reviews for: listing #17657 - Surry, Maine House rental

2/1.5 home w/ 8 acres on ocean! 30 min to Bar Harbor
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $900 - $1,600 /wk

sort by:

This place is Amazing

Review submitted: October 10, 2012   Date of arrival: September 22, 2012

All I can say is this place is amazing. We have been there twice this year. Once in May 2012 and then again just in September 2012. Bar Harbor has become a place that my husband and I cannot live without.

This house is spacious, and a great choice for anyone who has a large dog in particular. There is enough room for the dog to roam freely, and even go into the water. Our dog, and italian mastiff/pitbull mix was running around having a blast. It is quiet. IF someone is sleeping in the back bedroom, you can't even hear what is going on in the living room. The views are amazing. Sitting out in the lanai drinking my coffee in the morning is very relaxing. Coming back after a day of hiking or shopping and lighting the fireplace is also amazing. We will continue to rent this house as long as we can.

The Bar Harbor area is the most dog-friendly place we have ever been so far. Maximus (our dog) is allowed in all the stores on the main strip. While we shop, he comes in the stores and gets treats in just about all of them He can walk on Cadillac Mt with us while we take our pictures and enjoy everything we do. It truly is amazing considering, here in NJ, I can't even take him to an outdoor flea market.

The ride to Bar Harbor from this house is about 25 minutes, but if you like pieceful and quiet, this is the place for you. The prviacy alone is worth every dollar. It has a full Kitchen, washer /dryer and it is clean.

I HIGHLY recommend staying here. For the amount of money you spend, its so much more worth it to say here as opposed to some stuffy hotel or even a tiny little cabin.

This is my favorite place we have stayed!

You will love it just as we did. Though it sleeps 10 people, it is nice for a couple and their dog too!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

rental property review

Review submitted: December 27, 2011   Date of arrival: June 5, 2011

My family and I were looking for a wonderful, quiet home on the ocean with a lot of property and near Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. This home was perfect! It is a nice home with a very large living room and a great view of the ocean. It is on 8.5 acres and far from the road with lots of woods and area for our kids and dogs (both loved the property equally as well). And being right on the ocean there is very easy access to the public seashore where you can walk for miles and miles and miles looking for crabs, seashells etc. The home came with internet (although we tried very hard never to use it) and had all of the amenities with plenty of room to sleep our party of six. It also has a full basement with a complete washer and dryer and has an enclosed porch that is wonderful for relaxing. The drive to Bar Harbor is only about 30 minutes - close enough to get to the park easily but far enough away to get such a great and private property for a reasonable amount of money. Anyway, we hope to come back here as soon as possible!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks John for your thoughtful review. We hope you choose to stay again with us in the near future!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Romantic Getaway and Adventure Near Bar Harbor

Review submitted: April 10, 2011   Date of arrival: July 19, 2010

This house was perfect for our romantic getaway last summer. We were near Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park, so we were able to hike and enjoy the other outdoor activities in this beautiful coastal area. There is a fully stocked kitchen, so we prepared our own meals and enjoyed the view of the inlet while we ate. After long days of hiking, we came home and relaxed in front of the fireplace. There is a full-size washer and dryer, so we were able to do a few loads of laundry, which was very helpful. The owners have done a great job of maintaining this property.

I would definitely recommend this house to my friends and family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your review! Most of the people that have stayed at the home over the years are repeat guests that absolutely loved the location, property, house and the peace and quiet. And almost all of the remaining guests have been referred to us by a previous guest.

Unlike many of the properties that might be listed for rental, this is a complete home with a full basement and of course all of the other amenities of a home. Indeed, the kitchen is 'stocked' (you have to supply your own food of course) and all of the linens and everything else you need are all ready for you. And of course the home is right on the ocean and only about 20 minutes from the entrance of Acadia National Park...which is close enough to the park but far enough away to have complete peace, quiet and tranquility!

Thanks again for your wonderful review. As always, we loved having you as our guest!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful home away from home on the Atlantic!

Review submitted: April 9, 2011   Date of arrival: June 4, 2010

We had the pleasure if staying here on our Maine adventure. We could not be more happy with the selection. The location is very peaceful without distractions yet it is within minutes of the nice city of Ellsworth and it is an easy half hour drive to gorgeous Acadia National Park and Bar Harbor.

The appliances were all new and the house was updated with many new features and provided all of the comforts of home. We were able to grocery shop in nearby Ellsworth and cook dinner and eat breakfast everyday before and after our adventures in Acadia.

The home has an incredible open floorplan in the living area and is perfect for a a getaway for a family or group of friends. There was much more room than we imagined and having our own private view of the ocean right outside was perfect! The fireplace was great for relaxing and cuddling after a day of hiking and cycling through Acadia.

We're planning on returning again with a group of friends!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your nice review. We have been renting the home for over six years now and many of our guests have come back multiple times. Although July and August are always sold out, perhaps the best months to come are September and October when all the leaves are changing colors - it really is amazing. Anyway, thanks again for your nice review!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review