reviews for: listing #18058 - South Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida House rental

Sand Castle - 3 Story Oceanfront Home
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  16
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $450 - $550 /nt
    $2,400 - $5,200 /wk

sort by:

Sand Castle a must stay!

Review submitted: November 11, 2008   Date of arrival: October 27, 2008

LOVED this house! It was ideal for our family and friends(17 total) who came to town for our daughter's wedding. The 3 floors provided plenty of privacy for everyone; TV's in every bedroom; enough bathrooms to go around plus the ocean view was wonderful. I would highly recommend this house for a vacation to anyone!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: We are confident that all our future guests will love Sand Castle as much as our first guest did. The house is beautifully decorated, spacious, designed perfectly for large family groups, contains many amenities, and it is directly on the beach!
........................Judy and David at Wren Beach Rentals

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Beachy Christmas!

Review submitted: January 29, 2014   Date of arrival: December 21, 2013

We absolutely loved staying at SandCastle! It was a full house with 16 adults but it made for a lovely and cozy Christmas! David was prompt in responding to emails and was delightful to work with. Truly a great get-a-way! I would highly recommend this and their other properties to friends and family!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We love Wren Beach Rentals!

Review submitted: July 19, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

We have been with Wren for 4 years, others before them, and they are the BEST! This was our third year at Sancastle and wow what a great surprise. It is so amazing when an organization actually updates and maintainers rental property. The updates on this house are so lovely and workable for a family at the beach. Makes us look forward to next year. Wren beach rentals always goes above and beyond with the quality of their properties as well as the cleanliness of the houses. They have a real understanding of the challenges of having seaside homes and put real money and effort into the maintenance and upgrades on there rentals. And our family loves Sandcastle! We will be back next year!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect!

Review submitted: July 3, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

Sandcastle was perfect for our extended family vacation! It was recently remodeled, and was very tastefully decorated.
It had everything you need including hair dryers, an iron and ironing board, hand soap in the bathrooms, cleaning supplies, trash bags, extra refrigerator/freezer in the garage, beach towels, beach chairs, beach toys, and everything you could possibly need in the kitchen.
Love the fact that it had 2 master suites, and the downstairs bunk room was PERFECT for all the kids!
The back deck was awesome and we spent most of our time out there just relaxing and watching the beautiful ocean, day and night.
There was PLENTY of room for people to sleep, and it was nice to have bedrooms on all 3 floors so everyone could spread out.
You could easily walk to Cap's Restaurant, which is amazing at sunset, and there's a Publix grocery store a few miles down the road.
We had a great time and would definetly rent this house again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beach House

Review submitted: June 28, 2013   Date of arrival: May 6, 2013

Enjoyed our stay and loved the house. I would upgrade the grill. We attempted to cook some nice steaks but they did not turn out very good due to the size of the grill and its lack of heat output.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic

Review submitted: September 7, 2010   Date of arrival: September 3, 2010

Took the family over the Labor Day Weekend. Family said it was the best vacation ever. We agree. The home is spacious, has an awesome view, a great deck, and very family friendly. We will be back!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Tammy, thanks for the kind words. We are very glad you had a great time and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Dave L

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: May 5, 2010   Date of arrival: May 5, 2010

We just spent 5 wonderful days at Sand Castle and loved every minute. We were in Florida for my daughter’s graduation from Jacksonville University and rented the house for ourselves, grandparents, assorted family and friends. The house layout is great with plenty of room and space for privacy when needed. The pool table and game room were a big hit in the evenings and the huge deck with sitting area by the water is fabulous. The home is very well stocked with linens, cooking utensils and all other necessities to make this property a “home” while you are there. The people at Wren Beach Rentals were great to work with and very accommodating. We would highly recommend this property for big groups wanting to be on the ocean!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We even saw a few dolphins riding the waves

Review submitted: January 14, 2010   Date of arrival: October 2, 2009

The Sand Castle was wonderful. We had 8 adults and 1 small child for a week in October. The weather was still around 90 and the water was warm. We even saw a few dolphins riding the waves a couple nights that week. The house was well equipped with nice living space for that size of group. The beach was private with only other owners on the beach. The closest public beach was too far away for them to walk to this beach. The city of St Augustine was a short drive of 5-10 minutes with many attractions and restraurants to enjoy. I highly recommend this house.

