reviews for: listing #17541 - Gatlinburg, Tennessee House rental

Sensational View Log Cabin-Gatlinburg
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  18
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $150 - $750 /nt
    $1,400 - $2,850 /wk

sort by:

Great Option in Gatlinburg at a Reasonable Price

Review submitted: July 22, 2014   Date of arrival: July 13, 2014

We had a total of 6 adults and 5 kids that stayed here. Overall it's a great place and we're glad we picked it. Everything is pretty much as advertised.

First the pros...
The view from the balcony is excellent and the hot tub was great, especially at night. We were able to fit everyone comfortably and the kids really enjoyed the foosball table (ok, so did the adults). The location is also excellent. Easy access to the national park and you don't have to drive through Gatlinburg to get to Pigeon Forge. Grocery stores and everything else you'd need are near by. The owner also seems very responsive to any issues that come up. We had a very minor issue that I pointed out but said it didn't need to be addressed but someone still came out right away to take care of it. Finally, the price was also half of what it would have been to fit that many people in hotel rooms.

And a few minor cautions...
The driveway is a bit tough if you're used to flat land like we are in Illinois. It's pretty steep and can be tough if you've got a large vehicle. Also, not sure we could have fit too many more people in the house comfortably. So make sure to take a look at the layout of the rooms if you have a large party and make sure you have the necessary space.

So again, definitely consider this place if you're visiting Gatlinburg. We were very happy with our experience!

Owners response: Hello Sir,

I appreciate the honest review, I think you made an excellent point about the cost of the cabin, many people don't realize how much money you save by renting our cabins. Plus all the amenities that go with it versus staying in a motel all cramped. We were hoping for a 5 out of 5 review but 4 of 5 is good also.

Thanks,

Glenn

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Layout, Location and Entertainment

Review submitted: August 15, 2013   Date of arrival: August 7, 2013

We had an annual family getaway at "Sensational View" and had 8 adults and 6 children staying in the cabin. I loved the layout of the place. Everyone had privacy and each family had their own bathroom. The downstairs area was great for playing pool or foosball or just relaxing on the couch. The location was wonderful. It was so close to downtown and had nice access to the grocery store. There was plenty of seating in the dining area for everyone during meal time or playing board games. The bedrooms had plenty of drawer space to store our clothes. With a new baby, the washer and dryer were lifesavers! Glenn, the owner, was very easy to work with and was very prompt in responding to emails and questions. As for the cons - the place could use a little upgrading. New comforters on the beds could go a long way. The older jacuzzi in the middle room was a safety hazard. We actually had an older child fall while getting out of it and bruise her head on the floor. There were spiderwebs all over the deck around the hot tub, and we killed several giant spiders on the rockers. The view was great, as long as you were standing in one spot. Some of the "weedy" trees could probably be trimmed to get full access to the amazing view. The "pool" is a stretch. A lot of cabins here advertise they have pool access, but really it is a public pool. It was actually closed when we were there, so we didn't get the opportunity to check it out.

Overall, we had a great time and appreciate Glenn sharing his place with us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hello Whitney,

I am glad you enjoyed your stay. We take a great deal of pride in making sure our guests enjoy our cabins. I have corrected the items you mentioned that were negative to you. I actually was not aware that the view have become almost blocked due to the brush growing. This has been cleared now. If you had let me know about this I would have sent somone that same day to correct this. It is hard for me to know about little things like this unless you tell me since I live so far away. I made a special trip here after I read your review to look at the bedrooms and have corrected this also. As far as the spider webs, we have regular pest control checks to keep this in check, unfortunately this is a very woody area, because you are in the mountains, and this is a situation that we do the best we can with. I am here now and I can't find any webs or spiders. I have checked the jacussi and found nothing wrong, never had a complaint about this before. Maybe some assitance with that child would have been helpful in this situation. As far as the pool goes, I did not know it was closed the week you were here, it is a very nice facility, but I have no control over their operation.

In summary, several of the things you mentioned could have been corrected if you had communicated with me. I could have also recommended another pool facility had you let me know. With me not being there, it is hard to catch every little thing unless you tell me.

