reviews for: listing #17741 - Manuel Antonio/Quepos, Costa Rica Villa rental

Perfect Pacific Views: Trip Advisor's 'Best Rental' 2009-13
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Pacific View
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $414 - $800 /nt
    $2,900 - $7,400 /wk

sort by:

Wonderful vacation villa, great customer service

Review submitted: January 30, 2014   Date of arrival: December 21, 2013

My family's experience at Casa Tranquila was a very positive one. I would highly recommend this villa to everyone. The hospitality provided by Donald, Nathan and Jessica is outstanding. We found them to be courteous, knowledgeable and an invaluable resource.

The villa is modern, clean and well maintained. The kitchen is well stocked with everything you could possibly want, including spices. We appreciated the extras that were provided, that most places don't have - suntan lotion, bug spray, beach towels, beach bags, robes, room safes, etc. The ocean view is amazing and is a daily reminder of the beauty and serenity that surrounds this location. The pool was a great focal point for our family to relax in the afternoons. In the evenings, we appreciated the separate living areas so kids and adults could have their own space.

We didn't get a rental car and didn't miss having one. The villa is a mere 5 minute walk to the main road where one can catch a bus or find a few restaurants. Donald and Nathan made arrangements for all our daily excursions which is a wonderful service to provide. Every day we knew where, when, who and how much. Most of the excursions provided transportation for us, and those that didn't, arrangements were made by Donald and Nathan. They also made arrangements for our transportation from the San Jose airport and the driver was kind enough to stop to view the wildlife and the grocery store on the way in. We did jet skiing, snorkeling, spice gardens, ATV's, 10-in-1 adventure, butterfly gardens (don't miss it - a 10 minute walk from the villa), sunset cruise, mangrove kayaking, national park and deep sea fishing. Still didn't get to do everything we wanted! Should have stayed longer!

We made arrangements for Jessica to cook our dinners every evening and were so grateful we did! She's a great cook and each evening we looked forward to what her dinner would be (especially her homemade guacamole). She even cooked the fish we caught - an amazing cerviche. Her portions are large and plenty even for a party of 6 adults and 3 teenage boys. Staying in the villa was much more relaxing then attempting to take a large group out at night. If you do the sunset cruise, they do serve a dinner - felt guilty that evening we didn't finish Jessica's seafood lasagna.

Donald, Nathan and Jessica, thank you so much for a wonderful vacation! We're so glad you joined us for our Christmas gift exchange and look forward to coming back some day. Pura vida!

Owners response: Linda, Thank so much for sharing your family with us at Casa Tranquila. We had a great Christmas with you! It could not have been better. And we will all look forward to your return next year! Donald, Nathan, Jessica & "Sombra"

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing!

Review submitted: August 5, 2014   Date of arrival: June 26, 2014

Costa Rica is an amazing country to visit, but only if you stay at Casa Tranquila! Donald & Nathan take care of every detail of your visit & it was amazing. They are so kind, thoughtful & truly passionate about their "job". They do a phenomenal job. Jessica makes sure your stay is comfortable. Every day we came back to a clean, inviting home. Juan takes care of the pool & landscaping. We were very grateful that he swept the leaves from the stairs, especially after it rained (I am a bit of a spaz). Our girls loved playing with Sombra in the pool. They wanted to take her home! Nathan, I cant forget the homemade cupcakes, YUM! I had 2 the first day & another the next.! Thank you, Thank you, Thank you! We miss you guys! The Alexanders

Owners response: We miss you TOOOOOO, Kris and Roy. You guys were sensational guests. You have no idea what a pleasure it was to have you and "The Girls" at Casa Tranquila. Thank you for making us feel like such a special part of your vacation. You certainly get the idea that while planning is our "job", it's a team effort. We appreciate your helping US! You are welcome back any time you want to be here. Donald, Nathan, Jessica, Juan & Sombra.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great house in a beautiful country!

Review submitted: July 27, 2014   Date of arrival: June 21, 2014

We spent six days in Manuel Antonio to celebrate our son's recent graduation from high school. Two families that included four teenagers fit perfectly in Casa Tranquila. The view is amazing as is the pool area. All of the excursions that Nathan arranged for us were wonderful - both the service and the experience. Rafting was the all-around favorite. And Jessica's meals that she prepared for us were fabulous. The location is great for walking to several local restaurants where once again the views are unbelievable. We visited during the rainy season, and it did not slow us down much. It did rain some each day, so be prepared for it. Donald, Nathan, and Jessica did an outstanding job of making every aspect of this vacation memorable.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Outstanding Spring Break!

Review submitted: April 3, 2014   Date of arrival: March 22, 2014

Our family of 5 (kids 12, 11 & 7) stayed at Casa Tranquila for spring break this year. We had a fabulous time! Donald, Nathan and staff do an incredible job ensuring your trip is everything you want it to be.
The house, with its amazing ocean view, worked out perfectly for our family. Very true to the pictures! There was plenty of space for the kids to play games downstairs (when they weren't swimming in the pool) and the adults enjoyed the view from the upstairs balcony & living room areas. We found the location to be perfect - lots of restaurants within walking distance.
What really made our vacation wonderful, though, was the attention that Donald and Nathan put into helping us plan our vacation. Nathan, the concierge, made all of the reservations for our activities. From booking our rental car to all of our adventure activities, we didn't have to worry about a thing! The tour operators they book with are fantastic - we couldn't have had more fun rafting, ziplining, sunset cruising or rappelling our way through Costa Rica!
In addition to the tour planning, we had the housekeeper Jessica cook two meals for us at the house. It was great to be able to relax in the house and not have to drag the tired kids out for dinner every night. The first night of our trip Jessica was unavailable, so Donald & Nathan secured a chef from a top rated local restaurant cook for us - delicious!
Our kids all developed swimmers' ear while on the trip, so we contacted Donald to see if there was a drugstore we could hit to pick up some ear drops. He quickly set up an appointment for us at a farmacia and even drove us to pick up some medicine! That help was invaluable!
What an incredible first visit to Costa Rica. We highly recommend Casa Tranquila!

Owners response: Thanks for that glowing feedback, Amanda. We love when our friends notice the attention to detail. You and Joe were so helpful along the way, that it made our planning your week very easy. You guys know you are always welcome at Casa Tranquila. I'm really happy Brandon, Connor and Mallory's ears are back to normal! Donald

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Great views, great hosts, wonderful vacation with

Review submitted: March 28, 2014   Date of arrival: January 25, 2014

We took our 3 adult kids and significant others to Manuel antonio for a wonderful family vacation for a week at the end of January. The weather was beautiful, the area was lush with lots of wildlife to enjoy. We all agreed that our favorite activity was the zip lining (and some of us were afraid of heights) that Donald and Nathan arranged for us. It was amazing! The guys who ran the place were friendly and extremely safety conscious, and the views from run to run were amazing! Don't miss that! We also enjoyed the sunset cruise and 4 wheeler ride, but be prepared to get very dirty from the dust on the roads. Each night we had cocktails somewhere, by the pool, on the beach, or at one of the many restaurants or bars with an amazing view. Our favorite for that was El avion (the airplane restaurant). The food there was good but our 2 favorite dinner spots were the small Italian restaurant on the main road (Nathan and Donald will know the name) and the small restaurant on Three Left Turns road going to the beach (and again I'm blank on the name but Nathan and Donald can help where I am blank). Amazing food especially at the last two! The staff at the Casa were very helpful and friendly and eager to please. Our kids all agreed that it was an amazing vacation!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

This was an excellent vacation rental!

Review submitted: March 24, 2014   Date of arrival: March 1, 2014

Donald and Nathan took care of everything. They were wonderful to work with. They had excellent information for us to make our decisions on planning our vacation. We locked ourselves out 2x and they were there to meet us when we got back. One of my sons developed a rash and they escorted us downtown, introduced us to the pharmacist and she helped us with what we needed.
Costa Rica is a wonderful place to visit and staying at Casa Tranquila was our paradise away from home!

Owners response: Thanks, Brenda. While we love when our guests rave about Casa Tranquila's views, design and pools, I must say it's extra-special when you notice the effort we put into "being there" for you. We work hard on that. You guys are welcome back anytime you can get here. We loved having you and "The Guys" at Casa Tranquila. And we're always happy to make your "rash decisions" :) Donald

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Vacation Ever

Review submitted: March 20, 2014   Date of arrival: February 15, 2014

This was our first visit to Costa Rica and it surpassed all of our expectations! Casa Tranquila was amazing! The home was beautiful with all the amenities one could ask for. Jessica made sure it was cleaned to perfection each and every day! We loved sitting by the pool with the breath-taking view. We loved walking to town, and visiting the great local restaurants. Donald and Nathan were always available to suggest the very best of restaurants. The beach and National Park were beautiful. We couldn't have asked for more... We are already planning our trip back!

