reviews for: listing #17673 - Cayman Islands, Caribbean Condo rental

Original Island Beachfront Living
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Cayman Kai
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $145 - $225 /nt
    $980 - $1,575 /wk

sort by:

A little piece of paradise

Review submitted: July 23, 2014   Date of arrival: July 8, 2014

Our great experience renting this unit began even before we arrived with Susan's extremely helpful emails. The Sea Lodge had everything we needed during our stay including a well equipped kitchen for cooking in, a comfy king bed, and a lovely hammock to star gaze in each night. The beach was our own private paradise as we only saw our neighbors on occasion and the snorkeling was some of the best on the island. We would highly recommend the Sea Lodge for anyone who desires to get away from it all and enjoy a relaxing and fun vacation in paradise. As a side note, we recommend a car rental for the ability to get groceries, explore other parts of the island and enjoy the occasional night out.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing accommodations and beach location!

Review submitted: June 18, 2014   Date of arrival: June 10, 2014

This was my first time to the Caribbean. I was looking for quiet, clean and relaxing...I got all 3 and then some.

The Sea Lodges are beautifully kept and the location is just rural enough to satisfy my desire of quiet. The white sandy beach was a 30 second walk. The water was blue and warm. I loved being able to walk back to the Sea Lodge throughout the day :)

I will be back!!!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The location is tranquil,beautiful and relaxing.

Review submitted: May 19, 2014   Date of arrival: May 12, 2014

The location is tranquil,beautiful and relaxing. All the rooms were comfortable,we lacked for nothing. I enjoyed reading the journal entries from other guests. I appreciated all the fans,because it gets hot,but I loved hearing the rolling waves,and to feel the breeze. I would recommend this place to anyone who wants a quiet getaway. There weren't many guests around,which was perfect for me. I'm a nurse and have to be around people for hours. I really enjoyed not having to be too social this vacation! We walked up to Rum Point,and saw a fantastic sunset. We ate at Over the Edge,and had some delicious fish. We snorkled every day,and loved what we saw. Kenny spotted a nurse shark,barracuda and we saw the same sting ray 2 days in a row. (It's tail was broken,so we were able to identify him) What a glorious week seeing God's creation that's under the sea! We're so glad to have had a chance to stay in the Caymans. Thank you,Becky Grundei

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Incredible Experience!

Review submitted: May 12, 2014   Date of arrival: April 5, 2014

Kiwi Kai was more than we could have asked for, and even though we endured a hard long winter in Michigan and some simple pleasures would have sufficed, this exceeded our expectations. Susan was extremely thorough in answering any questions we had, and she supplied us with more than enough information.
The few owners and vacationers we did come across at the lodge were very friendly and always willing to help, answer questions, or give tips. For example, our neighbor shared that they had lunch and beverages at not only a good deal, but also tasty with great views. Kaibo Yacht Club was great; my only regret is that we didn't discover it until it was too late to dine there for a formal dinner (Thursday through Sunday). In our opinion, Kiwi Kai had one of the best beaches on the island, and we did explore the island. 7 Mile Beach was touristy and overly crowded. We did find a secluded beach farther to the north but only to discover the water was infested with sea urchins! If we wanted more people interaction, we would just snorkel or walk our way to Rum Point (the snorkeling was fabulous!), or venture over to Kaibo Yacht Club. Our snorkel and Sting Ray City pkg. from Rum Point was definitely worth the money and time. The colors of life took our breaths away, and the sting rays were an incredible experience.
All the units at Kiwi Kai are kept up nicely, and they all have spectacular views of the ocean. Great sleep with the bedroom door open listening to the waves breaking. Meals on the screened-in porch were delightful as well. Our unit was clean and aesthetically pleasing. We had a great mix of activity and relaxation. Normally, my wife and I like to travel to different islands or countries for vacations, but we both agreed we would return to this glimpse of heaven, with or without our children.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Kiwi Kai Sea Lodge

Review submitted: May 10, 2014   Date of arrival: April 26, 2014

My husband and I stayed for a week at the Kiwi Kai Sea Lodge on Grand Cayman Island. It was out first trip to that island and we loved it. Susan's sea lodge was wonderful - it had everything we needed, and walking right out to the beach was my favorite part! We found the snorkeling right off our beach to be excellent and for me, a novice snorkeler, it was ideal. We could walk to a few restaurants, and were able to explore parts of the island that tourists often don't see. Rum Point is lovely and we highly recommend the formal restaurant there- our favorite!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful Beach Front Walk Out!

Review submitted: December 12, 2013   Date of arrival: December 1, 2013

This is our second time staying at the Sea Lodges, the first in Kiwi Kai. The property is well kept and the beach is clean, big and sandy. Kiwi Kai is a beautiful little condo with views of the ocean from every window. Both the front and back patios are screened. The washer and dryer are in a small closet, no sharing with other renters or going to a laundry room! The back patio has an amazing view of the ocean. We ate most meals on the comfortable patio furniture and enjoyed the breeze. My husband really enjoyed the hammock. I enjoyed to lounge chairs and sun! 85 every day. Beautiful sunrises.

The condo itself really is nicely equipped! We ate all breakfasts, most lunches and most dinners at the condo. I love to cook and found everything I needed to make GREAT meals, even a garlic press. It's the small things that make a difference. We packed lunches in the coolers provided, so we could enjoy other beaches and not rush back for meals. Ice cubes were in the freezer and the blender made great mudslides! The WiFi was speedy. We had iPhones and were able to send iMessages and FaceTime with family and use the docking station to stream music. All the furnishings were in nice shape. Everything was neat and clean.

The manager greeted us at the door and was very plesant. We had a number and could call her with any questions.The flowers left on the kitchen table were a sweet touch. Half way through our stay, the microwave died. It was replaced within a day! Great staff! Sue provided great communication before, during and after our stay. We felt the rental price was good and the description on HomeAway was accurate.

