reviews for: listing #181975ha - Grenada, Caribbean rental

Villa Amarillo 4 Bed, 4 Baths
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  no
  • rates (USD)  $ 2,500 - $ 2,950 / week
  • sleeps  8
  • pets considered  ask owner

sort by:

Amazing!

Review submitted: August 30, 2014   Date of arrival: August 11, 2014

We have just got back from two weeks at Villa Amarillo. What can I say? It was an absolutely fantastic villa and the perfect location from which to explore Grenada. There are two bars within walking distance and you can organise sailing, snorkeling or scuba trips and spa treatments from True Blue which is probably a 5 minute walk from the Villa. There are also numerous picture perfect Caribbean beaches within a 10 / 15 minute drive. (You do need your own car here but driving around is easy).

The villa was large and spacious and had loads of different areas we could hang out depending on our mood and the time of the day. We went as a group of 6 adults and felt we had loads of space all the time. The bedrooms were all a good size and had a/c and comfy beds and the kitchen was well equipped. The photos don't really do the rooms justice. However, the BEST thing about the Villa was Miss Maureen! What an absolute star. She was so friendly and helpful yet gave us our space and would materialise from nowhere when there was anything to be done. Her cooking was great and gave us a real taste of home cooked Caribbean food whilst the villa was always clean and tidy.

Anna was so welcoming when we first arrived which gave us a great feeling from our first moment at the villa. She then left us to it but was very quick to reply to any emails when we had the odd query. We also have an excellent list of potential baby names courtesy of Anna! All in all the perfect villa owner.

Sam Dick

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very nice villa! Wonderful just Wonderful

Review submitted: April 17, 2014   Date of arrival: April 9, 2014

We just returned from our second trip to Grenada, what a joy this island is, so lush and beautiful! We arrived in Grenada about 6:30pm by the time we got to the villa via a taxi arranged by Anna, but at our expense, it was dark, so it was nice to have him waiting at the airport for us. Anna was waiting for us at the villa greeting us with open arms, Maureen, the house keeper, had made a nice lasagna, salad, and wine, what a welcomed added surprise for us. Anna arranged for a SUV to rent, it was very nice, shawne brought it shortly after we arrived, The villa was just as Anna had promised us. Very comfortable, safe, and the pool area and views were perfect. With cross breezes there is no need for a/c in the living areas. Every room has a perfect outdoor area off it practically including the bdrms, the living area has very comfy sofas and a flat screen TV, we could not get the DVD player to work for us, no biggie probably something we were doing, ceiling fans everywhere, the bdrms have a/c, no TV/Cable, one king, rest queen or full beds, a bathroom off ea. All very nice. The pool area is enclosed and very private (unless Maureen is still there) absolutely spotless and beautifully landscaped, we loved it. There are steps in this villa for those of you that have issues with them. The grill is not a gas grill you will need charcoal, etc. Maureen is wonderful, she is there most every day from about 9-3, the pool man came once while we were there. We really like privacy and the villa to ourselves, we would leave for the day and Maureen was usually gone by the time we returned. Maureen is a very sweet lady and does a good job keeping the villa clean. She offered to fix our breakfast and left us fruit and banana bread for snacks. You get to park your rental inside of the gated courtyard area, safe. The villa is in a residential area there is a homes across the street from it, but nothing on three sides, there is an apartment connected to the villa, but you have the villa to yourself once Maureen is done for the day. You can usually hear steel drum music lofting up from the cove in the eve, joggers and dog walkers are usually out and about in the eve and may stir up the local dogs. One big plus is it's close to a really nice grocery store and the nicest beach on the island, airport is close and you do get some air traffic overhead, but nothing to be concerned about. Really enjoyed our stay and this villa. Anna was wonderful to us! Price was right.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A delightful family holiday

Review submitted: February 6, 2014   Date of arrival: December 22, 2013

My extended family and I stayed in Villa Amarillo over Christmas last year. There were three couples and one baby and the villa provided a perfect amount of space. The rooms are large and comfortable and well-appointed. Anna the owner was incredibly helpful with restaurant recommendations and travel tips. The villa itself is cool and airy, with large open spaces, good for families with small children. Maureen the housekeeper was a lovely presence and an excellent cook. If I had one criticism it would be that for the price the villa might have been kitted out a bit more conveniently for temporary visitors -- shampoo in the showers and a stocked pantry (i.e. cooking oil, spices, etc.) would have been helpful. But apart from that we had a lovely time and would definitely return in the future.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Centrally located in a very safe area.

