reviews for: listing #1795 - Indian Shores, Florida Cottage rental

Ground floor DIRECT BEACHFRONT:Now $107/N thru 8/15(4N min)!
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Sun King Cottages
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $75 - $170 /nt
    $500 - $1,195 /wk

sort by:

Beautiful Sunsets in a Beautiful Place.

Review submitted: May 8, 2009   Date of arrival: April 25, 2009

This was like a home away from home. Everything was just like your description. The property was clean well maintained. The rental was quick and easy. I will be back and recommend it to all who what a relaxed easy going
beautiful vacation. If you like the sand and surf with beautiful sunsets, This is the place. Walk out your door
and you on the beach. No stair no elevators no long walks only wonderful sunny days of sand and surf. I have to be honest. I did not want to give this review. Yes I feel they deserve it but I didn't want everyone to find out about it. It will just make it harder for me to book it when everyone finds out about how wonderful it is.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 37 / 39

 

perfect getaway

Review submitted: December 16, 2013   Date of arrival: October 14, 2013

Loved this cottage! Was clean and well maintained, had everything we could have asked for. Beach was literally right out the back door. Perfect for girls' getaway. Excellent customer service, Linda was great with the instructions. Cottage was perfect for three adults. Shopping and laundromat close by as well as restaurants. Loved Johns' Pass, Tarpon Springs. Weather was perfect at this time of year, 80's in daytime, 70 at night, and gulf water was warm! Beach not crowded at all, but met some interesting people along the way. I would highly recommend this cottage to anyone and have done so. Please keep this available for rental, these cottages are difficult to find! The only negative was that we had to leave, stay went too quick.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Peaceful please!

Review submitted: November 14, 2013   Date of arrival: October 31, 2013

We had an amazing time in this cottage in front of the beach, every single day we saw the sunset and we loved, we did long walks around the beach and we could relax so much...we enjoyed this trip and whether one day we decide to come back we definitely will try to stay here, thank you so much for your help and thank you thank you thank you helping me with the Lilies, she really loved we could smell them every day!!!!!!! :)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Just got home from our long weekend.

Review submitted: September 30, 2013   Date of arrival: September 25, 2013

Just got home from our long weekend in your lovely little place. I have booked several places on line and I can truthfully say, this one is just as you described. Could not take my eyes off the view from the window. Made my birthday a great one. Thanks so much. Janice

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Place awesome getaway!!!

Review submitted: June 24, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

Linda was great to work with. Very friendly and helpful. The place is great. You walk out the back there is the ocean We even saw dolphins We went deep sea fishing by treasure island it was a short distance away. Mcquiddy's pub had great food and the people were so friendly. We will defintley do this again. Soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Peace and Tranquility

Review submitted: May 1, 2013   Date of arrival: April 13, 2013

Thanks for a little peice of Heaven. We totally enjoyed this getaway from everything. The place was far beyond what I expected. I have a problem with walking and was able to walk to the beach and on the beach because it was close. I walked out the door and there I was. On the Beach and in the water....what else could I ask for......The sound of the beach and the birds gave it the peace we needed. The apartment was not fancy but was clean and had everthing we needed to make our stay enjoyable. So I ask you what else could you ask for? I was sad to have to leave and go back to the hectic pace of work...but will count the days until we can return. Please don't change and go to a High Rise and leave this Piece of Heaven for all of us who love it!!!! Thanks Again!!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

the memories still linger

Review submitted: December 12, 2012   Date of arrival: December 13, 2011

We have been to this fabulous place twice (the date given is wrong but I can't go far enough back for the date of our last visit. The four weeks (two each time) will live on forever. The only problem with this place is that you will hate to leave. Although this is in a small town it is near enough to get to some big cities within easy driving distance but, to be honest, you wont want to.

