pleasant than the last. The apartment was scrupulously clean and beautifully presented. Starting provisions were very thoughtful too. Kitchen equipment is at "home away from home" standards, and beyond. Edith and Norma are seriously obliging and their welcoming smiles are lingering memories. We will return to continue our exploration of Manhattan and surrounds just as soon as possible.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Nothing could be better.

Review submitted: January 27, 2014   Date of arrival: January 11, 2014

I can think of nothing better while staying in NYC than being at Sankofa. Edith and Norma will help you with anything you want as a tourist away from home,
and at a 'meta' level you will love being with the 'spirits' of the apartment who always make you feel so welcome and secure. Make sure you try the birthing chair!

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Perfect

Review submitted: January 20, 2014   Date of arrival: December 28, 2013

Our stay was great, the apartment has everything you might need, it makes us feel as home. The apartment wss clean and in reslly good conditions
The apartment is four blocks away from the subway and the bus, it has some grocerie stores really close, its 20 minutes away from times square station.
The owners were really nice and helpful.
There was a restaurant called "Harlem shake" wich has the best burgers ever, and they have delivery.
I totally recomend this apartment

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

This is a warm and inviting apartment

Review submitted: December 26, 2013   Date of arrival: December 10, 2013

The apartment itself is a treasure of African Art that pays tribute to the care that the gracious owners have take in providing travelers a home-away-from-home with Harlem hospitality. The location is convenient and accessible to public transportation.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

"Remembrance of Things Past"

Review submitted: November 21, 2013   Date of arrival: October 13, 2013

Sankofa Guest Apartment is a vessel of peace, a container of deep respect and appreciation for the African culture. It exudes a spiritual presence one would find difficult to ignore. Herein the serenity feels sacred and the pictures, paintings and sculptures awaken compassion, sensibility and curiosity. After many hours of travel I sat in the African birthing chair in the living room and felt the stress in my hips and feet melt away.
Along with the soul of the rental reflecting the motherland, Happy Buddha sits in the entrance garden and a Buddhist monk graces the posterior garden.
The owners, Edith and Norma are urbane but humble and are truly knowledgeable about their city.
Sankofa is minutes away from fabulous shopping and shows and scintillating lectures at the Schomburg Center. Is it your desire to be in sync with culture and to have at your disposal avenues to experience peace as well as excitement? Sankofa is calling you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

A little piece of heaven on earth!

Review submitted: October 30, 2013   Date of arrival: October 23, 2013

Beyond belief. Property was even better than we expected and location was so convenient. Apartment was spotless and we even received a welcoming bottle of wine and numerous other goodies! Way beyond our expectations, I will never stay anywhere else again. Very quiet location yet just a few steps from all the hustle and bustle. Norma and Edith were very helpful and accomodating. Quick and easy to get into Manhattan, but lots of great restaurants right around the property. Check out Red Rooster restaurant as well as Dinosaur Bar B Que while in Harlem. Felt very safe. Harlem cab company takes you anywhere in Harlem for $7.00. I can't imagine staying anywhere else.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Perfect Peace and Quiet.

Review submitted: October 15, 2013   Date of arrival: October 5, 2013

Excellent hosts and top surroundings. Very quiet and comfortable with some good restaurants nearby. Close to subway to get downtown and with the M2 bus at the end of the street to come uptown at night via Madison. I have no hesitation in recommending to all and would stay there again on future visits. Lower Harlem is vibrant and fun. Thanks Edith and Norma for the perfect getaway place to stay and the information supplied upon booking.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Excellent place for visiting NYC

Review submitted: September 15, 2013   Date of arrival: August 27, 2013

We arrived from a trip with a rental car and could park directly in front of the entrance. Rental car stations and gas stations are in the surrounding, so the drop-off of the car was very easy. We found a location even better than described, perfectly cleaned and maintained, with a warm welcome from Edith (the owner). Our days in NYC were filled with a lot of attractions, so we loved to take our breakfast relaxed in the appartment. We felt really "at home" there. For dinner or lunch we followed some recommendations of Edith (e.g. Caffe Latte in Lennox Street) and this was good. Via the subway station in Lennox Street we went to Manhattan. We recommend the property to our friends if they want to visit New York. Also Edith helped us to find a taxi not too expensive for our flight back home.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Excellent

Review submitted: August 18, 2013   Date of arrival: June 20, 2013

Me and my wife have been going abroad for over 30 years. We have stayed in many apartments and hotels, Sankofa is by far the best accommodation we have ever stayed in. Sankofa is not like an holiday apartment it is like staying in your own home, the apartment is that well furnished. Edith and Norma are wonderful hosts always there to assist or even just chat, how they have furnished and decorated the apartment is amazing.
As for Harlem there is every cuisine you could wish for, we ate out locally 6 of the 7 nights we were there. One restaurant deserves a mention, caffe latte just around the corner, great for breakfast, lunch or dinner we went there on 3 occasions.
When we next visit New York Sankofa is most definitely where we will stay, even booking our holiday around the availability.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wonderful gem in Harlem!

Review submitted: August 6, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

We had a wonderful time in Harlem and this apartment was just amazing! Perfect accommodations...with everything you might need for your stay, including various guides to Harlem/NYC (restaurants/transportation/pubs/shopping). All of the recommendations that Edith made (that we visited) were definitely worth checking out. The apartment was very comfortable, easy to get to and cozy. Edith was very accommodating, as well, as my friend coming in from Australia arrived much later than expected. We loved the African art in the apartment and loved the culture and vibrancy of Harlem itself. Wonderful! Thanks Edith! Michelle and Amanda

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Two Senior Australians

Review submitted: June 2, 2013   Date of arrival: March 21, 2013

We stayed at Sankofa for 6 weeks and enjoyed the apartment every day. We have had 4 stays with Edith & Norma in successive years. We find the equipment level and comfort of the apartment suits our desire for a secure bolt-hole close to public transport (buses and subway). All mod cons are available and Edith & Norma are ever ready to help with any queries about NY and Manhattan per se. Friendly and helpful on-site hosts are a special factor behind our repeated visits. The engaging people of Harlem are the hidden magnet for us to return time and time again. While we spend many hours away from Harlem (museums, galleries, flea markets, food markets (Chelsea, Fairway etc) we always feel completely comfortable walking the streets to and from public transport. Buses are a sociological experience as is the A train (the latter rocketing from 125th to 59th in 6 minutes). Food selections - fresh and packaged - are legion in nearby markets - one of the big attractions in NY for us. We look forward to our next visit to Sankofa - already booked for 2014 - and those welcoming smiles at the doorstep.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Beautiful, charming, clean and sunny apmt, easy safe location, gracious hosts, highly recommended

Review submitted: March 29, 2013   Date of arrival: March 14, 2013

We’ll stay there again next time. Beautifully decorated with helpful, and generous hosts. We weren’t sure about staying in Harlem but the neighborhood felt safe, even at night, was much quieter than staying in Midtown, and the location was 4 short blocks to the Metro subway station and ½ block from the bus that goes right to Museum Row. It’s a 6 minute walk to the Apollo Theatre, ½ block to Paris Blues (which claims to have the “real” Harlem jazz) and lots of restaurants 1 to 6 blocks away, plus they all deliver—Edith keeps menus in the apartment. She set up a guest bed in the living room for my son, and we had everything we could want, plus space, beauty, full kitchen, very comfortable bed, free wi-fi, for less cost than a tiny hotel room. And if you’re interested in African-American history, ask Edith about her genealogy project—she’s amazing and has some fascinating stories. For getting around, it’s extremely convenient to any location in New York, especially within Manhattan or Bronx, and we easily visited Queens and Brooklyn. Buy a weekly or prepaid Metro card at the station, download subway and bus maps to your smart phone (or print a map), and you can get anywhere fast—Midtown is 10 mins away. We even got to JFK by train in just over an hour on our way home. You need to be able to walk comfortably, including the two and a half flights of stairs to the apartment—not recommended if you’re disabled or planning to rely entirely on taxis. I don’t know who would rent a car in Manhattan, but if you did, you’d find free street parking on the block.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A remarkable home away from home