Review submitted: February 4, 2014   Date of arrival: January 19, 2014

Villa Amarillo did not disappoint. The pictures and description are very accurate. The villa is centrally located and minutes from the University. The area is very safe with an Ambassadors residence across the street. I love to run and the running around the Villa is great and very safe. Maureen our housekeeper was amazing and nothing we asked her to do was too much. Anna the owner made sure that our stay was perfect and she will help you with everything from transportation to restaurant reservations. She is always just a phone call away. The Villa is perfect for large families or a family of 4 like us.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

AMAZING !!

Review submitted: January 23, 2014   Date of arrival: January 4, 2014

My family and I stayed here in January 2014. After being let down by our initial villa we came to stay here and were totally blown away by Anna's professionalism and hospitality. The villa is absolutely beautiful and the photos cannot seem to capture how fantastic it is, particularly the outside space and patio deck. Maureen, the housekeeper, looked after us throughout our stay. She made breakfast for us every morning and prepared dinner when we stayed in, which included local dishes such as roti, fishcakes, bakes, local juice and banana cake. It was a real treat having her there, and it meant that everyone could completely switch off and relax. The villa is decorated to a high standard and is exceptionally clean and comfortable. As frequent visitors to Grenada we will most definitely be back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful vacation!

Review submitted: January 10, 2014   Date of arrival: November 24, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Villa Amarillo! The villa is lovely and is actually bigger than it appears online. The outdoor seating is spacious. We each had favorite spots but would switch locations depending on the winds. The pool is nice as well.

We had 4 adults and 2 teenagers and we all loved it. Maureen prepared a delicious first night's meal for us tired travelers and prepared breakfast for each day which was a great treat! Anna was extremely helpful in obtaining a rental car for us as well as a driver when we didn't want to drive.

The neighborhood is beautiful and quite safe for running/walking with several restaurants/bars within walking distance.

The small beach is also quite close. The only drawback is that you don't hear the ocean.

Overall a terrific vacation!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The perfect luxury island escape!

Review submitted: November 28, 2013   Date of arrival: October 13, 2013

We stayed at Villa Amarillo from 13th October to 20th October 2013. This is an extremely impressive property and is immaculate and beautifully decorated. Anna the owner of this property is the perfect island host, providing pre-holiday information as well as catering to our every need while there. She was able to assist with all of our island needs, helping us to book restaurants and tours on the island, even having our rental car delivered to the villa. Having a host on island is so helpful! The house has everything you need. From high speed wifi, to flat screen television with cable and a sound system so you can play your favourite tunes. The housekeeper Maureen was on hand daily and kept the villa spotlessly clean, she also washed all of our laundry as required. She will also cook meals, all that you need to do is supply the groceries. The pool is lovely and inviting and there are plenty of sun loungers and towels. What makes this house special is the huge outdoor seating areas with full dining table, perfect for relaxing and watching the sunrise and sunset. The location is inTrue Blue Bay and is only 5 minutes drive from the airport and also 5 minutes drive to Grand Anse Beach as well as local supermarkets and wonderful restaurants. A lovely quiet beach and True Blue resort and their wonderful restaurant are only a few minutes walk away. There are a variety of local restaurants and bars in walking distance including a pharmacy and convenience store. We are avid snorkelers and the best beach for snorkelling is Magazine Beach just in front of Aquarium restaurant (also great place to eat!). The other snorkelling spot is Dragon Bay which you can access via a beach. When you rent Villa Amarillo you not only get a great place to stay, but the most amazing host, Anna! We will be back for sure!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful Villa!

Review submitted: May 8, 2012   Date of arrival: May 4, 2012

We stayed at the Villa for two nights in May on the tail end of our sailing trip. The house was very comfortable for 8 people (4 couples) and Anna was wonderful in helping us settle in and setup daily activities. She even went out of her way on a weekend to assist with our travel logistics.

Great views with impeccable accommodations made Villa Amarillo the perfect place to wind up our vacation in Grenada.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

5* Grenada Villa and 6* Service

Review submitted: May 7, 2012   Date of arrival: May 4, 2012

Anna and Shirmely really did hit their mark! I can't tell you how wonderful the service was. While the house surpassed all my expectations, the service was the finest I have ever had and I am a FREQUENT user of VRBO.com and Homeaway.com. I rent a villa throughout the world at least once a year and this is by far the finest service I have ever been treated to. You honestly can NOT go wrong staying here.
Rooms are downright COLD at night with great A/C. Decor is wonderful, balconies abound, etc.. etc...
Bedrooms are all very spacious and no sooner have you left your room to take a dip in the pool and it's already all cleaned up, bed made, laundry folded, bathroom organized, etc.. etc..

