reviews for: listing #18138 - Galveston, Texas House rental

Mutineer Landing - Beachside! - Hot Tub, Gameroom, Garden!
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Pirate's Beach
  • sleeps  17
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $300 - $400 /nt
    $1,500 - $2,650 /wk

sort by:

Great Stay at Mutineer Landing

Review submitted: February 17, 2014   Date of arrival: December 15, 2013

All twelve of us enjoyed our stay. The place was clean and nicely appointed with porches on every level. We liked the simple accommodations. There is a TV and stereo in the living room and game room. The house has WiFi. The kitchen is well stocked and there are plenty of towels. There is plenty of room for everyone to sleep and enough bathrooms so it was restful and adequate for our group. We loved the privacy of the backyard and the outdoor hot tub spa. The weather was so nice that we spend most of our time at the beach or on the decks. This basic beach house is a good value.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Great Family Friendly Getaway!!!

Review submitted: March 25, 2014   Date of arrival: March 15, 2014

My boys and I had a great time over Spring Break! Even though the weather didn't cooperate, we explored the island during the day. Then, we came back to the beachhouse at night for easy dinners with the kids. And the house was big enough to have some family friends come over for dinner. We will definitely be back again and again!!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

The cat's meow

Review submitted: February 18, 2014   Date of arrival: November 27, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed the time spent at the house. We had our Thanksgiving there last year outside on the back patio. The photos are accurate representations and the house was easily and comfortably able to accommodate all of us. My nephews and my children had a ball with the bunk beds and my parents enjoyed the privacy of their own room with attached bath, as did my sister and her husband. I would come here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Just Right

Review submitted: February 12, 2014   Date of arrival: January 10, 2014

We were very pleased with the house, location and rental process. The house, weather, beach and ocean were great--just right for everyone in our group. Our stay was wonderful. What struck us immediately, was how spotlessly clean the house was. The decor was cheery and relaxing and just what a basic beach house should be - no frills but clean, comfortable and well equipped. The layout was perfect for us because everyone had their own bedroom and bathroom. Thank you for making your property available so our three generations could enjoy a weekend that will be well remembered.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Fantastic weekend!

Review submitted: February 5, 2014   Date of arrival: October 25, 2013

We visited from Boston Massachusetts and were pleasantly surprised by our Texas beach weekend. Our children and grandchildren enjoyed the home a lot. It was very close to the beach. The house has a cozy feeling but still allows many people to sleep in various arrangements and the four bathrooms really help. The house was clean and furnished well. The kitchen is modern and well equipped. We would recommend it to anyone. Though it was not a five star hotel, the price was right and it was very comfortable for our family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 

Great Stay with extended family

Review submitted: February 3, 2014   Date of arrival: January 17, 2014

We had three generations of our family together for a long weekend. We loved the house! The kids loved playing hide and seek throughout the house and garden and they loved the bunk room and game room just for them. The house was well equipped with dishes, wine glasses and linens. We barbecued every night and ate out on the deck so we could watch the sunset. Between the beach, the country club and the house we had a fabulous time. Thank you for letting us rent. We will certainly rent again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 

Not the Best Choice for Christmas

Review submitted: January 16, 2014   Date of arrival: December 22, 2013

The home is comfortable but I found the owner to be difficult. The contract is seven pages long and the prohibition of alcohol is not mentioned in it. It was only after I had paid the full amount that we got “no alcohol allowed” in the final instructions. The owner is also very strict about check-out time. The day after Christmas we served breakfast to 10 people, packed up all the gifts and were out the door by 10:30 (half hour past the 10:00 check-out time). We followed all of the owner’s requirements of leaving no food, bagging and taking out all trash, sweeping the floors, wiping down the countertops, taking all used bed linens and towels to the laundry room, and running the dish washer. One-fifth of our security deposit was not returned due to the half-hour-late check-out. If the cleaning crew had notified us that they had arrived, we would have let them in to start laundry, etc. I felt that the owner was being unreasonable. Also, if you rent in winter, be advised that the downstairs unit has only a space heater, which was inadequate in the very cold temperatures.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers

Owners response: We are glad you found the house comfortable. I sincerely apologize, unfortunately, alcohol cannot be legally served to teenagers at the house due to legal constraints. I am also sorry that you were charged for checking out later than the agreed upon time. Had you requested a later check-out we could have complied, but unfortunately, as we discussed, the cleaning crew charged us for the hour they stood waiting for your group to depart. Please rest assured that we try very hard to accommodate guest requests and make the experience at Mutineer Landing memorable. We are very pleased when we hear from the families who enjoy happy memories at the house and it saddens us that your experience was not as happy.

Helpful votes: 6 / 12

 

Wonderful stay!

Review submitted: November 14, 2013   Date of arrival: November 8, 2013

We had a wonderful stay. Thanks for sharing this gorgeous place where our family and friends could reconnect without distraction. The many beds, futons and bunks allow for a large group. The house has enough supplies in the kitchen to accommodate a really large group, even champagne glasses! The house is a short walk to the beach, even more beautiful under a clear starry night. The beach was quiet and we almost had it entirely to ourselves. The country club amenities, golf and pools, were great and very near. We loved the flexibility of the downstairs bunk room/game room, the hammock, fire pit, numerous balconies and decks for watching sunsets. We will certainly be renting again next year!