This is the quiet side of the island and the drive into Georgetown for dinner or shopping takes about 45 minutes. There are a few restaurants much closer, which were enjoyable, but we chose to stay in half our nights and just eat by candlelight ;) There are some DVDs and we did watch a few movies. Heads up, there is no Cable TV service. Hubby and I went and watched a Football game at Over The Edge, they have the NFL package :)

We spent one day at Rum Point. A beach with bar, outside eating, volleyball and water sports. Lots of fun! We had a car, which is necessary and explored the entire island. A different beach or snorkel spot every day.

This beach vacation was just an amazing way to connect with my husband and relax. The reviews are all true! This is a lovely, relaxing place to stay in paradise

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Best Vacation!

Review submitted: May 24, 2013   Date of arrival: May 17, 2013

This is such a piece of paradise. When I was booking this vacation, I tried to find at least one bad review and couldn't and now I know why. Kiwi Kai is so beautiful and relaxing. Susan's place is perfect! Clean, well equipped, and feels like home. The ocean view is amazing. We don't have one complaint. Plenty of room, towels, and lots of little touches. Susan was awesome to work with. She is quick to communicate and made sure we were set to go with all the information we needed. We came to the Cayman's as boyfriend/girlfriend and are leaving engaged!! This place will always be special to us.

And the reviews aren't misleading about the private beach. We saw many two people on the beach the entire week. The snorkeling is fantastic and it's only a couple of steps away. I highly encourage you to book Kiwi Kai. You won't regret it.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Little Things

Review submitted: April 6, 2013   Date of arrival: March 28, 2013

My husband and I really liked both the amenities and the location of Susan's unit. It is a strategically well designed place with great ocean views and easy access to the beach. And, at the end of the day....a very comfortable king size bed. If you are there when the weather does not cooperate (we had some high winds for the first couple of days), there are plenty of books and games, and enough space to enjoy food and drinks. Overall, it was the little things/amenities in the unit that kept on suprising and pleasing us, including the eclectic CD collection! Way to go, Susan - you have a great beachside retreat that really clicks all the buttons!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Paradise Found!

Review submitted: October 29, 2012   Date of arrival: October 13, 2012

If you are looking for a place to stay in Grand Cayman that is away from the chaos of 7 Mile Beach..don't waste your time...look no more! I always do my homework when I book a place and I spent lots of time checking all the websites etc etc and landed on Sea Lodge 18 at Kiwi Kai. It is everything and more that is advertised..quiet, relaxing, beautiful, completely equipped close to amenities and restaurants but far enough away from the tourist madness when the cruise ships that are in. And snorkeling from your doorstep that is simply breathtaking. Seriously folks..look no further..this place is amazing and we were thrilled to have spent 11 nights there

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

love love love kiwi kai

Review submitted: October 2, 2012   Date of arrival: August 24, 2012

Kiwi Kai is amazing! We spent a week in paradise. So relaxing, peaceful and serene. Susan's place is beautiful, tranquil and very clean. Everything we could possibly need was in our sea lodge, it is like home away from home. Susan was such a help in planning our trip, she answered all questions promptly and sent us a map and coupon package that was very helpful on our stay. We enjoyed many excursions around the island and found equal enjoyment staying in and relaxing on the hammock on the porch as well. We spent a lot of time on the beach right out back and would take walks to rum point as well. It was so amazing falling asleep to the sounds of waves crashing and waking up to the same beautiful sound.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Paradise Found

Review submitted: September 30, 2012   Date of arrival: August 31, 2012

On arriving at Sea Lodges you are welcomed by a collection of attached cozy cottages perched on what has to be the most beautiful part of the Caymans. Situated near Rum Point on the quiet north side of the Island, Sea Lodge #18 Kiwi Kai provides an open, airy way to enjoy the sea breezes while you feast your eyes on the turquoise water of the Caribbean. Every morning we enjoyed watching colorful sunrises and eating breakfast on the screened patio. The local cat adopted us the first day and was always there to greet us in the morning as well as meowing good night to us each night.

Comfortable and homey, Kiwi Kai has everything you need to enable a self sufficient stay without having to eat out for every meal. Since we were visiting in the off season when the weather is warmer, we welcomed the fans to help bring in the cooler sea breezes. With the front and back patios screened, we never had to be concerned with mosquitoes and other undesired critters.

Snorkeling in the water out front is a lot of fun and we also enjoyed the palm covered structure on the beach to protect us from the sun while we lounged in its shade cooled by the breeze coming off the water. We could just sit for hours and soak up the view.

It is a short walk to Rum Point either along the beach or the road. Since there are some coral outcroppings along the beach path, it is faster to walk on the road. Rum Point is a great place to enjoy water sports, snorkeling, swimming and people watch when the occasional tour groups arrive from the cruise ships. Everyone should sign up for a sunset cruise and a trip to stingray city with Red Sails Water Sports. Those two events were the highlight of our stay.

This was definitely the most relaxing vacation we have ever taken. Susan, the owner, provides every detail you need to have an enjoyable stay on the island. Prior to our arrival we had used the material she provided to better understand where to go and what to do during our wonderful 9 day stay. Thanks to Susan, we had a worry free enjoyable stay in her little piece of paradise.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Paradise Found

Review submitted: September 30, 2012   Date of arrival: August 31, 2012

On arriving at Sea Lodges you are welcomed by a collection of attached cozy cottages perched on what has to be the most beautiful part of the Caymans. Situated near Rum Point on the quiet north side of the Island, Sea Lodge #18 Kiwi Kai provides an open, airy way to enjoy the sea breezes while you feast your eyes on the turquoise water of the Caribbean. Every morning we enjoyed watching colorful sunrises and eating breakfast on the screened patio. The local cat adopted us the first day and was always there to greet us in the morning as well as meowing good night to us each night.

Comfortable and homey, Kiwi Kai has everything you need to enable a self sufficient stay without having to eat out for every meal. Since we were visiting in the off season when the weather is warmer, we welcomed the fans to help bring in the cooler sea breezes. With the front and back patios screened, we never had to be concerned with mosquitoes and other undesired critters.

Snorkeling in the water out front is a lot of fun and we also enjoyed the palm covered structure on the beach to protect us from the sun while we lounged in its shade cooled by the breeze coming off the water. We could just sit for hours and soak up the view.