-Scott, Bloomington, IL

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a large group of four families w/ children

Review submitted: January 14, 2010   Date of arrival: July 4, 2009

We had a large group of four families with little children and had the most wonderful time. There was lots of space for everyone to spread out and the downstairs room "the clubhouse" with the bunk beds was a huge hit with the little ones. Beautiful kitchen, spacious living area, plus the great views of the beach were wonderful. We all had such a great time! We loved the Seranata Beach Club as well!!

-Mary W, DeLand, FL

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

My favorite part was the view

Review submitted: January 14, 2010   Date of arrival: March 23, 2009

We stayed recently for 3 nights to celebrate my 40th birthday with friends and family. The house has a wonderful amount of space for a large group to spend time together but not feel on top of each other. The game room downstairs is perfect for kids of all ages! My favorite part was the view and the wonderful porch that has plenty of seating with room to sun yourself or sit and soak up the ocean.

-Dina K, Jacksonville, FL

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We especially liked the pool table in the basement

Review submitted: January 14, 2010   Date of arrival: October 27, 2008

My family of four stayed at the SandCastle for a week during October 2008. We like lots of space and privacy without being too far away from restaurants and shopping. The SandCastle was a perfect solution. There were very few people on the beach during the day, the house was decorated very nicely and well kept, and the house was a very short distance from downtown St. Augustine. We especially liked the pool table in the basement. I would highly recommend staying at the SandCastle for anyone looking for the same type of accomodations that we prefer.

-Dr. Brent C., Corbin, Ky

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: November 2, 2009   Date of arrival: November 2, 2009

The Sand Castle was wonderful. We had 8 adults and 1 small child for a week in October. The weather was still around 90 and the water was warm. We even saw a few dolphins riding the waves a couple nights that week. The house was well equipped with nice living space for that size of group. The beach was private with only other owners on the beach. The closest public beach was too far away for them to walk to this beach. The city of St Augustine was a short drive of 5-10 minutes with many attractions and restraurants to enjoy. I highly recommend this house.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 4, 2009   Date of arrival: July 4, 2009

We had a large group of four families with little children and had the most wonderful time. There was lots of space for everyone to spread out and the downstairs room "the clubhouse" with the bunk beds was a huge hit with the little ones. Beautiful kitchen, spacious living area, plus the great views of the beach were wonderful. We all had such a great time! We loved the Seranata Beach Club as well!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Vacation Rental

Review submitted: May 7, 2009   Date of arrival: April 18, 2009

Our group stayed at this home for 2 weeks in April 2009. The property is well-maintained and spacious. There were 7 adults and 2 children in our group and everyone had enough room for privacy. The view of the ocean is spectacular. The deck and sitting area near the ocean is expansive and there are plenty of chairs. The sand bar in the ocean was visible midday during low tide and provided a great place to walk (for miles) and find unusual shells. We saw dolphins and stingrays swimming fairly close to shore. We took advantage of the temporary membership at the Serenata Club. The kids enjoyed the pool and the adults enjoyed the workout facilities.

We toured St. Augustine in the Red Train, did the Ghost Tour which was fun, and visited the lighthouse which was great exercise. The Alligator Farm was good for the kids to see. The tour of Flagler college was amazing. Part of our group drove 2 hours to tour the Space Center.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 23, 2009   Date of arrival: March 1, 2009

We stayed recently for 3 nights to celebrate my 40th birthday with friends and family. The house has a wonderful amount of space for a large group to spend time together but not feel on top of each other. The game room downstairs is perfect for kids of all ages! My favorite part was the view and the wonderful porch that has plenty of seating with room to sun yourself or sit and soak up the ocean.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 27, 2008   Date of arrival: October 1, 2008

My family of four stayed at the SandCastle for a week during October 2008. We like lots of space and privacy without being too far away from restaurants and shopping. The SandCastle was a perfect solution. There were very few people on the beach during the day, the house was decorated very nicely and well kept, and the house was a very short distance from downtown St. Augustine. We especially liked the pool table in the basement. I would highly recommend staying at the SandCastle for anyone looking for the same type of accomodations that we prefer.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review