reviews for: listing #17627 - Newport Beach, California House rental

Luxury Beachfront Casa de Balboa 231
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Balboa Island
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $256 - $500 /nt
    $1,795 - $3,595 /wk

sort by:

The Best Spot in Town

Review submitted: November 6, 2013   Date of arrival: October 19, 2013

Casa Balboa is the best spot in town, waking up to see the changing colors of the Newport Harbor, jumping on a bike and taking a cruise toward the Wedge, or over the bridge to Huntington Beach, the shops, the restaurants, location is tops. The home has now become my "second home" it has all the comforts that one needs, wifi, well appointed kitchen, televisions in each of the bedrooms, comfortable, roomy, charming, and conveniently located. There is nothing more than one needs for their Newport Beach Vacation. I'll be sure to return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Slice of the California Lifestyle

Review submitted: August 25, 2013   Date of arrival: August 17, 2013

This is my fourth time at this property, and at this point it feels like home. Exceptionally well located in the heart of the Balboa Penninsula, you can walk to almost everything from this home. The home itself is well appointed, and Greg and his staff are most attentive. Waking up in the morning, and having your coffee while looking out into the morning sky with the water glistening just in front of you is just heaven. In the evenings the views with the lights of newport in the background and the gentle rocking of the sailboats is about the most peaceful feeling. I highly recommend the property, and I hope to return over and over again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

GREAT FAMILY EXPERIENCE

Review submitted: July 18, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

We arrived to a very clean apartment. I really like to fact my kids can play outside right of the beach while my husband and I can sit on patio and enjoy the scenery. We had a loud neighbor upstairs and within 24hours the manager handled it and we were happy. We stayed two weeks, kids did camps, walked, rode bikes, paddle boarded, Very convenient to grocery stores as well as eating. Most of time we bbq outside and watched the sunset as kids ran on beach.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

California Dreaming

Review submitted: April 12, 2013   Date of arrival: November 21, 2012

We liked Casa de Balboa so much, we are hoping to go back again. The owner responded to our initial inquiry very quickly, and gave us all sorts of information about dining, shopping and things to do in the area. We loved the location which was close to all of the action, but lovely and quiet. When we had an internet connection problem, the owner had a new router installed the next day! Can't say enough good things, especially on a cold, gray, wet day in the Midwest like today when all I can think about is when we can get back to sunny Newport Beach and Casa de Balboa.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Couldn't be nicer!

Review submitted: August 9, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

Rented CASA 231 for the week to attend my HS reunion. Location is Perfect, walk or bike to anything in the area and there is plenty. The casa was beautiful inside and well appointed home away from home. I wouldn't stay anywhere else when in Newport Beach, the best beach vacation you could ask for.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

BROOKS FAMILY - LONDON

Review submitted: June 12, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

Stunning property in excellent location. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and only wish we had booked for a further week! Property in extremely clean condition and accurately described. Would certainly recommend to friends and relatives. Loved our evenings on the patio overlooking the beach.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful Memorial Day Weekend!

Review submitted: May 31, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

We had an absolutely wonderful stay in unit #231, the condo was immaculate, and we felt like we were at home. Very well appointed with everything we needed to enjoy the beach with our teenage daughter and grandson. Pam was great, she took care of the patio heater (last minute) for us, and we were able to enjoy a family BBQ out on the patio.
We were actually so impressed with the service and the unit that we attempted to extend our mini vacation, unfortunately the unit was booked (no big surprise to me). All I can say is, book now, and stay as long as you can, you can't go wrong! Perfect location, peaceful, awesome views of the harbor, boats, and a very nice semi-private beach to enjoy a good book and watch your kids play in the sand.
We will definitely be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Getaway

Review submitted: May 29, 2012   Date of arrival: May 18, 2012

This house was exactly what we wanted for our intimate cocktail party wedding and honeymoon. It was beautifully decorated, very comfortable, very clean, and quiet since it's on a small one way street. We were within walking distance to the pier, great restaurants and stores. Downtown Balboa is nearby too and has some great shopping. The view of the ocean from the front porch was so enjoyable! We sat there for hours. The owner was very helpful and accommodating. We are already planning on returning for an anniversary weekend.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spring break

Review submitted: March 16, 2012   Date of arrival: March 10, 2012

Casa de balboa was such a great experience. Charming house with a great location and had everything and more. We will definitely stay there again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

OUR SECOND STAY , 5 STAR QUALITY!!!