Thanks,

Glenn

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Golden 50

Review submitted: July 1, 2013   Date of arrival: June 18, 2013

We had a great 50th anniversary celebration at Sensational View. The home worked out perfectly for our family of 12. Less than a10 minute drive to downtown Gatlinburg. Food City grocery store was near by and turned out to be a pleasent place to shop. (go on line and get a Food City loyalty card for lower prices before you arrive in Gatlinburg). The beds were comfortable. Internet access was never a problem. All 12 of us were logged in at one time or another with ipads smart phones and computers. Our 6 grand children had a great time taking advantage of many of the adventures the area has to offer. They went skydiving, zip lining, white water rafting, hiking, horse back riding and we even chatered a pontoon boat for night fishing at lake Douglas and of course shopping.The kitchen is small and well stocked. We were able to cook all our meals and eat in rather than go out for meals. The money we saved doing our own cooking paid for all the adventures for our group.The hot tub was perfect when we arrived and the entire place was clean and well stocked with towels and linens.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Hi Dale,

Thanks for the very informative and honest review, it's always a pleasure to have a family like yours stay in my cabin. Hope everyone made it home safely and come back and see us soon, you are always welcome.

Thanks,

Glenn

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Location!

Review submitted: June 21, 2013   Date of arrival: June 12, 2013

The view from the cabin was great. The location was excellent - very close to all the attractions we were interested in. Coming from Louisiana where everything is flat the first time going up the driveway was a little scary but you get use to it. My entire family was very comfortable. We had 14.

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: Thank you for such a great and honest review Patti, I' glad ya'll had a good time at the cabin and in Gatlinburg. You are welcome back anytime, and you left the cabin in great shape.

Glenn

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

To small

Review submitted: May 23, 2013   Date of arrival: May 16, 2013

The kitchen is extremely small for a cabin that supposedly sleeps 18. Btw a recliner, love seat and couch that does not pull out counts as a "bed". The hot tub had to much chemicals in it which burned people's eyes. The MAINTAINCE man showed up for a different reason and emptied it and refilled so it would be green anymore. The parking is really room for 3 maybe 4 cars at the most.

Owners response: I am very sorry, that this person did not feel that this cabin was up to her standards. However, there were several statements she made which were incorrect. First, she stated the cabin was too small for 18 people, we have had many 18 person groups who stayed in the cabin and really enjoyed the cabin and the great view it has. The square footage of the cabin is listed on this website as well as pictures of most all the rooms including the kitchen. Secondly there are beds and/or fold out beds to sleep 18 people, as well as linens for this # of people. The recliner, loveseat and couch with no hidabed is simply extra furniture for people to sit in. When she called about the hot tub, I immediately sent my maintenance man to the cabin to fix the problem, I called her to tell her he was coming, but she would not return my call. We had this problem taken care of with an hour. My family has stayed here and we have had 6 cars in the parking lot. Sure someone may have to move to let someone out, but this is the mountains after all, not a Walmart parking lot.

We have had nothing but great reviews on this cabin, I hope people do not judge the cabin by one inaccurate review. I'm sure if other people compare my rates to other 5 bedroom/4 bath cabins, that they will realize that this is truly a bargain and a nice cabin to stay in. The pictures of the cabin also tell the true story.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Sensational View!!

Review submitted: March 24, 2012   Date of arrival: November 22, 2011

Wow! Our family had a wonderful stay in November, so much so that it has prompted me to write a review. We were immediately drawn to the view from every room, sensational does not begin to describe it! Then there is the cabin itself, spacious, tastefully decorated, comfortable couches, beds, plenty of linens, everything was in working order. Easily accomodated the 6 adults & 6 teenagers, not to mention the entertainment of the pool table, foosball, and hot tub. TVs in every room. We enjoyed the fire place, watching movies together, worked a couple of puzzles, not to mention very hearty games of cards & dominoes. My brothers laptop had great connection as well as all our cell phones. We cooked everyday, even Thanksgiving day we had a feast, turkey & dressing, homemade rolls, green bean casserole, & much much more all made from scratch. We truly enjoyed our stay & hope we get the chance to do this again someday! It was a very special occassion celebrating our parents 60th wedding anniversary in an extremely SENSATIONAL place!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hello again Paula,

Thanks for this outsanding and honest review you gave us. We welcome your group back anytime, and for taking your time to leave this review, I will be sure and give you a good discount if you decide to stay in any of our properties again, whether it is in Gulf shores or Gatlinburg. We always welcome good families like yours to stay in our properties.

