reviews for: listing #17450 - Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida House rental

Oceanfront luxury- game rm, elevator, huge kitchen & deck!
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  13
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $500 - $500 /nt
    $2,600 - $5,500 /wk
    $6,000 - $6,000 /mth

sort by:

This is a pristine and stunning home to enjoy!

Review submitted: April 11, 2014   Date of arrival: March 30, 2014

What a gorgeous home on the beach. Every amenity you could want and one of the cleanest homes I have ever rented. Beautiful views, private and easy access to the beach. Loved it!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome, Beautiful Home

Review submitted: July 31, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

We have been going to Ponte Vedra for many years, and this is the most gorgeous house we have ever stayed in. It is elegant and spacious. The house is equipped with every necessity you could think of, and the little extra perks are very nice. We especially liked the ice chest cooler on the deck in the evenings. A great restaurant, Aunt Kate's, is just down the street. It has a relaxing atmosphere and great food! We loved this house and if you are looking for privacy and a "NON- Touristy" area, this is it! Love it!

Owners response: I really appreciated the fact that these nice renters noted our area as "non-touristy", which it IS, in spite of being just 5 miles from down town St. Augustine and 10 miles from golf-mecca Ponte Vedra. You may have the beach to yourself and it will never be crowded, yet we have several excellent restaurants within a couple of miles and of course have easy access to all the activities and attractions of St. Augustine. WaterColors is a luxurious home and many of our renters are so happy with the decor, amenities, and the beach that they don't wander far. You will love it.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Water colors...what a wonderful time!!

Review submitted: January 12, 2013   Date of arrival: December 27, 2012

We had a family reunion here over New Years. What a fantastic place to start the year! The house provided a great setting and helped with our needs for family members ranging from age 1 to age 90. Plenty of space and easy walks on the beach, fishing, sandcastles, family dinners. We have 2 family members with mobility restrictions, the elevator made for easy participation for all. We had an issue with the toaster and Judy was there the next day with a new one. I hear some renovations are going on now to upgrade the accesibility even more which will be appreciated by many people who could enjoy this beautful setting. The communication was true and timely. Great place.

Owners response: We are happy that these nice people enjoyed WaterColors and are glad that the house works for people of all ages and circumstances. The elevator is wonderful for people with mobility issues, as well as for transporting luggage and groceries to the main (upper) level. We are currently in the process of adding other amenities, which will enhance the rental experience. We are adding a 4th bath which will have a roll-in shower; this will help persons in wheelchairs or walkers. We are fencing part of the yard for the convenience of renters with dogs, and we are transforming the game room to be more suited to the needs of children and teens. Photos will be posted soon.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Family Vacation

Review submitted: July 8, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

We had a wonderful time this summer. We enjoyed everyday but the only complaint is that we wish we had another week there! See you next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

mr. and mrs.

Review submitted: March 21, 2012   Date of arrival: January 6, 2012

The home is light and the ocean visible from every room on the main level.
The kitchen a gourmet's dream fully stocked with high end appliances.
, The ownership/management team attended to any needs immediately and fully. The house was even more spectacular than the picture montage displayed in the online promo's. THis home is a 'dream' for a couple or a
family with children and "drop-in" guests.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Vacation House Ever!

Review submitted: March 13, 2012   Date of arrival: March 3, 2012

This was a great property for our vacation! The owner thought of everything right down to the dish detergent. The house was immaculately clean and so very comfortable. Not to mention the location right on the beach was fabulous! We will be returning to this house many times in the future. We could not have asked for a better place or an easier rental experience.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are excited that Cathi and her family loved our home enough to write an unsolicited review! We do make great efforts to provide an absolutely spotless home that is comfortable, completely equipped, and beautifully furnished. Our direct oceanfront location on a very peaceful beach can't be beat!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

WaterColors

Review submitted: January 21, 2012   Date of arrival: December 21, 2011

We had our family for Christmas at WaterColors and had a wonderful time. The house is set up very well for a crowd and the living area is especially wonderful. Great kitchen too! Everyone enjoyed the pool table, the beach, the beautiful decks. We had plenty of room for 8 people plus a Christmas tree in the living area. Grandchildren really liked the bunk bed area downstairs, quiet, dark and away from the early risers. Highly recommend this property.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Everything we expected

