reviews for: listing #176419ha - Playa Hermosa (Guanacaste), Costa Rica rental

Spectacular Ocean/Beach Views, Mtn. Top, 5 Star Luxury, Hot Tub
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • rates (USD)  $ 266 - $ 714 / night
    $ 2,500 - $ 4,999 / week
    $ 7,466 / month
  • sleeps  14
  • pets considered  no

sort by:

Beautiful, amazing and private

Review submitted: February 16, 2014   Date of arrival: October 25, 2013

This property is over the top even if it was in the USA.. Martha has decorated her home 5 star. From the moment you walk in you will be awestruck. The kitchen allows everyone to work together on the cooking .Real fun .The view is amazing and you could just sit on the deck and look out all day or sip wine and relax. The pool area is beautiful. If you go here you will not in any way be dissapointed. We will return. The service on all needs was promptly met . We had a large family of Monkeys living in the trees to the right of the pool view. Three king beds made everyone feel Royal. Twin beds for grand kids made it perfect in room next to mom and dad. Dave and Joyce J.

Owners response: Thank You for your kind words. We strive to maximize your experience.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Home

Review submitted: January 5, 2014   Date of arrival: December 5, 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful one week stay at this home. The beauty of the house, gardens, ocean view and artwork are inspiring and the furnishings make it comfortable to live in. You can enjoy quiet mornings in the pool and watch for shooting stars at night. It was wonderful to come back from a long day of exploration to enjoy a relaxing evening at the pool or watching TV. There is so much to do at the house and in the area. Milagro Management and Sibu Tours were helpful and excellent in every way. We enjoyed a delicious in-house dinner and massages on the outdoor deck. It was spacious for our family of four but we could easily see returning with other couples. And if anyone is wondering, the monkeys really did come into the trees.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family of 7 in heaven!

Review submitted: November 5, 2013   Date of arrival: October 3, 2013

I really don’t think there are enough descriptive adjectives that could express the beauty of this home and its location!...

My family and I arrived in Costa Rica during October, and even though I was nervous about our arrival during rainy season, it did not rain each day until 4-5:00ish, and one day it never rained. The weather was beautiful, and the lines for outings were nil to none because it was low season. I highly recommend “low/rainy” season and this beautiful home!!!

This home has exquisite vaulted-wood ceilings in the living room and kitchen. The trim work is gorgeous, the attention to detail is spectacular, and the views from EVERYWHERE are breath taking!! I can’t say that enough…. The views are gorgeous from EVERYWHERE!!! Inside and outside lighting is superb, and the kitchen has a multitude of appliances and a cupboard full of spices for your use. The views from three of the four bedrooms are to die for, and the accessibility of a full kitchen upstairs and a downsized kitchen down stairs makes it nice for all guests. Each bedroom had an exit to the outdoor pool area, so if there was no need to come to the kitchen for morning coffee, straight to the pool we/they could go!! I did find my 20-something year old children out by the pool one morning at 7AM, and their comment was that it was so beautiful that they planned to take in every minute they could!! --- really, 7AM!!

Hermosa Beach and Roberto’s is 3-5 minutes from the house. Roberto’s is RIGHT ON the water and is an open-air environment. They serve fabulous fish burritos and passion fruit margaritas, and they even rent chairs for the beach. We ate dinner at Papagayo Seafood in Coco Beach. If you make reservations at Papagayo Seafood, they will pick you up and take you home. Coco is about 10 minutes away. Golf at Papagayo Golf Club is ok. It is nearby, but if you want to drive an hour to golf, I recommend the Westin Course. We also booked a Palo Verde Riverboat Tour; we visited Danaus Private Reserve. All touring was with Avispa’s Adventure.

We traveled to Arenal La Fortuna area on a 3-4 hour road trip one way, spent the night at Hotel Paraiso, water repelled with Pure Trek, zip lined with Sky Trek, ate dinner at Anchio (woodstove pizza), and ate lunch at Soda Viquez. Great couple of days---recommend highly!

Thanks again, Martha. Your home/environment was enjoyed by all; your hospitality, guidance, and direction at a distance was appreciated much more than you will know!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Thank you for appreciating this wonderful country and our home.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

SPECTACULAR

Review submitted: June 27, 2013   Date of arrival: June 18, 2013

Hi Martha I'm just letting you know that we very much appreciate the rental of your house in Costa Rica. It is absolutely beautiful. A spectacular home in a spectacular setting. Everything went well as Laura and her staff were very helpful. Just wanted to follow up With an email. We thank you very very much.
Bill

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

SUPERB !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Review submitted: April 14, 2013   Date of arrival: March 19, 2013

I just wanted to send you a quick note to thank you for the use of your home for our vacation. I don’t need to tell you how truly amazing it is, you already know this! But I do want to tell you how much I appreciate that you gave us great rate that made it affordable for my husband and I. We definitely celebrated my 50th birthday in style and I’m certain, in the nicest house in all of Costa Rica!!

