reviews for: listing #18285 - Beach Haven, New Jersey House rental

Oceanfront-Classy--3or6BR
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  South Beach Haven
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $200 - $650 /nt
    $1,200 - $4,600 /wk

sort by:

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 30, 2007   Date of arrival: November 1, 2007

A perfect beach house for enjoying the gorgeous LBI sunrises and ocean breezes, and socializing with friends or family. Owner was very responsive and helped make our weekend truly wonderful.

Owners response: Janice & company enjoyed a late October 2007 long weekend

Helpful votes: 51 / 52

 

Great Vacation!!!

Review submitted: July 18, 2014   Date of arrival: June 28, 2014

This was our second time to LBI. This second time was even more enjoyable and relaxing then the first time. LBI is a great place for a family vacation. On both times we stayed at the same beach house. The beach house is at a great location, lovely and clean. The renter John is very very accomodating and kept in touch during our stay to make sure we were having a good time and to ask if anything was needed. We will definately be back at LBI and at the same beach house.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Perfect Place

Review submitted: May 27, 2014   Date of arrival: May 16, 2014

We could not have asked for a more perfect location for a fun family weekend at the beach. The web site describes everything perfectly. Everything was very comfortable and clean.....you felt like you were in your own home. Very convenient to the town to get anything you may need. To top it off, the owners could not have been nicer. This will definitely be a return trip for us....if we are lucky enough!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

GREAT HOUSE!

Review submitted: May 5, 2014   Date of arrival: April 24, 2014

Perfect weekend, Perfect house. Wonderful views from beach level unit. Had a wonderful time, the owner is such a doll. Will be renting again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent family get away

Review submitted: April 30, 2014   Date of arrival: April 18, 2014

Great house - has everything you need for a relaxing get away. Right on the beach, well stocked kitchen and close to town.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks. This family has been returning for many years.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect home in LBI!!

Review submitted: April 23, 2014   Date of arrival: April 15, 2014

Rented this beautiful home for a quick getaway and also surprised my eleven year old for Spring Break. It was fabulous, well kept and very clean and the kitchen had everything you could possibly need. It was perfect in every way!!! Also it was such a pleasure to communicate with John and he was very accommodating. The view from the deck is breathtaking! We will definitely be renting this home next year!! Thank you John for everything!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect long weekend getaway...

Review submitted: April 13, 2014   Date of arrival: April 5, 2014

LOVE. THIS. RENTAL! It meets every need in a weekend getaway. John is one of the MOST accommodating landlords on LBI. It really is a treasure. Thanks again and again!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Beautiful LBI

Review submitted: November 6, 2013   Date of arrival: October 25, 2013

What a perfect place to relax and unwind from our stressful jobs. Spent a weekend in October with girlfriends. Spacious and Clean. Could see and hear the ocean. Can't wait to spend another weekend with my husband. We love LBI.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Amazing View

Review submitted: October 30, 2013   Date of arrival: October 21, 2013

The view from the upper deck is just fantastic...right over the dunes to the beach and ocean. The apartment is comfortable, with everything you need for a great stay - nice kitchen, lots of TVs, beach chairs and boogie boards. Perhaps best of all was dealing with the owners - prompt, professional and personal - a pleasure to work with. We were there the third week of October, so the island was really quiet, but we still found a few good restaurants. If we go back in the fall again, this will be our destination.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

highly recommended

Review submitted: September 5, 2013   Date of arrival: August 24, 2013

Great location--less than a half hour walk to center of Beach Haven and not as crowded beaches up there--has a private path to the beach, very responsive owner and it is well supplied. Don't hesitate to go--Superstorm Sandy did not affect this place--the dune held. It just needs to grow back some vegetation. The island is in relatively good shape compared to many other areas. A few businesses are no longer there and there is some construction and renovation going on particularly in Holgate but not in the immediate vicinity of this house.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 11 / 12

 

LBI Lover

Review submitted: August 12, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

This house was great. The deck and the view can not be matched. We really enjoyed ourselves. The proximity to Beach Haven can't be beat. We would recommend it to anyone. Owners are great. I mentioned a few things that we needed and the next thing you know we were at store picking up those items the same day. Great service! It was so relaxing and peaceful, I wish we could be there every week!

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 14 / 15

 

Family Vacation Amazing

Review submitted: July 12, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

We have vacationed on LBI for the past 14 years. But this house is really spectacular. The view of the ocean was breathtaking at sunrise. The owner John was very quick with ours needs to make our vacation memorable. My kids now are married and still love LBI. But this year was very special for them, as they start families of their own...I have already requested for next year!!!
Thank you John & Diane...

