reviews for: listing #17855 - Bar Harbor, Maine House rental

"Deer Run" Geat Location, Reviews, Rates ,Walk to Ocean
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $185 - $250 /nt
    $850 - $1,450 /wk

sort by:

Perfect Home Away from Home!

Review submitted: October 2, 2011   Date of arrival: August 27, 2011

We chose Deer Run based on the reviews of previous tenants and we weren't disappointed. The home is clearly well cared for and in a very clean state. We arrived early, running ahead and away (we hoped) of Hurricane Irene, to find the owner, Diane, tending to the lovely garden ahead of the storm. She very graciously allowed us occupy the property earlier than agreed and we quickly settled in. After a week in a very beautiful but more rustic location, Deer Run was the perfect compliment to our Maine vacation. Everything is as advertised or better and Diane went the extra mile to make us feel welcome and at home.
As for the location, it is nicely placed on the quiet side of Mount Desert Island. Although we visited Bar Harbor on several occasions, we didn't want to stay there because of the crowds (you may want to avoid it when the cruise ships are in). After all it's not far by car ( ~20 mins). There is a free bus to much of the Island, but you have to connect in Bar Harbor and we thought that it was too time consuming. There is so much to do on MDI but our favorites were hiking the national park trails, sunrise on Cadillac Mountain (dress warm and don't think for a minute you're the only one with the same idea!), whale watching, and eating out. Our favorite restaurants were Havana (expensive but fantastic!), Two Cats (wonderful breakfast), and the West Street Cafe (good, inexpensive lunch).
You can see our star rating but if you asked, "Would you go out of your way to stay at Deer Run again?" The answer would be "Yes!"

Owners response: It was a joy to have this family stay at my home and I liked to hear about there daily adventures.
Before flying overseas Sharon and the girls stopped at the Portland Mall shopping for college.
They are now both stricken with "Empty Nest" feelings. What a beautiful family.

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

5 Star Review

Review submitted: August 22, 2014   Date of arrival: June 14, 2014

We spent a week at Deer Run mid of June this year. Immediately when you drive on the property you are struck by how nice everything is and the when you open the door to the home you will realize that it has been furnished with care and is very clean. Everything we needed was there. The location was perfect for us, quiet, near a trail and a quick drive to all park entrances and downtown Bar Harbor. The owner has a studio apartment above the garage on the property. She is very nice and concerned that all guests have a wonderful time. She was never intrusive only very helpful whenever we had a question. In fact we would have loved to spend more time with her. We brought our 5 year old son and he had a blast. We had a great first visit to Maine and are happy we stumbled across this cottage.
Hopefully this time it took my review. I apologize for the delay. Please let me know if it made it through and the 3rd time is a charm.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A wonderful stay in Bar Harbor

Review submitted: August 22, 2014   Date of arrival: June 14, 2014

We spent a week at Deer Run mid of June this year. Immediately when you drive on the property you are struck by how nice everything is and the when you open the door to the home you will realize that it has been furnished with care and is very clean. Everything we needed was there. The location was perfect for us, quiet, near a trail and a quick drive to all park entrances and downtown Bar Harbor. The owner has a studio apartment above the garage on the property. She is very nice and concerned that all guests have a wonderful time. She was never intrusive only very helpful whenever we had a question. In fact we would have loved to spend more time with her. We brought our 5 year old son and he had a blast. We had a great first visit to Maine and are happy we stumbled across this cottage.

Owners response: Thank you for your review and taking the time to write. I hope it will help other families who may be interested in my home. I have been so pleased with my visitors. I hope your little one has better days at school. He was so sweet.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Loved it!

Review submitted: August 22, 2014   Date of arrival: August 9, 2014

Our family of four enjoyed our visit to Mt. Desert Island and were very happy with this property. Diane has made this home very comfortable for her guests. It is a cozy home, absolutely spotless and had anything that we might have needed. The location was great as we were able to easily get around the island and enjoy all that it had to offer. Some of the highlights of the week were the beautiful hikes, biking on the carraige trails, walking on the sand bar to Bar Island, going to the top of Cadillac mountain, and of course the delicious lobster and chowder! Can't wait to return.

Owners response: Fun family and hope to see you again. I take pride in the upkeep of my home and want everyone to enjoy themselves and be comfortable. Thank you again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Quiet, clean and peaceful!

