reviews for: listing #17576 - Chatham, Massachusetts Cottage rental

Oceanfront Beach Cottage / Spectacular Views
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $170 - $300 /nt
    $950 - $3,100 /wk

sort by:

So glad we chose the Seadaisy!

Review submitted: January 21, 2014   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

Situated directly on Nantucket Sound at the confluence of an estuary and Ridgevale Beach, these cottages hold everything you want from a vacation on the Cape: gorgeous views in every direction, a 30-second walk to the ocean shoreline, a quick drive into the heart of Chatham and the lighthouse, and just seven minutes to a larger grocery store that has everything you need to stock your fridge for the week.

The front steps lead up to a small deck which is perfect for sipping a glass of wine, taking in the ocean view, and looking over your beach treasures from that day. There's nothing like being able to wake up and walk right out the door to the beach with a cup of coffee, a bag for shells, and a camera. Many species of shore birds spend their day at Ridgevale too, and you'll often see osprey hunting just offshore.

We have stayed in the Seadaisy twice and can't imagine choosing any other place. This cottage is cute and spacious inside, yet still feels cozy. It has an open kitchen you can comfortably cook in, plus an inviting living room to relax in after a long day of sight-seeing.

Scott Wallace has been a wonderful host. He keeps the grounds meticulously groomed, and is very helpful if you need advice about where to eat or sight-see. He also provides his renters a number of kayaks which are a blast to paddle around the estuary.

So choose this place. Make your memories here. It's even more beautiful than the photos.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful Beach.

Review submitted: November 5, 2013   Date of arrival: October 26, 2013

What a great place for a vacation no matter the time of year! October is not a typical time for a holiday for us, but a wedding vow renewal ceremony of a close friend in Chatham had us searching for a rental near by and we ended up with a pearl! The Sea Daisy was the perfect size for us, well outfitted for peaceful sleeps, leisurely breakfasts and relaxing dinners, and the location was more than ideal - we were right on the beach for peaceful walks and close enough to town for easy shopping trips or enjoying the seals at the fishing pier. Scott and Ann are the epitome of Cape Cod hospitality and it was a pleasure to meet them and enjoy the lovely surroundings they have created. Thanks to both of you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

NIRVANA

Review submitted: September 28, 2013   Date of arrival: August 31, 2013

The Seaside Cottages at Chatham are just magical. For a chick who is wound up tighter than a drum which includes a hectic work travel schedule, I decompressed in 24 hours! ... and that ain't easy. Most days I just wanted to stay at the very comfy/homey cottage and just stare at the water/beach/sky and feel the blowing breezes. The town of Chatham is a quaint little village with shopping, galleries, restaurants, bike paths and with easy access to Provincetown and the outer cape. This is the first vacation where I wanted to stay another week! We will be back and it may become an annual event.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Uniquely special

Review submitted: September 25, 2013   Date of arrival: September 7, 2013

Our visit to Bayberry Cottage was a return to our childhood summer home, as we grew up nearby. Our goal was to rent a home in the neighborhood with a view of Ridgevale Beach. We definitely got what we wanted... and much more. The view was amazing, of course, but we were so impressed with the attention to detail throughout the cottage. It had everything we needed and more. The view from the picnic area in the back is almost as beautiful as the view of the beach, and the yard is as meticulously maintained as the cottage. Icing on the cake: Scott and Ann Wallace treated us as if we were guests in their home. They were so friendly and welcoming that we felt like old friends by the time the week ended. We were sad to leave... and we will visit again soon.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best Vacation of My Life

Review submitted: July 22, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

For me to say that this was the best vacation of my life, that's huge. My husband and I took our twin 3.5 year old boys to this magical place for a week. I simply cannot say enough about this amazing place. And, words cannot express my gratitude to Scott and Annie for their many kindnesses and for being such truly wonderful, warm, salt-of-the-earth, good people. As I laid on the chaise lounge in the backyard, I was trying desperately to read a book for a few minutes and get some sun. My kids had been running me ragged and I just wanted a small rest. Annie happened to be in the back of her adjacent property and was picking fresh herbs. I think she could tell the look of a fellow weary and tired mother and she came over and entertained my sons for a few minutes, bringing them on a leisurely walk around the property to see the baby rabbits and point out the swans swimming in the inlet. I smiled knowing that my boys were having a magical time out there. After her walk with my son, Annie brought over some fresh-cut sprigs of sprearmint which she sweetly suggested that I put in a pitcher of water and then put in the fridge. I did just that and later, when had chilled, we enjoyed a refreshing drink of spearmint and lemon water. What an unexpected delight! And Scott was so unbelievably accommodating and helpful from the moment we began inquiring about the cottage until the moment we departed and beyond. Thank you Scott and Annie for making us feel like family and for helping us give our boys a treasured memory. We fully intend to return to "our beachhouse" year after year for many years to come!

