reviews for: listing #1736 - Little Torch Key, Florida House rental

Sunset Manor at Little Torch Key
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Mates Beach
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $5,000 - $6,000 /mth

sort by:

Great Little Torch Key Sunset Manor Vacation

Review submitted: September 10, 2012   Date of arrival: September 1, 2012

What a super week at Sunset Manor in Little Torch Key! The house was very clean and well maintained. It met our needs well. Our 3 Siberian Huskies had a great time, too! We really enjoyed being able to have them with us. Both of us enjoyed the pool and walking around the tropical grounds. The screened in porch was wonderful.
We found great places to eat and a grocery store closeby. Although we have had many trips to the Keys, we really never explored this part of the Keys before and thoroughly enjoyed the area. Visibility at beautiful Sombrero Lighthouse Reef was perfect for snorkling and diving even after Isaac storm. We had five fantastic trips out to the reef. Key West was just a short beautiful drive away. Fabulous first trip to Sunset Manor! We're booking another for next year. Thank you, Lucy!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am delighted that our wonderful guests from Amelia Island
have chosen Sunset Manor for their annual Keys getaway.
It is very gratifying to read about their great experiences
staying at Sunset Manor; so conveniently located to enjoy
amazing Key West and the tropical paradise of the Lower Keys!
I will look forward to welcome them back in 2013- for their
next unforgetable vacation here in the Conch Republic!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Family Getaway

Review submitted: June 20, 2012   Date of arrival: June 8, 2012

We had a fabulous time offshore fishing, swimming in the pool, sitting in the hot tub, and just hanging out. Weather the first week was fabulous, but second week we were hit with a massive storm system. The house is wonderful. This is our second time at Sunset Manor. First year was a couples getaway. This year we brought the kids. Can't wait for next year!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Our delightful guests from the peach state of Georgia
will be warmly welcomed back for their third season
at Sunset Manor in 2013. We are so glad they had
a fabulous time this year on their second vacation
at our little piece of paradise; on the tropical
island oasis at beautiful Little Torch Key

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect family getaway

Review submitted: June 20, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

We had a fabulous time offshore fishing, swimming in the pool, sitting in the hot tub, and just hanging out. Weather the first week was fabulous, but second week we were hit with a massive storm system. The house is wonderful. This is our second time at Sunset Manor. First year was a couples getaway. This year we brought the kids. Can't wait for next year!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our Wonderful Stay at Sunset Manor

Review submitted: September 24, 2011   Date of arrival: September 15, 2011

Our family of six (6) had a wonderful stay at this spacious Sunset Manor. The owner was wonderful to work with when some issues arose during our visit and very prompt to resolve them. We were able to bring two (2) dogs with us with no problems since the yard was fenced. The dogs loved to investigate on this very large property. There was lots to see, including fish and baby barracudas from the dock. There was even a large iguana that stopped by for a short visit. The house was very clean and the pool and spa were very well-maintained. We loved that there was a lot of privacy surrounding the property. The outside veranda was a wonderful gathering place where we enjoyed our morning breakfasts and games, while over-looking the canal. There are fans in every room, which kept the air well circulated and cool. We loved that this property was close to everything in Big Pine Key as well as Key West. We really enjoyed our stay at Sunset Manor and will definitely return in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wonderful Thanksgiving @ Sunset Manor

Review submitted: November 29, 2010   Date of arrival: November 20, 2010

We’ve just spent Thanksgiving week at Sunset Manor with our sons and grandchildren! What a lovely place for a family gathering! The three story well-furnished house is situated on acre with lush tropical foliage and lots of privacy, both inside and out. The large screened porch is great for relaxing and eating, while looking at the trees and the canal below. With the main living area and one bedroom and bath on the main floor, our kids had lots of privacy in the upstairs loft with two bedrooms and a bath. The kitchen was well-equipped and spacious with a large snack bar and food prep island. We all enjoyed the secluded pool and hot tub, as well as watching the fish swim in the canal, where we were able to dock our boat. Little Torch Key is a charming, laid-back island, close to Key West and Marathon, where great restaurants and shopping abound. The owner is very accommodating and easy to communicate with via email. Having looked at other options, we were impressed with the amenities, spaciousness, and privacy we enjoyed at Sunset Manor. We will certainly come again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Thanksgiving at Sunset Manor

