reviews for: listing #17524 - Mission Beach, California Condo rental

Oceanfront Vacation Rental in San Diego / Mission Beach
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $150 - $240 /nt
    $899 - $2,600 /wk

sort by:

Perfect Location

Review submitted: August 27, 2013   Date of arrival: August 17, 2013

Just wanted to drop a quick note to say how happy we were with the condo. We had a great time during our week long stay and the location was perfect. It was so well equipped compared to other places we have rented.

We will definitely recommend your condo to our friends and be making a return trip in the future.

Thank you.

Dawn and Ashley

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Vacation Condo

Review submitted: July 21, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

This was our 4th summer at this wonderful condo. The minute you walk into this condominium you are met with beautiful ocean views. Nothing like being greeted with the ocean breeze and the sounds of waves coming in! This place is immaculate with everything, and I mean everything, you could possibly need.
My husband and I love it here - we feel so much at home. It's such a relaxing, comfortable place - we never want to leave!
Thanks to Virginia and Dan for all the beautiful upgrades and maintaining your place so well. Vacationers can't go wrong staying here!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Loved it, Loved it, Loved it!!!!

Review submitted: May 30, 2012   Date of arrival: May 17, 2012

Everything about our stay blew us away. I was here with my two sisters for a reunion and our jaws dropped when we walked in the door. It was extremely clean, and well decorated. Having used condo rentals for other vacations, it was so much better than we expected. The pictures were absolutely accurate.

You could have cooked anything you wanted in the kitchen, it was so well equipped. We had a cute little treat basket upon our arrival. With coupons that we used by the way.
Virginia bless your heart, was a wonderful person to work with. So very sweet and kind.They were responsive and quick to answer any questions we had. We received perfect directions and had no trouble finding it.

If you want to eat out there are so many good places within walking distance.
It was so awesome to listen to the waves right outside our door. My favorite was sitting on the patio area drinking coffee in the morning.
Needless to say we had a wonderful time and made some incredible memories. Which very much included our wonderful place to stay.
I am trying to get my husband to schedule a time for us to come back together. Hope we can get a spot Virginia and Dan! We wish you owned a place everywhere we want to go. Thanks again. Debbie, Teresa and Denise.

Helpful votes: 7 / 9

 

Thank you!

Review submitted: June 29, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

Dan and Virginia -

I just wanted to say a HUGE thank you for the wonderful time we had staying in your condo this past week. The condo was beyond our expectations and we enjoyed ourselves so much. To be able to be right there along the ocean, in such lovely accommodations, with EVERYTHING we needed, was incredible. Also, the welcome gifts were so nice as well...my kids eagerly devoured almost everything! :) We had a glorious time and your kind and prompt communication and facilitation of our stay is SO appreciated. I am currently plotting ways to return to San Diego, just so we can stay at your place again!
Oh - and thank you so much for the quick return of the deposit. I knew by the reviews that it would be returned promptly, but once again, you exceeded our expectations. Thank you a million times over!!!

The Keys Family

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 15 / 17

 

So much better than I expected

Review submitted: May 24, 2011   Date of arrival: May 20, 2011

I was extremely impressed by the comfort and quality of the condo. I have never rented a condo blindly like this and had my concerns but the place was awesome. It was so well supplied with dishes, cooking items, silverware, kitchen supplies that I was amazed and I am a cook. The linens were clean, plentiful, and of good quality. The welcome with a gift basket with local coupons was well beyond expectations.
The whole transaction was handled very professionally and I felt very comfortable trusting them (and I am a paranoid ex acct). The pictures don't do it justice. The view is so awesome especially at night. My only concern is that by writing this great review it will cause more people to rent and availability will be more limited.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 13 / 15

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks!

Review submitted: May 21, 2011   Date of arrival: May 12, 2011

Thank you so much for the condo it was perfect. I will be back again. You had everything a person could want. Thank you so much. Patriciz

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

wonderful place

Review submitted: May 9, 2011   Date of arrival: May 1, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at this Condo, was very very clean and a prefect place to stay on the beach, right in the middle of 4 miles of nothing but beach on both sides. My Daughter was sooo delighted to waking up to the dolphins right out side jumping in the ocean right in front of out door. How exciting. Al I can say is what a beautiful condo the owners have furnished and I honestly couldn't have asked for a better place than this, it was fully furnished with everything you could possible need. The only thing I missed and did not bring was some beach chairs, it would have been nice to have a few of those but other than that, It was the best. And of course the gift basket just topped off the whole experience and will definently be back again, and soon I hope. Thanks again Mr and Mrs Davies. You have a gem.

Crockers

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

Excelent ! !

Review submitted: May 6, 2011   Date of arrival: April 27, 2011

If you want ocean this is ocean front at its best. Virginia is great to work with and will help any way she can. My mother-n law, sister-in-law and husband and I stayed and none of us had a chance to be board. There was something for all ages. We rented bikes and just minutes down the walk was the younger crowd having a blast. Market was only a short walk or bike ride to get anything we needed. WONDERFUL STAY! Sunny California at its best :-)

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Condo is perfect!

