reviews for: listing #1776 - Key Largo, Florida Condo rental

Beachfront 2/2 Condo
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Rock Harbor
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $900 - $1,250 /wk
    $2,500 - $3,500 /mth

sort by:

Second time as good or better than the first

Review submitted: July 3, 2013   Date of arrival: June 30, 2013

This was our family's second stay in this condo. We loved it again and again the owners were a pure pleasure to rent from (easy, professional, prompt and good at communicating). Zero complaints with the condo or the owners. A truly relaxing vacation and rental. Thanks!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Value

Review submitted: May 26, 2013   Date of arrival: May 18, 2013

My wife, daughter and son-in-law just spent 7 wonderful days in this condo. It really has everything you need and Mark is very helpful and informative about the area.

This condo is on the ground floor with immediate access to the beach and has a great view. Even with the access and view, it's still somewhat private.

We had close access to a nice sized pool that was very clean and had plenty of umbrellas. There is also a tennis court.

We have stayed in many different types of lodging in the Keys over the years and this is one of the best values. We look forward to staying here again next year!

Gordon and family from Tennessee

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Private and Perfect Paradise

Review submitted: March 31, 2013   Date of arrival: February 1, 2013

It's not very often in life that one gets to truly experience living in paradise. This condo gives you that pleasure and much more. When you walk through the front door, you are immediately drawn to the screened porch just a few feet from the Bay. Though it is part of a 91-unit complex, there is a sense of isolation and privacy. If you want to go to the pool or play tennis, these options are available. But if you decide that getting away from it all is for you and/or your family, the locaton of this condo, directly facing a private beach, allows you to imagine how life would be on your own island. You can stroll out your backdoor with a cup of coffee in the morning and greet the day. At sunset you can toast the day with a glass of wine. It is a feeling that only the lucky can experience. The condo is two bedrooms and two full baths. Gas powered barbecues are nearby. The kitchen has everything you need, including diswasher, coffee maker, range, microwave, and a great ice maker, plus a clothes washer and dryer right in the unit. We stayed two full months, and never tired of being there -- every day we said we loved it. So much so that we signed on for a full two months for the following year. Many owners at the Rock Harbor Club told us this condo is in the best building, easily accessible ground floor, no stairs, parking right outside the unit, adjacent to the pool just a few steps away, the beach right outside our porch, with all the amenities top drawer. The owner is very professional and reasonable, and even called several times to assure that all our needs and expecations were being met -- which they were. And if anything is needed, he is only a few minutes away and responds quickly. Who could ask for anything more? We love it so much we are definitely coming back. Our only regret is that we don't own it.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

What A Great Place!

Review submitted: January 4, 2013   Date of arrival: December 24, 2012

My family rented this beautiful condo Christmas week of 2012. The view and the proximity to the water is what makes the place a great vacation spot. If you just want to relax in a lawn chair beside the water in a beautiful beach area, it's only 30 feet from you back door! The manatee's come up to the dock and feed off the seaweed growing on the rocks beside the dock. This condo is close to Miami and the Everglades or you can head south to Key West for the day. The rental rate is excellent for what you get. I would recommend this highly!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: I want to thank my guests for their glowing comments. It gives me great satisfaction to make great memories for all the visitors to my little piece of paradise in the Keys!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

excellent

Review submitted: August 25, 2012   Date of arrival: August 5, 2012

We spent seven lovely days in Key Largo, and Mark's condo was absolutely perfect for us in terms of location to supermarkets, local cafes, dolphin centers, beaches, etc. This place is ideal for families with small children (we have two kids): the small beach in the backyard is clean and well-kept. You can see the beach and enjoy sunset sitting on a couch in the living room! The condo is air-conditioned, clean and has everything that each apartment must have: Internet access, TVs,dishwasher, dryer, all kitchen utensils, etc. There's also a community swimming pool for those who prefer pools, not beaches.

If you are planning to go to Miami, it's 1.5 hrs and 2 hrs if you are heading south to Key West.

The place is definitely worth the money it costs. Also, the owner is nice guy: always ready to help and willing to give advice on your travel plans. Therefore, I'd recommend this place to everyone!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

excellent

Review submitted: August 25, 2012   Date of arrival: August 5, 2012

We spent seven lovely days in Key Largo, and Mark's condo was absolutely perfect for us in terms of location to supermarkets, local cafes, dolphin centers, beaches, etc. This place is ideal for families with small children (we have two kids): the small beach in the backyard is clean and well-kept. You can see the beach and enjoy sunset sitting on a couch in the living room! The condo is air-conditioned, clean and has everything that each apartment must have: Internet access, TVs,dishwasher, dryer, all kitchen utensils, etc. There's also a community swimming pool for those who prefer pools, not beaches.