Review submitted: March 7, 2012   Date of arrival: March 1, 2012

This is the finest property that my wife and I have rented. We have a son that lives and works in New port , We come to New Port to relax and visit him. Casa De Balboa is VERY clean and very well maintained. The unit is very private and very quiet. We enjoy all of the upgrades that the unit has to offer. In a area where parking is a premium it's great to have a garage.
Pam the owner is always very friendly and great to work with.
We really enjoy the beach and all the boats right out the front door. The location is perfect , close to the beach , many great places to eat , biking , walking or just relaxing.
Casa De Balboa is worth the money . A great place for the family or for a couple. We love it !!!
Give Pam a call, she will take care of you with all of your questions and needs.
This would go on my list of most recommended places to stay!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

OUR SECOND STAY , 5 STAR QUALITY!!!

Review submitted: March 7, 2012   Date of arrival: March 1, 2012

This is the finest property that my wife and I have rented. We have a son that lives and works in New port , We come to New Port to relax and visit him. Casa De Balboa is VERY clean and very well maintained. The unit is very private and very quiet. We enjoy all of the upgrades that the unit has to offer. In a area where parking is a premium it's great to have a garage.
Pam the owner is always very friendly and great to work with.
We really enjoy the beach and all the boats right out the front door. The location is perfect , close to the beach , many great places to eat , biking , walking or just relaxing.
Casa De Balboa is worth the money . A great place for the family or for a couple. We love it !!!
Give Pam a call, she will take care of you with all of your questions and needs.
This would go on my list of most recommended places to stay!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Exceptionally clean and well furnished, right on the water at Newport harbor. Quiet street.

Review submitted: February 17, 2012   Date of arrival: February 10, 2012

Lovely modern unit right on the bay at Newport harbor. Just 2 short blocks from the main ocean beach.This so beats being closer to the main beach and boardwalk. This is quiet and does not have bothersome constant tourist noise along the street. Lovely bay beach out the front door. Boats and yachts all around. Clean and well furnished. Free internet, gazillions of tv channels, The owner is so easy to deal with and very responsive. Too many great restaurants to list.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your kind words. As you found out the NUMBER ONE remark by our guests regarding Casa de Balboa is we have the BEST LOCATION. We usually reference 1 1/2 blocks to the ocean beach due to the fact that one block consists of two houses and the other six..these are small beach lots too. In addition..the bay beach sand and water is 30 FEET away!! You can not get closer to a swimming beach in Newport than where we are located. Best Views...Best Location....Best Property....means Best Vacation!!! Glad you enjoyed your visit.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect beach vacation

Review submitted: December 27, 2011   Date of arrival: December 22, 2011

We had a wonderful time. The property was clean, beautifully decorated and perfect for my family. The location cannot be beat! We will definitely return. Many thanks!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

SOUTHERN CAL. VACATION

Review submitted: November 8, 2011   Date of arrival: November 2, 2011

OUR STAY AT THE CASA DE BALBOA WAS ONE OF THE BEST VACATIONS
I CAN REMEMBER.THE PROPERTY WAS IN A PRIME LOCATION,CLOSE TO
MANY RESTAURANTS(TWICE AT THE BLUE WATER GRILL),THE UNIT WAS
EXCEPTIONALLY CLEAN,VERY COMFORTABLE,DISHES,SILVERWARE,2 TVs,
BEAUTIFUL VIEW OF THE BAY IN THE MORNING,ANYTHING WE NEEDED
WAS THERE.
WE WILL BE RETURNING FOR OUR NEXT VACATION FOR A LONGER STAY.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Vacation Spot

Review submitted: October 17, 2011   Date of arrival: October 9, 2011

My family and I stayed at this rental for 3 nights in October. The place was wonderful. I have a 2 year old and 4 year old and they loved having their breakfast on the patio and watching the boats in the harbor. The place was so clean and the neighborhood was so quite. It is within walking distance to great restaurants and the beach. It's so close we didn't even have to bring the stroller. I would definitely stay there again and I would recommend it to anyone that wants a clean and cozy place to spend their vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beach Vacation

Review submitted: June 6, 2011   Date of arrival: May 20, 2011

This condo was very clean and conveniently located to many nearby activities. We really enjoyed our stay and found everything in the condo well equipped (had everything available for comfort and ease). Highly recommend this property.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thanks. Hope to have you back soon!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We had a great time!!!