Review submitted: February 28, 2013   Date of arrival: February 18, 2013

I have been home for nearly a week, and I'm still looking at on-line pictures of Sankofa to remind me of my stay there. It is truly what is represented on-line and much more. Edith and Norma are wonderful hostesses who have thought of everything. The entryway is warm and inviting and pleasantly fragrant. The steps leading up to the apartment are thoughtfully lit by motion detectors. But that's nothing compared to the apartment itself. They have thought of everything. The apartment is beautifully and subtly decorated with original pieces of African and African American art. It was spotless upon arrival. The bed is by far the most comfortable I have ever slept in, and I even ordered the same pillows upon my return home. The kitchen is well-stocked, and includes food and coffee provided by Edith and Norma so that guests can relax upon arrival without having to run out for provisions. I enjoyed the library, and the living room is sunny, beautiful and comfortable. The location is very convenient to the rest of Harlem, Central Park, and the rest of New York City. You can be downtown in 15 minutes. Edith and Norma are extremely helpful and managed receiving and returning our rental phone for us. The only "problem" with Sankofa is that it's so comfortable and relaxing that you might not want to leave to explore the rest of the city! We will certainly return. I have already recommended it to many others. Thank you again, Edith and Norma, for a very special time.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

A Retreat Within the City

Review submitted: February 4, 2013   Date of arrival: January 20, 2013

We have traveled extensively and we love NYC. We never imagined that we would have a space like Sankofa while visiting the city that we adore. From the moment we were met at the door we knew this was going to be a special vacation. Everything in the apartment retreat was like the pictures, that I felt right at home. Edith and Norma are outstanding hosts. The little things that were provided more than met our expectations. The gift certificate to a local cafe provided an excellent lunch and gave us an opportunity to visit a coffee shop that we may have overlooked. Needless to say, this became a favorite morning visit. Normally, we overplan and we just run all day and night. However, Sankofa was so warm and inviting, the threat of inclimate weather was a godsend, since it gave me an opportunity to sit back and kick back. I can't do justice to the vibe that is Sankofa. The art work, the decor and the "Library". I met old friends on the book shelf and became acquainted with new friends. The coffee table books on Harlem, NYC and Africa are not to be missed. We explored Harlem and Manhattan on foot, no car or taxi needed. We purchased a weekly bus/train pass and were on our way. Each day returning home was also a treat, knowing we would be able to kick back in the beautifully appointed living area (the leather sofa is dreamy) and untimately go to sleep on the comfortable bed with the sounds of jazz softly flowing from the bedside Bose system. We didn't want to leave but leave we must. However, we left a part of our spirit at Sankofa and hope to return---Soon!
Karim and Hafeeza Marvin NC

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Perfect

Review submitted: January 8, 2013   Date of arrival: December 15, 2012

The decision to stay at the Sankofa apartment was a last minute one. I had booked the Aloft hotel but, decided at the last minute that it would be more economical to stay in an apartment for a week instead. Of all of the apartments that were available this appeared the most appealing because of the decor and the glowing reviews. The beginning and end of my trip was pure vacation with 2 days of business in between. It ended up being the best decision that I could have made.

Norma and Edith were gems. I arrived early in the day and because there was no one checking out, I was able to check directly into the apartment. They provided me with a lovely bottle of wine, banana bread and other little thiings to enjoy, like a complimentary coupon to a coffee shop around the corner. The apartment is so thoroughly stocked that I really did not have to purchase very much. The apartment looked exactly like the photos posted. It was immaculate and I felt completely at home. The space is clean, beautifully decorated, airey and with lots of natural light.....and the bed and linens were divine. There is tons of storage space and the bathroom has every amenity that you could want from shower and bath gel to lotions, blow dryer, a curling iron even a washer dryer.

The apartment is surrounded by what is "happening" in Harlem. It is within walking distance to many restaurants including Native, Setapani, Corner Social, Astor Row Cafe and Red Rooster. There is also a chinese restaurant around the corner and a convienience store at the beginning of the block for those last minute munchie items. Also convenient are Marshalls, Mac and several other stores for shopping in the area. I felt completely safe moving in and out of the apartment. The street that it is situated on is completely safe and quiet; just steps away from the bus stop and a few blocks from the train stations so one can be in midtown or downtown in just a few minutes.

Sankofa is beautiful! it is the perfect place for those who want a step up from the regular hotel experience, or want to have the luxury of experiencing "living" in New York without having to stay with friends. Thank you Edith and Norma for a fabulous stay. Hopefully, it will be available on my next trip to New York.

WD

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Just wonderful!

Review submitted: December 23, 2012   Date of arrival: December 7, 2012

It was an absolute delight to stay at Sankofa. From the moment Edith met me at the door I felt welcome. As with other reviewers, I cannot speak highly enough of the apartment. No detail has been overlooked, from the high quality linens to the beautifully appointed lounge room, the apartment is a pleasure to come home to.

Harlem was a wonderful surprise, having never spent time there before. As a single female, I never felt uncomfortable, even when coming back to the apartment very late at night. Everyone I met proved to be both friendly and helpful.

I look forward to staying at Sankofa again on my next trip to New York.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

5 STAR HARLEM HOME AWAY FROM HOME

Review submitted: December 4, 2012   Date of arrival: December 1, 2012

We stayed at Sankofa for 5 days in early December, and it was like a home away from home. The place is special and has that cared for feeling, probably because the owners live downstairs and are so very warm and welcoming. Harlem is a great neighborhood to explore, and if you've never visited it, you will be shocked at the grandeur of the architecture and the friendliness of the neighborhood folks. We feel like we will always want to stay at Sankofa when we come to NYC. We highly recommend it!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Back in my home away from home

Review submitted: October 20, 2012   Date of arrival: September 27, 2012

Miriam and Lena from Gothenburg, SWEDEN

I think this was my sixth stay at the Sankofa apartment and the fact that I keep on coming back here says it all, doesnt it ? You cant be better accommodated in New York City. Not only has this apartment all you can possibly need, no matter if you stay for a few days or several weeks. It is clean, calm, cosy and very well equipped.And more importantly; you instantly feel the friendly atmosphere and the genuine interest from the hostesses Edith and Norma.
Harlem. I find the neighbourhood more relaxed and "laydback" than the rest of this hectic wonderful interesting city.You probably dont go to New York to relax but after long days of "touristing" you really enjoy the calm and comfort this apartment offers.I can recommend Sankofa to all people !
Thanks again Edith and Norma, see you next year !
Lena, this time with friend Miriam.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Excellent accommodation in the heart of Harlem

Review submitted: October 3, 2012   Date of arrival: September 4, 2012

Excellent accommodation close to subway connections (1 and 2 subway) and local bus. A 10 mins walk to central park and 5 mins to subway and local Harlem shops.

The host sent all the information including maps and directions to the apartment (which you will need as the airport taxis don't know their way around NY). On arrival we were greeted by a friendly host and shown the apartment which was lovely and clean. The decor is of afro american pieces which are from all over the world.

The Kitchen was equip with breakfast, drink and tea/coffee. There was an oven, microwave and coffee if you need. There is also a laundry area to wash clothes. Now when place say they have extras like bathroom stuff, slippers etc you don't alway get them but here you do. They supplied of shower gel, body lotion and pair of slippers.. it was great!!

The apartment was full of magazines and booklets on thing to do in NY.

This apartment is great for families ad friends, weekend and longer holidays. I would highly recommended it.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Speechless.

Review submitted: September 1, 2012   Date of arrival: May 23, 2012

We were completely blown away by this amazing apartment. Not only is it spotlessly clean, equip with all you need, in a fantastic location, but it is so beautifully furnished - you almost don't want to leave it!
This is a great location for a home base, so many things to see and do, we wish we had more time than 1 week.
Do yourself a favour and book this gem of an apartment, you will not be let down.
Every night coming home from a big day of shopping and adventuring around New York, it was heaven to kick our feet up in such a spacious home.
It cannot be faulted.
Everyone we've spoken to who are thinking about visiting have been told to look up Sankofa Guest Apartment.
Edith and Norma - we want to come back! Please do let us know if you're ever thinking of coming down our way to Noosa, we would love to return the favour, your warmth and hospitality will never be forgotten!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Sankofa Guest Apt

Review submitted: August 20, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

What a great place; better than I thought it would be when I booked. A great location; easy for public transportation. The apt was immaculate @ everything worked great. Edith was so helpful in providing recommendations regarding dining, shopping, etc., and answering questions.

