reviews for: listing #17626 - Mission Beach, California House rental

South Mission Beach - 1 house off ocean front
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  South Mission Beach
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $275 - $430 /nt
    $1,900 - $3,000 /wk
    $3,750 - $12,000 /mth

sort by:

Great Family Place

Review submitted: July 22, 2014   Date of arrival: July 5, 2014

This place has great views! One house off the beach and you can't beat it! Our kids and grandkids had the best time. Quiet, yet close enough to walk everywhere. We will definitely keep it on our list for next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Vacation Rental

Review submitted: July 22, 2014   Date of arrival: July 5, 2014

Absolutely gorgeous views from this property's deck, dining and master. Only one house off the beach and a great quiet location. Our family had a great time and there was plenty of room for everyone. We come to Mission every year and will definitely keep this on our list to return to!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great rental

Review submitted: July 13, 2014   Date of arrival: June 28, 2014

Our family had a fabulous week at Mission Beach at this property. There are great views of the ocean from the dining table, the deck and even the kitchen sink! It was a perfect location, nice and quiet but close enough to the activities on Mission beach for our teenagers to go to. We would definitely consider staying here again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

gerd

Review submitted: December 4, 2013   Date of arrival: November 23, 2013

the house was very comfortable. the view was great and the area was fun. great place to bring grandkids.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Getaway!

Review submitted: November 14, 2013   Date of arrival: November 7, 2013

The pictures do not do this rental justice. The house has a great open space that makes its perfect for hanging out with friends and enjoying the views. The deck is also larger than anticipated and handled our group with ease. The location is perfect because its down the street from the hustle of the main boardwalk so you don't get all the crowds, yet it is just a few steps to the beach and if needed you can walk right down the street to a coffee shop, a pizza spot, a market and a taco shop. The house was well equipped with everything we needed. Roberta was a pleasure to deal with and I had no communication issues whatsoever. I recommend and can't wait to come back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for posting a review!! You are great guests. You left the property in such perfect condition I thought the cleaning crew had already finished! You are always welcome back!! Hope to see you in the new year!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Felt like home away from home

Review submitted: October 3, 2013   Date of arrival: September 5, 2013

We travel to San Diego almost every year to get away from the hustle and bustle of life and this time we couldn't have felt more like home (well except that ocean thing) with this property. Quite spacious accommodations and close enough to the beach where we watched the waves from the balcony every morning and afternoon it seemed. Our hosts couldn't have been nicer and was an excellent experience all around. We had some friends (three other couples) staying on the beach at the same time and although there places were good, this place is where we would host the group because of the comfort of that property.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome Vacation - Beach House

Review submitted: August 11, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

This was a lovely and conveniently located beach house for our family vacation. It had all the essentials needed! Close to the beach and awesome patio - great way to sit and enjoy your morning coffee listening to the ocean! Great location to watch the July 4th fireworks too! Loved being down toward this end of the beach - removed from the hectic crowds of people near the amusement park! The owner is very friendly and nice to work with - if ever we wanted to rent a beach house again - we would definitely consider this one!

Owners response: Thank you for this great review!! The patio and the dining room table window view are my most favorite early morning spots to enjoy a cup of coffee and watch the quiet beach activity!! The morning ocean waves are mesmerizing!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Beach house

Review submitted: July 31, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

We had a great vacation in Mission Beach. Very nice house in a great location, We really enjoyed being on the south end of Mission Beach. Very convenient to freeways and all beach activities without the rowdiness of other parts of Mission Beach. Very family friendly. Will be back next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: This is exactly what we love to hear from our guests!! We bought this property in the quiet part of Mission Beach for exactly these reasons!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family from Virginia

Review submitted: August 26, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

A lovely condo with amazing views of the Pacific Ocean from the dining room and deck. It is in very good shape. Lots of windows throughout, so it is bright and airy. Well appointed kitchen. It had everything we needed. Comfortable living area and bedroom. Bed in master bedroom is very comfortable. The deck is a great place to drink coffee in the mornings and watch the sun setting at night. A few steps from the boardwalk and a short walk to shops, restaurants and an amusement park. The beach is beautiful. We had the family vacation of a lifetime and highly recommend this property.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Beach Condo!

Review submitted: June 15, 2012   Date of arrival: June 1, 2012

We rented the condo for a week and we couldn't have been more pleased. The condo is beautiful, just as the pictures show and the location is ideal for a beachfront property...close enough to the beach without all the boardwalk traffic. We spent every morning drinking coffee on the balcony looking at the ocean. The pictures can't quite capture how great the views are.
The condo was well equipped for the 8 of us with plenty of space. Roberta was great in our communication with her. We'll be back the next time we're in San Diego!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

New Year On Mission Beach

Review submitted: January 19, 2012   Date of arrival: December 31, 2011

Our Minnesota family joined another part of our family from Wisconsin to vacation on Mission Beach. Having been to Mission Beach one time before, but only for a brief visit, I knew I wanted to return.

Very well equipped. Wonderful location. Safe neighborhood. Minutes from everything happening or seconds away from the beach. Clean and vibrant accommodations!

If you go to Mission Beach, find out if the whales are migrating. We literally seen whales from the dining room window while playing cards one afternoon.

The owner was very helpful and thorough with directions, answering my questions, furnishing points of interests, and even letting us know where the best grocery store was. I would highly recommend this VRBO! I know I will be returning.

