reviews for: listing #17489 - Yosemite, California Studio rental

no longer available
  • bedrooms  0
  • pool  no
  • type  Studio
  • baths  ½
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Midpines
  • sleeps  1
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $195 - $285 /nt
    $1,475 - $1,925 /wk

sort by:

Little Lodge - perfect for Yosemite

Review submitted: July 28, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

Great Little lodge near the lovely quaint town of Mariposa. Although it feels a long way from anywhere - it isn't. Perfect for our stay and used as a base for trips in and around Yosemite - an hour from the entrance to the national park. The lodge had everything we required - great book of advice left by the owners and were always on hand if we needed any help. Saw all sorts of wildlife out the back and the Hot Tub and BBQ were great to finish off the day. And only 3 hours to San Francisco - Great few days spent at the lodge finished off our holiday perfectly.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Just PERFECT!

Review submitted: April 4, 2013   Date of arrival: March 29, 2013

This was a wonderful get away from the big city. Yosemite is beautiful and this little lodge was the perfect little stay for our family. Animal friendly, quit, cozy, peaceful, and relaxing. We spend our evenings enjoying the fireplace and the spa. I would highly recommend the little lodge and do plan to go back yealy if possible!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Relaxing Getaway for Our Family

Review submitted: April 4, 2013   Date of arrival: August 13, 2012

My family of four stayed in the main house and used it as a "base camp" for day trips during the summer to Yosemite and Bass Lake. This was a great place for us. Kirsty took care of everything - even a bottle of wine from a nearby winery was waiting for us upon our arrival. One cherished memory of our stay there was sitting in the spa/jacuzzi in the late afternoons after our day trips and, as if on cue, a deer and her 2 fawns strolled by unfailingly. (Deer sightings not guaranteed, I'm sure!) There was plenty of space for the kids to play. They loved sleeping upstairs in the bedrooms, while we parents had privacy downstairs. We also loved the BBQ, too. We definitely had the feeling of being "away from it all" and surrounded by nature, but we had all the comforts of home at the Little Lodge. If we stay in the Yosemite area again, we hope this will be our first stop.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

We Loved Little Lodge!

Review submitted: February 26, 2013   Date of arrival: February 15, 2013

We had a wonderful time at the Little Lodge. The things that made it special were: hottub was HOT, the way it should be, not throttled down to save a buck, the grounds were beautiful, we felt like we were in Yosemite, it's a very short drive, with no major change of scenery. Our dogs loved it, they had in/out roaming priveledges, not found elsewhere, and with the many windows, we could keep an eye on them too. The kitchen was very well equipped, and there is a strong family and children "presence" which adds to the charm. We also liked that it was far enough off the road we did not feel like our dogs were in danger of going in the road, and the privacy was 100%. The nearby town was friendly, and there is a great little museum with many really cool gold rush era items. You can even pan for gold in the creek I am told, we are saving the gold strike for next time.

Thanks for keeping a plade where we are welcome with our dogs, it was a perfect getaway! We Loved It!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful quiet getaway

Review submitted: February 5, 2013   Date of arrival: January 24, 2013

We brought our 2 year old son for his first trip to Yosemite and snow and stayed at the little lodge. It was fabulous! Everything you need and more - comfortable beds, plenty of room, a hot tub, tv/stereo/DVD, you name it. Super kid friendly too with toys, high hair, pack and play, even kiddie silverware and cups. Our son loved the outdoor play area with swings and playhouse and also loved whooshing down the hill on the tricycle. Beautiful setting, peaceful and quiet, but not too far into town. Our dog loved romping through the woods.

It's a 40 minute gorgeous drive into the park. As much as we love Yosemite, it was great to stay in Mariposa where we had tons of space and were away from the crowds. Mariposa is a cute town too - check out the museum in town, high country cafe for delicious healthy fare, happy burger for good burgers and fries, and pioneer market for everything else.

Thanks Kirsty for everything, we'll be back!

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Loved the Little Lodge!