Owners response: WOW, Christi! Thank You. I know how much you and Tim and The Boys have traveled, so to hear Casa Tranquila gave you your "best vacation ever", is an amazing compliment. Your family was great, and I really appreciate your welcoming Nathan and me into it. We'll see you next year. Donald.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Return to Paradise

Review submitted: February 6, 2014   Date of arrival: January 17, 2014

Since coming to Manuel Antonio for the past four years, this property is one of my favorites. The view is beautiful and the house is very inviting with a great staff and an owner who will help you relax and enjoy this great area. One can hike, water sports, sail, swing through the trees, or just kick back and enjoy the scenery. I would recommend this property to young families, empty nesters or older travelers who wish to visit Paradise.

Owners response: Thanks, Dianne, for the glowing recommendation! It was such a pleasure to have you, Jerrod, Heather and Little Bode as my guests. We'll look forward to having you again next year; just let us know when you're ready! Donald

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great!

Review submitted: January 29, 2014   Date of arrival: December 29, 2013

We had a great time on our trip - Casa Tranquila was a large part why. Large, comfortable, and well appointed, the home is a terrific place to stay while exploring all that Manuel Antonio has to offer.

Donald and Nathan were super helpful in organizing our trip and taking care of us while we were there. Jessica, the cook we hired through Donald, was fantastic!

Highly recommended.

Owners response: Thanks for the vote of confidence, Walt! You and your nine family members were ideal guests; it was great bringing in the New Year with you and the entire group. Thanks for all your kindness, and we'll look forward to having you for you 2015 vacation! Donald & Nathan

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful

Review submitted: December 3, 2013   Date of arrival: November 12, 2013

My husband and I and another couple stayed here just for a few days in November. We had a great, relaxing time! Donald's home is beautiful and very comfortable. He had great local recommendations for anything from food to activities. Would love to come back and spend a full week to take advantage of everything Manuel Antonio has to offer!

Owners response: Amy, You & Devon were the perfect guests. Please come back again next year for a longer visit! Thanks so much for the kind words! Donald & Nathan

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"A great time was had by all!"

Review submitted: September 20, 2013   Date of arrival: December 29, 2012

The house was great and the staff wonderful. Donald was amazing and reached out to us before we got there with what we wanted to do and then he basically took control and made all of our reservations for dinners, surfing lessons, zip line tours, jet skiing etc! It made everything so easy for us and we were able to relax.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Extraordinarily Scenic Home & Wonderful Atmosphere

Review submitted: September 19, 2013   Date of arrival: September 1, 2013

This absolutely superb home definitely helps one find "Pura Vida" in Costa Rica!! Whether its from the windows, the pool patio, or the balconies, expansive and beautiful views of the Pacific, tropical rainforest, and islands of Manuel Antonio spread out before you. The interior is wonderfully designed with locally modern tropical themes and the living spaces and beautiful outdoors seem to meld as one. The home is conveniently located in Manuel Antonio, with access to great restaurants, beaches, and points-of-interest for a wide array of outdoor activities, animal sightseeing, and water sports. Finally, the staff is absolutely great and, at any indication of interest, will immediately help arrange activities with the best companies in the area for your time in Costa Rica. Donald has established this awesome place and his great thoughtfulness for all who visit clearly shows.

Owners response: Wow, Austin, Thanks so much for noticing. We try our best to attend to the details of your vacation, and we love when our guests are pleased. I hope you will both come see us again . . . for a really long visit next time. Donald

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Great Tima was had by All

Review submitted: August 23, 2013   Date of arrival: December 29, 2012

The house was great and the staff wonderful. Donald was amazing and reached out to us before we got there with what we wanted to do and then he basically took control and made all of our reservations for dinners, surfing lessons, zip line tours, jet skiing etc! It made everything so easy for us and we were able to relax.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

My New Home in Costa Rica

Review submitted: July 25, 2013   Date of arrival: June 12, 2013

I came to Costa Rica my first time in 2009. I have since visited seven different vacation villas in Manuel Antonio. After being in Casa Tranquila in 2013, I can now compare, and I will never rent any other home. Some were more expensive; some less. They all had pools, views, wifi, all the amenities, so it was always hard to decide. But the attention I received from Donald made all the difference in the world. As soon as I contacted him, he anticipated, and took care of all my family’s needs until the day we left.
Twice we had stayed closer to the beach (beachfront houses don’t exist in M.A.) but didn’t like the heat, loud music, and long (uphill) walks to the better restaurants. Up at Casa Tranquila we found out how much better it was to be on the mountain, and the beach was still just five minutes away. I travel to Central America often, so I know how stressful it can be. Donald took all that worry away and put my family at ease. He did everything he said he was going to do, and where I come from, that means a lot. Thanks, Donald. We can’t wait to see you again in 2014, and for many more years to come.

Owners response: Thanks, Jason. I am really pleased you feel so "at home" at Casa Tranquila. It's always a fun week for us when you come to visit. I appreciate those great compliments. And we will certainly keep the light on for you until we see you again. Donald

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing

Review submitted: July 11, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2013

Our stay at Casa Tranquila was more than I expected. The accommodations were clean, comfortable, and the view from the pool/deck was breath taking. The location was perfect, near the beach and choice eating establishments. We look forward to a return trip.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Views and Accomodations

Review submitted: April 21, 2013   Date of arrival: April 13, 2013

I highly recommend Casa Tranquila. The house is beautiful with all the ammenities that we needed. The views are absolutely stunning and the location is perfect for getting around the area. The owner, Donald, was excellent providing concierge service to meet our every need. He was on hand to help arrange any site seeing or recreational activity we were interesting in and providing exceptional advice about the area. A perfect place for enjoying gorgeous views, viewing the wildlife of Costa Rica, and having a relaxing vacation. It is a truely excellent property, excellent service, and stunning views. I couldn't have asked for more.

Owners response: Thanks so much, Michael for those great comments. You all were a pleasure to have in Casa Tranquila, and I will certainly look forward to having you back again in the future. Donald

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Extremely Satisfied

Review submitted: April 10, 2013   Date of arrival: March 7, 2013

There aren't enough pictures and words to possibly describe the bliss we experienced at Casa Tranquila. Donald is extremely accommodating and took care of all of our needs from the moment we stepped off the plane. He was a great resource with his extensive knowledge of the community and recreational activities offered in the area. The house was immaculate and I highly recommend it!

Owners response: Thanks, Joe, for the recommendation. You and your Friends were such a pleasure to have as my Guests. I will look forward to seeing you again next year.
Donald

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Casa Tranquila = Perfect Birthday Escape

Review submitted: April 7, 2013   Date of arrival: March 9, 2013

Everything about our Costa Rican escape was perfection, including our stay at Casa Tranquila. Donald was the perfect host and took care of every detail for us. We had the most amazing view of the ocean from Tranquila, yet privacy of the gardens surrounding the home -- it was the perfect setting of ocean views and forest/gardens where we had up close and personal visits by the white-faced monkeys and squirrel monkeys. Donald made the perfect connections for us, including canopy tours, white-water rafting, spa massage and even a surf lesson. We had a private cook that made the most tasty meals -- I would say even better than some of the local restaurants! It was simply a trip of a lifetime and staying at Casa Tranquila was heaven on earth. We'll be back.

Owners response: Casie, I am so happy your birthday at Casa Tranquila was a happy one; everyone should have friends like yours. Thanks for all the kind words, and know that you are all welcome to return to Casa Tranquila any time! Donald, Nathan, Jessica & "The Girls".

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Plan for Perfection

Review submitted: March 21, 2013   Date of arrival: March 2, 2013

If you're like me, you carefully research vacation-stay alternatives, nervously select just the right one, and then plan as best you can to make your stay just right.

And, if you're like me, choose Casa Tranquila for your visit to Costa Rica, and KNOW that Donald and his extended family will make your stay all that you hope it will be.

Owners response: Thank You, Robert. You know there are many spectacular homes in Manuel Antonio, and I try to set Casa Tranquila apart for the others by offering the service you speak of in your comments. Thank you for noticing! And thank you for helping to make others aware. Please stay in touch, and know that I will look forward to your return visit in 2014! Donald

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous vacation!

Review submitted: March 18, 2013   Date of arrival: February 2, 2013

I echo everything Lauren said about Casa Tranquila. The house, pool, view, and monkey visits were all amazing. What's great about Costa Rica is that there is a variety of activities, as opposed to just lying on a beach (my husband is not a "beach" person). We hiked, shopped, ate out, swam, and some of us lay on the beautiful beaches! Donald is so terrific, as are all the people he has working with him. My other name for Casa Tranquila is Casa Paraiso! This was the most amazing trip and the best way I could think of to spend my birthday! Thanks Donald, et al.!
Marilyn W.