It is a short walk to Rum Point either along the beach or the road. Since there are some coral outcroppings along the beach path, it is faster to walk on the road. Rum Point is a great place to enjoy water sports, snorkeling, swimming and people watch when the occasional tour groups arrive from the cruise ships. Everyone should sign up for a sunset cruise and a trip to stingray city with Red Sails Water Sports. Those two events were the highlight of our stay.

This was definitely the most relaxing vacation we have ever taken. Susan, the owner, provides every detail you need to have an enjoyable stay on the island. Prior to our arrival we had used the material she provided to better understand where to go and what to do during our wonderful 9 day stay. Thanks to Susan, we had a worry free enjoyable stay in her little piece of paradise.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Second time around

Review submitted: July 29, 2012   Date of arrival: June 8, 2012

I cannot say enough about our stay at kiwi kai. this was our second stay at the sea lodge,we always stay two weeks and leave wishing we could have stayed longer. you are right on the beach and it is like having your own private beach. the snorkling right off the beach is some of the best on the island. The reef is about 225 yards out and is definitley worth the swim,there are all kinds of marine life to see and you can easily stay out there all day and not see everything there is .the sea lodge is well appointed and soooo comfortable. rum point is just a mile or so down the road and is a great place to go. it is truely Island living .we love it.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Tranquility found!

Review submitted: May 25, 2012   Date of arrival: April 12, 2012

Upon arriving at kiwi Kai, the view of the water takes your breath away! You can't wait to unpack and get settled in to your homeaway from home. Which everything is right in this cozy and comfortable cottage by the sea! Every amenity you could possibly need has been provided. Loved spending time on the enclosed porch eating meals and listening to the sea. By the way, the sea calls you all the time...whether it was to do some snorkeling right outside the door, whatch the sun rise or watch it set, it was spectacular, You can't help but be one with nature here. The sea and the stars and island living put a spell on you, it's called relax and enjoy"

We recommend eating at over the edge, the lighthouse and rum point. All great meals. The carribean barbecue was with a reggae band and all you can eat for $25 each...two for one rum punches. This was also at rum point. Going into Georgetown was a good snorkeling shopping day. Another good day was find sea glass on Boddentown beach. The best days were right outside the sea lodge on the beach! And star gazing at night!

Susan provided all the information needed for an enjoyable vacation. The place was very clean and the layout flowed just like fine wine on the porch! You can do as much as you want to and enjoy doing very little! We will definitely be going back to this little bit of paradise called kiwi kai!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Relaxing at Kiwi Kai

Review submitted: May 22, 2012   Date of arrival: May 7, 2012

We have visited the Sea Lodges before, but this was our first time at Kiwi Kai. Kiwi Kai is a comfortable and cozy lodge that is well maintained. The owners have a relaxing decor--love the white with bright color accents--and have provided little extras for their place that makes it very much worth renting. From having everything you might want in the kitchen, including a good selection of spices, to the extra masks, snorkels, etc. in case you forgot yours or want to try snorkeling for the first time, Kiwi Kai is obviously well loved by its owners. Susan's attention to providing details on things to do on the island, and her communications regarding how things were going/how things went, were very appreciated and indicated to us that she sincerely wants her guests to have a good time and return.

The amazing beach and offshore reef make beginner and experienced snorkelers happy. One of the things I love about the Sea Lodges is that even when there are other guests, you typically feel like you are alone in your own private paradise. Having a grill is fantastic so you can cook for yourself and really you have a better view than most restaurants if you dine on the back porch. Picking up take-out from Over the Edge and sitting on the Kiwi Kai porch watching the sun set and the stars come out is a great way end a day of snorkeling and relaxing on the beach or in Kiwi Kai. On this visit we also explored the Kaibo Beach Club, which is slightly further away than Rum Point but a bit more reasonably priced and more relaxed. You can walk there but it is a bit of a hike in the heat.

Thanks Susan for sharing Kiwi Kai! Can't wait to return.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Caribbean Renewal

Review submitted: May 7, 2012   Date of arrival: April 21, 2012

Having never been to the caribbean, my predeparture expectations were fully formed by the pics provided on Susan's web site and reading of reviews like this one, from previous guest. The description of the location and beach house met every expectation. In most cases, the pictures do not do justice the shear peace and tranquility that is yours the moment you open the back shuttered doors. While the pictures appeal to your visual sense (and they certainly capture what you see beautifully); couple that with the sound from the sea, the moisture to your skin, the smell of the salty ocean, and the hourly change in all and you will understand why pictures just don't capture the essense of the renewing experience that is the North Shore. The house was very clean and provided every imaginable ammenity, including a healthy supply of fans to keep the tropical air stirring - especially appreciated by a city boy like me.

This is a simple place; not by accident, but by design. It begs you to embrace a simplier life, one where, with just a little time, your speech and breathing slow. You begin having conversations with loved ones about topics that haven't crossed your mind in some time. You recognize, appreciate, and begin to focus on God's immence blessings. You truly begin to appreciate the opportunity to experience the sun, the wind, the rain, the sea, and nature. Dusk & dawn took on a whole new meaning.

The snorkling is wonderful - especially for a first-timer. West Bay and Seven Mile Beach was fun and certainly within a reasonable drive by most all standands. Plenty of wonderful food experiences on the island, but I'm not sure me fixing a full and satifying breakfast every morning wasn't right up there as a highlight of the week for my wife. The 20-minute beach walk to Rum Point made for some very enjoyable and relaxing afternoon's; especially when they included mudslides, Cayman lemonaide, and mohitas. The whole island was very enjoyable to explore and while away the hours. Next trip, we would like to branch it out to a day trip to one, or both of the sister islands; Little Cayman & Cayman Brac.

