reviews for: listing #18069 - Maggie Valley, North Carolina Chalet rental

* Clean, Comfortable & Affordable A-Frame Chalet * Wi-Fi *
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Chalet
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Indian Creek
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $95 - $105 /nt
    $525 - $550 /wk
    $1,600 - $1,850 /mth

sort by:

Rest in Peace !!!

Review submitted: September 8, 2009   Date of arrival: August 30, 2009

My wife and I just spent a week at the sister property to the one shown here. We had an excellent time. The Chalet is very well maintained, cool and quiet. There are about six of these in a row back off the road and though they are close we were never disturbed. The location is perfect. You are close to Asheville, Cherokee, a quick trip to the tourist traps in Tennessee and miles and miles of very serene mountain drives.
If you need a shot of adrenalin, you can go to Deals Gap and drive the "Tail of the Dragon". It's 11 miles with 138 curves most hairpin. Then come back to Chalet for a quiet cocoa, coffee or chilled beverage and just mellow out.
We found lots of nice places to eat in Maggie and Waynesville and you can save a few bucks staying in and cooking. The Chalet kitchen had all the necessities to set up house.
We checked in on Sunday afternoon and the following Sunday when we pulled out we spent 8 hours driving home just talking about all we had done, how well rested were and what a great bang we had gotten for our buck.
Thanks Leisa !!!

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: How do I even respond to such an awesome review?? I can only express how truely happy it makes me to know others appreciate the Chalet as much as we do. Until you actually go and experience the serenity you feel while you are there, you can't understand it.

Thank you for the heartfelt review.

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Chalet was just perfect

Review submitted: February 20, 2014   Date of arrival: February 10, 2014

Hi Leisa,

I owe you a huge apology for not emailing you sooner! My schedule has been so busy since our trip. For example, we returned home on Sunday, I worked Monday and we had basketball games Monday, Tuesday and Thursday nights! Its been kinda crazy. Please know that my negligence in no way indicates our experience with your chalet.

We had a wonderful time!!!! The chalet was just perfect!!! You never know how you will "fit in" with the housing. As soon as we got there, we all felt at home. It was so welcoming to find the fireplace on and the place nice and toasty when we arrived. We really expected it to be freezing cold inside especially since we arrived at about midnight. It was cozy and charming and just felt right! My sons are convinced that we should try and buy it - lol!!

We ate all but one meal "at home", which really made it feel like home even more. We had my oldest son's homemade waffles every morning! It was nice to just spend time there just hanging out together. We talked about what it would be like to be there during the fall and summer! You never know, I may be back in touch with you, lol.

Two mornings, we woke up to a thin blanket of snow outside. How beautiful it was! As you know, the location is perfect!! We took advantage of the free ski ticket for my youngest on Friday and skiied again Saturday. We also took a day trip to Cherokee. We just had so much fun!! As a mom, I know you appreciate the time we spent together as a family. It was such a blessing to me. The whole trip was one answer after another to prayers - from safe travel, perfect lodging, no injuries, wonderful bonding time, patient, positive attitudes, fun!, etc etc etc.

Leisa, thank you so much! We appreciate how you worked with us - especially with the changes to our travel dates! And thanks for returning our security deposit so quickly!! It has been a pleasure!!

God bless,
Linda

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent!

Review submitted: January 22, 2014   Date of arrival: January 6, 2014

Great, clean place to stay. Warm and cozy.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Restful fun vacation !

Review submitted: July 5, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

Location...location...Location ! Perfect place for our hiking in the parks, whitewater rafting and exploring our southern states. We enjoyed the quiet of the area in the evening hours. Just a 30 minute drive in any direction and we found everything we were looking for.
Cabin was clean and the perfect size for our small family. When the Smoky Mountains are calling you...give this area in Maggie Valley careful concideration !

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A Slice of Paradise

Review submitted: July 2, 2013   Date of arrival: June 23, 2013

My husband and I loved the chalet! It was so cozy, clean, and accommodating. We recently had some personal matters happen & thought a change of scenery would help & it did! The bed were perfect and every night we were there we slept like babies. The kitchen was full of every household item you needed if you felt like staying in and cooking. The grounds were well kept. We enjoyed the swings near the playground; so peaceful, just listening to the rolling creek. What I'm saying in a nutshell is THIS PLACE IS PERFECT! Thank you so much for allowing us to enjoy a slice of paradise. We will definitely be returning.