Anna did an amazing job organizing everyhing for us from tours to dinners, to transportation and Shirmely took care of the service at the Villa. The place was perfect for us (4 married couples of 35 years of age after a long sailing trip).
Sweetest ladies in the southern Caribbean, I have no doubt.

Perfect decompression location.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Why Stay Anywhere Else?!

Review submitted: June 14, 2011   Date of arrival: April 17, 2011

This beautiful home is even better than the descriptions and pictures in every aspect and there is really no good reason to stay anywhere else on the warm and welcoming island of Grenada. Our family met up in Grenada from both coasts of the US for one of our more memorable vacations. Villa Amarillo was just spectacular with the views, the artwork and decor and best of all, five star service. The villa owner and manager, Anna, arranged for us to be picked up at the airport and then for our car rental to be delivered to our home the following morning including issueing our Grenadan drivers licences right in the dining room. The house was so spacious and comfortable with enormous bedroom suites and a beautiful wrap around porch with views of the ocean, a perfect place to enjoy meals. We loved the wonderful swimming pool and beautiful gardens.
We were so priveleged to have the services of Shirmely, our warm and friendly housekeeper and cook. She kept the villa sparkling clean, did our laundry and cooked all of our dinners for us, She served us breakfast in the mornings on the porch and went with us to the grocery store and fish market. We are a group of foodies who enjoy well spiced food that is healthy and I can honestly say that we are still talking about the wonderful fish roti, dirty rice with chicken, baked herbed fish, callilou soup, local vegetables and salads that she made for us.
Anna, Shirmely, Fiona (who rented us the car) and Donnelle who came late one night to fix our television provided us with the kind of concierge service that rivals the Four Seasons Hotels!
Other than eating out at the wonderful Aquarium Restaurant (strongly recommended by our "concereirge) we ate most meals at home. The beach at the Aquarium Restaurant was also fun to hang out at before and after our lunch. We loved the Belmont Estate, Bathaway Beach, snorkeling expedition to the underwater sculpture park, the Nutmeg Plant, the local markets, the garden tours and rain forest but the higlight for all of us was seeing the leatherback turtles laying their eggs on the beach under the light of a full moon at midnight. That was a once in a lifetime magical experience. And then we would come home to a home cooked meal from Shirmely!
We would wholeheartedly recommend that you stay at Villa Amarillo! We felt relaxed, pampered and very well taken care of. Thanks for a great vacation and for some wonderful memories!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Wonderful

Review submitted: June 11, 2011   Date of arrival: May 20, 2011

Renting a villa on an island you don't know is a risky undertaking. Let me put your mind at rest with respect to Villa Amarillo. The villa is every bit as beautiful as the photos promise. But better than that - the villa is clean, everything works, the daily help is charming and more than helpful (beds & room cleaning, laundry, fresh towels, breakfast, lunch/dinner on request), the privacy is complete. This is everything that it advertises and more.
True Blue is arguably the best residential area in Grenada, quiet and secure. The villa is high and enjoys a constant breeze. The living area is open and enjoys said breeze; the bedrooms all have very effective air conditioning and fans. The food - notably the fruit - is excellent and well prepared.
Two blocks away is the True Blue resort, so you can always walk down the street for a meal or beverage if you want to. The best restaurants in Grenada are within 10-15 minutes, as are some of the best beaches, including Grand Anse. We would recommend renting a car - or better a jeep - to access a different beach each day. (Alternatively you can make an arrangement with a friendly local cabbie). We would also recommend hiring a cab if you want to explore the island, especially the interior (hiking to the waterfalls is fun), because the roads are narrow, and let's just say the driving norms are specific to the island (yelling greetings to fellow cabbies and friends included).
So there is plenty to do, and Villa Amarillo is an ideal base to do as much or as little of those things as you want to.
Anna, mine hostess, is most helpful. Go stay at Villa Amarillo. Then you can write a review to give your unique take on why this is a wonderful idea.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Great Villa

Review submitted: July 27, 2010   Date of arrival: July 6, 2010

It was the most relaxing time I have had at any Villa. The Lady Ms. Wendy took care of the house hold chores. I just rested, slept, and swam in the pool. The Villa has 270 degrees view of the island which is rare for a villa. You can catch the Sunrise and the sunset each day. It is a must for any person who wants to enjoy a nice holiday.
The are is safe and the Caretaker was most reasonable and understanding. We had privacy and home comfort.

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you very much for your comment.
We at villa Amarillo are intuitive to all our guest needs.
So glad you caught the sunrise and sunset each day, it is a particular wonderful sight,

Thank you again .

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Guaranteed lovely holiday.