Review submitted: July 31, 2012   Date of arrival: July 19, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Little Lodge! The house is cozy and charming, as well as being very well equipped. The property is really beautiful in its woodsy setting. The nearby town of Mariposa has a grocery store and some good restaurants, and the home is decently situated for entering Yosemite from either the west or south entrance. Kirsty was especially helpful in giving us advice on planning our time there, and there are some excellent resources at the house for touring Yosemite and for hiking in the area. They even left us a lovely book about Yosemite to take with us! We were very pleased with everything about this vacation rental and would highly recommend it!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Our Little House in the Woods

Review submitted: May 25, 2012   Date of arrival: May 10, 2012

My son still talks about "our little house in the woods" near Yosemite. We loved this cozy home and our 4 year old son simply did not want to leave. The house is just as pictured online. We spent each of our days exploring and hiking in Yosemite then drove back to the house to soak in the hot tub and make dinner. We really appreciated the incredibly stocked kitchen, the high quality beds, the privacy that both the upstairs and downstairs suites enjoy from the rest of the house, the beautiful grounds (we saw many deer and heard wild turkeys (?) and owls at dusk each day, and the special touches for children. My son happily played inside and outside with all of the toys provided during any of our downtime at the house.

Also, Yosemite was absolutely beautiful in May! We hope to return next year with another small family to continue exploring Yosemite and the other areas around this house. The drive times provided here by the owner are accurate and definitely something to keep in mind. Our drive in along the Merced River each day became a bit of a ritual complete with its own soundtrack and an ice cream break each way, but it did test the limits of our four year olds' patience in the car a few times. Then again, he loved spotting the first view of the river and all the rafts coming down, etc. so we made it work. It was definitely worth it to get away from the crowds of the park and to have all of the amenities this house provides.

Overall, this house was the perfect blend of comfort, quiet and proximity to Yosemite for us. Kirsty was helpful and responsive and has done a wonderful job of creating a home that feels like you are staying with good friends. I especially highly recommend this house to families with young children.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Owners response: Wow Kendra, what a pleasant surprise! It was with the greatest appreciation that I discovered both your helpful review, as well as the extent of your delight in The Little Lodge. It's just wonderful when people leave such detailed descriptions as then others may see what they can truly expect to encounter. We thank You, and do hope to have you return! Kirsty & Jerry

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great Weekend Getaway

Review submitted: February 22, 2012   Date of arrival: February 17, 2012

Loved the Little Lodge. Kirsty was so personable and attentive to me, made me feel like I was her only guest in months which I know wasn't true! The house is well appointed with a well stocked kitchen, lots of towels, blankets and SO MUCH KID STUFF! My sons are 5 and 8 and didn't want to leave - board games, building toys, hot tub, play structure. We enjoyed building fires, they had all we needed to start them, and the beds are of great quality - we actually slept well! Would love to visit in summer or fall when we could enjoy the property and hang-out outside.
About an hour to Yosemite Valley, easy drive but I can see it could get traffic-y in summer. We entered at all 3 entrances and the drive was fine and adventurous. Mariposa is a cute town, food is priced well at the local grocery - we never ate out b/c the house was so great. My kids loved the mining museum.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We were thrilled to hear how helpful all the kid's stuff ended up being for you all, Kathy, we know only too well how disappointing it can be have chosen a place where there's nothing for the kids to be doing. Comfortable, quality beds is another thing we take seriously so we were exceptionally pleased to know you slept well... nothing quite like a bad bed to ruin an otherwise delightful vacation. Anyway, can't wait to have you back, thanks for leaving your review! K & J

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

The Little Lodge

Review submitted: February 1, 2012   Date of arrival: February 18, 2011

Wow, what an incredible escape. We called Kirsty from Merced to tell her we were on the way. Talk about hospitality. When we arrived, the air was brisk but the cabin was toasty warm with a fire going in the wood stove and relaxing music playing on the stereo. The hot tub was incredible, the views extraordinary and the privacy akin to having your own hideaway behind a locked gate. We had the cabin for two days while we hiked in Yosemite. We hated to leave but have the warmest of memories not only of the this exceptional cabin but the down home hospitality afforded to us by our hosts.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Absolutely loved it!

Review submitted: December 3, 2011   Date of arrival: October 20, 2011

We absolutely loved our stay at this cabin. We had a two year-old and it was her first real vacation. There were so many toys generously provided by the owners, a great playground with a playhouse, a swing and even a tricycle and so much more inside and outside of the house, that she was entertained all four days we spent at the cabin. Kid friendliness was beyond our expectations and made a great difference.

The house is incredibly cozy and organized very thoughtfully. We felt like home from the moment we entered it. We greatly appreciated the generosity of the owners with providing every necessity and so much more. We just did not want to leave.

The landscape around the house is very serene. It is quiet and relaxing. Even if we chose not to go anywhere and stayed in the house, we would not be bored at all.

We hope to be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Little Lodge

Review submitted: October 12, 2011   Date of arrival: October 2, 2011

Everything and more than the listing stated. The property was clean and well maintained. The owners responded a phone call with a quick question very warmly and welcomed calls with questions. I'd recommend this property when visiting Yosemite as it's the best route into the park.

