reviews for: listing #175187ha - Tamarindo, Costa Rica rental

Breathtaking panorama! Endless 360º view
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  no
  • rates (USD)  $ 300 - $ 450 / night
    $ 2,100 - $ 2,345 / week
    $ 6,000 / month
  • sleeps  14
  • pets considered  no

sort by:

excellent location

Review submitted: January 7, 2008   Date of arrival: January 1, 2007

I went there last year on january with my family and some friends. I had a great time, Cecilia (owner) was great, thank you so much, we had a wonderful vacation. Thank Sonia and his husband for their kindness and help.

the only dislike were the lack of some accomodities like no A/C, no internet access, and no TV. Other than that if you're in the mood, like we were, of being with the natural environment, adventure and enjoying without this services you'll have the best trip ever.

Even if we didn't had A/C, by being at the top of the tamarindo hill you get a cool breeze. And at Tamarindo center you can find the "internet cafe's" that we were missing at the beginning.

The gravel road to get to the house was a little messy but for us part of the adventure. It really wasn't comparable with the location of the house and the kindness of the people. I definitely recommend the place to everyone who reads this, the price payed doesn't show a bit of what we got.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you very much for your feedback, and we are happy that you enjoyed your vacation and adventure in Villa Artemis. We are glad to mention that we have worked on some amenities that you mentioned. Every room has A/C, internet was installed and a TV with international channels is offered nowadays. Thank you again for your feedback, and you will always be welcomed over here.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great house!!!!

Review submitted: July 28, 2014   Date of arrival: July 13, 2014

Our host Enrique arranged for our airport pick up and his wife Natalie met us personally upon arrival welcoming us warmly and orienting us to the area. The accommodations were exactly as represented and quite spectacular with beautiful views of the beaches below. We loved the pool and the layout of the rooms and baths. The caretaker was exceptional and assisted us with grocery shopping, BBQ and fresh fish as well as help with practicing our Spanish. We loved the access to beaches, restaurants and activities with the privacy of the house though the drive up the unpaved roads was quite bumpy. As this was our first experience in Costa Rica it made a great impression and we would certainly look forward to returning to this lovely home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful house; new owners!

Review submitted: July 15, 2014   Date of arrival: June 27, 2014

We recently returned from Tamarindo and our stay at Villa Artemis as a family of 11. I was nervous due to some of the prior reviews. Upon arrival we were pleasantly surprised at the recent changes and upgrades to the home. We were the first family to stay after the new owner took over. The upgrades were beautiful; the kitchen and den are nicely done with beautiful tile. The house was big enough for all of us to fit comfortably. The manager, Enrique, was forthcoming regarding the beds that had not been redone yet. Our stay was before this upgrade so yes the beds were hard but tolerable. They are upgrading the beds in the near future if not already. The location of the home cannot be beat in Tamarindo and the view is breathtaking. The service and attention to detail were superb. We had PLENTY of clean bath towels and pool towels; the house was very clean and kept immaculate by the home security guard/maintenance person, Olger. His quarters are to the side of the house and he is always there if you need him but otherwise completely unobtrusive and yet extremely friendly! We would leave all day and not lock the house or worry about anything inside. We had an amazing stay at Villa Artemis with plenty of room, a clean friendly atmorsphere, and the perfect vacation with superb view. I would recommend this home to anyone, especially those with children due to the bunk room! The upgrades were impressive and we plan to stay here again in two years upon our return!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lugar muy acogedor y agradable

Review submitted: May 5, 2014   Date of arrival: May 1, 2014

En nombre de todos los que estuvimos en Villa Artemis le damos las gracias es un lugar muy bonito tranquilo y acogedor.
Saludos

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A week in paradise

Review submitted: January 7, 2014   Date of arrival: December 26, 2013

I have been in Guanacaste well over 20 times and the view from this house is most likely the best view in Tamarindo and any other beach in the area. The pool was great, always cold for the hot sun! The house has AC; I didn’t need it since there is always a nice breeze. The 2 housekeepers, Manuel and Sonia were great, Sonia cooked and kept the inside of the house clean for $25/day for 14 of us! A couple of things needed fixing and Manuel took care of them right away!
I loved the Mediterranean style of the house combined with the nature. I heard monkeys and saw some very pretty birds from the back deck. Finally, I enjoyed being 5 min away from the beach and a major town, but up high enough to not hear noises and stay in total relaxation.
The road is in good condition (It the dry season) but I recommend a small SUV or Pick up.
Overall, a great stay! Highly recommended!

Owners response: Thank you very much for your good comments! I am glad you had such a wonderful time. We will do our best to keep it that way! Our most sincere gratitude, and hope the best for you and your family for this new year! Sonia and Manuel send their greetings as well

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing Place!! Amazing views!!

Review submitted: August 7, 2013   Date of arrival: August 2, 2013

Truly fascinated with the place, the views are amazing, a priviledged, an incredible view of Tamarindo beach, lobster, and many miles of ocean, the house is completely surrounded by flora and fauna, not to mention the sunsets, just speechless , I am very pleased with their owners, are excellent and cordial people, in order Villa Artemis a paradise in heaven, thank you very much for everything!

Owners response: Thank you very much for your comment! We really appreciate when people have such a wonderful time. You are welcome back whenever you wish to see those amazing views you liked so much!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Well beyond expectations! Incredible view!

Review submitted: March 4, 2013   Date of arrival: November 14, 2012

My family and I recently had the opportunity to stay at Villa Artemis. Even though we were technically in the off season, it was truly a magical place. We arrived quite late in the evening (10:30pm) and were greeted by Sonia and Manuel (the property managers). With a smile on their face they happily got fires going for us, put away groceries and generally made us feel very welcome.