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Beach Vacation

Review submitted: September 25, 2012   Date of arrival: September 15, 2012

Everything is as described.This is a very great place to just getaway.Linda is very helpful and easy to get in touch with if needed.We enjoyed our stay and this little beach cottage makes it better.Open the door and step into the sand.Walk a few steps and your in the gulf.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Very Nice

Review submitted: June 16, 2012   Date of arrival: June 7, 2012

Hello again This is are 3rd time traveling to Sunking.We really like the area.Sunking is very nice and clean place to stay.Linda the Owner is very Helpful if you need anything just ask.I would recommend this place.The place is fine for us Parents with a teenager.We stay close Clearwater/St.Pete Beach/ Mederia Beach /Indian Rocks Beach/ Bellair Beach you really don't have to go far to enjoy it. We will do it again.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Location!

Review submitted: May 27, 2012   Date of arrival: May 13, 2012

This quaint cottage is directly on the beach. This is an older property that is "Old Florida" at its best! If you are looking for a fancy high-rise, this is not it. But why would you? When you awaken, you step out your door with your coffee and sit to watch the waves. When you are ready to play in the water, you have no elevators, no lobbies, no people to go through. You are there! The cottage was well stocked with plenty of towels, bedding and kitchen utensils. If you have any questions or concerns, Linda is prompt and pleasant to speak with! We had a wonderful week here and look forward to out next visit.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Location!!!

Review submitted: May 27, 2012   Date of arrival: May 13, 2012

This quaint cottage is directly on the beach. This is an older property that is "Old Florida" at its best! If you are looking for a fancy high-rise, this is not it. But why would you? When you awaken, you step out your door with your coffee and sit to watch the waves. When you are ready to play in the water, you have no elevators, no lobbies, no people to go through. You are there! The cottage was well stocked with plenty of towels, bedding and kitchen utensils. If you have any questions or concerns, Linda is prompt and pleasant to speak with! We had a wonderful week here and look forward to out next visit.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Location!!

Review submitted: May 27, 2012   Date of arrival: May 13, 2012

This quaint cottage is directly on the beach. This is an older property that is "Old Florida" at its best! If you are looking for a fancy high-rise, this is not it. But why would you? When you awaken, you step out your door with your coffee and sit to watch the waves. When you are ready to play in the water, you have no elevators, no lobbies, no people to go through. You are there! The cottage was well stocked with plenty of towels, bedding and kitchen utensils. If you have any questions or concerns, Linda is prompt and pleasant to speak with! We had a wonderful week here and look forward to out next visit.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Serenity by the Sea

Review submitted: May 6, 2012   Date of arrival: March 26, 2012

Perfect quaint & clean cottage, as depicted in the photos. It truly is a wonderful location... AWESOME! Linda was great with every step of the booking process, and addressed any questions quickly.
Centrally located, restaurants, groceries, just about anything you need is close by.
The beach, ahh... the beach! THE most amazing white sand, right outside your back door, heaven! We walked the beach daily, and enjoyed a glass of wine as we watched the magnificent sunsets. Having our own little private beach area was great, and we enjoyed socializing with our neighbors.
It was the most perfect location. My boyfriend has done the typical condo thing several times, but said that the cottage was the best... by far!
I loved every minute of it, and hated to leave... you will not be disappointed!

Ann

Ontario, Canada

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Late night arrival

Review submitted: April 21, 2012   Date of arrival: April 8, 2012

Our flight arrived after 10pm so we arrived in the dark. I was a little nervous about the size of the place at first, but when the sun came up the the next morning the whole place lit up beautifully. It was perfect! Very clean and bright.The beach is right outside the front door and there's an area where you can stay private if you wish, or stroll down to the water's edge and jump in. The water was almost too warm. We had a manatee swim right off the beach out front.
I would recommend this cottage to any couple or small family.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Your Own Piece Of Paradise!