Susan, you could not have been more helpful. We very much appreciated your calling just to check on us. It was a beautiful week and for such a simple little place, captured all, and then some of what I had hoped to achieve by going on this journey of spirit, introspective, & relationship renewal. Kiwi Kai is a special place and we can't wait to return.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Our New Favourite Place in Paradise

Review submitted: December 30, 2011   Date of arrival: December 13, 2011

If you truly want to spend time in paradise and you have every seen the commercials on TV with the water so blue and clear and perfect beaches and you say to yourself I want to be there... going to Grand Cayman Island you will be there and the Sea Lodge is the perfect place to stay to see all that is offered. It's pretty much a private beach with the best snorkeling ever right in your back yard. Susan provides your every need and more... it truly is better than any five star hotel.
Right from the start using McCurley's for your car rental who makes everything so easy for you by picking you up at the airport and driving you to the Sea lodge where your car is waiting for you and picking you up after your stay I must say this service is the best! There is a number of units but Susan unit is the best location, it protects you from the wind and the view from the time you wake up until the sun goes down is just a beautiful sight. Susan provides the best customer service and we have recommended this property to our family and friends. We found that we did spend most of our time cooking meals as eating out can be very expensive but when we did eat out the food was very good. We do expect to return in the near future with our grandchildren as we want to share this wonderful place with them.

Jim and Dianne
Rosemont, Ontario
Canada

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

The Perfect Place to Honeymoon!

Review submitted: June 23, 2011   Date of arrival: June 7, 2011

Kiwi Kai is the perfect private island getaway. If you want peace and quiet, an empty beach with crystal clear water, soft clean sand, and no big waves...this is it. You are only steps away from the ocean and can see it from almost every room in the house. We rarely saw anyone outside and almost never saw anyone else down on the beach.

You can easily walk the beach to Rum Point for lunch or drinks. And not far down the road is a restaurant called Over the Edge, which we went to for dinner twice. They have the most amazing key lime pie!! And you sit on a deck that extends out over the water. Gorgeous even after dark...they have lights under the water.

Susan was amazingly nice, helpful and very easy to get in contact with. Every detail is included in the info. sheets. Tons of helpful info. on shopping and dining as well. The house was exceptionally clean and there were fresh flowers in vases on the kitchen table and even out on the porch!

The first few days were very breezy, but it got very hot and humid toward the end of the trip. The heat was a little hard to adjust to. It stormed a few times, but it would rain for 5 or 10 minutes, then the sun would come out and everything would dry right up. There was never a "rainy day" like we have here.

We highly recommend McCurley's for a rental car. We found ourselves driving all over the island almost every day. Visited the turtle farm, Hell, George Town for shopping, and just drove all around the East End to see what was there. We stopped at a lot of the little public beaches to take pictures and walk out on the piers.

We tried to cook our own food to save money, but found ourselves out for breakfast several times (Wendy's & Dunkin Donuts) and most dinners! Lunch at The Hard Rock gives a wonderful view of the cruise ships and the colorful buildings & shops in George Town.

Got lots of pics with an underwater camera...lots of different fish, lobsters, and rays. Amazing snorkeling in front of the house. Also a great selection of books! It was wonderful to just sit and read instead of watching TV.

It was so good to be on the quiet side of the island. I definitely recommend Kiwi Kai to anyone traveling to Grand Cayman. It was such a wonderful experience. We definitely hope to return someday!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Great Island Get Away!!!

Review submitted: May 26, 2011   Date of arrival: May 13, 2011

We stayed at Kiwi Kai in May 2011 - the cottage is as it's depicted in the photos - bright, comfy, and airy. We had the doors open to allow the breeze through and when the breeze slowed, the ample fans provided kept the sea air moving through the house.

The grill was great to have for cooking meals at home. We found the house to have all the appliances needed for a meals at home.

Susan was amazingly accommodating. She answered every question I had in a timely manner and her information gave us a good orientation to activities, dining, and shopping on the island. All of her recommendations were spot on and made our trip all the better.

The beach and reef outside the cottages was honestly better than the snorkeling excursions out at Stingray city. We saw rays, tons of fish, and lots of beautiful coral. The water was crystal clear and you can swim to Rum Point taking in the sea life. It was wonderful, we'd go out twice a day

We also liked the proximity to Rum Point for additional snorkeling, activities, and for a quick drink or meal.

I would recommend the Kiwi Kai to anyone looking for a simple, quiet, relaxing island experience.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Paradise at Kiwi Kai

Review submitted: May 14, 2011   Date of arrival: May 1, 2011

We just spent 1 week at Susan's Sea Lodge and wished we spent more time. It is very relaxing and beautiful seeing the color of the ocean and feeling the breeze at all times.It has everything that you could want and more. Rum point just minutes down the road was a wonderful place to stay for the day or just a short time. Great time at Kaibo bar as well with great curried grouper. Saw other parts of the island and wished we saw more.Will be going back soon I hope.
Susan makes everything special.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Home Away From Home

Review submitted: April 22, 2011   Date of arrival: April 5, 2011

We spent 2 wonderful weeks at Kiwi Kai and didn't want to leave. Susan provided everything we needed. It was spotlessly clean and well furnished, not overdone. Kiwi Kai is a quiet, relaxing cottage overlooking the blue waters of the ocean. The beach was void of people, except those staying at Sea Lodges and the sand was very soft. With no TV, we reconnected to the way life should be. We had plenty of books and DVD's to entertain us. We found plenty to do in the area: swim with sting rays, snorkel, swim, shop, visit Botanical Gardens, eat and drink. A variety of good restaurants are nearby (some within walking distance) that were not as pricey as the ones in and near George Town, but everyone should try at least one "special" restaurant while on the island. Cooking in is a real money saver and Hurley's Food store has lots of fresh fish. It was a wonderful vacation and we plan to return next year to "the quiet side of the island".

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Our BEST vacation yet!

Review submitted: January 20, 2011   Date of arrival: December 21, 2010

Kiwi Kai really is the perfect location to experience pure relaxation in the Grand Cayman. Susan has thought of everything, was highly attentive to all of our needs and did everything to ensure that our stay was a pleasant one. Located on the North Side of the island, a rental car is an absolute must, and we highly recommened McCurley's who provide a great service. They greet you at the airport and take you to the sea lodge where your vehicle awaits. Having been to Cayman before, we knew that Rankin's Jerk Centre in Bodden Town serves amazing jerk chicken, so we asked Beth-Ann if we could stop on the way to pick up lunch - no problem! They also stopped at a liquor store for us as well. On our arrival, we were delighted to find that Barbara had done all our grocery shopping for us - an excellent service! - it was just like coming home. A stocked pantry, full fridge, fresh fruit and fresh flowers on the table. It really set an incredibly welcoming tone. Barbara had been very thorough with our shopping list, and managed to get everything we had asked for. Kiwi Kai was equipped with everything we needed for a 3 week home-from-home vacation over the Christmas holidays. It was easy to find our way around the kitchen and to cook or BBQ if we didnt feel like dining out. A lot of our time was spent in the screened porch just gazing out onto the beautiful view, or on the beach which was mostly deserted! It was great to feel the ocean breeze through the open air architecture and the temperature was very comfortable. We would definately come back, we miss it so much already!!!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

The perfect honeymoon destination!