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 12 / 13

 

annual family reunion

Review submitted: June 3, 2013   Date of arrival: May 24, 2013

Our family has been renting on LBI for more than 30 years, but this oceanfront gem is one we plan to return to again and again. The houses are well-appointed...including ice makers and everything you would need to cook a gourmet meal. There are loads of beach chairs and toys AND perfectly furnished gorgeous decks. You have 180 degree plus views of the ocean from the living space, and super easy beach access across the dune path. PLUS....the owners are responsive and welcoming, providing island information prior to arrival. A MUST GO!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Love this place!

Review submitted: April 30, 2013   Date of arrival: April 21, 2013

John is one of the most accomodating oceanfront owners on LBI. The upper unit is wonderfully equipped and beautifully decorated...it has the nicest feeling of peace and serenity. It is the perfect weekend getaway and is great for a girlfriend's weekend.
I'll be back, for sure!
Thanks!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the kind words. This is Barbara's 2nd time back. Thanks for returning.

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

girls'weekend

Review submitted: April 26, 2013   Date of arrival: April 18, 2013

John and Denise's beachhouse provided a wonderful location for a grils'' getaway weekend in LBI. The house was very clean, and gave us everything we needed to relax at the beach. John was more than accommodating with anything that we needed to ask, and was extremely pleasant. The view of the beach was fabulous and we would recommend this place for families or friends :)

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Jessica's group stayed in the beach level unit. Glad you had a good time.

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

great place and super owners/host who are very caring

Review submitted: October 29, 2012   Date of arrival: October 18, 2012

great place and super owners/host who are very caring.
clean and lots of cooking utensils and a TV in each room.
balcony with grill is super for lounging in the sun, coffee in the morning or cocktails at night listening to the waves.
SO PEACEFUL and quiet area!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

Lovely Weekend

Review submitted: October 17, 2012   Date of arrival: September 28, 2012

We rented the lower level the last weekend in September for the Chowdafest and had a wonderful time. The house is so nice, the deck and grill area are wonderful and the property is right on the beach. We couldn't have asked for a better weekend!

Recommended for: sight seeing

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

September Vacation

Review submitted: September 15, 2012   Date of arrival: September 1, 2012

We had a wonderful vacation the first week in September. The beach is beautiful and we were
very comfortable. The property we rented is lovely with everything we needed. The deck
is perfect. We had a wonderful breakfast each morning looking out onto the ocean.
The ocean breeze at this time of the year is quite nice.

The property has everything we need in terms of cooking supplies, dishes, etc.
The beds are very comfortable and each room has a TV which is a plus when we have
had guests.

We will be back again the same time next year!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Jean & Tom..thanks for coming back in 2012 and for reserving for 2013

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Our Family Vacation

Review submitted: August 16, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

Our extended family of children and grandchildren has been enjoying a wonderful vacation/reunion at this fabulous location for many years. It is right on the beach and at night we watch the moon rise over the ocean and hear the sound of the surf.
The house is attractive but comfortable with TV's in every room plus the living room. Our gang watched the Olypmics, baseball, and played video games in the hours we were not on the beach. We cooked and dined in the well-equipped kitchen. We usually go to Bistro 14 our last night. Good food and BYO.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: This family has been vacationing in both units for over five years now.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

week in July

Review submitted: August 3, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

Accurate vrbo pictures, responsive owner, great place--no complaints--even got lucky with the weather. Beach Haven is more than a couple of blocks (5 minutes by car and a half hour walking) but the beach in front is not as crowded.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway

Owners response: Sue and family, thanks for returning in 2012 (third vacation) and for reserving in 2013

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Charlene & Rich - Bethlehem, PA

Review submitted: July 19, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

Absolutely an incredible vacation with my entire family, including the young grandchildren. The upper floor was immaculate, everything was clean and the beds were comfortable. Didn't have any problems therefore it wasn't necessary to contact the owner.
Most definitely would have this a beach house to return to if we are vacation next year or later.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

2803 South Long Beach Blvd., Beach Haven, N>J>

Review submitted: June 10, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the above address for a long overdue vacation. We rented it sight unseen, based on website and we were pleasantly surprised at the accomodations which were above and beyond our expectations . All the descriptions by the owner were accurate with no exaggerations. The view, unbelievablly magnificent, the home was clean, comfortable and every amentity you would want. We made a commitment to John and Diane to rent the sametime next year! Can't wait!!!!!!!!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

A Beautiful South Beach Haven Get Away!