Review submitted: March 9, 2012   Date of arrival: January 1, 2012

If anyone is looking for the quiet surroundings of a neat place to spend some time, right on the Gulf of Mexico, then this is the place for you. The amenities include ample linens, a well stocked kitchen (which we did not take advantage of); after all, the cook had to have a vacation, too. The high speed internet connection allowed us to keep up to date with the world, if we were so inclined, but the unit does not have telephone hookups. However, if that is important to you, bring your own cell phone. When the weather turned unseasonably cold, the first of January, Linda was very prompt in providing us with a space heater, to keep our toes toasted. You will find Linda to be very accommodating. Last, but not least, the closeness, quantity, and variety of places to eat out, makes even the cooks vacation endlessly enjoyable. Signed, some old fogies from Kentucky.

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Great vacation

Review submitted: November 24, 2011   Date of arrival: October 8, 2011

It rained the first two days and we still had a great time. There is so much to do or you can just relax. We did both. The cabin was comfortable and well stocked. I'd love to go back.

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Vacation 2011 Sept 10th-17th

Review submitted: September 26, 2011   Date of arrival: September 10, 2011

Hi Linda!

We had a great time on vacation! Your place is adorable. It was the perfect size for the 2 of us and everything was there for us just like listed. It was great to be able to walk out the door and be in the sand. The weather was perfect. Ken fished from the shore.......best fishing is sunrise and sunset, which makes the view mighty fine at either time! Ken caught eight different fish types including 2 Bonnethead sharks and a black tip shark. The wildlife was abundant. A pod of Dolphins swam by and watching the pelicans was great too! A couple times we walked down to the Irish pub to eat. They have good food. Love the steak sandwich! We appreciate you answering our questions and booking us so quickly so we could be there the next weekend. We know it was short notice. Thanks again for the great time and for sharing your place with us!

Kim & Ken
Burkesville, KY

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

YES, the beach is outside the back door!!!

Review submitted: September 20, 2011   Date of arrival: September 3, 2011

Working with Linda Zubek was easy and enjoyable from beginning to end. Her communication is clear and immediate. In addition, the price for the rental is very affordable for what you get. In so many cases, it's hard to know from photos if the rental is actually on the beach. This property opens the back door to the ocean! Also, it is clean, nice, and very comfortable. We cooked everyday, so the kitchen was useful and fully stocked. In terms of room, there were 2 adults plus a baby in our party and there was plenty room for all of us!

The beach is gorgeous and quiet. The neighbors are nice and the area around the rental includes stores, shops, and restaurants in walking distance. We never wanted to leave! In fact, we plan to return ASAP and often.

This place is EXCELLENT and we highly recommend it!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful Beachfront Condo!

Review submitted: September 4, 2011   Date of arrival: July 30, 2011

Linda,

Thank you very much for allowing us to stay at your beautiful condo from 7/30/11 -8/3/11. We enjoyed it very much and were grateful for the cleanliness! Thank you for also returning our deposit in a timely manner ;)

Thanks,
Katie, Chris, & Ariel

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

All about the View

Review submitted: June 25, 2011   Date of arrival: June 2, 2011

Sunking is a very nice place to stay!!!!!!! Right on the beach with a great ( View). We seen everything you need to see even Manatee close up!!!!!! We really recommed this place for any 4 people that want to be at the beach. Linda is very nice and works with you. This is are 2nd year and more to come.My Advice to anyone that stays at Sunking have fun Locally
Johns Pass, Pier 60 & St.Pete Pier are a few places not far .PS. Just kick back and relax you will enjoy it. We Do!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

Simple Beauty...

Review submitted: June 10, 2011   Date of arrival: May 7, 2011

Our family had a great and wonderful stay!! Perfect place for us (2 adults and a 4 and 3 yrs old children)! Beautiful view of the Gulf right from the window and right out the back door, plus less than 50yds to the water!!. Watched sunsets every night with the kids playing in the water and every morning looked for dolphins swimming along the shore (did get to see several over the week).

