reviews for: listing #17687 - Waikiki, Hawaii Condo rental

Gary's Place-Integrity/Location/Value
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Royal Kuhio
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $740 - $780 /wk
    $2,450 - $2,750 /mth

sort by:

Nice, clean, great view and very comfortable

Review submitted: November 7, 2013   Date of arrival: September 4, 2013

I am so used in staying at the Royal Kuhio since my sister has a time share, but unfortunately I can't get the dates that I wanted. I started looking around and found Gary's place, I will admit that I was skeptical at first because of the pictures but I said to myself, what the heck, it's affordable and I just needed a place to stay.

I was so surprised when I got to the unit, it was so much better than the pictures! My other friend paid more for her unit in the same building and Gary's place was much much better. It was so clean and smells clean! Bed was so comfy and kitchen was complete. Great view of Ala Wai canal, nice veranda, comfortable sofa plus you are all the way up on the 20th floor. I would stay at Gary's in a heart beat and highly recommends it! FYI, the location is in the middle of everything you need in Waikiki. Walking distance to restaurants, bars, shopping and of course the beach!

One very happy visitor

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Aloha Franciso, thank you for your review. I am so pleased you found Gary's Place exceeded your expectation! I too have always enjoyed the view from the 30th floor. I look forward to seeing you again in the future, and again thank you for your business! Gary

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Aug. 2013 at Gary's Condo

Review submitted: August 29, 2013   Date of arrival: August 5, 2013

The Royal Kuhio is a great building in the Waikiki area. Being a few blocks off of the beach, the price is much lower than the big name hotels closer to the water, but an easy walk to the beach, parks, restaurants, etc. For a family with young children it might be a bit much if carrying all the boogie boards, umbrellas, chairs, coolers, etc., that Gary has available in the condo, but we found it convenient to walk to the beach for a bit, come back to rest/clean up, then go back out to the beach or other activities later. Please remember that there is so much more to do on Oahu than just the beach!

One of the best amenities is the parking garage--probably the best price per night in Waikiki--for when you want to have a car to tour the island. There is also a bus stop out front if you prefer. We saved money by having a rental car for just the last few days, then returned it to the airport before our flight.

Gary's Condo is on the 30th floor, on the quieter side of the building, with a beautiful, unobstructed view of the mountains and valley. I enjoyed sitting on the balcony last thing at night and first thing in the morning. The condo is a one bedroom by way of a pull-out accordion wall. This allows for extra room when it is open, but not as much privacy as if it was a completely separate bedroom. The furnishings, full kitchen, cable tv and wifi were all fine. The building is a mix of full-time residents and visitors, with security and office staff in the lobby--everyone was friendly and helpful. We felt very safe, as a key is required to get into the elevator area and garage, as well as having the security guard.

Gary was very easy to work with, and I would recommend his condo to friends. If you go, don't miss a single sunset or the Hilton Hawaiian Village's Friday night fireworks! Mahalo

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Gary's Place

Review submitted: June 27, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

Gary's place was an excellent condo that we enjoyed thoroughly.
We received the keys a month before our trip so we knew we had a place to stay.
The view from the lanai was a spectacular.
It is in 30th floor, no mosquitos.
The kitchen was equipped with clean appliances and had everything we needed.
We rented the car for entire trip, and the parking lot was so convenient and safe.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you Phil & Kim. Hope to see you again in the future!
Mahalo,
Gary

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Waikiki!

Review submitted: April 20, 2013   Date of arrival: March 20, 2013

You will not be disappointed in this property - it is exactly as it appears in the photos and descriptions! Wonderful central location, close to everything, in a secure building with welcoming, helpful staff. It is clean and comfortable with lots of additional touches and inclusions to make it homey and enjoyable. The owner was honest, thoughtful, accommodating and terrific to work with and made the whole rental process so simple! We will definitely stay here again and have no reservations recommending this property. Mahalo Gary for sharing your lovely condo and making our most recent stay in Waikiki a fantastic vacation!

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Very pleased

Review submitted: March 24, 2013   Date of arrival: January 15, 2013

This was our first time dealing with VRBO and it proved to be very satisfactory. Our stay At Gary's Place was great. The condo was very clean and the extras that Gary provided were very much appreciated. The bed was very comfortable and as we stayed there for two months, the bed was of upmost importance. It really felt like we were staying at a friends place. Any contact via email that we had with Gary was always quickly responded to and he was most accommodating. We would definitely recommend this property to other people. We were thoroughly pleased and have already booked for next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous Vacation!!