Review submitted: June 8, 2012   Date of arrival: May 28, 2012

This was our 2nd year renting from John. Last year we had the lower level and this year we experienced the upper level with the amazing view of the ocean and beach!! We even brought another couple with us this time!! We all had an amazing week. John's place makes you feel right at home! His property is always very clean, well maintained and it even had a few upgrades from last year! You can see that John takes a lot of pride in his place!!
I was even able to take my kids to Fantasy Island this year and hangout by the park. On our last night we went to Buckalew's Restaurant for a wonderful seafood dinner which is only a couple blocks up from the house :) We can't wait to return!

Thank you John for another GREAT week at your place!!!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Wonderful Weekend

Review submitted: June 5, 2012   Date of arrival: May 25, 2012

My family rented the upper level of this beautiful beach home. We had a wonderful weekend enjoying the beautiful vista of the beach from the deck. The owners were responsive to our needs and we will definitely try to rent this home again in the future.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Ocean at your doorstep

Review submitted: May 17, 2012   Date of arrival: May 1, 2012

We rented the upper level and had an 180 degree view of the This upper level beach house is directly on the ocean oceanfront with a 180 degree view of the ocean from the house. It's a breathtaking view so beautiful. The pictures are exactly what the house looks like and it is tastefully decorated in a beach/light house motif which reminds you of where you are. If you want to cook there is high end pots and pans and a even and individual ice maker unit so yu never run put of ice. The beds are very comfortable to ensure. Restful nights sleep.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Julie from PA

Review submitted: May 16, 2012   Date of arrival: May 7, 2012

What great luck to have come across this listing at Home Away! We had good vibes all through the booking process . . . the Truscott's are very accommodating and helpful. When we arrived, we were delighted to see that our expectations were more than met. The condo is beautiful and in a great location. We'll be back!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Beautiful home, amazing views and wonderful owners

Review submitted: April 27, 2012   Date of arrival: April 19, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed 3 nights last week at this beautiful home in Beach Haven. John and Diane are wonderful to rent from. They called to make sure we arrived safely and told us to enjoy the home like we would our own. The home lacks nothing and made our stay very enjoyable. Cleanliness is very important to us and this home gets 5 stars. Thanks again, we look forward to staying again next year.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect Family Vacation!

Review submitted: April 25, 2012   Date of arrival: April 14, 2012

We have returned 3 years in a row .... we love LBI! The house is perfect for families. Right on the beach = great for kids to play in a safe environment. House is well equip for cooking for the family or for going into town to many yummie and family friendly restaurants.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Birthday getaway

Review submitted: April 8, 2012   Date of arrival: March 30, 2012

We spent only 5 days but wished we had stayed longer. The location was lovely with perfect view of the ocean and sunrise. One morning we were entertained by dolphins feeding and playing just past the breakers. The accommodations were more than adequate with all the needed amenities to make our stay comfortable and relaxing. The owners went out of their way to make sure our visit was just perfect. The photos on the internet are accurate but in person it is more beautiful. Our visit was off season but there were still several beach businesses open on the weekend and the local grocery store and diner along with several other restaurants made meal easy.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

A memorable weekend with girlfriends

Review submitted: October 22, 2011   Date of arrival: October 14, 2011

My girllfriends and I booked this for a long weekend. We had a great time. Ocean so close and weather was sunny and hovered around sixty nine. The deck was perfect. Large and clean. Rental unit had everything and was also clean. The owner was very kind and helpful. Hoping to go back next year. Beautiful rainbow one of the days. We have awesome pictures. A place you would really enjoy....

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

A memorable weekend with girlfriends

Review submitted: October 22, 2011   Date of arrival: October 14, 2011

My girllfriends and I booked this for a long weekend. We had a great time. Ocean so close and weather was sunny and hovered around sixty nine. The deck was perfect. Large and clean. Rental unit had everything and was also clean. The owner was very kind and helpful. Hoping to go back next year. Beautiful rainbow one of the days. We have awesome pictures. A place you would really enjoy....