Condo has everything you need to be comfortable. Easy to prep meals if you're going to hang out in the sun and sand; or if you decide to dine out, there are many choices of restaurants nearby within walking distance or less then 5-10min drive. We're defitinately coming back and the owner was great to work with!

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

WONDERFUL time @ the Sun King!

Review submitted: June 7, 2011   Date of arrival: August 3, 2010

We had A wonderful time @ the Sun King!!! DIRECTLY ON THE BEACH. Clean, cute little place. Would HIGHLY RECOMMEND this little duplex. MG FROM TN.

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful week at the beach!

Review submitted: June 7, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2010

Hey Linda just wanted to let you know we had a wonderful week at your place in July
Thanks kim

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Sorry to have to leave

Review submitted: June 7, 2011   Date of arrival: November 1, 2010

Hi Linda.

We are all packed up and ready to go.
We had a great time and are sorry to be leaving. You have the best place on the beach. We hope to come back again.
Happy Holidays to you!

We are hoping to come back next year!


Thanks
Sharon & Art

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great beach vacation--REALLY nice

Review submitted: June 7, 2011   Date of arrival: February 27, 2010

Hi Linda,

I just wanted to let you know that we had a really nice time. Everything was as expected and we hope to visit again sometime.

Once again thank you for giving us a great vacation.

Deborah

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We loved it.We think we want to move there!

Review submitted: June 7, 2011   Date of arrival: May 8, 2010

Thanks Linda!

We loved it. We think we want to move there!!

If you know of any real estate (like yours - cottage or
bottom/second story unit for sale please let us know!). Anyway, I will be retiring later this year and love your sunny
coast.
Thanks for everything!

Be in touch.

Janet

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

It was GREAT!

Review submitted: June 7, 2011   Date of arrival: August 14, 2010

Linda,

Thanks again for the use of your rental property – it was great!


Best,

Margi

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Out the door and into the sand!

Review submitted: June 7, 2011   Date of arrival: August 28, 2010

I just wanted to say thank you for the great week we had at Indian Shores. It's always super getting away to such a terrific place, walking out the front door just makes the place. Hope to get back there next year, coordinate it with the time the Red Sox play the Rays. We do like both teams and look forward to it. Hope all is well and goes well for you over the holidays and the new year. Also received the deposit. Take care ... Linda

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Couldn't ask for anything better!

Review submitted: June 7, 2011   Date of arrival: March 25, 2011

Hi Linda

Many thanks for returning the deposit so quickly, it was appreciated.

We had a lovely time and the weather was perfect. There was a couple staying next door and they got engaged so it was nice.

Heather

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

LOVED this relaxing spot right on the sand!

Review submitted: June 7, 2011   Date of arrival: May 7, 2011

Linda,

Just wanted to say thank you! Monika, myself and the kids LOVED the vacation at the condo. It was great to be right on the sand and have the kids walk straight to the beach from the back door. The location is just what we wanted –low key, on the water and great restaurants! We’ll be definitely coming back!

Regards,

Glenn

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Do not stay here do some research

Review submitted: June 3, 2011   Date of arrival: May 18, 2011

Very disappointing.... the only thing this little place has going for it it is on the beach, but that is the only thing...... Coffee our first morning there, I pulled out two dirty cups, it clearly states, clean and put away..... Dead cockroach in the living area one of the days, its Florida but really....

This condo needs some serious updates.... the dishwasher is portable so plan on doing your dishes by hand whilst you on vacation..... Linda get rid of the clutter and old furniture, it makes this place look smaller, uncared for, and cheap, and it is already small.....you need less clutter of old outdated furniture that looks old...... for the money it is not worth it....

The only thing that made this stay liveable was that my father in law had a really NICE condo 1.0 mile down the beach and we spent most of our time there....

We won't be back.... we will be back to the area but will not be staying here again..... check out hotels and condos a little further down gulf blvd, they were a lot more affordable, and had updated amenities, like granite countertops, right on the beach still......and at least a clean coffee cup you didn't have to wash before using......

