reviews for: listing #1751 - Crescent Beach, Florida Cottage rental

Comfy Cottage at Crescent Beach - Stroll to the Beach
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $150 - $150 /nt
    $800 - $800 /wk
    $2,000 - $2,000 /mth

sort by:

Better than we expected

Review submitted: October 4, 2012   Date of arrival: September 22, 2012

My wife,puppy & I loved this charming house like we were right at home! I could'nt beleive how close everything was to walk to as GoogleMaps did not relate the distances.This house had everything we needed & an awsome, working, dated stove/oven. We are not used to these ameneties & lax rules that the North Carolina beach rentals fall short on.Someone even mowed the lawn while we were there! Quiet neighborhood, too & you can fish all you want to w/ the ICW ramp right behind you.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great cottage rental

Review submitted: July 7, 2011   Date of arrival: June 6, 2011

I stayed at the cottage for a month in June. What a wonderful place to rest and relax .The cottage as clean and well maintained and has been updated to provide you some comfort, even a whirlpool bathtub .
It is located very close to the beach, at times I walked to the beach or you can park for free , if you so desire. It is located about 5 miles from Saint Augustine Beach and about 10 miles to all the historical sites in Saint Augustine.So you have the best of both worlds. I totally loved the quaint neighborhood, where neighbors were friendly.
Both Becky and Rick were extremely helpful with the cottage as a rental. They answered all my
questions and were more than happy to provide me with any information I asked.
My daughter and son -in -law stayed a week of my vacation and we had plenty of room to spare . My dog had a blast walking the neighborhood and the beach and of course , the fenced in back yard came in handy.
South Beach Grill is actually in the sand dunes going to the beach and the food was very good. Napoli's is also in Crescent Beach as was excellent. You can also take a free ferry ride to the Fort which is only 4 miles from the cottage , a nice trip.
The cottage, it's location, the owners and the closeness of the beach itself- a true slice of heaven ! I have plans to return next year and for this my daughter and son-in-law seem very happy ,
Thanks Rick and Becky for sharing your cottage .

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

GREAT rental

Review submitted: February 15, 2011   Date of arrival: February 6, 2011

I'm so glad we picked the Cottage for our stay. The Cottage was just that "A Cottage" with so much charm. The Owners were amazing. They even called to see how our stay was going and if we needed anything. Of course we did not. It is in a quite neighborhood and the beach is a short walk. I love Crescent beach and we will stay here again for our fall vacation. Thank you so much for a great vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Can't agree with other's comments

Review submitted: February 4, 2011   Date of arrival: January 1, 2011

First, the good things: location, fenced yard for dogs, and wi-fi
The disappointing things: We stayed in the Cottage for the whole month of January. We packed for a month but were very disappointed to find that the owners left us very little space to unpack. Their personal "stuff" was everywhere - in all the closets, drawers, nooks and crannies. We ended up having to live out of suitcases for a month. The house was also very dirty. Dust was on everything. Food was left in the fridge and cupboards (some of it very old). The oven/stove was circa 1960 and one burner and the oven did not work. There was mold around the window frames. There was a very old foam toilet seat in the second bathroom that was so filthy we couldn't use it. We went out and bought and installed a new toilet seat The carpets smelled bad. There is not a comfortable place to sit or sleep in this house. The couches in the living room are very uncomfortable. The bed in the "master" is a very tiny double and the mattress is extremely hard. The twin beds in the guestroom are way too soft. There are no good reading lights in the house.
We were very disappointed with these accommodations and would not recommend them to anyone. In fact, we had friends who were going to visit us and we told them not to as they would have been so uncomfortable in the house.. .

Owners response: We’re very disappointed that Penny wasn't happy with our Cottage since it is an overwhelming favorite with most folks.

I will say that we did some updating of the kitchen in the late fall, and finished up a week before she arrived. We relocated some appliances, opened up the kitchen wall to make it more spacious, and installed a new bamboo floor. In the process we created a pretty good mess and there was drywall dust everywhere. We scrubbed and cleaned but that dust can work its way into everything. We apologize for not getting it all.

Some beds too hard some beds too soft, what can I say, it’s often a matter of preference. Becki and I work very hard to make our places comfy and homey and we’re mostly upset that we were never given a chance to make anything right. We weren't told that there were any problems until this review.

We initiated phone calls three times during their stay to see if everything was ok and never once did anyone mention any problems at all. For instance, staying for a month with a broken stove should have warranted a call. Had we known we could have told them to turn a switch to “manual” and solved it. ( By the way, she is correct about it being a 1960’s stove, it is. It’s a Frigidaire Flair, very retro and even has a fan club on the internet just Google it and see how cool it is. )

When all is said and done, we could have and would have made their stay much better all around if they had simply talked to us. We give everybody at least 3 contact phone numbers and e-mails to let us know of any problems. As you can see from the other reviews, this was a truly an exception to the rule.