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Lowi (Collegeville, PA)

Review submitted: October 19, 2011   Date of arrival: October 11, 2011

This is my first time to Long Beach Island. The house was amazing! I rented the upper unit and couldn't have been happier. Went during the off season and it was very quiet and secluded which was why I picked this time of year. Having the beach right outside your door can not be described. There were still a few places open to eat and stores to visit as well as the lighthouse. The house had everything I needed for my stay and it was very clean. I can't wait to go back again. Thank you John & Diane.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Hilda - Trexlertown PA

Review submitted: October 19, 2011   Date of arrival: October 3, 2011

We rented the Beach Level section of the house. I felt like we were in Paradise the whole week!!! John was great to work with while making the arrangements!

There was everything there that one would need!!!

Can't wait to go back again next year.....!

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 13, 2011   Date of arrival: September 23, 2011

We stayed at the lower-level unit from September 23rd through the 30th and had a great time!
The house was well equipped and very comfortable: we had everything we required in terms
of kitchen supplies. The beds were very comfortable. The deck was lovely. We loved being right on the beach. The owner was very helpful. Although we stayed in September, we were able to enjoy some great restaurants.
We will definitely return next September.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Beautiful beachfront location

Review submitted: October 11, 2011   Date of arrival: October 8, 2011

When we learned the beautiful weather for the Columbus day weekend, we found this house and called John a few days prior. Our questions were well answered and the house was booked quickly with convenient & flexible arrangement. John personally greeted us by the door upon our arrival. My husband, two kids and I all enjoyed the house, the beach and gorgeous sunrise. We may go back there another time.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

A wonderful family vacation place.

Review submitted: August 31, 2011   Date of arrival: August 13, 2011

This was our fourth family vacation renting both units of this wonderful beach house. The unobstructed view of the ocean from the upper deck makes you feel like you own the beach. The house has everything you need to cook or barbecue a famly meal. We always find it clean and attractive when we arrive. We like being this far south on the island where there are fewer houses and things are quieter, but we can still get to Murphy's, The Black Dog, The Frosty Mug, Pearl St. and Fantasy Island easily. No traffic jams. So happy it did not suffer any damage from Hurricane Irene.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Excellent Location, Responsive Owner

Review submitted: August 19, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

Our family had a wonderful time at the Turcott's house! The location couldn't have been more perfect and the house itself was clean and full of all the ammenities that a family could want - they even have an ice maker. Beach chairs, sand buckets, boogies boards were all available.We had one issue where we needed the attention of the owner and John was EXTREMELY attentive. Couldn't have asked for a better rental.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Wonderful Family Reunion

Review submitted: August 11, 2011   Date of arrival: July 30, 2011

We have enjoyed this beach house for the last 4 years. This year, we had both the upper and lower units with extended family. I thought it would be a one time special year, but my family is hooked. They all want to come back next year. The house is lovely, the location is the best on LBI. The owner adds something new every year and is available and very attentive to your needs or questions. The added special touches are evident.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: This family has been vacationing at the house for many years and will be returning in 2012 & 2013

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Amazing Vacation in LBI!

Review submitted: July 22, 2011   Date of arrival: June 25, 2011

We had an absolutely amazing time at your home. The property is literally right on the beach so with kids it's amazing...if we wanted to grab lunch, we would just leave our stuff and could feel comfortable enough leaving it on the beach 1) b/c it's LBI and i love the crowds of people that go and 2) b/c we could SEE our stuff! Wonderful view wonderful property we will return!

Thank you!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect Week!

Review submitted: July 8, 2011   Date of arrival: June 25, 2011

Before all my grandchildren went away to camp I spent an amazing week at the beach with them and my daughter. Perfect house, perfect weather, perfect location, perfect week!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Thank you Theresa for returning again in 2011.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Guest Book Comment

Review submitted: June 26, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

We were first time renters but won't be the last time renters. The owners were very accommadating and responded quickly to our questions and needs. The house was beautiful, clean, and the location was the best. Our 5 year old son had the best time on the beach and it was all he needed. To see his big smile, and to hear his hearty laugh everyday was priceless. To be able to relax and just watch our son enjoy himself on a trip is what a vacation should be. It was an awesome vacation. Definately will rent again in the coming years. Hopefully we will be able to make it in time to try the upper level next time.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

An Unforgettable Beach Getaway!

Review submitted: June 7, 2011   Date of arrival: May 30, 2011

My kids an I had an absolutely wonderful time at John's beach house! We were sad to leave. The house is very comfortable and clean. It was also equipped with everything you need. The best part was that you were only 15' from the beach!! You can't get any better than that!