Helpful votes: 18 / 18

 

Roaches at draw of utensil ,noisy window AC , holes at window screen

Review submitted: November 5, 2013   Date of arrival: October 6, 2013

The property is not well maintained. The room at ground level smells mildew when you step in, after open
all the windows, the mosquitoes come in from the hole at the window screen. The window AC at the
room is very noisy. Found roaches at draw contains all the utensils in the kitchen.

Owners response: We have rented this house dozens of times with wonderful reviews from guests. I am very sorry we had an issue with your deposit and that resulted in this negative review. If you had let me know of any issues about the house upon arrival or during your stay, those issues would have been addressed immediately. It saddens me that you raised these issues after you departed and after the deposit issue arose. Please know that we do our best to respond to our guests and maintain the house in the desirable manner that you will read in all the other reviews from our guests over the years.

Helpful votes: 1 / 15

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Enjoyed our Stay

Review submitted: August 14, 2013   Date of arrival: August 4, 2013

I just want to let you know we enjoyed our stay. Plenty of linens and dishes. . . All the beach toys came in handy for our little ones. The area was nice and quiet, we enjoyed the deck and the yard. The beach was perfect, no problems for all our toddlers. Thank you for a lovely stay. . .We are unsure about dates for next year, but we are interested.

Helpful votes: 21 / 21

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

plenty of space for everyone

Review submitted: August 2, 2013   Date of arrival: May 11, 2012

There was plenty of space for everyone and enough privacy for those who needed it. The kitchen was well-equipped and a great place to fix and serve meals. The hot tub was a wonderful past time and the yard was just lovely. Very close to the beach, as well as the country club pool. It was in a nice neighborhood and very convenient to get to any place we wanted to visit in Galveston. We had a great time walking down to the beach at night with flashlights to see the Ghost Crab!

Helpful votes: 17 / 17

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Enjoyed stay

Review submitted: August 2, 2013   Date of arrival: August 12, 2012

We have thoroughly enjoyed our stay at your vacation home!

We really enjoyed our stay. Your home worked well for our family. With our sons living in Houston and Austin, vacationing in Galveston is a convenient place for us. We will likely repeat our vacation, and will definitely consider returning.

We treated your home with the same respect we would want for our own home. We trust you find your vacation home in better shape than when we arrived.

Helpful votes: 16 / 16

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great parent chaperoned after prom event

Review submitted: August 2, 2013   Date of arrival: April 19, 2013

Our group had a great time. The space worked well for us to have a large group of graduates celebrating prom. Everyone had space to spread out and enjoy the hot tub and fire pit. The house was great. The kitchen and baths had all the necessities. We would definitely stay again.

Helpful votes: 17 / 17

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Already booked our trip for next year!

Review submitted: August 2, 2013   Date of arrival: April 5, 2013

We had a great time!

We loved that we were all in one place and could hang out as a group. The group area and kitchen were great!

We had fun times hanging out together in the living room....I cant think of anything that would have made it better... Already booked our trip for next year! We had such a great experience. Loved the location and the house. We are planning on making this race and stay at the house a yearly ritual!

Helpful votes: 17 / 17

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great time!

Review submitted: May 30, 2013   Date of arrival: April 15, 2013

Our golfing group of ten ladies from the UK (plus one true Texas gal) had a great time at your house.

We had lots of fun and some great games of golf at both Galveston and Moody gardens.

Hope we will be back!

Thank you!

Helpful votes: 19 / 19

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks!

Review submitted: May 30, 2013   Date of arrival: March 31, 2013

Thanks for a great weekend at you beach house! Perfect weather, perfect location and a great family Easter celebration.

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful!

Review submitted: May 30, 2013   Date of arrival: September 15, 2012

We had a wonderful time. Thanks for allowing us to stay in your home. The house is beautiful and we enjoyed the relaxing weekend. Our mini holiday was a grand time.

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Enjoyed our vacation

Review submitted: May 30, 2013   Date of arrival: August 17, 2012

We enjoyed our vacation at your Beach Home. Our morning trips to the beach and family games around the table will be cherished memories.

We enjoyed seeing the dolphins when we took the ferry to the Bolivar Peninsula. I just wish August was not quite so hot!

Thanks for renting your vacation home!

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Weekend!

Review submitted: May 30, 2013   Date of arrival: November 22, 2012

We had a great weekend! The waves were great for boogie boarding and we had a lot of fun! We also had an awesome time at the country club pool. Lunch was amazing! The Olympia Grill probably has the best Greek food that I have ever tasted.

At night we watched great movies and enjoyed popcorn and snacks. For dinner we enjoyed very delicious Italian food from Mario's Ristorante. After a funny movie we made s'mores on the fire pit in the yard.

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect!

Review submitted: May 30, 2013   Date of arrival: May 18, 2013

Your home was perfect for our large family.

The beach was relaxing and the relaxing was surely needed.

We mainly enjoyed the beach and the house. Never got the opportunity to use the hot tub or the country club.

Thank you for renting out your home. We have many happy moments to cherish from this week!

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Enjoyed your house!

