reviews for: listing #17669vb - Dominical, Costa Rica rental

Better Than Beach Very Private Killer View Beauty Everywhere
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • rates (USD)  $ 160 - $ 357 / night
    $ 945 - $ 2,500 / week
  • sleeps  9
  • pets considered  yes

sort by:

LOVED OUR STAY!!

Review submitted: February 4, 2014   Date of arrival: January 5, 2014

Las Siete Cascadas was just what we needed - 10 days of bliss and relaxation. The house is beautifully situated high up in the mountain with cool breezes, so no need for a/c's. We were mesmerized by the gorgeous views across the valley with the Pacific Ocean in the background, the beautiful grounds with lots of trees and flowers, numerous birds, and the sounds of the jungle, including the sound of the waterfall. All this made us lounge around the house without wanting to leave the property. We'll always remember the two afternoons of torrential rains and watch the fog roll in, while sitting in the living room with all doors wide open to the outside. Totally private and tranquil, we were able to open the two walls to blend the indoors with the beautiful outdoors. It felt like we were living with nature at our foot steps - Pura Vida. The owners, who live on the 50 acres property in their separate house for part of the year, were wonderful from the first time we inquired throughout our stay and their suggestions of places to visit and restaurants to eat were spot on. You do need a 4x4 to drive the 10 minutes to the house on the unpaved road, but it is all worth it when arriving at the property and all its beauty.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Christmas in Paradise… A glimpse into Heaven !!!!

Review submitted: January 22, 2014   Date of arrival: December 24, 2013

Christmas is a time to celebrate the miracle of life and what blessing to be surrounded by such beauty .Sumptuousness and lush the main house and cabinas were not only meticulously designed ,comfortable and peaceful beyond my expectations. I felt like child eating ice cream for the first time ,giddy with the magic and beauty that nature created and the flawless landscaped elegance and comfort that surrounded me. Thank you !

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Stunning views, magical waterfalls and deep jungle sleeps

Review submitted: January 6, 2014   Date of arrival: December 24, 2013

After one night, I was relaxed, refreshed, and dare say... rejuvenated!!! The cabina is luxuriously and tastefully designed to maximize the experience with nature... in all it's glory. From expansive, panoramic views of the sea (sunset is an event unto itself!!!)... to discovering magical waterfalls and swimming in jungle pools... while in the background there is the steady, nurturing sound of nature (jungle and waterfall!!). The experience is good for the body, mind and soul!
Situated just 30 minutes from the beach, it is very accessible but extremely private. The hosts were incredible and helped us with our every need. Highly recommended for every type of traveller.... and thoroughly enjoyed by this one!!!! A veritable Garden of Eden in the sky!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A magical place

Review submitted: May 22, 2013   Date of arrival: March 5, 2013

If you have the great luck of spending time at the Siete Cascadas, you are very fortunate. The view from this exceptional domain takes your eye deep into a mysterious teeming jungle valley and out to the infinite horizon of the Pacific Ocean. Kites and vultures soar above and below. A multitude of birds sing, fly and nest all around, and you will want your binoculars handy. Every sleeping cabina stands alone, a short walking distance from the main living area, which is great for privacy. As you can see from the photos, the decor is beautiful, and when we were there in March, the temperature was always perfect, and we enjoyed the openness of the house. The kitchen is well appointed, making it a pleasure to prepare meals, and there is a sweet garden where you can find herbs. The beds are comfortable with good quality linens and pillows.
The days we spent there with our two teenage daughters were nothing short of spectacular. The owners sent us a detailed guide to print out, which we found to be invaluable. In it, besides a lot of useful, practical details, they include a generous offering of insider tips, of things to do and places to go that can only come from people who know the area well, who love it and want you to have a glorious stay. We recommend you read it carefully and plan a few of the activities they list. We rented a 4 X 4 and were happy to have it, as parts of the access road are pretty bumpy. We rented the vehicle ahead of time, by phone, from Brunca Rentals in San Isidro, and it went smoothly. To get back to San Jose, we took the Musoc bus in San Isidro; it was on time, safe, comfortable and inexpensive, and took us through the mountains, with spectacular vistas.
We loved Don Lulo's horseback trek to Nuyaca Falls, and the hike to El Diamante, both memorable adventures, and the beach, and the feria market on Thursday, and it goes on... But we also treasured just being around the house, taking in the beauty, the sounds, the atmosphere of such an amazing place.
An epic vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Siete Cascadas perfectly enchanting

Review submitted: May 4, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2012

Our adult family spent two weeks at Siete Cascadas in Alfombra and felt like we were in heaven the whole time. We visited during rainy season, so after hot mornings at the Dominical beach we came "home" to cool off, watch the rains and rainbows, and take evening strolls down to the waterfall to swim. The main cabina is a wonderful meeting place for the group, the kitchen is well-equipped, the dining room magical, the sleeping cabinas magical, the deck overlooking the Pacific and the valley amazing. We are planning on going back as soon as we can coordinate the schedules of our family and friends. (We even had guests from home who were easily accommodated in the various sleeping quarters.) Maria and Jose, the caretakers, couldn't have been kinder or more helpful. We had lots of laundry, and Maria helped us out with this almost daily. Abby, the german shepherd, and Pinky, the "Costa Rican" dog were also a hit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Maxine(Alberta)

Review submitted: February 22, 2011   Date of arrival: February 8, 2011

This is truly a paradise. It is very tranquill, the temperature is always "just right", and the view is absolutely fabulous. Beware of the jungle pool though, it makes your clothes fall off!! The only thing that I wasn't expecting was the road in. It is very primitive, but very passable. Just make sure you have a 4x4. Jose-the groundskeeper, does a great job of keeping everything, and is very approachable if a problem or question arises.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 5, 2010   Date of arrival: August 1, 2009

"We cannot possibly describe the magnificent time we had at your home. We were completely spellbound by its beauty and by your touch and details. I hope to bring my brother, the real birder of the two of us next year for his 50th birthday. I know I will never see him as he will be up at dawn and not back till dusk.(I spent hours birding myself!) We saw and confirmed 42 bird species from your deck including a pair of laughing falcons. WOW!" S. Mooney

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 5, 2010   Date of arrival: July 4, 2009

"We had an awesome time. Your place is beautiful (jungle pools are my new favorite) and we found all to be in good order. If any problems arose, M and J were quick to fix and very pleasant. We would love to have them here on a daily basis! " M. Lotte

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 5, 2010   Date of arrival: July 4, 2009

"We had a wonderful week: your house is delightful... This was one of a few vacations that I was not looking forward to going back home.' y

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 5, 2010   Date of arrival: May 2, 2009

"Your house is phenomenal- the layout works for privacy and the common room brings all together . We did the horseback falls, rain forest zip lines, swam in the Pacific, skinny dipped in your jungle pool, drank much too much, ate like royalty and read 12 books collectively. Absolutely wonderful. For sure a return trip in the future."

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review