The property itself is very private but only a 5 minute drive (if that) to the town of Tamarindo. Between the amazing view of the ocean, the wonderful food, the beautiful architecture (the pictures don't do it justice), daily assistance from Sonia and Manuel, we'd give this property more than 5 stars if we could.

Villa Artemis is great for both families or for a romantic vacation. If you're planning on going to this area of Costa Rica, do yourself a favor and visit this beautiful house in Tamarindo. You wont regret it.

Owners response: We are very happy that you enjoyed your vacations!!! and for taking some time to write a review! you will always be welcomed in our villa!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Best View in Tamarindo

Review submitted: January 5, 2011   Date of arrival: December 17, 2010

13 of us spent Christmas here and we all enjoyed every minute of it. This being highest house in Tamarindo, it commands the best view of Tamarindo beach and Playa Grande. We could not get enough of watching the sunsets and star gazing every night from the wrap around patio. The pictures do not do it justice; it was much more than what we expected.
Everything worked great except the hot water, but that is to be expected since there were 4 showers running at the same time. No big deal; we just split up shower times when we got back from the beach and everyone had plenty of hot water.
We have been visiting Costa Rica for over 10 years and this is by far the best place we have ever stayed at. It is up the mountain so a car would be good to have if one is out of shape. My in-laws (60 years old) enjoyed walking down (10 - 15 minutes) in the mornings to the beach and taking a $3 - $4 cab ride back to the house (do not pay more!).
Manuel and Sonia are great on site caretakers. We kept the windows open with our computers, cell phones, and money left out in the open (a great relief not worrying about security). If you take Sonia to the supermarket, she will pick out ingredients and cook a fantastic meal for you.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you very much for your comments! We are really glad you had a wonderful time and you are always welcomed back! We will work on the hot water system to upgrade its capacity. Thanks again for your feedback!!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Definitely not what I had expected.

Review submitted: August 16, 2010   Date of arrival: August 5, 2010

Based on the positive reviews, I had expected a nice, comfortable house. Didn't expect luxury because of the price we were paying but basic comfort would've been nice. The house was rough to get to due to the gravel roads, felt old and dank and was infected with insects.

Due to the fact that we were in Tamarindo during rainy season, the house was nearly impossible to get to. The mud/gravel road up the very steep hill was in poor condition with huge potholes and big muddy trenches. I first arrived to the house via taxi and the taxi couldn't even get halfway up the hill. There is only ONE 4x4 taxi in all of Tamarindo and the driver only works between 5-8pm. If you're thinking of staying during rainy season...I suggest you get a very good 4 wheel drive vehicle.

The house is also bug infested. We had been traveling in Costa Rica for more than a week prior to our stay in Tamarindo and never throughout our entire trip did we see this many bugs and insects. More insects than our night walks in the rainforests! We were greeted by armies of ants in the living room and kitchen, red ants in the pool area, geccos, spiders, beetles and best of all, a huge hairy tarantula as our extra house guest.

The bedding and towels are also very old. The bedding especially smelled very musky and felt very damp. One of our friends broke out in rashes while sleeping one night. The towels were replenished every other day but all felt very old and unclean.

The water pressure in the house is also extremely poor. If you plan to do activities in town, I suggest you shower while you're in town. Our group of friends went days without a good clean shower since the showers merely provided a slow stream of water.

My only positive notes about the house was the amazing view. If you're the type of travelers who don't like to leave the house much, then I would suggest staying there to enjoy the views. It did provide a beautiful view of Tamarindo since you're literally at the very top of the hill with no obstruction in sight. I also have to say that Manuel and Sonia were both so nice and helpful.

Owners response: Thank you for your time on writing a review, and I'm sorry that you didn't felt confortable at the house.

On the rental information we try to make visitors aware of the conditions of the road. It´s clear mentioned that it is a gravel road and that a 4x4 is needed during rainy season (may-nov). Even if some improvements have being made to the road, we still encourage to have a 4x4. We apologize again and will try to do our best to make visitors comfortable.

About the water pressure, it was again something out of our hands. A truck broke the public potable water pipe and left you without it for some days, if not the whole week. I'm sorry for that, and Manuel tried his best in get it fix, unfortunately it wasn't done in time.

When you live in the tropics in a rural area is normal to find any kind of bugs and insects all around, that's actually for what Costa Rica is famous. The house has screens all around it, and we use natural insecticides to control bugs. But if you come down on rainy season and don't want any kind of bugs, then with all due respect, better travel to another destination.

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

Amazing place

Review submitted: May 14, 2010   Date of arrival: February 20, 2009

We did really enjoy the villa! The whole family loved it, very surprised when they got here and saw how beautiful it is!
The view is just so breath taking we loved just sitting around the pool and enjoying it.
I don't think we missed one sunset from here.
Sonia and Manuel where very good and helpful and took good care of everything.
We would certainly like to come back some day we have loved both of our visits to Cost Rica.
I will be sure to keep your e-mail address incase we do ever what to come back.
Best wishes and all the best in 2009

Frank and Deloris

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you very much Frank! We are very happy you had such a wonderful time back in 2010. You are always welcomed back to Costa Rica and of course Villa Artemis!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing Views

Review submitted: July 3, 2009   Date of arrival: June 26, 2009

Best views in Tamarindo!!! very private and spacious. The caretakers were very good at helping us with stuff. The beach is only a 5 - 10 mins drive. All rooms have AC, and very nicely furnished. We would definitely come back here, and would definitely recommend it, our only regret is that we could not stay longer to enjoy it more.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Freddy!! We are very pleased for you and your family having a good time! You are welcomed any time you want to drop by down in Tamarindo!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review