reviews for: listing #17684 - Puerto Aventuras, Yucatan Condo rental

BEST Location Casa Kokai, TRUE Beachfront VDM C 105
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Villa del Mar
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $190 - $325 /nt
    $1,200 - $2,150 /wk

sort by:

Another great stay at VDM C105!

Review submitted: May 10, 2012   Date of arrival: March 24, 2012

This was our fourth stay at VDM, and our second at this condo. The condo complex is absolutely perfect for families wishing for a quiet, safe, beautiful beach vacation. The pool is huge with a lovely grassy area around it and tons of palm trees for shade. It is never crowded. The beach is a beautiful stretch of white sand and turquoise water. The snorkelling right off the beach is superb. We love the quiet atmosphere and the proximity to the quaint little village centre of PA - a few shops and a handful of restaurants serving quite good meals. The condo itself is in the perfect location - steps to the beach in one direction, steps to the pool in the other. The ground floor entrance is so convenient, and we love having a kitchen and living room rather than just a hotel room. The local grocery store is huge, 5 minutes away, and has everything you could wish for. The condo was recently renovated which has vastly improved the layout and opened up the kitchen. It's clean, beautiful, bright, and perfect for a family or 2 couples. My kids (10, 8, and 5) love it there and we are already looking forward to our next vacation at VDM C105!! They especially love the private hot tub on the patio. Wireless internet and in-suite laundry are a huge plus. Couldn't ask for a better location for a peaceful vacation on the beach. Close to some great nearby exploring as well - Akumal, Xel Ha, Xcaret, several zip line parks and caves. Two hours from the flyfishing destination of Punta Allan. We will be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best vacation ever!

Review submitted: April 25, 2012   Date of arrival: April 6, 2012

We recently returned from Puerto Aventuras having rented Jim's Villas Del Mar C205 condo. We do extensive research before selecting a location and condo (we've rented homes/condo in Hawaii and Paris as well). We had high expectations as we began our adventure in paradise and I must say our experience was well above our expectations. We have an 11-yr-old son and 17-yr-old daughter and both agreed it was our best vacation ever!

We really like options ... and boy did we have them! The first two days we remained at PA and soaked in the sun, snorkeled, relaxed, swam with the dolphins, and explored the main central area of the community. No car needed. Restaurants were great - friendly and not crowded. Then the rest of the week we rented a car and explored ruins and went to XPLOR (the best eco park ever!).

The property manager Jaime couldn't have been nicer and helped us feel comfortable and made arrangements for us for the car (delivered it right to our door) and arranged for our tour to Chichen Itza.

When we explored the area we realized how spoiled we were with our beautiful beach right outside the condo (I've never felt sand so soft before) ... other beaches we went to had rocks, etc. And Playa del Carmen was fun for a morning of shopping but it felt "touristy" and a bit pushy with people trying to sell you something left and right. PA was relaxed, clean and we felt safe (hugely important for our family).

It was hard to leave paradise ... can't wait for our next trip!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best vacation ever!

Review submitted: April 25, 2012   Date of arrival: April 6, 2012

We recently returned from Puerto Aventuras having rented Jim Baumgaertner's Villas Del Mar C205 condo. We do extensive research before selecting a location and condo (we've rented homes/condo in Hawaii and Paris as well). We had high expectations as we began our adventure in paradise and I must say our experience was well above our expectations. We have an 11-yr-old son and 17-yr-old daughter and both agreed it was our best vacation ever!

We really like options ... and boy did we have them! The first two days we remained at PA and soaked in the sun, snorkeled, relaxed, swam with the dolphins, and explored the main central area of the community. No car needed. Restaurants were great - friendly and not crowded. Then the rest of the week we rented a car and explored ruins and went to XPLOR (the best eco park ever!).

The property manager Jaime couldn't have been nicer and helped us feel comfortable and made arrangements for us for the car (delivered it right to our door) and arranged for our tour to Chichen Itza.