Review submitted: May 31, 2011   Date of arrival: May 27, 2011

we stayed in this place this past holiday weekend. We had such a great time. The bay across the street is so nice and its great to have this little beach right there. For those who want a bigger beach/ocean, it is a 2 minute walk across the main street. There are restaurants close by and the pier and lots of places. But the place itself is very quiet, beautiful, quaint, comfy and has all the great amenities. My son and husband were able to play baseball right outside in the street because it dead ends so there is not alot of traffic. We will definitely be back!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Owners response: Thanks for taking the time to write. We hear it time and again ..what a unique and unbeatable location we have. NO ALLEY behind!! Dock in FRONT!! ONLY traffic is boat traffic..I know we have made another returning guest out of you! Thanks again!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Delightful getaway in fantastic location!

Review submitted: April 5, 2011   Date of arrival: March 26, 2011

We LOVED your Casa!!!! It truly is a perfect location with a perfect view. If it was on the beach, the traffic coming by would be TOO much…. The bay side is calmer and so pretty. Watching the boats coming and going is always great, too!

The music playing was such a nice touch!!! Everything was spotless and in great condition. We were so thankful!!! You never know what you’re getting yourself into by paying rent for a place, but are high expectations were exceeded with your unit! Great sleeping – quiet!

Being within short walking distance of groceries, restaurants, bike rentals, etc. was wonderful.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks. We are on the beach..the bay beach but I know what you meant.... the ocean beach ....
People forget the noise and lack of privacy that accompanies the boardwalk.

As you found out... the ocean water is often easier to get to from our location than some ocean front homes!! That is why we say the BEST of BOTH worlds!!

Location/Views/Quality/Amenities/Cleanliness We are always number one!

So glad you found us and we hope to have you back again soon.

Pam

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Comfort and Luxury

Review submitted: December 2, 2010   Date of arrival: November 21, 2010

We had a great time vacationing here. We found the unit well maintained, clean, well stocked kitchen with great appliances. Pictures accurately reflect the great location and property appearance. Owner was most helpful. We especially enjoyed riding bicycles along the nearby boardwalk. We would recommend this place to friends and relatives.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What a beautiful place!!!!

Review submitted: September 7, 2010   Date of arrival: August 28, 2010

My family and I stayed at Casa De Balboa 231 and had a wonderful time. The location is perfect, right next to the peaceful, calm bay and bay beach and a block and 1/2 from the ocean and wide beach. Both the beaches were relitively uncrowded for the last week of the summer. The unit was exactly as presented in their description and as presented in their pictures. The property was very very clean and I have no idea how they maintain it so well with it being so close to the water. I would recommend the property to all my friends and relatives. There were fun activities and great restaurants within easy walking distance. We enjoyed the Crab Cooker and Charlie's Chili. The owner answered all our questions and was very helpful with everything. We will joyfully return, hopefully, again and again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fullerton family

Review submitted: August 28, 2010   Date of arrival: August 21, 2010

We had a wonderful time! Perfect house and perfect location. We will definitely be back!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Glad you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for reserving 2011!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Vacation EVER!

Review submitted: June 27, 2010   Date of arrival: June 19, 2010

Really, I am not kidding, staying at Casa de Balboa allowed my family to have the best vacation ever! My husband, daughter, niece and I stayed at Casa de Balboa 231 for a week. The place was amazing. Located right across the street from the harbor, and just 3 blocks from the ocean, we could not have asked for a better location. The house was beautifully decorated and super comfortable. I am a fan of cooking, and having the opportunity to cook in the gourmet kitchen was such a treat. I cooked dinner 6 out of the 7 nights. We did go out for one dinner and a couple of lunches. We were able to walk to every restaurant. We went with Pam's recommendations, and we were not disappointed. Most of our days we spent at the beach. Being so close we did not have to worry about packing a car or finding a parking spot, it was such a quick walk my daughter did not complain once. We also spend one day at Knott's Berry Farm amusement park. It was only about a 30 minute drive, so super convenient. I asked my husband if he would have changed anything about the trip, and his response was "no way, you done good with this one!" High praise! We will certainly be returning next year, if we can wait that long.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are 1 1/2 short blocks to the ocean....and 30 ft from the sand and water for the Bay beach! Susan and her family reserved the same week for 2011. We try very hard to make the Casas "your perfect beach home" to return to year after year.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Winner!

Review submitted: May 4, 2010   Date of arrival: April 30, 2010

Spending much of our time reviewing Las Vegas-properties, we came to Newport Beach, joined by our friends from the UK, with a critical eye. From the moment we pulled up to the property, until the minute we left, we were THRILLED.

When we walked in the property for the first time, music was playing. Nice touch. The place is appointed nicely. . .very warm and inviting.

