reviews for: listing #18060 - Manhattan, New York Bed & Breakfast rental

1871 House: Charming Urban Inn: Upper East Side Historic Dis
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  Bed & Breakfast
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Upper East Side
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $185 - $685 /nt
    $1,560 - $4,795 /wk
    $5,500 - $20,500 /mth

sort by:

Upper East Side Pied-a-terre Living with boutique hotel amenities!

Review submitted: April 9, 2014   Date of arrival: March 25, 2014

I was delighted to discover the 1871 House on my last trip into NYC. Located on one of the most charming blocks on the upper east side, this beautiful property is convenient to everything the city has to offer. It is private and cozy enough to feel like a home away from home while having all the amenities of an upscale boutique hotel. The small suite I had was equipped with everything and beautifully appointed with the antiques and wonderful linens. Located between Park and Lexington, the atmosphere is serene and quiet while being just steps away from all Manhattan has to offer. I'm in the city at least once a month and now that I've found this gem, I look forward to returning again and again! For business or pleasure, it's the best location in the city!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

My all-time favorite place in NYC

Review submitted: August 14, 2013   Date of arrival: June 10, 2013

As a person who travels for business quite often, it is rare that I find a place worthy of a review. And yet I continue to share my thoughts on my all-time favorite place in NYC - 1871 House. It is easy to tire of the same old business hotels, so it was refreshing when I stumbled on this quaint upper East Side property. I have taken my family here twice on vacation, and I continue to stay here on business when they have room. It is the perfect way to experience NYC.

Are the rooms made for business travelers? Not really. Does this cater to a business traveler at all? Not really. And that is the beauty and charm of this great place. Rather than going back to a hotel, I literally feel like I am arriving "home" when I get to 62nd and Lex. The rooms are quaint and appropriate - they have everything one would need for the evening. The entire property has the charm you would expect. I find all of the nuances of 1871 House to be what makes it so special.

Two special elements of the experience stand out for me:

(1) The location: You absolutely can't beat the upper East Side location of 62nd Street between Park and Lex. I can walk just a few blocks and be in Central Park for a morning jog. There are amazing neighborhood restaurants and shops just outside the door. And big department stores and power shopping just down the street. You can walk anywhere and get almost anything you might want. When you stay here, you feel like you live here. That's the way to experience a city.

(2) The staff: The staff at 1871 House is not your typical B&B staff - and they acknowledge such. They are not there to engage you in conversation or be your "hosts" in the city. They are there to make sure everything goes well; otherwise, they are quiet and behind the scenes. And yet, it's one of the things I love about this place. They have taken VERY GOOD care of me. They remember that I have stayed there before. They know I arrive late and leave early. And most importantly, they accommodate my last minute requests for a room when they can. They show flexibility and loyalty, which is rare these days. I am grateful for the kind staff that work at 1871 House and how they have welcomed me into their home.

I have sent a number of friends to 1871 House - both business colleagues and personal friends. Bar none, their experiences have been outstanding. I can not more highly recommend this place to anyone looking to experience a different, more personal and intimate NYC.

Helpful votes: 19 / 19

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

“Home Away From Home”

Review submitted: August 13, 2013   Date of arrival: July 31, 2013

We loved our stay at 1871 house! The location was fantastic-close to everything like Central Park and shopping. It is in a beautiful neighborhood. It felt like a home away from home. I enjoyed staying there so much more than staying in a hotel room. We stayed in the Mission Suite which was decorated with charming antique furniture and a great kitchen area and newly renovated bathroom. The suite was huge! We will definitely be back.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

“Perfect for a First Visit to New York”

Review submitted: August 13, 2013   Date of arrival: June 30, 2013

My five-night stay at 1871 House was wonderful! The Parlour Suite on the second floor had everything that I needed: large windows looking onto the tree-lined street, an en suite bath with tub and shower, an efficient kitchenette cleverly concealed behind two doors, a charming fireplace and attractive antique furniture. I was impressed by its cleanliness as well as the comfortable bed with down pillows.

Travelling on my own for the first time in New York City, I had lots of questions! The friendly staff went out of their way to help me which included directing me to restaurants, tea rooms and stores that could accommodate my special dietary needs and arranging for transportation to my meetings in the city.