Review submitted: August 16, 2014   Date of arrival: August 2, 2014

Deer Run was a great home away from home. It was very clean! Kitchen was well equipped and living area was comfortable. The home was a peaceful place to stay as well. It is located in a wooded area, away from the main highway but perfectly located so that you can easily get to all the main attractions on Mount Dessert Island/Acadia National Park. We enjoyed meeting Diane. She gave us some tips on things to do and places to eat that were great. We appreciated the tips. Although she resides in a small home adjacent to Deer Run, she gave us the privacy you would expect. We really enjoyed our stay and would love to return. What else can I say...CLEAN, PEACEFUL, GREAT LOCATION. Thanks Diane!

Owners response: Thank you my friend for a great review and this will help potential visitors who may be interested in my home. I take pride in a clean home and a positive vacation experience. Thank you very much.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful home away from home

Review submitted: June 18, 2014   Date of arrival: June 7, 2014

My husband, two grown sons and I stayed at Deer Run for a week in June 2013 and returned in June 2014. My son found the property online. This was our first trip to Maine from our PA home. When we arrived in June 2013 we were warmly welcomed by the owner, Diane, who lives in the house behind Deer Run. Diane made it clear she was there if we needed anything but would not bother us. She was true to her word! Throughout our stay we did not know she was there except when we saw her working hard to maintain her lovely garden. Although the internet pictures of the house are pretty, they do not do justice to the charm of this peaceful home. The kitchen is well equipped to make any home made meal, the furniture is very comfortable and the linens provided are very high end. Acadia National Park is a short drive away from Deer Run and has breathtaking views. Our family hopes to return to Bar Harbor next summer and stay at Deer Run again!

Owners response: Hi Jackie,

Glad to see you had a safe trip home. I am so happy to see you are coming back neat year. You have a beautiful family and I am glad your son picked my home for your stay. He obviously has great taste....You know, I didn't realize he was the one who discovered it on the computer.You are very lucky that everyone can co-ordinate their time to be together as a family.

Diane

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Quiet, clean, quaint and cute!

Review submitted: June 8, 2014   Date of arrival: May 23, 2014

This was a great property for a weekend getaway. My husband and I enjoyed the quiet location. The house was clean and equipped with anything you might need. I look forward to returning.

Owners response: Thank you Carrie for your comments. I have allergies so keeping a clean home is a priority.
I hope you can make it to Maine again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Cottage in Lovely Wooded Area

Review submitted: October 30, 2013   Date of arrival: October 19, 2013

My husband and I recently spent 4 nights in this beautiful new home. It is in pristine condition on a lovely piece of wooded property. We found everything we needed to make our stay a great one....except coffee filters.

This home is in a great location with easy access to the entire Bar Harbor area. I highly recommend it. There are just a few things not mentioned in the description that renters might find useful. The owner asks that you not wear your outside shoes inside the house. This was easy for us, as there are just two of us and no children. She also asked that we not touch the thermostat. I personally enjoy keeping my home cool, but we were very grateful for the quilt we found to bundle up in when we watched TV. I'm sure Diane would have turned the heat up for us if we had requested it, but we chose not to. I would not recommend bringing children to this house because it is full of gorgeous antiques and very light colored carpeting. It's perfect for adults and very romantic.

We wouldn't hesitate to return to Deer Run next time we are in the area. The owner does live on the property in a house directly behind the cottage. She was recovering from surgery during our visit so we only got to visit with her briefly. We also met her daughter—both are lovely people.

This rental is a terrific value for the price.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your lovely review and I hope to see you again when I am up and about. Yes, you are right about me mentioning not wearing shoes in the house and bringing in pollen which I ask for in the welcome letter. I also show in my review that I try to keep my home clean and allergen free as possible. You see, I have allergies and I have a lot of repeat guest also who have allergies. I have never ever had a problem with this in the 7 years that I have been renting with any family with children. People who stay for a length of time respect my home and find it natural to do so. I am sure there are some who forget. I do seem to have people treat my home different who stay for shorter terms and forget that my home is not a hotel. I have radiant heat and people have abused the use or they don't understand how it works. Oil is expensive and one should not have the heat on and open all the windows at the same time. I do have a note in the home but I make sure to ask everyone on arrival if they are use to radiant heat and if not explain to them how to increase the temp. The cleaning lady had come in a couple of times and found all the windows open and the heat up to 80.