The view is outstanding. . .from our first-floor patio we are able to see a small beach and many of the beautiful boats on Newport Harbor. They have a great heater on the patio as well, which we used during a nighttime champagne toast.

The kitchen was perfect. . .an amazing stove (for those who cook), full-size refridge, dishwasher and, off to the side, washer/dryer.

Each room was great with a queen-size bed.

The overall location is amazing. It's on 19th street on the Balboa peninsula, which is a PERFECT location. We walked to several local restaurants and took a short drive to the Balboa peer.

The only downside is that the folks upstairs were pretty loud. . .we heard their kids running around at the crack of dawn. Other than that, all four of us agreed that we would return.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 17, 2010   Date of arrival: March 17, 2010

We just returned from a stay at Casa De Balboa and had a splendid time. We spent an extended weekend in Unit 231. We really enjoyed the views of the Bay and watching the sailboats cruise by. Casa De Balboa is in the heart of Newport Beach. Yet in the absolute luxury of this well stocked two bedroom condo, you feel miles away from it all. The Pacific Ocean is two blocks away and the unit is directly across the street from Balboa Bay with an unobstructed view. Pam and Greg did a spectacular job of decorating and providing all of the comforts of home here. We had a BBQ and appreciated the gas heater on the patio while we dined. We will definitely return here on our next visit to Southern California.

Owners response: Mindy and Wayne,

Thank you for taking the time to write. We hope to have you back soon!

Pam

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: March 11, 2010   Date of arrival: March 11, 2010

Wow,I love all of these propertys.You feel at home while there.Clean!!!Nice sheets/Beds Ect.They don't scimp on luxury.I'd rather stay at Casa de Balboa then any 5 star hotel.We'll be back.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: February 23, 2010   Date of arrival: February 23, 2010

We were unfortunate enough to be in California for some of the worst weather they had experienced in recent years! But it did not matter, we had a heated covered patio, barbeque and a gourmet kitchen and even great board games supplied! We could not have enjoyed our vacation more! The sheet of tips to restaurants and area attractions was a great help, and yes the Crab Bisque at Tommy Bahamas is worth the trip!! I highly recommend this as the ultimate relaxation vacation!

Owners response: Thank you so much for taking the time to write! Sorry the weather was so bad..but you were very fortunate indeed to be at the Casa due to our larger covered courtyards. We PROMISE the weather will be perfect next time :-)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guestbook Entries Reviews!

Review submitted: February 4, 2010   Date of arrival: February 4, 2010

All of our guest book entries are from a guest book that Vacationrentals and Homeaway owns and manages but for some reason do not forward onto their site on our behalf. We may be changing our guest book as it does not allow more than one entry per email. Since many of our guests are repeaters they are not allowed another entry even if they stay in a different Casa.

All of these entries by our guests can be viewed on our web site.

Thanks for taking a look..and see you at the beach!

Warm regards,

Pam Murray
Casa de Balboa Beach Front Luxury Rentals

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: December 15, 2009   Date of arrival: December 15, 2009

We had a great time in Newport Beach – really enjoyed our stay in Casa 231 - it was cozy and beautiful. Our two grandchildren loved every minute of their stay at Granpapapa's and Grandpamama's home by the water. And yes, you can be sure that in our next trip to L. A. we will stay in our "L.A. home" - Casa de Balboa. Thank You.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 20, 2009   Date of arrival: October 20, 2009

It seems like life is always: 1-2-3 GO! Well not at
231 Casa de Balboa. Life is a little slower, more
care free. Indulge in a frozen banana or ride a ferris
wheel, lay on the beach and watch the world go by
and when that is done go back to your private
patio, grill steaks, have a glass of wine and watch
the sunset. Sound Good? Trust me it is....
Denele Sakata Pebble Beach Ca

Owners response: Thanks Denele. We hope to have you back soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 18, 2009   Date of arrival: October 18, 2009

We have just returned from our vacation to Newport Beach. What a fantastic experience we had at Casa de Balboa! It is perfectly located, spotlessly clean and has everything that you could possibly need while on vacation. Our vacation prior to this one was at a 5* at Atlantis/Bahamas. While it was very nice, our stay at the Casa was so much more enjoyable. Our children take afternoon naps - but instead of being stuck in a dark hotel room for 2-3 hours, we were able to sit out on our patio, sip wine and enjoy the beach! I'm am telling you, if you are traveling with children there is simply no better place to stay. We loved being able to cook our own meals in the gourmet kitchen and then enjoy them on the patio, watching the boats go by.
Pam and Greg were an absolute delight to deal with. They made sure every little thing was perfect - and those really are the things that make a vacation great. We have already booked the same week for next year!

