reviews for: listing #17748 - Anini Beach, Hawaii House rental

Hale La'au Pohaku ~75 Sec to the Water
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Anini Beach
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $245 - $400 /nt
    $1,715 - $2,800 /wk
    $7,800 - $8,995 /mth

sort by:

Tropical Embrace at Anini Beach

Review submitted: February 18, 2014   Date of arrival: February 7, 2014

Walking into this beautiful tropical home made us feel as if we should be greeted with leis and a tropical drink. The skylights, beautiful Hawaiian quilts, Koa wood & marble, and tropical print furniture enhanced the feeling of "we're in Hawaii"
Each bedroom is very large and the seven of us never felt crowded.
Before arriving I had concerns that the last review was in 2012, but nearly everything was better than the photos and description the owners give. (The photo of the front of the home should be updated - as with any place that receives decent rain, the plants have grown as tall or taller than the house)
We enjoyed walking across the street for a sunrise walk on the beach before breakfast. The kitchen is wonderfully stocked, even a gourmet cook should appreciate it, but beware of the nuclear microwave.
With a baby and toddler in tow, we were grateful for the pack 'n play and highchair and appreciated the books and games, abundant sand toys, snorkels, boogie boards, and beach towels.
The owners were very helpful with all my questions and concerns.
We hope to return.

Favorite things: walking to the end of Anini beach spotting turtles, cardinals and flying fish; surf lessons at Titus Kinimaka's Surf School in Hanalei, The Garden Cafe in Kilauea for lunch, snorkeling at Ke'e, Kilauea's Saturday farmers market next to Banana Joes (try all the tropical fruit & raw honey), Pinks and the Health food store in Hanalei, Waimea Canyon, and whale watching trip to Na Pali.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect home for a relaxing vacation

Review submitted: December 22, 2012   Date of arrival: November 10, 2012

This home provided a truly perfect vacation for my family and friends. Everything we needed was there: a fully equipped kitchen, lots of towels and linens, some water shoes and floatation boards and noodles for the beach, a washer and dryer. Our favorite part of every evening was relaxing on the lani, with a glass of wine, while listening to the comforting wind and rain.

The neighborhood was quiet, dark enough to see the stars, about a 15 minute drive to stores, shopping and restaurants. The beach is right across the street, a 30-second walk, just like Bob told us. It's private, good for snorkeling, or reading and walking. You might see 2 or 3 other people, but that's it. The lighthouse (a 10 minute drive) is gorgeous; we got some amazing photos.

We will definitely return to Kauai, and would definitely return to this house, if it were available. Go! You'll love it!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Piece of Paradise

Review submitted: November 27, 2011   Date of arrival: November 19, 2011

Mahalo to Bob and Leslie for providing such a wonderful vacation home for our family. Our family rented both the main house and the cottage and we had so much room to enjoy each other. It was wonderful to have a home directly across the street from a fantastic beach with great views of the coast. So quiet and peaceful and accessible to everything on the island. The home had everything we needed to enjoy our stay. We would play during the day and relax in the comfort of the home each evening playing games or completing puzzles and just enjoying the company of family. The weather was beautiful and we went out to the beach for star gazing several nights. Two in our party kayaked to the reef and several of us had the great pleasure of witnessing the appearance of a monk seal and sea turtles in the shallow waters of Anini Beach. There were several days we pretty much had the beach to ourselves. What a great way to spend time with family!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Paradise on Anini Beach

Review submitted: April 12, 2010   Date of arrival: February 27, 2009

We chose this house to celebrate our 60th birthdays with our family and feel that we couldn't have made a better choice anywhere on the planet. We had been looking to rent a house that offered enough space for 3 adult couples to co-exist happily, with times for togetherness and time for privacy. The combination of the king-sized bedroom with two queen-sized bedrooms was the clincher for us. our techie son-in-law especially enjoyed the bedroom with all the "wires." The house is spacious, designed with care, and decorated with the most amazing collection of handmade tropical themed quilts. The great room with open kitchen and dining area was perfect for family games and visiting. The proximity to Annini Beach allowed for instant "get-aways" for sunrise walks, snorkeling, jogging, sunset walks, and star-gazing walks.

We found the owners to be most responsive and helpful all along the way, from answering our initial inquiries, to supplying extra information, to refunding our deposit in a timely way.