We have rented many homes before but they have all had the certain “rental” feel. With your design sense and taste in artwork, we felt so at home.
Thanks again Martha, I do hope we have the opportunity to come back some day .

Sincerely,

Judy & Mario Antunes

Owners response: You enjoyed a slice of paradise.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Family Vacation

Review submitted: July 22, 2012   Date of arrival: July 12, 2012

My husband and I decided we would give our family a special present at Christmas - a vacation to the destination of their choice. On Christmas eve, they choose Costa Rica and soon after, I decided on The Palms for our summer trip.

Pictures pale to the beauty of this elegant home, perfectly situated on the Pacific coast. The vistas are wide open and spectacular. The monkeys really do come up near the home on jaunts through the treetops. If you're worried about visiting in the summer, don't! We had great weather. Yes, it was hot, but the pool, the indoor and outdoor fans and the way the breezes swept across the decks kept us happy and comfortable. Clouds would pass during the afternoon and maybe a little sprinkle. We did have quite a storm one afternoon, but even the storm was a thing of beauty to watch from The Palms.

We made delicious family meals in the cook's kitchen. It was so nice to see both of our children and their spouses, along with our granddaughter gathered around the large island preparing breakfast and dinner each day. Every detail in this home was amazing. The bedrooms suites, the indoor and outdoor living areas, the art and the pool, etc.

The Costa Rican people were so welcoming and Milagro Management was great too! The new airport was also really convenient, which was geat after a long day of travel.

Thank you for a giving us a very special faimly memory!

Owners response: We are so glad you enjoyed our slice of paradise.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our Costa Rica Vacation

Review submitted: April 19, 2010   Date of arrival: April 3, 2010

Our vacation over Spring Break and Easter 2010 - at this beautiful home was really great. The house has great views - a fantastic pool and the house decor is reall beautiful. Pamela and Jeffry are two of the most patient and polite property managers we have ever met. They bent over backwards to ensure that an air conditioner problem was fixed in a timely manner. Jeffry stayed with the workers while my family enjoyed time at the pool while the unit was being worked on. He stayed late and worked on a Saturday - all without complaining - so unlike his American counterparts. Once the problem was discovered by Pamela and Jeffry were there trying to ensure we were comfortable and taken care of. Their customer support was outstanding. They need to come here and teach others how to provide customer support with a smile and action. Thanks to Martha - for opening her home and to the Management team in Costa Rica. I would recommend that anyone wanting to come to Costa Rica to check out this home - it is close to the airport, has nice beaches, tourist towns for gifts, great river rides to see the monkeys, and close enough to drive to the Volcano and see the action.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Lifetime Experience

Review submitted: July 27, 2009   Date of arrival: July 18, 2009

Our family just returned from the most incredible trip of our lifetimes to Costa Rica. We found this house on-line and while the pictures are accurate, staying in this palace on top of Monte Paraiso (Mount Paradise) was incredible to say the least. The construction of the home, the amenities, views, climate and the people of Costa Rica are unbelievable. Milagro Mangement was more than ready to advise us and help us in anyway we needed. We flew into Liberia and rented a car from Adobe Rentals for the short 25 minute trip to the home. We were literally 3 hours from the best that Costa Rica had to offer. We did not do any of the organized tours and feel we had more flexiblity in doing the things we wanted. In our week stay we managed to go snorkeling on the Kuna Vela sailboat (highly recommended), surfing in Tamarindo (taking a back road home through the jungle, 4WD is a must), sunning and walking on the beaches including Hermosa, Panama, Coco, Tamarindo and Ocotal. We took a day trip to the volcano Rincon de la Veija where we went tubing down the Rio Negro (very exciting) and zip-lining (some rapelling and rock climbing) through the canopies and over magnificent rock canyons. The wildlife exhibit at The Congo Trail, especially playing with the monkeys and holding the snakes, was a memory all it's own. We ate at Papagyos Seafood in Coco, Father Roosters in Ocotal, Pizza Bocelli in Hermosa and Maria Bonita a few kilometers from Coco - all excellent. We returned to the comfort of this home every night and lounged in the pool and relaxed. While it is called the rainy season, it was sunny every morning until about noon and then got cloudy, some light showers. Weather was perfect, 70's at night and 80's during the day completely predictable. The people of Costa Rica are extremely friendly, helpful and happy. A nice break from the fast pace of the USA. If anyone wants all the comfort of home for a vacation, but in a castle on a mountain, this is it.