Owners response: Jennifer,
I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Chalet. I remember your husband calling the day you wanted to arrive and I was able to email you the lease and set up the PayPal payment so you could check in hours later. If I remember correctly, you did everything while on the road? He was so nice and patient while I confirmed with the cleaning people that the Chalet was squeaky clean (as I just had someone check out) and ready for your arrival. Sorry to hear about the personal matters, but sometimes it takes a change of environment to help make things better. Glad the Chalet was the perfect medicine for that. I too go there as my "go to" place when I need a breathe of fresh air...literally! I look forward to "seeing" you in the future. God bless!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful anniversary

Review submitted: September 1, 2012   Date of arrival: May 15, 2012

My wife and I, along with our dog, Frodo, celebrated our 53rd anniversary in Maggie Valley. We were pleasantly surprised by how nice the A frame was. It was roomy and very comfortable. To sit on the front porch on a lovely afternoon and take in the beautiful mountain view, well it was special. We were also close to a number of good restaurants and activities. I would recommend this place to anyone who enjoys getting away from the rat race and escaping to the Smokies.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I am so pleased you enjoyed the Chalet, not surprised though! It truly is my little slice of heaven and so enjoy sharing it with others. Congrats on your 53rd anniversary, may you celebrate, many, many more wonderful years together!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Absolutely Heavenly

Review submitted: July 20, 2012   Date of arrival: May 27, 2012

I rented this Chalet for a week for my daughter and two children to stay. Every year they go to the Lake Junaluska (SDA Campmeeting) in North Carolina. Before she always would camp out with the kids so she could afford it the whole week.They talked me in to driving up from GA.to be with them. They arrived at the Chalet a hour before me....and when I drove up my grandson ran out to greet me and said, "Grandma, You're gonna like it....it is so nice! I was amazed how beautiful the Chalet was. It was so relaxing there. I even got to bring my little 5 year old Yorkie (a small deposit required) and that made me very happy as well to have my little pet with me.. The drinking water was so cold. In Ga. you couldn't get the water to come out cold...it was always just a little cool. It was wonderful to get a cold drink of water right out of the faucet. We ate at the Chalet a lot of times and found everything at our finger tips that we needed. It was nice that the bath area was separate from the sink area. That way we could be working on hair and all while the other one was taking a shower. It was nice having a washer and dryer, too. We really enjoyed our stay there. It was just beautiful, and cool most of the time...so we didn't have to run the Air/Con much at all. When it came time to leave we were a little sad....wishing we had another week just to chill out and not go to meetings. Sometime when you rent something on-line, you really don't know what to expect....but in this case we were very pleased. The Chalet was comfortable, clean, affordable and beautiful! I want to go back when there is no camp-meeting....so I can fully enjoy the beautiful Chalet and all the surrounding areas. The Mt. views were breathtaking.. Thank you Leisa for everything you did to help make it possible for me to rent the Chalet. You are a special person and I will never forget your kindness and helpfulness. Looking forward to another stay in your beautiful Chalet. Thankful, appreciative hugs from Midge.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Very Nice

Review submitted: July 13, 2012   Date of arrival: June 18, 2012

We enjoyed our stay - a very nice and quiet relaxing location.

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Our romantic and very relaxing Mountain vacation!

Review submitted: March 26, 2012   Date of arrival: February 27, 2012

Our experience was unbelieveable. The cabin was absolutley perfect not to mention gorgeous!! It was a home away from home. Anything you could want was right there, inside the cabin. Only 20 mins from Cherokee, NC and 45 mins from Gatlinburg, TN! The chalet was very clean, organized, very cozy and special. We will be coming back. Hopefully you will have it available for the day after Christmas through the week of New Years. My boyfriend and I will love to be there again! Thank you so much for renting out this very beautiful and unique chalet/cabin.
:))))

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I loved the fact that when you arrived you immediately called me to see if you could stay an additional night. I was glad I was able to accomodate you! I do have the dates available that you are looking for. I will e-mail you directly and send you a lease. Thank you for such a heartfelt review!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Twol Delightful Stays...Perfect Location and Lovely Chalet!

Review submitted: March 25, 2012   Date of arrival: October 29, 2011

My husband and I have rented this chalet twice and would have come back again in April but it was unavailable. We can't say enough about how great our stays have been. The owner has been super to deal with...she always responds very quickly to any request and is so friendly! We always have found it clean and very comfortable. It is very easy to get to...no steep roads to climb, paved access, great parking and very convenient to Maggie Valley, Cherokee and the Blue Ridge Parkway. We have four chihuahuas that we like to travel with and the chalet was the ideal spot. We were able to put up a little "fence" using their exercise pens right outside the back door so that we could just let them in and out. They had lots of fun "communicating" with the dogs up the hill! The chalet is very well equipped as advertised. We brought our paper products and things that we thought we would need with us. The kitchen has all of the necessities. In November of 2010 we brought our grandson up for the Polar Express at Thanksgiving and after taking him home, we returned for the rest of the week. The gas fireplace is wonderful...in fact it was sometimes too warm and we had to turn it down, so we were very comfortable in spite of the cold weather( we had a sprinkling of snow). We had scheduled the last week of August last year but with the hurricane threatening us at home, we were afraid to leave. The owner was so nice about it and let us switch weeks, so we were there the first of November 2011 and it was a great stay. Other than our super ziplining experience, we spent a good deal of time just enjoying the chalet. We also enjoy going to the Casino at Cherokee and the chalet is only a short drive over the mountain. We definitely plan on returning. It has been an ideal choice for us and our "babies"!
Some of the activities that we would recommend are the Polar Express, ziplining, hiking on the parkway, helicopter ride at Cherokee, LaZoom tour in Asheville if you go that way, Biltmore House and the farmer's market. We love eating at Moose Cafe (farmer's market), Legends, Joey's Pancake House and Paula Deen's.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I think I felt worse than you when I couldn't accomodate your dates in April. I had donated a week to our church to auction off at a silent auction to raise funds for our youth building. The "winners" of the auction choose the exact week you were looking for, and unfortunately our other Chalet had been previously booked. I so look forward to hearing from you and the four "b's" again and thank you for such a wonderful review!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Enchanting!!!