Review submitted: September 20, 2012   Date of arrival: September 8, 2012

just stayed a 8 days in wakiki and it was fabulous!! this place was super clean, comfortable, and had a security gaurd in the lobby 24/7. also the parking garage is fantastic since there isnt much for parking in waikiki. there is a taxi drop off lane in the front for guests and cabs which is very convienent if u traveling in a group, catching a cab, or just stoping in for a few min. humid locations are heaven to cockroaches and other critters, however there wasnt one bug in site which was fabulous.... just about everything is in walking distance. there is a mcdonalds across the st and an ihop a block away also there is an abc store and starbucks on just about every block lol. i would reccommend this place to anyone who is looking for a condo. i had contact with gary via e-mail and he was always good at providing info and answering questions. also this was my first experience with vrbo and i was worried about the payment but it was super easy and there was a secure site to enter my payment info. its a great place with a good price.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

All the comforts of home

Review submitted: August 6, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

Staying at this condo was like staying at a friend's place. Everything that you would or could use was there. The kitchen was complete including a blender and microwave. The were beach chairs with an sand unbrella and a cooler for a causal day on the beach. We were very happy with out stay. The location is convienent and we even spent some time at the pool on the 7th floor. Parking is extra, which we did arrange for the last 3 days we were there. Otherwise we didn't need a car with everything so close.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great value, location

Review submitted: July 20, 2012   Date of arrival: July 3, 2012

Incredibly well equipped, excellent beds, carpet is older but the condo is spotless . We even enjoyed the wind tunnel effect when pushing the door open to the condo (during a windy week!) Kids would find it hilarious. We generally don't love heights, but felt very secure, even on the lanai! Lobby folks efficient if not always welcoming. Security keys sometimes need to be re magnified.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you for your comments. The wind tunnel affect can be quite
dramatic at times. The carpet was replaced in September 2010. It is
always rewarding when guests have a grand time while in Hawaii!

Mahalo,
Gary

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Garys Place

Review submitted: June 25, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

Great location,everything about the description,location and amenities was supurb,you sometimes wonder is it as decribed but Garys Place was better,very clean and everything you could want.We used the bus and the bus stop is outside the building, also there is a trolly stop over the road in the shopping arcade,we ate in every night and used the food pantry 4 blocks away found it very good and saved us a lot of money,Gary you truly do have everything in your kitchen i love cooking and i needed for nothing,if we ever return to waikiki i would not hesitate to contact you and book your condo again i would certainly recommend your condo.we hired a car for the day and picked it up and dropped it off from seaside avenue which is at the side of the condo block.All in all the condo, the location and the amenities made our stay in waikiki a memorable one.Thanks Gary

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Malcolm and Ann. (Canada)

Review submitted: October 18, 2011   Date of arrival: October 1, 2011

Excellent Accomadation, very clean and comfortable. Ideal central location, great amenities.
Impressive lobby and building and a great view from the condo.
All in all a most enjoyable stay with an A1 rating. We would not hesitate to recommend to our friends, and would love to come again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

1st Timer

Review submitted: August 3, 2011   Date of arrival: July 7, 2011

I would have done this review sooner, but it has been a little crazy since I've been back home. My family and I had a great time. Gary made it so easy for us to stay at his place. Very clean. His kitchen was fully equipped for cooking anything and he had the little extras that made going to the beach fun. Location is excellent for anyone who doesn't want to drive, however, if you do rent a car, it was very easy to obtain a parking spot the day you rented. Everything is in walking distance. Shopping is in every direction. If you need a quick fix for coffee; McDonalds and Starbucks across the street. Renting a car; Enterprise around the corner. Couldn't be any easier. I would totally recommend this place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Tracy, I strive to help make everyones stay at the Gary's Place memorable, and to take back home "a little bit of aloha"!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Gary's Place, Better than advertised!!