First impressions mean a lot and let me tell you, this place was SPOTLESS. The beds and furniture were very comfortable and we had everything we needed for the week. The only thing missing was a washer/dryer but you know what? I found that I packed more than enough for the entire week. Anything that got wet at the beach we hung on a clothesline in the back yard. Nothing like the fresh sea air to dry your wet beach clothes! Oh and the outdoor shower was indeed HEAVEN. My boys had their first shower experience of their lives in that outdoor shower and loved it. The location of the cottage could NOT BE BEAT.I can't get over how close to the ocean we were!
By the end of the week, our boys were crying when we had to head home. We have been home for a few weeks now and they still ask me, "can we go back to our beachhouse?" How precious is that?

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A great week in a great place....

Review submitted: July 18, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

We were hoping to have an intimate beach vacation with our five and six year old children and got exactly what we hoped for. Our stay at the cottage was great! We experienced our beach vacation and got a chance to be with our family with out distractions and with ease! We watched our children play baseball and hula hoop on the front lawn. I was able to do yoga in our backyard overlooking the water. If we weren't prepared for lunch or wanted an early dinner there was a snack bar on the beach with great food. The beach was amazing. We watched as our children caught crabs,mussels, and clams and it never got old. We had canoes that we were able to use during high tide. The owners of the cottage are quality people. They were there when we needed them and just had great energy. This was our first time in cape cod and I know it will not be our last. A great week in a great place!

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our Family Tradition

Review submitted: January 4, 2013   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

My daughters were four and seven years old when we first vacationed in Cape Cod in 2010. I'd been looking for a spot for our small family that would become a meaningful getaway and a true family tradition chock-full of warm memories. All of Cape Cod is beautiful and worth visiting, but we wanted a homey, private place where we could also have enjoyable and unique down time. My children much prefer eating at home and we all wanted to stay on the beach (not travel back and forth from where we stayed), both utmost considerations in my search. Chatham Seaside Cottages seemed like a fit.

It is. "Our" cottage is so inviting, so comfortable and clean - it feels like our home away from home. The owners are wonderful and much more like hosts than landlords. Any simple requests I've made have been attended to within minutes and with a smile. Their hospitality and warmth add immensely to our stress-free vacation. They even provide kayaks for fun in the inlet.

The cottages overlook Nantucket Sound and a beautiful inlet which has become an integral part of our experience in Cape Cod, perfect for nature lovers of all ages. This estuary is loaded with fascinating sea life - we observe and play with tiny sea hermit crabs, snails, clams, muscles, horseshoe crabs, fiddler crabs and more as the tide rises and falls. Nearby there are protected bird nesting areas, and wild bunnies are a constant source of entertainment. Spending time in the inlet and on the beach is wonderful, and so is observing them from the cottage porch. A fantasy realized for me. Air conditioning, a grill and picnic table are amenities with each cottage, as are a laundry line and an outside shower - perfect for washing off sand covered feet before heading inside as well as a rare delight!

We are counting down the weeks till our fourth consecutive summer staying in Seadaisy...

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Girls' Weekend!

Review submitted: October 23, 2012   Date of arrival: October 19, 2012

The Sea Daisy, while small, is uber clean and PERFECTLY situated!! The view of the beach (especially at sunset!) is amazing! The cottage is steps from a beach that would be perfect for children and great for walking. Scott is super easy to deal with, and INCREDIBLY accommodating. For our girls weekend, we couldn't have asked for more - location, quiet/private in the off season, and close to town/shops/restaurants and other beaches/lighthouses, etc. There wasn't a dishwasher, but since we were really not cooking at all, this was a non-issue. AND - the house is completely outfitted with a coffee maker, microwave, fridge, stove, toaster, and (the most important for us) coffee mugs and wine glasses for sitting around on the porch in the morning or watching the sunset :)

The pictures on the listing are absolutely accurate - but really can't do the view or proximity to the water enough justice.