Review submitted: March 12, 2012   Date of arrival: February 27, 2012

There is not much that is more charming than your chalet in Maggie Valley. My experience was magical! Not only did I enjoy the beautiful sight-seeing places that are within a short distance...but the early mornings and evenings sitting on the porch watching the colors over the mountains change as the sun rose and set were breathtaking.
Leaving the chalet was like leaving home....and I can't wait to book another week!! Thank you~

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I've heard many descriptions of the Chalet over the years, but I must admit I like the word "enchanting". I strive to make the Chalets an enjoyable experience and furnish and maintain the homes as if I lived in them. Maybe that is why you felt like you were leaving "home" when you left! I look forward to your return.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Time with Mountain Views

Review submitted: March 7, 2012   Date of arrival: January 12, 2012

We had a great time! We arrived to a light dusting of snow and beautiful views. We enjoyed skiing at Cataloochee Ski Resort which is very convenient to the chalet. Our boys also enjoyed the open area to run around and throw football, as well as, the creek that runs nearby. The little time they were inside, they played with the jigsaw puzzles that you keep at the chalet. On Sunday morning, we walked to Church for service and were welcomed by the congregation.

The chalet was very nice, clean, and cozy. We had everything we needed. The downstairs bedroom was convenient for my mother who has trouble with stairs. We would definitely recommend this chalet to our friends and family. In fact, we have already booked it for another stay this fall. Leisa has been a pleasure to work with and has answered all questions promptly. Thank You for an enjoyable stay!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Chalet! It really warms my heart when people are able to visit my "little slice of heaven". I look forward to your return in the fall.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Happiness

Review submitted: March 7, 2012   Date of arrival: January 12, 2012

Started with winter, cold, snow and ice
and perfect happiness in your home so nice.
Going to Church was a beautiful walk
to wonderful new friends to study and talk.
My only complaint is it went by too fast
But thanks to God, our memories last!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

one star is generous

Review submitted: March 6, 2012   Date of arrival: February 17, 2012

The cabin is kind of tacky, worn carpet, no toilet paper, burned out light bulbs, no cleaning supplies (although there are warnings about cleaning the place). The kicker was they deducted $40 from my deposit for a mythical bloodstain they claimed was on one of the sheets. Very disappointing experience. I'm sure there are better, cleaner and more charming places to stay in Maggie Valley that don't rip you off.

Owners response: There is a small wear mark in the carpet on the top step. No where else in the home is the carpet worn or damaged. As stated in your lease you are supplied with your first roll of paper products. If a light bulb was burned out, we keep a supply in one of the cabinets or a note for the cleaning people would easily fix it. We don't ask that you clean the Chalet, as that is what the cleaning fee is for, but that you start the first load of towels (which we supply detergent for) and take the trash out before leaving. In the seven years of owning the Chalet I have had to reduce a security deposit two times due to damages, yours being one of them. I'm sorry that you feel you have to discredit my wonderful Chalet, that I had 12 return rentals booked for 2012 before the year even started. I wish you the best.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Experience

Review submitted: December 19, 2011   Date of arrival: December 8, 2011

We had an amazing vacation in Maggie Valley. The chalet was perfect; it offered everything we needed. The chalet was clean and cozy, there was plenty of room for our family. We would certainly recommend this chalet to our friends and family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

AH-MAZING VACATION!!!!!

Review submitted: December 16, 2011   Date of arrival: December 13, 2011

My boyfriend (cop) , best friend (a fellow ER nurse), my teenagers and I just got back to Atlanta this afternoon from our stay at the Chalet and I have to say - this was just about the BEST vacation I've ever had!!! Aside from our being long-overdue for a vacation (stressful jobs!!), the Chalet was PRECIOUS!!!! It was spotlessly clean and wonderfully equipped - Leisa has really thought of EVERYTHING we could have needed or wanted to make our stay pleasant!! The only thing we had to bring were groceries. It was a "Bucket List" trip for me - made my first efforts (all of us did, actually) at snow-skiing at Catalooche and had a BLAST!! We went horse-back riding with a member of the Cherokee Nation and then had a ball people-watching at Harrahs. We cannot WAIT to come back next year and try the slopes again!!! We're even thinking about a trip during warmer weather so we can do some hiking and see some of the other sights. THANK YOU for your "hospitality" - SOOOOO much nicer (and less expensive) than a hotel!!!! KUDOS to Leisa - TWO THUMBS UP!!!!!