Being on the north shore allowed for a feeling of relative island "remoteness" compared to the resort condo feel of the south shore, although we did enjoy the proximity of easy shopping at the Princeville supermarket. We hiked, rode horses, visited botanic gardens, and of course enjoyed the beaches and stunning scenery everywhere we went each day. But it was always with the greatest pleasure that we returned "home" to our place on Anini Beach.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Lovely, comfortable home; Idyllic location

Review submitted: March 27, 2010   Date of arrival: March 18, 2010

We just got back from our first trip to Kaua'i and are already planning to return. Hale La'au Pohaku is a lovely, spacious home on Anini beach. It's comfortable, well-appointed and less than a minute or two down a lush pathway to spectacular Anini beach. My wife and son (celebrated his 10th birthday at Anini) and I fell in love with the house at first sight. We arrived after dark, cooked a quick dinner in the well-equipped kitchen and settled in for the night.

The following morning we walked across the street and down a very short path to Anini beach and fell in love all over again. All three of us went snorkeling for the first time in our lives and discovered the real beauty of the place. It was like being in a huge tropical fish tank; dozens of varieties of fish, eels, turtles and coral. We floated in the lagoon for hours and never tired of the beauty and serenity - I'd go so far as spirituality - of the place.

I would have been happy staying at Anini for our entire week, but there are so many other great things to do and see on the island. We did explore some of them, but a week is simply not enough. Every day we returned to the beach for more snorkeling. And every night we returned to the comfort and natural wood beauty of the Hale La'au Pohaku home.

The house and grounds have many great features. One of our favorites was the outdoor shower where we rinsed off the salt water and sun-screen every time we returned from the beach. The back yard is so private, who needs an indoor shower. The Jacuzzi is great for a relaxing/romantic interlude. We ate breakfast on the front lanai each morning with flocks of tropical birds serenading us. There's a beautiful wall of tropical plants screening the lanai from the road, but the sound of the waves breaking out beyond the edge of lagoon fills the house and soothed us to sleep each night. With the windows and doors open we felt almost as if we were sleeping in a jungle tree house - with comfortable beds.

The relative quiet of the North Shore may not be for everyone, but it sure was great for us. If you want the big hotel, restaurant and shopping scene at your footsteps and not the the most beautiful beach in Kaua'i, then Anini is not your soul mate. When we return to Hawaii we will be staying at this house again if at all possible. Mahalo to Bob & Leslie.

Aloha until we return Katie, Robert and Jake

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Mahalo for Bob & Leslie!

Review submitted: February 17, 2010   Date of arrival: October 26, 2009

We enjoyed an all-time great vacation in the Ohana the end of October and start of November, 2009. We traveled with our three boys, twins age three and our six year old.

The house, the location, the entire week could not have been better.

When they say 75 seconds from the water, they mean 75 seconds for 3 year olds! The trailhead is literally across the street. From this very spot we swam with sea turtles, taught the twins how to bob along on boogie boards, and our 6 year old learned to snorkel. We had high surf warnings three different days (to 15 feet, not big stuff, but it was bombing at Secret Beach) and the outer reef on Anini kept it sheltered and calm every day we were there. There were days when it wasn't safe to get in the water on most of the water and that was never the case on Anini while we were there.

The property is well-appointed with nice beds, two good bathroom, a large family room and a very nice master. Our twins shared the bed in the den and our 6 year old sacked out in the 2nd family room area on a futon. Everyone had plenty of space, and for younger kids, the privacy factor was just fine. The kitchen is pretty spartan, but has just enough of what you need to make sandwiches and a simple dinner. The grill's a flamethrower, but it definitely works!

This was our 4th time to Kaua'i but first on Anini. There is no going back in terms of location. It has better water access than almost any other house area on the island, has all the beauty of the north shore, easy access, and none of the crowds. The east side of Princeville is easily accessed from the west end of the beach. Look for passion fruit trees depositing their offerings... makes for a great terriyaki.

Our highest compliments to the owners. We lost our directions to the property and they called us back and re-emailed everything. Everything they promised and marketed was delivered. Our deposit came back ahead of schedule, and we can say enthusiastically, that we would rent from them time and time again. We are hoping to stage a family reunion on the property using the main house. This is one of the great deals on Kaua'i.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review