Review submitted: December 28, 2010   Date of arrival: August 14, 2010

I stumbled on the listing for Kiwi Kai while looking for a quiet, hopefully private, Caribbean beach location to book for my (at the time) soon-to-be wife and I's honeymoon. The pictures and descriptions all looked to be /exactly/ what I was searching for.

After Googling around a bit, and reading the other reviews, I went ahead with a booking because everything I found said that it was a little slice of heaven in the Caribbean. Clean, private, on the quiet non-touristy side of Grand Cayman, with amazing snorkeling directly out from the Sea Lodge. All proved to be 100% accurate.

The owner, Susan, from the very beginning was very, very friendly, communicative, and open with me -- providing details of the stay, and sending a package of goodies including maps, guides to the island and suggested locations to visit, coupons for on-the-ocean acitivities with Red Sea Spots, and more! I couldn't have asked for a better experience, or a better owner to work with than Susan and the Sea Lodges.

Nights spent making margarita's in the blender, sipping them watching the sunset from the beach chairs, sometimes from the hammock, were absolutely amazing and are memories my wife and I will never forget. Do yourself a favor and if you want to have your /own/ experience on Grand Caymen, not the pre-packaged resort type, book with Susan. She will do everything she can to make sure you have the most memorable time you and your guests can.

My ratings of Susan's Sea Lodge based on our honeymoon experience:

1-5 with 5 being Perfect -

Location: 5
Value: 5++
Privacy: 5
Views: 5++++ -- You'd be hard-pressed to find a better location on the island
Activities: While nothing is "included" in the traditional sense, your location in the sea lodge makes EVERYTHING possible. The snorkeling route on the map in the lodge is truly amazing. I was even able to spot a Ray about 15 feet off-shore from the lodge. :-) A 3 minute drive to Rum Point provides access to Red Sail Sports and a ton of options -- definitely recommend the swimming with the Rays snorkel tour. Definitely a 5++ here as well.

Again, I can't stress how perfect this trip was. Susan is amazingly friendly and communicative, the sea lodge is cozy and has that "home" feel, the views are once in a lifetime, and the experience is as well.

Definitely is on our short-list of "must revisits" for future trips.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful Two Weeks at Kiwi Kai

Review submitted: November 23, 2010   Date of arrival: November 13, 2010

What an amazing time! Pirates Week! Snorkeling the entire island. The North Side Heritage Festival. Drinks at Rum Point, Kaibo and the Driftwood. Kiwi Kai is a wonderful place to get away from all the hectic traffic of Seven Mile Beach and George Town. The sea lodge is immaculate, right on the beach, and the owner is so gracious! This is our second time back. We've decided we need to make it an annual tradition. Also, make sure you visit Over the Edge for some of the best food on the entire island. Thanks Susan for all that you do!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing vacation

Review submitted: October 4, 2010   Date of arrival: September 11, 2010

We were looking to find a spot for a relaxing vacation and we found the perfect place with the most amazing view. Everything was just the way it was shown on the web site. Only 30m from the ocean. The condo had everything you need for your stay. The snorkeling was incredible and we were the only people out on the beach. Perfect to relax and enjoy the sun and the sound of the waves. We enjoyed the food at Kaibo, Rum Point and the Lighthouse. Very good food and great atmosphere.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

PARADISE REVISITED

Review submitted: August 22, 2010   Date of arrival: May 22, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Kiwi Kai the third week in May - our second visit there. There was hardly anyone there and the weather was perfect, as were the accommodations. Kiwi Kai is clean, well stocked and organized, and nicely decorated. But, more importantly, the bedroom is very inviting and the bed very comfortable. There is even a safe in the closet to keep your valuables. We spent most of our time on the lanai overlooking the water, or swimming/snorkeling right outside the door. How wonderful to wake up in the morning and go just steps for a morning swim in the beautiful Carribean (but don't forget your watershoes if you have tender feet). We did venture out to explore the east end and snorkel at Colliers beach (great cluster of coral about 100' east of the end of the dock), and dine at Portofino's. We also dined at Rum Point - both had great food and atmosphere. Smith's Cove toward the west end, not far past the airport, is also a beautiful place to swim and snorkel. Susan (the owner) was so helpful every step of the way - she left no stone unturned in helping us plan our vacation and get us settled in the lodge. Grand Cayman has so much to offer - the beauty of the island, the wonderful people, plenty of activities and water sports. Grand Cayman and Kiwi Kai - it really is the perfect Carribean vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect.

Review submitted: August 22, 2010   Date of arrival: August 9, 2010

The house has an amazing view. We love being a few feet away from the beach. It was very quiet and not a busy tourist spot. There is great snorkeling right off the beach, and the owner explains where all the great places to snorkel are. We also went scuba diving nearly every day. The house is fully furnished, and everything you may possibly need is there for you. It saved us a lot of money to be able to cook easily in the kitchen. The house was very comfortable, and we were able to relax because it was so peaceful and beautiful. We plan to go back again soon because we had a great time staying here.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect for snorkeling