Owners response: Your enthusiasm jumps off the page - wow! THANK YOU for such an awesome write up and for taking the time to do so! I look forward to hearing from you again (and again and again)!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Home was as promised--Beautiful!

Review submitted: October 30, 2011   Date of arrival: October 22, 2011

Leisa,

First let me say that I'm so sorry it has taken me this long to get back to you. Just before our trip, my daughter had surgery and I broke my foot.

Your home was as promised--beautiful!! We had a great time and enjoyed being in Maggie Valley again. Thank goodness for the first floor bedroom since I never got to make it up the stairs to see the loft. My granddaughter loved the loft and the games you had. Hopefully next trip I'm in better shape.
We did go to the zoo in Cherkee and got our picture taken with a 18 day old tiger cub. If I can figure out how to work the scanner and the email I will send you a copy.

Thank you for the opportunity to enjoy your beautiful home.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

FABULOUS!!

Review submitted: October 26, 2011   Date of arrival: September 30, 2011

We stayed at the sister property a few weeks ago for my daughters 12th birthday and she and her best friend absolutely loved it! It was like staying in a doll house! I could hardly get them out of the loft! It had all the ammenities we needed and was very clean! It is well maintained especially for a rental property!The girls even found a board game to play! They loved the play ground right out front and walking down to the stream. It is very convienantly located yet quiet. I would absolutely recommend this chalet especially to a family! We can't wait to come back! Thanks Leisa!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Disappointed!!!

Review submitted: October 21, 2011   Date of arrival: October 9, 2011

It was not nice!!!No central Ac or heat,Hot water.Run down, needs lots of work.Place not as depicted.We would not recommend it!!!

Owners response: I am sorry you felt the Chalet wasn't up to par. I do not advertise "central" heat or air, but we do supply both. You referenced that the hot water was luke warm in a note you left on departure. I had no idea that there was an issue with the hot water until we read your note. I had maintenance in and had it fixed that day as one of the elements had gone out in the hot water heater. Had you called me when you first found out this issue I would have had someone there that day to attend to it. I feel your use of words "run down" are a bit harsh as there are 35 previous reviews with many of which commenting on how clean and well kept the Chalets are. I'm sorry we were not able to please you and wish we were informed of the water issue so it would have been fixed during your stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Experience!!

Review submitted: October 10, 2011   Date of arrival: October 6, 2011

Leisa, thank you so much for sharing your mountain chalet with us. It was absolutely gorgeous. It was exactly as described in the website write-up. The setting was beautiful, the chalet was clean and comfortable, and everything we could have needed was there. We only had to open a drawer or a cabinet and find anything we needed. You had thought of everything. We were there for 3 nights and just returned home yesterday, but we could be ready to go back. We've already told our friends and family what a great place it is. We are looking forward to our next visit.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Location!

Review submitted: March 29, 2011   Date of arrival: March 25, 2011

Thank you for the use of the Chalet! My family and I had such a great time! It was so nice to come back to a warm, comfortable,clean place! We had a easy commute to everything. The mountains are awesome. We hope we can come back in the Summer! Thanks for making it so easy too!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Kathy,
I can't say it enough how much it warms my heart to share "our little slice of heaven" with people. I was especially excited to know that you were taking your boys to the mountains, which is something they had never experienced before. I try to explain the experience to people and when they get back they say, "Now I understand!" I look forward to having you back soon. Take care - Leisa

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful!

Review submitted: October 28, 2010   Date of arrival: October 17, 2010

We stayed at the Chalet from 10/17 to 10/20 it was wonderful! The chalet is clean and cozy, it was so nice to have a house to come home to and not a hotel room! We were literally down the road from Smoky Mountain National Park and the Blue Ridge parkway. The neighbors were very friendly and even let my 12 year old borrow a rake so she could rake a big pile of leaves to jump in. The weather couldn't have been better and we loved experiencing a "real fall" after years and years in Florida! It was a wonderful visit and the owner could not have been more accommodating thank you Leisa, we will definitely be coming back again next year!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Kathy,
It was my pleasure! I'm so glad we were able to make it happen for you last minute. I saw your beautiful fall pictures and wondered how you created such a big leaf pile. I figured the kids raked them up with their hands, but I understand now that a neighbor lent them a rake. One of the many reasons I fell in love with the Maggie area is the people. I still expect Andy Griffin to walk down the road one day! I look forward to your return and thank you!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 15, 2010   Date of arrival: August 1, 2010

Hi Leisa: I wanted to take a moment to tell you how much we enjoyed the Chalet and our time in the mountains. The property was everything you're description detailed and provided the perfect locale to launch a "touristy" event or to just relax and listen to the silence. Hopefully we can visit again in the future and take in the glorious night sky once more.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

An Awesome Get-Away!