Most importantly, at the end of each busy day, I felt like I was coming home when I returned to 1871 House. It was an oasis amidst the excitement and buzz of the city. I will happily stay again!

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Quite unpleasant experience

Review submitted: August 11, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2013

Firstly, this place has mice. My stepdaughter saw one in her room, and then me saw another one in my room. The owners are perfectly aware of that, because their contract says they bear no responsibility for both incects and rodents. I find that ridiculous given the price they charge. Secondly, wi-fi wasn't working when we arrived. Though it was eventually fixed, I expected the service be much better. The place is a perfect example of a B&B being operated by amateurs. I will stay at a hotel next time.

Owners response: Dear Yonny,
We regret that your experience was anything less than extraordinary at 1871 House. Our Bed and Breakfast aims for a level of care and personal attention not found at larger hotels and the staff was deeply hurt by some of your more imaginative inaccuracies.

Family owned and operated for nearly 20 years, the hotel is an inviting and authentic NYC experience, but because of the urban setting, the staff concedes that a small pest might escape our notice now and then, but the event is a rarity, and handled swiftly.

As for our rates, it’s well known that 1871 House offers one of the best values in the neighborhood. For similar dates in August, nearby lodgings such as the Plaza Athenee, price one room with 2 adults, 1 child, sharing 1 king-size bed at $495 per night (they cannot accommodate 2 children in one room) and $1355 per night at the Plaza for 2 adults, 2 children. Rates in the Fall (including our own) are usually some multiple of these rates. Based on our location, the quoted rate and accommodations you received were particularly generous.

Lastly, regarding internet connection, at no time was Wi-Fi unavailable to you. Your comments indicate otherwise. Guests at 1871 house can enjoy free Wi-Fi access in our front lobby, 24/7. Upon arrival, and after a short interlude, internet access was administered to your personal
rooms.

The Staff of 1871 House is shocked by your remarks, but wishes you the best of luck in your future travels.

Helpful votes: 12 / 13

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

“Loved This Place!”

Review submitted: November 12, 2012   Date of arrival: September 9, 2012

The staff was wonderful and the room looked exactly as it was pictured! I checked all of the reviews before I booked and thank all who have posted. Someone mentioned that the bathroom they had was old. Well, yes, it is, but I have a one hundred year old house so it didn't faze me and on balance, everything is so clean and so charming...and, the neighborhood is wonderful, an old bathroom is a fair trade!!!!!! I used to live in Manhattan in the 1970s and have stayed in hotels on visits since then. So cold and sterile! Now that I've found the 1871 House, I would never go back to a hotel...and, can't wait to return!

Helpful votes: 7 / 10

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

“a long overdue thank you...”

Review submitted: October 31, 2012   Date of arrival: November 1, 2011

“a long overdue thank you...”
Reviewed October 30, 2012 NEW
1871 House was part of my very first NYC experience in 2009 and I jokingly referred to it as my home away from home...the decor of my room was so much like my own home in Virginia that I was at ease from the start. The staff at the time, Jennifer, Hedy & Simon, were lively and wonderful and so gracious regardless of how many times I asked about directions, cab etiquette, broadway shows, or even bus schedules! I didn't meet Warren, but Lea and the girls were friendly and welcoming, but certainly not intrusive. I'm truly sorry that I didn't write this review right after my 2009 trip. On my last visit, I naively expected the same staff would be there and had a long overdue sercy for each of them. Of course, by now, they had moved on to other jobs, but the neighborhood was still as comfortable and charming as before. Everything you need is within walking distance, including a great section of Central Park. I stayed in the Library Suite Rear bedroom w/private kitchen. I had an extended stay and even though there's a scrumptious restaurant in just about any direction you choose, having the kitchen was a great option.

I've traveled back to NYC a number of times since and regardless of the amenities offered at large hotels, there hasn't been anywhere I've enjoyed as much as 1871 House. I'm planning another NYC trip soon and intend to stay at 1871 House again... It's true, there's no place like "home".