Owners response: Thanks Rebecca. We appreciate the kind words. See you next year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: September 28, 2009   Date of arrival: September 28, 2009

Took the dogs on a week vacation... they totally loved
it and we did too. The location is great, private and in
walking distance to restaurants, shops, beach. Bay is
a great side to be on... the most beautiful boats go by
all day long. Renting a duffy boat is a must! Can't
wait to go back. Thanks for the great memories!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: September 28, 2009   Date of arrival: September 28, 2009

PARADISE FOUND!!
Casa 231 is the ultimate in a 5* property & location. With all upscale furnishings and decorations. We are looking forward to our 3rd August vacation in 2010. We love everything about our vacation home.
Thanks Pam for everything.
Tom and Earlene

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 16, 2009   Date of arrival: June 16, 2009

Casa #231 is a beautiful place to stay and awesome location! Perfect for little ones or even w/out them. The beautiful bay is right out your patio and beach, shops, restaurants, & fun all walking distance. You feel as if your at home, it's super clean,comfortable and everything you need and more is here!! We were relaxed with no worries of our 1 & 2yr old getting out since it was fenced & they were to young to open the gate. It made our vacation!! We were so thankful we had found this Casa De Balboa!!! Home away from Home!

Owners response: Thanks for the kind words. RELAXATION is Casa de Balboa!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 16, 2009   Date of arrival: June 16, 2009

From email:

Hi Pam,

Thanks for everything, we love staying at casa de balboa, its such a great location and so well kept!
We had a great time as always! See ya again!

The McBrides are returning guests as most of our guests are. Our guestbook, will allow only one entry per email address..which is unfortunate as a lot of our guests stay in different Casas each year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 27, 2009   Date of arrival: May 27, 2009

I can't say enough about the "Casa 231". The house was a dream!! The location on the bay was perfect, especially for young children. It was so peaceful and quiet...when the kids were sleeping, of course. We loved everything about our stay and truly were not ready to leave. I would recommend the "Casa de Balboa" to everyone.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 30, 2009   Date of arrival: April 30, 2009

Pam -- What a wonderful place to stay!! Even though we live only 50 miles away, it was a true vacation. We love the Balboa Peninsula and have stayed there many times over the years, but this was the best yet! The beds were soooo comfortable, and all the amenities were first class. We loved being able to walk to so many places.

The beach and view were so special. Our great-grandchildren had a great time playing in the sand and water, with no worries for Grandma.

We hope to come stay again soon.

Jim and Bobbie Colclaser

Owners response: Thanks. We look forward to your return visit May 2010.
Pam

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 22, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

Thank you very much for the wonderful Southern California experience. We were looking for a "no stress" family vacation together with our kids (14 & 12) and you delivered. The location was perfect and the accomodation exactly what we wanted. While there, we went past a couple of the other places we had considered and kept repeating how thankful we were that we had chosen Casa de Balboa. Quiet and private with a beautiful view and close to everything. Special thanks to Greg for going out of his way to pick up the jackets we had left at a restaurant and then forwarding them along to us. Now that's service and the personal touch made our family get-away even better than how we imagined it could have been.
Sincerely,
Polly, David, Claudia & Will

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 20, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

We recently spent our Spring Break at Casa de Balboa 231 and I have to say, it was the best choice we could have made. From the moment we walked into the Casa, everything was perfect! It was truly a home away from home, with the benefit of the beautiful bay in the background. We have two small boys - they were able to play in the sand, find shells and even snails on the dock, while my husband and I sat in the large front patio sipping wine and watching the boats roll by. Ahhhhh!

All the the amenities were first class, the kitchen was well stocked and there were plenty of beach chairs and towels and even sand toys to keep us all happy. We will definitely be back! Thanks so much for the hospitality Pam. We really did feel as if we were staying at the home of an old dear friend.

Owners response: Thanks Diana. We appreciate your taking the time to write. Thank you as well for noticing the difference in what we do and offer.

Greg told me you were kind enough to show your Casa to a passer by that was stuck in a "dump". They apparently were very very impressed. Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 18, 2009   Date of arrival: January 1, 2009

We had a wonderful stay at Casa de Balboa. The
condo is great for a family vacation with kids - tons
of fun within walking distance and all the comforts
of home, but much better! Also a great choice if
vacationing with friends- we rented 2 condos next
to each other and it worked out perfectly. I highly
recommend Casa de Balboa to anyone vacationing
in the OC.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 26, 2008   Date of arrival: October 1, 2008

We were not sure what to expect but as soon as we
drove up to the house, we knew we made the right
decision-it was better than perfect!

