reviews for: listing #18127 - Davenport, Florida Townhome rental

Regal Palms Resort, Just 1Minute to Pools, Lazy River & Spa
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  Townhome
  • baths 
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Regal Palms Resort
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $59 - $95 /nt
    $595 - $665 /wk
    $2,380 - $2,660 /mth

sort by:

Welchs review

Review submitted: July 4, 2014   Date of arrival: June 22, 2014

Very clean and neat we enjoyed our stay from June 22 to june 29. We will be back in the future, the only problem is the stove has two burners in the front that doesn't work but it's not a big issue. It's a very short walk to the pool and the kids loved the resort we will be returning next year and hopefully this property will be available again. Thank you the Welch family

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Thanks, the burners were just loose, as inspected by our repairman.
We urge all guests to call our manager immediately with any such problem, especially problems that are hard to discover by the inspector before guest's check-in.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice home,nice waterpark

Review submitted: May 5, 2014   Date of arrival: March 5, 2014

Really excellent home! It was clean (I am a clean freak), spacious and close to pools.
We enjoyed it all.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you very much for your positive review, that doesn't need more comments. You will be always welcomed back in the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

great location for kids to goto pool

Review submitted: May 1, 2014   Date of arrival: April 18, 2014

Great place
easy walking distance to pool for kids!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you very much for your short, but clear positive review. The same day, when you checked-in, another renter checked-out. His review was very negative and he evaluated his stay in this home just with one *, as you can see below. I am glad, that my response to his review is confirmed to be right.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

My wife will never forgive me!!

Review submitted: April 15, 2014   Date of arrival: April 11, 2014

Very poor property. Bathrooms were not clean (hair and mold) and the air conditioning system does not keep up with the heat. Sleeping in your own sweat is not the way to spend your vacation. We cannot eat anything made in the kitchen due to the poor condition of the equipment. This property is run down. The pool area is dirty and only half way through the week and the pool has been closed as we have seen at least 2 floaters (in 3 days).

Owners response: Renters always have a choice to rent a house per their criteria. Owners of the rental properties very seldom have a chance to eliminate wrong renters from their bookings. Fortunately. only about 5% of tourists cause a "pain in the owner's neck". At their check-in the rental unit must be in a perfect condition, at their check-out they leave the house very messy and are still complaining about the small things. They are not ashamed to ask their low rental fee to be returned. During the booking process we advise all guests to report to our management any problem they discover at the arrival or during their stay. On the refrigerator's door in the kitchen is a detailed instruction with the manager's name and his phone number. Our units are inspected twice (by the maintenance supervisor and the inspector) for all new guests. If some problem is still overlooked, guests may ask the manager to fix it immediately. - Our tenant, who wrote this review, notified our manager, that he found hairs in bathrooms and that the CAC is not sufficiently cooling. Our manager immediatelly sent the cleaning lady to fix the problem, but she was not allowed to enter the house, somebody was home, but nobody opened the door. The following day she was allowed to verify the complaint. There were a couple of hairs only in one bathroom (may or may not have been from the previous guest) and a small stain on one shower curtain, that came out in 10 seconds with bleach. - In regard to the CAC, our technician found that the air condition was working, inside temperature on the second floor was at 73 degrees F. The same day evening the guest called, that the temperature is rising again to upper 70 degrees. Next day our AC engineer added freon to the cooling system to boost the cooling. It completely fixed the problem. This guest never explained to us what kitchen equipment caused, that he was unable to eat anything made in our kitchen. - The quality of the water in the resort swimming pools is continuously monitored. If needed, the pool is closed for a short time, while the water is under the special cleaning treatment. However, at least one pool is always open.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Beautiful Resort

Review submitted: March 24, 2014   Date of arrival: March 14, 2014

This was a very secure clean property. The pool area was fabulous. We really enjoyed our time and the house was extremely roomy.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for your positive review. The satisfied guest is our goal.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We hope to return!

Review submitted: October 4, 2013   Date of arrival: September 22, 2013

We had a very nice stay at your townhome. Washcloths were not really a big issue, just unexpected. And of course, we did not realize that we didn't have washcloths until bath time for the children Sunday night.
But again, we did enjoy our stay and hope to return!
Thank you,
Crystal

Owner's response: Thank you for your positive review. Following is an explanation of my management company in regard to missing wash cloths.
"The list that we provide is as follows: Toilet Roll per holder, Kitchen towel, Tissue box, Hand soap, Coffee, Box of washing detergent, Dishwasher tablet. Obviously the homes have the linens provided and we like to have 16 bath towels and 8 hand towels in the 4 bed houses also. Pretty much all management companies have stopped providing wash cloths now for hygiene reasons and what they get used for………..we were finding we had to buy new after virtually every stay so we have a note in our welcome book and towel signage that they are no longer provided."