Would highly reecommned to others.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

3 Generations loved the Little Lodge

Review submitted: June 29, 2011   Date of arrival: June 21, 2011

One never knows what to expect based on photos and internet descriptions when choosing a vacation rental; however, in the case of the Little Lodge every claim made by the owners was accurate. There were no disappointments. In fact the amenities provided far exceeded our expectations. (Although it is a small detail, there was even a brand new dish sponge. Having had the experience of finding dirty, worn out, mildewed sponges in other vacation rentals, I was quite impressed!) We were 5 guests, parents, grandparents and a 4-1/2 year old. The 2 bedrooms provided more than enough space for everyone to have privacy including separate bathrooms for the two families. The king size beds were just like home - comfortable without any sagging - what one would expect in a 4 star hotel, not to mention the ever-present peace and tranquility. The kitchen was amazingly equipped with enough utensils to prepare wonderful dinners if one so chose although we didn't want any fuss and stayed with BBQ fare and loved eating outdoors. The furniture in the living room was comfortable and clean with space for everyone. The hot tub was a huge success, especially with our granddaughter and kept her occupied even more than the swings and playhouse in the yard. As for the location of the home, it's close enough to the cute town of Mariposa for dinner or antiquing although a "longish" drive to Yosemite which may not be worth it considering the crowds we encountered, weekday or weekend. However perusing the hiking binder provided by the owners, we discovered a more local hike, Lewis Creek/Corlieu Falls, which was equal in beauty to almost any hike we've taken in Yosemite. Our standards are pretty high and everyone agreed that the Little Lodge is a place we would return to without any hesitation (although I'm wondering if I should share this treasure)!
PS Although she never came in the house, Charley the cat became a dear friend and greeted us every morning! We already miss her.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks SO much Ellen for your kind words and appreciation of the attention to detail we care so much about. We were so glad you "3 generations" all found the location, the beds, the cleanliness and the amenities so satisfactory, you were delightful guests and we appreciate you all treating the home with such care. Thanks too for having taken the time to share your experience with other potential guests of The Little Lodge, we do hope to have you return to perhaps this, or to one of our other two homes as you mentioned! ;-) . . . . . . . . . . . .

Kirsty and Jerry

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

MUST STAY HERE!! Perfect Yosemite getaway!

Review submitted: May 4, 2011   Date of arrival: April 28, 2011

We had the most wonderful time staying at the Little Lodge, and absolutely recommend it to anyone looking for a quiet escape to Yosemite, with or without children. We went as two couples, and each had an entire floor (with bathroom and shower) to ourselves. The lodge was cozily decorated and filled with everything -- literally EVERYTHING -- you could possibly need for your stay. Coffee maker, pots, pans, condiments in the fridge, spices in the cabinets, hair dryers, board games, movies, bath towels, beach towels, paper towels, extra blankets, fire wood, grill tools, internet connection, dishwasher, and a washer and dryer!

The location was gorgeous: a quick (and breathtaking) drive to any of the park entrances, yet isolated on a quiet road with a lush, private yard full of flowers, hummingbirds, and the occasional family of deer. We honestly could have spent the entire stay at the lodge if there weren't such amazing sites to see in the park.

We spent our mornings drinking coffee on the sunny patio, with the adorable resident outdoor cat by our side. Coming home from our hikes, it was straight to the gas grill, then dinner and a cold beer in the roomy, cozy kitchen. At night, we'd soak in the pristine hot tub under the trees and stars, then race through the cool air to sit inside by the glowing wood-burning fireplace. An endless pile of firewood sat outside the front door, so we cooked s'mores until we were sick of them.

The beds were big and comfortable. The rooms were adorable and "log cabin-y." Kirsty, the owner, was extra-helpful and sweet, and available whenever we needed her. In short, it was absolutely perfect, and we didn't want to leave.

We didn't bring kids, but the place was buzzing with activities and games for families. I strongly recommend the Little Lodge to anyone. Period. Unless it's the same weekend we plan on returning :)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Wow, Mark, THANK You for your complimentary and appreciative review! It's hearing things like this that make it so worth all the effort that we enthusiastically go to in order to ensure that our deeply valued guests so thoroughly enjoy their stay. We're thrilled that you were all so pleased with The Little Lodge and thank you once again for treating it so nicely. Until next time - Kirsty and Jerry

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

All the comforts of home... and then some!