The bottle of wine and gift certificates were so thoughtful.

I would highly recommend Sankofa to anyone & it will be my "home" the next time I visit NYC!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A highlight of our trip

Review submitted: July 21, 2012   Date of arrival: July 4, 2012

Superlatives were invented to describe Sankofa. All the reviews that have gone before are true and then some. Edith and Norma are always coming up with more to make the apartment a delightful respite with art and books and textiles that ignite the imagination. Thank you, gracious ladies, for creating this oasis of calm and beauty. We can't wait to return.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Superb accommodation

Review submitted: July 7, 2012   Date of arrival: June 24, 2012

We had the most wonderful nine nights at Sankofa from June 24th to July 3rd 2012. The owners ,Edith and Norma who live in the apartments below were so wonderful to us.
On our arrival we were greeted and shown around the apartment.Edith welcomed us with yummy croissants and in the fridge were a dozen beers,a bottle of wine,gourmet jams,butter,and juice.
They also gave us crackers chips and nuts.
The gourmet coffee machine was very nice and it was also stocked with lots of delicious pods for our stay.We were also given 2 ,$10.00 gift certificates for a great local cafe.
We were supplied with wonderful toiletries and the bedding and other linen was of a very high standard.
The apartment is just wonderful.
It is on the top floor of a beautiful old Brownstone and it is decorated beautifully.
The rooms are spacious and light filled.
The air conditioning works well and is very quiet,they have split system systems in the bedroom and living room.
The laundry was great as we could wash our clothes without leaving the apartment.the detergent was supplied as well!
We felt as if we were at home and did not want to leave.
The subway and bus are just a few blocks away and we used them all the time.
We never felt unsafe and we were walking around even at 11.00 pm at night.
There is a supermarket a few blocks away so we purchased food and had our breakfasts in the apartment.
We would definitely recommend Sankofa to anyone who wants to stay in New York.
It is in west Harlem and is about a 25 minute trip on the subway to the historical older parts of Manhatten,however it is an absolute oasis to come back to each evening after a full day out seeing the sights.
There are lots of nice restaurants that are only a few blocks away and the apartments kitchen has everything a cook would need in it if you wanted to cook a meal.
We really did not want to leave, and will definitely return to Sankofa as soon as we can.
Our friends were concerned when we said we were staying in Harlem but we felt safe all the time and everyone we met on the street was very friendly.
There are wonderful books to read in the apartment as well as lots of helpful literature on New York.
The apartment is totally separate from the owners and very private and secure.
There are lots of steps up to it so if you cannot go up steps you would have a problem..
Once again I only have wonderful things to say about Sankofa and hope to get back there soon.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Two Seniors

Review submitted: June 4, 2012   Date of arrival: March 25, 2012

The apartment was spotlessly clean and is accurately portrayed in photos. The bed is soooo comfortable with serious linens. The fully equipped modern kitchen allowed us to shop for fresh food (Chelsea Market at 15th/8th, Western Market at 14th/7th and Whole Foods at Columbus Circle are our favourites - all easily accessible by subway.) Local supermarkets are excellent too. We had a very relaxing time visiting the many museums and galleries around Central Park. Shopping access to Macy's etc is a breeze by M2 bus or 2/3 Line subway. Convenience of access to clean, regular and secure buses/trains just steps away is a big plus for Sankofa. Feet-up days were peaceful and quiet due to the location. Many restaurants are nearby for all budgets. Jimbo's is a budget diner cum social experience - with coffee in 10 seconds and a full breakfast in under 5 minutes - all produced in full view by the gymnastic "men in white". Harlem has the friendliest people imaginable, not least Edith and Norma as hosts. Nothing is too much trouble for these lovely ladies. A memorable stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Little more to say than just Excellent

Review submitted: January 5, 2012   Date of arrival: September 26, 2011

As previous review I read when looking for a place in NYC, I don't think there is anything that can be added. Edith and Norma are gracious hostesses. We were greeted with a bottle of Australian Merlot, nuts, cheese, crackers, bagels, jam etc. totally unexpected. The lovely gift voucher to their friend's cafe, Cafe Latte, was delightful. We ended up going more than once. I have been to NYC before always staying around 50th street but much preferred the comfort of Sankofa. Thank you Edith and Norma for making the trip so delightful.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great, cozy NYC apartment

Review submitted: November 15, 2011   Date of arrival: November 4, 2011

We spent 3 nights at Sankofa during our trip to NYC for the marathon. Was looking for a nice, quiet apartment away from the all of the 'touristy' hustle and bustle and convenient to transportation and nice restaurants. Sankofa was dead on! Edith, the owner, was very sweet and helpful. She made sure that we had everything we needed in the apartment or had access to it (the welcome 'snacks' were definitely appreciated), as well as provided key information about the area.

The apartment is a good size for a 1 bedroom NYC apartment. Well decorated and furnished, as well as clean. The decor was fitting given the history of the area. Plenty of sunlight and on a quiet street. All of the amenities available made us feel like home, from the washer/dryer to the Direct TV...oh, and Wi-Fi! Both beds were very comfortable (one in the bedroom and one in the living room).

The subway station was only a few blocks away and so was the city bus. Very easy access to all parts of the city. A good size market/grocery store was only a few blocks away as well and had all of the items we needed for our stay (fruit, veggies, bread, meat, milk, yogurt, etc.). CVS pharmacy and other shops were also w/in a short walk from the apartment.

Looking forward to staying at Sankofa during our next visit to New York! A hidden gem, for sure.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Fully Recommended

Review submitted: November 14, 2011   Date of arrival: October 23, 2011

This apartment was even better than we hoped from the descripton. Beautiful decor and good quality equipment and furnishings which made a lovely retreat from the busy city. An easy walk to bus and subway stops that take you straight to the main sights. There is an excellent supermarket close by if you want provisions. Edith was extremely welcoming and helpful with information and advice. We would thoroughly recommend this to friends and family members visiting New York.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Dream

Review submitted: October 19, 2011   Date of arrival: September 30, 2011

This was my sixth visit to New York and my second stay at Sankofa, and I can only confirm, you can't find better accommodations in this city.

The neighbourhood is quiet and friendly with good food stores as well as a variety of nice restaurants and cafes in the vicinity.

Communications are also excellent. The subway takes you downtown in only 10 minutes, the trains run every other minute. If you want to take a bus there is one that runs along Fifth Avenue all the way down to East Village where you get a good view of the city and easy access to all the major museums and many other hot spots.

And the apartment is a dream. After a long day of exploring New York it is certainly comforting to enjoy its tranquillity. It is comfortable and spacious and has a homely feeling that you will never get in a hotel room. Tastefully decorated with plenty of artwork adding to the personal touch. Well equipped with what you could possibly need and everything from towels to kitchen utensils are of good quality. Even dressing gowns and slippers are included. This is true luxury for me!! You will find plenty of literature about New York and Harlem in the apartment. And as if that is not enough to make your stay in New York enjoyable, the hostesses, Norma and Edith, are very friendly and helpful. You can tell that they have put their harts and souls into this beautiful house. Thank you for letting us share it.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Two Very Content Travellers from Scotland

Review submitted: October 17, 2011   Date of arrival: October 6, 2011

We cannot overstate how wonderful this apartment is. There is every amenity anyone could possibly want. It is extremely comfortable and beautifully decorated with really interesting items. The hospitality of the owners is outstanding. They are two of the kindest people we have ever met. The apartment is a short walk to the subway and an even shorter walk to the bus stop. The subway journey takes about 15 minutes to get to 42nd street. The bus takes a bit longer but gives time to take in all the sights and sounds of New York. Harlem is a really good base for a holiday and not at all intimidating, despite its reputation. We never once felt uncomfortable walking around the area. In fact the architecture in the area is beautiful. We highly recommend Sankofa Apartment for your stay in New York.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Two Senior Australians

Review submitted: September 9, 2011   Date of arrival: March 31, 2011

We have stayed at Sankofa twice - in 2010 and 2011. We notice Edith and Norma have recommended a no-show - and waived all costs - for a booking during Hurricane Irene. Such thoughtfulness is completely consistent with our experience. We have made a booking for a third stay in 2012 - 6 weeks.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Top Notch

Review submitted: August 31, 2011   Date of arrival: August 26, 2011

I was planning on attending the World Police and Fire Games with my parents. Unfortunately, our arrival coincided with the arrival of Hurricane Irene and we were advised not to travel into New York. I contacted Edith Palmer and she concurred. She did not charge me even though it was a last minute cancellation. We had been looking forward to this trip for several months and even though it may be a while before we return to New York, I plan on finding an excuse to go and stay here. I would give them double the stars if I could! THANKS!!!