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our third visit in five years —more enjoyable each

Review submitted: October 18, 2012   Date of arrival: April 6, 2012

We first found 1871 House in 2007. It was our first B&B experience and it was WONDERFUL. We stayed in the Rear Library room and were very impressed with the beautiful décor and comfortable bed! It was fun to explore the neighborhood and take in several walks in Central Park. the innkeepers and staff are polite, friendly, helpful, yet unobtrusive. We felt like we had our own private residence for the weekend, it was that clean, quiet, convenient, and restful!
Our next trip was Christmastime 2010. We reserved the Madison Suite and the Rear Library and brought along the whole family. Everyone was awe-struck with the deluxe accommodations and innkeeper Lia’s incomparable decorating talent! The Madison Suite was truly a home-away-from-home. (Our family now fondly refers to 1871 House as “The Christmas House” :-)
On our most recent stay in April 2012, the innkeepers showed how much they truly care about their guests’ comfort. When one of the smoke alarms in the room next to ours began to “beep” for need of a battery changing, our hosts interrupted their weekend out-of-town and drove back to the city to replace the batteries and restore the peace and quiet to the house. Now that is SERVICE!
We can’t wait for our next stay at this perfect place in the city!

Sincerely,
Your Fans from Cleveland

Room Tip: The photos on the website tell the whole story -- all the rooms are charming!

Helpful votes: 3 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Had a Great Stay!

Review submitted: October 18, 2012   Date of arrival: August 10, 2012

We took a family trip to NYC 8/2012 and stayed 4 nights at the 1871 House. We reserved the Madison Suite; all rooms were as described and very clean. Loved the location - short walking distance to Central Park. We even walked to Times Square from there. Easy to get a cab right outside the door or at the end of the block. Subway is nearby as well. Quiet tree lined street; we felt safe and enjoyed walking the local neighborhood. Had a fabulous Italian lunch at Serafina which is right around the corner on 61st. A/C worked great in each room. As we were heading out one morning, I mentioned to the woman in the office that the bathroom sink was not draining properly and by the time we came back they had it fixed. Loved the fact that we could leave our luggage with them on the morning of our departure as our plane didn't leave until mid afternoon. We would definitely stay here again.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Perfect Place to Stay!

Review submitted: October 18, 2012   Date of arrival: August 28, 2012

1871 House is the perfect place to stay in NYC. The most incredible townhouse, close to everything you could possibly need. The rooms are amazing, authentic and have great character- you can see that a lot of time and effort has been out in to making them clean, comfortable and some thing you will remember.

The staff at 1871 House are way make it so fantastic, they go above and beyond what is necessary to help you and make you feel comfortable.

I wouldn't stay anywhere else!

We will be back :)

Room Tip: The Garden Room is beautiful, it has its own Garden where you can relax...Hard to find in NYC!

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

“My Future Home from Home in New York City!”

Review submitted: October 4, 2012   Date of arrival: October 2, 2011

A friend from England and I stayed here in October of 2011 and had an absolutely fabulous time. It is the perfect place for a visit to New York City. I used to stay at the Surrey, but now prefer the 1871 House. We had the Garden Room and Terrace and loved it. We also liked having an electric kettle and other household amenities, as well as a refrigerator, in our room, so we were able to enjoy breakfast and afternoon tea there, whenever we chose. But, we also enjoyed the neighborhood ethnic restaurants of an evening, just round the corner on Lexington.

We took advantage of having Central Park close by for a visit to the Zoo and our daily walks. We also loved the proximity to the Frick Collection and the Metropolitan Museum of Art, again all within walking distance.

Although we did not meet the owners, the staff were very helpful. I have no desire to stay anywhere else on my trips to New York City.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

“We will never stay anywhere else:)”

Review submitted: October 4, 2012   Date of arrival: July 26, 2012

My husband and I are repeat visitors to 1871 House. We have traveled to NYC over 12 times since we fell in love with the city and we have stayed in many areas of Manhattan, but we can honestly say we will never stay anywhere else.

The house itself is beautiful, well appointed, and serene, lacking in nothing to help create a wonderful memory. We have stayed in three different rooms and we are hard pressed to select our favorite, as all have been wonderful. The staff is amazing creating a fine balance between respecting your privacy, yet letting you know they are always available to assist you with your questions or needs. My last trip I had to make alone and I will never be able to express how welcome, safe and cared for they made me feel. At the end of the day, returning to this lovely house, entering a room that draws you in and lures you to relax in my opinion is a true hidden gem.

