reviews for: listing #18106 - San Diego, California House rental

Luxury Suite for Two in Tropical Estate
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  2
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $185 - $185 /nt
    $1,000 - $1,000 /wk
    $3,500 - $3,500 /mth

sort by:

Private Resort

Review submitted: February 2, 2014   Date of arrival: January 24, 2014

We stayed at this lovely property for a week. Everything at this property was superb. We especially loved sitting on the terrace in the warm California sun. Both the home and the gardens have obviously been well loved by the owner, who is also a helpful host. All that San Diego has to offer is easy to access from this quiet, tranquil, glorious property. The kitchen was well appointed and gave us the opportunity to prepare some meals and left overs from restaurants. Spacious closets with quality hangers and free parking round out a great experience. We will definitely stay here again if given the opportunity.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great choice!

Review submitted: October 23, 2013   Date of arrival: October 14, 2013

All the wonderful things said in the previous reviews are true! I came to San Diego by myself to explore and enjoy the warm sunshine and beaches. This was a cozy retreat in the city where I was very comfortable after a day out exploring. I loved the tropical gardens and the location! Since Kent lives on site and the compound is enclosed with its own locking gate, I felt very safe there. I walked in the neighborhood in the evening and kept the windows open to get the cool breezes at night. It was a delightful time. I would absolutely stay here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Home away from home

Review submitted: December 31, 2012   Date of arrival: December 6, 2012

We had a great experience staying at this property while visiting the grandkids. Beautiful landscaping, quiet, secluded, comfortable with off street parking. We enjoyed breakfast and reading on the patio. Kent was an excellent host and readily available.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Heaven on Earth

Review submitted: November 30, 2012   Date of arrival: November 17, 2012

We were met at the street entrance by Kent, the owner, who guided us into the property. Past the locked gate, it opened up to a beautiful property, surrounded by lush vegetation, elegantly arranged decor and with several areas to sit with a cup of coffee or glass of wine or even to enjoy an outdoor meal. It is a three-lot property so plenty of privacy is afforded. The interior of our unit was superbly decorated--warm, inviting and comfortable. Kent did an excellent job giving us an orientation of the interior and exterior space. Added to all of this, it was a very quiet property and has street and off-the-street parking. A+++. We will be staying here whenever we go to San Diego from now on.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Tree Top Place!

Review submitted: October 26, 2012   Date of arrival: October 5, 2012

Fabulous place to stay! The grounds are spectacularly beautiful and reminded me of our stay in Costa Rica. There are views of lush tropical (and native California) foliage from every window. I half expected monkeys to come swinging through the trees! It’s quiet and secluded and yet convenient to all of the ‘must see’s’ in San Diego. Balboa park is only steps away……..so lovely for walking. Kent’s place is very comfortable and well-appointed and Kent is a most gracious and accommodating host. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Vacation

Review submitted: July 15, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

If you are looking for a place to get away from it all while still staying in a great location with easy access to everything this is the place.
We had the pleasure of spending a week at Kent's Villa and it was one of the most relaxing vacations I have had. We visit San Diego at least twice a year and have stayed at several VRBO properities, but this by far is the best.
It is exactly as pictured and very clearn. All of the furniture is comfortable and the beds are great. But what sets this property above all the others we have stayed at is the gardens and outdoor space. Kent has several different sitting areas and a great grill. There was nothing better then sitting out on the deck and enjoying our morning coffee or grilling at night and enjoying the great weather and the peace and quiet.
Kent is a great hostess and will give you some great information about the area and some wonderful places to in right in the neighborhood.
You cannot go wrong in renting this great villa it has everything that you could possible need.
Thanks for a great vacation and we will be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Luxury Apartment Hideaway in Tropical Estate

Review submitted: June 5, 2012   Date of arrival: April 15, 2012

The description is very accurate, this property is a gem or more correctly an oasis within San Diego. It is very well maintained and the owner lives in the lower unit so any concerns can be dealt with easily. It is a beautiful site with access to wonderful places like Balboa Park. It is close to restaurants as well as high quality food stores.


