reviews for: listing #17402 - Mount Pocono, Pennsylvania House rental

Mt. Pocono/Tobyhanna - Spacious Split Level / Hot Tub
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Pocono Country Place
  • sleeps  14
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $200 - $300 /nt
    $900 - $1,150 /wk

sort by:

Perfect weekend getaway!

Review submitted: February 9, 2014   Date of arrival: January 24, 2014

2nd time at this house and can't say enough good things about it. Plenty of space for me and my friends to relax before and after our day on the slopes. Nice and quiet atmosphere and an ideal distance from skiing and shopping. Headed back again this month and can't wait!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great time in the Poconos

Review submitted: January 20, 2014   Date of arrival: January 10, 2014

My family and I decided on a post New Years get together and it was well worth it. The home was warm and cozy and we were grateful that wood was supplied for the fireplace. We are active people so the Hot Tub was a blessing at the end of the day.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Poor accommodations

Review submitted: January 2, 2014   Date of arrival: December 24, 2013

Wow not sure where to begin, except we were so blessed to have our family all together, laugh and play games. First, the gated community, i was shocked it was run down and dated.The description states spotlessly clean and well maintained, not so. The place smelled musty and like mildew. The carpets were old, worn and dirty, the stove burners didn't all work, the hot water for showers ran out very quickly. The ceiling was all stained and flooring around fireplace was collapsing.
The picture shows totally different furniture. It might have been a show place in the late 60's or 70's, but it really needs an update for the price to fit the description.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great weekend thanks to Joel!

Review submitted: January 9, 2013   Date of arrival: December 21, 2012

This house was perfect for what we needed! We were a group of friends looking to get away for the weekend and there wasn't one person who didn't love this house. Joel really made everything easy for us considering we planned this trip 3 weeks before we arrived. The hot tub really added a very good touch and was everyones favorite part. The house comes equipped with just about everything which was a huge help! We had an amazing weekend and are already thinking of when we want to go back! Thank you Joel for an awesome stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Great weekend thanks to Joel!

Review submitted: January 9, 2013   Date of arrival: December 21, 2012

This house was perfect for what we needed! We were a group of friends looking to get away for the weekend and there wasn't one person who didn't love this house. Joel really made everything easy for us considering we planned this trip 3 weeks before we arrived. The hot tub really added a very good touch and was everyones favorite part. The house comes equipped with just about everything which was a huge help! We had an amazing weekend and are already thinking of when we want to go back! Thank you Joel for an awesome stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Great weekend thanks to Joel!

Review submitted: January 9, 2013   Date of arrival: December 21, 2012

This house was perfect for what we needed! We were a group of friends looking to get away for the weekend and there wasn't one person who didn't love this house. Joel really made everything easy for us considering we planned this trip 3 weeks before we arrived. The hot tub really added a very good touch and was everyones favorite part. The house comes equipped with just about everything which was a huge help! We had an amazing weekend and are already thinking of when we want to go back! Thank you Joel for an awesome stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

family vacation

Review submitted: July 15, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

We stayed at this property go a week. It was very peaceful and quiet. The jacuzzi was very relaxing after sight seeing all day. The people in the development were very polite. The cleaning lady guns is a terrific person and very helpful. Also, if you have any problems the owner Joel is easy to get in touch with and will answer any questions and solve any issues you might have. My family and I wished we could stay longer. If all for a well we are hoping to return next year.
Thank you Joel and guns for such a pleasant experience.

Sharon spohn

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Getaway

Review submitted: June 29, 2012   Date of arrival: June 15, 2012

Home owner Joel was very pleasant and accommodating during the booking process. We arrived at the home exactly at our check-in time and were delighted that the home had been prepared for us (we requested linens ahead of schedule). The home was airy, well lit and clean. And though we chose what seemed like the hottest days to visit the Poconos we felt at home and relaxed in this air conditioned home. My family and I have always done winter trip to Mt. Pocono and decided last minute on a summer weekend treat for the kids and a few friends who would be entering varying middle schools in the fall. The home we rented for previous winter trips, four consecutive years was unavailable so we scrambled a bit to find suitable accommodations. We were all absolutely delighted with the home upon arrival. The girls immediately fell in love with the wrap around fireplace and spent their final weekend together bonding around it on the cooler nights. The day time hours were spent at the pool/playground and clubhouse that were less than a city block from the home(A few amenity cards were included with our rental which was a very nice addition by this home owner). The home is ideally located near many attractions, including Mt. Airy Casino and Tobyhanna State park, both of which were enjoyable for most of the adults and Camelbeach for the kids. We are currently narrowing down the dates for our Ski trip and will most definetly be booking our future trips at this property. Our girls made fond memories and are looking forward to their spot infront of the fireplace during winter. Thanks Joel.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Getaway

Review submitted: June 29, 2012   Date of arrival: June 15, 2012

Home owner Joel was very pleasant and accommodating during the booking process. We arrived at the home exactly at our check-in time and were delighted that the home had been prepared for us (we requested linens ahead of schedule). The home was airy, well lit and clean. And though we chose what seemed like the hottest days to visit the Poconos we felt at home and relaxed in this air conditioned home.