I mostly have families here the summer months and couples in the fall.Adults with children can see from the photos that I have some older things and my carpet is a strong Berber Carpet. The only thing ever broken was a dish and a couple of wine glasses.

I have been blessed with the tenants I have and how appreciated they are and I am here at times if they need me and give them total privacy.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Completely Lovely!

Review submitted: July 23, 2013   Date of arrival: June 11, 2013

Our family of four recently enjoyed a wonderful trip to Maine's Acadia National Park. We were fortunate enough to be able to rent Diane's picture perfect home. The home itself and the surrounding landscape are completely lovely. Beautifully, yet simply decorated and immaculate the home was a real retreat as we returned home late each afternoon from a full day of exploring. Our family enjoyed biking the carriage roads, looking for sea glass, whale watching, great food, hiking trails,breath taking views and a nightly game of Old Maid.
The location of Deer Run was ideal! Just a short drive to Acadia or any of the fishing villages you might want to visit. We will cherish the memories made with our children (ages 8 and 10). Thank you Diane, for sharing your little slice of heaven with us!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful vacation home for our family!

Review submitted: July 16, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

We had a wonderful visit to Bar Harbor and thoroughly enjoyed this beautiful home. It is in a great location and has all the amenities a family visiting needs. It was so nice not having to eat out all the time and we also enjoyed sitting on the porch in the evening and talking about all the fun things we did during the day with our 2 teenage children. Distance from Bar Harbor was perfect (15 min drive) and plenty of places to walk to including a path to the ocean. Diane, the owner is a pleasure and very helpful. Would definitely visit again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your kind words and your family sure did enjoy themselves and hope to see you again also.
I do live in Bar Harbor and it does take about 10-15 minutes to the center of town. The village I live in, in Bar Harbor, is called Town Hill. I would rather live with song birds than with all the traffic and cruise ship people all over town. Nice to visit for certain things and the location is great for traveling to other communities
on the Island. Thanks again and take care.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Vacation Home!

Review submitted: December 29, 2012   Date of arrival: October 21, 2012

My mom and I spent the week visiting all the local spots of Bar Harbor. The house was spotless and just like being at home. The furnishings were just perfect. You could not ask for a better place to stay! Diane (the owner) was gracious and even provided us a short cut to the harbor.

My mom enjoyed talking gardening with Diane and looks forward to seeing if the lupines bloom in Virginia.

We hope to return in the future.

Owners response: Thank you and I am very anxious to see if the lupines do bloom in Virginia. I have many more...

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Loved everything about it!

Review submitted: September 29, 2012   Date of arrival: September 15, 2012

From the moment we pulled up to the house after a long drive, we fell in love with the house and the property. Diane greeted us, as she was working on her beautiful landscaping. She's was extremely welcoming and friendly. From there, we went inside the house and fell in love even more. It's charmingly decorated with antique furniture and interesting art and artifacts. The rooms are spacious, light and airy, but also very cozy. The house has everything you could ever want. Diane has clearly anticipated her guests' wants and needs. And talk about clean! The house was perfectly spotless. The house is set off from the road and is extremely quiet and peaceful. As others have mentioned, it's a short drive to the park and town and to all other points on the island. It's the prefect base for an Acadia/Bar Harbor vacation.

Maine is a long way from our home, but if and when we return, we will surely stay at Deer Run Cottage. It was the perfect beginning and end to our busy days on the island. We were very sad to leave. As an added bonus, Diane--in just a short week--became a friend. She's a lovely lady and the perfect host. We sure hope to see her again someday!

Owners response: Thank you for your kind words Brian. I am so lucky to have the best Guests. Hope to see you again and take care.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Lovely, comfortable and convenient home

Review submitted: September 20, 2012   Date of arrival: September 8, 2012

We spent a Week at Deer Run Cottage - it's a lovely and spacious 2 bedroom home that was conveniently located. About 15 minute drive from anything on the island and away from the hustle and bustle of downtown Bar Harbor. Wonderfully stocked kitchen makes it great for anyone that enjoys cooking. Comfortable living space and bedrooms and very immaculately clean. Perfect for a small family or two couples.

