reviews for: listing #18152 - Franklin, North Carolina House rental

Fantastic Mountain View-Perfect for Large Groups-Pets OK
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Watauga Vista
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $125 - $150 /nt
    $825 - $825 /wk
    $2,475 - $2,475 /mth

sort by:

Our home away from home

Review submitted: April 18, 2014   Date of arrival: April 5, 2014

We have stayed here 4 times and will again. There is everything you need here, fantastic view and our two poodles love the house. Everything is in close proximity to this house, serves as a good base camp. Owner makes it easy to rent and enjoy.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Stay in the Mountains

Review submitted: April 5, 2014   Date of arrival: March 22, 2014

My young grandchildren wanted to visit another state while on Spring Break. I found this home on VRBO and the rate and photos were outstanding. The rental lived up to its online description. There were six of us and we had plenty of room. The mountain view from the great room while enjoying the fireplace was a bonus. This house has everything you would want and the location right outside of Franklin was close to every place we wanted to visit. We will definitely stay here again and have told many of our friends about the home. The owner was very prompt about returning the security deposit also.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

This house was perfect for our Ladies' getaway.

Review submitted: March 14, 2014   Date of arrival: March 7, 2014

The home is perfect for a Girls Getaway or Family Gathering. Lots of space to spread out and the deck and view were awesome! Comfortable furnishings but not elaborate. Very Homey. I can see myself coming back here in the fall!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

comfortable, peaceful, relaxing

Review submitted: March 12, 2014   Date of arrival: November 7, 2013

The house is so comfortable, peaceful and relaxing. The fireplace adds a wonderful touch. Everything is well maintained and clean. The view from the porch is breathtaking. I can't wait to visit again.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A Great Bargain for a Piece of Paradise

Review submitted: March 11, 2014   Date of arrival: September 5, 2013

This home has a beautiful view overlooking valley. The porch overlooking the view makes the trip. Plenty of comfortable space w/beautiful sunset view. It is very well and carefully maintained; very comfortable. The location is w/in close proximity of beautiful streams and falls. Good fly fishing abounds (excellent guides are reasonably priced). Enjoy pleasant evenings preparing meals at home OR take advantage of excellent restaurants w/in a few minutes drive. This Is a great, well located home.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Home away from home!

Review submitted: March 11, 2014   Date of arrival: February 28, 2014

We wanted beautiful views and a relaxing getaway, we got it! This house makes you feel at home the second you walk in. The fireplace was perfect for warming up and making s'mores! Being Close to multiple waterfalls made our hiking adventures even better, our dog enjoyed it all! The kitchen had multiple appliances and fully stocked if needed for cooking, the coffee maker was a little on the old side but still made coffee so our mornings were complete for front porch sitting and taking in the beauty around us! Overall awesome getaway! The owner made renting this property easy and hassle free! Thanks for letting us stay!

Owners response: Thank you for the nice review - glad you enjoyed your stay. Even though the coffee maker is still working, I think you're right. We'll replace it with a newer one soon. Our goal is always to keep things as fresh and new as we can so our guests have all the comforts of home. We make changes and updates to the house whenever we can and use our guests' feedback to decide on what needs to be done.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Enjoyable stay

Review submitted: March 7, 2014   Date of arrival: February 28, 2014

Really enjoyed the house even though the weather was very cold. House was well-equipped and view was fabulous. Karla was very helpful and easy to work with. Would love to visit again. Thanks.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Awesome vacation

Review submitted: March 7, 2014   Date of arrival: January 11, 2014

We really enjoyed the house and surrounding area. The view of the mountains at sunrise and sunset is amazing. I recommend this spot for everyone who wants to visit the area

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

it was perfect

Review submitted: March 4, 2014   Date of arrival: January 15, 2014

We had a great time. The home is furnished to a T. Lots of supplies not usually provided in rental properites were there. Communication was great and I felt you were available for all my needs. Want to come back and stay longer. Connie Thomas

Owners response: Thanks Connie for the nice review. Please come back and stay any time.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing Deck & View

Review submitted: February 17, 2014   Date of arrival: February 14, 2014

The deck and view at this house are just amazing. It makes you feel as though you're in a tree house. The high beamed ceiling in the living room and dining room are lovely and the double sliding doors brings the outside in. The living room fireplace was wonderful and there is even a very nice wood stove on the lower level, but didn't get to use. The house is very bright and sunny with 3 sets of sliding glass doors. Plenty of towels, blankets, silverware and plates for a large family. Very easy access to house from Gate 4 (Note: do not use Gate 1 if you are not familiar with area and arrive after dark) . The location of the house provides quick, easy access to grocery stores, shopping and fast food locations. The owner, Karla, is very nice and arrangements and check-in were very easy.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Xmas Holiday