Thanks,

Glenn

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a VIEW!

Review submitted: March 7, 2012   Date of arrival: January 16, 2012

As soon as we saw the view from this cabin we were in awe! Sitting out on the deck in the hottub looking over Gatlinburg was just awesome. The cabin had a great setup and was very cosy for our slightly bigger family. Everything was in great shape so we didnt have any problems. Thanks for a great trip!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place - Astounding Views

Review submitted: May 10, 2011   Date of arrival: April 27, 2011

When we first looked at the webpage we thought, "oh yeah, these pictures were taken with a telephoto lens". The pictures do it no justice. It lives up to its name of Sensational View. We had 9 adults and 3 children and had ample room. Close to town but yet out of the way enough where you still have bear sightings. Yes, bears. The parking is a little intimidating the first day, but once you get used to it, it is smooth sailing. The owner was nothing but pleasant and easy going. This place is definitely a spot our group would revisit. Also, the hottub has been updated from the picture in the photos. It was wonderful. One more thing, I have stayed in dozens of cabins and the kitchen supplies have always been minimal, if any. This place is well stocked. We cooked 3 of the nights we stayed and didn't have to go buy pots or pans. We had 4 cars (2 SUVs) in the parking area and could have easily fit 2 more. The only negative thing :) is the grill was gas and we love charcoal. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to stay and enjoy your cabin.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Hi Karen,

This is the type review that makes our team keep striving for perfection with our cabins in Gatlinburg and our condos in Gulf Shores Al. I really appreciate you leaving this review for us. If you come back and stay with us again(and it sounds like you might) I always offer repeat guests a 10% discount, so be sure to visit us again.

Thanks so much,

Glenn

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Great Cabin!"

Review submitted: February 1, 2011   Date of arrival: December 23, 2010

Had a great time with our family in Gatlinburg for Christmas and this cabin helped make it great! We had everything we needed and it was very accommodating to a large crowd, including children. Definitely will rent here again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Best New Year's stay ever!"

Review submitted: February 1, 2011   Date of arrival: December 28, 2010

We had stayed at this cabin for new years 2010, and it was a great stay! The cabin was perfect! We all stood on the deck and watched the ball drop from the space needle and then the fireworks! It was a really great location!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"House had an absolutely "Sensational View!""

Review submitted: February 1, 2011   Date of arrival: December 31, 2010

This home had a lovely view of Gatlinburg!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Sensational View

Review submitted: January 24, 2011   Date of arrival: August 4, 2010

I had not been to Gatlinburg in about 30 years and i and was very happy with everything. Done a lot of hiking and really enjoyed all the things to do. Will be going back in 2011.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Trip And Great Cabin!!

Review submitted: January 24, 2011   Date of arrival: January 6, 2011

I've been visiting this area since I was a kid, and never get tired of it! Sure it's not perfect, but the good strongly outweighs the bad. The views are amazing and the life of the town is invigorating! If traffic has you bummed ask the locals for help! We stayed at Sensational View and Glenn and his staff was awesome! They gave us directions around the traffic! Ask the locals, most will help! The cabin was great, I strongly recommend staying at one your next trip! If you want to see some amazing arts and crafts make sure you go to the Glades area, beautiful and even educational.

We will be back again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Cabin is the Way to Go!