This will be the beginning of many fond memories we plan to make in LBI! We definitely plan on returning again next year. Maybe next time we could experince the upper level :)

Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful beach house with us!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Petra & family have already reserved for 2012. Thanks for returning

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

An Unforgettable Beach Getaway!

Review submitted: June 5, 2011   Date of arrival: May 30, 2011

My kids and I had an unforgettable time at the Turcott's beach home! They have a lovely house which is fully equipped with everything you need and more! I loved the decor! The house is very comfortable and clean. And you can't get any better then being directly on the beach! The owner is very friendly and accommodating!

Thank you John for sharing your beach house so I can have this great experince with my kids. I plan to make alot more fond memories in LBI and plan on returning again next year!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Location, location, location!

Review submitted: May 27, 2011   Date of arrival: May 18, 2011

This is a beautifully decorated beach house on the ocean. The location is five-star rated. The house is equipped with everything you need for a very relaxing and enjoyable time at the shore. We would not hesitate to rent again in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

A vacation rescued by a superb owner, and a lovely apartment.

Review submitted: May 21, 2011   Date of arrival: May 10, 2011

I hope that this place is usually booked up months in advance - it deserves to be - but I'm very grateful it wasn't booked up in early May. I'd made plans months previously to come over from England and meet friends in NJ. We'd booked a property elsewhere which fell through at the last minute. Having travelled from the UK this was a bit of a disappointment. Thank goodness for John, who rescued our vacation at less than 6 hours notice! Not only is the house comfortable, well appointed, and beautifully located; the owner is on the ball, communicative, and incredibly helpful.

The house is right on the beach. Add to this a great kitchen (we brought serious knives and pans, only to discover a kitchen full of them), a supremely comfortable lounge, excellent beds, loads of storage space, capacious deck with great furniture, and (a luxury beyond imagining for this Brit) an icemaker - it was heaven. Please don't let the UK know about LBI - they'll invade the place!

One note of caution. The first floor (where we were) is susceptible to noise from upstairs - if you're not used to apartment living you might want to choose the second floor (or book the whole place - that's what we plan to do next time). Both have beautiful east-facing decks. The first floor benefits from a sand-dune breaking the wind - definitely a bonus early in the season. Upstairs the deck is less sheltered, but gets more of the late afternoon/evening sun.

I would book this place again tomorrow if I wasn't on the wrong side of the Atlantic Ocean. Thank you John.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great Beach House and rental experience!

Review submitted: May 19, 2011   Date of arrival: April 29, 2011

The house was amazing, had everything and more. John the owner was wonderful to work with and was helpful with every detail. The house has beautiful views and is just an overall great place to enjoy a get away at LBI. I plan on renting this beach home again and again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Quality Place to have some Quality Time

Review submitted: May 16, 2011   Date of arrival: May 4, 2011

Spent 5 nights here in May, 2011. My husband and I had the place to ourselves a couple days, then had friends with us. A perfect retreat! We spent more time on the deck than doing anything; the ocean front view was fantastic. Plenty of room, comfortable, owners are available, full kitchen had everything you need and a lot more. I'm very happy with the choice and if I get out of Arizona to the East Coast again, this would definitely be my choice.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Lovely place!

Review submitted: May 11, 2011   Date of arrival: May 6, 2011

The place was absolutely gorgeous. The owners are very friendly and accommodating as well. Will definitely rent this place again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Just what we needed!

Review submitted: April 28, 2011   Date of arrival: April 21, 2011

Myhusband and I stayed in this beautifully decorated condo for Easter weekend and it was heavenly. Right on the water...comfortable furnishings, everything we could have asked for. We hope to return in the off-season!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Thanksgiving Getaway

Review submitted: March 30, 2011   Date of arrival: November 20, 2010

We rented both top and bottom units for a family getaway for Thanksgiving. It was great! Having both gave plenty of space. Also, having both units gave us the ability to prepare dinner upstairs and relax downstairs while the meal was cooking. The house was beautiful and very clean. The views were picturesque. Would definately rent here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Clean, Comfortable and Views galore

Review submitted: November 19, 2010   Date of arrival: November 10, 2010

We recently stayed in the upper level unit for a fall fishing trip. Check-in was simple and the unit was immaculate. Although we picked a bad week for fishing - it didn't matter because the location of this home was so perfect, we sat on the deck and took in the amazing view. Some things we liked: TVs in each bedroom, wireless internet, upgraded mattresses and toppers, clean shower curtain, ice maker, large couches, eight chairs in kitchen, the view of the sunrise each morning.
We called this the "Life Guard Stand House" because we were so close to the water it felt like we were sitting on the life guard stand.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

It doesn't get much better!