Happy Vacationing

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful week in San Diego

Review submitted: December 2, 2011   Date of arrival: November 18, 2011

We spent a wonderful week at this house over Thanksgiving. The house was everything it advertised and more! The house was one off of the beach walk so we had a perfect view of the ocean, without everyone looking directly in our windows. The house was clean and very well equiped; we had everything we needed to cook and serve a Thanksgiving dinner for a large group. The owner was extremely friendly and helpful. We hope to return to San Dieg soon and would certainly stay here again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Relaxing Week

Review submitted: October 4, 2011   Date of arrival: September 24, 2011

Enjoying a "staycation" in this lovely beach house was one of the most relaxing vacations we have ever had! We live inland in San Diego, so it was a great pleasure to enjoy the ocean views from the dining area and deck of this great property. We stayed in the upstairs unit, and the high-beamed ceilings in each room really add to the spaciousness of an already large floor plan. It also has all the conveniences if you need them, including HD cable TV in the living room (TVs in the bedrooms too) and Wi-Fi access. The kitchen is well equipped with all you need... if you choose to cook. We didn't do much of that, however, because there are so many great places to dine within walking or short driving distance! We found the house very peaceful and quiet, but there is no shortage of activity on the beach and boardwalk, which is only steps away. The fireplace is also a very attractive feature... it would be warm and cozy during the cool, rainy season.

One other extremely important thing...the beds/mattresses are very comfortable! No aches and pains when you wake up in the morning!

We highly recommend this property for a thoroughly relaxing and enjoyable vacation!

Thank you!!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

My Second Home

Review submitted: May 16, 2011   Date of arrival: February 19, 2011

This has got to be THE BEST PLACE IN MISSION BEACH! I just looked thru the photo's again (100% accurate) and they are missing one thing,ME! I had a lot of company this Spring and everyone loved it. The unit has everything you need and more. Many things are walking distance.The best thing is the view of the water,the ocean is changing all the time,even if the weather is momentarily iffy you can sit and stare at the water. The beach is well groomed,the boardwalk is not to be missed. I have never had a better landlady. Roberta is very responsive. Lucky you if you stay there.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Better than we pictured

Review submitted: August 19, 2010   Date of arrival: May 6, 2010

My fiance and I stayed here with some friends and it was such a great deal on the rental and the pictures looked nice and close to the beach. When we arrived with our friends and walked inside, it was better than in the pictures. Big, open, clean and the fresh breeze from the water was perfect! We had a great time there and everything was comfortable and available to us. This is a great location and property! Thank you for an amazing time :)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best Beach Vacation Ever...

Review submitted: August 18, 2010   Date of arrival: June 19, 2010

I live in San Diego but cannot house my large family when they come to visit. We found this beautiful duplex in Mission Beach and rented both the units for our family to vacation together. Our parents had privacy and could have some of the grandchildren stay with them (when they wanted them to) in one unit. My two sisters and their families stayed in the other. My kids and I spent all day with them. It was perfect. We could not have had an easier time with all of the arrangements for this wonderful chaos. The owner of the property is the one who deserves all the credit. Both units are immaculate and cozy. Both units had everything we all needed. The photos in the listing are exactly like it looks in person. The beach and neighborhood are completely comfortable. It is great fun to be able to walk to all the excitement of the beach community but have your "home" be so quiet that all you hear is the peace of being so near the ocean. My family is so grateful to have found this property and we are going to have a family reunion here every year. That's the plan.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so very much for your recommendation!! We are so very happy that your family had a wonderful time at our beach property!! You are always welcome back!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful time in San Diego

Review submitted: June 12, 2010   Date of arrival: May 31, 2010

Thanks’ for everything Roberta. Your rental was wonderful. We had a great time, very casual. very clean, just like our home. The area is nice and quite and seconds from the beach, but close to the busier side of the beach which we also enjoy. I would recommend this rental to anyone

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Dream Vacation Spot

Review submitted: December 9, 2009   Date of arrival: October 2, 2009

My family and I stayed here in October 2009 and it was perfect. The home is just 1 row back from oceanfront, but you get an "oceanfront" view from the 2nd floor balcony which runs along 1 full side of the home. We spent mornings taking our coffee down to the beach, or jogging/walking along the boardwalk. Evenings were spent sipping wine, watching sunsets and enjoying the ocean breeze from the balcony. Afternoons we explored local sites, as the house was close to all the major attractions. When we didn't want to drive, there were quaint cafes and a small market within walking distance for coffee and emergency grocery items. The home was clean, well maintained and well stocked--we even had ample supplies of lawn chairs, umbrellas and boogie boards for the beach! The owner was accommodating and helpful. The neighborhood residents were quiet, which was one of our primary concerns (we wanted rest and relaxation). We could tell from the entries penned in the "guest book" that many of the same visitors return to this home with their families each year--it seems to be a very special place to many of us lucky enough to know about it. I almost didn't want to write this review because I want to keep this spot a secret! My family and I will definitely be back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

October Vacation

Review submitted: October 20, 2009   Date of arrival: October 10, 2009

Great place! It was wonderful watching the sunset from the deck. The location was perfect - south of Belmont Park. Quiet, clean, well equipped and maintained. I would certain recommend this property and hope to return myself.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Place

Review submitted: February 3, 2009   Date of arrival: January 25, 2009

Our family spent a week while in town for our son's graduation from Marine bootcamp and couldn't have asked for a better stay. Roberta was fantastic with the arrangements and everything. The view is to die for and the court is quiet and relaxing. I'd recommend it to anyone and plan to get back soon.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great rental house

Review submitted: September 30, 2008   Date of arrival: September 16, 2008

This is the perfect house for a great vacation. Very nice quiet court, so close to the beach, so relaxing. You can walk to everything! This house is so cozy I did not want to leave. This was the best vacation I've had in a really long time. I will be visiting 708 Balboa Court again, hopefully very soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review