Review submitted: August 4, 2010   Date of arrival: July 19, 2010

We had a terrific stay at the chalet. It was clean with all of the comforts of home. It was wonderful to have a place to come 'home' to each evening. The porch was our favorite spot....breakfast in the morning, catching lightening bugs at dusk and viewing the Big Dipper as darkness fell over the mountains. Lots of day trips around the area - Cherokee, historic Waynesville, Blue Ridge Parkway, Smoky Mountains & Gatlinburg. There were so many other things that we didn't get to see because we ran out of time. I guess we'll just have to come back to the chalet again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: That's just one more thing that we love about the Chalets...the location! They are convienent to everything, but tucked just far enough off the main road that you have peace and quiet to return to. You can never run out of things to do. After five years of going up several times a year, I still find new adventures each and every time. Thank you for the kind words, and we look forward to your return!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect For Us

Review submitted: July 14, 2010   Date of arrival: July 8, 2010

What a great trip! Your house was a perfect place for my daughter, son, their friends and me to stay during our visit in Maggie Valley. We used it as our home base while we visited Cherokee, the Blue Ridge Parkway, Sliding Rock, Waynesville, and, of course, downtown Maggie Valley. The sound of the creek was relaxing. The little community that your chalet is a part of is very comfortable. Thank you for making this a home away from home for everyone who chooses to stay here! We really enjoyed it!

Owners response: When you first made your reservation you said that your children were excited that they were going to the mountains. It sounds like you made some memories that will last forever. That is one of the many things we love about sharing the Chalets with our new "friends". There is so much to see and do within a short distance from the homes, but yet when you return after a long day it is quite and relaxing. Thank you for allowing us to share our "little slice of heaven"!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Home away from Home

Review submitted: May 9, 2010   Date of arrival: May 5, 2010

I rented this Chalet for a Mother's Day mini-vacation with 4 generations of women in my family. We had a great time-- from my 2-year-old daughter all the way to my 76-year-old grandmother!!! We enjoyed the mountain views from the porch, played in the grass out front, spent HOURS!! on the swings, and ate wonderful food we prepared in the kitchen. It was so quiet and relaxing.
It was a quick drive to the Blue Ridge Parkway and Great Smoky Mountains National Park and also to Cherokee. The beds were a comfy end to fun-filled days! Thanks for providing such nice accommodations.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

"At Home" - Chalet Too

Review submitted: March 24, 2010   Date of arrival: March 19, 2010

Thank YOU so much for sharing your beautiful Chalet with us! So many new memories have been made because of you and your comfortable Chalet. The Chalet is family oriented for those who would like to take their children and enjoy the quiteness and beauty of nature. It is also perfect for a couple that would love to spend time alone in a romantic atmosphere. The comforts of home are located all around you with beautiful decorations, utensils, furniture and cozy bedrooms. And the kitchen allows you to make those delicious home cooked meals during your stay. The outside area is perfect for children that love to play out of doors in a safe and friendly environment. It is also perfect for couples that owuld like to sit in the swing and enjoy the beautiful mountains of Maggie Valley that surround the Chalet.

When it came time to leave I couldn't help but to shed a few tears I just didn't want to leave the Chalet, the soothing atmosphere, the cozy comforts of home and all of the precious memories.

Thank YOU once again Leisa for allowing us to spend time "At Home" away from Home at the Chalet in Maggie Valley! :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: You are priceless! I can't help but wonder if people will think I either paid you or wrote this myself! It is so warming to know my tenants feel the way that I do when they visit my Chalets. They are truely a "Home Away From Home". Thanx again and again!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Can't Wait to Go Back

Review submitted: March 16, 2010   Date of arrival: March 4, 2010

Me and my 3 older children stayed here in March 2010. The property was exactly like it is shown on the website. The house was very clean and neat and had everything you needed. There were several inches of snow when we went and it was beautiful but I would love to go back and stay in the summer time. Has a wonderful front porch to sit on and beautiful views. Close to stores and restaurants. The owner was very nice to work with. I would definitely recommend this home for a vacation. I didn't want to leave !!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: I really hope you can return in the summer, or any other season for that matter. That is one of the amazing things about the Smoky Mountains, each season offers something different. I'm so glad you enjoyed yourselves!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Indian Creek Chalet #38

Review submitted: February 22, 2010   Date of arrival: February 11, 2010

Very nice Chalet with a wonderful propane heating stove that we adored ..... Cooking stove and hot water are both gas also which is great in case of severe winter weather ...... Our weather was extremely cold with substantial snow cover and an additional 6 inches fell during our stay ..... Absolutely georgous much like a Currier & Ives card ..... Everything is quite close to the Chalet including skiing, tubing, Cherokee (if you like to gamble) and shopping in and around Maggie Valley ..... Convenient parking at the lower Peachtree Church lot if the short drive up to the Chalet is too icy ..... A must for breakfast is Joey's Pancake House in Maggie Valley maybe 5 or 10 minutes away ...... Absolutely delicious ..... You'll love it ! We had a very enjoyable time and may try a spring mini vacation with an emphasis on hiking ......... We definitely recommend this property ..... Our dog, Sydney, gives it a two paws up rating also ..... She really enjoyed herself !