Owners response: Thanks, Marilyn. We miss you! I hope you are staying warm back in NY, and that your memories of Casa Tranquila are still lingering fondly. And the amazing tan you got while you got while you were here too! Best to your family. Be back soon. Donald.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best Vacation Ever

Review submitted: March 18, 2013   Date of arrival: November 17, 2012

This vacation with the girls was the best vacation yet. It will be extremely hard to top this vacation. The views from Casa Tranquila are absolutely amazing. Don made us all feel extremely comfortable and at home. He greeted us, showed us around, and went over all our excersions with us for the week.
We went zip lining, white water rafting, the park, and had Todd come to Casa Tranquila for massages.
We enjoyed the beautiful mornings around the pool into the early afternoon and then walked to town for shopping and a bite to eat. We always felt safe walking in town to our villa day or night.
Everyone was so friendly which made our trip so much more enjoyable. We absolutely loved walking to the town grocery store and having all of our food and refreshments delivered directly back to our casa for $2.00. (the best!!)
Nathan and Jessica cooked us a meal one night that was absolutely amazing! The best Mahi Mahi I have ever had with the largest shrimp, and the best guacamole dip! The water here is great tasting from the tap and none of the 5 girls got sick, this was a huge bonus.
Don checked in with us often to see if we needed anything. On our last day the monkeys came and visited us with their baby on their back, adorable!! We will 100% be back! Thanks for a wonderful experience Don, Nathan, Jessica, and of course Cheslea and Sombra!

Owners response: We certainly miss you Girls here at Casa Tranquila, Kim. Your visit was certainly one of the most fun ever for us. I'm really looking forward to you guys returning in November 2013. Thanks for being such special Guests. Donald

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

PERFECT!

Review submitted: March 7, 2013   Date of arrival: February 2, 2013

Costa Rica was the perfect destination for our sun and wildlife-loving mom's 60th birthday celebration. And Casa Tranquila was the PERFECT place to stay.

Even before we arrived, Donald had our trip all planned out. Each excursion was expertly selected. We enjoyed the mangrove boat tour, zip lining (well, some zip lined, while others enjoyed an incredible massage from Todd) and the sunset sail, which included snorkeling, swimming at a private beach, and a delicious on-board feast! And our tour of the park with Gama was just fantastic.

But, as requested, Donald also made sure we had plenty of time to lounge by the pool and lay on the beach. And, it was probably our time at the house that was most enjoyable. Our daily visits from the monkeys (and babies!), floating in the pool, eating Jessica's absolutely delicious home-cooked meal (and this review is coming from someone used to New York city restaurants!), and waking up to the most breath taking view!

Thank you, Donald, for sharing your house and helping us plan such an amazing vacation, and helping make sure we got home ok, despite the snow storm! Thank you, Jessica, for spoiling us rotten! We are all dreaming of Casa Tranquila, as the Northeast winter drags on, and can't wait to come back someday soon.

Owners response: Thanks, Lauren. I am so happy you and your family enjoyed Casa Tranquila so much. I am certainly thankful, too, that my direct-dial "Monkey Hotline" was in intact and that you had visits every day. Best of everything to You and Eric in the future. Please come back to visit again soon. Donald

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

BEST vacation EVER!!

Review submitted: February 26, 2013   Date of arrival: February 9, 2013

Casa Tranquila is a very special place. It's a beautiful house with amazing views but what sets this house apart is the Casa Tranquila team. Donald and his amazing staff are so friendly and go out of there way to make sure that every detail is taken care of. With many experiences renting vacation homes, this is by far the VERY BEST choice we ever made. Costa Rica is a beautiful country and the people are very nice. All of the excursions and restaurants that Donald recommended were outstanding. We really did leave as friends!

We can't thank them enough for a very memorable anniversary vacation.

The Castillo's
Atlanta GA

Owners response: Laura, you and Miguel have already made my 2013 Season one that is in the record books for Special Guests. Thanks so much for a great week at Casa Tranquila. I am so looking forward to your return in April! And, hopefully, many more times in the years to come. I believe you and Miguel surely captured the meaning of "Pura Vida". Donald

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Casa Tranquila

Review submitted: December 5, 2012   Date of arrival: November 11, 2012

We loved our stay in Costa Rica., it was our first visit and it surpassed our "high" expectations! Casa Tranquila was truly amazing...with its gorgeous views, and luxurious amenities (with a monkey on the porch thrown in). Don made sure that we made the most of our vacation, assisting us as needed...he was our personal concierge! We loved our short walk in to town, and visiting the great local restaurants. The beach was so natural and untouched...we could walk for miles. We are already planning our trip back, it has been our best vacation so far...thanks Don!

- Wisconsin Girls

Owners response: Kelly, You Girls were the Best! We're still reliving the laughs here at Casa Tranquila. you know you are ALL welcome back any time. We'll be in touch, for sure. Donald

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing Family Thanksgiving Vacation!

Review submitted: June 7, 2012   Date of arrival: November 18, 2011

WE LOVED DONALD AND CASA TRANQUILA! From my first contact with Donald, I knew that I had found the vacation home to rent for my family over the Thanksgiving holiday! By the time I arrived at Casa Tranquila, I truly thought that I was going to stay at a great friends house for the holiday! Donald made all the arrangements from transportation to/from San Jose, to all of our adventures, which included Zip Lines, Manual Antonio tour with Gama (we loved Gama and the tour is a must on your things to do while in Manuel Antonio), White Water Rafting, and our amazing massages with Todd. Donald also coordinated for a chef to come in on Thanksgiving morning, while we were white water rafting, and cook our Thanksgiving meal. What a treat! I think we have started a new family tradition! The house is beyond beautiful! We spent most mornings on the porch with our coffee and most evenings with our cocktails enjoying the amazing view! It is truly magical! Our 13-year-old boy/girl twins especially enjoyed the amazing pool, the many visits each day from the white-faced monkeys and the occasional Jesus Christ lizard (they can walk on water!). Donald was amazing, but we can't write this review without mentioning sweet Jessica and her daily housekeeping visits (did I mention that I had two teenagers she was cleaning up for???)I actually got to relax over the holidays! I would highly recommend Casa Tranquila for your next Costa Rican vacation! You will not regret it! Thank you Donald for everything! Sorry it took me so long to write this review! Our trip was so incredible and memorable that it was hard to sit down and put it into words! If only I could have sat up on your porch with a glass of vino and written away! Hope all is well with you and I hope our paths cross again one day! Hopefully at Casa Tranquila! Love, Rebecca, Steve, Wesley and Edward!

Owners response: Rebecca, thanks for the great review. You know you and The Family are welcome at Casa Tranquila anytime you can come back. You Southern Charm (and accents) take me right back to Charleston. Cannot wait to see you again!

Donald

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Unbeatable house, host and location

Review submitted: April 19, 2012   Date of arrival: March 23, 2012

We have rented 20+ vacation properties in the U.S., Caribbean and Europe and, without a doubt, this was our family's best experience yet. Donald's service and attention to detail is unparalleled. He sincerely wants each guest to have a magnificent vacation. We are usually very independent travelers, but I know our Costa Rican experience would not have been the same without Donald's expertise and resources.

Everything about the property exceeded our expectations. We were a family group of 7, comprised of teens, 20-somethings and 50 year olds, and Casa Tranquila was ideal for us. The bathrooms were even lovelier than the photos. We are serious home cooks, and the kitchen surpasses most rentals by a mile - it's stocked with everything you need. We did choose to have Jessica and Nathan cook dinner for us one night. Good food is important to us, and the dinner they prepared was fantastic. Don't miss this opportunity. And Jessica's impeccable, yet unobtrusive, daily housekeeping visits added to the luxurious stay.

Casa Tranquila and Manuel Antonio are the perfect Costa Rican destination. You can be as active as you want - Donald arranged the zip line tour, MA Park nature hike and jet skiing/snorkeling for us - or you can just relax on beautiful, deserted beaches within easy reach. Some of my best memories, however, are floating in the pool and taking in Casa Tranquila's gorgeous views and daily visits from the white-faced monkeys.

We chose not to rent a car and found the local bus to Quepos/MA Park and taxis were all we needed if we didn't walk. Don't miss the Friday night/Saturday farmers market in Quepos! Donald handled all of our transport to/from SJO and it worked perfectly.

We enthusiastically recommend Casa Tranquila and Manuel Antonio.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Unbeatable house, host and location

Review submitted: April 19, 2012   Date of arrival: March 23, 2012

We have rented 20+ vacation properties in the U.S., Caribbean and Europe and, without a doubt, this was our family's best experience yet. Donald Corvette's service and attention to detail is unparalleled. He sincerely wants each guest to have a magnificent vacation. We are usually very independent travelers, but I know our Costa Rican experience would not have been the same without Donald's expertise and resources.

Everything about the property exceeded our expectations. We were a family group of 7, comprised of teens, 20-somethings and 50 year olds, and Casa Tranquila was ideal for us. The bathrooms were even lovelier than the photos. We are serious home cooks, and the kitchen surpasses most rentals by a mile - it's stocked with everything you need. We did choose to have Jessica and Nathan cook dinner for us one night. Good food is important to us, and the dinner they prepared was fantastic. Don't miss this opportunity. And Jessica's impeccable, yet unobtrusive, daily housekeeping visits added to the luxurious stay.