We really, really enjoyed staying here.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful oasis in the city

Review submitted: May 22, 2012   Date of arrival: May 17, 2012

We rented the Terrace apartment for a four night visit to San Diego. Our son lives in North Park so the location was excellent. We were able to walk to his place from ours and parking was also easy and available. Our daughter, who is an avid runner, started her runs at the front door of our place and was at Balboa Park in a short block. The apartment was wonderful! A great kitchen, attractive furnishings, comfortable beds, secure setting - you couldn't ask for a better place to stay. The grounds are truly a paradise - a quiet oasis hidden from the street and bustle of the city. We enjoyed sitting on the terrace with a glass of wine and looking out at Kent's beautiful gardens. We travel to San Diego often to see our son and granddaughter and at last have found a place that makes our visits feel like a luxurious vacation and a home away from home at the same time. I would definitely recommend it and hope to stay there again in the future.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Joy & Alan

Review submitted: April 17, 2012   Date of arrival: March 31, 2012

We had a wonderful time. The property was fantastic, it was everything the photos promised and more. Kent, the owner, was great, so personable and friendly. He printed off a list of many attractions, restaurants and places to grocery shop, it was so helpful. We would, without a doubt recommend this property to anyone looking for a great place to stay in San Diego. When and if we go back to San Diego we would definitley want to stay here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Place!

Review submitted: March 15, 2012   Date of arrival: March 7, 2012

We spent a week here in March 2012 and could not have been happier with this place. The property is absolutely lovely, gorgeously landscaped, private, peaceful, secure, and well-located. The description and photos are accurate but the place is even better than it looks in photos. The 2-bedroom apartment was spacious, clean, comfortable and thoughtfully appointed. Great location just 1/2 block from the north boundary of Balboa Park in a very nice, quiet and safe neighborhood. You can easily walk a few blocks to a full service grocery store, and are within easy driving distance of Whole Foods, Trader Joes, and a wealth of restaurants and shopping. Access to freeways for longer jaunts is close by, and the best part is returning to the apartment at the end of the day. Kent (the owner) was helpful and friendly. Highly recommended!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing Tropical Hideaway near Balboa Park!!!!

Review submitted: October 24, 2011   Date of arrival: October 9, 2011

Our stay in San Diego was perfect due to the place we stayed at! In fact, it was so great we're coming back next year for an even longer stay. The owner's property is in an ideal location to see all the historical sites and eat in all the best places in town. The owner is such a wonderful host and so knowledgeable and helpful in getting us started quickly with sightseeing and eating!

This owner has created such a beautiful place to stay at with many amenities not provided elsewhere. His rentals are within walking distance of Balboa Park and the neighborhhood is quiet and inviting. Everyone we spoke with was helpful and friendly! To be able to sit on your balcony or in the gardens enjoying crackers and wine in peaceful relaxation cannot be provided by any hotel with the same sense of privacy and quiet. The beds were comfy and the furniture relaxing and inviting. The kitchen amenities and supplies were well provided and a washer/dryer is there for longer stays.

If you want an ocean view or city view, go elsewhere, but if you want peace, quiet, and beauty in between all the sightseeing, then you absolutely must stay here! Remember you can always take your rented car to the beach or to see the city any day during your visit. Parking is free with this rental and that is not the case for most of the hotels and motels in San Diego. We found it easy to get anywhere from this place as it is centrally located.

This is truly a tropical paradise and it is fun to just see and learn about all the plants surrounding this property. We highly recommend this vacation rental!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful property

Review submitted: September 30, 2011   Date of arrival: September 22, 2011

What a great place to stay in San Diego! The place is beautiful, and Kent has done a great job of decorating the place. So much nicer than staying at a hotel. You are close to everything, and the area is just great. We will return to this again, and when we retire, we will be renting by the month. Everything you need is provided, and the area is very nice, close to the parks, zoo, Balboa park. Thank you Kent. I would recommend this to anyone.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A GREAT place to call home while in San Diego