Owners response: I am sure Sankofa Guest Apartment was not the only rental to wave cancellation fees at this horrendous time. I'm also sure that you are the ONLY person thoughtful enough to take time to express his appreciation. THANK YOU!!!! We certainly look forward to meeting a "top notch" son and his parents the next time they visit New York.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A wonderful home to come back to.

Review submitted: August 24, 2011   Date of arrival: July 28, 2011

We really loved our stay here and couldn't recommend it more highly. We received such a warm welcome from Edith and nothing was too much trouble for her. The apartment was really comfortable, clean, welcoming and homely. Edith and Norma have put so much thought and effort into the lovely decor in the apartment, and we really appreciated the extra 'touches' such as the toiletries, bathrobes, beer, muffins and bagels which made us feel so welcome. After a busy day in downtown New York, Sankofa was an oasis of calm and a very relaxing home to come back to. Staying in Harlem also added to our enjoyment. It was another experience to add to that of downtown New York. We ate at some really good restaurants in Harlem and loved the relaxed and friendly atmosphere in the area. We felt safe at all times. We found the bus and subway very convenient for travelling around especially with the metro card. We will be recommending Edith and Norma's home to all our family and friends and would love to go back one day!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Sankofa

Review submitted: July 27, 2011   Date of arrival: July 7, 2011

This was our fourth visit to NY and our first stay at Sankofa. We stayed for 9 days and it was like having our own apartment in New York. The apartment is spotless with beautiful decor. It has everything you need for your stay. It is a home away from home. Edith and Norma are great hostesses and make you feel welcome and at ease. They informed us of how to use the transit and suggested some great restaurants to have great meals. One of them being the newly opened Red Rooster which serves Awesome food.Shopping in Harlem is great and getting around is easy. If you encounter a problem such as your car not starting they are more than willing to help. We highly recommend this apartment. We will come back to Sakofa. It is Fabulous,,just Fabulous!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Sankofa Experience

Review submitted: July 13, 2011   Date of arrival: May 13, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our 6 night stay at Sankofa Guest Apartment. The location was great as it only took 5 minutes to reach the subway or bus with the shops also close by. The apartment was beautifully decorated and it was so cosy when we arrived back after a full day of sight seeing, to enjoy the atmosphere. Edith and Norma are such lovely people and so helpful. We couldn't believe the gorgeous fluffy towels and slippers and dressing gowns for our use. The apartment was exceptionally clean and well maintained and we certainly enjoyed the bottle of wine and chocolates on our arrival (not to mention the sumptuous muffins!). We would certainly recommend it to family and family and have actually done so

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Oasis in New York!

Review submitted: June 19, 2011   Date of arrival: May 25, 2011

This apartment was fantastic! Spotlessly clean, beautifully furnished and decorated. Very comfortable bed and quality linen and towels. Everything is just as it is described (only better!). Norma and Edith, the owners are delightful, welcoming and helpful, but not intrusive. We (couple in our 50s) were there at the end of May/beginning of June 2011 when the weather was becoming hot (90 deg F a couple of days and humid) but the A/C took care of that and we found the apartment a real oasis after seeing the sights of Manhattan each day. The kitchen is fully set up, a couple of good supermarkets a few blocks away. There is a full size washing machine and dryer. The free Wi-Fi (bring your own laptop) was a real bonus, great for skyping. Don't let the location put you off, we found Harlem to be very safe and used the subway and buses all the time. The street the apartment is in is a heritage area, with lovely brownstones, flower boxes, trees. It's a short walk to the subway and day and night we had no problems. To and from JFK airport we took the train and subway to get to the apartment...apart from a few stairs in some of the subway stations which makes it a bit difficult with suitcases it was fine. We stayed 8 nights and could have stayed a month! We couldn't recommend this apartment more highly.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Two Senior Australians

Review submitted: May 21, 2011   Date of arrival: March 31, 2011

We stayed at Sankofa for 30 days in March/April - our second stay. The apartment was spotlessly presented again with the same brilliant welcoming smiles from Edith and Norma. Provisioning in the kitchen was very considerate of our long flight from Australia. A dreamy bed was very much appreciated. Our aim was to see as much of Manhattan as we could using public transport. Buses were our choice this time and we became "frequent flyers" on the nos 2, 7 and 10 buses visiting many museums, galleries and restaurants enroute. Subway was handy for quick trips downtown but we found both methods safe, timely and reliable. Harlem people are the most smilingly friendly in NYC! Nearby supermarkets were good quality but we used Whole Foods at Columbus Circle most frequently. Sankofa became our retreat home during our previous stay in 2010 and a "feet-up" day or two was very enjoyable this trip too. Decor choices and kitchen equipment promote a totally relaxed atmosphere. We didn't use aircon much but it was very effective. Free wifi was very welcome helping us to stay in touch with friends - in NYC and beyond. Our next stay will also be a month or more. Hopefully very soon!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Sankofa - the nicest place in Harlem

Review submitted: May 18, 2011   Date of arrival: May 4, 2011

I agree with every previous review written by Sankofa guests. It is truly a home away from home, so cozy, comfortable and well equipped. And Harlems "hip factor" is obvious ! Just look at all the exciting bars and restaurants that pops up ! Within walking distance from Sankofa you can find a variety of kitchens ; american, caribbian, french or whatever you prefer.
To get around Manhattan is very easy with subways and buses around the corner. You feel safe, walking the streets of Harlem any time of the day.
After long days of sightseeing and shopping it is such a relief to come "home" to Sankofa, have a drink, watch the weather forecast on TV and make plans for the next day.You sleep like a king/queen in the comfy beds.
Edith and Norma are the sweetest hostesses !
This was my number four visit to Sankofa - and number five is already booked. Thank you Edith and Norma - see you soon !
Lena, this time with friend Annika

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Neil Laredo Australia

Review submitted: January 16, 2011   Date of arrival: January 23, 2010

My stay in New York was like having your own residence. Edith and Norma open their apartment to their guest as if they were family. From the very first night, after about 20 hours traveling, I walked in put my bags down and started thinking about what I would do the next day. It was as if you had just arrived home from work and was wondering what you would do on the weekend.

The arpartment has everything you need and it is all so easy to use and comfortable. Public transport is only five minutes away and you can be downtown in just a few minutes. If you like to walk I would recomend walking down to Central Park, it took me about 40 minutes to get to the Met the day after it had snowed, just a beautiful experience.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Home Away From Home

Review submitted: December 21, 2010   Date of arrival: October 23, 2010

Edith and Norma, thanks for your hospitality and for making our stay in NYC such a great experience. You have a wonderful place. It really is a home away from home, very cosy and very tastefully decorated. The photos say it all. A great place to come back to in the evening after a full day of sightseeing. The location is very convenient, just half an hour from Times Square, has all you need around, safe neighborhood, felt comfortable. Super helpful hosts, make you feel welcome from the start. Very highly recommended and would definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Highly recommendable place to stay in New York

Review submitted: December 18, 2010   Date of arrival: November 3, 2010

There is really not much to say that hasn’t already been said in the previous rewievs. -Accurate listing description, beautiful and well-maintained apartment, excellent customer service; to sum up, a highly recommendable accommodation.