Review submitted: June 25, 2010   Date of arrival: April 11, 2010

We were looking for a last minute family holiday with a bit of luxury in the Caribbean but because we'd left it quite late and needed to travel over the Easter period prices were sky high and many of the obvious destinations were oversubscribed. We heard there were still vacancies in Grenada and the more we looked into it the more attractive the Island seemed to us. We didn't have any insider information on where to stay, so we did as much research as we could and looked for a roomy villa in a beautiful yet accessible spot. We kept being drawn back to Amarillo Villa because it seemed quite large yet affordable (we had 4 kids to amuse) with a pretty looking pool and in a nice area with good views and not too far from everywhere. It seemed to tick all the boxes, yet you can never really be sure until you get there can you?
The reason I'm writing this review is because it really is as good as it seems from the advertising. The villa stands alone on a very exclusive residential yet quite street (on a peninsula so the only traffic is from the relatively few inhabitants). What you can't tell from the pictures however is how relatively elevated it is, giving wonderful views over large areas of leafy undeveloped land towards the vividly blue sea from its many balconies and verandas. In fact all the trees and natural vegetation make it great for seeing interesting wildlife from hummingbirds right in the garden to iguanas perched imperiously on exposed branches. There is also a very short walk to a very private and unspoiled beach which was fun to do in the mornings before breakfast, cooked to our exacting requirements by a charming lady called Wendy who will prepare any meals for you on request and do all your laundry too!
They've worked everything out perfectly. The villa is run and owned by a lovely, larger than life, fun loving lady called Anna who makes sure that your holiday is tailored to your exact requirements. The service however is wonderfully discreet so privacy is never an issue. The house is lovely both inside and out. Its roomy yet homely with big bathrooms and lovely living spaces all beautifully thought through. The biggest problem was deciding on which bedroom to have as they were all so nice.
I'm running out of space, so I'll finish off by saying that of all the Caribbean Islands I've been to, Grenada is definitely my favorite. Its stunningly beautiful, unspoilt and very very friendly. There's lots of lovely places to eat too. Don't hesitate!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: At villa Amarillo we are intuitive to our guest needs.It may be a delicious lobster salad served at the pool deck,or fresh orange
juice replenished as you lay on your sun lounger.
We operate Amarillo as a home away from home ,with our artwork and personal artifacts.But , we add in the service which makes you relax,our staff will cook your meals, do your laundry and keep he villa clean (all in a very discreet manner ) perfect time to try some Caribbean dishes. Each guest is precious to us and we give a 100% from the first request for information about
Amarillo until the booking is completed.
We glow in our high level of return guest and positive responses.
We aim to maintain this standard and warmly welcome
all visitors to our villa Amarillo and beautiful island of Grenada.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

The property exceeded every expectation!

Review submitted: February 4, 2009   Date of arrival: January 22, 2009

If you have the chance to stay at Villa Amarillo, you must do it! Our family planned to gather in Grenada for a university event and we are so glad we chose this property as it was well worth the price. The house is on a peninsula with spectacular views of the ocean and St George's university across the bay. Each of the 4 bedrooms has a wonderful outdoor area attached, as well as adjacent sitting rooms, so that everyone can find their own personal space in sun or shade. The beautifully furnished rooms, including great room, dining room and outdoor lounging areas made sharing time together so relaxing and comfortable. The pool has lush landscaping all around it and a separate cabana and plenty of chaise loungers for everyone.
Service at the property exceeded every expectation. Our plane was late coming in, at midnight, but our host met us with a very warm welcome at the house, including presenting us with a sumptious hot meal! With air travel service the way it is now, it was so nice to feel so pampered. That was the beginning of an extremely pleasant stay, as the house rental included the services of a wonderful housekeeper who remained at the house all day to ensure that everything was kept in perfect order. Everything was kept sparkling clean but she was also very discrete and in the background so we could enjoy the whole house. She was also a valuable source of information about everything and anything on the island. She even went to the grocery store with us to help pick up local products to prepare some wonderful meals in the Carribbean manner. Our visiting guests from the school were so impressed with the beautiful accommodation and wonderful food that we all felt very fortunate to be able to enjoy such a wonderful place. There is even another male employee living in an adjacent apartment to keep the gardens beautiful and provide additional security at night.
The owner has done her homework to ensure that guests from anywhere will be reluctant to leave the property, even to go enjoy the rest of the island, as it is so comfortable to "just stay home at Villa Amarillo". The pictures on the site do not do justice to the property - the western sunsets from the main decks over the ocean are million dollar views. The owner has done everything right to ensure she will always have repeat guests. We were proud to invite friends back to the house and look forward to returning next year! This is Caribbean hospitality at its best!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review