It is a beautiful area and would recommend staying at Indian Shores but do not stay here, a lot more is available for a lot less money.....

This condo is not up to scratch and seriously overpriced.

And beware your refund will come through PayPal, and if you don't want to link your bank account which I choose not to, receiving a check back will cost you $1.50...... I am looking at my options below to recommend this place I don't see a check for No One....

Owners response: We pride ourselves on providing a clean,well equipped and maintained beachfront cottage to visitors from around the world and have succeeded in satisfying all of our guests for over 15 years.
We were quite shocked ourselves, to receive this review, and are really beside ourselves on how to respond.
Suffice it to say, this was a difficult tenant who literally had to be run off the property after 3 days.
It is certainly possible that the cleaning people overlooked a couple of stained coffee cups that had been put away in the cabinet. We have alerted them to inspect the dishes more thoroughly upon a visitors departure.
There is indeed, a portable dishwasher and it works wonderfully! Not sure why one would have to "plan on doing dishes by hand".
As for the decor, the pictures on this site are accurate and up to date. This is, in fact, a beach cottage, and decorated as such. We have had many compliments on the furnishings, pictures, etc--even had people ask where to purchase some of the items--never had ONE complaint until now.
Obviously you cannot please all of the people all of the time and we do not profess to provide a sleek, modern condo with granite countertops and such. It is what it is: a cozy, comfortable groundfloor beach cottage directly on the sand overlooking the Guf of Mexico.
As far as the $1.50 charge by PayPal, we had NO idea and made no profit off of this. Had this guest communicated with us, we would have happily mailed them a check. They chose to pay on PayPal, so we refunded the same.
The STARK contrast between this and every other review should alert the reader to the vindictive nature of the reviewer.
The property's record should speak for itself.
We look forward to many more years of satisfying our beach loving visitors!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

DELIGHTFUL!!!

Review submitted: March 8, 2011   Date of arrival: February 19, 2011

This clean one bedroom duplex is absolutely THE place to stay to be right on the beach! The neighbors in the complex were all very nice and friendly, vacationers and permanent residents alike. I would not hesitate to come back the Linda's place again and again. It was lovely!

Katy B.
Southern Illinois

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

ABC: Awesome Beach Cottage

Review submitted: February 28, 2011   Date of arrival: February 5, 2011

This beach cottage was everything promised by Linda, the owner. She was easy to work with, the cottage was well supplied and the stay went smoothly. Was so good to go barefoot and walk in the sand in Feb. Glorious sunsets right out our door...just walk out, take a few steps and you're on the beach. Many things to see outside that door...sand, surf, birds, boats on the horizon, dolphins, and those wondrous sunsets again. It is an amateur photographer's delight.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Amazing

Review submitted: December 11, 2010   Date of arrival: July 9, 2010

We had an amazing time in this very romantic and home away from home condo. Perfect for a couple just looking to get away from the every day life and enjoy each other. The ONE and only thing was whe we first got there it was extremely hot inside of the condo, it would have been nice if the air conditioning was running before we got there. Other than that everything was great! Being able to walk out of your back door and right into the ocean was perfect. Everything you need is only a few miles away. We took the trolly up and down the coast to experience everything that the area has to offer. THANKS FOR EVERYTHING.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Nice Beachfront Cottage

Review submitted: June 27, 2010   Date of arrival: June 15, 2010

The place was clean and nice It was big enough for us also very Quiet with friendly people around.The beach was right there and the water was warm.Everything was good.If you go there you must eat at Crabby Bills down the street they have good food and nice prices.There really isn't to much more to say but go and see for yourself.

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 9

 

Wonderful place

Review submitted: May 27, 2010   Date of arrival: May 17, 2010

We had a wonderful, quiet time. Clean, stocked with towels and linens and kitchen items. Morning coffee on the beach right outside the door - beautiful sunsets every night. We'll be going back!