We also want to mention the hospitality of the New Yorkers in general and, if possible, the even greater hospitality in Harlem: the ultimate token of this hospitality we experienced the last day of our vacation. When we were going home we had trouble finding transportation to the airport due to the New York marathon. We ended up in the street outside Sankofa, trying to get a taxi which really wasn’t easy. After a few minutes of failure a women approached us asking if we wanted her to call a local taxi company. Two minutes later a taxi arrived and took us to the JFK in due time for our flight back to Sweden - this would never happen were we live!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

I will soon be back

Review submitted: December 2, 2010   Date of arrival: November 24, 2010

When you reed the reviews for this apartment you realize that many
people are coming back here, time after time. This is very understandable. Me and my friends belong to this kind. After a long day in the hectic big beautiful city, it´s such a comfort to sit down
in the cozy living room , relax , maybe have a coffee and make plans for the next day. Sankofa has everything you need in a home, and the
comfortable beds makes you sleep so sweet.
Shops and restaurants are in walking distance , buses and subway too. As soon as you leave Sankofa, you long to come back ! This apartment has that effect on you, the same goes for Edith and Norma, the beautiful hostesses. Thanks for everything , see you next year !!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beeing at home in New York City

Review submitted: October 27, 2010   Date of arrival: September 7, 2010

We never imagined to find a real home in New York City, but in Sankofa Guest Apartment we did. It was so impressing to be part of the neighbourhood, to be warmly welcomed by Edith and Norma. There were no problems to go downtown, to participate in the wonderful life of NYC. We hope to come back soon!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best place to stay first time in NY

Review submitted: October 8, 2010   Date of arrival: September 18, 2010

When looking for an apartment to stay in our first time in NY, my brother and I wanted a place with all the amenities and a step away from everything we were anxious to see, and to were we could return for a good rest from a long day exploring the city. Reading all the reviews to Sankofa we thought it could be a good choise. And we weren't wrong! It was all we were hoping for (and discribed by the owners) and more! All the comforts of home, very clean and pleasant. We were very welcomed by our hostess Edith, continuing all the help she gave us throughout the reservation. Always thoughtful, we were very pleased to see we had complimentary food and wine waiting for us! The apartment is very well located, near transportations, a 10 minutes walk from the subway, in a very quiet neighbourhood. In short, we loved our first NY experience, and when returning we will certainly look for Sankofa! An apartment we recommend to all!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Best Ever!

Review submitted: September 26, 2010   Date of arrival: September 11, 2010

Fabulous - a wonderful, comfortable and peaceful apartment with welcoming and helpful owners - terrific value. Siting is also good with easy access to the underground, buses, local stores and a great local cafe. There is little point in looking for anywhere else. A real pearl in a fantastic city.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Outstanding

Review submitted: August 23, 2010   Date of arrival: August 14, 2010

I have made my home away from home at the Sankofa Guest Apartment for the last seven years. Yes, it still remains the ultimate experience for my soul. The apartment is just to die for, I am so addicted to the peaceful energy in this space that I vow to treat myself to this portal for the soul as often as time permits. I can say without question that your host Edith and Norma provide you with the space to enjoy your visit in style and grace. I know that this is one of the greatest Harlem experiences and I hope to continue my joy in this space for years to come. L. Love North Carolina, USA

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

First time in NYC

Review submitted: July 21, 2010   Date of arrival: July 1, 2010

When searching Home and Away for accommodation in New York we wanted to be out of central and downtown Manhattan and thought Harlem was the right area for us.
Reading all the previous visitor comments led us to feel that Sanfoka was the right place for us. What a good decision. Everything was as described and Edith and Norma made us most welcome, giving a lot of help and guidance for our visit. The welcome food and wine started us off well. THe apartment was a real home from home with everything you could possibly need to make your visit comfortable. The fact that we were staying over the 3 hottest days (over 100 degrees) meant the excellent Air Con provided a cool retreat after sight seeing. West 121st St is excellently placed in the neighbourhood with good transport, local shops and cafes. We hope to return one day.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The only place to stay in NYC

Review submitted: July 12, 2010   Date of arrival: June 7, 2009

My husband and I loved our week's stay at Sankofa and the friendly, welcoming people of Harlem. This apartment is a dream come true - from the well-appointed bedroom with its comfy bed and views of the tree-lined street; to the beautifully decorated living room with fantastic art. We looked forward to returning to this quiet, luxurious place after a long day of sightseeing in the city. Enjoy the people of Harlem - they are awesome. We enjoyed talking to so many of them.....we were even invited to dinner by a lovely woman on the bus! Try having that experience elsewhere!

There's a world-class bakery and little cafes just a short walk from the apartment - plus stress-free transportation all over the city via bus or metro. Norma and Edith made us feel right at home. Sankofa exceeded all of our expectations!

Gayle & Larry

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Harlem forever

Review submitted: June 3, 2010   Date of arrival: May 27, 2010

I no longer have to look for places to live when I visit New York.
Since I found Sankofa, this is where I want to be. I love the apartment
and Edith and Norma,the hostesses, I love them too.
This was my second stay there and I can warmly recommend it to
people who are planning to visit New York. Sankofa has it all !
To live in Harlem is to live in a famous,friendly and interesting part of
the Big City. My plan is to come back in November.
Lena , and friend Cecilia

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best place to stay in NYC

Review submitted: May 14, 2010   Date of arrival: April 29, 2010

Our seventh time in New York. Our first time in Harlem. This is the best apartment so far. Edith and Norma, thanks for your warm hospitality. We hope to return to your wonderful neighbourhood.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Delightful Sankofa

Review submitted: May 12, 2010   Date of arrival: April 8, 2010

We are a 60+yo couple from Australia. Sankofa was recommended to us by other family members and the rave review was quite accurate. We are very happy to say Sankofa was our "home" for 3 weeks in April 2010. The apartment was a relaxing and comfortable haven after a day tramping around Manhattan. The apartment was spotlessly clean and equipment level was very high - including air-conditioning. Free wifi was fast for our iPod Touch. Bedding and linen were high quality. The kitchen - which was fully equipped - had food provisioning which was very generous and considerate. Kitchen food and general supplies were of themselves an adequate reflection of the onsite hosts' overall friendliness and desire to ensure guests would enjoy not just NY, but the apartment as well. Nothing was ever too much trouble and we were made to feel personally welcome by the owners (surely two of the beautiful people of this world), not simply paying guests. Helpful neighbourhood/transport orientation guides in the apartment were a big plus in helping us to maximise our NY experience. Subway stations and supermarkets were a short 5-10 minute walk. The Downtown buses are literally around the corner. We felt quite secure in the local streets at all times. Local people were extremely courteous and helpful - often volunteering to help us with directions when we looked as if we needed it! We have no hesitation in recommending Sankofa to our family and friends. We can only hope the apartment will be available for us when next we visit NY. The positive experiences recorded in the reviews are an ample commentary on Sankofa and its hosts. Sankofa is a hidden treasure.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A Wonderful Experience

Review submitted: April 17, 2010   Date of arrival: March 25, 2010

It is hard to know where to begin!! Our wonderful holiday in New York was truly enhanced by our stay at "Sankofa". Norma and Edith were warm and hospitable and full of great advice and suggestions. The apartment itself is a real haven with fabulous decor and every possible amenity - comfort plus!! My friend and I tossed a coin for the bedroom and I won the sofa! - it was very cosy and comfortable and I slept like a dream. Everything is very accessible from "Sankofa" - public transport is minutes away - we were always quite late coming home so we would catch the No.2 bus on Madison Avenue and it would practically drop us at the front door. We hope we can return some day - maybe next time with our families.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Spring Break 2010 - Sankofa Guest Apartment

Review submitted: April 6, 2010   Date of arrival: March 14, 2010

Words simply cannot describe the “Sankofa apartment experience”. This has been one unforgettable spring break, not only for our 15 year old son, Madison but also for my husband Jerry and I as well. The brownstone apartment was everything we could have ever asked for and more. It was so relaxing that we actually found it difficult to get out and sightsee each morning. Seven days at the Sankofa apartment rolled around so fast!! We simply hated to leave. Every single amenity was made available to us by our wonderful hostesses, Edith & Norma during our entire week in Harlem. One of the highlights of our vacation was a walking tour of Harlem and experiencing first hand the rich history, culture and impeccable architecture of the neighborhood. The walking tour guide just happened to be made available for us in the apartment by our lovely hostesses. Upon arrival, a wonderful assortment of treats were left in the beautifully appointed kitchen to enjoy at our leisure. I just can not stop talking about Sankofa! Please keep our reservation open every spring break!! Thank you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Winter in New York

Review submitted: March 8, 2010   Date of arrival: February 18, 2010

Choosing an apartment in New York for ten nights in winter carries some risks. Having a comfortable place to return to at the end of a long day is all important. Fortunately we chose well.