Review submitted: September 29, 2011   Date of arrival: September 17, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights and enjoyed every moment of our stay. We found Kent's place to be a comfortable tropical retreat from our San Diego sightseeing and appreciated the gated privacy/security around the home. Evenings and mornings are quiet, lending a real sense of serenity and peace. It's an excellent location for jumping on various freeways and driving straight into downtown. We appreciated the proximity to Balboa Park, which we think must be the most beautiful city park in the US. We went there daily. We appreciate the little map you left, Kent, showing us the best way to access the Hillcrest area shopping/restaurants and for recommending Peet's coffee and Bakery and Cie. We did those two each morning after becoming addicted the first morning! We also appreciated the bottom drawer in the living room being full of maps, books and brochures for fun things to do in San Diego. We will be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Stay!

Review submitted: June 3, 2011   Date of arrival: May 27, 2011

We had a wonderful stay in this home. Everything was very clean and felt comfortable, like a home away from home. The grounds were immaculate and made you feel like you are in Costa Rica, yet you are in a very central location to everything in San Diego's trendy neighborhoods. The place is very private so you feel like you have the place to yourself. There is plenty of parking on the street, but off street parking is available as well. We will definitely consider this our first choice when visiting San Diego in the future. Kent is a wonderful host. He was always very responsive via text messages when we had a question or needed advice on bars or restaurants in the area. Highly recommended!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The real Crown Jewel of San Diego !

Review submitted: May 4, 2011   Date of arrival: April 21, 2011

"There are only two kinds of class: First class and no class"(David Selznick)
Believe it or not.Balboa Park is not the Crown Jewel of San Diego.The real Crown Jewels are the
"Secret Garden" of the Mississipi street, and of course Kent.
We live in a play and plug world today.This tropical hideaway is an analog seduction like listening
to Diana Krall on a Thorens turntable or enjoying a vintage Amon-Ra Shiraz.
Highly recommended for connaisseurs with love for detail and those who seek privacy.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our Fourth Visit-- It's always great!

Review submitted: March 25, 2011   Date of arrival: March 12, 2011

If you're looking for a home away from home, then this is the place to be. The apartment is spacious, well designed and handsomely furnished, plus has all sorts of amenities (WiFi, TV, DVD player, laundry - even use of bikes). From your window you can gaze out onto a secluded, lush garden below. Or you might just prefer going outside to the terrace itself - soaking up afternoon sunshine in a cushioned lounge chair. Kent is a gracious host, always available to attend to any issues, answer any questions, or make recommendations.

But the fun and convenience do not cease here. Only minutes away by car/bike is the Hillcrest district, known for its trendy grocery stores, shops, restaurants and farmers' market. Also nearby is Balboa Park, site of the San Diego Zoo, countless museums, the Globe Theatre, and a Japanese Friendship Garden. Finally - at only a 5-minute ride - is downtown with its Gas Light District, Symphony Hall, and famous harbor. We've stayed in other parts of the city, but this location and accomodation tops them all --- hands down. We'd recommend this rental to friends and family ad infinitum!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Pictures Don't Do It Justice

Review submitted: December 20, 2010   Date of arrival: November 21, 2010

Really fortunate to have found such a beautiful place to stay in a beautiful city. Located in an area of restored and well-maintained homes in an older area of San Diego, this property stands out. Kent has lovingly restored this home, beautifully decorated it and lavishly landscaped the property. Just a short distance from Balboa Park, the Zoo and many many wonderful restaurants, it was a perfect location for our Thanksgiving week vacation. I would recommend this property to anyone who wants a "home away from home" to return to after sightseeing, visiting family, or whatever your reasons are for being in San Diego. Kent is a great host, able to answer most any question you might have about the area. Truly an enjoyable experience.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Peaceful hideaway

Review submitted: December 15, 2010   Date of arrival: December 2, 2010

We spent a very comfortable week in the spacious and well equipped Terrace apartment with panoramic views of the tropical gardens. Our host was helpful and very pleasant.We recommend this accommodation to adults looking for a quiet retreat in the heart of the city.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

