reviews for: listing #17967 - Whidbey Island, Washington House rental

Historic Restored Farmhouse With Spectacular Views
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Langley-1.5 miles
  • sleeps  14
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $325 - $575 /nt
    $2,175 - $3,675 /wk

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

I heartily recommend this property

Review submitted: November 6, 2013   Date of arrival: January 6, 2007

Marty's Place is a beautifully restored, spacious family home in a scenic location on the water on Whidbey Island in Washington. The property had every amenity you could wish or ask for! We had a lovely weekend with family and friends from across the country, including comfortable beds, well-stocked kitchen, technology friendly updates and plenty of room for large family dining and gathering, including a firepit for s'mores one evening! The house is close to town, but has a country feel, our stay included a sighting of a bald eagle flying along the shore one morning! The frequent ferry schedule to nearby Clinton from Mukiteo, Washington also makes it easy to access. I heartily recommend this property for a superior family vacation or gathering- it would be even nicer in Spring, Summer and Fall. We hope to be able to visit again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Marty's Place is a wonderful place

Review submitted: November 6, 2013   Date of arrival: September 1, 2005

Marty's Place is a wonderful place. We highly recommend it for any group looking for a get-away. It is beautifully refinished--we didn't want to leave the kitchen let alone the house! The views, the short walk to town, all if it make it the perfect spot.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Couldn't ask for more

Review submitted: July 24, 2013   Date of arrival: September 13, 2012

This September my group of 50 something year old women will be embarking on the 25th anniversary of travelling together. And where are we celebrating? At Marty's Place, of course! Actually, this will be our 4th year staying in this beautifully restored old home on Whidbey Island. A gourmet's dream kitchen, plenty of room for the six of us to put together a fantastic meal or two. Views everywhere you turn, wonderfully kept grounds, fantastic covered wrap around deck, comfortable beds and lots of bathrooms! And if that weren't enough, a very helpful and responsive owner/caretaker should any problems arise. I can't recommend this home enough. But don't make your reservations for early September...that's when we go!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What a wonderful place!

Review submitted: September 26, 2012   Date of arrival: September 17, 2012

What a welcoming home and town. The island is so relaxing! The house is great! The kitchen is a cooks dream! We had 8 people and you never felt like you were crowded even if everyone was in the kitchen helping with dinner. We happened to be in town at the same time as a music festival, what a blast. We were never disapointed with the restaurants and if you like to cook the farmers markets are wonderful. Go to the Goose around 10am on the weekends to find "Larry the crab guy" (just what the locals called him not his name) if you want to have the best fresh crab to cook at home.

I would go back to the island and the house in a heart beat! Thank you so much for the opportunity to rent this wonderful home. So clean and well stocked kitchen with enough towels, blankets.....

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Charles from Mississippi

Review submitted: August 2, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

Absolutely no negative aspects to report. I suspect our 6 adults and 3 children added about a decade of laughter [but hopefully not wear] to your house. Absolutely wonderful venue and would return in a heartbeat. Great pastries, coffee, chocolates, groceries, and restaurants in Langley a double plus.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wow!

Review submitted: July 31, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

We stayed at Marty's place for a family reunion. We had nine people in our party with ages ranging from 3 to 63. Wonderfully comfortable home with huge yard for lots of outdoor activities. The kitchen is equipped superbly. The town of Langley had plenty of dining options. You won't regret staying here!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

A great place

Review submitted: July 13, 2010   Date of arrival: July 5, 2010

Destination for a family reunion of adults and children. Was an absolutely wonderful place. The home is beautiful. But it is very homey as well. The rooms are divided in such a way that there were lots of places for folks to sit and talk as well as places for the kids to play. They loved the room with bunk beds and also the nook with toys upstairs. The fire pit was a huge success with children and adults as well. Enjoyed sitting on the porch and looking at the amazing view. Easy to walk into Langley. I'd definitely come stay again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A wonderful place to stay

Review submitted: November 17, 2009   Date of arrival: July 19, 2009

From the moment we walked in, you could feel that many families have had a wonderful time in the house. The two dishwashers, a huge island, the entire set-up of the house is so user friendly and comfortable. The lighting in crucial areas are on dimmers which I appreciated especially the ones in the hallway upstairs since my parents are elderly and it was easy for them to get to the bathroom they were using. The view from the master bedroom and the huge wrap around porch was breathtaking! The dining room with all the stoneware and stemware for the entire family along with the decorations made me feel I was home. The bay window upstairs at the end of the hall with all the children's books was so sunny I wished we would have had small children to read to while in the house which reminds me of the names on the bedroom and downstairs closet doors. Be sure to look at the name on the closet under the stairs. Delightful! The small town closest had a great grocery store, coffee shop and restaurant (The Braeburn) and they were all wonderful. Obviously we thoroughly enjoyed our week long stay and hope to stay again in the future. I would highly recommend this house. The owner was easy to work with and could not have been more helpful!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

marty's place - family of 6, july 2008

Review submitted: August 12, 2008   Date of arrival: July 20, 2008

Had a great time in Marty's Place - property very well located and as advertised. Langley is great and there's plenty to do for a week on Whidbey Island.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 1, 2005   Date of arrival: April 1, 2005

Thank you for considering Marty's Place at Strawbridge Farm.

Please feel free to contact us if you have any questions about our place.

We hope to see you soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review