Review submitted: July 14, 2011   Date of arrival: June 22, 2011

Our family of 4, including;13 and 7 year old girls just got finsihed staying at Gary's place. Gary is very thoughtful, helpful throughout the whole process. His place is very clean, comfortable and has a great view of the city and mountain range. For those of you that are familiar with the tropical climate and are wondering. Gary's Place is BUG FREE which is extremely important to our daughters. You can open the balcony door and get a great tradewind breeze which keeps his condo cool without having to use the air conditioning. It was great to have internet access available and the newspaper delivered at your doorstep daily. Gary provided boogieboards for our daughters to use and some beachchairs that had the capability to be carried on your back like a backpack which was great. Having a pool in the building is a plus. Especially if you want a day that is saltwater free. It is open from 730am-10pm daily. The water is warm, although if the tradewinds are strong the air temp around the pool can be chilly when soak and wet, for those who have a cool core body temperature. Having the ability to wash laundry is great. It is open from 8am to 10pm daily. Having a kitchen is a huge plus. Eating out can drain your budget and having a kitchen to cook our own breakfast and occasional fresh seafood was awesome.

Gary's condo is centrally located in the heart of Waikiki on Kuhio Ave which is the second busiest street in Waikiki and it is only a 2-3 minute leisuely stroll to Kalakaua Ave. You are about a 7-10 minute walk from the World Famous Waikiki Beach. Gary's place is a block and a half from the rear entrance to the International Marketplace. It is about a 15 minute walk to the zoo and there are so many things to within a 1-10 minute walk that you truly don't need a vehicle if you plan on spending the majority of your time in waikiki.

We would highly recommend Gary's Place to others and we would gladly stay there again anytime we are on the island.

Aloha from Alexandria, Virginia,


Charles, Carolyn, Zoe and Ava

Feel free to contact us at:
fold2chucky@yahoo.com if you have any questions

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: It was a pleasure to work with Charles and Carolyn and be part of the process that makes a family vacation a "great vacation"! Thank you Charles and Carolyn!

Mahalo & Aloha

Gary Stratton

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 28, 2010   Date of arrival: June 18, 2010

Wow, what can I say Gary, your place was such a nice surprise. Actually from the reviews I kinda expected somewhere nice and comfy, yet when I arrived I was still pleasantly surprised.
Located at the 30th floor, Garys place is never too hot. We seriously didn't need the air con the whole time we were there and I was glad for it. Seriously, fresh air or conditioned air... I'd take fresh air every time!
The kitchen was a definite plus, as we could have brekkers in the room and dinner if we wished.
The best thing about the condo was coming back after a long day at the malls/beaches, and just winding down in front of the tv.
My kids loved the space, and the sofa bed was actually quite comfy, and huge! Not to mention the massive king size for me and the hubby. Seriously great, especially seeing as we've got a superking at home and it's hard to go from a superking to a queen I tell you!
Anyway, thank you so much for providing such a nice place at such an affordable price especially for families like mine who are travelling on a budget! I would stay back here in a heart beat. I just wish you had more days available for me and my family to stay, because it beats staying at a hotel any day!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Review submitted: January 3, 2010   Date of arrival: January 3, 2010

How do you thank Gary for being so honest and so real! Tony and I wanted to bring our teenage daughters back to the greatest place on earth for a 2 week vacation. We wanted the girls to have an experience that they would remember their entire life! To be in Waikiki: see it, live it, smell it, walk it, taste it, touch it, swim it and tan it too. We all 4 were so pleased with Gary's place. It had everything! How thoughtful he was to have EVERYTHING you could possibly imagine for days and days of fun in the sun, and then a comfortable cool condo to grab your late afternoon naps, to then go out again for more evening fun! The PARKING was pleasing too. Tony and I both grew up in Hawaii, and do indeed know that parking can be emotional. Having a guaranteed, gated, secured parking space made the experience even better. We did leave the car and walk around a lot,BEING SO CLOSE TO SO MUCH FUN, but it was a blast to have the rent a car and go for our drives around the island as well.
I am a school teacher and I give Gary's Place an A++! Thank you Gary!! BTW, Loved the rice cooker, BEACH CHAIRS,and boogie boards too! Great touch!
Having to only bring your clothes, and then just go stock up on some groceries was sooo AWESOME! We had our home away from home! We stayed just before Christmas 2009 and left New Years Eve! BEST EVER!! ALOHA BRADDAHS & SISTAHS!! Book'em Dano!! Gary's Place is NoKaOi!! (That means #1 for you haoles out there! =) Shaka for now.
We plan to rebook with Gary and have already recommended him to about 6 different families =D Karen,Tony, and da girls!
PS (and this may be important for some of you...) I did NOT see 1 cockroach or ant in Gary's Place! I swear it! Growing up there, you just get used to seeing these. I was super impressed by this too =) ALOOOOOOHA!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: December 12, 2009   Date of arrival: December 12, 2009