When we explored the area we realized how spoiled we were with our beautiful beach right outside the condo (I've never felt sand so soft before) ... other beaches we went to had rocks, etc. And Playa del Carmen was fun for a morning of shopping but it felt "touristy" and a bit pushy with people trying to sell you something left and right. PA was relaxed, clean and we felt safe (hugely important for our family).

It was hard to leave paradise ... can't wait for our next trip!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Location! Beachfront!

Review submitted: February 27, 2010   Date of arrival: February 27, 2009

We traveled to Dr. Baumgaertner's C105 unit at Villas Del Mar it is a 2 bedroom condo on the ground floor with walk-out access from the patio directly to the pool and gorgeous beach.

Condo C105: contains all of the amenities you will need:

-fully equipped kitchen
-washer/dryer
-large bedrooms with closet & drawer space
-TV in master bed and living room
-DVD player
-patio with grill, hot tub and plenty of chairs to relax

The condo location was nearly perfect for us. You can walk from the patio about 20 yards to the pool and 30 yards to the fabulous beach. Very nice to have with a 3 year old or those with younger children. You can also easily walk to the marina & its activities as well as many restaurants and some shopping. The only thing about Puerto Aventuras w/small children is that strollers are a bit challenging in general due to the speed bumps they put even in the sidewalks. You also need to traverse some short grass area to get from the condo to the marina area.

A favorite is to get up early and walk to the marina. You can see the dolphins being feed at the Dolphin Discovery area. Also nice to wander around browsing the fine yachts as you munch on a croissant and coffee.

The pool at Villas del Mar I believe is the largest in PA and has multiple levels. The are nice shallow areas and its long enough for laps. Villas del Mar has shade areas for those who prefer to avoid the sun. The condo has morning sun but the patio is nice in the afternoon as its shaded.

I have been to many beaches in my lifetime and this is close or at the top of the list. Its over a mile long. The sand is super fine & nearly white and warm water. PA keeps the beach very clean. There is a reef offshore which breaks the wave making it so nice for everyone to swim and play there. You can go snorkeling from the beach if you are a reasonable swimmer. It can be quite good. There are no people haggling you on the beach to buy things. You can relax and feel safe. If you are missing the "big hotel" pool bars you can go 100 yards from condo to the Omni hotel pool bar for drinks or lunch.

Puerto Aventuras is a very diverse area. There are just as many people from Europe as Mexico as the US. It was fun meeting others from different places. I will be back.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Paradise in Puerto Aventuras VDM C 105

Review submitted: February 27, 2010   Date of arrival: January 6, 2010

My family and I just returned from a wonderful week at Villa Del Mar unit C-105. It was one of the best vacations we have ever had and a perfect vacation with young children (our daughters are 4 and 7). The condo complex has the best location and grounds of any place in Puerto Aventuras, and this particular condo is probably the best condo within the complex. It is a first floor unit close to the large pool and the beautiful white sand beach, so when my young daughters woke up early in the morning, my husband and I could have our coffee on the patio while we watched them play on the grassy lawn or on the sandy beach. The other beautiful thing about the condo is that it is less than a 5 minute walk across the pool area into town. The small town is built around a lagoon that holds 29 dolphins. Not only is swimming with dolphins easily accessible, but most restaurants in town are built around the dolphinarium, so once our kids were done eating, they could watch the dolphins while we finished our meals. There are manatees and sea lions also. We also took the kids snorkeling right off the beach, and we saw some colorful fish. We took day trips to Tulum, Xel Ha, and the Garden of Eden Cenote (across the main highway), and we'd recommend all of those, but we wanted to make sure we left enough time to lounge and relax around the Villa Del Mar.The 2 bedroom condo was spacious and very well equipped. It had everything you would need. We found the condo on VRBO and contacted the owner (Jim Baumgaertner) directly. My parents rented Jim's other unit (VDM C 205) at the same time, and they enjoyed their unit and the vacation as much as we did.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review