THANK YOU for a great girls weekend Scott!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

In One Word ... Perfect!!

Review submitted: October 15, 2012   Date of arrival: September 16, 2012

From past experiences with booking vacation rentals online and finding out the property is nothing like it looks in the pictures, I have to admit I was skeptical. However, from the moment we arrived at the property and were greeted by Anne, both my husband and I agreed we had found paradise! Our week at the Sea Daisy cottage was just what we were hoping for. The cottage is very nicely decorated and the kitchen is well equipped for all your needs. Being from Arizona, we lack in the fresh seafood market and we couldn't get enough lobster during our stay. Not once, but twice (at the encouragement from Scott) we bought two very large lobsters at the Chatham Seafood Market and enjoyed cooking them ourselves! We started every beautiful morning with walks on Riverdale Beach and ended each day the same way with views of some of the most spectacular sunsets we have ever seen. Although I believe we missed the fall leaves changing by a few weeks, we couldn't have asked for better weather with only one rainy day, which we embrassed with a fire in the fireplace and a good book!

We truly enjoyed every moment we spent here and definitely plan to return again in the near future. Thank you again Scott and Anne for sharing your "slice of heaven" with us.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect!

Review submitted: October 13, 2012   Date of arrival: September 22, 2012

Our week at Sea Daisy cottage was delightful. What a gem! The cottage far exceeded our expectations in a most charming, comfortable, and cozy way.

Whether you are a family (with or without children), a retired couple, by yourself, or old friends looking for time away together, look here. The location is fantastic. There's no schlepping back and forth to the beach in your car because you're already there. It's convenient to town, restaurants, and all the other attractions Chatham has to offer - and there are many. Monomoy Wildlife Refuge is awesome.

Our cottage was cheerful, warm, and wonderfully clean. The hosts are very accomodating and helpful. We could not have had a more pleasant, restful stay which was exactly what we wanted. We'd love to go back and have recommended it to family and friends. Loved it!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Most amazing vacation ever!

Review submitted: September 14, 2012   Date of arrival: August 25, 2012

We were looking for a beachy paradise getaway from the world, and that is exactly what we got.

This hidden slice of paradise was an exceptional value for the money. Walk out the front door to the beach and minutes from the hustle and bustle of main street. Amazing amenities include the beach, the beach and the beach, oh and the coolest outdoor shower ever! Phenomenal restaurants abound as well if you love fine dining.

The property was amazing, the view were amazing, the owners Scott and Ann were amazing. So much so that we rebooked for the same week next year the day we left.

I would recommend this vacation destination to anyone except I want to keep it a secret so it doesn't become too popular!

I will summarize my review this way. Our two and a half year old daughter loved it so much she cried, literally, because she did not want to leave "our cottage". She wasn't the only one crying because she did not want to leave.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

"Ahhh, paradise..."

Review submitted: September 7, 2012   Date of arrival: August 18, 2012

"Ahhh, paradise..." is what my 8 ½ year old son said as we pulled in the driveway on the first day. After an amazing and relaxing week at Seadaisy Cottage we asked him what he would write as an online review for families with kids who might be interested in a future visit. This is what he wrote:

"Sunny, peaceful, fun, great, marshy, nice and beautiful.
There are gift shops in downtown Chatham. There are great restaurants like the Impudent Oyster and Kreme–n-Kone. You should also visit Marconi National Seashore.
Sunny, peaceful, fun, great, marshy, nice and beautiful. This is cape cod."

I am not really sure that I can beat that.

The beach and tidal estuary were ideal for our 8 ½ and 2 year old sons, with plenty of family friendly beach to explore just a few steps from the cottage. Plus the neighborhood is very pedestrian-friendly with lots of people walking/biking to Ridgevale Beach each day.

The proximity to downtown Chatham and the National Seashore are ideal.
Scott and Ann are amazing hosts; they provide beach chairs, umbrellas, boogie boards and kayaks for their guests which certainly helps save on packing space!

You will not regret spending your vacation here; you might regret not staying longer!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect location for kids!