It was first class all the way from the upgraded
furniture and bedding to the high end appliances.

We spent many hours on the private front patio
with it's beautiful view of the bay (only yards away)
while listening to the ocean waves (only blocks
away).

And the location couldn't have been better. We
were walking distance from many restaurants,
shopping and activities.

We still can't stop talking about it - we will defiantly be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 17, 2008   Date of arrival: October 1, 2008

Casa de Balboa was the best beach house I have ever stayed at! I have rented a lot over the years! The decor was awesome, location was relaxing and just what we needed! I loved it and will definitely come back next year! You guys do an excellent job!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 5, 2008   Date of arrival: October 1, 2008

We LOVED our stay at Casa de Balboa. It was everything we were told it would be and more. The location was perfect, the view was magnificent, and the accommodations were luxurious. We will definitely stay there again. We didn't want to leave!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 26, 2008   Date of arrival: September 1, 2008

Thanks Pam. We really enjoyed our stay in Casa 231. The place was superb. The view, the décor and everything about it was awesome. The place had everything we needed. We will definitely come back here again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 7, 2008   Date of arrival: September 1, 2008

OMG.i finally rented a place like my home only smaller.it was a dream.........a big patio in the back ,and one overlooking the water...we would go across the street to the beach........then home then the bay rented boats...the place was to die from.like out of a magazine.everything really looked new,and to be able to wash our close before we left.was nice.we will book every year,pam and mark who own the place live near buy......super nice.no one bothers you.quiet.but wow we walked across the street.good thing the places were too much fun dui for walking i am sure........clean.............just perfect!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 22, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

We rented this Casa for a family reunion and 60th Anniversary celebration during the first week of August. It was wonderful. Everything is there for you including a gourmet kitchen and down mattresses! And the view is the best in Newport Beach. With two small granchildren, it was perfect. They played in the bay waters while the 'elders' walked 2 blocks to the ocean. Thanks Mark and Pam.

Owners response: Mary and Lu,

It was indeed a pleasure to have you for your 60th wedding anniversary. I think your family enjoyed all the Casas you reserved!

Wishing you many many more years of bliss!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 17, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

This was our second stay at Casa de Balboa and it was perfect again. Great location and beautiful home. You feel like you have the luxuries of a fine hotel while the comfort of staying in a private residence.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 20, 2008   Date of arrival: May 1, 2008

We had the distinct pleasure of staying in unit 231 for the first week of May w/my four daughters. They could not get over how lavish/beautiful the condo was, how we could walk to shopping, the bay w/boat lights out our window, the view, the beach, seeing dolphins at Newport Beach, the accommodations were first rate. We used to live in S. California, and there is no comparison to this location. Pam and Mark, thank you again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 1, 2008   Date of arrival: May 1, 2008

We had a stay for 2 weeks back in 2007 at your place...its wa the best stay we ver had! spening the 4th of July weekend in Newport Beach was fantasic... I hope we may stay in your quarters soon again!

Owners response: Hey Kent! Yes...I remember you and your family well. You are welcome any time! Please make your reservations way in advance to get the exact dates you want. We hope to see you soon!

Kind regards,

Pam

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 9, 2007   Date of arrival: December 9, 2007

Thanks again for the lovely accommodations, we really enjoyed ourselves! We will be back for sure.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 14, 2007   Date of arrival: November 1, 2007

WE had a great time again. This Unit was beautiful too. We hope to come back soon! Thank you Pam and Mark!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 1, 2007   Date of arrival: October 1, 2007

We can't thank you enough for the most enjoyable stay at Casa de Balboa #227. My niece and I had the best time of our lives and can't wait to return next year.

We so enjoyed not only the beautifully furnished and decorated condo, the private beach, and the central location was great. We loved walking to breakfast every morning....Charlie's Chili still can't be beat.

I want you to know too, how much I appreciated you letting me bring my dog Kristy. She really enjoyed swimming and running on the beach, and being able to walk with us everywhere. I hope you found everything in order.

Out sincere thanks to your son Greg for the cruise around the Harbor. A wonderful surprise and added treat for our most memorable vacation ever.