The area of location is in our opinion perfect. You have access to all things NYC, without feeling like a pinball when you walk down the streets, if you know what I mean. We even have found so many of the restaurants and local merchants to have a neighborhood feel to their establishment as they are more welcoming, communicative and overall engaging. The area is very safe and each night we often stroll to Central Park to sit near the fountains and enjoy the lights and scenes of the city.

I promise you will not be disappointed and you will want to return over and over again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

“Friend recommended and now we do as well”

Review submitted: October 4, 2012   Date of arrival: August 22, 2012

My colleague stayed there a year early, and my wife and I were equally impressed with the Parlour Room@1871. After staying in Times Square Novatel the week prior this place was a real slice of Manhattan and such a welcomed change. The area around is like a village with groceries, laundry, hairdresser all so close by, which as we had a small kitchen came in handy. Walk to central park and go for a jog while the wife went to Bloomingdales 200m away ... try Serendipity and Bob Dylan niece's lolly shop - " Dylan’s " frozen chocolate. Subway is a block away. A five dollar taxi will have you in Times Square. The staff makes you feel welcomed and let you go about your holiday undisturbed, but are there to assist if needed. Would go back tomorrow! Thank you all at 1871

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Location "Yes" Ammenities "No"

Review submitted: September 19, 2012   Date of arrival: September 5, 2012

This is a great old New York building with all the charm and quirks you would expect. If you want location, this is it. Perfect for a single person traveling alone. Safe, lots of great restaurants where a table for one is no big deal. Two blocks from the Zoo and Central Park walking paths. Few block from subway station. However, if you are considering booking the Front Library Room, be sure the tub hot water nozzle has been fixed, and that the windows will open and stay open (had to prop mine with books). Bathroom is very very small, even for a petite woman like myself. Be aware E62 St. at Lexington is a very busy intersection and the noise level can get quite loud. Consider a room that does not face the street, although more expensive.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Wonderful!

Review submitted: May 11, 2012   Date of arrival: March 21, 2012

My husband and I spent our 25th Wedding anniversary in New York and I cannot think of a better place to stay than the 1871 house! We stayed in the Parlor Room. It was comfortable, and well stocked. We enjoyed the neighborhood and found it convenient to have a grocery just down the street. There are many restaurants in the area - just walk 1/2 block in any direction! -- close to subway, close to Central Park. I felt I got a very good feeling of living in Manhattan -- loved the Upper East Side! The description is accurate, the room is exactly as photographed. I would recommend the 1871 House to anyone wanting a neighborhood stay in Manhattan.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dorine: Thanks so much for your kind review! We are glad to hear that you and husband were able to make 1871 House part of your anniversary celebration in the city. It was a pleasure having you stay with us, and we hope we will see you in the future.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The best kept secret in NYC

Review submitted: January 29, 2012   Date of arrival: July 11, 2011

All I can say is that it was the PERFECT place in the PERFECT location. Truly, this is a gem of a place that provides the experience of LIVING in New York rather than just visiting it. Let's start with the location - 62nd between Park and Lex. So many close places to walk for food, for groceries, for shopping, for everything. In short, this was one of our all-time favorite family vacations EVER...and we travel a lot. We cannot recommend this place more highly. We are thrilled to have found it.

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Hidden Gem

Review submitted: January 29, 2012   Date of arrival: September 27, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Mission Studio for five nights. It was absolutely perfect for our stay in New York. It was spacious, cosy and spotless. The hotel is situated on a leafy street a few minutes from the subway and Central Park. The owners were incredibly helpful and efficient. I would highly recommend this hidden gem and we will certainly go back again.
Room Tip: If you want a room with lots of daylight you should book one of the other rooms as the Mission Studio is on the ground fl

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Sweet Dreams

Review submitted: January 29, 2012   Date of arrival: September 30, 2011

Good taste and tranquility made me feel at home. Alyson is a perfect hostess! It was a marvelous stay. My very best wishes,
Regina Vidal
Rio de Janeiro. Brazil.
PS: And don't forget to have your breakfast at Le Pain Quotidien just across Lexington!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Can you beat this location?