We were certain from the moment we arrived that it was going to be an enjoyable stay. The apartment was warm and scrupulously clean, there was food in the fridge, plenty of information re sights and restaurants, even bathrobes and slippers - an unexpected but welcome touch.

Certainly, Sankofa doesn't have the convenience of midtown Manhattan. It nevertheless is well located for both the subway and buses. Trains are no more than five minutes walk, buses about two minutes, even trudging through the snow. Having a well equipped kitchen rather than eating out every night made staying there even better. Edith was a wonderful host and extremely helpful on the few occasions we needed some help or advice.

For those with any misgivings about Harlem, forget it. We found it a very safe area to walk both day and night.

Overall a wonderful experience.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

We now have a home in New York City!

Review submitted: January 14, 2010   Date of arrival: December 10, 2009

There are so many wonderful comments about Sankofa and Harlem on this site that I figured we would be happy enough staying there for our five days in New York. I never thought that it would be the highlight of our whole trip! Edith and Norma are the two sweetest people in all of New York City and we met a LOT of exceptionally friendly locals.

Not only was the apartment warm and inviting, but Harlem itself is a haven of lovely people and rich history. Visitors who aren't familiar with New York City (as I wasn't until this trip) or more specifically Manhattan, may not even consider staying in Harlem. This is a mistake! I, a woman in my thirties, my mother (59) and my aunt (70) are all from small towns in Nova Scotia, Canada. Not once did any of us feel unsafe or intimidated walking the streets of Harlem, day or night. People were curteous and willing to help if we needed directions or recommendations on where to eat or shop.

So much has already been written about the apartment I'm not sure what more I can add. The beds are exceptionally comfortable, the decor authentic and original, and the attention to detail is outstanding. All the little things were taken care of so we never felt like we were away from home. After several very full days of exploring New York, it was a treat to come "home" and relax instead of going back to an mundane hotel with none of the ammenities you get here.

I got to spend my birthday staying in a wonderful apartment owned by two fabulous ladies in one of the most exciting and friendly cities I have ever visited! What more could a girl ask for? I can't wait to go back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fantastic stay in Harlem

Review submitted: January 12, 2010   Date of arrival: December 29, 2009

Thanks Edith and Norma for such a memorable stay in your beautiful apartment. We were truly sad to leave. We loved every moment of staying, especially the warmth and generosity of our hosts. We would recommend staying in Sankofta to all our friends and family.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: December 3, 2009   Date of arrival: December 3, 2009

We came to stay at Sankofa through most of October. It was our first time to be both on the east coast and in New York. The prospect of visiting such an infamous city can be a little intimidating, but the gods smiled on us in our choice of Sankofa. It was clear from the moment we contacted them that they would do whatever they could to make our stay as pleasant as possible. Gracious, warm, funny, open, well-informed, and sensitive - Edith and Norma are everything we could have hoped for from hostesses and local guides. We are happy to recommend their guest abode to you.
(Here are a few words about sleeping at Sankofa: the mattress was very comfortable, not too hard or soft, high quality linens and plenty of pillows - take your pick. The bedroom overlooks the backyard and little can be heard beyond the distant sounds of traffic. The street is quiet at night. You are reasonably assured of a good nights' sleep. Any bed beyond my own that I can fall to sleep in immediately and stay asleep, gets a high rating from me - Sankofa was A+. There is a very quiet and efficient air-conditioning unit high on the bedroom wall with a remote control. I like to sleep in a cool room).

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our New York

Review submitted: November 10, 2009   Date of arrival: October 23, 2009

We chose Sankofa after reading the comments of the previous reviewers and we found it's excellent reputation to be completely deserved.
The apartment is immaculate,spacious and beautifully appointed with
that intangible"something special" which is rarely found in a private home,let alone an apartment in a big city.
Edith and Norma are gracious ,welcoming hosts who as far as we were concerned had thought of everything to make their guests stay as stress free and comfortable as possible-even down to providing umbrellas for the less than perfect days.
To be able to do our washing without going out,and to have enough food provided for the the first day or so was especially welcome after a long trip.
We found we could walk to Central Park if we wanted and the transport options were plentiful to travel further afield .
We especially liked the M2 bus for the scenic ride.
It's also easy to catch the Metro North trains to upstate NY-the trip to Cold Spring along the Hudson River is lovely.
Sit on the left and look out for Westpoint Military Academy on the opposite of the river from the town of Garrison.
Thes trains depart from the Lexington Ave. stop on 125st E where its also possible to catch a subway train directly to the Staten Island Ferry via Grand Central Station,itself worth a visit.
Sankofa is a superb apartment. beautifully run by two delightful ladies in an interesting and exciting part of New York.
We can highly recommend it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: October 9, 2009   Date of arrival: October 9, 2009

Even before we arrived we knew that Sankofa was going to be something really special. Edith and Norma, our hosts could not have been any more helpful, even agreeing to let us order event tickets prior to our arrival using their address for delivery and answering what were almost daily questions from us. Sankofa is everything the pictures show and so much more. The apartment is an absolutely beautiful oasis in the hubbub of New York. The neighbourhood is full of interesting people and everything you might want to see is a very short subway ride away. Edith has a wealth of knowledge and she went out of her way to provide us with information and help for subways, buses, landmarks, shows and many other things. When we return to NY, Sankofa will most definitely be our home away from home. Thank you so much for making our trip such a memorable one.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Our home away from home !!

Review submitted: October 6, 2009   Date of arrival: September 26, 2009

Since New York is one of our favorite places,we have been there many times but never before have we stayed in Harlem. From now on we will not stay anywhere else !
Here is why :
Sankofa Guest Apartment turned out to be the perfect choise. Not only is this beautiful apartment filled with craft, art and books, you can also find maps, booklets and brochures with all the information about New York that you can possibly wish for. And more : comfortable beds,
well aquipped kitcken and bathroom and a very cosy, comfortable livingroom. Really the perfect "Home away from home".
You will find what you need for breakfast the first days, already in the
kitchen !!
A big supermarket just minutes away as well as the subway station. And the subway takes you to Times Square in 15 minutes. Add another 5 - 10 minutes and you are in Greenwich Village, Soho or Chinatown.
If you want to eat out, there is a selection of restaurants and bars just around the corner from Sankofa. The people are so friendly ; more than once we were met by ; "Goodmorning ladies ! " in the street, from complete strangers ! Is this typical for Harlem ? It certainly doesn´t happen in our hometown !!
And our hostesses ! So sweet and helpful ! We can honestly say that
we felt sad leaving Sankofa. It´s a relief to know that we will see Edith and Norma again, next time in New York !!!!
Lena

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: September 4, 2009   Date of arrival: September 4, 2009

I stayed at the Sankofa Guest Apartment from 9/27 - 9/31 of 2009 and I had the best time. The apartment was beautiful and the pictures do not do it justice. It was a warm welcome from the interesting shuttle ride from the airport. Edith and Norma thank you so much for your hospitality and for being so helpful in suggesting places to eat and visit. After a long day of walking Harlem and a hot shower relaxing by the window while watching tv was great. Again, thank you so much for your hospitality. I look forward to returning.

Karen Chadwick
Houston, Texas

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 3, 2009   Date of arrival: May 3, 2009

I was with my two kids (15 and 18) and did not
think that it could be so pleasant to rent an
apartment! First, we have been welcomed by Edith
and her sister who are absolutly deligthfull. We
were so touched to notice all the thougths from
our hosts: milk and butter in the fridge , some jam
and all other small things that makes you feel at
home at once ! then , the apartment was so warm
and nicely arranged , everything was thought to
please the guests that we were. Edith and her sister
were so discreet that we had the impression to be
alone in the house, but when we have needed
some help they were always there and helpful. I did
not think that I could feel so much at home in a
place that was not my home ! Then, it has been
very easy to go and visit all the museums because ,
just next to the place , a bus goes directly to the
museum Mile where all the museums are . Harlem
has been also the occasion for us to go and listen
to very good jazz gigs and in a not touristy place
and that was a very nice experience . There are
also plenty of nice and unexpensive places to eat to
and the people there have been always helpful and
nice . I hope to be able to come again It has been a
great pleasure!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: April 29, 2009   Date of arrival: April 29, 2009

We have all stayed at quote "nice places" at some point and sometime but, rarely do we walk into a place with so much "Soul", where you feel at home from the moment you walk in. Sankofa is the kind of guest apartment for which you plan time to be in everyday for some rest and cosiness, even if Manhattan is calling outside... Truly a gem, made even better by Edith and Norma's sincere warmhearted nature. Can't wait to be back !