Review submitted: May 30, 2013   Date of arrival: July 29, 2012

We enjoyed your house, it worked for our family. Didn't use the hot tub but we went to the country club one evening and enjoyed the pool. The beach was wonderful. We enjoyed God's wonderful creation!
Thank you for renting out your home.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Easy and well worth the money

Review submitted: February 4, 2013   Date of arrival: October 13, 2012

We enjoyed staying close to the beach in a quiet neighborhood. We were glad to be able to stay in one house rather than splitting up into hotel rooms. Our favorite part was being able to drive down the street to the beach and the kids were able to feed the seagulls and walk in the ocean water.

The house was very well stocked with all the essentials for our trip. . . It was very easy to book, easy to find, clean and well kept, a pleasure working with the beach house owners, well worth the money, and would stay again if we were splitting between one or two more couples.

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a great time.

Review submitted: February 1, 2013   Date of arrival: August 12, 2012

WE had a great time.

Helpful votes: 11 / 12

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Set up of your home worked very well

Review submitted: February 1, 2013   Date of arrival: August 18, 2012

Yes, we had a great time. The set up of your home worked very well for our family. 3 full bathrooms and the outdoor shower were really nice since we were 3 couples then children. Proximity to the beach was good -- close enough to walk. The kitchen is well stocked -- which was great since we ate almost all of our meals at the house. The pac-n-play and high chair was a bonus.

The location and size of the home and the layout of the rooms worked well for our family.

We loved our vacation and tried to care for your home like we would want someone to care for our home if roles were reversed.

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you

Review submitted: July 11, 2012   Date of arrival: July 3, 2011

Thank you for the use of your beach house. We had a wonderful time. We walked on the beach, played on teh beach, fished and loads of other things. This vacation will be remembered for many years!

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great time!

Review submitted: July 11, 2012   Date of arrival: June 10, 2012

The weather behaved. We enjoyed the spacious house which had room for friends and extended family. Now we are ready to go home after this vacation!

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a Great Week!

Review submitted: July 11, 2012   Date of arrival: July 31, 2011

What a great week we had in your wonderful beach house! The layout of the house is great for a large family gathering. There is ample sleep space for everyone to spread out. It was also generously equipped with lots of conveniences including fun movies and lots of beach toys.

We rented a golf cart from Coastal Cruises for easy quick trips to teh beach, country club and general store across the street.

Our sons enjoyed having the game room to themselves.

Relaxed and refreshed!

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 

Wonderful Galveston Weekend Getaway

Review submitted: June 20, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

Mutineer Landing was a wonderful Galveston escape. Everything in the house was very well maintained. I think calling it Beachside is kind of a stretch, as it is too far to walk while carrying coolers, beach chairs and umbrellas. However, we truly enjoyed the experience. The price is fair, and everything seemed to be in working order. We did not use the hot tub, but it looked new. The beds were okay for a weekend stay, but they were not very comfortable.

We enjoyed the back porch and the balcony, as well as having several bathrooms.

We would most definitely come back again.

Helpful votes: 13 / 16

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks from the Canadian Ironmen! p. 2

Review submitted: April 17, 2012   Date of arrival: March 28, 2012

If we register again for that thriathlon, we will certainly look for this house.

People have to try one of the Restaurant near the beach, we really enjoy ''the Spot'', nice burger.

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks from the Canadian Ironmen! p. 1

Review submitted: April 17, 2012   Date of arrival: March 27, 2012

Thank you for this beautifull house. We really enjoy the house, the sleeping arrangement where amazing, I really enjoy the closet with all the shelves and towers, everything was clean and warm. The cleanliness was excellent, great general comfort level. The location is excellent, near the beach, very quiet street. Also, the space below the house was perfect for us to put our bike back togeter after the plane flight. We also use the storage room downstair and it was a great plus at this house.

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful time in Galveston

Review submitted: April 17, 2012   Date of arrival: April 11, 2012

We had a wonderful time in Galveston. Look forward to coming back and will probably try to rent your house again...it was very functional and a good fit for our group.

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great time in Galveston

Review submitted: February 9, 2012   Date of arrival: August 17, 2011

Our entire family, consisting of five grandchildren, and six adults, had a great time in Galveston. We spent a good majority of time at the beach, where all the kids had a blast.
The house worked out well, and was accomodating. Bedrooms were good, and bath quarters worked well.

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

AWESOME TIME

Review submitted: February 9, 2012   Date of arrival: January 2, 2012

Wished we had more time to relax and enjoy the house. Multi-floors and so many rooms to separate guys from girls. . . The house provides everything required for a large group to enjoy an extended stay on the island. We would definitely come again and appreciate you having made the decision to allow us to bring a group of college students studying in Galveston for week. Thank you for the great island experience.

Helpful votes: 16 / 16

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great house for folks to hang out and just relax!

Review submitted: February 9, 2012   Date of arrival: June 26, 2011

Everyone had a great time, ages 3 to 64. Was a 2 minutes’ walk to beach and 5 minute drive to main drag. The neighborhood and neighbors were all very nice. This was the first time for my 5 great nieces and one great nephew to go to the beach. We had birthday celebrations and just being able to spend family time was great. . . This is a great house for folks to hang out and just relax and enjoy what is most important, your family.