Joe and Judy

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

A Great Vacation

Review submitted: July 27, 2009   Date of arrival: July 18, 2009

Martha,

Just had to send a quick note to thank you so much for letting us enjoy your exquisite home in Costa Rica. We got back late last night after a bumpy ride into DFW. Your home, the view and experiencing the culture made this the most enjoyable and unforgettable experiences our family has ever had. We enjoyed all the sights and sounds, snorkeling, surfing (beginners of course), zip-lining in the canopies, tubing and eating some great food. We did always look forward to returning to your home for a comfortable evening in the pool or relaxing. The architecture, interior decorations and quality construction were simply amazing. The weather was super with few storms. Pamela and Jeffery at Milagro Management were so helpful and answered every question we came up with and we appreciate their assistance in making our stay enjoyable.

Thank you again and have a blessed 2009.

Joe & Judy

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Heaven

Review submitted: July 21, 2009   Date of arrival: July 11, 2009

If you are looking for a gloriously beautiful home, gorumet kitchen fully stocked, beautiful art, fantistic views, romantic pool, comfortable beds and great bathrooms this is the place. We didn't plan on cooking but the fish is so fresh at Papagio's (15min ride) we bought lots of telapia, snapper and Bar-B-Ques so inviting we just enjoyed staying in. Restaurants Ginger (15min ride) and Finisterra (5min ride) for dinner we delicous. The Four Season is a bit of a ride but for lunch it's not expensive and well worth the trip. Costa Rica is warm, welcoming and the people you will encounter are always gracious and helpful. Trips to Arnel Volcano, Zip Line at Arnel is the best, visit Ricon de la Vejha, the therma baths..just all of it was for us a once in a life time experience, toped by this marvelous house. We have traveled quite a bit, this was by far the most enjoyable overall. We were a party of six and had the best of the best. Pam at Milagro Management & Rentals is just wonderful. She makes sure you are happy and have all that you want and need. Thanks to all those we encountered, hope to return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Paradise Personified

Review submitted: July 19, 2009   Date of arrival: July 11, 2009

We just returned from our magnificent week at our Dream House in Playa Hermosa. The minute we walked through the front door, we knew we had made the oh-so-right choice of vacation homes. There was nothing we looked for in the kitchen that wasn't there. The huge pantry was equipped with so many items you normally don't find in a vacation home, i.e. numerous spices and condiments for cooking in the most incredible kitchen I've ever seen and a barbecue (there were actually 2) that you would expect to see in a 5-star hotel.

Although the restaurants we ate in were all wonderful, our 3 nights cooking and eating in were even more special and fun. The Infinity Pool was lovely, big and had spectacular views, though only about 4 feet deep so not really for advanced swimming or diving. There is a Jacuzzi but it didn't seem to be working, but we didn't even miss it. Three of the 4 bedrooms have king beds and all have the wonderful views of the water and doors to the patios and pool. The "master bedroom/bath" were huge and had so much space for clothes and toiletries. The ceiling and headboard was painted with an incredible forest scene, inclusive of monkey and coconut tree. The house was spotless upon our arrival and the mid-week cleaning and linen change was ample. Martha, the owner was very helpful prior to our arrival, answering any questions we had and offering suggestions of tours and restaurants. There was a very informative looseleaf binder in the house with even more info. The property caretakers/agency (Milagro) were also amazingly helpful and attentive. Pam was especially nice, warm, and met all our needs.

We visited Arenel Volcano with a tour guide, zip-lined and Hot Springs (a must-do trip) - though some of the roads are very rough.

The local restaurants we ate in (all within a few minutes drive) were La Finsterra (in a hotel with fabulous ocean views) - we actually had dinner there one night and returned for happy hour and watching the sunset, Ginger, a trendy tapas style and Papagayo seafood, where they catch the fish fresh daily - were all top New York quality types, for little more than half the price.

To summarize, many times when you select a vacation home from pictures on the internet, you are sometimes disapppointed. Palms Casa #15 is so much more than we hoped for - we didn't want to leave, would return again, and recommend to everyone!!

Thank you, Martha for sharing your home with us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

PERFECT HOME - INCREDIBLE VIEW - FIRST CLASS!

Review submitted: April 18, 2009   Date of arrival: April 4, 2009

Great home only 25 minutes from the Liberia, Cost Rica airport with excellent property management staff (Jeffry). Views are amazing and amenities are first class. Located on the top of the mountain overlooking the Pacific and Playa Hermosa beach...it's absolutley stunning. Safe and secure located in the gated development of Mt. Paraiso, the home is large (7k sq ft) and is a one minute drive down the mountain to the beach. Playa Hermosa is ideal...very few tourists and no vendors trying to sell you tshirts or jewelry. Small grocery (Luperon) located 2 minutes from the home with 3 large USA style groceries in Playa Coco only 7k away. Plenty of choices for restaurants including Ginger, Boccelli for brick oven pizza and local Tico establishments that show care and true hospitality to their guests. This home was perfect for our family of 7...would be great for 4 couples as well. I wouldn't hesitate to stay at this property again...first class all the way.
Thanks!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review