Review submitted: January 3, 2014   Date of arrival: December 28, 2013

Want to say how much we enjoyed week's vacation at your mountain home. The view was truly breath-taking, and so was the drive up the mountain! We didn't get snow, but enjoyed frosty mornings and bright stars at night. Thank you for allowing us to share in the blessing!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

October Get Away

Review submitted: October 25, 2013   Date of arrival: October 19, 2013

Once again we enjoyed a wonderful time in the mountains and Karla's home was our home for 6 splendid days. We are already making plans for our next visit.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful House

Review submitted: August 16, 2013   Date of arrival: August 10, 2013

Thanks so much for sharing your wonderful house with us. We found all the comforts of home within it. We had a wonderful time! Hopefully, our family will be able to spend more vacations at your home.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Enjoyable place for the family to tmeet.

Review submitted: August 14, 2013   Date of arrival: July 31, 2013

I had my family together for my youngest son's wedding held in Franklin and a granddaughter's 16th birthday party. The house worked out fine for us with a place for everyone to enjoy and rest. We enjoyed having most of our meals together on the outside covered deck. Plenty of tables and chairs for such. The house was well equipped with china, kitchen needs, other utility needs, etc. We will plan to come back in the future.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Wonderful place to stay!!(The Rushings and the Britts)

Review submitted: August 5, 2013   Date of arrival: August 4, 2013

I love this place!! What a great place to stay!! The house is beautiful. It feels like you are at home the minute you walk in the door. The view oh my you just have to see it. Has lot's of deck to sit and enjoy the out door's. You can walk for miles. The dog's loved it. There is a lot of room for one big family or 2 family's. The cost is very reasonable. You can tell the owner put a lot of love into the home . Thank you so much for allowing us to stay in you're beautiful home. I plan on coming back real soon.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We have put a lot of effort into making our home comfortable for our guests and we appreciate your comments. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks!

Review submitted: July 12, 2013   Date of arrival: July 11, 2013

What a wonderful house nestled among such beautiful scenery! The winding driveway was very cool. Loved the area. We went gem mining, saw gorgeous waterfalls, and visited other nearby towns. Thank you for the great accommodations.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

4th of July Celebration

Review submitted: July 12, 2013   Date of arrival: July 4, 2013

Rain, rain go away! Not the weather we planned but the house has everything we needed and made our time complete

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved this place!

Review submitted: July 12, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

A great view from the back deck. Lots of fun things to do around Franklin - horseback riding, mountain climbing, whitewater rafting to name a few. Thank you for letting us stay at your beautiful place

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic View and Wonderful Home

Review submitted: June 27, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

This home is wonderful for a large crowd. Lots of stairs, but the view from the upper deck is worth the climb. We had plenty of room for everyone, and the doggies loved the place. We will definitely come again. Already discussing it with several friends and family members. Everything you need is there and it was easy travel to gem mining, fishing, SMNP, Gatlinburg and Cherokee. Great time of togetherness! Driveway and road up is steep, but take it slow and careful and you will be rewarded with a gem.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Nice Getaway

Review submitted: June 10, 2013   Date of arrival: June 7, 2013

This was such a nice getaway - a time to relax, enjoy laughs and see the beautiful mountains. We all had a wonderful time exploring the area. The house is wonderful and we would all love to come back. Thank you so much for sharing your lovely home!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Had a great time

Review submitted: May 26, 2013   Date of arrival: May 18, 2013

Had a great time finding all the trails and waterfalls. Loved the porch - beautiful home. Ruby (dog) loved it too

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Spring visit

Review submitted: May 17, 2013   Date of arrival: April 26, 2013

We enjoyed our getaway to mountains in your house so much. We had everything we needed. The weather was beautiful, the view fantastic and the house felt just like home. Everything we needed was provided.

Would love to make a return visit.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Graduation visit

Review submitted: May 17, 2013   Date of arrival: May 9, 2013

The house was absolutely perfect for celebrating our son's WCU graduation. We had 4 generations, plus dinner company.

Everyone love the house, but the porch was the biggest hit! We hope we can visit again some time.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Family Christmas vacation

Review submitted: May 13, 2013   Date of arrival: December 20, 2012

We had a great time in your beautiful house. It was secluded and gave our family a real sense of home. The price was exceptional too!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Weekend Getaway

Review submitted: May 13, 2013   Date of arrival: February 15, 2013

Thanks for an enjoyable stay in your mountain home. The house had everything we needed. We enjoyed the view, and sitting by the fire. It even snowed on us a little bit.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely!