Review submitted: January 29, 2012   Date of arrival: October 31, 2011

We spent four days here in one of the larger suites which worked brilliantly for a family of four and seemed a very good cost effective way of staying in Manhattan. It had the feel of someone's home so it was very welcoming after a day out in the City. It also gave us the flexibility to eat in when we wanted to but in a neighbourhood where there were plenty of cafes, restaurants, bars etc to enable us also to eat out easily too. The best thing was the location - five minutes to Central Park

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 31, 2011   Date of arrival: December 16, 2010

We stayed at the 1871 as an experimental alternative to the major hotel chain properties that we usually book when visiting NYC and we won't go back to hotel life now.
For orientation, the 1871 is a 3 minute walk from Bloomingdales, 5 minutes walk from the bottom of Central Park and in an elegant, classy neighbourhood. 1871 is on a side street about 100 yards from the junction with Lex Av and so is a quiet location.
We booked the Mission Studio which is on the lower ground floor of the property. This comprised a large bedroom, seating area, corridor with wardrobes, kitchenette, shower room and wc. The whole apartment was much much larger than the executive Hilton/Westin/Sheraton rooms that most people use in Manhattan and the ambience was far more homely and classy. The entire floor area is marble and the apartment looked to be freshly decorated, particularly the shower room and kitchen which were spotless.
I would heartily recommend the 1871 to anyone travelling to NYC and staying a few days for pleasure or business.

Helpful votes: 14 / 17

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 31, 2011   Date of arrival: October 23, 2010

We loved the room from the start in this tastefully renovated brown stone house. We were in The Parlour Suite on the first floor, a spacious room with elegant high ceilings and 3 big windows looking out onto a road just busy enough to be interesting but not noisy. Upper East side is a wonderful location managing to create a city village atmosphere whilst in easy reach of the many sites on offer in New York. There were cafes and restaurants available on our doorstep and Le Pain Quotidian became our favourite spot for breakfast.

Helpful votes: 4 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 31, 2011   Date of arrival: October 11, 2010

Once again, we traveled from Boston to NYC and stayed at the 1871 House. I forgot how much I love NYC and enjoy this amazing B&B! We met the inn owner, who was warm, friendly and helpful! She gave us a great suggestion for dinner - only a few blocks away as well as directions to my favorite bagel shop! We never needed to take a cab, bus or subway, since the location on the upper east side/mid town is amazing! We walked to the Metropolitan Museum of Art, up and down Madison Avenue, to Saks, Barney's, MOMA, and Rockefeller Plaza. The location is AMAZING!

I absolutely love staying in the beautiful brownstone! The high ceilings, art, rugs and beautiful antiques are tasteful and luxurious. And, the room is spotless. I have very bad allergies and always suffer when I stay in rooms that are not adequately clean and ventilated. We also enjoyed the view of the back garden - which was a pleasant surprise!

Our room was quiet, clean, spacious and beautiful! I can't wait to return for my holiday shopping!

Helpful votes: 4 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 28, 2010   Date of arrival: August 28, 2009

1871 House is a charming, comfortable, clean, affordable, and safe place to stay. Our room, The Parlor Studio, was large -very large for Manhattan standards- and tastefully decorated.
The Parlor has a small “kitchenette” with everything we needed: Toaster/Bake Oven, Microwave Oven, Coffee Maker, Electric Kettle for tea, small sink, small Refrigerator, Silverware and Copeland Spode Red Tower pattern English china, very chic…
The bathroom is clean, nice and updated with a simple and elegant taste. On the 6 days we stayed in 1871 House we NEVER had problems with the hot water, if you have problems with the water temperature ask for help, it is probably because you are doing something wrong, this happened to me on our second day and my sister figured out what I was doing wrong. The towels are clean and soft.
The living area is spacious and, just as shown on their pictures, there is a seating area and a small bistro table set. Even though there are three windows looking over E 62nd Street is not noise and once you are inside your room you don’t hear any outside noise.
The bed is very very comfortable and the linens are soft and clean.
The Service is excellent; Sanika was very professional, pleasant and helpful at all times. We arrived at 10 am, and left our suitcases there, Sanika provided us with our room keys and the main entrance door keys.
The location is perfect, you are not in the middle of the crazy tourist crowds but you are on walking distant to Central Park, Museums, restaurants, shops, etc. When we were going places we would walk and when we got tired we would just get a taxi. But I think there are Subway stops close to 1871 House location.
On and on, my sister and I would recommend 1871 House for a nice, safe, classy, affordable stay in Manhattan. Their prices are pretty good for what they offer.