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Nice homy apartment

Review submitted: March 15, 2009   Date of arrival: November 22, 2008

We really enjoyed our stay in Sankofa. The atmosphere of the apartment was nice. Everything was nice and clean and the apartment was well equipment. Location was good, only few blocks to grocery store and subway. We will definitely come back!

A retired couple and their daughter from Finland

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Trip of a lifetime

Review submitted: March 8, 2009   Date of arrival: November 3, 2008

We had a very warm welcome from Edith and Norma, who showed us where everything was and how things worked! The apartment is at the top of the house, and there are two flights of stairs to climb, so not suitable for those with limited mobility.The sofa bed in the sitting room was a proper bed, very omfortable. The kitchen was well equipped and there were breakfast provisions for us, milk, orange juice, tea/coffee, cereal, butter and muffins. The bedroom was very comfortable, loads of storage space. The apartment was very quiet and we slept well. Harlem was a wonderful area to stay, very interesting. Edith and Norma are obviously proud of their African American roots, and the apartment was decorated in this style, with plenty of books to read about the history of Harlem and so on.Edith and Norma were very good at helping us to work out how to get to places. The subway was surprisingly easy to use, buses were also good. The ride down in the bus alongside Central Park was lovely. The apartment was handy for both bus stops and subway stations. Harlem was a great place to stay. Fascinating area, with good places to eat. It was also easy to get downtown, about 20 minutes on the subway. We were two women travelling together, and we felt very safe.We went to a gospel service just around the corner, which was one of the highlights of the triip. There were so many highlights though that its difficult to pick one. The only suggestion I could make about improving the apartment was the television. I don't suppose anyone goes to New York to stay in and watch TV, but it would have been nice some evenings when we were tired. Some upgrading required perhaps? Apart from that small thing we had a fantastic time, in a wonderful apartment with lovely hosts. Would definitely stay there again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 5

 

Cosy tasteful apartment in Harlem

Review submitted: February 28, 2009   Date of arrival: February 13, 2009

We stayed in this apartment for 8 days in February 2009. From the very beginning we felt at home due to the beautiful and tasteful decoration of all rooms. The apartment was impeccable, very clean and silent. It's the perfect place for relaxing after busy days of sightseeing and going out in New York City. The apartment is located in a safe neighbourhood and we could even park our rental car in front of the apartment without hardly any parking restrictions. The bus links (M2 / M1) are just around the corner and a subway station is just a 5-minutes' walk away. The two owners of the apartment Edith and Norma are extremely friendly, warm-hearted, cosmopolitan and helpful. The apartment is fully equipped (washing machine, dryer, kitchen, WLAN, towels, bed sheets, hairdryer, etc.). We really enjoyed our stay in NYC very much and living in this wonderful apartment contributed a lot to this very successful vacation. By the way, staying in this apartment makes you feel like a real New Yorker!
Doris and Martin (Austria / Europe)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 19, 2008   Date of arrival: November 1, 2008

We stayed at Sankofa from 11-03-08 to 11-12-08. It was the best decision I have ever made in lodging. It was so comfortable, with lovely amenities surrounding you that made it all the more enjoyable. The decorating was superb. The bed as good as our one at home. We couln't have asked for a better spot to retreat to after a long day sightseeing in NYC. Edith and Norma were the best. They were so helpful and kind when our son visited us unexpectedly. He also was very comfortable. The subway was close, all sorts of info. pamphlets made available, stores close by for food, good restarants and more. It's a jewel that we'll definitely use again. I actually feel I have found two new friends, besides a lovely retreat in the city. Thank you again, Edith and Norma.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 13, 2008   Date of arrival: October 1, 2008

I stayed at the Sanfoka Guest Apartment for 4 nights. The owners Edith and Norma were very nice and helpful. The apartment has everything you need to make your stay in NYC enjoyable. There's a full kitchen and laundry room. The apartment is in a safe neighborhood off 125th street in Harlem. The subways are a few blocks away and it takes about 15 minutes on the express subway lines to get to Times Square. Staying at the Sanfoka is much more relaxing than staying at a small NY hotel room. I will definitely be staying at the Sanfoka for future trips to NYC.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Truly Fantastic Experience

Review submitted: September 11, 2008   Date of arrival: August 29, 2008

My husband and I spent 4 nights at this charming apartment; it turned out to be one of the major highlights of our two-month European trip.

Our host--Edith--was a delight and could not have been more helpful. (Edith's sister, too, was there to greet us when we arrived.) Everything was provided for our comfort and convenience..

The apartment was immaculate and superbly-decorated with fascinating objet d'arts. The neighborhood was a quiet oasis in a teeming city. Imagine ... lush gardens in the heart of Harlem!! I found it fascinating and we felt perfectly safe wandering about. In fact, the people we met were, without a doubt, some of the most helpful and friendly we've ever experienced.

Transportion was a snap. A quick walk to the subway or the busline took you on your next adventure.

I chose this guest house as an alternative to the boring, expensive hotels available in New York City. It was one of the best decisions I ever made and I wouldn't hesitate in recommending the place. In fact, my husband and I have already done so to several friends.

Shirley and Walter

.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 5, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

I am a doctoral student at Columbia University working on the degrees only during the summer in New York. Sankofa was my home for 2 months in 2007 and 2008 (and is reserved for 2009!). It is truly my home-away-from-home.

The pictures are accurate in that Sankofa is a warm, inviting and comfortable place to stay for any length of time. It has been beautifully decorated. The internet, laundry and full kitchen are perfect for the stay.

I could write forever about the kindness of Edith and Norma, the owners. They are truly the salt of the earth. They will make sure your stay is nothing short of memorable.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 29, 2008   Date of arrival: April 1, 2008

Yes, what can I say about the Sankofa apartment without falling in superlatives. My wife and I stayed here for one month (April 2008) on our first visit to New York and was it a good choice. It started already with the initial telephone contact I had with Edith before we even booked. She informed me accurately about the apartment, the neighbourhood I could expect to find and I felt already welcome without having seen it. The apartment is well appointed, everything one might need for a short or prolonged stay is provided for and all of excellent quality. The atmosphere is so nice that we felt at home nearly immediately. The availability of telephone and internet access made for a good contact with our children and grandchildren in Holland. The situation as far as subway and bus transport is concerned could not be better, everything within a 5 minute walk from home (and I say home on purpose). We had a lovely time here, discovering New York at leisure, and when we had some questions or problems these were answered and solved immediately by the ladies of the house in a more than kind and friendly way. Being so near to 125th Street is handy for an evening stroll and for getting the necessary groceries etc. and this busy main street gives a good taste of life in Harlem.
We will certainly keep in contact with our nice hostesses and can recommend a stay in this excellent place. Thank you Edith and Norma for letting us stay with you.

Ada and Rudy Gelderman.