Owners response: Thank you Bridgett. I love my location also. I am still busy building my raised garden beds and the deer fencing will be up next week. I am very particular about the cleanliness of my home for each and every guest which is much appreciated. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A great place to stay

Review submitted: July 15, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

The house was spotless and beautifully decorated. We were vastly impressed with the beauty of the house. We were very happy with the distance to the downtown area. The only negative thing we have to say was that the cable was very limited.
Overall, what a great place.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely vacation home

Review submitted: July 6, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

This was our first attempt at renting a home, and not the usual hotel deal. LOVED IT. The house was built to rent, but I told Diane I would be too selfish to rent such a lovely home. She took care to pick out lovely furniture and bedding for her cottage, awesome kitchen, big nice bathroom. Diane being on the property is not a problem, she is a delightful landlord. We hiked and biked, which made me appreciate the washer and dryer. Having climbed Katahdin as well as Cadaillac Mountain, heading home to a beautiful home and comfy bed was awesome for me. You do have the 15 minute drive from Downtown Bar Harbor but Diane told us to take "Crooked Road" and it cuts the time in half. The home is in a peaceful setting. The wifi is great for facebook and internet. A++ ~Susan, Dave, and Aimee

Owners response: This family deserves the bragging rights to have climbed Katahdin.

Aimee will succeed in anything she does. What a lovely family.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Would stay here again

Review submitted: June 29, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

We would definitely recommend this home to anyone wanting to be close to all the activities of Mount Desert Island without being in the midst of the crowds. It was about a 10-20 minute drive from Bar Harbor and all the hiking we wanted to do. The house itself was beautiful and obviously well taken care of. The description was accurate. The only thing the pictures don't show, is that there is another building on the property where the owner stays. Having the owner on-site was helpful, as she was able to answer any questions we had, but was also very adament about giving us privacy.

The house was comfortable, clean, and had all the amenities we could need. Having high-speed internet was a treat. The setting was really beautiful and very "Maine-looking" with all the flowers and greenery around it. We also enjoyed walking through the woods to the beach. It was a great place for our son to look for sea creatures and skip rocks.

We would definitely stay here again, as well as recommend it to our friends and family.

Owners response: Thank you Barbara. I hope to see you and your family again. I also love the walk to the beach which I do every day.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Location for a Mount Desert Island Vacation

Review submitted: June 18, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

This was our first time renting a home for vacation. All the reviews are correct the house was very clean, well appointed and a great location. Convenient to Bar Harbor, Acadia National Park and other locations off the island. Would be very happy to stay at this home again!!

Owners response: Thank you Norene, I hope this helps others renting a home on vacation for their first time also.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Escape

Review submitted: November 22, 2011   Date of arrival: May 7, 2011

We had a delightful time in this wonderful home in Bar Harbor. Situated on the outskirts of the center of town we found the location very convenient for exploring the other villages on the Island and in close proximity to Acadia National Park.

The home is well appointed and gives the feel of a home away from home. Internet access was a plus as was the tranquility of the surroundings. The walk to the Bay was most enjoyable and we will definitely be back for a longer stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Vacation on Mount Desert Island

Review submitted: November 20, 2011   Date of arrival: May 1, 2011

Great Vacation on Mount Desert Island


This is the first time my mother and I have rented through Home Away and stayed in a private home. We found our rental home clean, comfortable and fully equipped as advertised. The owner, Diane was very helpful in making reservations for us and giving directions to area attractions. We enjoyed walking the path from her home to the water one day where we had our lobster picnic. From the sunset on Cadillac Mountain to hiking the trails in the park kept us busy. We will certainly return to this beautiful home and we found Home Away very useful and user friendly.