Review submitted: January 16, 2012   Date of arrival: December 14, 2011

Water Colors...a perfect name for a perfect house on the beach in Punte Vedra. Not only were the views of the ocean perfect, but the decor throughout the house was just right...comfortable...clean and relaxing. Not overly beachy in theme. The master bed was great...right off the main living area. All the bedrooms were nice with a flat screen TV in most of them. The dual washers and dual dryers were great to have. The pool table was in really good shape although there were no working "Q" sticks but we had family members brings some that they had. The decking was really nice with lots of space and comfortable chairs and lounges.The kitchen with it's over sized counter for serving was perfect for our needs. The only thing that we could have used was bigger refrigerator in the kitchen or a second freezer or refrigerator in the garage area...that would have been helpful. Will definately consider returning to Water Colors again...absolulely perfect for us and our dog Coco loved it too.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am so happy that these folks enjoyed WaterColors; we work really hard to keep it spotless, pretty, comfortable, and up dated. I'm glad to know about the "Q" sticks...I will get some new ones. The refrigerator is a 36" side by side, which is large by most standards but with a big crowd, I can understand the need for a secondary unit... we will have one installed very soon. We aim to please!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Heaven on the Beach

Review submitted: October 31, 2010   Date of arrival: August 14, 2010

Watercolors is one of the most wonderful properties we have ever had the privilege to stay. The house is perched on the bluffs overlooking this beautiful private beach. Each window held the most gorgeous views of the ocean and sky opening to an expansive deck.
The house is decorated in a variety of ocean shades setting the atmosphere: elegant yet truly comfortable. The open concept really allowed us to be together yet pursue different activities. We were two families with twenty somethings and having two levels was great for some separation. The pool table was a great hit.
It was wonderful having the variety of beach equipment from umbrellas and beach towels to sand toys. The kitchen was well stocked great for cooking meals for many. My sister in law is still talking about the giant washer and dryer!!
For me it was all about the beach just thinking about that view makes me smile. It was heaven can't wait to go back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

THE place to stay for a wonderful time with wonderful accommodations!!!! Watercolors and MORE!

Review submitted: October 25, 2010   Date of arrival: October 9, 2010

Watercolors exceeded our expectations. It was all and more than described on listing.
It was roomy, comfortable, clean and had everything we could want and then some.
The layout of the house is perfect for "getting away" from other people for a while when the time comes.
Judy's information is very helpful on the area. Caps restaurant is such a unique place with the gnarly
trees in the sunset. We also enjoyed The Conch House in St. Augustine.
St. Augustine is so close and so much to see there. We were delighted to find out Freedom Boat Club
had just opened just over the bridge as we are members. A GREAT day of boating.
The beach at Watercolors has so many shells and starfish. We are used to beautiful panhandle of
Florida beaches but no shells for kids to find.
Watercolors will DEFINITELY be our pick when we return to Ponte Vedra. No one can go wrong
staying there whatever the group.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Water Colors

Review submitted: August 23, 2010   Date of arrival: July 3, 2010

We had a lovely vacation. Water Colors provides every amenity one could need or desire. Judy has thought of everything to make your vacation fun and comfortable.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

perfect owners, perfect house

Review submitted: June 27, 2010   Date of arrival: June 19, 2010

We are a large family with very young children that stay one week every year at the beach. This is the best house and experiance we have had in 5 years. Our first house was okay but we outgrew it. Then it was problems with owners letting properties run down and get very dirty. This was absolutly not the case here! Property is super well maintained and obviously updated on a regular basis....and it was CLEAN inside! Two large Tron washer and dryers and a fully updated kitchen made this a great home away from home. We hope not to outgrow this house but if we do we will try to stick with a Wren property in the future. Great communication with owner, local property manager, beautifully maintained home, great location, what more could we ask for. Thank you so much for a lovely week.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: We are naturally always delighted when our renters love our homes and make definite plans to return...and we are especially happy that this renter mentioned the cleanliness of the property. We make every possible effort to insure that our homes are pristine, well maintained, and updated! When our renters are happy, we are happy!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect for all ages