Review submitted: August 18, 2010   Date of arrival: August 2, 2010

We went for our 10yr anniversary trip at the beginning of August. The condo was just as pictured - close to the ocean and able to hear the waves crash from any room. The snorkeling was incredible! Susan has a path mapped out in the condo that is great. We saw just about everything out there - stingrays, a turtle, squid, puffer fish, lion fish, lobster, etc. We were typically the only ones on the beach most of the time. Occasionally there was another couple out there. It was beautiful! Great breeze, incredible stars, beautiful ocean. There are only about 4 restaurants to eat at near this location and we found many of the restaurants close to be similar food - bar&grill types. No A/C & open air would have been nicer had the heat & humidity level been lower, but we were warned. It was hot, but we survived & loved our stay. We've been told that other times of the year are much nicer for this non-A/C open air unit. I thought I'd be able to dive w/ Red Sail by Rum Point, but they only send out divers by East End / Morritt's which is about a 20min drive. We went to 7 mile one day and were glad we stayed here. Condo has a full kitchen & everything you need for a wonderful and tranquil getaway - fans, laundry det., clothes line, hammock, lounge chairs, towels, tv w/ DVD player, stereo. We went for the tranquility & snorkeling and were not disappointed. Remember to bring insect repellant as the breeze here keeps the bugs away (mostly) but near other spots w/ less breeze, the nights were filled with mosquitos. Susan was a great host & even called to check in to make sure everything was as it should be while we were there. Hope to go back as quickly as we can!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: March 31, 2010   Date of arrival: March 31, 2010

We spent the New Year 2010 holiday at Kiwi Kai. It was our first visit to Grand Cayman and we couldn't have picked a better place to stay. Even though it was a holiday week, there was very little traffic and the beach was only moderately occupied. The condo was small for a family of 2 adults and 2 teenagers but I picked it b/c I wanted to be close to the ocean. The locale was PERFECT!!! The view from the screened porch was unbelievable. We spent most of the time sitting in the shade or sun reading books, enjoying the peace and quiet. We snorkeled everyday with equipment we brought with us. The snorkeling was unbelievable! Follow the directions in the condo for where to enter the water and get out and you will be very pleased. In fact, I recommend that you take a few minutes after arrival to read thru the guestbook for great ideas of things to do/see. I was so pleasantly surprised to find the water warm enough to snorkel without a wetsuit smack in the middle of winter (and I am a big wimp about cold water!) We rented a car from BA atMcCurley's car rental. She is a total hoot! About the condo: it seriously had everything we could possibly want. I even found a needle and thread to fix a wardrobe malfunction! The kids took turns sleeping in the sofabed and the hammock on the screened porch. There was no need whatsoever for A/C while we there. There was no TV reception and the kids never even complained about that. The weather was perfect the entire week. We will be back!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Three visits and counting.....

Review submitted: September 7, 2009   Date of arrival: August 6, 2008

My wife and first stayed and Kiwi kai for our Honeymoon in June 2002. We have been back two more times since, and hope to be back as soon as possible. The accommodations, price, and location are perfect. This is a great place to kick-back and just relax. Rum Point is the best place to stay on the island in that it is secluded and extremely private. We have been all over the Caribbean, yet over the past few years cannot seem to think of any other place to stay than Kiwi kai. The reservation process is painless, and quick. When heading to the Caymans, we have no need to look anywhere else to stay but the Sea lodge.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 19, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

Ahhhhh...Sea Lodge 18, such a sweet place to stay. Clean and comfortable. Stocked with great books. Well-equipped for cooking in or BBQ outdoors. A very homey place to find some peace. Spectacular sunrises, romantic dinners on the lanai, and the constant lullaby of the sea and wind all make for a perfectly tranquil vacation. Snorkel right out your front door and revel in the natural beauty of the Caribbean Sea.
Joanne & Don Derosier
Chepachet, R.I.
Visited April 1-10 2009

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: March 3, 2009   Date of arrival: March 3, 2009

This was our fifth trip to Grand Cayman, and our second time to stay at Sea Lodge 18, a.k.a. “Kiwi Kai.” We’ve stayed in a hotel and a condo on the very popular, and busy, Seven Mile Beach, but after experiencing the serenity of Sea Lodge 18 and the beauty of the beach on the north side of the island at Cayman Kai, we knew we’d found our “home” in paradise. It’s been six years since our last visit to Grand Cayman and Bruce and Susan’s sea lodge, and that’s been WAY too long! I couldn’t wait to come back. There are many exciting things to see and do on Grand Cayman, especially in George Town and the West End--and frankly, we’ve done most of them. But our love affair with Sea Lodge 18 (and its location on the quiet side of the island) is totally about the tranquility, the calming and constant sound of the ocean waves, the fabulous breezes through the original island shuttered doors and windows, the beautiful, private beach, and the fact that after a week there we return home feeling totally relaxed and rejuvenated. On our recent stay, my husband and I spent our days gazing at the ocean, snorkeling, walking along the beach, reading, listening to reggae CDs, relaxing in the hammock on the back patio, and rediscovering why we love each other so much after thirty five years of marriage! We snorkeled Bruce’s suggested snorkel run, which is right off the shore near the lodge, and saw a lobster, a stingray, beautiful coral, and fish of all sizes and amazing colors. The snorkel run ended at Rum Point where we had a refreshing Mudslide at the beachside bar before walking back “home” along the beach. Although there are good restaurants nearby (had exquisite grilled lobster tail at “Over the Edge”), we chose to cook or grill most of the time. Kiwi Kai has always been a cute and inviting place to stay, but while repairing recent hurricane damage, Bruce and Susan updated their sea lodge so that it’s even lovelier than before, with new kitchen appliances and counter tops, a remodeled bathroom and pretty furnishings throughout. Overall, we had just a fabulous time. My husband calls Kiwi Kai “a slice of heaven on earth.” The ONLY thing we’ll do different next time is to take less clothes—all we really needed was a swimsuit, a pair of shorts and a t-shirt!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 3, 2009   Date of arrival: March 1, 2009