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Indian Shores in October

Review submitted: October 23, 2009   Date of arrival: October 10, 2009

We arrived a little later than we had hoped, but Linda answered the call right away. Her instructions were brief and very easy to remember after a long flight.
Everything was perfect. The property was very clean and very well maintained. It was fully stocked with plenty of towels and bed linens.
The kitchen was ready to use, stove, blender, fridge, all worked as expected.
The unit has a central radio and CD system, so we had tunes all week.
100 steps to the beach...that's right...you are that close. The sand is like fine ash or powder and simply wonderful.
The unit has a common storage area where you can find beach chairs, buckets, pails flotation devices, boogie boards..it's all there.
The 7-11 is directly across the street from the Sun King complex and has most things you could need. There's a Publix and Winn-Dixie not too far away, but not close enough to walk. Fortunately the Beach Trolley stop is directly in front of the complex as well. Just add 2-5 minutes from the stop north or south of your location and you can ride all day long for $4! Easy, super easy to ride to Clearwater for the day or down to Pass-a-Grille for the sunset.
Only a few places to eat within walking distance, but both are very nice.
Indian Rocks, about 2 mi. north, has some excellent selections and Treasure Island, about 5 mi. south has a very good restaurant selection.

Overall, value for the money spent...AA++ rating! I would go again tomorrow if I could. We will seriously put this place at the top of our vacation choices next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

Like a fairy tale, can't wait to go back!

Review submitted: August 21, 2009   Date of arrival: August 8, 2009

So, first let's say my vacation started off horrible. My bird died just before we left, the plane was uber-late, and the rental car company lied to us...

So imagine what's going through my head when we pull up to this little cottage villiage/villa. I am thinking that the place will be a borken down mess, or SOMETHING.

So I pop open the door and right into heaven. Everything had a very quaint and peaceful theme, white and light blues, with seagull lamps, you name it. Also, I was suprised to find that all was clean and the most important part READY TO GO. If you are like me, you cannot fit all the myraid of little things you will need in your suitcase... things you wouldn't want or need in a hotel without a kitchen, etc. There were straws, tinfoil, plastic baggies, toilet paper, paper towels, dishsoap... you name it, everything other than food and margaritas for inside stuff. (Side note, pass it on to the next traveler, we stocked it up further before we left.)

AC worked fine, nice little LCD tv with Cable, DVD and VCR(not that we watched it much, but good for the kids while we drank and played), awesome stereo on the wall wiht great sound (yes, we used this alot), etc...

It got better, aside from a small private beach to lounge on when you don't want company, there was the large public beach like 20 feet from our back door with white sands and warm waters and a constant mesmerizing light wave! I spent about half my day lounging getting a tan, the next half swimming (and there is a cool sandbar within easy swim distance to hang out with your friends), and the nights with our friends visiting drinking and watching the sun go down.

The best part is, while we were down there, not only was it my birthday, and my 2 year anniversary with my girlfriend, but during one of our night time watches on the abandoned beach I proposed to my girlfriend with the moon in the background and fireworks going off!

I can't wait to go back on our anniversary every year!

Only qualifiers?
-Public beach is a little busy during the day on weekends (but gets quiet during the weeks and on weekend nights later).
-While this little condo was beautiful and quaint (a throwback to an old 50's villa/motel), all around it as far as you can see are giant overpriced hotels and apartments. Although this does add to the charm alot knowing that you have the only place reserved for peacefulness and not the monster that is corporate greed.

Thanks Linda for everything!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

A Beautiful, Memorable Vacation on the Beach

Review submitted: July 22, 2009   Date of arrival: July 10, 2009

I cannot say enough good things about this property, its location or the property owner, Linda. We didn't want to leave and were dreaming up ways that we could move to the gulf coast!