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks for the Great Time!

Review submitted: January 12, 2010   Date of arrival: December 18, 2009

Leisa,
Thank you for the use of your chalet we had an awesome time . We look forward to visiting there again. It is a neat little house my kids loved it. A note to GPS users I recieved a gps for Christmas so I decided to use it and it took us way up a trecherous Mtn. behind Cataloochee there was a sign posted about wrong gps directions so we used your directions. The rock slide was the other side of 40 also. If you have familys that want to ski beginners send them to Sapphire valley it s 55 miles from the chalet takes about 90 minutes but its half as much as Cataloochee with no lines and cheap ski lessons also very family friendly. We ate a place called Salty Dogs very good food.
Thanks again, Dan

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 12, 2010   Date of arrival: January 12, 2010

Leisa,
Thank you for the use of your chalet we had an awesome time . We look forward to visiting there again. It is a neat little house my kids loved it. A note to GPS users I received a gps for Christmas so I decided to use it and it took us way up a trecherous Mtn. behind Cataloochee there was a sign posted about wrong gps directions so we used your directions. The rock slide was the other side of 40 also. If you have familys that want to ski beginners send them to Sapphire valley it s 55 miles from the chalet takes about 90 minutes but its half as much as Cataloochee with no lines and cheap ski lessons also very family friendly. We ate a place called Salty Dogs very good food.
Thanks again, Dan

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Bank for Your Buck!

Review submitted: January 1, 2010   Date of arrival: December 13, 2009

My wife and I just spent a week at the sister property to the one shown here. We had an excellent time. The Chalet is very well maintained, cool and quiet. There are about six of these in a row back off the road and though they are close we were never disturbed. The location is perfect. You are close to Asheville, Cherokee, a quick trip to the tourist traps in Tennessee and miles and miles of very serene mountain drives.
If you need a shot of adrenalin, you can go to Deals Gap and drive the "Tail of the Dragon". It's 11 miles with 138 curves most hairpin. Then come back to Chalet for a quiet cocoa, coffee or chilled beverage and just mellow out.
We found lots of nice places to eat in Maggie and Waynesville and you can save a few bucks staying in and cooking. The Chalet kitchen had all the necessities to set up house.
We checked in on Sunday afternoon and the following Sunday when we pulled out we spent 8 hours driving home just talking about all we had done, how well rested were and what a great bang we had gotten for our buck.
Thanks Leisa !!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 18, 2009   Date of arrival: December 18, 2009

Rest in Peace !!!
Life is not fair but it can be fun Ohio
Review Submitted: September 8, 2009 Date of Stay: August 2009
My wife and I just spent a week at the sister property to the one shown here. We had an excellent time. The Chalet is very well maintained, cool and quiet. The location is perfect. You are close to Asheville, Cherokee, a quick trip to the tourist traps in Tennessee and miles and miles of very serene mountain drives.

If you need a shot of adrenalin, you can go to Deals Gap and drive the "Tail of the Dragon". It's 11 miles with 138 curves most hairpin. Then come back to Chalet for a quiet cocoa, coffee or chilled beverage and just mellow out.
We found lots of nice places to eat in Maggie and Waynesville and you can save a few bucks staying in and cooking. The Chalet kitchen had all the necessities to set up house.

We checked in on Sunday afternoon and the following Sunday when we pulled out we spent 8 hours driving home just talking about all we had done, how well rested were and what a great bang we had gotten for our buck.
Thanks Leisa !!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

my wife and i vacation getaway

Review submitted: October 6, 2009   Date of arrival: September 26, 2009

this vacation spot was close to maggie vally and the casino. we will try to use the same chalet next year if we can.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 

You can do nothing,then rest afterward

Review submitted: September 10, 2009   Date of arrival: August 30, 2009

My wife and I just spent a week at the sister property to the one shown here. We had an excellent time. The Chalet is very well maintained, cool and quiet. There are about six of these in a row back off the road and though they are close we were never disturbed. The location is perfect. You are close to Asheville, Cherokee, a quick trip to the tourist traps in Tennessee and miles and miles of very serene mountain drives.
If you need a shot of adrenalin, you can go to Deals Gap and drive the "Tail of the Dragon". It's 11 miles with 138 curves most hairpin. Then come back to Chalet for a quiet cocoa, coffee or chilled beverage and just mellow out.
We found lots of nice places to eat in Maggie and Waynesville and you can save a few bucks staying in and cooking. The Chalet kitchen had all the necessities to set up house.
We checked in on Sunday afternoon and the following Sunday when we pulled out we spent 8 hours driving home just talking about all we had done, how well rested were and what a great bang we had gotten for our buck.
Thanks Leisa !!!

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Was everything we had hoped for...