Review submitted: July 30, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

We just returned from our trip and had the most wonderful time at SeaDaisy cottage. Our kids are 21 months and 4 years old and the tidal estuary is really a kids dream. It's just steps away from the house, so getting on and off the beach was a simple affair with no driving back and forth. Our hosts Scott and his mom Anne were so lovely and we even had Scott's daughter help us out with some babysitting so that we could enjoy a few adult date nights out while we were there. The cottage was the perfect size for us and the sea breeze was so pleasant that we didn't even turn on the air conditioner once! Our little kids were so happy to be chasing the little bunny rabbits around the property and my son never tired of it :-) The kayaking off the property was a real plus too and was out first experience doing that as a family.

Our evening walks on the beach were an especially great memory too. Once the beaches were almost empty we would have a cocktail at the house after dinner and then head down barefoot with the kids onto the kids on many nights. The perfect opportunity for some great family photos! We would highly recommend staying at the cottages and hope to get back there soon ourselves.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We'll be back!

Review submitted: July 30, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

When we first arrived we were stunned at the close proximity to the beach. While we knew from pictures, and Google Maps how close it was, it did not do it justice when we saw it in person.

The warm welcome from Scott and Ann wonderful. As we had a full house of people, we were made especially welcome with air mattresses and a pack and play for our little one. They went out of their way to make sure that we all had a comfortable place to sleep. Even after repeated assurances that we were there for the beach and not for the sleeping (my teenage son would disagree with me). However, all of us slept wonderfully and deeply the entire time we were there. The ocean breezes when the windows were open were cooling and refreshing. When the winds were gone and the heat was on, the A/C kept the cottage cool and comfortable.

The views from every window in the cottage were lovely and captivating, tempting you to leave the TV off and just watch the kids playing or the sun on the water. The deck was larger than the pictures make it seem and we spent a lot of time sitting at the table watching the kids play Frisbee on the grass out front. My 4 year old loved to run around the cottage, as the sense of freedom it gave him to be out of sight of Mom and Dad was a thrill and the feeling of safety we felt to let him do this was great. The bunny chasing was also a favorite of the 4 year old.

Walks in Central Chatham were wonderful. While parking is a little challenging, if you are patient you can certainly find parking. I never waited long until a spot opened up. There are also many bazaars with local craftsmen at the various churches that make shopping trips a little more affordable than the shops themselves for souvenirs.

We will definitely be back. Thank you Scott and Ann for a wonderful week of sunshine, beach and relaxation. What a perfect week.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

"Can We Stay Here Forever?"

Review submitted: July 24, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

Chatham Seaside Cottages is a wonderful place for a family vacation. Scott and his mother Ann will make you feel welcome from the very first moment that you step onto the property. They are good people and truly will do whatever they can to accommodate you. We also suspect that they had something to do with the incredible weather we had all week during our stay but we cannot be certain about that.

The cottages are cozy and quaint just like what I expected a Cape Cod cottage to be. We found them to be clean and well-maintained. Although there is air conditioning, we preferred to just open up all the windows and use nature's a/c. The views are as good as advertised. We had a friend come over once and she said that she would be happy just sitting on the sofa looking out the window all day long.

The location to the beach will make you the envy of all the other families staying in the area. This is a fact as we were told more than once how lucky we were to be staying where we did. There is a big difference between "walk to the beach" and "steps to the beach" especially if you have a lot of beach gear to tow along.

Ridgevale Beach was a lot of fun. Our 4 year old played in the tide pool side while on the ocean side, our two teens played frisbee or splashed in the waves. The sand in between was soft and clean. I believe they groom the beach every two weeks or so. They did so the day after we had arrived.

Chatham is a fine town. Downtown is a short 5 minute drive away. Although parking might seem scarce, you will find a spot if you persevere a little bit. There are free lots that will open up even more parking spots after 4pm when the town workers are done for the day. Walking in the downtown area was very enjoyable and something we did more than once.