Review submitted: November 3, 2012   Date of arrival: October 19, 2012

My husband and I, as well as my parents, totally felt at home in Karla's home. Can't wait to go back at Christmas.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family Vacation

Review submitted: August 30, 2012   Date of arrival: August 23, 2012

My husband and I drove from Louisiana, picked up mother-in-law in South Carolina and met brother and sister-in law and their three kids, and Roxie the yorkie, in Franklin. The house was "PERFECT" for our needs. My mother-in-law enjoyed the downstairs area, while the rest of the family had more than enough space in the upstairs. We spent many hours on the porch, enjoying the company of family and the beauty of the mountains. Even enjoyed the afternoon thunderstorms. The kids enjoyed hiking around the neighborhood, gem mining, a picnic on the river and travelling to the top of Wayah Bald. We were a little surprised at the lack of wild animals, not even squirrels or chipmunks, and very few birds. The only problem we had on our trip was getting up and leaving after our three days. Wish we could have stayed longer. Thanks Ms. Karla for allowing us to stay in your home.

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful View!

Review submitted: July 7, 2012   Date of arrival: June 21, 2012

It had everything that we needed plus some. The kids had a great time too.

Recommended for: pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 2, 2012   Date of arrival: August 1, 2006

The view, the roominess and privacy offered for each person was great. Loved the sense of security and the closeness to everything, especially the town. Appreciated the available games, movies and books. You have a great thing here!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Highly recommended!

Review submitted: January 23, 2012   Date of arrival: January 14, 2012

Cabin was wonderful! Well stocked and great for large groups of people. Was a quick hop to Asheville, Franklin, Highlands, and a plethora of waterfalls. The view is really lovely! Karla was easy to work with and made the experience a smooth one.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 6, 2011   Date of arrival: June 8, 2011

A very comfortable place. The kitchen is stocked better than mine at home! This would be a great place for a large family get together. Thanks.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 6, 2011   Date of arrival: April 24, 2011

As always (my third stay) the house was fantastic. I loved the new floors!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 6, 2011   Date of arrival: January 1, 2011

Thank you for allowing our family to stay in your beautiful home (our second stay). Like always, your home was very charming and we look forward to staying again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 6, 2011   Date of arrival: January 7, 2011

We loved everything about our stay - the house, the sunset, the quiet, the snow in the mountains. It was perfect. Thanks.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 6, 2011   Date of arrival: November 22, 2010

Very nice - very comfortable, well-stocked and met every need. It snowed our first night so it was gorgeous. We'll be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 6, 2011   Date of arrival: October 29, 2010

Your house is perfect for our large family get togethers (this was our third stay!). The views are gorgeous. We had everything - well equipped kitchen for our big meals, playing games by the fire in the evening and plenty of space for everyone to sleep. Thanks.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 6, 2011   Date of arrival: October 10, 2010

Your house was everything anyone could want. Just like being at home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 6, 2011   Date of arrival: August 22, 2010

It was a great house. Everything was beautiful, both the house and the scenery. It was very convenient to everything - can't wait to go back again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 6, 2011   Date of arrival: August 14, 2010

We had a great time in Franklin. We loved the open, roomy floor plan that allowed us to sit around and chat! The week was awesome!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 9, 2010   Date of arrival: June 21, 2010

I thoroughly enjoyed staying at your house in the mountains. The views were great and it's so peaceful being on the open decks next to nature. The house is nicely furnished and has everything we needed - the dogs enjoyed their stay too.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 9, 2010   Date of arrival: June 19, 2010

Thank you for letting us stay at your house. It had everything we needed and more.......We really enjoyed the views.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 9, 2010   Date of arrival: June 12, 2010

We really enjoyed the house - it had everything we needed. Even though it rained a lot, we were able to enjoy the outdoors because of the covered portion of the deck. We will be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 4, 2009   Date of arrival: July 4, 2009

"Your house rocks" - thanks for sharing it with us

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 1, 2009   Date of arrival: May 1, 2009

A lovely place to spend Christmas in May with our entire family. The house was very spacious and had everything we needed

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 30, 2008   Date of arrival: December 30, 2008

Great view - your home was very spacious and comfortable. It was great having two floors and two large decks. Thanks for being easy to work with and for a great weekend.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 30, 2008   Date of arrival: December 30, 2008

Great view - your home was very spacious and comfortable. It was nice having two floors and two large decks. Thanks for being easy to work with and for the great weekend

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 29, 2008   Date of arrival: November 29, 2008

Your home was well equipped - the location was good with a nice view. The covered porch allowed us to sit outside even when it drizzled rain. Plenty of room with 2 nice fireplaces. We had a good time and it was nice having our dogs with us.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 29, 2008   Date of arrival: November 29, 2008