Review submitted: July 14, 2009   Date of arrival: July 6, 2009

We rented the cabin last week for several days and upon arrival found it to be clean and neat as we had hoped. The kitchen has lots of items in it which is nice so you don't have to bring your house with you! The washer/dryer really helped out with 2 grandbabies running around. We were pleasantly pleased and would recommend this cabin to anyone wanting a nice break from the hustle and bustle of your life. Neighborhood was very quiet and made for a very pleasant stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: I value the comfort of my tenants more than I can express. I strive to make their stay as enjoyable as possible, so when I receive a review like this it makes me happy to know I've succeeded. Thank you for allowing me the opportunity to share our "little slice of heaven" with you!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A Great getaway!

Review submitted: March 12, 2009   Date of arrival: February 27, 2009

I highly recommend staying here to everyone! It's hard to put into words what a wonderful trip I had with my boys. Relaxing, peaceful, wonderful, and perfect are just some words that come to mind.
My vacation time there was only 3 days, but well worth it! I will be booking another trip here soon and enjoy another season. We got to go skiing, tubing, and we even got to see snow on our last day. My children had a lot of fun and the challet was so comfortable. It's definitely home away from home.
I am so happy that we have found such a lovely new vacation spot. Everyone needs to experience it at least once.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Weekend get-away

Review submitted: March 5, 2009   Date of arrival: February 27, 2009

We rented the Chalet to be close to Cataloochee. We are not skiers but love to go snow tubing. The Chalet was perfect. Easy to get too. Layout was great with queen bed downstairs and 2 queens in loft. Everything was clean and in working order. I had a question when we got there and owner returned my call immediately. I plan to go back to Maggie Valley in the summer and hope to be able to rent this same Chalet.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Owners response: Wow, I really appreciate the kind words. I strive to keep our Chalets clean and comfortable and am so grateful when it is appreciated by others. I also pay close attention to when someone is staying at one of our Chalets so I can be accessible at all times. I look forward to hearing from you in the future and sharing our home with you again!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place

Review submitted: October 28, 2008   Date of arrival: October 17, 2008

This was a wonderful place to stay. It is close to the Blue Ridge parkway and close to any other place you would like to go to.
Its clean and well managed.
I would go back in a second.
The price is not too expensive and you can save money than going out to eat.
There is not alot of food choices in Maggie Valley but Waynesville, NC is not far away and there are places there that you can eat.

Recommended for: sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

We'll be Back

Review submitted: October 9, 2008   Date of arrival: October 3, 2008

It was perfect: Homey, great location, beds comfortable, words can't explain. The weekend was to short. We had a great time. We are already planning to come back.

We washed sheets, left towels in the dryer. Cleaned up as if we wasn't there.

I have suggested this unit to all our friends and family. I would highly recommend this to everyone.

Thanks for having us at your place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you so much for the kind words! We really do strive to make our Chalets as comfortable as possible and get such satisfaction knowing our guests are enjoying themselves. We look forward to having you visit again!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Can't Wait to Come Back!!

Review submitted: September 9, 2008   Date of arrival: August 29, 2008

Leisa,
I just wanted to take a moment to let you know how much we enjoyed our time in your cabin. The cabin was perfect and the setting just wonderful. I hope that we left it in just
as good a shape as when we arrived.

We plan to try and arrange another trip in a month or so
and hope to be able to stay there again. Will be in touch
once our dates are final.

Chuckie & Family

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

chalet in the valley

Review submitted: August 5, 2008   Date of arrival: July 26, 2008

It has nice quite location couple miles off town and close to Blue Ridge pkwy. Overall, we liked this place. Little bit tight, and second bathroom has no doors. Only inconvinience is driving garbage to another city by yourself. Kind of dissapointing surprize.
The area is great. High enough to be cool in summer time. Close to Smoky trails and to Meggie Valley crafts. Only 15 min to Cherokee. Great views.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Glad to hear you enjoyed the Chalet. Sorry about the mis-understanding on the garbage, as we have regular garbage pick-up at the Chalet. Not sure why how this got confused with having to take it yourself. We only ask that the garbage is removed from the Chalet and placed in the cans outside. Again, sorry for the mix-up!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

What a Great Chalet!

Review submitted: July 25, 2008   Date of arrival: July 19, 2008

Leisa,
I can't begin to tell you how we enjoyed our Stay, the
chalet was in great shape no complaints, everything was clean,we washed the towels&sheets and cleaned, we left everything like we found it.

The weather was great some afternoon showers kept it very pleasant 80 to 90 was the average. We would like to return at a later date lots of fun.