If you are planning to go to Miami, it's 1.5 hrs and 2 hrs if you are heading south to Key West.

The place is definitely worth the money it costs. Also, the owner is nice guy: always ready to help and willing to give advice on your travel plans. Therefore, I'd recommend this place to everyone!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Nothing feels better then hearing that my guests enjoyed their stay at my property. I always try to insure that I exceed my guests expectations of what their Keys vacation will be. Positive comments like this, make all the effort that I put into making my guest vacation experience memorable, worth while. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Place to Getaway

Review submitted: July 13, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

Our family had a fantastic time at this condo. The walk out to the small beach area is very convenient and super nice for a relaxing week away. We enjoyed the proximity to the Pennekamp State Park (4 miles away) to do some kayaking and scuba diving. There is great snorkeling literally 50 yards from the condo. Fantastic in every way and the owner's could not have been easier or friendlier to work with. Our family will go back and use this condo again. Clean, safe and relaxing - what more could you want? Thanks for a great rental property!

Owners response: As always, my primary goal is to provide an exceptional vacation experience to all my guests. I love to hear from my guests that I and my property have exceeded their expectations. Thanks to all my past and future guests!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Has everything

Review submitted: April 23, 2012   Date of arrival: April 8, 2012

The Beach Comber has an awesome location and is such a very nice unit. It is well laid out and everything worked. Loved being on the ground floor with no stairs. The ocean view (actually the "Bay" view) was absolutely super,
Sunsets were sometimes gold, sometimes red, always wonderful. We started planning dinner around the sunsets as our place had the best views!

The web site doesn't show enough photos, so just a note that the main bathroom is fairly large with a nice large shower and the smaller Master bath has a nice tub with Jacuzzi jets.
This is a gated community and we felt very safe. It is back from the street so no noise. Pool looked nice, but we were more interested in the ocean.Very little foot traffic out in front on the beach. The little beach wasn't much for swimming, but has a great boat dock for boating and to run around on and watch the fish underneath. THREE wild dolphins went by the dock when we were there only a few yards from us!!
The unit is just a few minutes from the dolphin swim places. Our daughter went to the Dolphins Plus Structured swim where she got to interact with and touch the dolphins like she was a trainer. Absolutely a great experience.
Again, just a few minutes away was the John Pennekamp coral Reef state park which has good beaches and a nice little aquarium with a great little show of all the sea critters on the reef. The snorkel tours out of the park seemed a bit crowed and short. We took a second tour on the Reef Roame catamaran which was longer and much less crowed and about same price. Lotsa fun. We have snorkeled a lot in Hawaii and have to say that the reefs here are larger and the water a lot warmer this time of year. Not as many turtles in Key Largo as Hawaii, but lots of different varieties of fish. There is no surf here which is good for snorkeling but not for bogey boarding.
We did a day trip to Key West which was fun, but a bit long as it takes most of two hours to get there and another two hours to get back. The trolleys in Key West are definitely a good deal.
We didn't get to try ALL the fun stuff (and food!) around there, so will have to make another trip.<smile>
We were very pleased with the unit. Mark was a wonderful host and we appreciate all his help finding our way around Key Largo.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great location, beach, pool

Review submitted: October 25, 2011   Date of arrival: October 15, 2011

Despite the five straight days of rain, we had a wonderful time in this condo. It is in a great location with easy access to grocery stores, restaurants, etc. We stayed a week with a family of four. The dock and beach area are great for snorkeling. The kids really enjoyed the fish and crabs they found there. Being on the bayside made the waters calmer even with all the rain. The beach is a "keys beach", so water shoes are needed, but the best part is it is right outside the door. Kids were able to come and go outside without worry and the complex appeared safe with a gated entry. The beach was clean and the pool area was nice as well. Mark is very helpful and lives in the Keys which was good to know if we needed anything, as opposed to renting from someone out of state. There is so much to do in the Keys that we will definitely be back..just not in the rainy season!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Condo and Location

Review submitted: March 30, 2010   Date of arrival: March 20, 2010

This was a really great condo. It was spacious, clean and the location was fantastic. It was well stocked with anything you would need. The water view from the very large screen porch, living room and master bedroom was amazing. We enjoyed the sunsets. The grounds are like a botanical garden. We’ve stayed in a lot of condos, but these grounds were by far the best. We’re bird watchers and this trip we were targeting certain birds. After driving to hot tip spots to see a white crowned pigeon and not being successful, the next morning we were delighted to see a few right on this property. We also enjoyed seeing a summer tanager here. The birding was good right outside the front door. This condo is not too far from other good birding locations. If you are not a birder there are still alot of activities in this area. I would highly recommend this property. The owner, Mark, is very helpful.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review