November 2010 Stay

Review submitted: November 21, 2010   Date of arrival: November 5, 2010

found this VRBO with normal internet search. Contact via email, and found Kent to be exceptionally gratious and accomodating. The property was exactly as advertised. It was clean, peaceful, spacious with a wonderful garden ( mini paradise ). Kent was a great host - nothing to much to help out yet gave us lots of personal space. The unit is in a quiet residential area within a few steps of the park, about a 30 minute walk to the zoo, and about 10 minutes to excellent transit connections. We did not rent a vehicle for the entire 8 day stay. Grocery shopping is 10 min away at a major chain store. We have this now marked as a favourite for a return visit.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Vacation Retreat Review

Review submitted: November 12, 2010   Date of arrival: October 23, 2010

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying in this property and were impressed by the location, the accommodations; the beautiful landscape and the proximity to shopping, attractions, and easy access to main thru ways. It was quiet, the yard and deck extremely inviting for sheer relaxation and enjoyment. We were very impressed with Kent and the attentiveness and clearly apparent desire to satisfy our every need. We have travelled a lot over the years and stayed in many places and I would rank this among the elite. Highly recommend

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful Retreat

Review submitted: August 31, 2010   Date of arrival: August 13, 2010

As soon as my husband and I opened the gate, we felt we were in a tropical paradise. The one-bedroom unit was immaculately clean, tastefully decorated with understated elegance and had a well-equipped kitchen and a comfortable bed with smooth high quality sheets. Each morning we woke to looking out windows filled with palms and flowering plants. What a treat! And the place was quiet and private. We ate breakfast and lunch out on the balcony because what restaurant could top that! Balboa Park is a half a block away containing winding trails, a public swimming pool, tennis courts, and picnic areas. Kent was helpful, friendly, and accommodating in every possible way. We had the most relaxing stay. Nearby are restaurants, bakeries, and stores such as a CVS. We especially enjoyed dining at Alexanders, Cardamon Bakery, Urban Solace, and Smoking Goat. A produce market and Parkside Market are nearby selling local goodies. A twenty minute car ride away is Torrey Pines State Park with a fabulous beach and cliff walks. We have rented many VRBO places, but this is the best. We are coming back in December.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful Retreat

Review submitted: August 31, 2010   Date of arrival: August 13, 2010

As soon as we opened the gate, we thought we had entered a tropical paradise. Only a half a block to Balboa Park, this rental is heaven with understated elegant decorating, comfortable, classy furniture, superbly smooth sheets, fully equipped kitchen, and beautiful views of palms and flowering plants out every window. The windows were wide-open each night, and yet all was quiet. We completely relaxed. Each of the three units has complete privacy. The property was immacuately clean when we arrived. The description is accurate, yet the pictures do not do not fully capture the remarkable spirit of the place. Kent was a friendly, helpful host in every way. A public swimming pool and tennis courts are a block away. Hiking trails wind through the park. And nearby are grocery stores, excellent restaurants, and a bakery. We especially liked Cardamon Bakery and Cafe, Alexanders, Smoking Goat, and Urban Solace. Torrey Pines State Beach -- a 20 minute drive away -- is beautiful. We have stayed in several VRBO places, and this one is by far the best. We did not want to leave.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Summer escape from Tucson

Review submitted: August 22, 2010   Date of arrival: August 1, 2010

My husband and I have spent two glorious months in a San Diego urban paradise. Ideally located near Balboa Park, all highways and shopping and with the best host in town. Educated and well traveled and extremely knowledgeable about the area, events, directions. Presents an immaculate property with mature landscaping all designed by the owner. Very private, quiet with great amenities. We have booked another visit next summer and would recommend the property highly.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great apartment and beautiful garden

Review submitted: July 7, 2010   Date of arrival: June 23, 2010

Dear Kent

We had a great time at your wonderful apartment and your beautiful garden. We can only highly reccomend your apartment. We hope to come back one time. Thanks a lot.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our California Garden Eden