God bless
Rev. Alvin M.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Vacation at Chalet In The Valley

Review submitted: June 11, 2008   Date of arrival: June 4, 2008

We really enjoyed staying at your chalet in the valley, We did not know how bad we needed a rest until we got there. The beds were very comfortable and the two reclinders were just what 2 tired bodies needed. The weeping willows and other beautiful trees and flowers in the yard made things so peaceful. My son and daughter-in-law came up friday night with my grandson. Saturday, We had a good time playing in the creek behind the church.
Linda

Owners response: Linda,
Thank you again for the kind words. We pride ourselves in keeping the Chalets clean and comfortable. I know what you mean about relaxation. There is something about being in those mountains that just puts the soul at rest. We look forward to "seeing" you again!
Sincerely,
Leisa Munce

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

GREAT!!!

Review submitted: March 30, 2008   Date of arrival: March 1, 2008

The chalet was exceptionally clean and completely stocked with household items. Probably the first totally relaxing vacation I've ever taken. The location - out of the hubbub but very convenient to everything. That our greyhound girls were welcome - extremely important to us. The town of Waynesville provided any and all services and was easy to get to. If we ever travel to that area again...we definitely would stay at Leisa's chalet.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 5, 2008   Date of arrival: February 5, 2008

Hi Leisa!

First of all, thank you so much for allowing us to stay in your chalet. We had a wonderful time. The house was extremely clean - there was not one thing that we found to be wrong upon arrival or any time during our stay. It truly felt like a home away from home. As picky as my husband is - he could not say one bad thing about anything in the home. Again, thank you so much. We look forward to staying there again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We had a great time!!

Review submitted: June 7, 2007   Date of arrival: May 1, 2007

Leisa,
We had a grand time and the cabin was really great. I am sure I am not the first person to tell you this. My sister, who lives in Waynesville, really had a good time visiting us there. We used the grill almost every night. It was the perfect size for us and great for visiting with family. The beds were very comfortable, the towels were very large and fluffy, and we had all the amenities. I will definalty recommend this cabin to others, and I hope to be able to use you again in the future. Thanks for a wonderful vacation.
Kim

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Review submitted: May 29, 2007   Date of arrival: May 29, 2007

Leisa,
We had a grand time and the cabin was really great. I am sure I am not
the first person to tell you this. My sister, who lives in Waynesville,
really had a good time visiting us there. We used the grill almost every
night. It was the perfect size for us and great for visiting with family. The beds were very comfortable, the towels were very large and fluffy, and we had all the amenities. I will definalty recommend this cabin to others, and I hope to be able to use you again in the future. Thanks for a wonderful vacation.

Kim

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: May 10, 2007   Date of arrival: May 10, 2007

Hello,

We just wanted to let you know that we had a great time at your home in Maggie Valley! Thomas and Ben had a wonderful time snowboarding, and Woody and I skied one day as well. The boys snowboarded all three days. Thursday the snow was really starting to melt, but they had more than enough runs open to enjoy. Tube World was closed for the season, but looked like it would be fun too. We were delighted to see that Ghost Town in the Sky will be re-opening in May. I remember going to that when I was a kid. Wow, that was a long time ago. We went in the gift shop and got a t-shirt for nostalgia sake.

Thanks again for sharing your home. It was delightful!!

Blessings,
Nancy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Experience

Review submitted: March 14, 2007   Date of arrival: September 1, 2006

Eveerything is all that we were told. Even more. There was so much to see and do. In the cabin was a basket full of information on the the things in a 30 mile radious that you could do. Some of the things we did were mountain biking, white water rafting, heilcopter ride, music in the park,(the best bluegrass ever), great food and all the people were so friendly. The local potter(Pitter is his name), is full of great stories.
I would recommend this to anyone. Thank you for the fun.

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 15, 2006   Date of arrival: June 15, 2006

Hello Leisa,

We came back from the mountains and had to catch up for the week we were gone. I received the check you sent me, thank you.

We had a very good time at your place and enjoyed it very much. It was quiet, we sort of had the entire place to ourselves - there was not much activities from others going on, which we liked. The weather was great, we could
go for walks and just enjoy the outdoors.

I must say your kitchen is the best equiped I have ever experienced away from home. We like to fix most of the time our food ourselves, so that was wonderful.

Thank you once again that we could rent your little haven.

Best regards

Heloise

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 21, 2006   Date of arrival: April 21, 2006

It was wonderful to have good pans and dishes along with salt/pepper (although I brought all my spices). The play area for the boys was perfect!! We enjoyed grilling out, too. You have it decorated in such a manner that you feel right at home! The beds and bedding was very comfortable...and those two chairs in the living room were wonderful (we took turns in them.) Everyone said they would love to come again since most things were closed until May. We cleaned everything before we left except the vacuuming, cleaning the floor and bathroom which I thought the housecleaning lady would do. Thanks for allowing us the privilege of enjoying your home...we prayed God's blessing on all who come to enjoy a little R&R.
Darlene:)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 9, 2006   Date of arrival: March 9, 2006

Stayed in your Chalet and loved it. Talk about getting more than what you paid for. Everything is brand new, right down to the towels. The kids were always in view on the playset or on the property around it. We went down and sat by the stream several times - how relaxing! Your Chalet was immaculate too, very refreshing after some other stays. We'll be back soon...

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review