My family and I have always done winter trip to Mt. Pocono and decided last minute on a summer weekend treat for the kids and a few friends who would be entering varying middle schools in the fall. The home we rented for previous winter trips, four consecutive years was unavailable so we scrambled a bit to find suitable accommodations.

We were all absolutely delighted with the home upon arrival. The girls immediately fell in love with the wrap around fireplace and spent their final weekend together bonding around it on the cooler nights. The day time hours were spent at the pool/playground and clubhouse that were less than a city block from the home(A few amenity cards were included with our rental which was a very nice addition by this home owner).

The home is ideally located near many attractions, including Mt. Airy Casino and Tobyhanna State park, both of which were enjoyable for most of the adults and Camelbeach for the kids.

We are currently narrowing down the dates for our Ski trip and will most definetly be booking our future trips at this property. Our girls made fond memories and are looking forward to their spot infront of the fireplace during winter.

Thanks Joel.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

great weekend

Review submitted: June 28, 2012   Date of arrival: June 8, 2012

We rented this home for a weekend in early June with 3 other couples. Joel the owner was very accommodating, professional and responsive from the time he answered our first inquiry. The location of the home is very convenient and right in the middle of all the Poconos attractions and extremely close to Mount Airy Casino for some adult fun like gambling! Joel accommodated us by allowing us to check in earlier than his scheduled check in time, since we had a long drive. The driving directions and suggestions that he provided prior to checking in were very helpful. He also provides amenities passes for free so that we were able to use the facilities in the gated community like the pool and paddle boats. The home has a great layout and abundant space so that the eight of us were very comfortable. The hot tub on the outside deck was a bonus and had plenty of privacy. The house was very clean and well maintained, but alittle dated with the furniture and technology, although free wifi access was available. We were even able to bbq on the grill outside, the house had everything needed for a fun weekend getaway with friends and family. I would definitely recommend this home and will hopefully rent it again in the future. Thanks for a great weekend in the Poconos Joel!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Place is dirty and needs a makeover

Review submitted: February 21, 2012   Date of arrival: February 3, 2012

The Good

Joel the owner was a pleasure to deal with from the start. Very communicative and professional. No nonsense approach and that was a treat.

The house has four bedrooms and a TV in each room. So everyone was happy having their own space.

The adult kids loved the hot tub.

You have to check in at the security desk and get a pass for every car that you bring. Not a real pain but something to think about if you want to have friend pop in. The neighborhood is run down and has seen better days. Now the rest:

The Bad

Upon arriving we immediately noticed that there was trash strewn all over the yard and there were at least 10 bags of trash piled up behind the house under the deck. When we got there the cleaning lady was there and the house was filthy. It looked like it had not been cleaned for years. Cobwebs and dirt everywhere. The cleaning lady blamed it on someone else she said she hired to work for her. It was so dirty that a few of the women we were with were ready to leave. So we had to clean it ourselves including the hot tub. We also picked up the trash in the yard and took it out for removal.

The house is in need of a serious makeover. The best part about the place was the fireplace. And be careful with that - the owner withheld $50 of my security deposit because he said we used too much wood. Trust me we were only there for three days so we didn't and couldn't. Bring your own wood!

It is close to the Mount Airy Casino so that is a big plus. I won $1000 on Superbowl Sunday.

I would not rent this place again. There are much nicer places to rent that are pet-friendly.

Owners response: The above renter's check in time was scheduled for 4pm but some people in his party arrived at my house at 2pm.  The cleaning personnel still allowed them to check into the home with the understanding that it was still being cleaned.  My hot tub is emptied, cleaned and refilled after every rental.  The hot tub was already cleaned by my housekeeper and was being refilled at the time they arrived early.  The renter insisted that my housekeeper can leave if all they had to do was turn the water off when it is filled, and flip the switch on. The renter did not clean the hot tub nor did they clean the house as they claimed. They observed and pointed out areas to be cleaned while my housekeeper cleaned from the previous rental.  I had a half chord of wood in the rear of my home for renters to use free of charge for the fireplace. This renter and his party used all of the firewood in one weekend, leaving only 3 pieces of wood when they checked out.  I have owned this home for several years and this has never occurred before.  I charged them for the wood because I don’t believe it was all used in the fireplace that weekend, but possibly taken home with them. This
renter may be upset because I charged them for the firewood and posted a bad
review, but in an emailed response to my inquiry about all of the firewood being used by his party, he admitted that I can charge him for the firewood.
I have several renters who love my home and return every year,
because I am constantly making improvements and I provide clean and well maintained surroundings for them and their families.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

great stay

Review submitted: January 6, 2012   Date of arrival: December 24, 2011

great house 10 of us had a great time and very comfotable at this rental. the diretion from the owner was spot on.
we goes to the pocono every year for christmas and this is the first house in 4 year that had enogh hot water for 10 people
enogh seating and silverwere for a large group. the location of pocono country place is definately conveniet it is close to all the pocono attration. the only thing is that the house it self is a little dated. but for the price it is still a very nice place to stay. thanks Joel

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful stay

Review submitted: September 27, 2011   Date of arrival: September 22, 2011

The stay at Joel's Pocono home was wonderful! The location was great and in the middle of all Pocono adventures. The house was clean and just what the pictures showed. Joel was more helpful than expected and I will rent this house again! I recommend to friends family or anyone staying in the Pocono's!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review