This was my first trip to Hawaii where I chose to stay in a condo instead of a hotel...and I'm so glad I did! Gary's place was immaculate, perfectly located and worth every bit of the reasonable rate I paid. I have no hesitation in recommending this condo to any vacationer with 2-3 people who are looking for a great place to stay! I know I won't stay anywhere else on my next trip to the island! Thanks Gary for being so accomodating and for your all your wonderful hospitatlity!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: October 31, 2009   Date of arrival: October 31, 2009

We had a previous disastrous experience with VRBO but Gary has reinstilled our confidence with VRBO. Gary was very professional and courteous beyond expectation. The condo is very clean with extra's on the lanai for the guests to use. I would highly recommend Gary's condo to whomever is visiting Waikiki.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: September 13, 2009   Date of arrival: September 13, 2009

Aloha...What wonderful, relaxing and totally comfortable times we have had at Gary's Place. The first time we stayed , we had three great weeks; the 2nd time (two years later) we enjoyed Gary's Place for an incredible six weeks. Rene and I just love and appreciate the cleanliness, the elegant setting, the breath-taking mountain view, the relative quiet at being 30 floors up, and the accomodating, friendly nature of Gary himself. What a pleasant and kind man! The location of the Royal Kuhio is outstandingly too!! CLOSE to the BEACHES, SHOPPING,and thebus routes.(As we always buy bus passes ...so much easier and economical), Speaking of money...Gary's place doesn't charge you an arm and leg like most other places either. He's VERY fair!! Rene and I have already booked for next year, I love this island and like to call Gary's Place ...MY PLACE because that's the way it feels. Thank you Gary for everything, and I hope anyone who reads this will feel totally confident that choosing Gary's Place will be the best and wisest decision they've ever made. MAHALO ..Judy and Rene Van Hyfte, Red Deer, Ab., Canada

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 25, 2008   Date of arrival: August 25, 2008

My kids and I have stayed at many different vacation rentals in Waikiki (we come every summer for at least two weeks). We stayed at Gary's place for three weeks this year and found this to be the best in terms of both value and comfort. The place was spotlessly clean, well-equipped, quiet, secure, and had in-building parking. We had a wonderful time here and plan to return next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 5, 2008   Date of arrival: July 5, 2008

Great Place, Thanks Gary. This is a great condo, convienently located near everything. Great security, easy parking access. My family and I really enjoyed this place. I would higly recommend Gary's Place to all my family and friends and to those who want a wonderfull Hawaii experience. I will definatly call Gary on my next trip. Gary is great! easy to work with and no hassles.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: November 11, 2007   Date of arrival: November 11, 2007

Entered at request of guest as a direct quote:

"We have stayed 1 month for our honeymoon in september 2007. Gary's Place is a wonderfull pleasant place to stay. Near of all, beach, restaurant, shopping, bus ...etc. The condo is extremely clean, quiet, confortable, affordable, security.... This condo has a great view of the mountains and the Ala Wai. I recommanded this condo anytime. In more the owner it's a very kind person.We can highly recommend this property and we return, it's our place!"

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: September 20, 2007   Date of arrival: September 20, 2007

We loved Gary's place. It was our first trip to the Island and we could not have stayed at a better place. The condo was perfect and fully equipped with everything you would ever need. The views were fabulous and the beach was just a few minutes away. The condo was clean, modern and well stocked. I would 100% recommend this place for anyone thinking about going to Honolulu. Gary was great and very accommodating. I look forward to returning in the near future. Thanks so much again Gary.

Melanie Eresman and Jim Keck

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 29, 2007   Date of arrival: August 29, 2007

This is our 5th time we have stayed at the Royal Kuhio. It is central to Waikiki beaches, buses, and shopping. Loved the condo on 30 floor. Well cooled by trade winds. Condo is very modern, new everything, my wife Judy was very impressed. TV, DVD and cordless computer capabilities. Stayed there 2 weeks and it was one of the best condo's in the Royal Kuhio. When coming back, we will be staying at Gary's Place. THANKS. Rene & Judy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 8, 2007   Date of arrival: March 8, 2007

Myself and 2 of my friends stayed here for 8 nights. We had such a great time. This condo was son convenient to all that Waikiki has to offer. The bus stops right in front of the building. I recommend this place to everyone considering a trip to Oahu. Thank you so much for making our stay so comfortable and so much fun!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 7, 2007   Date of arrival: February 7, 2007

