reviews for: listing #17790 - Charlestown, Rhode Island House rental

Waterfront Beach House with Boat House on Ninigret Pond
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $3,600 - $6,100 /wk

sort by:

Family weekend

Review submitted: July 7, 2014   Date of arrival: June 6, 2014

Ninegret House was a perfect choice for our weekend family reunion. The pictures on the website did not disappoint .The property inside and out was well maintained.It was a very comfortable set up for all 11 of us.The view from the deck was amazing and had plenty of chairs to accommodate our family. We enjoyed having the kayaks at our disposal.Kitchen was well stocked with tableware and all the utensils for making meals. The owners provided recommendations for exploring the many activities in the area however what we enjoyed the most was relaxing on the deck and taking in the beautiful water view . Walking trails,beaches and restaurants were nearby. Our family is looking forward to our next visit to this special place.

Recommended for: age 55+

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect!

Review submitted: January 27, 2014   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

We rented this house for 3 nights in May and had the best time. The house was perfect for a reunion of my high school friends and families that now live in NY, CT and Beijing. We brought 2 Boston Whalers, which we kept at the dock - worked out great. The house was beautiful ? great spaces for hanging out and a terrific kitchen. We had a clambake delivered one night, and cooked out the others. The lawn was perfect for the kids to run around, and the tucked back location meant we didn?t have to worry about a busy street. I can?t say enough about how helpful and accommodating the owner was (thanks Kassie!). It was truly a pleasure to rent, and I hope to be back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Just what we needed

Review submitted: September 8, 2013   Date of arrival: August 24, 2013

We needed to relax and enjoy our family together, away from the hustle and bustle of busy lives. Ninigret House provided everything we had needed and more. All ages enjoyed the pond, the incredible views and the kyacs. The kids loved the outdoor showers and the bunk beds.It is a wonderfull house for family gatherings and we totally enjoyed ours

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fabulous week at the house on Ninigret Pond

Review submitted: September 2, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

I just loved waking up and seeing the sun on the water and the view of the pond and boats. The boat activity seemed much more than the last time we stayed there. That was eight years ago. Our Grandchildren enjoyed fishing, kayaking and the boat dock. This time we rented a party boat for the afternoon and enjoyed the pond even more.

We ate most of our meals at home with 12 of us and had plenty of room and a wonderful kitchen to cook in.

I hope it does not take us quite as long to rent again. It was a fun week with the kids and grandkids. We celebrated three birthdays! I would definitely recommend this house to family and friends.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great spot for a family reunion

Review submitted: July 3, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

Our stay at Ninigret was everything we hoped it would be --a beautiful house, room for all of us, comfortable and extremely well equipped. It was the perfect setting for our celebratory family gathering, my oldest son's 50th. My only suggestion for improvement is that one bedroom with twin beds would be nice, for singles.

The kayaks were a great plus, as were the swan family, the nearby oyster farm, the great beaches, wonderful sea birds (including a family of swans with cygnets, good fishing, and and we were lucky with weather -- 5 gorgeous days and on the one rainy day we went to the Mystic Aquarium.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great for family Thanksgiving gathering

Review submitted: December 5, 2011   Date of arrival: November 22, 2011

The house fit our 10 member extended family easily, providing both privacy and community gathering space. Our group included 4 college kids, their parents and grandparents. The spacing and location of the bedrooms allowed all to keep their habitual schedules without disturbing the others. The kitchen and dining room were excellent gathering areas for cooking and serving Thanksgiving dinner. There were plenty of dishes, cooking utensils and refrigerator space for all of our needs. We kayaked on the pond and visited the beach. All-in-all a very relaxing and enjoyable holiday.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amy Brodeur - North Smithfield, RI

Review submitted: October 3, 2011   Date of arrival: August 13, 2011

The 13 members of my family (ages 5 yrs. to 60 something) enjoyed our stay on Ninigret Pond greatly - It was clean, very comfortable and never felt crowded even on a rainy day. Great kitchen with plenty of space to cook and dine. We ate in every night. Plenty of room in the yard for the children to enjoy the outdoors. Very private and relaxing. Kids enjoyed the boat dock and touring the pond. Overall a fun family week and would not hesitate to rent again. Owneners also very organized and had all the information you needed answered well in advance.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: September 22, 2009   Date of arrival: September 22, 2009

Lovely waterfront home with all the amenities for entertaining & activities. Complete chef's culinary kitchen, plenty of comfortable bed mattress's to sleep lots of adults & children, open & screen deck with enclosed sunroom to enjoy the magnificent views Ninegret Pond has to offer - wildlife, sunsets,etc. Dock & boathouse for boating, kayaking, sailing, fishing. Very private, tranquil, and relaxing location. Close to nearby beaches with parking passes included. Family & friends all truly enjoyed themselves. Vacationed with 80yr old grandmother, wife, & children everyone was happy.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Review submitted: June 4, 2009   Date of arrival: June 4, 2009

Nice house in a great location. Everything we needed was there. A great rental for almost any situation with a large group, the second kitchen was a huge bonus.

You should (owners) really invest in a new dishwashing machine, a couple hundred dollars would prevent the backup like the one we had.
Notwithstanding, I would absolutely rent the house again.