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 27, 2010   Date of arrival: February 9, 2009

I’d pored over the photos on the website and debated whether to stay in the Mission suite but finally plumped for the Parlor. On my visit to New York the previous May I had passed by the premises whilst checking out the area. As I stood sheltering from the rain, the front door opened and a departing guest was being helped to a waiting taxi. I approached and asked if it might be possible to come inside as I had booked a room for February. The duty manager (Leon) immediately placed me and said, ‘oh yes, you’ve chosen the Parlor suite haven’t you? It’s vacant at the moment, would you like to come in and see it?’

This act of thoughtful efficiency, to me, sums up in a sentence the attitude of 1871 House and their staff . While never being intrusive, their door was always ajar and they were always welcoming. They shared my concern when a package I was expecting failed to arrive in the post and they were as happy as I was when it finally turned up!

The room was exactly as portrayed on the website, a wonderful departure from the sterility of most modern hotels. The walls were covered with beautiful antique paintings and the furniture too was delightfully chosen to blend in. Part of the charm was down to the fact that, although some modern amenities were provided (TV, DVD Player, radio alarm etc.), one still got the feel that one was in a late 19th Century room where floor boards squeaked, pipes banged and doors sometimes didn’t quite fit. To ‘fix’ all these quirks would definitely be a retrograde step in my opinion.

I was fortunate enough to be able to view a couple of the other suites with a future stay in mind and can confirm that they all exude a similar authenticity.

The location has to be one of the best in Manhattan. Two subway stations are within a 5 minute walk as is Bloomingdales. Central Park is no more than 10 minutes away and the neighbourhood is peppered with restaurants from local diners, through French bistros to upmarket eateries. Once again, the knowledgeable staff will give you good advice on where to go depending on your tastes.

I was never aware of any noise from any of the other guests and the bed was an absolute delight – firm and comfortable. I had worried about it being cold in the room and possibly needing to light a fire but I had to kick off the quilt and sleep beneath a sheet and single blanket every night I was there.

This isn’t a budget hotel but, in life, you get what you pay for.

Helpful votes: 17 / 19

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 27, 2010   Date of arrival: September 24, 2009

1871 is the perfect place to stay when visiting New York for a short or long stay. My room was gorgeously decorated with high celings and deliciously soft pillows and bed linen !! Even a darling little kitchette !! We were in heaven. The location is fabulous and only a few blocks from Central Park with easy access to the subway system so you can get practically anywhere relatively fast. The location is super safe and there are great deli's, cafes and restaurants at your doorstep...not to mention the wonderful shopping locations. You can hire bikes and zip around the streets to save you time on foot too. Highly recommend

Helpful votes: 7 / 9

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 27, 2010   Date of arrival: November 5, 2009

This is a wonderful place -- gracefully managed, well thought out, and unlike any place I've ever seen in NYC other than a private apartment. I lived in Manhattan for 30-plus years, and when I moved away and gave up my apartment I didn't imagine I'd ever feel quite at home in the city again. At 1871 House they let you forget it's not your place altogether. No one chats you up, asks you if you're having a good day, knocks on your door, or interfaces unnecessarily. This is as it should be. A charming young woman lifted our heavy bags and led us up a gorgeous staircase to our room. A few times I needed things, I called, and they arrived without question. Wow. We can't imagine staying anywhere else.

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 27, 2010   Date of arrival: January 27, 2010

My daughter and I stayed at 1871 House for 4 nights on a shopping trip to NYC. The house is located in the upper east side which is just full of great shops, restaurants and cafes. The house itself is just wonderful. We stayed in the front library which is a large, spotlessly clean, super comfortable room which overlooks the leafy side street. The house staff were fabulous and had taken in parcels which we had delivered before our arrival. We would definitely recommend the house to anyone visiting New York and we are now on a mission to save all our pennies so we can return!!