Review submitted: June 19, 2010   Date of arrival: June 1, 2010

We have to stay severel times in a year in San Diego and so we looked out for a place where we could find a kind of a home, and what we found is one of the most beautiful places in the world: three attractive and lovely furnished apartments in a magnificent garden and additionally a nice and perfect host, who always has an open ear to the wishes of its guests. We have stayed already three times in Kent's "paradise" and we love to come back and stay with you again.
Und für unsere deutschen Freunde: Aus beruflichen Gründen sind wir mehrmals im Jahr für einige Wochen in San Diego und suchten deshalb ein kleines "Zuhause", was wir gefunden haben, ist heute für uns einer der schönsten Orte der Welt: Drei sehr ansprechend möblierte Wohnungen, ein großartiger Garten und dazu ein wundervoller Gastgeber, der jederzeit ein offenes Ohr für die Wünsche seiner Gäste hat. Wir waren nun schon dreimal in Kents "Paradies" und kommen jederzeit gerne wieder. Gaby und Lutz Heinemann aus Düsseldorf

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 18, 2010   Date of arrival: July 13, 2009

We wanted to thank you again for your hospitality this past week. We had a great time -- very relaxing! The weather was perfect for us -- we were loathe to come back to 105 + degrees. Your home is beautiful -- and I am in love with the back yard! Thank you again, Lyndsay

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 18, 2010   Date of arrival: October 23, 2009

Back in New England almost a month during which time we've been buried deeper and deeper in snow and ice. Oh -- for the warm-er, sunnier, and green-er San Diego! Our week at your place was wonderful. What a fantastic job you've done decorating and outfitting it. WE like to think of it as an Oasis surrounded by city. We look forward to staying with you again sometime. We'll be in touch. Our best wishes, Julie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 18, 2010   Date of arrival: August 18, 2009

We have enjoyed the last two weeks more than we can express. You have a lovely home and we are so pleased that we were able to stay here. We love the neighborhood and your city and hope to return soon. Kind Regards,

Chris & Gary

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 18, 2010   Date of arrival: August 9, 2009

Hi Kent, I meant to write you sooner. We so enjoyed our visit to your lovely property. You truly feel as if you make yourself at home -- comfortable, private, wonderful yard, spotless, and well supplied. We will defnitely be back -- hopefully next year -- and will try to stay longer next time. Thank you so much for renting to us. Take care, Le Von and Don

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Testimonials from recent guests

Review submitted: December 8, 2009   Date of arrival: August 9, 2009

Hi Kent, I meant to write to you sooner. We so enjoyed our visit to your lovely home. You truly feel as if you make yourself at home here -- comfortable, private, nice yard, spotless, and well supplied. We will definitely be back -- hopefully next year -- and will try to stay longer next time. Thank you so much for renting to us. Take care, LeVon & Don (Healdsburg, CA)

You made my stay at 3442 very special indeed. I'm already looking forward to next Winter -- Warmest regards, Cynthia (Boyertown, PA)

Accommodations were awesome!!! You've got a wonderful place and I'd definitely reserve a spot at "Chateau Mississippi" if I ever find myself in San Diego again. So enjoyed the Coyote (Fox?) as part of our welcoming committee -- she made sure we were entertained & well protected...:) Thanks again, Craig (Eagan, Minn)

We have enjoyed the last two weeks more than we can express. You have a lovely home and we are so pleased that we were able to stay here. We love the neighborhood and your city. We hope to return soon. Kind regards, Chris and Gary (Steamboat Springs, CO)

Dear Kent, Back to New Hampshire almost a month during which time we've been buried deeper and deeper in snow and ice. Oh, for warm-er, sunny-ier, and green-er San Diego! Our week at your place was wonderful! What a fantastic job you've done decorating and outfitting it. We like to think of it as an Oasis surrounded by city. We look forward to staying with you again sometime. We'll be in touch. Our best wishes, Julie

We wanted to thank you againf or your hospitality this past week. We had a great time -- very relaxing! Thw weather was perfect for us -- we were loathe to come back to 105+ Your home is beautiful -- and I am in love with the back yard! Thank you again. Lyndsay (Mesa, AZ)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review