Owners response: Thanks, Matt. The dishwasher was replaced before the next guest checked in.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: November 12, 2008   Date of arrival: November 12, 2008

Just wanted to tell you how much we enjoyed renting the
Ninigret house. Hopefully everything was found in order
after we left. What a beautiful view and the accomodations
were comfortable and pretty much hassle-free. We had a
little trouble w/ the door knobs/locks but other than that
we loved your home and look forward to coming back again
another time!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: July 7, 2008   Date of arrival: July 7, 2008

The place was big enough for our 5 family units that we never felt crowded. It was cozy enough that we all stayed easily connected & able to make/follow whole group or small group plans or solitary activities. Having so many places to eat & socialize or just curl up with a book or even escape on the water for some shore bird watching was a real plus. Highly recommended for foodies too, given well-appointed kitchen!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: June 29, 2008   Date of arrival: June 29, 2008

After a particularly stressful year we decided to take a family vacation and get some R&R.The house on Ninigret Pond by far exceeded our expectations. There were 12 of us and at no time did we feel crowded.
The view alone helped heal some very frazzled nerves. We will be forever grateful that people like you open their homes for all to enjoy!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: June 2, 2008   Date of arrival: June 2, 2008

We spent the weekend with a group of family and friends for a spring get-together. The house was the perfect venue! We trailered down our 13' Boston Whaler runabout which fit perfectly in the boathouse. Thanks so much, hope to see you again in the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 8, 2007   Date of arrival: August 8, 2007

The 13 members of my family (ages 3 yrs. to 60 something) enjoyed our stay on Ninigret Pond greatly - It was clean, well appointed and had every feature that made us comfortable. We had many wonderful evenings playing games on the big diningroom table & the view from the porches was lovely. Plenty of room in the yard for the children to enjoy the outdoors. Overall a fun family week.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 30, 2007   Date of arrival: July 30, 2007

Our four-generation newly-extended family had a wonderful time at Ninigret Pond. It was a joy for everyone--age 3 months to 88 years--to hang out, eat on the porch, go sailing, watch DVDs. We tried three beaches (Misquamicut, Charlestown, Weekapaug), loved all of them. A highlight was lobster dinner; we bought the lobsters at the Mini-Mart (fresh, and reasonably priced) and let them crawl around on the kitchen floor before subjecting them to their fate. The well-stocked kitchen provided the needed large kettles, no problem.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Review submitted: September 1, 2006   Date of arrival: September 1, 2006

We used the Ninigret house for a family reunion -- there were 8 of us, including one 84 year old! This house has a stunning view and wonderful family areas. You can see the huge, beautiful "pond" and the boats on it from the deck, screened porch, dining area, living area, sun room, and kitchen. We ate on the screened porch most of the time because it was so gorgeous. The kitchen is huge, well-stocked and comfortable; many of us could work simultaneously while the rest sat and chatted.

We found innumerable great beaches nearby and took many long walks along them. We also made frequent use of the kayak that came with the house. The house is also well-situated for trips to Newport, Block Island, and the Pawtucket Red Sox (all of which we did.) I must admit, the kitchen was so inviting we did not go out to dinner.

We definitely recommend this house for a beach vacation with unbelievable views and plenty of living space to be together without being on top of each other.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: August 24, 2006   Date of arrival: August 24, 2006

We rented this property for two weeks. One week the temperatures were between 95-100 degrees. It was fantastic to be in a beautiful air conditioned home. The Weekapaug Beach Pass was used everyday. It is one of the most beautiful beaches and well worth the 10 minute drive from the house. Great views from the screened in porch and deck.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: May 25, 2006   Date of arrival: May 25, 2006

I spent the weekend with my coworkers for a retreat. We had a great time! There was so much to do and so many relaxing locations around the property. The use of the kayaks was a treat! The house was much larger than I anticipated, and it accomodated 11 comfortably. We will likely make this our annual meeting place.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 7, 2006   Date of arrival: April 7, 2006

We are a group of 12 menopausal ladies who have been going away one weekend of the year for 10 years. One of our group developed a reocurrance of her cancer so these weekends have taken on a more special meaning. Our stay in the Ninigret House was exceptional from start to finish. The house lent itself very comfortably to twelve women. It was spacious yet homey - the view was magnificent each morning and evening, the beds were great (best away sleep any of us has had!) and the closest restaurant, The General Stanton Inn, will never have as good a Karaoke Night as they had with us! It was unanimous - we will be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 19, 2005   Date of arrival: October 19, 2005

We had a wonderful weekend on Ninigret Pond in celebration of our 15-year high school reunion. The views are spectacular - even in the rain! The kitchen and living areas are very spacious and well-equipped to create meals for many. The house has high-speed internet and wireless access which allowed a few of us to "work" remotely. Most importantly, the owner and caretaker were incredibly responsive and accomodating.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 19, 2005   Date of arrival: August 19, 2005

The house and view are beautiful. The kayaks and sail boats are a wonderful feature of a well-equipped, well-designed, and restful location.

The owners are very responsive.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 5, 2005   Date of arrival: July 5, 2005

Beautiful house, great setting, nicely decorated, very professionally managed!

My family and I met here for a long weekend, great layout for socializing with a kitchen that could handle the many cooks we had!

Thanks!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 28, 2005   Date of arrival: June 28, 2005

What a wonderful house in a wonderful
location. The house is VERY well equipped
and comfortable. The setting is ideal for
relaxing and enjoying peace and quiet, yet it
is close-by to many area attractions. We had
a great time.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 25, 2004   Date of arrival: June 25, 2004

The house was very well-equipped, comfortable, and spacious. The views are beautiful. The downstairs section could have a better dehumidifying system to prevent it from being so musty.

Owners response: We installed a professional dehumidification system, so this should address the humidity on those very wet days.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review