"Can we stay here forever?" Those were the words uttered one morning by my 4 year old son during our stay. We were sitting on the front deck sharing a blueberry muffin that my wife had bought from a local shop when he posed that question. I looked towards the soft sands of Ridgevale Beach and the glistening waters of Nantucket Sound. The sky above was a bright blue and dotted here and there by plovers and seagulls. A warm and gentle breeze was felt all around. Can we stay here forever? I was wondering the same thing myself.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful spot on the Cape for small children

Review submitted: July 23, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

We stayed at Bayberry Cottage for a week and how we wished it could have been two! Our small grand-daughters had the best of times on the shallow warm waters next to the cottage, catching crabs and kayaking, and then running over the beach to the "big waves" of the ocean. Scott provided everything we needed: beach chairs, boogie boards, kayaks; and wonderful advice about restaurants and places to visit. The cottage was delightful, just perfect for our needs. An outdoor shower to wash off the sand, all the tools for a wonderful lobster dinner, and air conditioning when the heat and the humidity of the beach become too great and all you wish for is the comfort of bed or couch and a good book to read! It's a great place to fly kites as the beach clears out and the sun begins to set, or to sketch the lovely sea as the sun rises. We can't wait to return, perhaps this autumn!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Stay at Bayberry Cottage

Review submitted: July 12, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

We spent a week in June at Bayberry Cottage and had an amazing time. The cottage itself was very clean, cute, and cozy. There are great views out of every window. I loved looking out and being able to see the ocean. The location of the cottage is perfect, just a short walk from the beach. For those with children, Ridgevale beach is an excellent spot for them to play. My two year old had a great time splashing in the tide pools and collecting shells by the ocean. Scott was very helpful with recommendations on local restaurants and fun activities to do. Gas grills, beach chairs, and kayaks are all provided to make for a fun stay. This was our first time at the Chatham Seaside Cottages, but we certainly hope to return!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Seadaisy Cottage was a little was Heaven

Review submitted: April 28, 2012   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

From the minute we got there Scott and his Mother were great hosts! We were coming in from two weeks in India and were really ready to have no worries!! Boy, did this fit the bill! We had stayed at a home a few blocks further up the road the prior year. Even though this cottage was much smaller then our house the prior year, the location to the beach more than made up for it!!! We have two girls 5 and 7 and they loved that they could see the water from our front porch and within minutes of putting on our suits we were swimming. The yard is large and free of traffic so the girls were safe outside by themselves.The house was really clean and stocked with all your basic needs for vacation cooking. The outdoor shower was so much fun and kept all the sand out of the house. It was big enough so that all three of us girls could shower and all come out clean, dry and clothed; If you are a parent you know what I mean. The sun is right over the shower in the afternoon so there were no "I'm cold" complaints. Hope you have a lovely visit there!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

What they say is true!

Review submitted: October 11, 2011   Date of arrival: September 17, 2011

My wife and I spent a few days, late Sept, in one of the cottages and were absolutely impressed. Location, views, accomodations, privacy,,, all great. Since my wife had not been to the cape before, we were out and about most of the time, yet Scott and Ann both welcomed us when we got back to the cottage to show us around. I do a lot of research (a lot) and this was definitely a better option than staying at a resort (which I don't typically have a problem with). Would I go back? In a heartbeat.

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Location Location Location

Review submitted: September 15, 2011   Date of arrival: August 29, 2011

We spent the last week of August here and could not have chosen any better place. The location of the cottages gets an A+. You see from almost every window the ocean, the beach is so close. We enjoyed especially to be able to walk to the beach with our three small children. Ridgevale beach is the perfect spot for kids and adults. On one side the very kids friendly tide pools and on the other side the open ocean.
The cottage is very cute and cozy, the outdoor shower is fantastic and the BBQ in the backyard is perfect.
The owners Ann and Scott are very welcoming and friendly. Ann brought us fresh tomatoes every day, Scott provided us with kayaks and boogie boards for the kids and gave us restaurant tips etc. We loved our stay here and cannot say enough good things about it. If someone is looking for a cottage on the beach, that’s the spot to be.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Location Location Location

Review submitted: September 15, 2011   Date of arrival: August 29, 2011

We spent the last week of August here and could not have chosen any better place. The location of the cottages gets an A+. You see from almost every window the ocean, the beach is so close. We enjoyed especially to be able to walk to the beach with our three small children. Ridgevale beach is the perfect spot for kids and adults. On one side the very kids friendly tide pools and on the other side the open ocean. The cottage is very cute and cozy, the outdoor shower is fantastic and the BBQ in the backyard is perfect. The owners Ann and Scott are very welcoming and friendly. Ann brought us fresh tomatoes every day, Scott provided us with kayaks and boogie boards for the kids and gave us restaurant tips etc. We loved our stay here and cannot say enough good things about it. If someone is looking for a cottage on the beach, that’s the spot to be.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Glad we found this place!