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 27, 2010   Date of arrival: February 8, 2010

We had the most wonderful trip to New York over New Year's Eve, and the1871 House and staff helped make it so enjoyable and relaxing. From arrival to departure we had nothing to complain about. The room was perfect for the 5 of us - from the comfy (very comfy!!) beds to the space available to spread out and relax. We still laugh about the stair climb to the Lexington Suite - that made the trip memorable as well! All the info provided by 1871 House was very helpful - from the late check-in instructions to markets and restaurants.

The best way to sum up our stay is to say, when our day was done, we felt like we were going home. We will definitely make reservations at 1871 House in the future.

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 27, 2010   Date of arrival: October 8, 2009

I stayed here on a whim and dearly hope that I'm able to again, it was absolutely magical. I felt as though I was coming home at the end of a tiring day. My room was so welcoming and comfortable, and completely transported me from the fast pace of the city. The old floor boards, antique furniture and decor were beautiful and charming. As if that wasn't enough, I had the good fortune of staying in the Garden Room which felt like a little oasis, with the smell of tea roses and mint. This is a wonderful place for anyone looking for a retreat at the end of the day, to a different time and place.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 27, 2010   Date of arrival: June 1, 2006

If you've seen the movie "Breakfast At Tiffany's," you'll recall Holly Golightly (Audrey Hepburn) lived in a NYC walkup apartment converted from a city townhouse. Whenever I think of 1871 House, I'm reminded of the winding staircase in the movie with apartments on every floor. At one time in its storied past, 1871 House served the same purpose, except now its former apartments are elegant rooms at a quiet and cozy inn. It's very romantic for couples and quiet and secure for singles and families.In one of the nicer neighborhoods in the city, the 1871 House is convenient to all sorts of amenities, the bus & subway, shops & businesses, even Bloomingdale's, are all are a short walk away. Within one block are several restaurants and grocery stores, some of which are open 24 hours. For the best bagels, try The Bread Factory in the same block on Lexington. Traveling alone, I always felt safe, even when out walking at night.For me, staying at 1871 House is SO much better than a city hotel, no matter how upscale. You feel like you live in the city, not just passing through. The prices are competitive with 3 and 4 star hotels in NYC. I stayed at one of those "posh" hotels on Central Park South. The room was nice but so small I could barely turn around. I also stayed at a nationwide chain hotel in NYC and was unpleasantly surprised at how poorly kept the facilities were. From what I've seen in "Sex and the City," the room decor at the 1871 House rivals those in the Stanhope Fifth Avenue. True, there's no room service at the 1871 House, but then, if the city loses power, you don't have to climb 22 stories to get to your room!The innkeepers, Warren & Lia Raum, are friendly & helpful without being intrusive. I can't imagine staying anywhere else when I visit New York. For a "Home away from Home" experience, or, if your home's like mine, a MUCH NICER Home away from Home, visit the 1871 House and stay a while! A guest from Alexandria, Virginia, USA

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Like the Movie Breakfast At Tiffany's

Review submitted: March 3, 2010   Date of arrival: March 3, 2009

If you've seen the movie "Breakfast At Tiffany's," you'll recall Holly Golightly (Audrey Hepburn) lived in a NYC walkup apartment converted from a city townhouse. Whenever I think of 1871 House, I'm reminded of the winding staircase in the movie with apartments on every floor. At one time in its storied past, 1871 House served the same purpose, except now its former apartments are elegant rooms at a quiet and cozy inn. It's very romantic for couples and quiet and secure for singles and families.In one of the nicer neighborhoods in the city, the 1871 House is convenient to all sorts of amenities, the bus & subway, shops & businesses, even Bloomingdale's, are all are a short walk away. Within one block are several restaurants and grocery stores, some of which are open 24 hours. For the best bagels, try The Bread Factory in the same block on Lexington. Traveling alone, I always felt safe, even when out walking at night.For me, staying at 1871 House is SO much better than a city hotel, no matter how upscale. You feel like you live in the city, not just passing through. The prices are competitive with 3 and 4 star hotels in NYC. I stayed at one of those "posh" hotels on Central Park South. The room was nice but so small I could barely turn around. I also stayed at a nationwide chain hotel in NYC and was unpleasantly surprised at how poorly kept the facilities were. From what I've seen in "Sex and the City," the room decor at the 1871 House rivals those in the Stanhope Fifth Avenue. True, there's no room service at the 1871 House, but then, if the city loses power, you don't have to climb 22 stories to get to your room!The innkeepers, Warren & Lia Raum, are friendly & helpful without being intrusive. I can't imagine staying anywhere else when I visit New York. For a "Home away from Home" experience, or, if your home's like mine, a MUCH NICER Home away from Home, visit the 1871 House and stay a while! A guest from Alexandria, Virginia, USA

