reviews for: listing #17617 - Sanibel Island, Florida Condo rental

Pointe Santo Luxury Beachfront Penthouse
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Pointe Santo
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,950 - $3,650 /wk

sort by:

The Perfect Getaway!

Review submitted: September 20, 2013   Date of arrival: April 20, 2013

My iPad wouldn't cooperate when I first started to send this in May, but it is worth saying that this is the perfect getaway! We arrived with several bags (luggage, groceries, etc.) and were so delighted to discover the elevator and its proximity to the condo. The unit is beautifully decorated, the view is spectacular and ever changing and it is perfectly located on the island. We have travelled all over the world and we don't often choose the same place twice, but we look forward to another visit here!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Comfortable, beautiful condo with excellent view and location

Review submitted: June 8, 2013   Date of arrival: May 18, 2013

My husband and I just spent a wonderfully relaxing and comfortable week in this lovely condo. When you first enter the condo you come into a beautifully designed kitchen. Your eyes are then drawn forward to the beautiful view of nothing but palm trees, blue sky, blue ocean and white beach. When we arrived early the cleaning woman was there and let us put our luggage in the unit while we went to have some lunch nearby and grab some groceries at Bailey's Market. By the time we returned she was finished, so that worked out perfectly.
The complex appeared to be well maintained and had an excellent location on the island. Just a few minutes drive to many restaurants. We ate out every dinner and some lunches and were pleasantly surprises at how good they were. Some of the restaurants we enjoyed for dinner were Traditions, Traders, and The Sandbar. One day that we drove out to Captiva, we stopped at Doc Ford's for lunch which was also good. Although the atmosphere at Traditions was a little hokey, the food was excellent, and the service was quite good. For our last night we ate at Sweet Melissa's. Very interesting, innovative dishes.
The building is right on the beach which is great. Althought there were a good number of people on the beach, it was quiet and peaceful. We usually take at least one island vacation per year, usually staying in condos or houses, and just found it a little unusual that there were no beach chairs or umbrellas in the unit. However with a quick e-mail to the helpful owner, David Shobrook, he directed us to a rental company. Although when we called that company they were sold out, that company recommended another company which did work out. As we had never been to Sanibel before, not sure if perhaps this is the norm in this area. Not a huge inconvenience. For a small fee it seemed you could also have the rental stuff delivered to you. And it seemed like if you knew this ahead of time you could reserve your equipment before you even arrive.
I would definitely recommend this unit. The pictures and description on the web site are accurate. All appliance worked well including the A/C and the unit was very clean and well maintained. It was a pleasure to come back to after a relaxing day on the beach. We hope to be back again in the future.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Fantastic Penthouse!!

Review submitted: June 7, 2013   Date of arrival: May 11, 2013

We had a wonderful vacation at Sanibel Island! Luxury, beachfront, penthouse describes it perfectly! It has been totally remodeled. It is located at Pointe Santo, a wonderful "mini resort" We had breakfast and dinner each day on the enclosed deck overlooking the gorgeous Gulf! We enjoyed incredible shelling right in front of the condo. There is a second floor deck that was perfect for star gazing! The owner, David was incredible and provided not only a beautiful place to vacation, but, an abundance of information regarding everything Sanibel. He was always quickly available to answer questions. We would love to return for another visit very soon!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

A MUST!!!!

Review submitted: June 12, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

My family and I stayed in this condo the week of June 4, 2012. Wow! It was so lovely! The kitchen had everything we could need. The rooftop deck was a real treat. We could see dolphins swim by the beach every morning. The photos of the condo really don't show it's true beauty and how large the rooms really are. Each room was as if it were brand new, they sparkled! There were also beach towels there for us to use. I hope to stay here again! We hated to leave "Paradise "! I would highly recomend this unit to anyone. All of our questions were answered quickly and accurately.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beautiful week in Sanibel at Pointe Santo E45

Review submitted: March 21, 2012   Date of arrival: February 25, 2012

We love visiting Sanibel. This was our fourth stay at Pointe Santo de Sanibel and it was another great trip!

Our regular unit wasn't available this year (since we changed weeks), so we gave unit E45 a try. We were very pleased with the accomodations. The unit was just as pictured and described on the web site. When we arrived it was clean and nicely maintained. We like to cook, and were pleased to find the kitchen well-stocked with all the tools we needed to prepare some wonderful meals. (Be sure to check out the Farmer's Market on Sunday morning for fresh fish, herbs and produce.) The roof-deck had comfortable chairs and provided nice views of the sunrise and sunset. If you are travelling with children, Pointe Santo offers a variety of arts and crafts classes daily at the clubhouse.

