reviews for: listing #18132 - Crescent Beach, Florida Cottage rental

The Crescent Moon
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Butler Beach
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $85 - $100 /nt
    $550 - $700 /wk
    $2,000 - $2,500 /mth

sort by:

Perfect little getaway!

Review submitted: May 9, 2013   Date of arrival: May 9, 2013

This is the perfect little beach cottage! If you are on a budget, like me, and need to get away this is your place!! My husband and I just arrived this morning and fell in love immediately. The owner Martha is very quick to respond to inquiries and more than accommodating! This place is perfect for the couple that wants to run away to the beach. So cute! Love the jasmine covering the patio fence.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Owners response: And who doesn't want to runaway to the beach!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Ideal Accommodations

Review submitted: August 23, 2012   Date of arrival: August 12, 2012

We had a wonderful vacation and staying at The Crescent Moon made it perfect. The Cottage is nicely furnished with HDTV, kitchen ,patio and too many things to mention. It's 1 block from the beach and you don't have to cross any streets. All the neighbors are friendly, and the kids loved the Taco Shop for lunch. We would definitely return to the Crescent Moon.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Owners response: Yes, no roads to cross on your short stroll to the beach!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

One of the cutest places!

Review submitted: July 7, 2012   Date of arrival: June 22, 2012

We had a wonderful time during our stay. The cottage was great. Very clean, cozy and well supplied. One of the cutest places we've stayed at and in a really good location. The beach was great and St. Augustine was amazing. We will definately be back and hopefully soon.
Jason & Lucy, Ormond Beach, FL

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Warm homecoming !

Review submitted: July 7, 2012   Date of arrival: June 22, 2012

We have vacationed in St. Augustine several times because it's one of our favorite places. Until now, we have not roomed anywhere two times in a row. We will definitely be staying at the Crescent Moon again because we feel we have found a warm homecoming there. Everything you can think of is available and thoughtfully provided. Martie is always friendly and a pleasure to deal with. We have already shared with our friends the wonderful experience of our stay and recommend it to all our friends and family. Tropical Storm Debby was the only downfall but we still went to the beach - even in the rain! What a lovely place!!
Tracy Hart, Lakeland, FL

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful!

Review submitted: July 19, 2011   Date of arrival: July 14, 2011

We had a fantastic stay in this quaint little cottage just a hop and a skip from the beautiful Atlantic. The cottage was well-equipped and just perfect for us to have a nice, comfortable getaway. Everything is exactly as advertised. It's a perfect location for a quiet, cozy, relaxing stay. Will definitely stay again.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Yes, the place is recommended exactly as the reviewer has stated. Perfect!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect

Review submitted: July 13, 2010   Date of arrival: July 5, 2010

"The house is so sweet. Lots of little things make big differences. The lighting, the back porch, I LOVE the kitchen. The Living room is a cozy place to read. We thought we would mind not being able to see the beach, but we sure didn't! The neighborhood is great and the neighbors are friendly.
On our last day we went to the beach early and a pod of dolphins came and swam around us. They were in the surf and came within five feet of us. Popped out of the water, and looked us over! Very cool. Turtles in the water and the beach too.
The beach is very nice as well.
We will miss the little house. It felt like home. We will surely be back in the future."

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: I hope you will come back this year! I have a special of $100 a night for July and August 2012!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect

Review submitted: July 13, 2010   Date of arrival: July 5, 2010

The house is so sweet. Lots of little things make big differences. The lighting, the back porch, I LOVE the kitchen. The Living room is a cozy place to read. We thought we would mind not being able to see the beach, but we sure didn't! The neighborhood is great and the neighbors are friendly.
On our last day we went to the beach early and a pod of dolphins came and swam around us. They were in the surf and came within five feet of us. Popped out of the water, and looked us over! Very cool. Turtles in the water and the beach too.
The beach is very nice as well.
We will miss the little house. It felt like home. We will surely be back in the future.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Crescent Moon beach cottage - St. Augustine, FL