This was our fifth trip to Grand Cayman, and our second time to stay at Sea Lodge 18, a.k.a. “Kiwi Kai.” We’ve stayed in a hotel and a condo on the very popular, and busy, Seven Mile Beach, but after experiencing the serenity of Sea Lodge 18 and the beauty of the beach on the north side of the island at Cayman Kai, we knew we’d found our “home” in paradise. It’s been six years since our last visit to Grand Cayman and Bruce and Susan’s sea lodge, and that’s been WAY too long! I couldn’t wait to come back.
There are many exciting things to see and do on Grand Cayman, especially in George Town and the West End--and frankly, we’ve done most of them. But our love affair with Sea Lodge 18 (and its location on the quiet side of the island) is totally about the tranquility, the calming and constant sound of the ocean waves, the fabulous breezes through the original island shuttered doors and windows, the beautiful, private beach, and the fact that after a week there we return home feeling totally relaxed and rejuvenated. On our recent stay, my husband and I spent our days gazing at the ocean, snorkeling, walking along the beach, reading, listening to reggae CDs, relaxing in the hammock on the back patio, and rediscovering why we love each other so much after thirty five years of marriage! We snorkeled Bruce’s suggested snorkel run, which is right off the shore near the lodge, and saw a lobster, a stingray, beautiful coral, and fish of all sizes and amazing colors. The snorkel run ended at Rum Point where we had a refreshing Mudslide at the beachside bar before walking back “home” along the beach. Although there are good restaurants nearby (had exquisite grilled lobster tail at “Over the Edge”), we chose to cook or grill most of the time.
Kiwi Kai has always been a cute and inviting place to stay, but while repairing recent hurricane damage, Bruce and Susan updated their sea lodge so that it’s even lovelier than before, with new kitchen appliances and counter tops, a remodeled bathroom and pretty furnishings throughout.
Overall, we had just a fabulous time. My husband calls Kiwi Kai “a slice of heaven on earth.” The ONLY thing we’ll do different next time is to take less clothes—all we really needed was a swimsuit, a pair of shorts and a t-shirt!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Beautifully Updated

Review submitted: January 6, 2009   Date of arrival: February 26, 2008

Kiwi Kai has been beautifully remodeled and updated since I saw it last February...with Corian countertops and gorgeous new linens and furnishings. Anyone who has stayed here in the past should come again just to enjoy the Feng Shui of this wonderful sea lodge on the ocean!

Paula J.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beautiful views!

Review submitted: October 23, 2008   Date of arrival: October 11, 2008

The perfect place to get away and relax - on the quiet side of the island! Just steps to the beach - gorgeous water views. Wonderful area to snorkel and close to other water sports activities. Great food at Kaibo Yacht Club and Over The Edge - both nearby. Excellent restaurant experience at The Lighthouse, 20 minutes away. The home has very well equipped kitchen. Bruce and Susan did everything they could could make our stay comfortable and were always just a phone call away. They provided all kinds of information to help make our stay the best! The most wonderful vacation spot if you need peace and quiet. We can't wait to return!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 12, 2008   Date of arrival: July 1, 2008

As a result of Hurricane Ivan, I waited over two years and then travelled all the way from England to stay at Bruce and Susan's Sea Lodge 18. What sustained me during that wait was the description of the property posted on the website. Not so much a property, more a way of life. Looking for a momentary escape from life's pressures, I was not disappointed and overjoyed to find the simple but beautifully appointed Sea Lodge where Bruce and Susan's words "Time slows. You get in touch with the part of you that too often gets overlooked' are so, so true. Relaxing, reading, sleeping, swimming and snorkelling off the reef were the main activities plus the endless hours of an evening just watching the sun go down. At lunch time,the Wreck Beach Bar called - close enough to stroll to but far enough away as not to disturb the tranquility of the Sea Lodges - and is a centre of activity and water sports. Make sure you don't miss the Stingray City trip from Rum Point. That I remember, only one afternoon was 'lost' at the bar but it was great.
I only spent one day away from the Lodge, in George Town - a million miles away - and touring the Grand Cayman. In all honesty I was glad to get back 'home' to the Lodge and never felt the need to go anywhere else. Congratulations to Bruce and Susan on rebuilding the Lodge and recapturing that 'Original Beach front living'. Even now, when going to bed, I can in my mind hear the waves breaking on the beach and feel the gentle Trade Wind breezes pasing through the bedroom.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Awesome!

Review submitted: May 1, 2008   Date of arrival: March 30, 2008

This was our third stay on Grand Cayman and this was our favorite place we have stayed. We love the Rum Point area and this condo is close enough for a short walk to the main dock on Rum Point, yet far enough away to be very private and comfortable. There were great ocean views, open air living, nice kitchen with great amenities, and Bruce and Sue gave great directions and sent us a nice document that gave help with dining, shopping, driving, etc . . .

We loved it and would recommend it highly!
John and Andrea

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Great Sea Lodge vacation

Review submitted: April 30, 2008   Date of arrival: April 18, 2008

Bruce and Susan are the best, they provided all kinds of information to make our stay complete. They really cared that we had a great time and even called to make sure had everything we needed, which we did!! The condo was comfortable, clean and equipped with everything you might want. The location was beautiful, beach gorgeous and quiet, water glorious, snorkeling better than our trip out to a reef. Our thirteen son might say it was a bit too quiet for him and next time we would probably bring a friend along, but after seeing the congestion and chaos of seven mile beach, even he agreed that we were definitely staying in the right place!! We did the catamaran sail to see the stingrays, which I would recommend as an unusual experience. We tried a resort course with Red Sail over at Morritt's, the people there were great. After a day of too much sun we took drive all over the island, through seven mile beach and to the town of Hell. Not sure it's worth the long ride but, we did get to see the island which made us especially glad to be back on the "good side" of the island. Restaurants are few and far between, we tended to eat more lunches out and dinners in, seemed easier that driving a distance at night on the wrong side of the road. The grocery stores have everything you could want, especially Hurleys, so eating in is easy. The one night we went to the Kaibo Yacht Club for dinner they decided for some reason not to open, but did still offer the bar menu. McCurleys is the best place to rent a car. They pick you up at the airport, stop at the store so you can pick up a few things and then to your condo where your car is waiting for you. They then drive you back on the return which is much easier than dealing with the airport on your own, they were great.
If you want to relax come here, if you want crowds and congestion go to Seven Mile Beach.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Wonderful!