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Great place !!!!

Review submitted: September 30, 2013   Date of arrival: September 12, 2013

Our family loved this townhouse. Very spacious and clean. We all loved the swimming/lazy pool. Only 15 mins from the parks. We will definitely come back here and recommend to all our family and friends.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the kind words. We are glad you had a nice vacation.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Good Times

Review submitted: September 9, 2013   Date of arrival: August 24, 2013

My family of 5 ( including 3 boys, ages 20,18, &13 ) just got back from a vacation at 349 Verona Ave at Regal Palms Resort....we all had a fantastic time. This is our second time at Regal Palms and this time was even better than the last. The townhouse listing description and photos were accurate and we found the unit spotless when we arrived. Contrary to other reviews, the beds were all very comfortable and there was no smell of smoke. The resort staff were all very friendly and accommodating and the grounds were kept immaculate. We would definitely recommend this unit and resort to anyone and we would absolutely stay there again. The resort was close to the attractions we visited, ie. Epcot and Animal Kingdom and there are so many excellent restaurants close by as well as shopping.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at our town home and the Regal Palms Resort. We really appreciate your wonderful and objective comments about our home. Looking forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

NO PROBLEM WITH MATTRESSES, they are brand new now

Review submitted: June 6, 2013   Date of arrival: April 6, 2013

Early this year some our guests were complaining, that mattresses in our home at 349 Verona Ave, are not comfortable. Our on site management didn't see this problem, but after we received more complaints in this matter, we changed management and the new manager immediately corrected this problem. Unfortunately, recently we are getting many inquiries with questions about these mattresses. They are brand new now and comfortable.

Helpful votes: 13 / 14

 

JD

Review submitted: March 18, 2013   Date of arrival: March 9, 2013

Condo was clean, but not very comfortable. Mattresses in every bedroom needed replacing years ago, as well as pillows. Ditto couch and loveseat, since the springs are coming through.
Pools were very nice, clean and well maintained. Property well maintained and very pretty. Would stay again, but would pick a different unit.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: We are very sensitive to comments of our guests. We were surprised receiving first complaint about mattresses. We expected, that our management company, that was preparing beds for new guests, will recommend to replace uncomfortable mattresses or any other items. But our guests were first, who told us about this problem. Because we also observed more complaints about cleanliness, we changed our management company. A new manager immediately corrected all problems. Recent guests told us, that they are comfortable with brand new mattresses and no more complaints are coming. This unit is very popular in Regal Palms again.

Helpful votes: 7 / 9

 

familyoffive

Review submitted: March 10, 2013   Date of arrival: February 7, 2013

Resort facilities are very good and we enjoyed all the activities including pool,lazy river and water slide.House was overall in good condition if a bit dated. Cleaning issues included alot of hair and "dust bunnies" in corners of the bathrooms. Our biggest problem was the condition of the mattresses. As a group (5 in total) we all had the same complaint that the beds were extremely uncomfortable. As a result of this we will not return to this property unless some changes are made. Would also find it difficult to recommend to anyone I know.

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Awesome family vacation!!

Review submitted: March 2, 2013   Date of arrival: February 22, 2013

We were four adults and two children under 6, the townhouse was amazing for the price we paid! The resort was amazing!, Loved the lazy river and slide. We had an amazing time and plan to return next year!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Regal palms

Review submitted: February 11, 2013   Date of arrival: December 27, 2012

Excellent experience! The home was clean and spacious and more than we expected. The water park was great. Our kids actually asked to leave Disney world to go back to the pool!

Thank you!

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

No Sleep

Review submitted: December 30, 2012   Date of arrival: December 22, 2012

Beds were some of the worst we have slept on. Outside noise from car traffic going over grates was enough to wake us from our sleep. The staff was hardworking, but clearly this place was understaffed and overworked which affects the end product. The home itself was in nice condition, and clean. Lower level bedroom is nice for those not able to do stairs. Nice to have all of those bathrooms! We enjoyed the location to Epcot, Airport, etc. Grocery store, liquor store and restaurants all available within two blocks.