Owners response: Thank you for your kind words and I look forward for your return to my home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Getaway

Review submitted: November 11, 2011   Date of arrival: October 22, 2011

When we decided to go to Bar Harbour we searched the internet for the perfect getaway and we found it in "Deer Run". The house is beautiful and well equipped. Everything you need for a peaceful vacation. The weather was cold so we didn't have a chance to use the bar b q or the decking but they were available had it been sunny. The house is about 8 miles from the centre so a car is essential. We arrived as the season was coming to a close, so everywhere was quiet, the Island Hopper had stopped and a lot of places had shut down but we still filled our time with lots of walking and sight seeing, the scenery is breath taking everywhere you look. Ollies Trolley was very informative and fairly cheap, there was only one other couple on the bus so the service was like a one to one. We missed out on the "Whale Watching" as we were advised that the whales, like everyone else, had gone south, although the boat would still have took our money (you get another free ticket if you don't see whales but the chances of getting time to go again are slim). Diane, the owner who lives in a studio on the same sight, was very helpful and informative but at the same time gave us our own space. Highlights were Cadillac Mountain, Arcadian National Park in general, great walks, the out of the way places like the lighthouses and hidden coves. On the first night we ate at the fish restaurant right on the harbour next to the car park but it was poor. The next night we went into Galyins, just a little way up the main street, and is was so good we went in there everynight, either just for a couple during happy hour or to eat. Either way the company was welcoming and the food excellent. The bar man Paul, was really interesting and friendly, made the place feel like "Cheers" bar. We may well return to Bar Harbour one day and would definately stay at Deer Run again, Highly recommended!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: A pure pleasure having you in my home for the week and hope you will be able to return from England.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fantastic Vacation

Review submitted: November 1, 2011   Date of arrival: October 15, 2011

An absolutely beautiful and thoughtfully decorated, clean and artistic home is what we got. This was our second autumn visit to MDI, and our first time at this property. My sister and I arrived earlier than the check in time, but Diane allowed us to move in early, and spent time answering all of our tourist questions! We spent the week walking the carriage trails, shopping in the small towns around the island (our location gave us perfect access to all places of interest), and we cooked lobsters 3 of the nights. There is no question that this home gave us a vacation that was special, and left us feeling spiritually and physically rested, content, and inspired. Thank you for taking care of everything and more, that one could think to need on vacation in Maine. We will be back next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Two sisters with lots of love and adventure. Can't wait to see you next year.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect for exploring Acadia and Bar Harbor

Review submitted: October 29, 2011   Date of arrival: October 1, 2011

Deer Run is in a great location for exploring Acadia National Park and Bar Harbor. We found the house to be just as described. Diane is very friendly, easy to talk to and close by, if you need anything. After several hours of traveling, we were very grateful to be able settle right in upon arrival. The house is well furnished, clean and comfortable. If you decide to stay in for a meal, the kitchen has everything you need. We also enjoyed being able to get away from the busy part of the park at the end of each day. We have already booked our stay for next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It was a pleasure having your family and happy to see that you will be returning.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A nice home... not what we expected

Review submitted: October 15, 2011   Date of arrival: October 10, 2011

We had four adults in this home in October. Maine and Bar Harbor were glistening with Autumn changes - so we were extremely pleased to enjoy this incredible season. Our experience was different to most reviews for this home, possibly because we were a family of four adults.
1) The twin beds were creeky for two adults. Every time we turned in bed - the noise would awaken the other person in the room. One fitted sheet was made of plastic.
2) We were not aware that the owner (Diane) lived on the property in a separate home right next to this rental. We were asked to close our bedroom windows by a note on our front door. We all enjoy having our bedroom windows open while we sleep to feel the night breezes, so this came as a surprise. And it also made us extremely conscientious of our comings and goings.
3) The property does not seem to lend itself to outside lounging as the pictures might suggest - but possibly we just missed the outdoor scene described in pictures which seem to be taken in Spring. A larger deck would have been desirable as the first day we arrived - temperatures were quite warm - but the outdoor deck is quite small and not amenable to outdoor lounging as the pictures might suggest.
4) The house is on a surprisingly busy street - and the room with the two twin beds is right next to this street. When the windows are open on a warm night, it is quite noisy with traffic.
5) Although told that they would be available - the bistro and market that is walking distance to this home are not open this time of year. Also, the free shuttle is not running at this time of year - not sure when it stops running.

All in all - we enjoyed our stay at Diane's home and the rental is definitely well equipped for cooking. And the home is well appointed with many homey items throughout the home.