November 1, 2006 for 2 months. Gary’s place, located in the center of Waikiki (with sensational mountain views), exceeded our expectations in every way. He did so much to make our stay exceptional. We were unsure about renting from an individual, but Gary made it easy, treating us as honored guests by attending to so many details that went way beyond what is expected from a vacation rental, for example, a daily newspaper delivery. This place is so much more than is promised in the listing. Everything was immaculately scoured--He even came ahead and checked the room himself before we arrived. The furnishings are in excellent condition, containing abundant dishware, kitchen appliances, and cleaning supplies. Gary could not have made our check-in and our stay any better if we had been his best childhood friends! I can not speak highly enough of this rental and of Gary's efficiency and graciousness.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 7, 2007   Date of arrival: February 7, 2007

November 1, 2006 for 2 months. Gary’s place, located in the center of Waikiki (with sensational mountain views), exceeded our expectations in every way. He did so much to make our stay exceptional. We were unsure about renting from an individual, but Gary made it easy, treating us as honored guests by attending to so many details that went way beyond what is expected from a vacation rental, for example, a daily newspaper delivery. This place is so much more than is promised in the listing. Everything was immaculately scoured--He even came ahead and checked the room himself before we arrived. The furnishings are in excellent condition, containing abundant dishware, kitchen appliances, and cleaning supplies. Gary could not have made our check-in and our stay any better if we had been his best childhood friends! I can not speak highly enough of this rental and of Gary's efficiency and graciousness.Marie Satz.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 23, 2006   Date of arrival: August 23, 2006

Great Condo, You are in the middle of everything on Kuhio. 5 min walk to most events and shows. Lebus drops you of almost at the front door. A $4.99 steak and egg breakfast 150 feet south of the Condo. This condo has a great view of the mountains to the east. Ten minute walk to the beach. Right next door to the International Shopping center.
I really think that you one must spend at least 2 weeks in order to see most of
the City and the rest of the Island. We enjoyed it for 9 days. We hope you will too.
Thanks Gary.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 27, 2006   Date of arrival: July 27, 2006

We stayed at Gary's place for a week in June. First I had a concern about sending the personal check without getting the keys. But after a few emails and phone calls, I feel I made the right decision. The Gary's place is very good and like every one said. The only suggestion I have is to add extra set of sheets for the family who will be using the sleeper sofa.

Owners response: The condo "standard" is linens for both the beds. This appears to have been a service failure and preventitive measures have been enhanced.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 13, 2006   Date of arrival: July 13, 2006

Thank you for all your help. Your condo was very nice and a beautiful view! We had a nice trip – Thank You! I will be sure to tell my friends and family about your place. Diane

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 28, 2006   Date of arrival: June 28, 2006

I stayed at Gary’s with my two kids and my best friend for 10 days in early June 2006. Gary’s is a wonderfully pleasant place to stay. The condo is extremely clean, comfortable and affordable; everything is there for you. It has a gorgeous evening view and wonderful breezes that come off the mountains. The condo came highly recommended to me by my cousin Carmela; (see 3/31/04 below). It’s a warm welcoming building with a secured entrance and private parking. The location is perfect with the beach, restaurants and shopping all within walking distance. The kitchen is incredibly well equipped with everything you could possible need. Gary was so helpful and really made exceptional effort in working with me. He is just a sweet and kind person that is always willing to help. I plan on using Gary’s Place again for my son’s graduation trip and also for my return trip. Not only have I recommended Gary’s Place to several co-workers that are planning future trips but I also highly recommend Gary’s Place to anyone and everyone planning a visit to Waikiki, Oahu. You’ll be glad you stayed at Gary’s.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 29, 2006   Date of arrival: May 29, 2006

We stayed at Garys Place and had a great time. The facilites were good, located in a secured and private building. Its situated minutes from the beach and the International Market Place. Dealing with Gary was excellent, and we will definitely stay there next time we're in Honolulu.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: November 1, 2005   Date of arrival: November 1, 2005

We were in the condo for a week and found it to be very comfortable and quite convenient to everything. The pool and laundry room were an added bonus. It was a great location and we were very happy with the suite. Would recommend this to our friends.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 17, 2005   Date of arrival: October 17, 2005

I stayed in Gary's condo the first week in October. It was very comfortable and well equipped, and is perfectly located. Gary was very cooperative and pleasant. I will stay here again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 7, 2005   Date of arrival: October 7, 2005