Casa Tranquila and Manuel Antonio are the perfect Costa Rican destination. You can be as active as you want - Donald arranged the zip line tour, MA Park nature hike and jet skiing/snorkeling for us - or you can just relax on beautiful, deserted beaches within easy reach. Some of my best memories, however, are floating in the pool and taking in Casa Tranquila's gorgeous views and daily visits from the white-faced monkeys.

We chose not to rent a car and found the local bus to Quepos/MA Park and taxis were all we needed when we didn't walk. Don't miss the Friday night/Saturday farmers market in Quepos! Donald handled all of our transport to/from SJO and it worked perfectly.

We enthusiastically recommend Casa Tranquila and Manuel Antonio.

Owners response: I cannot thank you enough, Joan, for the incredible observations and kind remarks. It's so special when my guests notice the details that Casa Tranquila subtly offers, and it seems nothing slipped your attention. Thanks for the amazing confidence you have in making this recommendation to others. Know that you all are welcome here at Casa Tranquila any time you wish to return.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Casa Tranquila

Review submitted: April 11, 2012   Date of arrival: March 11, 2012

The house was perfect and by the end of the week I didn't want to leave! Waking up each morning to beautiful weather and our own pool was a luxury I don't get to have at home. The meals cooked by Nathan and Jessica were absolutely delicious and the house was always kept clean and orderly. I can't wait for my return to Casa Tranquila!

Owners response: I'm sure you know, Olivia, that you and your family are welcome to be in Casa Tranquila any time you wish to return. I'm so hppy it was a special vacation for you all.
Donald

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

More than we could have hoped for.

Review submitted: March 14, 2012   Date of arrival: February 2, 2012

Our stay here was absolutely flawless.
Donald is greater than words could ever explain, he really makes you feel right at home! His organizational skills were amazing, he had everything all set up and ready to go before we even arrived, and if it wasn't for all his help i don't think we would've got to see and do all the things we ended up accomplishing during our stay. The view from Casa Tranquila takes your breath away, it really is in the perfect area! Monkeys visiting you on your porch in the afternoon is also a bonus! There is tons to do around, most things very close to the casa! We really loved how all the people there are very friendly and upbeat, also very Eco-friendly we noticed. All in all a great place to visit and a great place to stay! We miss it so much.

-Ryan Algar and Dallas Montgomery

Owners response: I'm really happy, Ryan, that you & Dallas had so much fun. It's nice to confirm that Casa Tranquila makes a great home for couples who are in their 20's. Please come back whenever you wish . . . .there's always room for you guys! Donald

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Pacific Paradise

Review submitted: March 9, 2012   Date of arrival: February 2, 2012

We stayed at Casa Tranquila for an amazing two weeks and were ready to stay forever!! I can only agree with a comment that has been made by numerous previous guests at Casa Tranquila; the pictures do not do it justice.

Donald and his crew were so amazing and so welcoming. As a fairly adventurous crowd we had quite a wish list when it came to tours and Donald never failed to recommend and arrange the best. He is a mine of information and is always there when you need him and discreetly absent when you don’t.

The Manuel Antonio area is beautiful. Whether you want fantastic beaches, peaceful walks, adrenalin pumping tours or just to chill at the Casa, you will not be disappointed. There are a number of great restaurants within walking distance and plenty more a short drive/bus ride/cab ride away. Donald knows them all and will happily point you in the right direction depending on your mood.

Jessica, the housekeeper, is a gem and the meals that she and Nathan conjure up are superb and plentiful. There was so much food that we even had enough for snacks the next day – not bad considering we had our 20 year old son with us!!!

This was our first trip to Costa Rica but it definitely will not be the last. Casa Tranquila is now top of our “must do it again” list - we just need to work out how to get Donald to let us stay permanently!!!

Thanks Donald.

Owners response: Thanks, Sally & Kevin . . . . You guys definitely need an award for the easiest folks in the world to get along with. Thanks so much for welcoming me into your family and making me feel like part of your experience. I like to be there when needed and still let you have the privacy of your own vacation. I'm so happy you were satisfied. Let's make it a month next time!
Best to All The Kids.

Donald, Nathan, Jessica, and Chelsea.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Casa Tranquila

Review submitted: February 20, 2012   Date of arrival: January 14, 2012

What a WONDERFUL stay we had in Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica. The house is beyond beautiful with incredible views and a magnificent location. That is only surpassed by the graciousness of the host (Donald Corvette) and staff. We had a wonderful home-cooked meal made possible by Jessica and Nathan. An ocean, literally, of ideas of where to go for adventure as well as peaceful moments, and restaurants that cater to all price ranges and dietary requirements. Whether you are 8 or 80, this is the place for you.

We will be back!

Owners response: Thanks So Much, Tilda. You & Terry, Lynne and Marilyn were such perfect guests. We enjoyed so much having you here at Casa Tranquila.Please know you are welcome here any time you can make it back to Costa Rica. Thanks for all your kindness.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Vacation

Review submitted: August 24, 2011   Date of arrival: August 10, 2011

Casa Tranquila was great - photos accurately reflect the house's appearance and amenities. You'll have to watch small children around the pool and bring insect repellant - you're in a tropical rainforest! Very conveniently located... we didn't rent a car and didn't need to. Taxis and public transportation were excellent. Donald is available for any questions you have. Would recommend Casa Tranquila to friends and family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks, Anne. You and your friends were amazing guests. I am happy you enjoyed yourselves so much. You know you are welcome again at Casa Tranquila anytime. Donald

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Most Excellent Adventure

Review submitted: August 8, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

From my first contact with Donald, everything was taken care of. He made all the arrangements for our vacation. From transportation to/from San Jose, to all of our adventures, which included Zip Lines, Jet Skis, Manual Antonio tour with Gama and Surf Lessons and Massages with the Amazing Todd. All our needs were exceeded. No need for a car. All adventures pick you up and drop you off at Casa Tranquila. Several restaurants within a very short walk up to the main road. Our favorite was Aqua Azul. A quick bus trip down to Manuel Antonio or a short cab ride into Quepos. Casa Tranquila is just that, a tranquil house. Very relaxing and good for the soul. The pool is so refreshing and a fun place to just hang out. I would highly recommend Casa Tranquila for your Costa Rican vacation. You won't regret a single thing. Thank you Donald, Nathan, Jessica and Chelsea for making our family vacation one we will all remember for the rest of our lives. Hope to see you again soon.
Sue and Crew

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks, Sue. As much fun as you had here with me, you have to believe that I had more with you. Thanks for including my family as part of yours! I hope all my future guests will be as gracious and wonderful as you, Marc and "The Kids". Please come back soon!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Pura Vida!

Review submitted: August 5, 2011   Date of arrival: July 1, 2011

This house was everything described, and more. The photos are accurate. Not only is Donald the owner, but he serves as your personal concierge - we just told him what activities we wanted to do, and a few days before we arrived he emailed us an itinerary. He called or stopped by every day to check in and give us more details about the next-day's activities. And, being a local member of the community, he connected us with guides, etc. who were also locals. We felt like we not only had the inside scoop, but we were halfway to being locals ourselves!

I can't say enough about the property location. We were nervous about being "trapped" without a car, but we trusted Donald and it turned out the lack of a vehicle was liberating. As a typical Western-American, I drive everywhere, so was leery of the 'it's a short walk' comments. But it's basically 2 blocks up a moderate hill to the main road and then everything else is a short stroll, local bus, or taxi ride away. While everyone in MA was friendly, Donald made us feel like part of the family.

I've never been on vacation to the same place twice, and I'm already planning my trip back to Casa Tranquila.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for those sweet words, Dawn. It was such a pleasure having you and "The Clan" at casa Tranquila! And thanks for asking me over to see you so often. It made me feel like one of the family. I only like to do that when folks invite me. You and Sue's family are welcome back any time. I can't wait for you to bring your friends back in 2014.. Donald & Chelsea

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome Hospitality! Great view & location!

