reviews for: listing #17388 - Isle of Palms, South Carolina House rental

Oceanfront Luxury Home W/ Beautiful Views; Golfer's Paradise
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Wild Dunes
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $325 - $745 /nt
    $2,285 - $5,205 /wk
    $3,500 - $20,000 /mth

sort by:

The perfect girls weekend getaway

Review submitted: June 10, 2014   Date of arrival: May 15, 2014

After years of trying different houses in Wild Dunes and other SC beaches, we feel as if we've finally found the home that we want to use every time for our annual girls' beach trip. It accommodates 8 of us perfectly! The ocean view is fabulous, the short walk to the beach is convenient and the screened in porch is the perfect spot to enjoy our morning coffee.

Recommended for: girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1


Girls Easter Getaway

Review submitted: April 26, 2014   Date of arrival: April 19, 2014

Dealing with the management company was wonderful - very responsive and professional. The house was lovely and clean. We had a great time!!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1


Great Beach Vacation

Review submitted: February 9, 2014   Date of arrival: October 5, 2013

This was our 3rd time staying in this fantastic beach house and it was an amazing experience yet again. The house is beautiful and the ocean views are breathtaking. Seeing the sunrise from the balcony is amazing.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2



Review submitted: October 17, 2013   Date of arrival: October 10, 2013

This was an amazing house, with an amazing view and so spacious!!! Clean and well stocked! It was a girls weekend to remember. Thank you so much for sharing your house with us. We will be back! I will recommend to many! Thank you again!

Recommended for: girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2


Wonderful family vacation!

Review submitted: September 10, 2013   Date of arrival: August 24, 2013

We had a great time at this property, myself & husband, sister & brother in law, parents and grandmother. There is a great living area where everyone can spend time together, yet plenty of space and bathrooms that you didn't feel like you were on top of each other. I don't feel that the pictures do this property justice, is even better in person. Beach views, easy access to beach, pool and golf. Of course is convenient location in Isle of Palms and surrounding areas including Charleston.
We would recommend this property.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2


Not Happy

Review submitted: May 29, 2013   Date of arrival: May 10, 2013

Nice house, good view...15 steps to main floor, another 20 steps to upstairs I lost weight. The downstairs AC went out 1st night for the downstairs and we went 6 days without AC..lost more weight, owner never called or Apoliges and never fixed. Garbage stayed in garage for 2 days from previous renters and the smell was terrible, however, they did send someone to remove. Kitchen is very dark and hard to see.

The house is in a good location for beach access and to the pool, bed were very comfortable, and great TV's. House has single car garage and driveway, and you can't park on street, we spent a lot of time moving cars back in forth.

Would not lease again.

Recommended for: families with young children, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 5 / 6


A Wonderful First Visit to South Carolina

Review submitted: November 27, 2012   Date of arrival: November 17, 2012

The house was as we expected from the information and photos provided and the rental process was simple and efficient. The house was clean and well maintained. The house sleeps 8 but might get a little cramped with that many if you were unable to use the outdoor space. There were 5 of us, during the Thanksgiving holiday when we couldn't be outside as much, any more and we may have felt cramped. I agree that it would have been nice to have at least hotel size bath soap in the bathrooms but understood that it was not promised. We also needed trash bags, toilet paper and dishwasher soap to make it through the week. All in all it was a very positive experience and I would certainly recommend this property to anyone wanting a prime beach location or to make use of the golf course.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4


Beach Person

Review submitted: September 12, 2012   Date of arrival: September 6, 2012

The house is quite nice with the most gorgeous view of the ocean. I was surprised that there was no hand soap in the bathrooms and we had to go buy some as well as toilet tissue. One roll per bathroom for 3 1/2days is not enough. The refrigerator had duct tape holding parts together on the inside. The wireless key was nowhere to be found and emails were sent to the agents to ask what it was with no response. The house ws clean but in my opinion need some freshning up for the price.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4


August Vacation

Review submitted: August 21, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

Great House and Kitchen -- Clean
Walking Access to recreation (aka crabbing)
Given the coastlin, unfortunate that porch does not get much air
Lovely time

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

Guest Comment entered by owner

Cleanest rental, best equipped kitchen

Review submitted: August 21, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

We had a wonderful week and sad to now be home. We knew the location as we have rented a few doors down before. Of all the rentals we have had over the years it was both the cleanest – and the best equipped kitchen. We had a great week. No major complaints.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1