Gary's place has the 3 things I need most in a rental: Good location, good price, and a comfotable bed. The recliner and couch were in good shape and still comfy. The building was clean and secure.There are 2 places with great breakfast deals right next door at seaside ave. and with all the happy hour & early bird specials at the resturaunts (we liked Moose's the best), we never used the full kitchen. Only 2 drawbacks: the ac unit kicks on and off every 2 minutes no matter what temp its set at, and having to empty the condesation tub was a slight pain. And the beach is not 2 blocks away, its more like 6-8, but still only a 15 minute walk. This is a great place for the price!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: September 29, 2005   Date of arrival: September 29, 2005

I found Gary's place very relaxing. It was very clean and quiet. It's much nicer than some of the timeshares I have stay at in the past. I would highly recommend this place. My sisters and nephews found the place quite nice. I kept the place all to myself. They stood down at the Imperial of Waikiki. This place was much more spacious and a better location.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: September 7, 2005   Date of arrival: September 7, 2005

I FOUND GARY'S CONDO TO BE JUST PERFECT FOR MY VACATION. IT IS WELL FURNISHED, VERY QUIET AND EXTREMELY COMFORTABLE. THE KITCHEN IS WELL EQUIPPED AND A NEWSPAPER IS DELIVERED EACH DAY. FREE LOCAL CALLS ARE GREAT FOR INTERNET USERS. THE BEACH IS WITHIN TWO BLOCKS AS ARE SHOPPING AND RESTAUANTS. I USUALLY STAY AT HOTEL WHILE IN WAIKIKI, BUT NOW I HAVE FOUND THE PERFECT PLACE!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 30, 2005   Date of arrival: August 30, 2005

Gary's condo is more than advertised! It was meticulously clean, extremely well stocked and very comfortable. I would stay at Gary's condo again in a heartbeat. Great location, convenient and plenty to do in the building. I would highly recommend Gary's condo to anyone considering a trip to Hawaii. My family stayed down the street at a "reasonably" priced hotel and they kept visiting me because they liked it much better and I had a much better price. Make Gary's a must stay!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 30, 2005   Date of arrival: August 30, 2005

Gary's condo is more than advertised! It was meticulously clean, extremely well stocked and very comfortable. I would stay at Gary's condo again in a heartbeat. Great location, convenient and plenty to do in the building. I would highly recommend Gary's condo to anyone considering a trip to Hawaii. My family stayed down the street at a "reasonably" priced hotel and they kept visiting me because they liked it much better and I had a much better price. Make Gary's a must stay!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 20, 2005   Date of arrival: July 20, 2005

We truly enjoyed staying at Gary's place. We stayed in another condo previously, but Gary's condo was much cleaner and more secure. We cooked several meals and found everything that we needed supplied in the kitchen. It was BLAZING hot during our visit so we were very thankful for the terrific air conditioning even though dumping the bucket was a bit of a pain. We had an assigned parking space and parking was easy, convenient, and secure. Thanks, Gary, for allowing us to stay in your condo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 5, 2005   Date of arrival: July 5, 2005

Gary's place as perfect for my fiance and I to relax during a short four day stay before we went to Maui. We could walk to the major shopping areas and to the beach no problems. The condo is very comfortable and we felt at home. It was warm during our stay and the fans and A/C really helped. We rented a condo in Kauai w/o A/C after and we were wishing we were still at Gary's. Excellent bang for the buck and Gary is really professional and courteous.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 21, 2005   Date of arrival: June 21, 2005

Our stay at Gary's condo was great. We've been to Honolulu numerous times before, always staying in hotels, but Gary's condo far exceeded any hotel. The location was excellent...right in the middle of everything. The condo itself was very well maintained and had everything we needed. The view was beautiful, especially at night, and it's high up enough that there were no bugs and we couldn't hear the traffic below. It took us a while to master the magnetic security tag, but once we did, we were good to go. We hope to return in the near future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 20, 2005   Date of arrival: June 20, 2005

Very nice place to stay. We stayed in April and it was great, we were so close to everything. Would recomend to anyone to stay here.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: September 17, 2004   Date of arrival: September 17, 2004

Gary's Place was the best. This was my family's first time ever to Hawaii and we really enjoyed ourselves. Some other family members stayed in hotels nearby, but said that Gary's place felt more like home. You are in the middle of everything when staying here and you really don't have to do alot of driving since everything is just walking distance. My husband and I are planning to go back and we wouldn't choose any other place than Gary's condo. I have referred alot of friends and co-worker to Gary's place.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 25, 2004   Date of arrival: June 25, 2004