We had a great trip!

Recommended for: families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Vacation

Review submitted: March 16, 2012   Date of arrival: February 4, 2012

Picture Perfect doesn't do justice to the view, the location and the condo itself. This penthouse condo at Pointe Santo de Sanibel is literally steps from the beach. The owner obviously cares about his condo and ensures any guests staying there will respect the unit as if they were family. Communication between the owner and myself was seamless - he responds immediately. Walking up to the private penthouse rooftop patio every morning with a hot cup of coffee was my ideal morning routine - taking in the glorious sunrise, watching dolphins, the spectacular view. Best part was, because of the location, you got panoramic views of both sunrise and sunset - at least 180 degrees, if not better. Inside the condo lived up to the outside as well - spacious, organized, clean, comfortable and modern. Plenty of room for 6, without tripping on each other. If I could give it 10 stars, I would. I've stayed at many different spots on Sanibel, but this, hands down, is the very best. I'd definitely recommend it to anyone. I know I'll be back..

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Best vacation ever!

Review submitted: December 12, 2011   Date of arrival: November 26, 2011

We loved staying in this luxury condo unit--there was truly not a more beautiful place on the island, and we explored all of Sanibel and Captiva to compare. The sunsets from the balcony and rooftop were breathtaking, and we took pictures each night--they are incredibly beautiful! We collected many kinds of shells on the beach and brought them home in order to make a shell-framed mirror like the one in the master bathroom. The island has great shells deposited each day after the tide goes out--just walking steps to the beach, we turned right (north) and encountered rich deposits of shells. We rented bikes, and rode all over the island--the condo is centrally located so everything is within reasonable biking distance. Lots of neat local restaurants, shops, and art galleries to explore. The owner has furnished and decorated the condo very tastefully, and everything a guest could possibly need during a stay is found inside the kitchen cupboards. A very special vacation experience!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent Summer Vacation

Review submitted: August 30, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

I've visted Pointo Santo on numerous occassions and by far staying in this unit has been the best experience. The condo was updated, clean and looked out over the beach and ocean. The pool was great fun for the family.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Love this condo!

Review submitted: August 2, 2011   Date of arrival: June 4, 2011

My family and I enjoyed this condo, and Sanibel, so much last year that we came back again this year. You will not be disappointed in this unit. Tastefully decorated with attention to details - comfortable mattresses, soft linens, beach towels - and when these reviews say the kitchen is stocked, it is no exaggeration. I enjoy cooking in this kitchen! The large, flat screen tvs in the living room and master bedroom are great for watching movies at night and the private rooftop deck is great for enjoying either morning or evening looking out at the Gulf. The owners, David and Carol, make the booking and check-in process hassle free. I am convinced that this is the best unit at Pointe Santo. We wouldn't stay anywhere else when visiting Sanibel.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Great place to stay!

Review submitted: July 11, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

This condo was fabulous! it looked just like all of the beautiful pictures. It was very clean when we arrived. It was well stocked with kitchen supplies and it was very comfortable. The owner was excellent to work with. We will stay here again next time!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Fabulous!

Review submitted: May 9, 2011   Date of arrival: April 2, 2011

This is a beautiful condo with all of the amenities you could want. Right on the water - spotless and with all of the extra touches. I can't wait to return. Would recommend this particular condo to anyone. You could not ask for more!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Pointe Santo de Sanibel Excellent Stay!

Review submitted: March 25, 2011   Date of arrival: February 26, 2011

Over the past several years, we have stayed a many different units at Pointe Santo. For us, Pointe Santo is a perfect location, and for our recent two week stay, this unit was absolutely perfect! One daughter and her husband and two young children spent the first six days with us; our other daughter and her husband and two year old spent five days with us the second week. Everyone had a wonderful time. Except the the two times our daughters and husbands ate out and the last night of our stay when we ate out, we cooked in every night and marvelled at how well stocked the kitchen was. My son-in-law even found a garlic press in one of the many kitchen drawers! If you want to avoid the crowds, stay here! We always rent bicycles and bike everywhere, including the grocery, Ding Darling, the lighthouse, ice cream parlors and the new nearby playground. In the past we have biked to Bowman's Beach, but this time things were more complicated with so many little ones so we did drive there. The complex is very well maintained. The grass and bushes are neatly trimmed, and the grills are covered each evening. Our older grandson, 4, loved the pool and made a darling shell box one afternoon at one of the children's programs. We hope to return again next year. The unit is tastefully decorated; the linens, both in the kitchen and bathrooms, were perfect. I cannot think of a single way to improve this unit. It was worth every penny. Enjoy your stay!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review