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

(continued)

Review submitted: February 9, 2012   Date of arrival: July 24, 2011

Every family had their own bedroom, plus the extra room off the 3rd floor for the teen girls, they loved having their own place. The house was exceptionally well equipped and we had no problem cooking/feeding everyone. The subdivision is really quiet, the walk to the beach is easy, or if we drove there was plenty of parking space. The beach front was beautiful and never crowded. We would definitely consider staying there again and highly recommend this house.

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We loved the beach house

Review submitted: February 9, 2012   Date of arrival: July 25, 2011

We loved the beach house and it was perfect for our 5 sibling family reunion. The colors and furniture were perfect for a beach house ambiance and was very spacious. The yard was beautifully decorated. We especially loved the outside balcony in the back of the house off the bedroom on the 2nd floor, we used it a lot in the evenings. We all loved the hot tub, especially the teens. ... (continued)

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We will be in touch for next year!

Review submitted: February 9, 2012   Date of arrival: November 4, 2011

Plenty of parking and beds as well as linens. We had a nice time grilling on the back deck Sat Night. We enjoyed our stay a lot. Everyone was happy with the house. We will be in touch for next year. Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Girl Stay at Mutineer Landing, November 10-13

Review submitted: February 9, 2012   Date of arrival: November 10, 2011

What we LOVED:
- Quick hot water and strong water pressure
- Kitchen well-stocked with dishes, cookware, and utensils
- Plenty of linens
- When you’re in the backyard, no one can enter house without you knowing (It’s a girl thing!)
- Floor plan is conducive to visiting with everyone
- Loved idea for massage therapist house call. . .
- Played some games one night, and it was a hoot!
- Proximity to Galveston proper
- Four whole bathrooms — Yahoo!

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 1, 2011   Date of arrival: March 23, 2011

We had a great time. The grill, the hot tub and the kitchen were amazing. Not to mention the weather was really in our favor. For our needs, the living room set-up was good since it was a time to talk. Also the tub, the outdoor eating area, and multiple rooms were nice too. Thanks

Helpful votes: 8 / 10

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 1, 2011   Date of arrival: February 28, 2011

Most definately had a nice time! The bathroom and sleeping arrangements worked well for our group. We LOVED the large deck downstairs. Just sitting aroung playing cards in the back yard while the kids played in the yard. Our time at the house was very relxing but we were very busy with Mardi Gras weekend and wish we had more time to just hang out at the house and the beach.

I added a review to the website, or at least I tried to. It was great for a large group with people of all ages.

Helpful votes: 8 / 9

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 1, 2011   Date of arrival: February 28, 2011

Most definately had a nice time! The bathroom and sleeping arrangements worked well for our group. We LOVED the large deck downstairs. Just sitting aroung playing cards in the back yard while the kids played in the yard. Our time at the house was very relxing but we were very busy with Mardi Gras weekend and wish we had more time to just hang out at the house and the beach.

I added a review to the website, or at least I tried to. It was great for a large group with people of all ages.

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 1, 2011   Date of arrival: May 16, 2011

Had a great time!

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 1, 2011   Date of arrival: April 1, 2011

Location was great – convenient to the beach and not too far from town.

Kitchen was well equipped and we were able to find what we needed fairly easily.

Thanks!

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Great House for a large group

Review submitted: March 1, 2011   Date of arrival: February 25, 2011

We just got back from a wonderful weekend at Mutineer's Landing. There was a large group of us from ages 2 to 89 and every one had a wonderful time. With 5 separate sleeping areas and four bathrooms, we were very comfortable. The main dining area is somewhat crowded for a large group, but it really was not a problem for us because we would rather eat outdoors anyways. We found the downstairs covered patio to be delightful and spent many hours just eating and playing card games while the kids played in the lovely fenced in back yard. The linens and all were very nicely organized and very adequate. I love the layout of the house and the nice open living room area. Also, the well ecuipted kitchen even had several large pots that would be perfect for a crab boil!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 17 / 17

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 25, 2011   Date of arrival: October 4, 2010

The location of the beach house was fabulous. The size of the house, the hot tub and the fire pit were perfect for our group.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 25, 2011   Date of arrival: June 27, 2010

The house was perfect for our Galveston vacation! With four children aged three and under and an infant there was plenty of room for the kids to play. Each family had separate bedrooms and our single daughter slept in the loft. We used the apartment downstairs and had plenty of privacy. The living room was big enough for us all to be together to play games or watch the World Cup. Having four bathrooms was wonderful!

I especially enjoyed reading on the decks morning and night. The breeze kept me comfortable. Blowing bubbles with the grandkids was great fun.

We did take adavantage of the pool at the country club and the little ones had a wonderful time. Personally I preferred the beach!

Being from the Boston are it was heavenly to enjoy warm water. The waves were exhilarating and there was always a breeze. An added treat was watching the sea turtle patrol retrieve eggs from a nest and pack them for transport to the aquarium.

We never did get to enjoy the hot tub as there were too many othet things to keep us busy. We will all have wonderful memories of Galveston. Thank you for sharing your home with us.

Helpful votes: 8 / 9

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Happy New Year!

Review submitted: January 6, 2011   Date of arrival: January 1, 2011

We had a wonderful time and really enjoyed the house. Thanks again for it's use, and I hope you and yours had a rewarding holiday.