Review submitted: September 13, 2011   Date of arrival: August 20, 2011

We just enjoyed a pleasant and relaxing stay with our young children in Bayberry Cottage. The beach is just a short walk away, perfect for kids, and the inlet was a calm, safe place for them to enjoy the water. The ocean beach is also just a few paces away and a great place to look for shells and play in the waves. The proximity of the cottage made it easy to run back and forth to the beach all day, we just left our chairs and gear on the beach (just keep in mind the tide!) until we were done for the day. The cottage was very clean, cozy and charming. The kitchen is well-equiped and there is also a nice gas grill in the backyard. Grocery stores are nearby so it was easy to get everything we needed, and we found ourselves cooking most evenings so we could enjoy the beautiful location and sunsets. Next time we will bring Duraflame logs so we can enjoy the fireplace too. Chatham is a short drive away and the downtown area is charming and very walkable with lots of restaurants and shops. There are many other fun things to do nearby but we were too busy enjoying the beach and the perfect weather to do much else.... will have to save that for next time! Ann and Scott could not have been more accomodating and we felt welcome from the moment we arrived. They were always available but not at all intrusive, and also full of great recommendations for area restaurants and activities. We look forward to our next visit. Thanks Ann and Scott!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We were lucky to find this gem!

Review submitted: September 13, 2011   Date of arrival: August 20, 2011

We just enjoyed a pleasant and relaxing stay with our young children in Bayberry Cottage. The beach is just a short walk away, perfect for kids, and the inlet was a calm, safe place for them to enjoy the water. The ocean beach is also just a few paces away and a great place to look for shells and play in the waves. The proximity of the cottage made it easy to run back and forth to the beach all day, we just left our chairs and gear on the beach (just keep in mind the tide!) until we were done for the day. The cottage was very clean, cozy and charming. The kitchen is well-equiped and there is also a nice gas grill in the backyard. Grocery stores are nearby so it was easy to get everything we needed, and we found ourselves cooking most evenings so we could enjoy the beautiful location and sunsets. Next time we will bring Duraflame logs so we can enjoy the fireplace too. Chatham is a short drive away and the downtown area is charming and very walkable with lots of restaurants and shops. There are many other fun things to do nearby but we were too busy enjoying the beach and the perfect weather to do much else.... will have to save that for next time! Ann and Scott could not have been more accomodating and we felt welcome from the moment we arrived. They were always available but not at all intrusive, and also full of great recommendations for area restaurants and activities. We look forward to our next visit. Thanks Ann and Scott!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great rental in Chatham, MA for a family

Review submitted: August 23, 2011   Date of arrival: July 30, 2011

Scott and Annie Wallace have two lovely cottages on Nantucket Sound in Chatham, MA. If you are not familiar with the area, the properties are located Ridgevale Public Beach. This is an INCREDIBLE location that allows guests to enjoy water play and relaxation about 60 yards or so from the front door of your cottage. The amazing thing about this property is how the Sound is protected from the ocean so that we were able to watch our children in water which was generally 15" less so we were not worried about them getting hurt. The water was pretty clear, and the sand was soft on the feet. In this same area, which flows into, what I consider to be a marsh area, we were able to kayak with the kids using equipment provided at no charge by the owners. The kids enjoyed catching hermit crabs.
The pictures we saw listed on the description page accurately reflected the beauty of this property. When we were researching properties, we were concerned that we might be misled, and were so thankful and blessed to find the pictures listed were reality, and the area was as beautiful, or more beautiful that we could have hoped for.
We were treated kindly and like family by the Wallaces'. They are good people with a clean facility. Their customer service was outstanding.
Activities and attractions that we did and I would recommend include whale watching through www.whalewatch.com. This was amazing! We also enjoyed Harvard's Natural History Museum located in Cambridge, MA. Fishing on the fishin' bridge was fun. (Note: drop line to bottom and use calamari to catch fish). For Cape Cod clothing, we found that Cuffy's was reasonably priced clothing with a good selection. The best food in Chatham was definately at the Impudent Oyster. Devils on Horseback is possibly the best appetizer I have ever eaten. Whatever you do, make certain that you visit Marion's Pie Shop. Outstanding food that you can bring back to your cottage and heat up. I recommend the chicken pot pie.
Make the decision to stay at this cottage. Great choice!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Family Vacation