Owners response: I so very wish I knew that you were not completely satisfied, as I perhaps could have assisted you in ways to improve your experience. It was indeed, a busy time while you were here, betweet the Octoberfest, Town Hill Yard Sale, and the MDI Triathlon (going right ny my house). The general Store and Bistro are open year round. As luck would have it, The Bistro had closed for a staff retreat the three days you were here. I am sorry I was not previously aware of that detail, and have asked the owner if she could let me know of closings in the future.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Charming, contemporary Cape Cod house

Review submitted: October 12, 2011   Date of arrival: September 18, 2011

This lovely house sits in the center of Mt. Desert above Somesville and while not on the water, water views are within a short walk down a fire rd. and path. The furnishings are a mix of contemporary and antique. It is extremely comfortable with lovely views from a veranda that wraps around the eastern and southern exposures overlooking a natural garden. The kitchen is well outfitted for self catering and the Town Hill Bistro serves elegant delicious meals. We look forward to returning again. Marilyn

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great vacation

Review submitted: September 20, 2011   Date of arrival: September 11, 2011

We had a GREAT week in Bar Harbor, staying at Deer Run. We were on the go every day and enjoyed having a quiet, clean, comfortable place to relax in the evening, getting ready for the next adventurous day. The location is only a short, scenic view from both Acadia National Park entrances and the downtown area of Bar Harbor. We took our computer because the house had wi-fi service so we were able to stay in touch with family while there. We would have enjoyed having a few more channels on the TV but computer service helped us keep up with weather, news, sports, etc. We also were very impressed by the friendliness and helpfulness of Dianne as well as others we encountered in the area. In particular, we had a minor car repair that was needed and Bar Harbor Auto took us in, fixed our problem, and had us on our way in 15 minutes!!!! We visited the Oceanarium in Bar Harbor one afternoon, and really learned a lot. Also, on our final evening, we took the 2-hour carriage ride in Acadia National Park up to Day Mountain. It was a perfect way to end our week of vacation. We hope to be able to return to Bar Harbor in the future, and when we do, would definitely book Deer Run for our accomodations.

Owners response: I love how active you were every day and appreciate the kind remarks about me and my home. I do hope to see you again. Thank you, Diane

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

AWESOME!

Review submitted: September 4, 2011   Date of arrival: August 20, 2011

Diane was so helpful in every way. Her home is beautiful, decorated in a warm country style and comfortable.There is everything you need in the house and so clean.
The setting is nestled in pines with a porch that looks out on to flowers and trees..relaxing. It is a great location quite and close to everything . I recommended this home to all my friends. My husband and I like to hike, go to resturants, kayak, whale watch. There is so much to do we will be going back for years and stay at Diane's home. Great place to decompress.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Deer Run

Review submitted: August 15, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

I cannot say enough about what a wonderful house Deer Run is. Diane's Diane's house is complete with everything needed for a wonderful and quiet vacation. The house is immaculate and beautifully furnished and sits in the midst of tall pines away from the busy center of Bar Harbor which is easily accessible from every direction.
Her house exceeded all expectations and I would, without a moment of hesitation, highly recommend this rental which I know you would not be disappointed.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Masako,

Thank you for your kind words.I also enjoy the peacefulness at my home and at the same time like being only minutes from area attractions.
You made me laugh about the battle with the lobster and thank you for the lobster cracker.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Gem

Review submitted: August 14, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

Diane

Your home is absolutely a gem and we have enjoyed every minute of our stay. I certainly hope that I'll be able to return to BH for another unforgetable summer vacation.

BTW, one of the lobsters won the battle with the cracker. I have replaced it.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Exquisite

Review submitted: August 13, 2011   Date of arrival: July 30, 2011

This house is a small castle and kept absolutely spotless. We stayed with our two nieces and didn't want to leave. It's a perfect location from which to explore Acadia and also drive up to Bar Harbor (if/when you want to). I woke up the first morning to a rooster crowing--fabulous! (we're from the city) Close by you can walk down a gated path with private access to the bay. Our niece delighted at the clam who tried to claim her finger. Couldn't recommend this house and location more.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Heidi,

I'm glad your family enjoyed your stay and appreciated my home and the surrounding area. I must tell you the last guest I had actually got a clamming license and dug in the Bay. BTW,You may be disappointed to learn that the crowing rooster is no longer next door. He misbehaved and was removed from the laying hens. Fresh organic eggs should be available next door the next time you are here.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

wonderful place (and owner) would stay again anyti

Review submitted: July 26, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

Diane's house is wonderful!! We are a family of three (with a 4 year old boy). Great home for small families, clean, quiet, roomy, and close to everything (as the other reviews say). Diane is very helpful if you ever need her, and it is so much fun to be there! We definitely want to go back!