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

Fabulous!

Review submitted: November 15, 2010   Date of arrival: April 11, 2010

We had a great time. the house was just great. Comfortably accomidating the group was the best thing. Just hanging out in the living room in fellowship. . .everything was great.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 19 / 21

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Robinson family

Review submitted: October 11, 2010   Date of arrival: April 6, 2010

We had a great time. the house was just great. Comfortably accomidating the group was the best thing. Just hanging out in the living room in fellowship. . .everything was great.

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fabulous Family Reunion! - Smith Family, Dallas

Review submitted: October 11, 2010   Date of arrival: September 23, 2010

Our family had a fabulous time! The house is perfect for a large family group. We enjoyed eating outside with our group. We were close to the beach and had everything we needed for the kids: crib, booster chair etc. The home is spacious and has many different areas so everyone feels they have some privacy. The beach was very closeby and the kids were happy to walk down to the beach. The cool weather makes Galveston so much more fun! The water was warm and we had fun at Moody Gardens and the Strand. Just a lovely weekend - thanks!

Helpful votes: 14 / 15

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Angela - Women's Retreat

Review submitted: October 11, 2010   Date of arrival: October 9, 2010

Everyone enjoyed the beach and the beach house, shopping, and just hanging out in Galveston. Thanks for everything!

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Fabulous Family Vacation!

Review submitted: October 10, 2010   Date of arrival: September 24, 2010

Our family had a fabulous time! The house is perfect for a large family group. We enjoyed eating outise with our group. We were close to the beach and had everything we needed for the kids: crib, booster chair etc. The home is spacious and has many different areas so everyone feels they have some privacy. The beach was very closeby and the kids were happy to walk down to the beach. The cool weather makes Galveston so much more fun! The water was warm and we had fun at Moody Gardens and the Strand. Just a lovely weekend - thanks!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 26 / 28

 

Disappointing

Review submitted: August 20, 2010   Date of arrival: July 11, 2010

This house is clean and beautiful but felt the description was not accurate. We had 9 adults and 4 small children (ages 9,5,2 & 2) The play yard mentioned and pictured was nonexistent. With the small children this was a huge attraction to us renting this house instead of something on the beach. After notifying the owner the pictures have still not been updated. These are pre-hurricane pictures and many things have changed! The hot tub is not in a private nook but in the middle of the backyard. The AC went out on us and the shower head came out of the wall during our stay. The kitchen is not set up in a manner to hold 13+ guests. We had the minimum people suggested and could not all eat at the dinner table together. The table is squished in so that once you get to one end of the table you can not get out until everyone else gets up. The bar stools cannot comfortably be used at the same time as the table. There is not enough room. It was very difficult to have two plus people cooking/gathering snacks/food etc. in the kitchen area. The Game Room downstairs is completely disconnected from the house. We did not feel safe having a young child asleep downstairs (2 separate entrances on the bottom floor) while the adults gathered at night upstairs. We have stayed at several different houses in Galveston and have thoroughly enjoyed them. This house did not work for us and our needs with having small children and a large group.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: We are sad to have our first such review in 4 years of renting this house. Please check the layout page of our website for information about the house. We have had many groups that have been very pleased as you can see from our guestbook. The groups have ranged from 2 to 21 guests, but we understand that each group has different needs. The reviewer in this case obviously did not read the description or look at the pictures of the house on our own website or the rental agreement to determine whether the house would work for them. We addressed the AC and shower issues on the same day we were made aware of those issues. It is always our intention to handle any problems throughly and quickly.

Helpful votes: 21 / 42

 

Great Vacation for 3 generations of folks

Review submitted: August 16, 2010   Date of arrival: August 8, 2010

We had a great time staying @ Mutineer Landing - beach was great and we could hardly get the kids interested in anything other than the sand and surf. Your place is in a great location and in a quite neighborhood setting and is exactly what we needed for our annual vacation. The house is clean and has lots of well appointed space for all.

Rented a golf cart which the grandkids loved and it was great for cruising the neighborhood and hauling all the beach chairs, floats, towels and miscelleanous "junk" to the water

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 21 / 22

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 4, 2010   Date of arrival: May 28, 2010

We had a great time. The boys loved staying at the beach with their grandparents. The bunk beds were a big hit, and as we have a 5 and a 3 year old, it was nice having that room right next to one of the queen bedrooms. I can see the game room being very popular in a few years, especially if our niece and nephew can join us. Having a full kitchen was great too.

The boys digging for crabs with their granddad. Enjoying coffee on the balcony with the ocean breeze. . . Thanks for letting us stay at your house. Our family really enjoyed the relaxing downtime on the island!