Your home was well-equipped - the location was good with a nice view. The covered porch even allowed us to sit outside when it drizzled rain. There was plenty of room and the 2 fireplaces were great. It was really nice to be able to enjoy having our dogs with us. Thanks.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 15, 2008   Date of arrival: October 15, 2008

The view and the large accommodations were great. What a beautiful place to vacation. Thank you for sharing your home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 4, 2008   Date of arrival: October 4, 2008

The view and the large accommodations were great. What a beautiful place to vacation. Thank you for sharing your home

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful View And Very Clean A Must Stay

Review submitted: October 1, 2008   Date of arrival: September 14, 2008

Very relaxing & Private Enough Room to have your own space.The Deck View is outstanding our favorite... coffee in the morning on the deck.. It is right in the middle of all activties Cherokee Helen Dillard House .And Very Very Clean...Owners Very Accomadating . I would would highly say this is your place to get away from it all...

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 15, 2008   Date of arrival: September 15, 2008

The house was so inviting. You felt so at home. It was spacious and we loved the decor. Thanks for being pet friendly too.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 1, 2008   Date of arrival: September 1, 2008

The house was so inviting - you felt so at home. It was spacious and loved the decor. Also, thanks for being pet friendly.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 1, 2008   Date of arrival: September 1, 2008

Everything was clean and well stocked. The house is very well maintained and loved. We will definitely remember what a good time we had

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 1, 2008   Date of arrival: September 1, 2008

We had such a great time in your beautiful home. Our favorit was sitting on the top porch drinking coffee in the morning. It was such a success we plan do to another family reunion here next year

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 29, 2008   Date of arrival: July 29, 2008

The house was so inviting! You felt so at home. It was spacious and loved the decor. Thanks for being pet friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The perfect get away.

Review submitted: July 2, 2008   Date of arrival: June 23, 2008

Large clean Cabin to just sit around and relax with a great view.
Something for everyone close by; hiking around the gated community, better than being in a state park. Also close to shpping, rafting, rubie mining and The Great Smokie Mountians National Park.
If you need a place for up to twelve to stay in comfort, this would be the place.

Recommended for: sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 1, 2008   Date of arrival: May 1, 2008

We really enjoyed our stay at your home in the mountains - everything was great!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 1, 2008   Date of arrival: May 1, 2008

We very much enjoyed our stay at your house - we had everything we needed. The decks were great and there's so much to do in the mountains

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 1, 2008   Date of arrival: March 1, 2008

We had a wonderful time - the house was fantastic. It was nice to have everything provided, even the paper products and soap. We hope to return again - perhaps for the holidays

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 2, 2008   Date of arrival: January 2, 2008

Just returned from our fantastic Christmas vacation in your house. We really enjoyed spending this holiday time in the mountains. We had everything we needed and hope to return again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 25, 2007   Date of arrival: November 25, 2007

We had a wonderful family Thanksgiving celebration in your wonderful house. Thanks for providing everything we needed except our turkey dinner. The house was perfect for our large group - plenty of room for everyone.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 15, 2007   Date of arrival: September 15, 2007

This is our third year at your beautiful house and we enjoy it more every time. We'll be back next year. Thanks for everything

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 28, 2006   Date of arrival: July 28, 2006

Everything about the experience was perfect. Your house is A+

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 10, 2006   Date of arrival: July 10, 2006

Great place for a large family. The house is very user friendly and ready for family fun & relaxation.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 1, 2006   Date of arrival: June 1, 2006

Hope I have an excuse to come back and stay at your lovely home again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 20, 2006   Date of arrival: February 20, 2006

We really enjoyed staying in your home over the weekend. We went to the Dillard house for lunch, visited the Antique Mall, Scaley Mountain and Maggie Valley. We would definitely like to come back. We loved the seclusion. Thanks.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 15, 2006   Date of arrival: January 15, 2006

The house had a lot of space. It was great not having to bring our own linens and we enjoyed having music available on the TV. The snow was perfect.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 1, 2006   Date of arrival: January 1, 2006

Loved being in the mountains. We really enjoyed having enough room for everyone in our large party. Having a washer & dryer in the house was nice.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 1, 2005   Date of arrival: October 1, 2005

Loved the house. Porch was the best. Clean, roomy and equipped well. Beds were comfortable. Peaceful, great vacation home!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 17, 2005   Date of arrival: September 17, 2005

Thank you for allowing us and our dogs to use your mountain house. We enjoyed the beautiful mountains and solitude and the many comforts of the house

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 27, 2005   Date of arrival: August 27, 2005

Thank you so much for making your rental property available to us. Your place is very spacious and worked out really well for the 5 of us. Thank you for providing all the little things and the grill was great. We had a wonderful time.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review