Review submitted: October 27, 2010   Date of arrival: October 26, 2010

It's beautiful and so perfect! My mom loves it! She enjoyed the welcome basket, and is impressed with the cleanliness and upkeep! Score! She's very pleased! My son thinks it's the best also! I'm happy anyplace here on Mission Beach - but I do think your condo is the nicest I've stayed in! Beats the Blue Sea Lodge!
Thanks again for all the help! So glad to be here, and looking forward to the next several days!
Danny

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Right On The Beach

Review submitted: October 18, 2010   Date of arrival: October 16, 2010

My daughter LOVES the condo, says it is beautiful ,right on ther beach, and they were filming a surf ad.

I am here now, and I love the condo, it is so warm and comfy and I took a long walk on this beautiful beach this AM I really can't thank you enough for this great chance to be here! We are off to Sea World and this afternoon we plan a long walk on the Boardwalk and a meal somewhere. Love it and thank you so much.

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Awesome Beach House

Review submitted: October 18, 2010   Date of arrival: October 9, 2010

Virginia - We had a wonderful time in your awesome beach house!

Steve next door is a very nice person! We call him the world traveler!!!!!!

Rented bikes and kept busy!

Thank you for the wonderful amenity basket and it did not take the boys long before it was all gone!!!! Very nice welcoming touch! We hope to return, just not sure when! Thank you again for your hospitality.

P.S. The location is just perfect! Plus,the boys loved Baked for breakast. The best cinnamon rolls ever!!!!!

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Anniversary Celebration

Review submitted: October 18, 2010   Date of arrival: September 18, 2010

Hi Virginia and Dan!



I just wanted to let you know that we’ve already received the check back from you! That was quick!

That was a really nice thing that you did for us! The basket with wine and goodies were certainly a special touch too, which we also enjoyed!

You are probably one of the nicest people that we’ve never met!! I can only thank you again, and tell you we’ll be back again with our kids and grandson with us next time.

Thanks.

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

50th Anniversary Celebration

Review submitted: September 3, 2010   Date of arrival: September 2, 2010

Thanks so much for the prompt refund. We loved the condo and had a wonderful stay. We hope to visit again and will be telling friends and family all about your condo. Thanks again Pat and Tom

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

Clean, neat,quiet,well kept, perfect location

Review submitted: September 3, 2010   Date of arrival: August 29, 2010

Just had a wonderful vacation on Mission Beach. This condo was pefect. It is right on the boardwalk. so great for people watching and enjoying the ocean. The owners are very helpful and take great care of the place. It was well stocked and very clean.Just a short walk to restaurants, close to Sea World and the Zoo and best of all was so very quiet. A young family was staying above us and we never heard them once. I would recommend this condo to anyone looking for a great place to stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 

The condo was perfect!

Review submitted: July 21, 2010   Date of arrival: July 10, 2010

Hi Virginia,
Can't tell you and Dan how much we enjoyed our stay at the beach! Your condo was perfect in every way. We spent hours on your patio relaxing and talking to people on the boardwalk. Thoroughly enjoyed it!
I received your refund check but am not going to cash it. Would it be possible to use that money for our next deposit?
My friend from Virginia is going to write a review too. She's never had as much fun at a beach as she did, so she'll gladly submit one.
You and Dan are so nice and easy to correspond with - thank you!
Hope you get to spend some time in your lovely condo this summer.
Sydney

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Big Thank You

Review submitted: July 9, 2010   Date of arrival: June 5, 2010

Virginia and Dan,

Just wanted to thank you for the use of your condo the past 2 weeks. We had one of the best family vacations ever which.included my daughter, grandaughter and her friend. We loved the condo and how handy it was to all the sights and the ocean....it suited our needs to spend time together, enjoy the ocean experience and also do local sightseeing. The kids really enjoyed the water, snorkling at La Jolla cove and all the local sights....the condo was just the perfect size for the four of us. Only thing missing was my son but he was not able to join us this year for our vacation...maybe next time.

Thanks for the prompt refund check...it was nice to find it in the mail on our return.

It is always a little intimidating to do business over the internet but you have made this a great experience, resulting in a lifetime of memories. We would definitely return and hopefully, can plan another trip in the future.

Thanks again.....it has been wonderful working with you!

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

Perfect!

Review submitted: July 9, 2010   Date of arrival: June 19, 2010

Virginia,
Hello. First, thank you (and Dan) for letting our family use your condo this past week. It was great. We all had such a great time. WE WILL BE BACK! It was perfect.
Thanks,
Duke

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 

Oh it was sooooo wonderful!

Review submitted: June 16, 2010   Date of arrival: May 29, 2010

Back from vacation!

Oh it was sooooo wonderful! We had sun every single day except Friday (which was perfect for cooling our slight sun burns)! I will send you pictures, but wanted to tell you how beautiful the bedroom was! Love the gift basket...the wine was great and we got to use a couple of the coupons! The kids loved the toy box outside; it was really handy! Thank you for supplying sweetener packets and the condiment packs of ketchup and mustard!