Helpful votes: 12 / 13

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 2, 2010   Date of arrival: May 16, 2010

We had a wonderful time at the beach house. The house was pretty big and we loved the jacuzzi. Thank you for everything.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 1, 2010   Date of arrival: May 3, 2010

We had a wonderful time! Your home is beautiful and the weather couldn’t have been better.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 1, 2010   Date of arrival: May 9, 2010

I wanted to let you know that our group had a great time at the house last weekend, we all agreed to do it again in the future and would certainly consider your home as the venue. Overall the location and accommodations were great.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 1, 2010   Date of arrival: May 26, 2010

We had a great time on the island! Mutineer Landing was a great homebase for our adventures. The boys were very excited about the bunk beds.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 1, 2010   Date of arrival: January 2, 2010

1) We "enjoyed" reading the Ike book.
2) The kitchen was well equipped.
3) We enjoyed our space, the neighborhood and the beach.
4) It was fun being close to many amusements in Galveston.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 1, 2010   Date of arrival: December 6, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed your home in Galveston. We would definitely consider staying there again

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 1, 2010   Date of arrival: April 25, 2010

This place is great. Thank you so much. Hope you have great business this year. God bless you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 1, 2010   Date of arrival: December 7, 2009

We enjoyed your home. We had a great Christmas with the family. We greatly appreciate the use of your home and all that was included. May God bless you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 1, 2010   Date of arrival: November 1, 2009

Thank you for letting us share your home. Our group had a great time and it was perfect for us. Going to and from the Lone Star Rally was great and convenient. Thanks again and we will return.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 1, 2010   Date of arrival: September 12, 2009

I love this house. It's nice and fun. I especially like the walking distance to the beach. It is such a beautiful place. i especially love going to Galveston. I hope I can come again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 1, 2010   Date of arrival: September 12, 2009

I love this place is beautiful! It make s a great family reunion.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 1, 2010   Date of arrival: September 12, 2009

This is a beautiful home!! I hope to have a great time here and have a lot of happy memorioes! Love all the rooms. Thanks for the stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 1, 2010   Date of arrival: August 16, 2009

We enjoyed a family vacation with our two adult sons and their families (7 grandchildren!). What fun to have a nice place to relax, visit, and play together. The house was comfortable.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 1, 2010   Date of arrival: July 26, 2009

Big family get together and we all had a big time! We treasure this island, so we are so glad it is recovering from ike. Can't wait until next year. Thanks for sharing your fantastic home!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 1, 2010   Date of arrival: July 12, 2009

Eight dancers (ages 7-11) and their nine moms and grandmoms arrived Sunday July 5th for a week of fun and competition at Showstoppers Dance Competition at the Moody Gardens Convention Center. We played at the beach, had a carriage ride on the Strand and rode the Bolivar ferry (it is free!) to see porpoises in the bay.

Wednesday our four soloists brought home gold medals and trophies. Friday all our girls performed their group dances and again got gold medals and trophies.

We enjoyed the house and having meals together. It was a great week!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 1, 2010   Date of arrival: July 3, 2009

This house was awesome. We wish there had been more pirates, though. And also more mutinies. Otherwise, pretty good!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 1, 2010   Date of arrival: June 27, 2009

This has been a wonderful week to get all the family together. First time we were together in 3 years. The house was great and I enjoyed the room downstairs. The little ones enjoyed the beach and we liked being three blocks away so that we didn't have to watch them every minute.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 1, 2010   Date of arrival: June 24, 2009

The house easily accomodated the 4 children and 9 adults in our group. This was a wonderful place for a family reunion. The neighborhood beach was clean and fun. The breezes on the front deck were refreshing in the evening. Guests should definitely check out the stars at night. The country club pool is very nice. It ranges in depth from 3 feet to 9 feet. There is a small kids pool also. The beach was not crowded. The kitchen was well equipped.

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 1, 2010   Date of arrival: April 9, 2009

We went to Moody Gardens, Aquaraium and movies and paddle boat ride. Friday we wentto the Club pool . . . Also went to the bach. Fun waves and warm!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 1, 2010   Date of arrival: March 15, 2009

Nine wonderful women descended on Mutineer landing for a much needed weekend of fellowship and relaxation. We had many adventures here, but let it be known that we can handle pretty much anything!

We ask God's continued blessing on Ashish and Sameera, all who stay in this place, and all who seek shelter under this roof.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 1, 2010   Date of arrival: April 4, 2010

We liked the easy walk to the beach, the upstairs (3rd floor) bedroom (a quiet space away from the noise downstairs), and the BBQ/dining area downstairs.

Easter weather is always great for hanging out on the beach with small kids, they can play all day without getting too much sun (and they even think it’s warm enough to swim in the water!) Thanks for making the boogie boards and beach toys available to us. . .

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 1, 2010   Date of arrival: April 11, 2010

Your home is lovely. It rained on Saturday but that couldn't be helped. The house is conveniently located and easy to find. The sleeping accommodations are generous, and everyone was comfortable. . . Honestly, I was already not feeling well, so I'm just glad my mom was there to help me keep everything together. That was a good mother-daughter memory for me!

Everything we needed was available. I can't think of anything we needed that was not available. . . The hot tub was the most important thing. There aren't many houses with outdoor hot tubs.

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 2, 2010   Date of arrival: January 2, 2010

1) We "enjoyed" reading the Ike book.
2) The kitchen was well equipped.
3) We enjoyed our space, the neighborhood and the beach.
4) It was fun being close to many amusements in Galveston.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 30, 2009   Date of arrival: December 30, 2009

I wanted to let you know that we had a lovely stay at your beach house and really enjoyed it. . . Overall, we found the home very well furnished--especially in the kitchen. Lots of greatpots and pans, silverware, dishes, etc.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 23, 2009   Date of arrival: November 23, 2009

Did you group have a nice time? Yes

What worked well for your group? Fenced backyard for children

Did you have any special memories that you would be willing to share with other guests? Flying 6 kites on Thanksgiving Day was so much fun! The Galveston breeze worked magic!