Review submitted: July 7, 2011   Date of arrival: June 20, 2011

Casa Traquilla was everything we hoped for and more! This vacation home lacks nothing...the service we received was remarkable! The home is in a great location, very close to local restaurants and shopping. Would highly recommend to anyone who is looking to travel to Manuel Antonio!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Tonya and Wayne. I am happy you had a great experience. That is what I try to provide for everyone. You guys were very special to all of us. Hope to see you soon . . . .either here or in your place when I visit.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Casa Tranquila...a no brainer

Review submitted: July 6, 2011   Date of arrival: June 20, 2011

Our stay at Casa Tranquila made our first trip to Costa Rica most memorable. It was a comfortable and luxurious home base. Donald was our transportation and tour planner extraordinaire! In fact, he went above and beyond the call of duty by helping out our entire group of 25 people...I could not have done it without him. All of the tours and services he recommended were superb. And we did a lot: ziplining, jetski tour, ATV tour, and a private catamaran sail. Jessica kept us in order and cooked great breakfasts. The rooms are situated in such a way that we all had privacy and the common areas are great for socializing and relaxation. The view is exceptional and I often got distracted watching the colorful birds and, of course, the monkeys. We did not rent a car but found it quite easy to get around because of the central location. We had great meals at Aguas Azules and Bambu Jam. Favorite hangouts were Byblos’ bar and the Marlin at the beach. Our weather was fabulous...I am convinced that Donald ordered that up for us also! We’ve stayed in many vacation homes all over and the difference here is the attention to detail and the personal service...we miss you so, Donald, Jessica, Nathan, and Chelsea...our new Costa Rica friends.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for making your time at Casa Tranquila such a great "vacation" for me as well, Brenda. I felt like I was with my family whenever we were together, Your endearing nature was rare and welcomed . . . my "family" felt like it was part of yours. . . . Chelsea included!
You know you can come back any time.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

First time in Costa Rica

Review submitted: May 30, 2011   Date of arrival: February 8, 2011

Our trip to Costa Rica,February 2011 was my first. It was planned by my partner's brother, as he has been there many times before and knew where it would be nice to visit. There were 5 of us in total. We stayed a week at Casa Tranquila in Manuel Antonio. The Casa was breathtaking and close to everything you need. Donald and his housekeeper Jessica made sure everything was perfect upon our arrival.
Another terrific thing about the Casa was the beautiful pool, so refreshing. The local Kisskadee bird and occasionally spotting the basilisk shyly tanning were also daily treats for me.
We eat at many wonderful restaurants that Donald will be happy to recommend to you. We spent an afternoon on a Pontoon cruise with drinks, dinner,and snorkelling. Another spent driving along the coast enjoying awesome sights. Our last day, we took the 5 minute drive to Manuel Antonio National Park. It was wonderful spotting different animals & birds that live in the park. At the end of the park you will find the nicest beach of all in Manuel Antonio. Soft sand, comical monkeys and the most breathtaking turquoise waters.
Everyday, our Casa was perfectly cleaned by Jessica. We hardly even knew she was there. Donald was a phone call away, if we needed something or wanted information he was ready to help. One afternoon I got a massage from Todd, recommended by Donald. He came right to the Casa and was very professional. All I can say is "WOW”, the best massage I have ever received in my whole life. I highly recommend a massage from Todd!
If you're a first time visitor to Costa Rica, or you have been there many times before, I highly recommend going to Manuel Antonio and booking a stay at Casa Tranquila with host Donald Corvette. It has everything you need for a wonderful relaxing holiday and is close to everything.
A personal Thank you from me, for helping me feels welcome and comfortable enough to enjoy and explore the beautiful paradise called Costa Rica.

Laura

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: WOW, Laura. Thanks for your kind words. It's folks like you and your family who make my "job" so easy and so much fun. It's always important to me that all my guests feel that sense of "home" while they are at Casa Tranquila . . . knowing that I will take care of all their needs. It's exactly what I moved to Costa Rica to do. Come back anytime. Donald

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

casa tranquila

Review submitted: May 26, 2011   Date of arrival: February 15, 2011

Beautiful luxury home.Great view of the best view in CR.We had a group of 7 and it was perfect.2 levels let you get away from group when you wanted.Mini kitchen at pool level was great for drinks and making coffee in a.m.Don was a super host and very attentive to our needs.Staff was superb also.Definitely be back next year.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Julie! You and Paul and "the crew" were great guests. I appreciate your giving me such a wonderful week! You know you are welcome back any time. Donald

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Casa Traquila

Review submitted: May 25, 2011   Date of arrival: May 7, 2011

This house was amazing!! It looked exactly as it did in the website. It was super clean when we arrived and it remained that way. Having a house keeper daily was a plus! Donald was great at recommending activites to go do. The places he recommended to eat were all delicious! Casa Tranquila is great place to go and relax. I usually need a vacation from my vacation but, not this time. Once I arrived home I was in total relaxation mode. My husband and I truly enjoyed Casa Traquila and would absolutely go back! Thank you Donald!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Kim, for your kind words about your time at Casa Tranquila. I am so happy you, Craig and your friends felt so much "at home". That is always my goal. You were spectacular guests, and I am sure that you know you welcome back here any time you wish to visit! Please thank the rest of "the crew" for me as well. Donald and Chelsea

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Costa Rican Paradise

Review submitted: April 7, 2011   Date of arrival: March 27, 2011

Casa Tranquila was indeed tranquil and beautiful. The views of the national park and the ocean were unsurpassed, and quite a relaxing way to start and end each day. The location of the villa is perfect. Having stayed in Manuel Antonio many times before, I can say that this was our favorite stay thus far. However, it is the owner, Donald Corvette that elevates this property beyond your normal villa rental. He is more of a personal concierge, and is concerned only about meeting all possible needs. He is readily available and is a wealth of information. The monkeys that visit the trees on the property were a favorite of the kids (as was the pool) and the handy BBQ and sundeck were the sight of some relaxing lunches. If you have not been to Costa Rica, you must go. And when you do, you can certainly put Casa Tranquila at the top of your list of places to stay!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for being such amazing guests, Scott. It means a lot when folks who have been to Manuel Antonio many times feel that Casa Tranquila was their favorite. You and Rick, Lynan, James and the kids were a real pleasure. You know you are welcome back anytime.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing experience, the perfect host, the Best location, Beautiful home

Review submitted: March 25, 2011   Date of arrival: February 26, 2011

My partner and I were renting Don's house on our first visit down to Costa Rica. We really debated and did a lot of research into staying at Arenas del Mar but we decided on Don's house because we desperately wanted the private pool with the views and because of Don himself. As I said earlier, this was our first trip to CR and other than our close friends experience and research online we had no idea of what to expect. Don was so Helpful throughout the entire process, he provided us with so much valuable information that we would not have been able to find or know beforehand. He provides details for every aspect of the trip, travel, currency, taxis, local ediquete, language, food, bars, adventures, beaches, everything... Don is genuinely a great guy, who has a beautiful house with a perfect location to town and all the restaurants and bars, and is will be amazing at hosting anybody as guests. Jessica, the housekeeps/amazing cook, is a must for breakfast!!! It was such a treat to wake up in the morning to a breakfast feast of rice and beans, scrambled eggs, fresh fruit, and fried plantains. It was such a nice surprise when we arrived and we were welcomed by Don his very sweet dog, Chelsea, with cool relaxing fruit drinks. We have two boxers at home, and missed them desperately, but having Chelsea's company there was something to look forward everyday. The house is everything as advertised, the views are real, the pool is amazing, and again, location, location, loation. We loved that we could walk to so many things locally, and yet drive very short distances to acess all the other sites. If you are a surfing fan or interested in massages, Don has someone, Todd, that is not only an amazing surfer that can take you out but an gifted massage therapist. Its the perfect compliment, first, riding some amazing waves, and then, getting an 1 1/2 massage. This house and host are truly a special experience you will absolutey adore!!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Owners response: Elizabeth and Tina became my friends very quickly. . . . and that does not happen often. They invited me out and were so amazingly respectfil of the home. I hated to see them go . . . but I have this sneaking feeling they will back sooner than they think they will. I miss yoou bot!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Judge Dan and Marjorie Sklar

Review submitted: March 24, 2011   Date of arrival: March 12, 2011

Casa Tranquila property was described accurately on VRBO. The house and location are beautiful and the owner is absolutely amazing. The view from Casa Tranquila is breathtaking. You might think Donald is "just the owner" ; but after your stay, he will be your true friend. He is extremely helpful in every aspect of your trip to Costa Rica. We would highly recommend Costa Rica and Casa Tranquila. We also would encourage everyone to do the following: (We did it all - Pure Vida!) Zip line, White water rafting, Manuel Antonio National Park, parasailing, sunset sail. Much to do - so littel time, so pack it all in! We certainly shortened our bucket list while we were there.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thanks, Marjorie . . . you and Dan are so sweet, and what incredible guests you were! You and your friends brightened my season unbelievably. Please know that youare welcome back any time you want to be here. And the "New Casa Tranquila" is coming soon . . . so you can bring even more of your friends next time.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

a perfect week at Casa Tranquila

Review submitted: February 8, 2011   Date of arrival: January 22, 2011

We (three couples) had a fabulous week at Casa Tranquila. The house is beautiful, the view of the ocean and Manuel Antonio Park incredible, and Donald was the perfect host. There is lots to do in Manuel Antonio- the park, the Mangrove tour, the Butterfly gardens- but we especially liked the Sunset Sail tour Donald arranged. In spite of all the other activities, it was hard to pull ourselves away from the house! It was so peaceful just sitting on the pool deck or upper level deck- watching beautiful birds and monkeys, reading, floating around the pool, and enjoying our Happy Hour each day. The house is in a great location and we could walk to many of the wonderful restaurants Donald suggested. We hope to return some day soon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thanks for the kind words, Linda. You know you guys were amazing guests! I enjoyed you as much as you enjoyed Casa Tranquila . . . for sure! Come Back anytime. ~d