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

LIfe couldn't be better at the 1871 House

Review submitted: February 14, 2010   Date of arrival: July 22, 2009

Our stay at the 1871 house exceeded our expectations. The location was great, the accommodations were excellent, and the staff were outstanding. Staying at the 1871 House, because of the "home-like" environment, allowed us to avoid the stress often associated with a stay in a hotel, and to relax in a home away from home atmosphere. And, check out the pillows - they are the best!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

1871 is the perfect place to stay...

Review submitted: February 14, 2010   Date of arrival: September 24, 2009

1871 is the perfect place to stay when visiting New York for a short or long stay. My room was gorgeously decorated with high ceilings and deliciously soft pillows and bed linen!! Even a darling little kitchenette!! We were in heaven. The location is fabulous and only a few blocks from Central Park with easy access to the subway system so you can get practically anywhere relatively fast. The location is super safe and there are great deli's, cafes and restaurants at your doorstep...not to mention the wonderful shopping locations. You can hire bikes and zip around the streets to save you time on foot too. Highly recommend

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Magical

Review submitted: February 14, 2010   Date of arrival: October 8, 2009

I stayed here on a whim and dearly hope that I'm able to again, it was absolutely magical. I felt as though I was coming home at the end of a tiring day. My room was so welcoming and comfortable, and completely transported me from the fast pace of the city. The old floor boards, antique furniture and decor were beautiful and charming. As if that wasn't enough, I had the good fortune of staying in the Garden Room which felt like a little oasis, with the smell of tea roses and mint. This is a wonderful place for anyone looking for a retreat at the end of the day, to a different time and place.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The best of NYC

Review submitted: February 14, 2010   Date of arrival: November 5, 2009

This is a wonderful place -- gracefully managed, well thought out, and unlike any place I've ever seen in NYC other than a private apartment. I lived in Manhattan for 30-plus years, and when I moved away and gave up my apartment I didn't imagine I'd ever feel quite at home in the city again. At 1871 House they let you forget it's not your place altogether. No one chats you up, asks you if you're having a good day, knocks on your door, or interfaces unnecessarily. This is as it should be. A charming young woman lifted our heavy bags and led us up a gorgeous staircase to our room. A few times I needed things, I called, and they arrived without question. Wow. We can't imagine staying anywhere else.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

1871 House....so good they should name it twice!

Review submitted: February 14, 2010   Date of arrival: January 27, 2010

My daughter and I stayed at 1871 House for 4 nights on a shopping trip to NYC. The house is located in the upper east side which is just full of great shops, restaurants and cafes. The house itself is just wonderful. We stayed in the front library which is a large, spotlessly clean, super comfortable room which overlooks the leafy side street. The house staff were fabulous and had taken in parcels which we had delivered before our arrival. We would definitely recommend the house to anyone visiting New York and we are now on a mission to save all our pennies so we can return!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Home Away From Home...

Review submitted: February 14, 2010   Date of arrival: February 8, 2010

We had the most wonderful trip to New York over New Year's Eve, and the1871 House and staff helped make it so enjoyable and relaxing. From arrival to departure we had nothing to complain about. The room was perfect for the 5 of us - from the comfy (very comfy!!) beds to the space available to spread out and relax. We still laugh about the stair climb to the Lexington Suite - that made the trip memorable as well! All the info provided by 1871 House was very helpful - from the late check-in instructions to markets and restaurants.

The best way to sum up our stay is to say, when our day was done, we felt like we were going home. We will definitely make reservations at 1871 House in the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review