Review submitted: January 24, 2011   Date of arrival: March 5, 2010

Gatlinburg is one of mine and my husbands favorite vacation spots I do recommend staying at a cabin if you can it is alot more relaxing. But if you like the convience of stepping out your hotel door and being in the hustle and bustle of downtown then the hotels are for you But I will say alot of the hotels in gatlinburg are old and the ones we have stayed in the beds will Kill your back :( We are actually leaving this weekend 03/10 going back with family and friends. The cabin we chose on the internet was wonderful and overlooks gatlinburg. Also the are many attractions that are great to visit. the ones that are not that fabulous is The Earthquake Ride Be aware this ride is over priced and didn't even work right when we rode it. The outside of the ride looks great but don't be fooled. on the other hand Ripleys Aquarium is worth the money and so is Ripleys Believe it or not very interesting. The Alamo has the best food it is a bit pricey but well worth it. Caves Cove is a beautiful drive into the past we always see alot of deer, and hopefully some bear this time around. The Arts and Craft Community is a great place to visit They have alot of homemade jellies and bread and dips great local people very nice. And if you have time drive over the Mountain into Cherokee what a DRIVE.. Beautiful does not even describe it. Take time on the drive to stop at the old mill and the old house places. All in All We love it there hope your next family vacation to the mountains is as pleasant as ours always is. God Bless..

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful View of Downtown Gatlinburg!!!!!

Review submitted: January 24, 2011   Date of arrival: December 9, 2010

We were there in December 2010. It snowed while we were there. The cabin was the nicest cabin we have ever stayed in. Spotless clean with all amenities, pool table, and best of all wonderful views. We stayed in Sensational View....we will be back

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 24, 2011   Date of arrival: August 20, 2010

We rented Sensational View and we absolutely loved it. The cabin was great. Everything worked. We thoroughly enjoyed the hot tub and jacuzzi. We have found a home away from home!

There is so much to do in Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge. We will be going back and staying at Sensational again. Glenn and staff were very helpful.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 24, 2011   Date of arrival: August 5, 2010

I have been visiting Gatlinburg since I was a child. It was a family tradition when I was young and I plan to carry on the tradition when I have children. Sure, there are tourist traps here, but the biggest attractions are free! If you go please do yourself a favor and visit Roaring Fork Motor nature Trail. It is right off the main road in Gatlinburg, but is somehow missed by many travelers. And the Great Smokey National Park is full of things to do.
Sensational View is a great Cabin! The housekeeping seems to be top notch. Glenn gave a very good description of this cabin. Would recommend him to anyone looking for a nice cabin while staying in Gatlinburg or Pigeon Forge.
There are some very good places to eat too, but avoid the tourist traps if possible. I have eaten at many places in Gatlinburg and have had disappointments and pleasant surprises. Best Italian is really good. The Pancake Pantry is a breakfast tradition! Ogle's Brick Oven Pizza is Great! The Old Mill is very good. Lineberger's Seafood is hit or miss. The Brass Lantern was good. Alamo Steakhouse is decent but way over hyped. The Park Grill was decent but a little over priced. Peddler was sub-par.
The wineries around Gatlinburg have some very good selections and offer free tasting and tours.
There are some cool miniature golf places if your are into that sort of thing. Hillbilly golf is very unique and is entirely shaded which can be a welcome break from the summer sun.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 20, 2011   Date of arrival: October 14, 2010

We really loved this cabin, it was high up and the view is amazing. The drive was a little scary on the first time, but after that no problem, Paved roads and driveway all the way there. It is a very confortable cabin with pleanty of room for the 12 of us. We had a great time.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 20, 2011   Date of arrival: October 15, 2010

We had seven couples and there was plenty of room. Everyone had a great time. A visit from a bear the first night and snow the second night. We will be back. Thanks for making this a great weekend.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Really was a "Sensational View"

Review submitted: January 19, 2011   Date of arrival: December 27, 2010

Our family of 15 stayed in this cabin right after Christmas 2010. Our stay coincided with LOTS of snow....so if you are staying during the winter time when snow is possible - make sure your cars/trucks can handle it! The view was beautiful, the cabin was warm and cozy (and it was VERY cold outside a few of the nights), and we had plenty of hot water (major requirement with 15 family members!)