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Vacation

Review submitted: February 6, 2011   Date of arrival: January 22, 2011

We just came back from 2 weeks in Costa Rica. Our second week was spent at Casa Tranquila - and it was perfect! From the minute we pulled up to the house, where our host was waiting with frozen drinks in a candlelit house, Don Corvette became not only our landlord, but our friend! He arranged all our tours, arranged for our rental car, and kept checking back with us to see if everything was fine (which it was). The house is beautiful, with an extremely well equipped kitchen. Jessica came every day to clean, and even did our laundry. The house is well located, walking distance to restaurants, and with a beautiful view of the ocean and Manuel Antonio Park. We enjoyed afternoons in our pool, and visits from a family of White Faced Monkeys. The house worked perfectly for 3 couples. We each had plenty of space for privacy, and yet there were lots of places where we could all sit together. Being in such a beautiful house, with magnificent fresh flower arrangements in every room, made for a totally relaxing week. Donald arranged for us to go on a sunset cruise, a mangrove tour, a tour of the park with a naturalist, and one night even arranged for a private chef to come to the house. If I could go back to Costa Rica tomorrow, I would do it exactly the way we did!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Anne, you guys were the best. Your and the others made for an amazing trio of couples! . . . so low maintenance and gracious. It's nice to know you feel like family. Please come back soon. Donald

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The best family vacation

Review submitted: February 5, 2011   Date of arrival: January 8, 2011

My family and I stayed at Casa Tranquilla for 7 nights. My sister in law and I spent months trying to find a location and house we wanted to stay at. We are SO happy with the choice we made. Manuel Antonio is the best beach spot in Costa Rica and Casa Tranquilla has the most amazing views. We spent a lot of our days hanging around the pool, enjoying the view, feeding the monkeys who came up to the porch daily and walking up to the local restaurants. Donald was so helpful in our planning and all his recommendations were wonderful. I highly recommend Casa Tranquilla - you won't be dissapointed!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Anna. You and your family were the perfect guests. You seemed to enjoy everything about Manuel Antonio and Casa Tranquila. Thanks for the kind words! You, Norm, Suzette, David . . . . everyone . . . .are all welcome any time you can come back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fabulous Vacation

Review submitted: February 17, 2010   Date of arrival: January 25, 2010

My husband and I and our daughters had a fantastic stay at Casa Tranquila this past January. If you're looking for a room (casa) with a view it doesn't get much better than this. The photos posted on the web site are 100 % accurate. It is a stunning villa perched on the edge of the mountain boasting breathtaking views of the jungle, ocean and beach below. It is beautifully decorated, comfortably appointed and updated with all the latest fixtures and features, including internet, cable tv, dvds, music, candles, etc.

Daily maid and laundry service was unobtrusive and it's always nice to have fresh flowers replaced daily. From the private pool and decks, to the gorgeous vistas and open layout your stay here will leave you feeling relaxed and pampered.

As parents, we particularly liked that the 2 level living provided us with a private, peaceful oasis away from the kids when needed!

This was our third trip to Manuel Antonio and it honestly felt just as fresh as our first trip. There's always a new restaurant to discover, a different trail to hike, unique wildlife to encounter. This trip the howler monkeys were out in full force. Don't let their frightening bellows fool you, they are harmless. Titi monkeys visitied us on the deck several mornings along with colorful birds and butterflies that are attracted to the colorful tropical landscaping.

Thank you Donald! You thought of everything when you created your Casa Tranquila! We look forward to living the pura vida again soon!

Jan, Mike, Thea, Eva and Cailin
Annapolis, Maryland

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks, Jan! You guys were so much fun. You know you, Mike and the Girls are welcome back anytime! Chelsea and I will be happy to see you.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: February 6, 2010   Date of arrival: February 6, 2010

A group of 6 friends enjoyed a week at Casa Tranquila in mid-January. We were all in agreement - it was perfect! As the "travel agent" for the group, there was a bit of trepidation on my part that the home would live up to it's description and online pictures -- well it did and more. Beautiful setting, lovely decorating, perfectly maintained -- and our own concierge service in Donald and the faithful Chelsea. Donald's knowledge of the area and willingness to be as visible or invisible as you wish would have been worth a non-existent extra fee. Take his advice on dining choices and tours - you won't be disappointed. Costa Rica and Casa Tranquila is highly recommended for a group of friends or a family. My only complaint is those darn monkeys weren't interested in my strategically placed bananas. I give Juan and Jessica credit for humoring me and not throwing them away....
Thanks again Donald. We enjoyed every minute.
Diane, Lance, Karen, Duane, Heather, Gene

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: December 28, 2009   Date of arrival: December 28, 2009

10 Vacations at 1 Time in 1 Place - Part 1 of 2 It’s now winter here in the US and wish we could ‘return home’ this week to “Heaven on Earth” known as Casa Tranquila, having had the privilege to have visited there this past spring. In having traveled the ‘four corners of the globe’, Costa Rica provided us with one of the most amazing vacations we’ve ever taken. To celebrate our 30th anniversary, we wanted our vacation to be special, memorable, and unsurpassed – something that would give us an experience that was luxurious, exotic, tranquil, exhilarating, rejuvenating, exuberant, casual, breathtaking, reconnecting, and pampered. Casa Tranquila provided all that and more in one single trip. Luxurious? We settled into a contemporary, yet ‘old world’ villa snuggled quietly on the mountainside with amenities often reserved for those accommodations affordable by the ‘rich and famous’. We basked in a Bamboo bed suite with open marble showers, a full service kitchen, dining room for a throng of friends or family, two living areas in case our throng needed non-throng time, internet access for emails we shouldn’t have checked, telephones and faxes for work we should have forgotten, and almost every sundry and incidental we had left behind in our rush to reach this paradise and escape from home. We would later realize that we wouldn’t leave Casa Tranquila to return home – we were already at home – even during this, our first visit. Exotic? We watched a capuchin monkey slung lazily over a mangrove branch listening captivatingly as a “Fruit Loops” Toucan and Scarlet Tanager gossiped about the latest avian scandal at Manuel Antonio National Forest’s previous night’s decadent festivities. Tranquil? Paperback books faintly tumbled from our slumbering hands onto the embracing decking encircling a private pool awaiting our entry made envious by the Jacuzzi. I recall watches being banned – probably self-imposed. Exhilarating? Zip lines catapulted us into breaking the sound barrier while evading the grasp of the jungle canopy and its jealous wildlife beneath our elusive feet. Jet skis propelled us across an aquatic assemblage of covert coves concealing curious canary fish, secluded shores shielding solitary sunbathers, and oceanic expanses awaiting unconfined, uncharted discoveries over each swell.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: December 28, 2009   Date of arrival: December 28, 2009

10 Vacations at 1 Time in 1 Place - Part 2 of 2 Rejuvenating? We were immediately hooked on daily on-site deep tissue massages relieving all our physical and mental stress as the sound of the surf tumbled hypnotically onto the Pacific shoreline providing the foundation for serene “New Age” music which embodied our senses into nirvana trances. Exuberant? We delighted during jovial party feasts surrounded by accompanying or new found friends as our savory senses exploded amidst a four course meal created by an on-site chef in the upstairs dining room which glimmered with sunlight slowly slipping into a salacious sunset. Casual? Shabby shorts and ordinary T-shirts were the dress for most of the week allowing us to blend in with the culture rather than stand out like gawking American tourists. However, a pair of dress shorts and polo shirt came in handy for the occasional elegant dinner while out and about. Breathtaking? Our sail boat slipped into a sensual sienna sunset while sipping cosmopolitans, coladas, and champagne as dolphins danced delighted in our sharing their playground. Reconnecting? Our fingers firmly fixed in fervor as we celebrated our fortunate companionship while we were guided through Manuel Antonio National Park’s encouraging summon to remember and renew the union we cherish. Carefree? Everything else would have been for naught were it not for the Casa Tranquila’s concierge: Donald. We left all our questions, problems, considerations, and opinions to him. Owning the resort may be Donald’s business, but hosting appears to be his passion and purpose in life. Our enjoyment, comfort, and safety were his crucial objectives in assuring our “residence” in “his” residence surpassed all expectations we had envisioned. His magical mixture of balancing absence (never seen, under foot, in the way) and attentiveness (insight, guidance, viewpoints), was only surpassed by his charm (he was our host, not our proprietor) and warmth (we were his guests, not his clients). Taxi running late? Donald, himself whisked us away to the beach or the airport. Dinner reservations unavailable? Not when he called on our behalf. If you don’t have enough time to take a vacation to meet each and every one of your needs, then go to Casa Tranquila where Donald will ensure all of them are engaged simultaneously! And by the way, if Donald is temporarily busy, Chelsea, his faithful border collie, makes a mean

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Villa, a View AND Priceless Advice