Thanks again,
Sally Stein & Kristina Dibble

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 29, 2007   Date of arrival: July 1, 2007

We had a wonderful time. The location is just perfect. The view of the bay is beautiful and you are walking distance to so many fun activities. We have 3 young children and the accomidations worked out great for our whole family. Everything was clean and new. It was very nice.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 24, 2007   Date of arrival: February 1, 2007

Our second visit to Casa de Balboa was even better than the first. Beautiful, well appointed apartment. Very comfortable. Awesome kitchen. Gorgeous view and wonderful hosts. Will return hopefully often!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 14, 2007   Date of arrival: February 1, 2007

We truly enjoyed our stay at Casa de Balboa, 231.
The accommodations were wonderful. Our unit was
comfortable, clean and up scale.
We loved being so close to the bay and a short walk
to the beach. The mornings started with the view
of the water on the bay. It was a true escape for
our family and we thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 19, 2006   Date of arrival: December 1, 2006

Best beach rental we've ever stayed in. Great spot for Holiday Boat parade. Nicely appointed Casa with quality showing everywhere. We'll be back!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 11, 2006   Date of arrival: October 1, 2006

Ritz quality, every amenity, peaceful yet easy access to harbor and beach. The best of Newport Beach with the tranquility of your own private retreat. I'll be back soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 9, 2006   Date of arrival: October 9, 2006

We all enjoyed our stay in Newport Beach, even though it was a very short stay.



We enjoyed meeting you and took your recommendation to eat at the Regatta. It was the first time that I have had Happy Birthday sung to me in Italian, we really enjoyed the restaurant.



We spent at lot of time at the beach, but we also walked all over Newport Beach. During our trekking we observed many other rental properties. We all commented on how much we preferred staying at Casa de Balboa. The location and amenities are perfect.



Hope to see you again soon

(From a note sent to Pam)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 22, 2006   Date of arrival: August 1, 2006

I hesitate to enter a comment because I want Casa de Balboa to always be available when I want to rent it. With that said, it is a perfect location and the ammenities are fabulous. It is nicer than many people's homes. I cannot imagine anyone being disappointed. You will not want to leave.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 19, 2006   Date of arrival: July 1, 2006

What a beautiful place! We were there 4th of July week and so many other places were noisy and congested but not this location, it was quiet and peaceful. Would definitely come back and have recommended it to friends!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 15, 2006   Date of arrival: July 1, 2006

Thank you. You've exceeded our expectations, once again. We love this peaceful spot and look forward to our return.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 25, 2006   Date of arrival: April 1, 2006

Casa de Balboa was the perfect retreat for me and my 14 year old son. After loosing is mother to cancer last summer, we really needed a comfortable, well appointed living space and 231 exceeded our expectation!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 21, 2006   Date of arrival: March 1, 2006

Our family had a wonderful time at Casa de Balboa. The house was comfortable, clean, and beautifully updated. It's located on a very private street and has a gorgeous view of the bay. We would highly recommend it!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 9, 2006   Date of arrival: January 1, 2006

Wonderful!! What a lovely place!!
We traveled from Massachusetts to visit our good friends in Costa Mesa. We ALL GREATLY ENJOYED CASA DE BALBOA!
Thank you Pam!

Owners response: Thanks Karen! We hope to have you back in the near future!

Pam

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 8, 2005   Date of arrival: December 1, 2005

Dear Pam and Mark,

We can't thank you enough for our fabulous stay at Casa de Balboa. It far exceeded our expectations and was much, much more than the web site photos could possibly detail. The furnishings and bedding were lovely, the kitchen was extremely well equipped with everything you could ever possibly need and the robes and flowers on the bed upon arrival were a unique and classy touch for a vaction rental.

We will definitely see you again! Have a lovely holiday season and a happy new year!

Jon and Melinda Wainwright

Owners response: Thanks Melinda. We hope to see you this summer.

Happy holidays!

Pam

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 1, 2005   Date of arrival: November 1, 2005

As a California native I grew up and spent most of my adult life on the beaches there. Newport Beach and the Balboa Peninsula are among some of the most beautiful beaches in Southern California.

So when I was recently looking for a vacation rental in the area I knew Casa de Balboa was in a great location right on the bay and a block from the ocean beach and famous Balboa boardwak!..

The accommodations at Casa de Balboa are top shelf and very upscale! If you are looking for a top notch vacation rental in a great location this is the place!

Thank you Pam for your meticulous attention to detail.. We loved staying at Casa de Balboa and will definitely return again!

Owners response: Thank you David for your kind words. We hope to have you return soon. Mi Casa es su Casa!