Review submitted: March 17, 2010   Date of arrival: January 16, 2010

The "Crescent Moon" is very accessible: Beach (one block away); St. Augustine (15 min. drive). All on one floor. Everything is provided - I only bought groceries (at Publick's, north on A1A). Cable TV, DVD player, and Internet access were there (BYOL: bring your own laptop), even a carport for your car. Nice private patio, with shrubbery, grill, and outdoor furniture. Quiet street, nice neighbors.
I stayed at the "Crescent Moon" from 1/16/10 to 1/28/10. Northern FL was having a cold winter - average daytime temperature seemed to be around 55. NO SNOW! Was able to walk the beach most mornings. Beautiful beach, silky sand.
Food/Activities: Walk to "Finnegan's Wake" for inexpensive breakfast and lunch buffets; or, drive south to "South Beach Inn" - good food with ocean view. St. Augustine is a treasure: Tour "The Oldest Home" for the strange story of the occupation of Spanish/British. Tour "Lightner Museum" to see beautiful Victorian items. Shop St. George St: the "Art Glass" store and "Market to Market" were my favorites. Have breakfast at the "Bunnery" and you MUST! eat at "Pizzalley" (get a sample and ask for a trivia question) - go all the way back to the "Chablis Room". Their "Garbage Can" pizza is the best pizza I've EVER had! (Sit at the bar facing the kitchen and watch the chefs in action (especially handsome Shawn)). For dessert - gelato at "Cafe de Hidalgo" from the "Gelato Nazi Lady" (you'll see what I mean (lol)). Night Life: A few miles north of the "Crescent Moon" is the "Oasis" - good food, lively crowd, great live music (get their rewards card - money back on food purchases). In St. Augustine: Scarlett O'Hara's - great coconut shrimp, lively crowd. Annie O'Malley's - Thursday night trivia game, lots of fun, friendly folks, good food. Trade Winds - I was told this was the closest thing St. Augustine had to a "biker bar", and, it did not disappoint. Always had the best live music. No food - but a bartender who will remember what you drink whenever you go there!

All in all - a great vacation! AND NO SNOW !!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: What a great review. Look at all the fabulous recommended restaurants and places to go! I've been to some myself but this is wonderful! Thanks, Martie,owner of the Crescent Moon.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

VEry quaint and quiet getaway.

Review submitted: February 9, 2010   Date of arrival: July 7, 2009

We had a wonderful time at The Crescent Moon! It is a very quaint and quiet getaway. The neighbors are friendly as well which is very nice. Martie is very accommodating and actually called during our stay to make sure everything was going well. It's a refreshing change to get service like that these days. Keep up the good work Martie! Hopefully, we'll see you again soon!

-Kenny & Mary Kelly, Jacksonville, FL

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lots of extras!

Review submitted: February 9, 2010   Date of arrival: June 27, 2009

Truly a home away from home! This is the second year in a row that we have chosen to spend our vacation at the Crescent Moon, and it will be our vacation spot everytime! It's private. It's clean. It's pretty! And it's sooooooo close to the beach! We love it! Thank you, Martie, for all the extras that you have provided to make our stay comfortable and fun (boogie boards, lounge chairs, grill, etc., etc.).

-Dan, Pam, & Tim Spencer, Spring Lake, M

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

It is a treasure!

Review submitted: February 9, 2010   Date of arrival: June 22, 2009

Martie, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Cresent Moon. The beach was beautiful! It was great to visit St. Augustine again, we have been visiting there since 1988. We have stayed in beach houses before, some alot fancier, but none of them had the feeling of peaceful contentment that this one had. We felt right at home, I could have stayed there forever. I loved the privacy. The neighborhood was great, very quiet. I felt safe. We tried out several of the restaurants that you suggested and they were excellent.
Thanks Martie for a wonderful vacation. We plan on coming back every chance we get. I almost don't want to recommend it, just keep it to myself because it is a treasure!
We have been telling our friends about our stay and they said it sounds like just what they are looking for.

-Anita Spangler, Middlesboro, Ky

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We would stay again in a heartbeat!

Review submitted: February 9, 2010   Date of arrival: June 11, 2009

Stay was great...the perfect little house by the beach. Homeowner was wonderful and helpful in making us comfortable, we would stay again in a heartbeat!

-Chris Tanglos, Baltimore, MD

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A stone throw from a most beautiful beach.

Review submitted: February 9, 2010   Date of arrival: April 14, 2009

"Crescent Moon is a comfortable beach house for
those who prefer privacy and a peaceful
environment. It features a lovely bedroom of
generous proportions as well as an intimate little
patio great for relaxing with a good book. The
cottage's location a stone throw from a most
beautiful beach and yet close to urban type
shopping, is ideal."


-Reinder & Nellie DeVris, Canada

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

No hindrances for the handicapped or disabled!

Review submitted: February 9, 2010   Date of arrival: April 3, 2009

A half a block from AIA and a half a block from the Atlantic is nestled a little piece of Paradise. The Crescent Moon is a delightful venue conveniently located to restaurants, shopping and beachcombing or just staying put and relaxing. I am a writer and found the patio a tranquil place to sit and let my creative juices flow. The place has friendly, quiet and considerate neighbors and everything one needs to have a very comfortable, relaxing time. It is wi-fi accessible and has a new flat screen TV, all of the beach accessoried one could need ( wagon, chairs, etc.) This is a wonderful place for seniors ( My 80 year old mom stayed with me) it has no stairs, elevators, step-downs or other hindrances for the handicapped or disabled. This is truly a vacation venue that anyone can come, take their shoes off, and not worry about anything except when is the best time to go walk the beach, fall asleep on the comfy lounger on the porch, or watch the crescent moon rise directly overhead. Most enjoyable and user-friendly. I'm going back as soon as I can!