Review submitted: October 14, 2009   Date of arrival: September 13, 2009

Nearly a month later, all six of us who visited Costa Rica together are still excited about our memorable moments at Casa Tranquilla. Of course, we knew we were on to something special when Donald, the Casa’s owner, devoted so much time and experience to arranging our tours—zip lining, hiking at Manuel Antonio Park, snorkeling, kayaking—and he knew and provided the best. What a treat it was when we returned to the Casa each day to know that our shimmering blue pool above the dazzling Pacific had been cleaned and was ready for a relaxing swim. And, what a great feeling when we entered the Casa itself to know our thoughtful maid had refreshed the colorful Bali décor in each room to perfection. The Casa featured three bedrooms where none of us felt we were taking second place to another. The living areas were comfortable and inviting, too. We thought we would need to go to Manuel Antonio Park to experience the wildlife, but instead we found it all around us. Colorful birds and two troops of monkeys visited our patio and there’s nothing quite like being awakened by a chorus of howler monkeys just yards away. Hospitality, shared experiences, décor, pool-side elegance, birds and animals, spectacular vistas—and all for what was certainly a great value..Casa Tranquilla.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Robert and his "family" were the ideal guests. Thanks for making things so easy for me at Casa Tranquila! Come back any time.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Review submitted: September 12, 2009   Date of arrival: September 12, 2009

My wife and I could not have picked a better place to stay in the Manuel Antonio area than Casa Tranquila. Waking up in our feather bed,looking out past our hot tub/pool and seeing nothing but sky blending into the Pacific ocean was spectacular.We were lucky enough to have Donald give us just the lower level since there was just the two of us.Donald arranged for a masseuse to come to the house for the best massage that I have ever had. We would highly recommend a stay at the Casa Tranquila if nothing else than to be pampered and entertained by the host and hostess, Donald and Chelsea.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: June 1, 2009   Date of arrival: June 1, 2009

I must have viewed 100 places on line before committing to Casa Tranquila. I had been to Costa Rica, but never to Manuel Antonio before, so my choice of Casa Tranquila was a shot in the dark. When I arrived in Manuel Antonio, I found that not only did Casa Tranquila end up being a great location, but the house and views were more than the pictures or words could present. I stayed there for 18 days, and not only did I come to love the house that was more like my home, but I also appreciated the service and friendship that Donald and his staff provided. It is definitely a magic place and I would high recommend this property for anybody looking to enjoy the beauty of Manuel Antonio.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

This isn't your ordinary rental experience

Review submitted: February 9, 2009   Date of arrival: January 31, 2009

Casa Tranquila is not some guy renting out his home to make some extra money. This is a former corporate professional running a serious business and loving every minute of it. The accomodations were accurately represented - beautiful and perfectly situated between Quepos and Manuel Antonio National Park. This property works perfectly for 3 couples. We happen to like to cook (and caught our own Mahi Mahi which provided 3 meals for the six of us). The kitchen is well equiped. Having the option of eating inside or out on the deck was a bonus. Our host arranged for a chef to prepare dinner for us one evening. The food was magnificent and the characters delightful.

Juan and Jessica kept the house and grounds in emaculate condition throughout our stay though we hardly knew they were there.

Our host did a fabulous job of providing accurate and helpful information prior to our trip...from whether to drive or fly from San Jose, to whether or not to rent a vehicle, to where to exchange currancy and many many more insights into the local culture and economy.

He arranged all of our excursions in advance, provided helpful tips of ways to maximize each experience, and confirmed details each day with us and the guides.

This is the first time in all of our adventures that my husband is interest in a return trip. It may have something to do with catching a sail fish and seeing whales which were both on his bucket list.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 3, 2009   Date of arrival: February 1, 2009

Amazing!!! First of all, thank you Donald for making our wedding at Casa Tranquila and our week stay at the house perfect. Donald you went above and beyond to make our stay relaxing and memorable. Thank you for all your efforts while coordinating our wedding and dinner party that followed, it was perfect. You have some extraordinary contacts that came together to give us a wedding beyond our expectations. The house displayed a magical setting for our wedding. My favorite memory would be standing on the deck with the sun setting over the ocean as the backdrop, while watching my bride walk down the aisle onto the deck towards me, being accompanied by our closest friends, family and the curious monkey that joined us for the celebration. When we went home from our wonderful vacation we woke up the next morning hoping we were still at the house in Costa Rica. If anyone is looking to have the best experience please go to Manuel Antonio and stay at Casa Tranquila. You will never want to leave.

Thanks
Aaron & Kristie

P.S.
We will definitely see you again!!

Owners response: Thank You Aaron and Kristie. you were amazing, and, while I am sure there will be more weddings at Casa Tranquila, yours will always be very special for me.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

What a fabulous vacation!!!!

Review submitted: November 27, 2008   Date of arrival: November 8, 2008

Casa Tranquila definately exceeded our expectations! The pictures on-line were great but really don't do the house justice.
This vacation was our honeymoon, we had invited another couple to join us and we all had a blast. There was more than enough space for all of us...lot's of privacy if you wanted it, lot's of common space when you needed it.
Donald the owner made this trip so easy for us! He made calls to us before we left Canada to arrange for our Chef Desiree, our Masseuse Todd, as well as any activities we would like to do while in Costa Rica such as Manuel Antonio National Park. Included at Casa Tranquila was our housekeeper Jessica who came every morning and not only did a fabulous job cleaning up after us but put on the coffee in the moring which was greatly appreciated! Donald recommended spots for dinner and entertainment...Byblos, Aqua Azul and Bamboo Jim's which we took him up on and had a great time! Donald provided driving instructions to Casa Tranquila from San Jose including spots to stop along the way for shopping, lunch etc.
While at Casa Tranquila Donald came to check up on us, making sure all our needs were met. Let me tell you...we wanted for nothing!
We loved the monkeys, the incredible ocean view, the house, the people...we are planning our return for summer of 2009 when we will bring our teenagers. Manuel Antonio was very safe, we felt very relaxed both in the house as well as venturing out.
We would recommend Casa Tranquila in a heartbeat...whether you are looking to relax, have an adventure or both...Donald and the staff of Casa Tranquila will not let you down!
Thank you so much Donald...look forward to seeing you next summer!!
Joyce & Doug

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 18, 2008   Date of arrival: November 1, 2008

Donald,

Thank you so much for allowing us to enjoy your amazing home. We enjoyed playing with the monkeys pool-side, spending time in the canopy, white water rafting, deep sea fishing and touring with Gamma through the National Forest. Thanks for all you help in making these things happen. I still can't get over the view from your house and I will have to enjoy it through pictures until our return....hopefully sooner rather than later!! Thanks again. Charlie, Debra, Ben, Ashley, Grant, and Rebecca

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 19, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

Donald,

Thank you for ordering up such great weather. Your home was beautiful and the view was spectacular. You made everything so easy for us. Hope to be back next year with or without the "wild one". Darlene

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 3, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

We spent a wonderful week at Casa Tranquila!!! The
house is spectacular and Donald took care of every
little detail. He recommended us to take the guided
tour to Manuel Antonio Ntl. Park. and now we
consider it a must every time we go back. The
house has everything you need if you want to stay
and prepare your meals, and also there are lots of
good restaurants walking distance that you can
enjoy. Casa Tranquila is enjoying Manuel Antonio
at it's best!!!!! The ocean views are amazing!!! We
will definitely be back!!!! Thanks Donald, David and
Jessica for your hospitality,
The Trautmanns

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 8, 2008   Date of arrival: July 1, 2008

My partner and I had the pleasure of staying at
Casa Tranquila last April and were thrilled with the
property. The view of Manuel Antonio was
stunning to say the least. It is in a fabulous
location that is very close to everything in the area.

The home was well presented and immaculate. I
very much appreciated the attention to detail
throughout the home, including the IPod stereo,
desktop computer and free phone calls to the
States. The pool area was lovely, especially when
the monkeys came for their regular feedings of our
bananas!!! Yes, they eat from your hands there!

The property manager availed himself to us 24/7
should something go wrong and I am pleased to
say that nothing did, but his phone calls now and
then during our stay spoke volumes of his concern
for our well-being while vacationing there.

We will definitely book Casa Tranquila again and
give it a wonderful recommendation for families,
couples or singles. You will not be disappointed.

JDD, Palm City, Florida

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 11, 2008   Date of arrival: June 1, 2008

Our travel group of 4 visited Casa Tranquila in January 2008. Casa Tranquila's owner, Donald, met us on our arrival and gave us a very good orientation of the house and the area. The house exceeded our expectations in every way! The house, pool and deck area were all clean and well maintained. Donald's knowledge of the area between Quepos and Manuel Antonio was very helpful to us as we were first time visitors to Costa Rica. We can't say enough about how helpful Donald was, both in the months leading up to our arrival and during the week of our stay. He arranged tours for us, recommended restaurants and sightseeing activites, gave us directions and shared many helpful tips with us. We shopped for groceries at Pali's in Quepos and cooked on the outside grill 2 nights. At Donald's suggestion, we had a young chef, Max, come to the house 2 nights to cook dinner for us. It was well worth it and we would recommend this special treat to others. We thoroughly enjoyed the Canopy (zip-line) Tour, white water rafting, a guided tour of Manuel Antonio park and a relaxing trip to the butterfly garden. All the tour guides spoke very good English and were knowledgeable and very entertaining. The rest of our days were spent relaxing beside the beautiful pool at Casa Tranquila watching the monkeys, iguanas and other wildlife and soaking up the sun. We would recommend Casa Tranquila to anyone visiting Costa Rica. The location is perfect and the only bad thing about our stay was that it was only for 1 week. We are looking forward to returning to Casa Tranquila soon. Thank you, Donald!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 11, 2008   Date of arrival: June 1, 2008

We stayed at CT for 10 nights and had a great vacation. We had 4 adults and 4 young children and found the layout worked really well for us. The house is split and is essentially two condos, the upper one with a full kitchen and lower one with a sink, small fridge and micro. We hung out upstairs during the day and they split off for sleeping.