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Owners response: Lisa,

I appreciate your thankfulness for a quiet clean home as advertised. Many tenants love the location in exploring the Island.
Your family was very sensitive in trying to keep my home allergen free and safe for young children.
Welcome back..

Diane

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Home Away From Home!!

Review submitted: July 3, 2011   Date of arrival: June 25, 2011

You will not be disappointed in this vacation home! The owner is wonderful to work with. The pictures do not do the home justice. First and foremost, the home was immaculately clean! We really appreciated that!! The outside garden is wonderful! The home is decorated so charmingly with antiques that, while you know you are in a new home, it has such a wonderful warm feeling. For the women, if you like decorating, you will enjoy the owner's use of pictures, and collectibles to create the lovely atmosphere. The location is about 8-10 miles from Bar Harbor which worked great for us. It was a lovely drive and was a great vantage point to visiting many of the other sites outside of Bar Harbor and Acadia. The home is on Route 102, one day we continued down 102 to visit all of the other little harbors. The home is equally close to the towns of Trenton and Ellsworth where you can get many good lobster meals and other shopping. We recommend Trenton Bridge for lobster on Route 3. If you get a chance don't miss the opportunity to visit Schoodic Point, a visit you will long remember for it's beautiful scenery. Our family so enjoyed our stay at Deer Cottage, it was a wonderful respite at the end of our busy day! We definitely recommend this home. You will enjoy your stay!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Wow, this family from NJ knows how to shop and shop and take in the area attractions easily located from my Deer Run location. What great positive energy and friendship.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A very nice place !

Review submitted: June 2, 2011   Date of arrival: May 27, 2011

Beautifull house, nice surroundings, perfect for a relaxing WE !

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway

Owners response: Thank you. Montreal people sure know how to have fun.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Stow away in style

Review submitted: January 16, 2011   Date of arrival: August 28, 2010

From my first inquiry to check-out this rental exceeded all my epectations. Diane was so pleasant and accommodating; it was obvious she wants her guests to have the ultimate vacation experience.

The house is tastefully appointed and equipped with all the modern conveniences. It sparkles with cleanliness and is most welcoming.

It is conveniently located to all area attractions but nestled in a secluded setting that allows you a peaeful and quiet vacation. Shopping and dining are available a short distance from the rental. The waterfront is a pictureque half mile walk through wooded trails.

This property is unique in character and highly recommended to vacationers looking for the perfect spot to vacation in.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind words.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

cozy litttle getaway

Review submitted: December 30, 2010   Date of arrival: October 2, 2010

We spent the first week of October with our two small children in this cozy little getaway. The location was very convenient, only about 15 minutes from Bar Harbor, but without all the crowds. The house was very tastefully furnished with antiques and hardwoods with a sea faring theme throughout. The radiant heating was super efficient and kept us very toasty on those brisk, fall evenings. I especially enjoyed stopping in at the local market in town, just down the road. The atmosphere was friendly, neighboorly and not the slightest bit touristy. A real down home feel. One could buy a homemade pie, a bottle of wine, or a box of organic pasta. Diane has done an exceptional job with her home and the accompanying grounds. She was most friendly and very easy to work with. I would highly recommend this rental to any of my friends, and plan on using it again when we are in the area. In fact, of the many visitors we had while enjoying our stay, all of them commented us on our good fortune in lodging.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Debbie,

Thank you for your kind review and hope to see your wonderful family again.
I just wanted to say that I do live in Bar Harbor, but not in the center of town.

Best,

Diane

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Exceptional

Review submitted: October 20, 2010   Date of arrival: October 10, 2010

This house can only be described as "perfect"!!! It is very tastefully decorated and has everything you need for a wonderful vacation. It is located about 13 miles from Bar Harbor which made it great for some quiet time but still close enough to enjoy all Mt. Desert Island has to offer. We got to meet Diane(the owner) and she is a very sweet person. She was working in her garden and because it was fall, not much was blooming. But I can only imagine how beautiful they must be in summer!! WE will definitely stay again!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you but please note I live in Bar Harbor and I am 8 miles from the center of Bar Harbor not 13 miles. Love to have you back,,,

Regards,

Diane

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Simply Perfect!