Did the house have everything you needed? Yes . . . Nice house with separate sleeping area downstairs helped our family enjoy the weekend more.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 23, 2009   Date of arrival: August 23, 2009

Did you group have a nice time? yes

What worked well for your group? just the pefect distance from beach

Did you have any special memories that you would be willing to share with other guests?
gathering on upstairs deck late at night telling fictional tales of gold and pirates.

Did the house have everything you needed? yes. better than home.

What could have been better? can't imagine anything.

Anything else you would like to add to our guest book comments? Pretty and tropical.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 26, 2009   Date of arrival: July 26, 2009

Just to let you know that we had a great time at your home in Galveston. All the bedrooms and bathrooms were ideal for our family and we really enjoyed our evening meals on the backyard patio. . . Our stay was perfect. We followed all your instructions and treated your home as our own. We all decided that we would certainly consider staying at your home next summer. Thank you!

Later by email:
This was the first time all members of our combined families had been together.
What worked well for your group? The number of bathrooms and the privacy of the bedrooms.
Did you have any special memories that you would be willing to share with other guests?
Yes, fantastic dinners on the patio in the backyard...privacy and setting was perfect! . . . Look for us next year! . . . Enjoyed reading the Hurricane Ike book and watching the CD...loved the large bar area in the kitchen-dining area...kitchen well supplied...

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 29, 2009   Date of arrival: June 29, 2009

Thank you for letting our family rent your home. The home accomodated our large family with no problem. The kitchen was very well equipped and everything else was fine also. Our little ones enjoyed looking and singing to the stars at night. They are so bright in the area.

This was the first time our family has been together since Dad passed away 3 years ago and it was very pleasant.

Thanks for sharing your home and we will contact you about another time.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 14, 2009   Date of arrival: June 14, 2009

We had a great time at your beach house!!! The sleeping arrangements were perfect as we had lots of family members with us! The natural lighting is wonderful in the house! We didnt spend a lot of time in the back because it was pretty sunny but the 2nd floor deck held us all perfectly and stayed shady all day and the breeze was great. We ate most of our meals there.

The kitchen was stocked with things to help cook and serve and everything we needed was available. The use of the Country Club pool was wonderful. The kids loved it and we all met some really nice people there. It was a little longer walk to the beach then we thought BUT we had a great golf cart and with all our "junk" that we had with us we always had to bring a car anyway so that was not a problem. =) I put the Golf Cart guys business card in the refridgerator book for you. Hes really nice and the rental fee was very reasonable!

We would definitely stay there again! The decor was so nice and simple and the kitchen and floors and cleanliness of the place was excellent. . . we made great memories sitting on the deck having some drinks and catching up with family that we dont get to see but a couple times a year!
Thank you again for allowing us to rent your wonderful second home! It was a pleasure!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 31, 2009   Date of arrival: May 31, 2009

My group had a very good time. The internet photographs do not do the home justice. The sleeping arrangements with the double in some of the rooms was great.The kitchen was totally equipped which my mother appreciated alot. Our guest were able to enjoy a home cooked meal. Every thing was very clean .I would definitely rent this home again. It was alot more homier than having my family stay in a hotel.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 28, 2009   Date of arrival: March 28, 2009

We had the best time?! I will definitely stay there again! And am looking forward to it. If you ever decide you want to sell, please give me a call. I loved everything about the house, especially the lay-out, it is so nice. I will answer all the questions below in blue. Thank you so much for allowing us to stay, we all enjoyed it very much and look forward to returning soon.

Did you group have a nice time? YES?!

What worked well for your group? EVERYTHING?! The accomodations are perfect!

Did you have any special memories that you would be willing to share with other guests? One of my best birthday parties yet!

Did the house have everything you needed? Yes

Would you consider staying here again? definitely

Anything else you would like to add to our guest book comments? This house has it all, very clean, nicely decorated, plenty of rooms and just a really nice get away.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 22, 2009   Date of arrival: March 22, 2009

We enjoyed our stay in your lovely home. Our children seldom get together as they live in different states. We were able to stay together and spend time visiting. The three grandchildren loved the porches, back yard and of course - the beach! Our youngest grandson is autistic and needs routine to stay grounded. We were able to provide him some quiet space, his special diet, and yet include him in all activities. I am proud to say his behavior was wonderful, even at the wedding - a new large location with lots of strangers. . .
Thanks for the well stocked kitchen - our family enjoys cooking and eating! . . .

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 17, 2009   Date of arrival: March 17, 2009

We had a wonderful time; cataloged some good memories :) We had 3 different families together, so having separate areas to sleep everyone worked really well. The house really does accommodate large groups well. I was skeptical, but it worked out really well. The kids had such a wonderful time having picnics and stretching out on the front balcony. It is a nice spot. We found a turtle in the road, watched it for a day and set it free in the back. That was pretty special. . . Thank you! You have a lovely spot. The house is well-maintained and well-equipped.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 15, 2009   Date of arrival: March 15, 2009

We have a fantastic time . . . The house felt like a blessed place to be gathering. The location and house amennities were beuatiful. We had lovely group dinner together around that fabulous kitchen table, a homey place comfortable for games, laughter, tears and bonding. It was like we had entered into our own sacred haven of community. . .