Review submitted: April 22, 2010   Date of arrival: April 3, 2010

This is a wonderful beach house & comfortable for all age groups. Our teenage boys found the downstairs perfect for their video games. With the wrap around decks you can always find a comfortable spot. The house is exactly as described on the web site, well equipped & maintained, & Judy was very easy to arrange the rental with. We had a minor plumbing problem that was promptly taken care of. This is a great uncrowded beach. We loved Caps for lunch. If you have young children, they'd have a great time playing on their trees, tire swings & little beach. It's hard to find an upscale property that suits my family (from 74 to 16 & two 4-legged furry grand dogs) but the Watercolors is a winner.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: We are happy that family groups such as Grandma Betty's find that WaterColors is the perfect spot for gatherings of all ages. The house is spacious with a separate game room and a private elevator which make it extremely convenient for everyone! The beach is very private but close to great restaurants such as Caps, so we think we can offer both privacy and togetherness in a luxurious setting!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: January 6, 2010   Date of arrival: January 6, 2010

We absolutely loved this house, we had 8 adults, one 12 year old, one 2 year old and one 19 month old, it was accomadating to all of us. We would definately stay there again. The house was so spacious we never got in each others way, plenty of room to cook and hang out, the 12 year old loved the down stairs game room. I would recommend this to anyone with a large family to stay there. We are already planning another vacation in a couple of years and we are thinking about renting the house again, this time in the summer. Thanks for all of our wonderful memories at The Water Colors.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 1, 2009   Date of arrival: October 1, 2009

We had a great time. My family stayed at
watercolors and my new husbands family stayed
down the road at another Wren beach house. The
kitchen was great for our catered picnic and for all
the "chefs" that were in the kitchen to make
breakfast!! The in-laws were a short walk down the
beach in another wren rental and it was great they
could stay so close! My husband and I are locals,
but still felt like we were on vacation! My dad
talked about doing this every year since we all had
a great time!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Review submitted: September 21, 2009   Date of arrival: September 21, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed WaterColors this passed Labor Day week. What a beautiful home, inside and out! The accommodations are beyond nice – a perfectly appointed gourmet kitchen and bar; a very large and cozy great room; a wrap around deck overlooking the ocean; elegant master bedrooms and plenty of sleeping space to accommodate our group of 8 adults and 3 children. What more could you ask for? Historic St. Augustine is only minutes away, but chances are you’ll find yourself lounging on the deck, day and night. There’s plenty of outdoor seating and lots of fun stuff to keep the kids busy in the downstairs play area. Don't miss dining at Caps just down the road. And the Serenata Beach Club is a must, especially if you have kids. The staff is very accommodating and you’ll love the cascading pools, especially in the summer. It also offers an array of supervised activities for kids of all ages . . . well worth the small membership fee.Thanks Bill & Judy for a wonderful vacation!!!! We hope to return soon! - The Jones, Price & Preston Families, Fort Lauderdale, FL

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 21, 2009   Date of arrival: August 21, 2009

We LOVED our time at Water Colors! The house has EVERYTHING that one could possibly need. We had our infant with us so having access to a crib, booster seat, etc. was really nice. The house has a great layout making it easy for everyone to relax and hang out. We loved the huge deck off the back of the house and spent every night out there. Judy was awesome to work with as well, very quick at answering any questions we had. We had a wonderful vacation and hope to return one day! Thanks for everything!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

August 1, 2009 wonderful home

Review submitted: August 11, 2009   Date of arrival: August 1, 2009

House is beautiful, great kitchen with everything you need for cooking, beds are all comfortable, tv's in everyroom. Very close to all attractions and love the beach right out the back doors. The elevator was a plus for great-grandmother!!! Great set up for family vacation.
Thank you and will be back soon!!!
Aug 09
Venice, FL

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 4, 2009   Date of arrival: August 4, 2009

My family and I loved our stay at Water Colors. We were a family of 10 & everyone fit perfectly. The kids loved the PS2; there were alot of movies for them to chose from & they loved all the beach toys that were available for their use (boogie boards!). The rooms were all very big and we especially loved the kitchen. We will definitely be back next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 12, 2009   Date of arrival: February 1, 2009