Review submitted: August 23, 2010   Date of arrival: August 14, 2010

Diane's home is honestly as close to perfection as you can get. Our family of 3 were lucky enough to stay during the middle week of August and just returned. Our communication was terrific with Diane and she provided us with the information we needed to feel comfortable, even before we arrived. We couldn't be happier with our choice and could not believe how beautiful and the home was kept so immaculately clean. The property is just so peaceful, lots of beautiful trees and flowers and so easy to access everything.

The kitchen is so well-equipped, bathrooms are super-clean (as is the whole home) and the furnishings made us feel like we were visiting a friend, not staying in a rental home. The beds were comfortable and we had plenty of dresser or closet space. The full bathroom upstairs is really large and the whole home feels very light and airy from the moment you enter.

While the house doesn't sit in downtown Bar Harbor (thank goodness) it is so close to the main roads and is only a very short drive to everything. We took the Island Explorer bus from the stop at the nearby campground and were happy to use that form of transportation as well. The nearby deli in Town Hill had delicious ice cream and the nearby pizzeria had tasty and inexpensive pizza if you don't feel like cooking.

We had a terrific stay and can't wait to come back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Spot for lifelong friends to gather

Review submitted: August 1, 2010   Date of arrival: July 24, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this beautifully decorated, Cape Cod style home. It was well-equipped and within easy driving times for all the sites on the island. The flower-lined back deck was the perfect spot for our morning coffee and our afternoon wine. The entire home had a cozy feel. We fit into its spaces easily and relaxed instantly. Diane made available all sorts of Bar Harbor guides for us to use. We felt like we had arrived back "home" at the end of each busy day seeing the sites. Hopefully we'll back for another reunion in the near future.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Deer Run Cottage

Review submitted: July 28, 2010   Date of arrival: July 17, 2010

This home was lovely and exactly as it is pictured online. The home was well equipped especially the kitchen which we put to good use while we were there. While the cottage is off the beaten path of Bar Harbor it was perfect for us since we enjoy some quiet time during our vacations. I would highly recommend this home to anyone and I hope that we will be able to visit it again one day.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A little piece of Maine

Review submitted: July 9, 2010   Date of arrival: June 26, 2010

This is the second time I rented Diane's beautiful home. I have never rented a more comfortable, well equiped, beautiful, and quiet home. Diane has set the bar high for other comparable homes. I am looking forward to coming back again and hopefully Diane will continue to rent her home. Thanks again for having us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beyond expectations

Review submitted: June 30, 2010   Date of arrival: June 19, 2010

My expectations were exceeded. Everything was in excelent condition and very clean. The house was in excellent condition and very comfortable. We are two retired couples that have traveled travel together for sometime. We have stayed in many upscale timeshares and this exceeds most of them. It made for a very enjoyable week. It is out of the congestion but close to everything. It is an outstanding property. I highly recommend it.
Maurice

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

a great stay in Maine...

Review submitted: June 17, 2010   Date of arrival: June 10, 2010

The cottage was impeccable, containing all the amenties one could ever need on vacation. It definitely added to our enjoyment of Maine. Diane, thank you for opening your cottage to us.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Going back a better peson

Review submitted: February 2, 2010   Date of arrival: August 15, 2008

I wanted to write and thank you for your lovely cottage. Your home is so lovely in every way and we found it so restful and relaxing. I especially appreciated how you have edited your things so that only things that are beautiful or useful are included. It was such a refreshing way to live. We had everything we needed to be perfectly comfortable and nothing that required our attention. I have already begun to look at my own home through your design sensitivity.
We had a lovely week and have come back better for it, and you are responsible for that.
Thank you so much Diane.

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Vacation and Home

Review submitted: December 26, 2009   Date of arrival: June 29, 2009

We found your house so peaceful. The setting is beautiful, surrounded by a large garden of wild flowers and forest. The house itself is spotless and very tastefully decorated and equipped with everything we might need. We were delighted with it – it was a real escape! Thanks a lot.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Vacation

Review submitted: December 26, 2009   Date of arrival: June 29, 2009

We found your house so peaceful. The setting is beautiful, surrounded by a large garden of wild flowers and forest. The house itself is spotless and very tastefully decorated and equipped with everything we might need. We were delighted with it – it was a real escape! Thanks a lot.

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review