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: Thank you for your notes. Your complaint about mattresses is the first one we received. We will not wait for the second complaint, the bad mattresses will be replaced.
In regard to the street grate, we got the following response from the Regal Palms management:
"The drain covers will be dealt with on behalf of the HOA. There is a project set in the not too distant future to lift the covers and add a rubber strip or silicone or both."

Helpful votes: 5 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

I was amazed

Review submitted: December 3, 2012   Date of arrival: November 20, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in your home the week of Thanksgiving. There were six of us: my husband and I, our son, daughter-in-law and two grandsons ages 12 and 16. The home was large enough for all of us to have our privacy when needed. I was amazed at how clean the house was and how neat the grounds were. There was no trash or anything else on the ground. It was also very quiet, even with all the people staying in the resort.

Ours grandsons expecially liked the pool and other activities that were available. The restaurant was quite good and reasonably priced. We will definitely stay in your home again.
Carol B.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Smoking outside only, please!

Review submitted: December 3, 2012   Date of arrival: November 8, 2012

1. Overall the experience was good.
2. The pool and club house facilities were great, the unit was very spacious and the price was very good.
3. When we checked in and first entered the unit there was an overpowering smell of what I think was carpet cleaner/deodorizer/air freshener of some kind. It was pretty bad. We had to open all the windows and turned on the fans and it still took a few hours to clear out. I thought the unit was non-smoking which may have been an oversight on my part. If you don’t allow smoking I can tell you for sure people smoke in it and the people right before us definitely smoked. If you do allow smoking, that’s my oversight and I will stay at a different unit next time. The smell of stale smoke was obvious and in particular the upstairs bedroom with twins (on left) was really bad. The bed sheets reeked of smoke and we ended up moving our kids after the first night to the other room which was a little bit better.
Overall, we had fun and the unit was a good value for the price.
Joe W.

Owner's response:
Hi Joe,
Thanks for your detailed feedback. I'm glad to hear that overall your stay was enjoyable.
This is supposed to be a strictly non-smoking unit. I was not aware that people had been smoking in the home. It is against our rules. We will check into this and see what can be done to remove the smoke smell out of the home. Thanks for bringing this situation to our attention.
Sincerely,
Peter Havranek, Booking Coordinator

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Smoke outside only!

Review submitted: December 3, 2012   Date of arrival: November 8, 2011

1. Overall the experience was good.
2. The pool and club house facilities were great, the unit was very spacious and the price was very good.
3. When we checked in and first entered the unit there was an overpowering smell of what I think was carpet cleaner/deodorizer/air freshener of some kind. It was pretty bad. We had to open all the windows and turned on the fans and it still took a few hours to clear out. I thought the unit was non-smoking which may have been an oversight on my part. If you don’t allow smoking I can tell you for sure people smoke in it and the people right before us definitely smoked. If you do allow smoking, that’s my oversight and I will stay at a different unit next time. The smell of stale smoke was obvious and in particular the upstairs bedroom with twins (on left) was really bad. The bed sheets reeked of smoke and we ended up moving our kids after the first night to the other room which was a little bit better.
Overall, we had fun and the unit was a good value for the price.
Joe W.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very coveniently located

Review submitted: December 1, 2012   Date of arrival: November 26, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at this Verona house. The home was spacy and clean, the resort excellent. Nex year I will be back.
Frank H.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, tourists without a car

Owners response: This home is really popular for its neatness and proximity to pools and a club house. Many our guests are returning back every year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The unit was good value

Review submitted: November 30, 2012   Date of arrival: November 8, 2012

Overall, we had fun and the unit was a good value for the price.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay ...

Review submitted: November 30, 2012   Date of arrival: November 20, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in your home the week of Thanksgiving. There were six of us: my husband and I, our son, daughter-in-law and two grandsons ages 12 and 16. The home was large enough for all of us to have our privacy when needed. I was amazed at how clean the house was and how neat the grounds were. There was no trash or anything else on the ground. It was also very quiet, even with all the people staying in the resort.
Ours grandsons expecially liked the pool and other activities that were available. The restaurant was quite good and reasonably priced. We will definitely stay in your home again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

They are thinking of renting again

Review submitted: November 9, 2012   Date of arrival: October 30, 2012

Just wanted to send a quick email. We are having a great time! I have a bunch of family in Florida, and they came to visit us today. They loved it here! We are thinking of renting again next year. Do you have any other townhouses in the resort? I am not sure, we may need 2 units, possibly a 3 and a 4 bedroom?