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Hi KatyMomof2, Yes, we did have a lot of Snow and it made it very tough on all of us, getting people in and out, but you were very nice and I give you a Five Star Rating for being Great Guests, you are welcome any time. Glad you had a good time, but I prefer a little less snow to deal with. Thanks, Glenn

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Cabin for Fireworks Display!!!!!

Review submitted: January 18, 2011   Date of arrival: December 31, 2010

I took 8 of my closest friends to this cabin and everything about it was perfect! The decor was great and the location was the best you could get! We had all decided to stay in on New Year's Eve night to avoid all the crowds. We were all standing on the deck watching the space needle drop and the fireworks explode! It was be best New Year's that all of us have had in a long time! Thank you so much for letting us stay in this amazing place!!!

Shawnna E

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We Loved This Cabin.

Review submitted: January 18, 2011   Date of arrival: December 6, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at Sensational View. We had a large group and the house was very roomy. The location is great. It's not far from downtown Gatlinburg but far enough up in the mountains to enjoy a great view. I would definitely stay here again.

Kimberely

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 17, 2011   Date of arrival: November 24, 2010

This was our first stay at a cabin in Gatlinburg and we researched the cabins as best we could on the internet. The cabin was clean and had everything needed to make it a home.

Sensational View is a terrific cabin, particularly for a large family. The mountain view is outstanding from both the decks and from inside and being able to see the town lit up adds a nighttime view as well. It's location is very convenient to town and the neighboring cabins are not too close, giving a nice sense of privacy (you don't have to close the blinds because neighbors are too close). The roads are steep but we fared ok in a minivan. Overall, we were very lucky because I did not see a cabin with a better view or privacy.

The interior of the cabin is very well designed with an open floor plan downstairs, a nice dining table for eating or playing games, very large windows to enjoy the view, great lighting, nice bathrooms with a beautiful jacuzzi tub in the mstr bdrm, great stereo systems in the lower level, cable TV in all the rooms, a game with room with everything you want, and a very relaxing 6 person square hot tub.

We will be back!!!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 17, 2011   Date of arrival: December 26, 2010

The house was amazing to say the least. Wish the trees just off the top deck would have been trimmed back so we had just a little better view of the city, but thats not really a complaint, just one thing i wish we could have seen. We found ourselves down there every night having one hell of a great time We will absolutely be back next year and the following years to come. Thank you for the great time in the Smokies!!!

Tony

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

SENSATIONAL TIME IN THE SMOKIES

Review submitted: January 17, 2011   Date of arrival: July 12, 2010

We had a great time in a cabin named "Sensational View." From the cabin, you had a view of downtown Gatlinburg, and at night, it really was sensationsal. During the day, we sat on the deck and enjoyed the scenery of the Smokies. The cabin was very clean, spacious, and most comfortable. We cooked several meals and had all the cookware and dishes that was needed. Most of our family was there, and the stay in the cabin just enhanced all the memories we made. During our stay, we took the children to the Black Bear Jamboree Show which was really good.
I will recommend this cabin to other family and friends.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for the very kind review, it is great to know our efforts are appreciated by our guests. I am also glad you enjoyed your stay while in Gatlinburg. This cabin does have a fantastic view, especially at night. When Gatlinburg has a fireworks display, they explode right in front of you at eye level, no having to look up to see them.

Glenn

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great View of downtown Gatlinburg, Surrounding Mts

Review submitted: January 16, 2011   Date of arrival: November 17, 2010

Recently, my family and I stayed at Sensational View, and the view is sensational. We found the cabin to very comfortable and had an excellent time. I especially enjoyed drinking my hot coffee on the deck in the morning and looking out at the mountains and downtown Gatlinburg. The boys, young and older, enjoyed the competition on the pool table. The girls and I spent one day at Tanger Outlet, a great mall for all ages. One of my favorites was preparing breakfast for all of my family and just enjoying the time spent in a cabin in the mountains of Gatlinburg.

Joan T.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review