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Review submitted: January 16, 2008   Date of arrival: January 16, 2008

We spent 8 nights at Sankofa around Christmas time. Coming from Senegal to New York in the heart of winter was quite a challenge for our family. The difference in temperature was enormous. 95° Farenheit in Dakar when we got on the plane. 14° F when we landed at JFK on the following morning... We had no idea what Sankofa would be like. We knew the address, I'd checked on a map. Harlem was fine for us. We'd seen pictures on the internet and it looked real nice and clean. But "what if the bed isn't good ?" my wife asked. "Can you imagine spending so many nights on a bad mattress ?". The answer was a definite no. On that cold December day, I parked the rental car just outside 157, W 121 st. street. No problem finding a parking spot here. Two charming ladies opened the guesthouse door. Bright smiles on welcoming faces. They showed us to the apartment on the third floor. It was sunny and warm, superbly decorated with African artefacts. There was a large living/dining room with two sofas, a fully equiped kitchen, a very nice bathroom and a beautiful and quiet bedroom. The bed was big enough and, yes, it was very comfortable. Actually, it probably is the best bed we slept on. Ever.We had such a great stay at Sankofa that we decided we'd come again. The following week, after a short trip to Canada, we cancelled the reservation we'd made at Novotel in Manhattan and checked in again at Sankofa. There was no way we'd go to a chain hotel now that we had a place of our own in the city.Would we recommend Sankofa ? Yes, yes, yes. Although, on after thought, we're wondering whether they'll still have room for us next time we want to come if we tell everyone about it ... Should we keep our little secret secret ? It probably is too late already

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 16, 2008   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

We spent 8 nights at Sankofa around Christmas time. Coming from Senegal to New York in the heart of winter was quite a challenge for our family. The difference in temperature was enormous. 95° Farenheit in Dakar when we got on the plane. 14° F when we landed at JFK on the following morning... We had no idea what Sankofa would be like. We knew the address, I'd checked on a map. Harlem was fine for us. We'd seen pictures on the internet and it looked real nice and clean. But "what if the bed isn't good ?" my wife asked. "Can you imagine spending so many nights on a bad mattress ?". The answer was a definite no. On that cold December day, I parked the rental car just outside 157, W 121 st. street. No problem finding a parking spot here. Two charming ladies opened the guesthouse door. Bright smiles on welcoming faces. They showed us to the apartment on the third floor. It was sunny and warm, superbly decorated with African artefacts. There was a large living/dining room with two sofas, a fully equiped kitchen, a very nice bathroom and a beautiful and quiet bedroom. The bed was big enough and, yes, it was very comfortable. Actually, it probably is the best bed we slept on. Ever.

We had such a great stay at Sankofa that we decided we'd come again. The following week, after a short trip to Canada, we cancelled the reservation we'd made at Novotel in Manhattan and checked in again at Sankofa. There was no way we'd go to a chain hotel now that we had a place of our own in the city.
Would we recommend Sankofa ? Yes, yes, yes. Although, on after thought, we're wondering whether they'll still have room for us next time we want to come if we tell everyone about it ... Should we keep our little secret secret ? It probably is too late already

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 5, 2008   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

Thank you so much for having us to stay in your home. The apartment is the nicest accommodation we have ever stayed in anywhere in the world – all the art work and collected objects add such a personal touch. We have had the most wonderful week – Radio City Hall, Apollo Theatre, Soho, Empire State Building and even a couple of sample sales! The food has been amazing – Native in Harlem, Balthazar in Soho and Dean and Deluca for takeout. Transport was so easy - we caught the subway day and night from the station an easy 5 minutes walk away, but on our last day took a lovely bus ride down 5th Avenue to see the freshly fallen snow in Central Park. We met friendly people everywhere in Harlem, all of them keen to chat and give helpful advice. At the end of each day we felt so lucky to be able to come “home.” Thank you for making Sankofa such a welcoming place. We will definitely return and recommend you to anyone coming to New York.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Review submitted: October 24, 2007   Date of arrival: October 24, 2007

I stayed at the amazingly beautiful and serene Sankofa Guest Apartment with my sister October 17 – 23, and we had a wonderful time!First of all, the apartment is in a great location. One of the reasons I chose it was that it is easy to walk to just about everywhere in Harlem. Good access to subway lines, shopping, restaurants, salons … just about anything you could want. Sankofa is a true gem; it’s filled with such beautiful art that I felt like I was staying in a museum. Almost. But a very comfortable museum. All of the amenities you could need are there – from soft robes to washer/dryer. The bed in the bedroom was very comfortable, as was the pull out twin bed in the living room. All of the appointments were top rate. The apartment was even stocked with enough food for breakfast for the first couple of days, which was much appreciated!The proprietors were very helpful at every stage, and readily answered all of our questions. In the apartment, they have supplied information on the area and the apartment in two well put together packets; menus of area restaurants; NYC guide books; and a small but eclectic library for guests to peruse during their stay.I really can’t say enough about Sankofa. I would recommend the apartment without reservation to anyone looking for a great place to stay in New York City. I look forward to returning!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 24, 2007   Date of arrival: October 1, 2007

I stayed at the amazingly beautiful and serene Sankofa Guest Apartment with my sister October 17 – 23, and we had a wonderful time!

First of all, the apartment is in a great location. One of the reasons I chose it was that it is easy to walk to just about everywhere in Harlem. Good access to subway lines, shopping, restaurants, salons … just about anything you could want.

Sankofa is a true gem; it’s filled with such beautiful art that I felt like I was staying in a museum. Almost. But a very comfortable museum. All of the amenities you could need are there – from soft robes to washer/dryer. The bed in the bedroom was very comfortable, as was the pull out twin bed in the living room. All of the appointments were top rate. The apartment was even stocked with enough food for breakfast for the first couple of days, which was much appreciated!

The proprietors were very helpful at every stage, and readily answered all of our questions. In the apartment, they have supplied information on the area and the apartment in two well put together packets; menus of area restaurants; NYC guide books; and a small but eclectic library for guests to peruse during their stay.

I really can’t say enough about Sankofa. I would recommend the apartment without reservation to anyone looking for a great place to stay in New York City. I look forward to returning!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 23, 2007   Date of arrival: October 1, 2007

I'm delinquent in writing this comment. My daughter and I stayed here in August. The accomadations far exceeded our thoughts and expectations. The area is quiet and peaceful and the subways are easy walks. But the APARTMENT!!! The LADIES!! who own it Really do not compare to anywhere we have ever stayed before. This is not only a bargain but it feels like you have found a treasure of a place to stay in the city.

I recommend it highly and with out hesitation. Give them a call or write. I will next time I need to be up there.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: October 2, 2007   Date of arrival: October 2, 2007

The Apartment lived up to expectations. We had a fabulous time staying at Sankofa, plenty of space, very clean, well equipped with beautiful decor and safe community as well. Everything easily accessible for shopping, sightseeing and meeting friends. Linen, towels and bath robes were provided and even breakfast groceries which was greatly appreciated.Our hostess Edith was lovely and very accommodating to any request or questions we had.We highly recommend Sankofa Apartment to anyone who wants more than the typical small and expensive hotel rooms normally found in NYC.I would rate 5 star for Edith’s hospitality, we will be back again!!Lorraine Duignan, Ireland.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 2, 2007   Date of arrival: October 1, 2007

The Apartment lived up to expectations. We had a
fabulous time staying at Sankofa, plenty of space,
very clean, well equipped with beautiful decor and
safe community as well. Everything easily
accessible for shopping, sightseeing and meeting
friends. Linen, towels and bath robes were
provided and even breakfast groceries which was
greatly appreciated.
Our hostess Edith was lovely and very
accommodating to any request or questions we
had.
We highly recommend Sankofa Apartment to
anyone who wants more than the typical small and
expensive hotel rooms normally found in NYC.
I would rate 5 star for Edith’s hospitality, we will be
back again!!

Lorraine Duignan, Ireland.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 8, 2007   Date of arrival: September 1, 2007

Absolutely perfect.

Helpful votes: 0 / 4

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 24, 2007   Date of arrival: August 1, 2007

One of the nicest vacation rentals we have stayed in. It is conveniently located, extremely clean and absolutely beautiful. The hostesses are warm, friendly and very accommodating. This apartment truly redefines value in Manhattan. We will always stay here when we visit New York.

Helpful votes: 0 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 16, 2007   Date of arrival: April 1, 2007

We absolutely loved this apartment! The furnishings were very cozy and the bed was super comfortable. We took advantage of the free wireless internet to plan our days in NYC. The hosts are very nice and accomodating, even providing breakfast groceries! The only negatives are that it is a little far out from the city center and you have to walk up three flights of stairs. We were aware of this ahead of time and neither of these was a problem for us but are worth mentioning (especially if you have kids or elderly travelling with you, though I'm not sure if children are allowed are not). The subway is 4 blocks which is not too far thogh we did end up taking the taxi home after a few of our longer tiring days. The toasater did not work but we used the oven and the pan provided. There were only two towels given for 4 days but if we had needed more all we needed to do was ring them and they'd send more up. If you are visiting NYC on a budget and don't want to stay in a crappy small hotel room just to be in the center of it all then this is the place for you. The apartment is beautiful and decorated with warm colors, plush bedding, and interesting African (I'm assuming) sculptures, wall hangings, etc. Hopefully we'll have a chance to visit again!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review