reviews for: listing #18094 - Asheville, North Carolina House rental

Avondale Ridge-stunning views & minutes to downtown
  • bedrooms  6
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  16
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $305 - $435 /nt
    $1,875 - $2,395 /wk

sort by:

"Family Room" as bedroom

Review submitted: December 4, 2010   Date of arrival: December 3, 2010

Don't be the one stuck on the old fold out sofa bed in the upstairs "family room". This is an uncomfortable bed in a room with only three walls, no privacy and no access to a bathroom. This space is suitable only for sleep optional/privacy optional events. The home sleeps 14 people at best. Would not recommend, would not return.

Helpful votes: 6 / 13

 

comfortable visit

Review submitted: September 4, 2010   Date of arrival: July 18, 2010

We were a big group with small children, young dogs, teen ages and the elderly. The house suited us all very well. The location is great because you can be in town to eat or shop and back quickly but when you are there you feel like you are in the woods in the mountains. I felt very save for my 3 and 6 old to be playing in yard and the upstairs sitting room let us spit into the group wanting TV or the group talking down stairs. Even in the horrid heat, the house was comfortable and the porch enjoyable to sit on. Remember you are in the wood there is wildlife. I would say it is a steep drive in a good powerful car helps.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Great, convient, Asheville accomadations

Review submitted: November 24, 2008   Date of arrival: October 30, 2008

My daughter was married in asheville and we housed the whole family for 4 nights. There was plenty of room for all 16 of us. It is very convient to Asheville. Excellent views and wonderful family areas. Could use a few more comfortable chairs in family room. I would definitely recommend this property.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Had a great time!

Review submitted: October 21, 2008   Date of arrival: October 10, 2008

My extended family stayed here to celebrate my parents' 50th wedding anniversary. There were 13 of us, ranging in age from 2 to 77, and we all had a wonderful time. There was plenty of room for all of us, including a well-stocked playroom for the kids. The house was charming and comfortable, the views were beautiful, and Asheville was lots of fun. We were only there for a long weekend, which is too bad, because I think we all would have enjoyed a longer stay. There is so much to do in and around Asheville that we feel like we barely scratched the surface.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Reunion Spot

Review submitted: March 18, 2008   Date of arrival: March 1, 2008

Our group of 11 interpid hikers from all over the country had a reunion here. The house was spacious, comfortable and had great common spaces to hang out in while having enough bedrooms to allow everyone privacy. We loved the convenience and quick drive to downtown, the Blue Ridge Parkway, Biltmore, etc. Yet when you were in the house you felt isolated.
Our only complaint was the drip coffee maker which did not work well and needs replacing.Other than that, all our creature comforts were met. The views from the 3 levels of deck were spectacular.
Everyone in our group approved of the choice and felt it helped to make our reunion the success that it was.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 22, 2008   Date of arrival: January 22, 2008

I would like to take the time to thank you guys for making our first annual ski trip a success. Thank you Jamison, Mary, Jim, and whoever else I might forget. The Avondale was exactly as you promised and described. My favorite part was the view from the decks and having plenty of firewood accessible. They were both big hits with our team. Let’s not forget about the great “check in”. Having the key in the lock box is a great idea. The sauna, steam shower, jetted tub, and sunroom were definite pluses. Whenever we come to the Asheville area, and need lodging, you can count on us give you guys a call. Thank you

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review