Review submitted: August 14, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

I brought my family to Bayberry Cottage in mid-July and we had an incredible vacation. Both of the Seaside Cottages are very inviting, comfortable, quaint. The outside shower was a delight. The location is so unique. Ridgevale Beach is like no other. The walk across that bridge to the beach was something I looked forward to each day. These cottages are perfect for families but would also be great for couples. I was so lucky to have found this place online. I am certain we'll be staying there again in the future.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Going Back Next Summer

Review submitted: July 19, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

I had never been to Cape Cod and didn't know what to expect. I had ideas of a cute little cottage on the shore, but was afraid I wouldn't find what I had my heart set on. Boy was I wrong, or maybe just lucky because I found the Chatham Seaside Cottages online and the house was everything I had hoped for - a cute little seaside cottage. The cottage was cozy, but had all the conveniences we needed from the dishes to an outdoor grill. And the outdoor shower was great to wash off the sand from the beach so we didn't track it into the clean cottage.

The location of the Chatham Seaside Cottages was perfect - right on Ridgevale Beach, across the tide pools, of course. Those pools kept my 4 and 8 year old busy for hours. They collected shells, dug in the sand for "buried treasure" and made sand dams to try to keep out the rising tide. And since our cottage was right at the beach, it was convenient to walk back across the footbridge to get snacks or make a picnic lunch. Just watch out for hungry seagulls - one bird stole a PB & J sandwich right out of my hand! I wish I had a picture of that for our scrapbook!

I found that I was very happy that I chose Chatham as our home-away-from-home for our vacation. Chatham is a quaint town with antique shops, little bookstores, good restaurants and don't forget the ice cream shops. It isn't overrun with mini-golf courses or beach shops. We spent equal time in the charming shops of Chatham, then made our way to the neighboring towns to challenge each other to a round of mini-golf. The kids loved it.

I was so happy I found the Chatham Seaside Cottages. You can tell that Scott and Ann take pride in their property - everything is neatly manicured and spotless. They were so helpful to me, giving driving directions and even recommending a pizza delivery place for dinner when my boys were too exhausted to sit through a meal at a sit-down restaurant.

Our vacation in Chatham was great. I've already decided to go back next summer and convinced my sister-in-law to go with us and bring her family. We'll stay at Chatham Seaside Cottages again because it was exactly what I had in mind for our vacation at the seashore!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Do we have to share this secret?

Review submitted: June 13, 2011   Date of arrival: May 31, 2011

We enjoyed a most wonderful and relaxing stay at the cottage during the first week of June. The location is perfect: sitting on the shore of Ridgevale Beach; minutes from the quaint shops and tasty restaurants of Chatham; and centrally located on the Cape for easy-to-do day trips, whether it be to Provincetown or Hyanis,or points in between.
The cottage was as cozy, clean and comfortable as we could ever have hoped for, and the views from the deck were the best tonic for relaxation. The owners take pride in their property and hospitality, and are the perfect hosts. An easy 90 minute ride from Boston, yet a world away. What a great discovery for us, and we will be returning in the future.

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great September Week

Review submitted: October 29, 2010   Date of arrival: September 11, 2010

We had such a wonderful time. The cottage was perfect for us and the proximity to Chatham made it really easy. So much fun sitting on the deck overlooking the sound on Ridgevale beach, walking the beach and kayaking in the river. Cooked lobster, crabs and clams almost every day. The cottage was cosy, well equipped and comfortable (used the fireplace every night!). The owners were a pleasure to meet. Nice having Marion's pie shop right up the street. Great location from which to explore the Cape. We'll be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect Oceanside Cottage

Review submitted: April 28, 2009   Date of arrival: April 22, 2009

We rented "Bayberry" during the off season (April) and were delighted. The cottage was cozy, clean, and comfortable. It is cleverly situated so that we had complete privacy even though it is nestled between the owner's home and another cottage.The kitchen had everything we needed. The water is hot and the pressure great for showers. The matresses were so comfortable we slept like logs!

The location is fantastic. The expansive beach is perfect for beach combers and kids. Access to the beach is over a lovely footbridge. We enjoyed watching egrets, terns, and ducks!

The owners are friendly, personable, helpful people who were genuinely interested in our enjoying our stay. Would not hesitate to recommend this gem of a cottage to anyone.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review