Review submitted: November 27, 2010   Date of arrival: November 20, 2010

We’ve just spent Thanksgiving week at Sunset Manor with our sons and grandchildren! What a lovely place for a family gathering! The three story well-furnished house is situated on acre with lush tropical foliage and lots of privacy, both inside and out. The large screened porch is great for relaxing and eating, while looking at the trees and the canal below. With the main living area and one bedroom and bath on the main floor, our kids had lots of privacy in the upstairs loft with two bedrooms and a bath. The kitchen was well-equipped and spacious with a large snack bar and food prep island. We all enjoyed the secluded pool and hot tub, as well as watching the fish swim in the canal, where we were able to dock our boat.Our little daschunds thought it a wonderful place for exploring and the fenced yard made it a great place for them to play without being leashed. Little Torch Key is a charming, laid-back island, close to Key West and Marathon, where great restaurants and shopping abound. The owner is very accommodating and easy to communicate with via email. Having looked at other options, we were impressed with the amenities, spaciousness, pet friendlines, and privacy we enjoyed at Sunset Manor. We will certainly come again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Sunset Manor Vacation

Review submitted: August 15, 2010   Date of arrival: July 31, 2010

Our group had a wonderful time staying at Sunset Manor on Little Torch Key, the house was very clean and the owner is a pleasure to work with. The kitchen was well stocked with everything you could possibly need to cook with and the grounds are beautiful, very tropical feeling. We loved the screened in porch on the back of the house, we spent a lot of time in the evenings sitting out there.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Family Vacation

Review submitted: June 20, 2010   Date of arrival: June 12, 2010

I had been thinking about a vacation rental in the Key's for about 5 years. The thought of 1 staying in someone else's home & 2 sending a few thousand dollars to someone you do not even know & hoping they leave you the key frightened me. I must say after our stay at "Sunset Manor" I am a RAVING FAN!!!! The owner was a pleasure to work with & the house was everything we anticipated & more!! It felt like I was arriving at my home or a family members. The owner thought of all the little details, from the cooking equipment to the pool & Hot Tub. The fully functional dock & cleaning station were perfect. The fishing off the back of the house kept the kids occupied & the screened patio allowed us to keep an eye on them. We traveled with 5 kids ranging in age from 1-15 years old & there was something for all of them to do. The activities around the area are plentiful! There are bridges to fish off of very close by, we rented a boat from "Big Pine Key Boat rentals ironically located in Summerland key. We took the boat out to "Looee Key" & there was fantastic snorkeling. We also rented a boat from "Capitan Pips" in Marathon which was about 20 minutes away & we went out to "Sombrero Key", also AMAZING SNORKELING. The Key Deer refuge was a short 5 minute drive from the house in "Big Pine Key" & we saw many key deer with the kids. We traveled to "Key West" which was about 25 minutes south & enjoyed the beaches & Duval Street. Watched the sunset & the street performers. I would ABSOLUTELY return again!! If I had any drawback to the trip it would be the bugs! make sure you bring insect repellant! Because of the tropical grounds the mosquitoes, ants & spiders were out in force, but what do you expect!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Amazing Vaction at Sunset Manor!

Review submitted: June 16, 2010   Date of arrival: June 5, 2010

We arrived at Sunset Manor and immediately were very impressed with the beautiful home and grounds! We stay in various vacation rental homes and this one is, by far, the CLEANEST home in which we have ever stayed. It is well-appointed and comes across more like a personal home than a vacation rental. The grounds are gorgeous and the back (screened) porch is where we ate all of our meals and enjoyed the view. We brought our boat and my husband was very impressed with the amenities available for the boat (water, electricity, etc). We also brought our kayaks and were able to leave them close to the canal and just hop in and take off. We had our 15 month old baby with us and she LOVED toddling around the grounds, looking at all the flowers, birds, geckos and iguanas. The pool area is really nice as it is very private and set back from the home. A lot of pool areas at surrounding homes are out in the open for all to see. We spent a lot of time in the hammock relaxing and reading. The kitchen is more than well-equipped and we prepared most of our meals. We had such a wonderful vacation at Sunset Manor and plan on returning! The owner is so easy to work and communicate with...really a pleasurable transaction!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Peaceful, spacious, and private