We were extremely happy when we arrived at Watercolors. The house was beautiful and the view was spectacular! The beds were great and, there was plenty of open room for our two families. I was extremely surprised to find that the shelling was phenominal. We didn't have to travel to find great take-home shells, we just had to walk out the back door.
Judy seems to have thought of everything a person needed to have a great stay at the beach! Don't hesitate to rent Watercolors. It's so spacious that even our large group didn't get in each others way.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 11, 2009   Date of arrival: January 1, 2009

My family and I had a simply wonderful vacation at Watercolors. Everything was clean, well stocked linens, huge family friendly kitchen, comfortable beds...I could go on and on. We will definitely stay there again. Hopefully, next year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 15, 2008   Date of arrival: October 1, 2008

We rented Watercolors to celebrate my dad's 60th birthday. Family from CA, TX, and other parts of FL stayed at the house and we never felt like there wasn't enough space. The house is beautiful and very well stocked, the location is fantastic, and Ms. Wren was an absolute pleasure to work with.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 15, 2008   Date of arrival: September 1, 2008

The Water Color House was a lovely setting for a
reunion of friends. It is thoughtfully decorated and
maintained to satisfy the various activities of
friends and family. We greatly enjoyed our visit and
hope to return again one day.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 18, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

WaterColors offered everything promised for a funfilled week at the beach -- weather perfect!

We managed to pull off a family reunion & a 90th birthday party for my Dad.(elevator definitely a plus}.

With 6 children -20mo to 9yrs-so much was provided reducing what we needed to bring. The gates on the deck were an added layer of security, keeping the kids off the beach without supervision.

Thanks for providing such a lovely and comfortable home.

Chris & Barb,Franklin,Tn
Mike & Shelene,Franklin,Tn
(Owen,Garrett,Quinn&Tate}
Adam & Dana,Whidby Island,Wa
{Jacob,Abbie}

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 7, 2008   Date of arrival: July 1, 2008

What a wonderful holiday at Watercolors in South Ponte Vedra Beach. The house is beautiful and spacious. Everything that you need for a relaxing vacation. We saw many dolphins swimming by in the morning and dusk. The beach is wide and the house is up on a high dune with beautiful views. Loved the large kitchen with three different areas to sit and eat. It was hard to decide whether to stay on the beach, or stay in this incredible house! Hope to come back again soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 20, 2008   Date of arrival: June 1, 2008

We had a great time at your beach house! We had our 3 grown daughters, spouses, and 2 grandchildren. We have been renting in the Ponte Vedra area for many years and this was the most comfortable house yet! Enough room for everyone, and every amenity you could think of. The deck was lovely as was the beach and view. Thanks so much!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 25, 2008   Date of arrival: May 1, 2008

My sisters and I have been staying at the beach each year for the past 25 years. Three years ago we discovered Watercolors and now this is the only place we want to stay. The home is just beautiful and so spacious. Plenty of room for everyone to have their own space. We had a wonderful time as usual. Judy and Bill have thought of everything! We will be back next year for our 4th visit. We absolutely love it!!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 22, 2008   Date of arrival: April 1, 2008

4/22/2008
The house was wonderful in everyway!
We had two families each with two adults and two children and everyone was quite content with their accomodations. Waking up to magnificent sunrises over the Atlantic is something that I will greatly miss. The weather was perfect, so we were rarely inside, but when we were the spacious and comfortable layout was very enjoyable. We hope to return again soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 14, 2008   Date of arrival: April 1, 2008

What a wonderful house, perfect for our family and
friends. The best equipped kitchen we've ever seen,
plenty of beach gear and even a library of books for
those of us that were lazy. We found so many
varieties of shells the kids started a "museum" on
the deck! We had five kids, six adults and a golden
retriever - and we all fit with space left over. We
can't wait to go back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 29, 2007   Date of arrival: December 1, 2007

Our family enjoyed the view from the deck in any weather. The whole week was very restful. I love the decor.
A severe case of lethargy sets in about 24hrs. after arriving. So have all your food items in so you can curl up with a good book. You'll never want to function on a schedule again.

A stash of fun, decent movies might make a nice addition.

Lots of comfy places to have a chat with your guests inside or outside.

