reviews for: listing #18242 - Anna Maria Island, Florida House rental

Beach Retreat - Relaxing Oasis
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $60 - $100 /nt
    $395 - $595 /wk
    $1,200 - $2,895 /mth

sort by:

Very relaxing vacation area....

Review submitted: May 4, 2011   Date of arrival: March 1, 2011

Had a great time, very relaxing, quiet area, has most everything one could want furnished.

The Finney's are very responsive to your needs, problems.

This spot is convient to local, or within easy drive of things to see and do, short 2 block walk to very nice beachs.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

We had a good time, would consider renting again.

Review submitted: April 12, 2011   Date of arrival: March 24, 2011

The property is split into two separate units. We stayed in the Bay Breeze unit. The amenities were fine, there was a LCD tv in the living room and DVD player. Bathroom was nice, good shower. Queen bed in 1 BR, 2 twins in the other BR. Laundry in unit was nice, we took advantage of that a couple of times. Decor is pretty traditional florida - some bright colors, alot of white.

Beach was about a 2 block walk from the unit, we went every day at least once, sometimes twice. Wonderful white sand beach that wasn't very crowded, even on spring break week. The rental location is about in the middle from the major roads coming over from the mainland to the island, so the tourists went to the big public beaches nearest the bridges.

Lots of great dining opportunities on the island, plenty of variety from fresh seafood to pizza. We used the grill at the rental one night as well. Picked up some tangerines from the grocery store and used the provided juicer to make some fantastic juice! Visiting the fishing piers was fun, we did that a couple of times, there are restaurants near all of the piers with decent food. Our last day there was a dolphin swimming around very near the pier, and we saw dolphins a few times out from the local beach as well.

My only "gripes" are the outside seating area for the bay breeze unit was not very inviting - you really don't have a view of anything, other than other houses and the side of the rental. The AC runs a lot, and that is noisy outside as well. Inside the couch was a little uncomfortable for 2 people as it was pretty soft in the middle and you ended up sliding toward each other. The queen bed was also a little soft and over the week I could feel my back getting more sore. The twin beds are much firmer. The trolley system on the island is pretty slow if the roads get busy - we waited over 40 mins one day and never saw the trolley, so we had to walk back to the unit and get our car instead.

Overall we had a great time on the island, and the location was ideal for beach access and getting around. The grocery store is fairly close, and they sell wine and beer there so you really don't need to go anywhere else. The location is also pretty residential so there isn't much traffic or noise. The owners Rhonda and Duane are very easy to deal with and were accommodating of our trip schedule for check in and out. Cleaning fee was within reason. Thanks Rhonda and Duane for a fun and much needed vacation!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Wonderful Place

Review submitted: May 31, 2010   Date of arrival: May 16, 2010

Our stay was awesome. The cottages were nice and clean and roomy. We were across the street from the beautiful ocean. There were 8 family members who stayed and enjoyed each others company. Thank you

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 9

 

Coconut Cottage a Gem

Review submitted: February 10, 2010   Date of arrival: January 1, 2010

We had a wonderful stay at this property. The amenities were truly excellent, and the unit was well-maintained and clean; the kitchen well-equiped and modern. We enjoyed the quiet neighborhood and found the location very convenient to shopping, grocery, library, workout facilities, walks on the beach. Depending on the time of day, you can walk a block or two to witness the sunset over the Gulf or the sunrise over the bay. With a full-range of restaurants and a free trolley system, the island is a wonderful place to vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 9

 

Great Vacation

Review submitted: November 14, 2009   Date of arrival: November 7, 2009

Our stay at the Coconut Cottage was great. We stayed in the smaller 2 bedroom portion of the cottage and it was more than enough room. About 2 blocks from the beach, the location was perfect. I highly recommend it.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Great Place To Stay

Review submitted: September 12, 2008   Date of arrival: August 30, 2008

Vacation rental on anna maria island was just as discribed in the advertisement. Location was very good, close to main road, beach & bay within a block. Restaurants within a close range. Grocery shopping was convenient. Property was clean, very well maintained. Large hd tv was great. Kitchen well equipped. We were able to bring our pets. Very quiet neighborhood. I would definitely recommend this property as a good vacation rental. Well worth the price. Free island trolley very convenient just a couple of blocks from house (blocks in florida are not as long as a big city)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 52 / 53

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review