-Monte Adkison, Ocala,Fl

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

All of the comforts of home!

Review submitted: February 9, 2010   Date of arrival: March 21, 2009

We've had the wonderful opportunity to stay at Crescent Moon several different weekends and we love it! It's a charming place with all the comforts of home in a great location - just 1 block from the broad white beaches of Crescent Beach. We love walking the beach and sitting out on one of the two patios amongst the jasmine and bouganvilla. Thanks, Martie, for sharing it with us. We would recommend it to anyone! It's a great place!

-Jim and Ervin Bullock, Ocala, FL

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Dolphins playing off the coast!!

Review submitted: February 9, 2010   Date of arrival: February 6, 2009

Martie,
We had a glorious time. Walked on the beach for
miles every day. Brought home some beautiful
shells. The best treasure was a sand dollar about 6
inches across. The man at the shell place across the
street told us how to take care of it. We got to see
the dolphins playing just off the coast near the
house and again off the coast at Marineland as well
as those in the swimming pool. Traveling A1A was
very easy and it didn't take us long to become
familiar with the neighborhood. The Sea Oats cafe
that you recommended was wonderful. So many
places to eat that were wonderful. I didn't cook
once the entire time. Now that is a vacation! We did
a lot of the tourist stuff and enjoyed everything.
St. Augustine has become my new favorite place
and we hope to return again. We met some of the
nicest people. Some were tourists like ourselves but
more importantly locals. I can't tell you how lucky
we feel to have found your home and to have it
available to us for this trip. It is a very comfortable
and cozy home and close to everything. Even the
drive into old St. A was not difficult at all. At the
end of the day to return there to peace and quiet
and miles and miles of beach to enjoy was
unbelievable. It was hard to leave and return to
reality and 29 degree weather.
I cannot thank you enough for everything. Have a
wonderful 2009.
Mike and Susan Liggett 1/1/09 El Dorado, KS

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Got the tan!!

Review submitted: February 9, 2010   Date of arrival: April 14, 2009

We had a delightful stay at the Crescent Moon for the month of March, 2009.
The cottage is very clean with all the conveniences. The hostess had even thought of providing toothbrushes! We were very pleased to catch the sun in the two private patios - front and side.

It is just a minute's walk over the dunes to the beach. The beach is very broad and clean, and you can see for miles. That there are few people using it makes it that much more appealing. Just perfect for walking and/or jogging.

In addition, the cottage is close to all the amenities and attractions of St Augustine.

We had a truly pleasing month and have the tan to show it :)

-George K, Ottawa, Ontario

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: July 8, 2009   Date of arrival: July 8, 2009

We had a wonderful time at The Crescent Moon! It is a very quaint and quiet getaway. The neighbors are friendly as well which is very nice. Martie is very accommodating and actually called during our stay to make sure everything was going well. It's a refreshing change to get service like that these days. Keep up the good work Martie! Hopefully, we'll see you again soon!

Owners response: Thank you so much for the lovely comment. I hope you will return. Martie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 27, 2009   Date of arrival: June 27, 2009

Truly a home away from home! This is the second year in a row that we have chosen to spend our vacation at the Crescent Moon, and it will be our vacation spot everytime! It's private. It's clean. It's pretty! And it's sooooooo close to the beach! We love it! Thank you, Martie, for all the extras that you have provided to make our stay comfortable and fun (boogie boards, lounge chairs, grill, etc., etc.).

Owners response: Pam, Dan and Tim (their adorable son) are my first return vacationers! Please make it your summer retreat for a long time!
Martie McLean

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 22, 2009   Date of arrival: June 22, 2009

Martie, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Cresent Moon. The beach was beautiful! It was great to visit St. Augustine again, we have been visiting there since 1988. We have stayed in beach houses before, some alot fancier, but none of them had the feeling of peaceful contentment that this one had. We felt right at home, I could have stayed there forever. I loved the privacy. The neighborhood was great, very quiet. I felt safe. We tried out several of the restaurants that you suggested and they were excellent.Thanks Martie for a wonderful vacation. We plan on coming back every chance we get. I almost don't want to recommend it, just keep it to myself because it is a treasure! We have been telling our friends about our stay and they said it sounds like just what they are looking for.