The cottage is small as described in the ad, but well stocked with everything you need to cook, sleep and relax. If you are like us who love the ocean and just want a clean place to stay waterfront for a price that you can afford, this is your place! My husband and I stayed with our two teenagers who were comfortable on the pullout couch all week. The cottage is exactly as you see in the pictures. Step out the back door and your on the beach! Buy a beach umbrella and you're set to spend every day there, spending no money and having a beautiful time in nature. My son fished on the beach every day and caught a variety of fish. White sand, some shells, mostly small. (If you want great shelling, invest in a ferry to Eggmont Key. Forget the snorkeling tour to the mine ruins. It's not that cool. Just stay on the beach and snorkel along the edge yourself. Don't forget to go inland to tour the island. It's beautiful. Only about 30 minutes south.)

Indian Shores is a quaint little place. Really, all of the towns and beaches run together along the coast and you'll find lots of tourist shops and restaurants. Everything you'll need is closeby, including grocery stores and laundrymats. But it's fun to take a daytrip and drive the coast, shopping, eating and sightseeing.

Linda was great before, during and after our stay. She went above and beyond to answer all of our questions. If you are on a budget, want privacy that a hotel can't offer and love the beach, pick this cottage. You won't be sorry!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Excellent

Review submitted: May 7, 2009   Date of arrival: April 11, 2009

The location is the best! The ocean is in your backyard. We enjoyed staing here a lot.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

On the Beach

Review submitted: September 9, 2008   Date of arrival: August 24, 2008

A great place that's close to the water with wonderful sunset views. Has most everything you could need in the kitchen making meal prep and clean up easy, if you choose to eat in...

The only thing that needs updating is the bed - other than that, it was a great, simple getaway cottage.

Couldn't be better for the price.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car

Owners response: We have replaced the mattress as of 2/12/2009 with a brand new pillowtop queen--comfy, comfy, comfy!!!

Our NEW Restonic Imperial ComfortCare mattress has earned a Consumers Digest Best Buy® award for quality and value six years in a row!

This cottage is THE best beachfront value, bar none!
Try it once and you will be hooked!

Helpful votes: 8 / 9

 

Such a relaxing place!

Review submitted: March 7, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

When we got to our little Florida vacation house and found out that it was two rentals instead of a one we were a little disappointed. I picked it out on the internet and I guess I should have inquired a little more.
We parked under our own carport, and I immediately started apologizing to my sister-in-law Connie about how tiny it was and that I must have made a mistake this year in picking out the place for us to go to chill out. BUT after we unloaded the car and pulled up the blinds we could see the ocean and what a pretty view it was. We started really checking things out and realized it was plenty big enough for just two of us and a lot less to keep clean.
I got my own bedroom with my own queen bed and Connie got the big comfy couch. With the sound of the waves at night she slept well, in fact everytime she laid down on that couch she went to sleep!
The kitchen was tiny but cute. Plenty of room for two cooks at the same time. We ate our meals at the little table in front of the window, the ocean as our backdrop. How romantic, if only we'd had our husbands with us....
The place was spotless and had all the amenities we needed plus a closet full of towels!. We knew there were no laundry facilities so we took plenty of clothes.
We had some noise from the road crew for a few days but they finally moved on the day before we left. The weather wasn't co-operating either but it was better than being in Ohio with the ice and sleet. This even made us appreciate the place more. We came to rest up and rest up we did. The books were read non-stop and the baby afghan I was crocheting made great headway during those few days.
The people around us were very nice. We even got free tangerines and a couple of grapefruit from one of the residents.
Our little front yard was all sand and we had lounge chairs and umbrellas all our own, we didn't have to share anything with anyone outside our own little beach. At the side of our yard was a gazebo with plenty of chairs and if we had been more sociable we could have joined the other residents for a drink and some great conversation every day at 4:00. We decided to forgo this great company for the company of an interesting love story.
We ended the week with a wonderful memory of this little bungalow. I hope I get to return one day only this time with the brother of my traveling companion, my husband.
Thanks Linda for having us.
Barbara and Connie

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 14 / 15

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review