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 2, 2009   Date of arrival: January 2, 2009

Yes we had a wonderful time. The size of the place. Great for large groups. There were three married couples that celebrated their first new years together. Wonderful memory. The house was well stocked . . . Not a bad walk to the beach either. Very friendly neighborhood as well.

Thanks for the lovely gift basket. Very nice touch.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 10, 2008   Date of arrival: October 10, 2008

I certainly want to thank you for allowing us to rent your home. . . You were fortunate enough not to loose it to Ike. You have been in my thoughts and prayers.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 26, 2008   Date of arrival: September 26, 2008

Today was our first visit after hurricane Ike. What a relief to see the house in which we shared so many precious memories still there! Our thoughts our with those not as fortunate. We'll be making some minor repairs and cleaning the garden up in the next few weeks. We'll be back to stay with our family soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 17, 2008   Date of arrival: August 17, 2008

We have been on cruises with several members of our family, this was our first “everyone be there” vacation and it was GREAT!!!! We will definitely plan another summer vacation like this, although it may be a few years before we return to Galveston. We did like being outside of the sea-wall area where there are fewer tourists and hotels. And we all had so much fun sharing our days and evenings together. Everyone seemed to have a great time, even the kids. We have 6 grandchildren and all of them were there, ages 4 months to 6 years. The living room was big enough for them to play, watch TV, and even nap a bit. The dining room table and bar area was large enough for almost everyone (especially the kids) to eat together and enjoy each other. . .It was wonderful to interact with our children, their spouses, and all of our grandchildren for a full week. When we all get together during the year, it is for a day here and a day there and this was a great experience. My daughter and daughter-in-law are in charge of planning next summers trip. We will be back to Galveston in a few years and we will be checking to see if your house is available.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 3, 2008   Date of arrival: August 3, 2008

I was praying your lovely house didn't get effected by the storms. We had a fabulouse time at the beach. The weather was great and your house has a great floor plan, very fun and functional yet makes gathering together inevitable! We feel so blessed to have found those days available and thanks for your patience while we got it all booked! Everyone loved it and left with great memories!

. . . Thanks again, you have a lovely home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 31, 2008   Date of arrival: July 31, 2008

We had a great time. Everything worked out well as could be exepcted with a 5 year old, 3 year old, and 1 year old twins. We were very comfortable in the house. It really let us spread out. It was our three youngests kids' first time at the beach. They really enjoyed it--especially the twins. . . We really liked the Pirates Beach area. My wife's family used to own a house in Pirates Cove, so the area brought back memories for her. . .

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 22, 2008   Date of arrival: June 22, 2008

The location worked great for us. Close to the beach and the important spots in Galveston. . .

There was more than enough room for the 8 of us. The layout was great for conversation and family gatherings. The back yard was great. We liked being able to walk across the street and grab sandwiches or coffee. Internet access was handy for the several computers we had.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 9, 2008   Date of arrival: June 9, 2008

Thanks so much for the use of your beautiful beach home. Our family had a great time! The house is beautiful and well furnished. The yard is great--we had a luau in the backyard one evening--what fun--perfect setting!

Our family group had a great time at your beautiful beach house. There was plenty of room for visiting inside and out on the decks. The sleeping arrangements worked out great for our group of 18. The distance from the beach was not too bad--when we were lazy we just drove to the crossover and unloaded everything. There were plenty of linens and towels. Lots of beach toys--we added to the pile! The yard is beautiful with the palm trees, flowers and bushes. We had a luau in the backyard; your backyard was great for that! We all wore Hawaiian shirts and leis and grass skirts, played Hawaiian music and hung laterns and decorated--we even carried out the theme to our meal. It was great--I suggest everyone have one night and do this; the backyard is just great for this. We took a group picture.

The house had everything we needed--even small details and items we never thought about being in the house.

I would not recommend this house to anyone who has problems going up and down stairs--there are three flights. Main area is on the 2nd floor. . . .

We would definitely stay at your house again.

We felt like it was also a great value, compared to other beach houses we checked out. Thanks so much again for renting to us. We loved it!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 3, 2008   Date of arrival: May 1, 2008

My friends and I stayed here one weekend and the accomodations were great! We had an excellent time and the property owners were extremely friendly and helpful. We will definately stay here again!

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 28, 2008   Date of arrival: April 28, 2008

We had a great time! The space, the decor, and the outside area. We had plenty of room for games and dancing. The luau was alot of fun in the back yard, our pictures are beautiful. . . Would you consider staying here again? Yes, in fact hopefully next year. . . It was a pleasure dealing with you, your home was perfect!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 28, 2008   Date of arrival: April 1, 2008

Our ladies group loved your home. The open floor plan was perfect for cangrigating. The back yard was the site for our luau and provided us with every thing we needed. Plenty of linens, loved the convenience of the washer and dryer! Nice dishes, cutlery, pots and pans.....everything needed was there. The house is clean, modern, and within a short walk to the beach.
We needed this get away badly. Thank you for the use of your lovely home.
caprice

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review