Grand View

Review submitted: May 31, 2012   Date of arrival: May 13, 2012

Beautiful, well appointed home with grand views of the Atlantic ocean and Dewees Inlet. Beds very comfortable. Easy access to beach. Great for couples or familes. The golf cart made other island destinations easy.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3


Senior leadership retreat

Review submitted: May 26, 2012   Date of arrival: May 22, 2012

Reservations were easy, polite and professional. However, probably would not return. For the price and reasonable cost to the owner, the unit should have been stocked with simple things such as hotel style soap and shampoo. Unit should have paper towels, fresh sponge and there was only one leftover dishwasher soap. No dust pan. Extra pillows in twin bed rooms had no pillow cases. The small things make the difference. Overall, good look and feel to unit and relatively current. Great view and can't beat wild dunes.

Owners response: Thanks for your feedback! I'm glad you had a positive experience in making your reservation and sorry to hear you were not completely satisfied with the house.

The e-mail response to your inquiry about concierge services to stock essentials as you describe made it clear that such services are not included in the booking of our vacation home. Just the same, we want all our guests to feel at home while on vacation here, which is why we encourage guests to contact our local property manager should you need anything while you are there.

Your feedback about the "small things" is fair and very important to us, and I will be sure to reach out to the owner and the property manager to see how we can improve in the future. Thank you again for your feedback.


Booking Manager
48 Ocean Point

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

Guest Comment entered by owner

Would most definitely recommend

Review submitted: April 12, 2012   Date of arrival: March 31, 2012

Just wanted to pass along a thank you for all you did in renting 48 Ocean Point to us. My family and friends enjoyed the house a lot.

We especially liked the beach and close access to the outdoors. The house is beautiful and very spacious. The neighborhood and sidewalks were great. I loved having a good washer/dryer, good sweeper and many dishes to use. Overall the experience was excellent and I would most definitely recommend 48 Oceanpoint to my friends.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

Guest Comment entered by owner

Well beyond our expectations

Review submitted: November 28, 2011   Date of arrival: November 10, 2011

Thank you so much for your help with the Beach House at Wild Dunes, we loved the house and had a great time, it was well beyond our expectations.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5


Family vacation

Review submitted: November 11, 2011   Date of arrival: July 30, 2011

My 2 grandsons, daughter-in-law, 2 sons and I spent our family vacation in this beautiful home. It easily met our expectations and more! We especially liked the fact that each bedroom had a bath and the size and comfort of the living room. The screened in porch was one of my favorite spots to sit and watch the beach! Since we have family on Isle of Palms it was a perfect spot for hosting family parties. The only drawback was the narrow driveway and lack of parking, but this seems to be the norm for all the properties. The view fron the master bedroom is spectacular! I would reccomend this to anyone wanting comfort and beauty! Don't leave without trying a hamburger at Poe's Tavern on Sullivan's Island! The best burger we have ever eaten! Well worth the wait!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

Guest Comment entered by owner

We shall return

Review submitted: September 19, 2011   Date of arrival: July 31, 2011

Our family had a great time at 48 Ocean Point. I am sure we will use this house often.

Helpful votes: 4 / 5


Wonderful house

Review submitted: August 25, 2011   Date of arrival: August 12, 2011

Wonderful house. Fantastic view. Will stay here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6


I didn't want to leave

Review submitted: April 8, 2011   Date of arrival: February 18, 2011

I stayed here at the recommendation of a friend, and it was every bit as beautiful and relaxing as it sounds. The home is spacious with high ceilings and lots of sunlight shining in. Each of the bedrooms was outfitted with fresh sheets & towels. The kitchen has an electric stove and plenty of cookware and place settings, even for larger groups (I brought my family of four).

We chose to stalk up on food and drink at the Harris Teeter, which is about 15 minutes drive from the house. Once you settle in at at this ocean front home, you're probably not going to want to leave!

My family spent did spend once day in Charleston and enjoyed an historic carriage tour around town. There were lots of great restaurants to choose from, and it was only about a 25-minute drive from the house. The rest of the time we spent lounging around the house, watching the flat screen TV and hanging out on the beach.

I would definitely recommend this house to a friend.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8


Perfect house to get away!

Review submitted: April 7, 2011   Date of arrival: August 2, 2010

I've stayed in this house on 3 separate occassions, once in August and then 2 other times in April. Each visit was wonderful, the house is clean, well decorated, and comfortable. My favorite spot is the screened in porch where you can smell the water, feel the breeze and even watch the golfers put on the 17th hole.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7


Reviews are the subjective opinions of travelers and not of, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review