My husband and I and our 5-year-old daughter stayed at Gary's place for a week in June '04. We felt right at home and were very comfortable. The building is very well maintained, and the condo had more than everything we needed. We own a timeshare and have never stayed in one that was as well equipped as Gary's place. Our daughter loved the view and would go out on the patio every day to play (not sure what she did, but she liked to be “outside). We loved that we were up so high that we didn't hear much street noise, and the view really is beautiful, day and night. The building staff were very helpful. Had some friends staying in HI at same time who came over for dinner from their B&B and were envious of our accommodations. Will stay again and recommend to all our friends (with some trepidation...now we might never get another reservation!) Thanks Gary for helping make our trip a comfortable success.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 10, 2004   Date of arrival: June 10, 2004

We stayed at Garys Place for the first week in June and had a great time. The facilites were good, in a secured and private building. Its situated minutes from the beach and theres a fantastic night view of the city. Dealing with Gary was hastle free, and I will stay there next time I'm in Honolulu.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 21, 2004   Date of arrival: April 21, 2004

My friend and I stay at Gary's condo on 4/2/04 - 04/09/04 and we were extremely pleased with our accomodations. I what we really liked was the 24 hr security. The condo was very well equipped and the view was just gorgeous. We were close to everything in the beaches, International Market and shopping, etc. This was our first trip there and was awesome. The people at the Royal Kuhio were very nice. The next time I visit Hawaii, I will most definitely stay at Gary's again. I've been telling my friends about Gary's condo! It was great. It was a pleasure talking to Gary and he was very accomodating in making our trip pleasant.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 31, 2004   Date of arrival: March 31, 2004

My family stayed at Gary's condo from 3/8/04-3/16/04 and we were very pleased. The condo is very neat, clean, well-kept with 24 hr.security.A key is needed to enter the bldg.unlike other condo's. 7th floor has a full laundromat,sauna, swimming pool, gym, and more. The kitchen is well equipped with everything you need including cleaning supplies and paper goods. Located on the 30th floor(you can't even tell)you'll get some rest.By night you have a beautiful view of the honolulu lights among the hillside and by day you see people canoeing on the alawai canal. Condo is within blocks of a food pantry(diamond head side), international market place, and restaurants.Magic of polynesia show, sunset beach are a few blocks away.The rest of our group stayed in another condo but liked Gary's better. Gary had free local calls, they had to pay 75 cents each call. You also receive a newspaper.Gary's condo has the best price/location/security.Gary is also the sweetest person you could ever speak to. We hope to return in 2005 and we will definitely stay at Gary's.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: November 15, 2003   Date of arrival: November 15, 2003

we had a wonderful time in waikiki. the condo had a very nice view toward th canal and golf course, and was nicely furnished and equipped. we would definetly stay there again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 28, 2003   Date of arrival: October 28, 2003

The three of us thoroughly enjoyed our one-week stay at "Gary's Condo". Only a few minutes walk from the beach and situated in the midst of restaurants and shopping, the condo's location is superb. Although the building itself is modern and highrise, the lobby is attractive and has a friendly atmosphere; we found the staff to be very helpful. The unit itself is quiet, clean, spacious and practical, including a dramatic view of the majestic mountains behind the highrise building. Gary was very responsive to all our pre-departure questions, and we found the kitchen to be surprisingly well-stocked with all the basics, and he even generously allows local calls on his telephone. Really, I think Gary's presentation of his property is humble and somewhat understated.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 14, 2003   Date of arrival: July 14, 2003

IF you want to add that little extra to your Hawaiian holiday then staying in Gary's condo is it.
We have had the most wonderful 10 days at a 25 year reunion, and this was our ideal of a great place to stay. It had everything - location, facilities, confort, quiet and security. All our friends were extremely envious.
Next time in Wakiki we will be straight back to Gary to stay in his condo.
We can't recommend it highly enough.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 6, 2003   Date of arrival: July 6, 2003

We were really looking forward to our holiday in Hawaii. Gary's Place is exactly as advertised..Great location/ condo/price. It is close to everything.
Beautiful building, great security, and the condo was well furnished, excellent kitchen. We can highly recommend this propety and would use it again.
Mahalo, Liz Johnson

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review