Nothing like sitting next to the pool looking at the pacific and watching the monkeys play on the deck. Donald and his staff were great, and he was very focused on making sure our trip went well. Manuel Antonio is really nice, great people with plenty to do and see. We spent most mornings on the beach and afternoons at the pool - ready to go back already. If you are looking to go to M.A. this is the place, and Donald is a really great guy to work with.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 11, 2008   Date of arrival: June 1, 2008

I stayed at Casa Tranquila with family on vacation in the begining of Feb, 2008.
We were well taken care of and felt we had someone to call on at anytime!
The accomodations were perfect and we felt right at home! The home is also very well taken care of, definitely recomended!
We took a Snorkeling/sunset/sightseeing cruise, and Canopy tour and they were both tons of fun. The Cruise is good for anyone, and the conopy tour more so for the adventurous ones! Also the National Park is a great place to see some animals if you go early, although we saw the most animals in our own back yard!
It was easy to get around and hail a cab or hop on the bus. When geting in the cab make sure the price is decided before they drive off though otherwise you may end up paying more than you expected.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 11, 2008   Date of arrival: June 1, 2008

Our stay at Casa Tranquila was thoroughly
enjoyable, thanks to its location, which provided a
great view and its extremely helpful host, Donald.
He is the best!
We especially enjoyed monkeys on the deck and
door to door service for several excursions, the best
of which was an ultralight plane experience to truly
enjoy the beauty of the area.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful Escape from the cold!

Review submitted: April 30, 2008   Date of arrival: February 9, 2008

I stayed at Casa Tranquila with family on vacation in the begining of Feb, 2008.
We were well taken care of and felt we had someone to call on at anytime!
The accomodations were perfect and we felt right at home! The home is also very well taken care of, definitely recomended!
We took a Snorkeling/sunset/sightseeing cruise, and Canopy tour and they were both tons of fun. The Cruise is good for anyone, and the conopy tour more so for the adventurous ones! Also the National Park is a great place to see some animals if you go early, although we saw the most animals in our own back yard!
It was easy to get around and hail a cab or hop on the bus. When geting in the cab make sure the price is decided before they drive off though otherwise you may end up paying more than you expected.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great house, great service

Review submitted: April 25, 2008   Date of arrival: April 1, 2008

We stayed at CT for 10 nights and had a great vacation. We had 4 adults and 4 young children and found the layout worked really well for us. The house is split and is essentially two condos, the upper one with a full kitchen and lower one with a sink, small fridge and micro. We hung out upstairs during the day and they split off for sleeping.

Nothing like sitting next to the pool looking at the pacific and watching the monkeys play on the deck. Donald and his staff were great, and he was very focused on making sure our trip went well. Manuel Antonio is really nice, great people with plenty to do and see. We spent most mornings on the beach and afternoons at the pool - ready to go back already. If you are looking to go to M.A. this is the place, and Donald is a really great guy to work with.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Tranquility, and more

Review submitted: April 25, 2008   Date of arrival: February 16, 2008

We were 2 families (4 people in one, 2 in another) traveling together, and this was a perfect place for us. There was plenty of room and plenty to do--tour of the national park, whitewater rafting, zipline tour, etc. Donald could not have been more helpful in providing information and arranging activities for us--he himself is one of the property's greatest assets! Great access, great views (construction excepted), a beautiful, well-appointed house and pool. The only downside was construction directly across the street while we were there, but this could not have been foreseen and is presumably short-term. We had a car, but you could easily stay here without one and do all you want to, by walking, taking short cab rides, etc. Recommended without reservation!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our Holiday in Paradise

Review submitted: February 28, 2008   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

Our travel group of 4 visited Casa Tranquila in January 2008. Casa Tranquila's owner, Donald, met us on our arrival and gave us a very good orientation of the house and the area. The house exceeded our expectations in every way! The house, pool and deck area were all clean and well maintained. Donald's knowledge of the area between Quepos and Manuel Antonio was very helpful to us as we were first time visitors to Costa Rica. We can't say enough about how helpful Donald was, both in the months leading up to our arrival and during the week of our stay. He arranged tours for us, recommended restaurants and sightseeing activites, gave us directions and shared many helpful tips with us. We shopped for groceries at Pali's in Quepos and cooked on the outside grill 2 nights. At Donald's suggestion, we had a young chef, Max, come to the house 2 nights to cook dinner for us. It was well worth it and we would recommend this special treat to others. We thoroughly enjoyed the Canopy (zip-line) Tour, white water rafting, a guided tour of Manuel Antonio park and a relaxing trip to the butterfly garden. All the tour guides spoke very good English and were knowledgeable and very entertaining. The rest of our days were spent relaxing beside the beautiful pool at Casa Tranquila watching the monkeys, iguanas and other wildlife and soaking up the sun. We would recommend Casa Tranquila to anyone visiting Costa Rica. The location is perfect and the only bad thing about our stay was that it was only for 1 week. We are looking forward to returning to Casa Tranquila soon. Thank you, Donald!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 13, 2008   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

Our family vacation at Casa Tranquila made our
time in Costa Rica magical. This home, with its
sweeping views of the Ocean, the sounds of the
jungle and the quietness of the neighborhood, was
perfectly matched for what we needed. Donald saw
to every detail, from stocking the home before our
arrival, arranging for door to door service for the
tours we asked for, providing the services of an
outstanding chef (creating a desire to stay home
for dinner, rather than going out!) thru providing
information about Manuel Antonio and its people
and culture. We wanted for nothing and Donald
made himself available without being intrusive.
The home itself, with its pool and Jacuzzi allowed
us to relax late into the evening or spread out
throughout the house. It is the ideal place for a
vacation!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 8, 2007   Date of arrival: June 1, 2007

A tropical paradise! It's great having Donald there to help with all the excursions and getting to know the area.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 3, 2007   Date of arrival: June 1, 2007

I stayed at Casa Tranquila for 8 nights in April of this year. The host of Casa Tranquila was very informative and helpful not only when I was there but prior to my arrival. Donald is professional in his approach to satisfy your vacation needs with a personal touch. All the details were taken care of in the house as well as the tours that I wanted to take part in when in Costa Rica. The property is convenient to all the restaurants, bars, and bus stops. I walked to the beach from Casa Tranquila every day (about a 25 minute walk) and ended the day in the pool with magnificent views of the Pacific. Waking up in the bamboo bed with a view to kill for; there was nothing to do but relax. And if you're lucky, you'll see monkeys and other wildlife on the property and in the neighborhood. I had 8 great days and would always check availability at Casa Tranquila on my return to Manuel Antonio.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 2, 2007   Date of arrival: June 1, 2007

We were fortunate to have the luxury of staying at Casa Tranquila during our January visit to Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica. The location is most convenient to the beach and local attractions, the view from the property is spectacular. My fondest memory from the trip was waking early on our second morning there, raising my head from the pillow to see two scarlett macaws flying across the expansive tropical view of the Pacific through the bedroom window! Our host was very gracious, we look forward to a return visit.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 1, 2007   Date of arrival: April 1, 2007

We just recently returned from our trip to Costa Rica and being guests at Casa Tranquila. It was wonderful!! The house is just a stone throw from the beach (what a view!) and within walking distance to some great restaurants. It was perfect. It was truly relaxing. The home owners were very accomodating and gracious. We can't wait to return!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 1, 2007   Date of arrival: April 1, 2007

We just recently returned from our trip to Costa Rica and being guests at Casa Tranquila. It was wonderful!! The house is just a stone throw from the beach (what a view!) and within walking distance to some great restaurants. It was perfect. It was truly relaxing. The home owners were very accomodating and gracious. We can't wait to return!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 20, 2007   Date of arrival: March 1, 2007

I had the great fortune to have had Casa Tranquila recommended by a trusted friend. This is truly a jewel of a home. We stayed there in February when the snow was blowing at home. Lounging by the pool while looking at the ocean was a wonderfully unique experience, one that we want to repeat. The manager of the house was knowledgeable about the area and arranged activities that suited us exactly. We especially enjoyed the Mangrove Boat Tour. The living was easy, the food delicious and the natural beauty of the area a constant delight. The entire trip melted away any stress we'd brought with us. We can't wait to come back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review