We walked more miles than I can count (okay at least 6 a day). I woke up at 4:45 every morning and hit the beach. I couldn't believe how light it was (somehow I forget the small things like that after being away so long). The most amazing thing we saw was "Red Tide" at night (red during the day but electric blue at night). We could not believe the light show in front of our eyes...I've never seen anything like it in my life!

I gave your business cards out to a few passer-byers.

Anyway...I signed the book and wanted to let you know how amazing everything was (as usual)! I need to look at the calendar and have you put us down again!

Mike and Cary

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 16 / 16

 

Love it!

Review submitted: May 30, 2010   Date of arrival: May 21, 2010

We are very much enjoying our visit here in San Diego. I wanted to tell you that we love your place! It is obvious you enjoy it yourself as it is so comfortable and with all the amenities one can appreciate. It feels as though we are visiting family or close friends. You even have out the same toilet paper and bath soap that we use at home :-)

Thank you for the welcome note and basket of goodies.

Sharon

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 

Great Condo!

Review submitted: May 13, 2010   Date of arrival: May 5, 2010

This was our first time vacationing in San Diego, and did we ever luck out with this condo! It's exactly as described in the pictures, very well maintained, very clean, in a great location, and Virginia is very easy to communicate with.

My husband and I were travelling with our 2-year-old and also my sister and her 2-year-old. There was plenty of room in the condo for all of us, and I never felt cramped or that we were getting in each other's way. We loved having the beach right in front of the unit because the kids love to play in the sand (and there were sand toys supplied!). And the boardwalk is great for people-watching, and also for our nightly stroll for ice cream!

Not knowing San Diego, we wanted to be close to the airport, attractions, etc., and the location of this condo fit the bill. There was a large grocery store not too far away, we were close to Sea World, it was easy to get on the freeway to get to Legoland, and there were quite a few restaurants close by.

The only drawback was there was no washer/dryer in the unit, although I understand there were laundry facilities close by if we really wanted to do laundry on our vacation!

This was the best family vacation we've been on and we're hoping to return to San Diego and to this condo!

Thanks for a great stay!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks

Review submitted: January 2, 2010   Date of arrival: December 26, 2009

Thanks Virginia

Our stay was awesome and everything we expected and more. Thanks for the refund and when we vacation in San Diego again I hope your condo is available.

Helpful votes: 13 / 14

 

Great Condo on the Beach

Review submitted: January 2, 2010   Date of arrival: November 28, 2009

dear davies

just to thank you once again for the
great condo on the beach...

it was a great week......we had fantastic
weather....we all enjoy ourselves lots

all the best

the cliffords
now back in cold, icey, snowy
london

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 17 / 17

 

Summer of FUN

Review submitted: March 1, 2009   Date of arrival: June 7, 2008

We have enjoyed staying at Dan and Virginia's condo for over 8 years now. It is always great to get back to San Diego knowing you have a nice place to settle into for a whole week of fun and relaxtion. They make the process so easy, from reservations to the great info pack they send out. The condo is always spotless and well maintained inside and out. Parking is right outside your front door. I highly recommend renting thier condo, its a pleasure.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 18 / 18

 

Superior ocean front vacation condo

Review submitted: January 28, 2009   Date of arrival: May 24, 2008

First let me tell you that the pricing is unbeatable for what you are getting! My husband and I have been vacationing, with our two children, at this condo for almost 10 years! This particular condo is home to every one of our perfect family vacations. I have to say that it is very clean and has very up-to-date décor, as well as a brand new beautiful kitchen. The location looks right at the ocean (from the couch) and is right on the boardwalk at ground level. The first time I heard the word boardwalk I thought it was a pier, but it wasn’t at all. The boardwalk is actually miles of very level sidewalk that runs along the sand/ocean. We enjoy walking and riding up and down the cost as well as sitting on the deck and people watching, (I could do this for hours).



The condo itself has everything you need to settle in. The best part is feeling like you are home. Hotels always made me feel like I needed to be out and about or else I was wasting time. Here, we can sit on the deck and play games, cook meals, and even sneak in a little TV after its gets dark outside!



The views of the ocean are breathtaking and the sunsets are never to be missed. Every evening at sunset we have a ritual…where we are sure to sit right on the sand with other locals and vacationers to witness the last drop of the sun melt into the ocean!



Within walking distance: Bike/equipment rentals, Bell Mont Park , laundry facilities, liquor/grocery store, beach restaurants.



Within two miles is Sea World, Grocery stores, and Target (my one-stop shop)!



There are not enough good things to say about this particular condo, location and the owners that we have grown to know. It’s a must rent!



Sincerely,

Cary

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 24 / 24

 

4 night stay

Review submitted: December 1, 2008   Date of arrival: November 26, 2008

Just got back from a 4 night stay, This place is wonderful, even nicer than the pictures online. It had everything we needed for cooking and the bedrooms were nicely done with all the linens already there. Loved the large patio we had dinner there every night while watching the sunset. Virginia the owner makes the whole process to rent this property easy and effortless.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 21 / 21

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review