Thanks- Jamie

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

It was great

Review submitted: November 9, 2012   Date of arrival: October 30, 2012

Overall, I would say it was great. The amenities were great, the resort and rooms clean. I enjoyed the pool area, and my son, who is 5, enjoyed the arcade.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great stay

Review submitted: September 7, 2012   Date of arrival: August 23, 2012

We had a great stay. We were very happy.
David F.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Condo was great

Review submitted: August 27, 2012   Date of arrival: August 13, 2012

Our stay was good. The Condo was great. I would Rent from you again. Thought price for home was also very good.

Thanks so much Evelyn

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Your unit will be the first we inquire about.

Review submitted: March 11, 2012   Date of arrival: February 19, 2012

Thank you for renting your unit to us. We truly enjoyed our stay at Regal Palms. The weather was outstanding. It's the warmest we've ever had during Winter break. We especially enjoyed how close the unit was to the pool. Frank told us about the free long distance phone which was a nice touch. Everything was in perfect working order.
If we stay at Regal Palms next year, your unit will be the first we inquire about.
Sincerely,
Steve

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 16, 2011   Date of arrival: April 4, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Regal Palms and thanks for the incredible weather!!!!!!! The rental home was great except that both safes were non-functional when we arrived and it took a few hours to get a replacement safe.
Location of the home we had was perfect(3 minute walk to the pool, hard to beat that)
The home was clean and spacious. The only negative comment i would make was that there should have been a few more essentials available such as : more than 1 tea towel; some dish cloths and even 1 roll of paper towels or napkins to get the guests started; a clock in the living area of the house. These are little things but essential even on holidays.
Everyone at the Palms were friendly and eager to help if you had any questions.
A wonderful experience and we would not hesitate to recommend to family and friends and we hope to return again becaus our grand kids enjoyed it so much.
I should have also mentioned that it was really great to have a shopping centre so close by with a great grocery store; ice cream parlour and restaurant!!!!!!
Thank you.
Fran and Denis B.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 9, 2011   Date of arrival: April 20, 2011

We greatly enjoyed our time at your townhouse. It was very clean and had everything we needed to unwind at the end of a busy day. The facility was very good for our relaxing time. A BBQ at the house would have been an asset. We are coming back in November, is Verona 1 on the other side of the street with the yard closest to pool?

Thanks again for a wonderful place to stay,

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 22, 2011   Date of arrival: March 5, 2011

We had a fantastic time at Regal Palms. Our overall experience was wonderful - including the weather. We loved the pool area, tiki bar, outdoor activites, contests, karaoke, d.j. and volleyball area. We had a great time and are currently waiting for the 2011 - 2012 school calendar because we may want to book again for next March. I just need to finalize the dates. Thank you so much!
Cheryl

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 8, 2011   Date of arrival: November 25, 2009

... we stayed in this town home the week of Thanksgiving 2009 and we loved it!!! We would like to stay April3-10, 2011. Are these dates available?

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 16, 2011   Date of arrival: January 6, 2011

In order to help us maintain our high standards and to discover any possible areas that may need improvement, we would appreciate if you could take a minute to answer a few quick questions about your rental experience:

1. Taking into account both the home and the resort facilities, how would you evaluate your overall experience during your stay? A: EXELLENT

2. What aspects did you particularly enjoy? A: CLOSE PROXIMITY TO CLUB HOUSE - POOL.

3. Is there anything you feel could be improved? A: NO. SPECIAL THANKS TO MANAGER ON DUTY WHEN I CHECKED IN. OSCAR?? Very HELPFUL AND FRIENDLY.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great value for the money!

Review submitted: April 30, 2008   Date of arrival: April 19, 2008

The townhouse was immaculate when we arrived. The layout was very convenient and big! The only thing is that the coffee maker did not work when we arrived but the maintenance department at Regal Palms promptly fixed it. The kids loved the pool. The location, however was a little more distant from Disney than we expected. The commute took 20-25 minutes, depending on traffic. That was the only thing that bothered us. The townhome itself was beautiful and very well taken care of. It was definitely a great value for the money. We would definitely recommend it to our friends.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review