Owners response: Thank you so much for the lovely comments. Your review reflects my feelings about "The Crescent Moon" as well. You are always welcome. Martie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 11, 2009   Date of arrival: June 11, 2009

Stay was great...the perfect little house by the beach. Homeowner was wonderful and helpful in making us comfortable, we would stay again in a heartbeat!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 15, 2009   Date of arrival: April 15, 2009

I so enjoyed my stay at this owner's previous property that I decided to rent again, this time at Crescent Moon. This house is quaint, historic and quite a retreat. Just steps away from the beach, I was able to jog every morning by the beautiful blue water, and sleep to the roll of the waves. I really appreciated the wireless internet and when I inquired about a barbeque, the owner went out and purchased one! Class act.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 14, 2009   Date of arrival: April 14, 2009

"Crescent Moon is a comfortable beach house for those who prefer privacy and a peaceful environment. It features a lovely bedroom of generous proportions as well as an intimate little patio great for relaxing with a good book. The cottage's location a stone throw from a most beautiful beach and yet close to urban type shopping, is ideal."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 14, 2009   Date of arrival: April 14, 2009

We had a delightful stay at the Crescent Moon for the month of March, 2009. The cottage is very clean with all the conveniences. The hostess had even thought of providing toothbrushes! We were very pleased to catch the sun in the two private patios - front and side. It is just a minute's walk over the dunes to the beach. The beach is very broad and clean, and you can see for miles. That there are few people using it makes it that much more appealing. Just perfect for walking and/or jogging. In addition, the cottage is close to all the amenities and attractions of St Augustine. We had a truly pleasing month and have the tan to show it :)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 3, 2009   Date of arrival: April 3, 2009

A half a block from AIA and a half a block from the Atlantic is nestled a little piece of Paradise. The Crescent Moon is a delightful venue conveniently located to restaurants, shopping and beachcombing or just staying put and relaxing. I am a writer and found the patio a tranquil place to sit and let my creative juices flow. The place has friendly, quiet and considerate neighbors and everything one needs to have a very comfortable, relaxing time. It is wi-fi accessible and has a new flat screen TV, all of the beach accessoried one could need ( wagon, chairs, etc.) This is a wonderful place for seniors ( My 80 year old mom stayed with me) it has no stairs, elevators, step-downs or other hindrances for the handicapped or disabled. This is truly a vacation venue that anyone can come, take their shoes off, and not worry about anything except when is the best time to go walk the beach, fall asleep on the comfy lounger on the porch, or watch the crescent moon rise directly overhead. Most enjoyable and user-friendly. I'm going back as soon as I can!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 21, 2009   Date of arrival: March 21, 2009

We've had the wonderful opportunity to stay at Crescent Moon several different weekends and we love it! It's a charming place with all the comforts of home in a great location - just 1 block from the broad white beaches of Crescent Beach. We love walking the beach and sitting out on one of the two patios amongst the jasmine and bouganvilla. Thanks, Martie, for sharing it with us. We would recommend it to anyone! It's a great place!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 21, 2009   Date of arrival: March 21, 2009

We have had the chance to stay at Crescent Moon several different weekends and we love it! It's a charming place with all the comforts of home. We love walking the beach just a block from the house and sitting out on one of the two patios amongst the jasmine and bouganvillia. This is a great place. Thanks Martie for sharing it with us!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 1, 2009   Date of arrival: March 1, 2009

We stayed Jan & Feb at 5785 Rudolph Ave, St. Augustine, FL ("The Crescent Moon"). The beach house we rented was wonderful! Wish we would have stayed March also! There is everything you need in the beach house, you do not need to bring anything. There is a washer & dryer, a Dyson vacuum cleaner, a Shark sweeper, plenty of dishes, pots & pans, knives, grill, TV, video recorder, microwave, Magic Bullet blender, sheets, towels, and beach towels. There is a small court yard in back. It is fenced in and a wonderful place for our puppy to play! We were very happy here-It is only 1 and a half blocks to the ocean. I suggest anyone who needs a "get away" - come here!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 6, 2009   Date of arrival: February 6, 2009

Martie,We had a glorious time. Walked on the beach for miles every day. Brought home some beautiful shells. The best treasure was a sand dollar about 6 inches across. The man at the shell place across the street told us how to take care of it. We got to see the dolphins playing just off the coast near the house and again off the coast at Marineland as well as those in the swimming pool. Traveling A1A was very easy and it didn't take us long to become familiar with the neighborhood. The Sea Oats cafe that you recommended was wonderful. So many places to eat that were wonderful. I didn't cook once the entire time. Now that is a vacation! We did a lot of the tourist stuff and enjoyed everything.St. Augustine has become my new favorite place and we hope to return again. We met some of the nicest people. Some were tourists like ourselves but more importantly locals. I can't tell you how lucky we feel to have found your home and to have it available to us for this trip. It is a very comfortable and cozy home and close to everything. Even the drive into old St. A was not difficult at all. At the end of the day to return there to peace and quiet and miles and miles of beach to enjoy was unbelievable. It was hard to leave and return to reality and 29 degree weather.I cannot thank you enough for everything. Have a wonderful 2009.Mike and Susan Liggett 1/1/09 El Dorado, KS

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review