Helpful votes: 1 / 5

 

Cozy Cottage at Crescent Beach

Review submitted: July 2, 2010   Date of arrival: June 24, 2010

Awesome quaint cottage with all the amenities. Rick and Becki have thought of everything, including beach gear. This is the second time we have stayed and it was better than the first. We will definitely come back again. The fenced yard is a blessing when you have two dogs, it takes the worry out of having to walk them first thing in the morning. The addition of a jacuzzi tub was wonderful and we made full use of it while we were there. The washer and dryer are a nice plus because we didn't have to come home with dirty clothes. All in all, I would highly recommend a stay if you want to get away from it all.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best place to stay in Crescent Beach

Review submitted: April 14, 2010   Date of arrival: April 3, 2010

I highly recommend staying at this cottage. It is very comfortable, very homey, and convenient to everything. The owners, Rick and Becki, were very welcoming and accommodating and made us feel right at home. The cottage is very spacious, offering a lot more room than you would find in a condo, and has a nice sized yard. We ate several times at Paula's Beachside Grill and recommend that as well. It is walking distance from the cottage, and has good food at a good price.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Review submitted: July 27, 2009   Date of arrival: July 27, 2009

My teacher friend, dog, and I spent a week at Bungalow. Rick and Becky and Rick's sister were very friendly and helpful.
They let me keep my tiny frou frou dog Keelie and she had a great time. we especially enjoyed our early morning walks to the river. Would love to spent a week at Bungalow next summer.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: July 23, 2009   Date of arrival: July 23, 2009

We stayed at the beach house in May and although it rained the entire time we are there the house was fabulous. We couldnt have picked a better place to stay. Rick and Becki were more than accomodating and we really enjoyed ourselves. We will definately try to stay there again next spring when we come down to Florida.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: July 23, 2009   Date of arrival: July 23, 2009

This was my first year and I really enjoyed staying in the bungalow. It's a cozy two bedroom, one bath, kitchen area, and nice living room. My kids enjoyed the river on one side & the ocean on the other. They fished in the river while we relaxed in the bungalow. We go for the fireworks on the 4th & its only 10 miles from the town of St. Augustine. I highly recommend staying at one of Rick & Becki's places.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: July 22, 2009   Date of arrival: July 22, 2009

Rick and Becki are great! Their house and bungalow are directly across the street (A1A) from the beach. My girlfriend and I have rented their house and bungalow the past two years and thoroughly enjoyed them both! If you're looking to stay in this area.....their are no better deals or acommodations!!! Rick and Becki aim to please!!

Robert and Terri
Metter, Georgia

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: July 22, 2009   Date of arrival: July 22, 2009

My husband and I stayed in the Bungalow, another property just adjacent to the cottage. The space was clean and homey and just the right size for the two of us. There was a spare room that would also be perfect for a child or another guest. The location was absolutely perfect - close to the highway and everything we wanted to do. We were close to everything; but, far from the commercial areas just down A1A. The beach was close and quiet. We will definitely be staying here again when we visit St. Augustine again!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: July 22, 2009   Date of arrival: July 22, 2009

We have stayed in Rick and Becki's Bungalow for three years now. We couldn't ask for better hosts! They make us feel so welcome and they always make sure the place is clean and well supplied. The location is superb. It's quiet and peaceful, with beautiful beaches (including public parking and facilities) just two blocks away. Shopping and dining are convenient. We always include at least one trip to historic downtown St. Augustine. But we try to stay "home" as much as possible because we enjoy it so much. The back yard is a small oasis, with shade trees and a refreshing breeze. We relax there almost every afternoon. We hope to continue our tradition of staying at the Bungalow every year!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: July 21, 2009   Date of arrival: July 21, 2009

Rick & Becki were exceptionally helpful with info about the surrounding area.The cottage was wonderful.All you have to do is take your toothbrush ( they even had a package of new ones in case you forgot yours)your bathing suit or clothes of some kind and settle in..All the comforts of home. Linens, dishes, games & toys for the kids were all in excellent condition. Washer & Dryer was a great asset.We didn't have to take dirty or sandy clothes back home with us..We will certainly be returning & would highly recommend to anyone that wants a nice place that is very reasonably priced..

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 13, 2009   Date of arrival: July 13, 2009

Rick and Becki are the most accommodating of people. My husband and I have stayed in the cottage for the past 4 yrs and it has really been great. We love this place. If you like to fish, go to one end of the street and there is the inter-coastal, or go across 1A to the Atlantic. It's the best..we won't stay anywhere else when we go to FL.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review