Pam

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 17, 2005   Date of arrival: August 1, 2005

Pam & Mark,

Your Beach House is wonderful!! It was like a Beach Resort; with all the amenities you expect from a 5-star property. You both are so accommodating.

Thanks for everything, we hope to rent again next year.

Owners response: Hi,

Thank you for such nice comments. We look forward to your return visit!

Pam

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 1, 2005   Date of arrival: August 1, 2005

We are a family of 4 with two young children (ages 8 & 4). We had an absolutely wonderful time at Casa de Balboa and look forward to returning again next summer. The location is awesome and the unit itself exceeded our expectations. Unit 231 was far nicer than any other beachfront properties that we have rented in the past.

Owners response: Thanks Michelle. We enjoyed having you and look forward to your return.

Pam

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 23, 2005   Date of arrival: July 1, 2005

Casa de Balboa exceeded our expectations. The condo was beautifully decorated, immaculately clean, and had all of the amenities I enjoy in my own home, including granite counter tops, gourmet appliances, beautiful limestone in the baths, and some I don't including the gorgeous hardwood floors.

The bay and beach are right across the street, the view is beautiful, and the ocean is a short walk away.

We loved the walking access to restaurants and shops too. We would definitely stay there again. It was a lovely vacation. Our every need was anticipated in advance and everything we wanted was already provided for us, including beach chairs, umbrella, towels, etc...

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 28, 2005   Date of arrival: June 1, 2005

My husband and I stayed in this unit along with our little girl who is 20 months old. The casa is very classy and modern, yet extremely comfortable. Beautiful hardwood floors, brand new stainless steel appliances and granite countertops. Basically the entire unit is brand new, furniture included. Our daughter absolutely loved the calm beach and we felt like it was our own private little area. It was so nice sitting in the enclosed courtyard having our morning coffee and evening glass of wine. All in all, it was a lovely vacation and we look forward to going back! Enjoy!

Owners response: I hope that your anniversary was lovely. Come back soon!

Pam

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 8, 2005   Date of arrival: June 1, 2005

Casa de Balboa has the ultimate in cleanliness, location and hospitality. Thanks for sharing your place with us. Diane in Texas

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 1, 2005   Date of arrival: June 1, 2005

My husband, my 2 1/2 year old son and I stayed at #231 for 10 days in May. It was a wonderful experience. The house is beautiful and extremely well maintained both inside and out! We enjoyed the location which is right on the beach. I would definitely stay there again next time we visit California.

Owners response: Hi Debbi,

Thank you for staying with us!

Pam

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 5, 2005   Date of arrival: May 1, 2005

Staying at Casa 231 was very enjoyable and comfortable. We were impressed by the cleanliness and upscale feel of the design.The Harbor beach was a favourite of my girls as they actually preferred the calm waters as opposed to the waves. At their young age they felt more free running in and out of the water and enjoyed playing on the beach. The views of the Harbor were beautiful both during the day and evening. It was only a short distance to the larger beach. Our vacation was a memorable and highly enjoyable experience. We recommend staying at Casa de Balboa 231.

Karean, John, Mikayla and Shayna

Owners response: Thanks Karean. I enjoyed watching your girls playing at the beach. We hope to have you return next year.

Pam

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 29, 2005   Date of arrival: April 1, 2005

A perfect base for a holiday in Newport and the OC. Beautifully situated between bay and ocean. We had a great time.

Owners response: Thank you. We look forward to your next visit.

Pam

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 17, 2005   Date of arrival: April 1, 2005

My family and I had the pleasure of staying in Casa #231. We truly received much more than we expected. My sons loved playing at both beaches which are just a stones throw from the patio. The "feel" of the Balboa Penninsula was what we truly
loved- as it is laid back and much less hectic than the surrounding area. It was magical to go to the amusement parks with the kids and then escape back to
the leisurly feel of the penninsula.
We hope to be back soon...

Owners response: Thanks Mark. We look forward to your return visit.

Pam

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 6, 2005   Date of arrival: March 6, 2005

Hi, Pam

I tried to go directly to guests' comments but
couldn't find the link.

My husband and I truly enjoyed our stay at 231 Balboa.
I really miss being able to see that gorgeous view of
the bay. It's so much more spectacular than your
picture! Our grandchildren loved having what felt like
our own private beach on the bay as well as having the
ocean so close.
The "casa" is lovely and perfectly maintained. We had
a great time!

Sheila & Bob Murphy

_____________________

This was received and entered by Casa de Balboa 3/6/05

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review