Review submitted: January 30, 2011   Date of arrival: January 21, 2011

Our stay at Little Lodge was so comfortable and easy, I will return again and again (and refer to family and friends!). The fully equipped home really meant we didn't need to bring anything but our clothes and personal toiletries. While we were there I baked a cake and blended smoothies, two things I have never been able to do on a whim on vacation before! The location is private, but accessible, and the hot tub is the perfect place to take in the night sky and the morning sun. Our son loved the toys, play equipment, and exploring. The owners are genuinely kind and generous. We loved Little Lodge!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Well thank you so much for taking the time to share your review, we certainly enjoyed having you and are pleased to know that you found The Little Lodge so to your liking! Thanks for treating the home so kindly, we look forward to having you all return. Kirsty and Jerry

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Wonderful Place!

Review submitted: December 14, 2010   Date of arrival: December 1, 2010

From start to finish, our Experience with the owners of The Little Lodge and The Lodge itself was just perfect. An immediate reply to our initial inquiry was followed by an easy, yet thorough booking process, flawless directions to the home and surrounding attractions also added much to the ease of our stay. Upon our arrival, the home was far more lovely than even the pictures and description online could describe, the children were wild with enthusiasm at everything that was provided, "just for them!". The home was amazingly clean and so well-stocked we were amazed, in years of renting other homes through VRBO never was one so complete, or delightful. We slept in GREAT beds, cooked many meals in the amazingly well-stocked kitchen, spent hours playing the piano and also the abundant board games they provided. We enjoyed the big hot tub right out the back door (Wow), hiked around the property and found all sorts of historic treasures to admire, drove to Yosemite via both Hwy 140, and Hwy 41 with ease, what beautiful travels they were! Jerry and Kirsty were so attentive to our needs, nothing was left unattended, they have surely thought of every single thing that could possibly make a vacation rental stay complete, and comfortable. To top it all off, our security deposit was already refunded by the time we arrived back home (only a 6 hour drive away!). We would definitely recommend this home to absolutely ANYONE who wants a reliably great mountain getaway, you'll be so glad you chose to stay at the Litttle Lodge.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: It is with deep appreciation that we read your review, Adele, thanks so much for going out of your way and surprising us with this unsolicited, complimentary critique! We were delighted to read that you'd so completely enjoyed your time with us and look forward to seeing you next year. Thanks for your return booking! Kirsty and Jerry

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 1, 2010   Date of arrival: January 12, 2010

We LOVED The Little Lodge in the snow! Our last-minute reservation was perfect, a great discount and we were able to plan when we knew there was snow in the forecast. Thanks for making the sleds and discs available to us and for being so helpful, it was so much easier than we had feared it would be to drive up here in the snow. The spa was incredible, the house was immaculate and had everything we could have imagined, and more! What else can I say...this place is the BOMB!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 1, 2010   Date of arrival: December 22, 2009

Wonderful Christmas at The Little Lodge! Thank you so much for the beautiful tree and everything else - the house is lovely.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 1, 2010   Date of arrival: December 3, 2009

We've done rentals all over the place and this one has got to be the best. Your attention to detail (and your binder of information!), were fantastic, thanks, you've thought of everything! We'll be back.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 1, 2010   Date of arrival: November 23, 2009

What a wonderful home to celebrate Thanksgiving in with our "scattered" families! Lots of space, VERY clean, very well-stocked and we loved all the games for adults and our toddler. We just enjoyed being together and exploring the surrounding areas, including Yosemite. We would definitely love to come back again...Thank You!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 22, 2010   Date of arrival: April 7, 2010

Thank you in so many ways. Everyday since we have left I am planning the next time we can go back. So many memories have been created and your home had so much to do with that. My family enjoyed every second. My three year old keeps asking when we are going back home to her house with the stairs and the hot pool. I also want to commend you on your excellent customer service; you have been a pleasure to work with. Thanks again and we will be back...

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Great Time Was Had By All!

Review submitted: September 27, 2009   Date of arrival: August 28, 2009

What a great time my family and I had at The Little Lodge! My grandchildren were enchanted by the swings, foosball table and toys provided, my son and daughter-in-law loved the jacuzzi and lazing on the brick patio under the beautiful trees and we were all wide-eyed when deer came by morning and evening, not to mention the squirrels and wild turkey! The Lodge is close to Yosemite, and there was a myriad of things to do and places to go, good restaurants in Mariposa, wading in river in the park... you name it we did it. And the Lodge has everything you need for a great, relaxing time! It was a 5-star vacation at a 2-star price!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review