Review submitted: April 25, 2008   Date of arrival: January 6, 2008

The Sea Lodge was exactly what we needed. We are so happy that we were able to spend a week on the quiet side of the island! When we felt like visiting the hustle and bustle, we got in the car and drove down there. Each time we returned to the Sea Lodge, after a trip to the other side of the island, we were so happy that we decided to stay here. This was truly a relaxing vacation.
In the five days (next time we're staying longer!) we've been here we've read a total of 7 books between the two us (4 of which came from your library). We snorkeled - Kevin saw 2 stingrays, 1 eagle ray, a barracuda, and a ton of fish! I am more of a novice snorkeler so I stayed closer to the shore. I wasn't disappointed! I saw a variety of fish and a lobster only a few feet from the shore line.
If were to describe what an ideal vacation is for us, you'd think I'd be describing the Sea Lodge. We've found our perfect vacation spot and we plan to return soon!
Thanks again for your kindness (especially Bruce for phoning us with the NH primary results!). Thank you for allowing us to use your home. We will be back soon! That's a promise!
Sincerely,
Elizabeth & Kevin
Boston, MA

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 19, 2005   Date of arrival: January 1, 2005

My husband and I visit the Caribbean regularly but we'd never stayed at Cayman Kai before last summer. We adored it! Everyone was so helpful, and being the romantic couple we are, we loved the seclusion, the quiet, the ability to simple be together and do nothing but be together in this romantic setting for days on end.

We spent hours just lying in the hammock talking to each other about anything and everything; we loved the skies filled with stars; we loved the sunrises (and my husband doesn't usually get up at sunrise); we loved being so near the water; we loved the casual atmosphere; we loved the food and the drink at Rum Point; we loved everything.

This is a place to go for romance. This is a place to go to with your huaband/wife. We were twenty years from the water and it lulled us to sleep every night and we played in it every day.

We will never forget our stay at SL 18 at Cayman Kai and we'll certainly be back!

Love to all

Lily

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 9, 2004   Date of arrival: September 1, 2004

Here is my email to Bruce and Sue upon our return
from our stay at SL #18:

We are back safely from our stay at Sea Lodge 18 at
Rum Point in Cayman. What an amazing time we
had! We loved the sunrises, moonrises, eating on
the patio facing the sea, the weather, the lodge, the
kitty, the fishes, the stingrays, the palm trees, the
seclusion, B.A., her husband, Barbara, Rum Point,
the sunsets at Rum Point, napping in the hammocks
at Rum Point, the beverages at Rum Point, the
snorkeling which we did a good two hours of
everyday, sipping our own drinks while staring the
Milky Way and watching for shooting stars, living in
our swim suits, cooking our own food, napping
under a palm tree, the quiet, the no tv reception, no
news.

We had such a good time. The waters were so calm
and beautiful, I am sure we were spoiled rotten by
the quality of snorkeling here. Barbara was really
great and made sure our stay was as pleasant,
comfortable and memorable as possible.

I love lodge, I love the location, I love the time of
year we came, I love that we DIDN'T take a cruise.
The weather was wonderful. I am sure sorry for all
those people in Florida, the Bahamas, Trinidad,
Haiti and other places that got socked by
hurricanes last weekend. We enjoyed such perfectly
warm and sunny weather. Only one night was
treacherously hot... what better reason for taking
another nap in the afternoon?

I cannot think of a better vacation - or way to
celebrate our fourth anniversary. We definitely
hope to return and soon. How truly blessed we feel
to have had the time we did... A true rest and
retreat all things familiar and dull.

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 29, 2004   Date of arrival: January 1, 2004

Sea Lodge #18 is a fine place for easy,
private, and idyllic holiday. For our time
there, we had the entire beach to ourselves.
Everything is laid on, including plenty of
towels, and lots of little extras that made for
an easier trip and fewer journeys out to the
store. Good library of books and videos.
The best snorkeling on the island (and we
checked it out) is right outside or within a
reasonable swim of the lodge. Absolutely
no complaints - not a luxury place (who
needs that anyway?) but cool, comfortable,
and well-appointed.

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 13, 2003   Date of arrival: December 1, 2003

We have stayed at sealodge #18 several times, we love it! It feels like home, very restful. Just walk out the door you are on the beach, go snorkeling! Very quiet, no one on the beach. Rum Point is our favorite area in Cayman. No traffic night or day! We are trying to find a way to stay for about a month, it is absolutely our favorite place on the Planet Earth! Bruce & Sue are great to us. It is the best vacation ever!

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 11, 2003   Date of arrival: December 1, 2003

Sea Logde 18 was a wonderful experience. A beautiful, clean and comfortable apartment to call home in the Carribean. Clear waters with incredible snorling right outside your front and back door! Amazing! Our first day, out 50 yards from the sea lodge we saw an eagle ray!
We walked or snorkled to rum point every day. Hit up the BBQ at Driftwood and lounge. Great place and super attentive, caring host that run a top notch rental!
I can't wait to return.

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 29, 2003   Date of arrival: August 1, 2003

My husband and I stayed at the Sea Lodge for only five nights but they were great nights -- as were the days! The condo had everything we needed, plenty of room, lots of books to browse. The beach is well-maintained and the swimming is fantastic! We are avid snorkelers (and divers) and found the water right off the beach was full of fish -- I think we counted 53 species -- as well as small corals and different types of algae and sea grasses. We really didn't need to go anywhere else for snorkeling. The condo has a well-equipped kitchen, also a grill, so eating "at home" was easy but Rum Point is only a short walk away and it has nice restaurants for dining out, as well as water sports for more activities. All in all, we truly enjoyed staying at the Sea Lodge and will certainly do it again!!

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 29, 2003   Date of arrival: August 1, 2003

I stayed at Lodge 18 Cayman Kai for over a week last year and enjoyed it very much. This place has a serene and almost sur-real surrounding, it is extremely quiet, and has a gorgeous view of the ocean. The owners keep the lodge in a good shape and offer many items for guest use. I certainly recommend this lodge to anyone who wants to have a relaxing and quiet vacation!

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 28, 2003   Date of arrival: August 1, 2003

What a perfect place to spend our 25th wedding anniversary! The owners have made this a home away from home, with many personal touches. We ate all our meals from the screened porch overlooking the Caribbean, relaxed in the hammock, and walked the beach every afternoon. Most of the time we had the beach all to ourselves. We didn't want to leave. I can't say enough great things about this island home.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review