reviews for: listing #17630 - Cape San Blas, Florida House rental

Avalon Gulf Front, Elevator, Very Popular, great view! Wifi
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,260 - $4,140 /wk

sort by:

Family Beachfront Dream!!

Review submitted: April 21, 2011   Date of arrival: April 16, 2011

We have been staying in Avalon for the past week (April 17th, 2011). This house is unbelievable as far as location on the cape goes. You have 2 other houses that you share a boardwalk with. And only 2 other houses to the right side of this house - so the beach is almost completely private!! I'd say we were spaced out on the beach by 1/4 mile each..which I appreciate, as I hate a crowded beach - because I hate worrying about my "things", or trying to keep an eye on the kids so closely, etc...No problems with that here. None. The elevator is great for arrival day - getting all the suitcases and bags to the appropriate floors without being completely exhausted. The Bedrooms all have TV's with Satellite - so you can go to your own room to watch your 'own' shows at night. Luckily, we were here prior to bug season - so, we didn't have a problem with bug bites of any kind..but there are several doors that don't have "screens" on them at the present time...so that would make it nice at night..to be able to leave the doors wide open!! If you're unfamiliar with the Cape...this is not a Teenager Spring Break Type place...at all. You won't see anything but FAMILIES and RETIREE'S here. So, if you're looking for nightlife...or cruisin' for the opposite sex atmosphere...you're looking in the wrong place. But, if you're looking for a laid back...do your own thing...or nothing at all, beach vacation - this is it. You won't feel the need to "do" a million things, or spend a ton of extra money while you're here - because there isn't really much to do!! Just an old-fashioned beach feel to whole thing!! The beach is also HUGE!! Quite Wide!!

I can't complain a bit...our kids have had the time of their lives for the past 7 days!! I think if I stayed a few more days...I'd just want to stay forever. If they could build a bigger grocery store nearby...the piggly wiggly doesn't exactly have much to offer...ha ha. But, there are several good restaurants in St.Joe and in Apalachicola.

The men are heading out to play golf at the country club tomorrow...and we have to start packing. Unfortunately.
Right now, there are "for sale" signs in front of almost every house on the cape - I'm assuming the economy has hit this area extremely hard. There are several developments that didn't even get off the ground. So...we've been joking that 20 years from now...we'd come back....and be KICKING ourselves for NOT buying one of the SUPER PRICED BEACHFRONT HOUSES right now!!!

Avalon is the Best

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 25, 2010   Date of arrival: October 16, 2010

Just wanted to drop a line and let you know how much we enjoyed the house last week!!!! We wanna go back! Even the dog is depressed. I was pleasantly surprised at how well stocked the kitchen was, good variety of pots and pans and tupperware.....yay!

We will be back next year in Sept.

Thanks for everything, Colleen

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 30, 2010   Date of arrival: March 20, 2010

Thank You!

Thanks for helping us have a lovely Spring Break week!
We thoroughly enjoyed Avalon. No crowd at all, miles of sugar beaches filled with shells. Gorgeous home with everything there. My in-law's came for three of the seven nights
and we still had lots of room. We are going through withdrawal from the beach now.
Wonderful place for a family to get back nature and each other! We are even looking at moving down there so if you know of any houses for sale please let me know!
Thanks again for everything. I will be recommending you to many so be prepared for more Arkansans! :)

Michelle

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 18, 2009   Date of arrival: April 18, 2009

Hi Teresa,
Just wanted to let you know that we had a fantastic time staying at the Avalon! Its truly a beautiful home and the location is fantastic!! Hopefully we can come again, and again, and again....

Take care,
Pete

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 15, 2009   Date of arrival: March 15, 2009

Hi Teresa!

What an awesome area (Cape San Blas) and we love the place. You have a great house. We've found everything we need and then some! We've already decided this area is one we'll come back to often.

Thanks for arranging it and making this available for us.

Suzie :-)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 10, 2006   Date of arrival: August 10, 2006

Teresa & Chris

I wanted to send you a quick note to let you know that we had a terrific time at your home in Cape San Blas. The views were absolutely beautiful and the weather was great as well. Your house is very lovely and I can see you have put a lot of time and work into making it that way.

Again thank you very much for opening your home up to us and we will probably give you a call next year.


Take care,

Dane

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 25, 2006   Date of arrival: July 25, 2006

Dear Teresa:

I wanted to express our huge appreciation for your vision in creating Paradise Point and willingness to share it with others. My family (husband, 2 daughters with their husbands and 3 kids) was absolutely thrilled with the house and the beach. We have traveled to Cape San Blas since the 1970s when we first camped there with our children and friends, then returned over and over again, repeatedly convinced that the area had the best of all possible beach worlds. We have stayed in other houses and at other beaches, and I dreaded the idea that I could no longer go because of my progressive neurological disorder. So, I was ecstatic when my daughter found your house on the Internet (how did we ever do life without it?) and immediately I decided it was worth a try. The house contains every possible convenience that I need at this point and I hope for a long time to come. The elevator is simply great (I was the only one allowed to use it, with my husband as the elevator boy) and the bathrooms and ramps were quite adequate. I didn't find a beach wheelchair to rent (although the state park has a version of one which is available to visitors to the park), but was able to negotiate the steps and the span of sand to the water with the help of all the family. How glorious to sit in the water and let the healing nature of the warm Gulf wash over me.

So, we had a super week at your house and hope to be there again someday. As I gazed at the lovely dunes and vegetation in front of the house, I fantasized that a group of your friends could buy the lot in front of the house to keep it natural. I love those dunes and the sweet smell of the bay species or whatever it is that is so characteristic of the area.

Thank you again!!

Best wishes,
Barbara

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: September 26, 2004   Date of arrival: September 26, 2004

My family spent a wonderful week at this beautiful beachhome this summer. The pictures on the internet really don't do this place justice. It is really wonderful. Everything you need is here, all you need are groceries. We really enjoyed every minute. Hope to visit again. I just called and found out that all is well with your beachhome I'm glad Ivan didn't do any damage. God Bless
Mary Naugher

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 10, 2004   Date of arrival: May 10, 2004

Thank you for sharing your home with us. Your house is absolutely beautiful, not to mention how wonderfully it is located on the beach! The views are spectacular! Between the home and the beach, our vacation gave us the much needed relaxation and fun! The daily visits from "Flipper and family" were equally fun! We hope to be back several times before next year's "family vacation"!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 20, 2004   Date of arrival: April 20, 2004

Thank You for the wonderful vacation. everyone enjoyed your beautiful home,the dolphins and the white sand beach. We hope to come and enjoy the Cape again next year. A perfect place for a family get away. The McGues and Kamermans

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 14, 2004   Date of arrival: April 14, 2004

This house and location are beautiful! We loved waking up to dolphins and ending our day with gorgeous sunsets! The kids especially enjoyed the bunk beds and their own TV in their room! The Cape and this house are tops on our list!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review