Review submitted: June 9, 2010   Date of arrival: May 30, 2010

With two teenage boys and a dog, we usually look for rental houses when we go on vacation. This house fit the bill perfectly. Everything presented in the ad was true, so what you see is what you get. In fact, I thought it was nicer and more spacious than what I saw in the ad pictures. Everything was clean and ready for us upon arrival. Kitchen is well stocked with utensils, etc. Typical rental house with mismatched dishes, glasses, and so on but that didn't bother me, I would do the same. Our bed was too spongy for us, but the kids slept fine. House has one older TV, Comcast cable and internet, stereo equipment, full size washer and dryer. Nice fenced yard with pretty landscaping. The canal was not as nice as others I have stayed near in the Keys, but okay, lots of pins and grunts (easy to catch) and grey snapper that wouldn't take anything we put out. There is a public boat launch about four houses away, this can be good or bad (on Memorial Day, it was bad, lots of traffic), it was quiet most of the week. Pool was clean and safe, wish it had a light, we couldn't find one. Hot tub was not used as weather was in the 90's. Lots of personal touches around the house make it feel like you are in someone's home, which you are. There isn't much to do on Little Torch Key, but Big Pine is only a short drive away and Key West was only 30 minutes, Marathon 20 minutes. We always get groceries and eat in for most meals to save money, but if you eat out all the time on vacation you may want to stay closer to the restaurants. If you are looking for peace and quiet with lots of space, this house would be a good choice.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: New 2011 Little Torch Key Dining Guide-
for all our guests who enjoy dining out
at the many wonderful nearby eateries ;
while vacationing at Sunset Manor.

On Little Torch Key; at the very next road Barry Avenue -
is my favorite waterfront seafood place-
come by car or boat -to enjoy great food such as
Lobster Mac n' Cheese ; and other local specialties
in this authentic Keys ambience,featuring weekend live music.

World reknowned "No Name Pub"; recently voted the
"most authentic Lower Keys eatery" , for daily specials ,
cocktails, & amazing "Key West Pink Shrimp Pizza"
located on Big Pine Key at the Old Bridge to No Name Key.

Highly acclaimed "Mangrove Mamas " offering extraordinary
Keys ambience with exotic garden dining ,great service,
island inspired cuisine -and a cozy pub -features
live music on weekends in their tropcial oasis.

As you cross the bridge onto Summerland Key ;is the
"Wharf" - for "fresh off the boat" local seafood;
in Keys bar and grill ambience for dockside dining;
try the delicious Lobster BLT-5 minutes from Sunset Manor

Right over the bridge , on Ramrod Key; the "Boondocks"
with it's huge Tiki bar - offers casual outdoor dining,
new Mini Golf course & Gift Shop ,open-air sports bar
with weekend live music-ideal for family entertaining!

The "Square Grouper" on Cudjoe Key offering outstanding
local specialities, in an elegant contemporary ambience,
for lunch or dinner ; with great service at the table ,
or up at the cozy bar.

Exclusive island dining awaits from Little Torch Key's
Dolphin Marina -as you are wisked away on a private
motor launch to the amazing Little Palm Island resort-
a reknowned "private island hideaway" -featured in
restaurant & travel guides- to enjoy celebrated cuisine
at Saturday or Sunday Brunch; daily lunch & dinner -
with Caribbean beachfront elegance.

Enjoy Keys lunches available for take out at
"Sugarloaf Food Company"- on Summerland Key-
"fisherman's lunch boxes" ,-great sandwiches, wraps ,
homemade baked goods- Gelato, prepared entrees,
plus lovely exotic island gifts.

I hope you will enjoy exploring all these local dining spots;
and please let us about all know your personal favorites!!

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review