Guthrie Family

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 29, 2007   Date of arrival: December 1, 2007

December 23-30, 2007
We had a glorious week at WaterColors with our extended family to celebrate both Christmas and my 60th birthday. House set up PERFECTLY for our family, and the up-scale amenities made staying here a breeze. One daughter has 2 children ages 2 and 1. She especially appreciated all of the baby/toddler things that were here. Other daughter was able to bring her dog, and he had the time of his life on the beach! Loved the close proximity to St. Augustine. We especially appreciated the speedy responses to our e-mails and questions. Would definitely return here, and would absolutely recommend this home to anyone. A super-memorable time:) Loved the green/orange tour train; World Golf Village; Spa at the Ponte Vedra Inn and Resort.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 15, 2007   Date of arrival: October 1, 2007

Great place for a family with young children. The amenities were exactly what we needed, and the beach was always stacked with shells for the kids to plunder.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 30, 2007   Date of arrival: August 1, 2007

Judy, thank you for sharing your vacation home with us. Our week at WaterColors was truly wonderful. We had 11 people and 1 baby and everyone had their own space. Many amenities for the baby so you don't have to bring much from home. The location is perfect - not too far from St. Augustine or good restaurants.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 26, 2007   Date of arrival: June 1, 2007

Watercolors was a delightful place to stay. the beach was great. the amenities in the house were outstanding. My famile,children, spouses and grandchildren all had a wonderful time.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 7, 2007   Date of arrival: June 1, 2007

We had a great time at Watercolors. Everything we
needed was right there. The house was very child
friendly and had all the amenities. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 15, 2007   Date of arrival: April 1, 2007

WaterColors is a magnificent beach home. Spacious, conveniently located between Jacksonville/Ponte Vedra and St. Augustine (yet far enough away to be really relaxing) and very well appointed. Fabulous views of the private beach, great decks and loaded with literally everything you will need -- beach chairs, tons of beach towels, toys, games, TV/DVD's in every room, a gas grill, hair dryers, computer with internet, etc. WaterColors, Serenata Beach Club, and the Wren's exceeded our expectations in every way.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 29, 2006   Date of arrival: October 1, 2006

Watercolors was perfect. The accomodations were exquisite and comfortable. The ammenities were abundant. Judy and Bill thought of every convenience for any guest. Will definitely visit again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 19, 2006   Date of arrival: September 1, 2006

What a spectacular house! When Judy said you only needed to bring your toothbrush, she was right! This house has everything you could possibly need, is beautifully decorated, has lots of technology and unbelievable views. I couldn't have asked for a better relaxing weekend with friends. We're going to make it an annual trip!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 2, 2006   Date of arrival: August 1, 2006

What a wonderful home! We look forward each year to our week in St. Augustine thanks to the amazing hospitality offered by Judy and Bill. This was our first year at Waltercolors--and we were not disappointed. Watercolors is beautifully appointed--plenty of space, yet cozy and comfortable--making for quality family time and for fabulous opportunities for relaxation. We will be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 30, 2006   Date of arrival: July 1, 2006

7/15/06 - 7/22/06 Thank you....

"Like a vivid watercolor
wild with pigments by the score.
Your home was a lovely tapestry
wet with memories washed ashore.

Everyone enjoyed each
brushstroke in the sky;
appreciating your artistry.... as
our vacation painting flew by".

the Kelleys, Gardners, Greenalls, and Briggs

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 11, 2006   Date of arrival: June 1, 2006

The houe is beautiful, very accomodating with enough space for everyone to be together or have personal time alone. The beach is quiet with few folks around. A most relaxing and enjoyable vacation.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 13, 2006   Date of arrival: May 1, 2006

This is a terrific beach rental. The house is comfortable,beautifully decorated,and has a well equipped kitchen.The beach was great and we really enjoyed the week's membership at Serenata Beach Club.All nine of us had so much fun. Thanks to Judy for her suggestions and information. We highly recommend WATERCOLORS.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 29, 2006   Date of arrival: April 1, 2006

What a wonderful home!!! Nicely stocked, great views, and lots of space. We even met the neighbors and had a cocktail or two! We loved the game table and the decks.

Thanks for the enjoyable week.

The Dees family (Atlanta, GA)
The English family (Olathe, KS)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 2, 2006   Date of arrival: April 1, 2006

We had a great spring break at Watercolors. The house is spacious and well-supplied with all amenities. CAPS is a great restaurant just down the street -- food and atmosphere are wonderful.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review