Review submitted: October 23, 2010   Date of arrival: October 18, 2010

This was my second stay at the Turcott home. I was there last May for just a couple of nights and knew I had to come back. By the time I made that decision, the only availability for myself and the Turcotts was mid October. It was perfect. Beautiful brisk mornings, warm days and cool evenings. Even the two days of rain fit in with my plans. Reading a good book curled up watching the ocean...it really doesn't get much better. This time I was there for 4 nights and it still was not enough. I am going to put in a request for a full week next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

October Retreat

Review submitted: October 18, 2010   Date of arrival: October 10, 2010

What an awesome way to celebrate a fall get away birthday celebration.
We utilized the first floor,which was very accesable for seniors.
The owners seem to take pride in their vacation home,the living area has a very nice flow,and the extra half bath certainly helps for convenience.Tucked away aside of the sand dunes,I was protected from the wind,enjoyed just enough sun,and listened to the rhythm of the waves as I read my book.
So delightful.!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Another Great Vacation!

Review submitted: September 8, 2010   Date of arrival: August 14, 2010

This is the fourth year our entire family has had a reunion/vacation at the Turcott house. The house is well-maintained and equipped for easy summer living. We spend our days on the beach. It is never crowded, but there are lifeguards. We are a family of cooks and the gourmet competition is part of the fun. Very few summer rentals have working ovens and barbecues; good pots and pans; not to mention nice dishes and cutlery. Cocktails on the deck are when we all get together and watch the kids fly kites and the athletes surf.
The house is convenient to Murphy's Market, Kepler's Drug Store, Mister Tee's Miniature Golf and Fantasy Island all of which we patronize in a week that goes too fast. We are signed up again for next year!!

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

Awesome Location & Owners

Review submitted: July 28, 2010   Date of arrival: July 17, 2010

We enjoyed the place so much last year, that we went back again this year with our 3 kids. The location and proximity to beach (i.e. right on it) cannot be beat. The private beach access is also very nice for the young ones. This year, we also rented the downstairs unit this year for the in-laws, which was perfect. John and Dianne are fantastic hosts who truly care about their property. We'll be back again!

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Ladies Week!!!

Review submitted: June 30, 2010   Date of arrival: June 5, 2010

My friends and I rented both untils for a girls getaway in the beginning of June. We had an awesome time and I wish I could have spent the entire summer here on the beach! There is nothing better than waking up in the morning and having a cup of coffee or tea on the deck and enjoying the beautiful view. John was great and I would recommend this property to anyone who loves the ocean.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 

Great Beach Trip!

Review submitted: June 7, 2010   Date of arrival: June 1, 2010

We stayed in John's place for five days over Memorial Day week and loved every minute of it. The house is in a great location on the beach. Perfect for a family with an infant and four-year-old. We could come back and forth between the house and beach as necessary. It is decorated very nicely and has everything you need. The deck was terrific, nicely shaded, and a great view from the beach level. John was also very responsive to our questions. We can't wait to rent again next summer!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 

This beach house has it all with stunning views

Review submitted: June 5, 2010   Date of arrival: August 29, 2009

My family has stayed in this beach house over a dozen times in the last five years. This home is exactly as described and even better. This house has it all. Views to die for, uncrowded beach, short walk to the bay, guests upstairs or down are always friendly. The kitchen is loaded with gadgets, wireless internet, central air, beach badges, beach chairs, beach toys, grill on each deck. There is plenty of parking, an outside shower, playground nearby. Deli is a short walk as well as a place to rent bikes and kayaks(the owner rents kayaks also). There are ceiling fans and recessed lights in all the bedrooms. The mattresses are all comfortable and the bedrooms are painted with beachy colors. The owners are great to work with, always available. My family and I have already reserved for 2011.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 14 / 14

 

Perfect Beach Getaway!

Review submitted: June 5, 2010   Date of arrival: May 24, 2010

We booked this getaway for my father's birthday. The first floor unit was perfect for us as there aren't many steps yet he could still enjoy the sun and the views of the ocean and sand! The decor of the house is charming! It is well kept and clean. Excellent communication with the owner. They do everything possible to ensure a nice vacation!!

Hope to stay here again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

Review submitted: March 1, 2010   Date of arrival: March 1, 2010

My family and I have stayed in this house for several summers, both downstairs and upstairs. Both apartments are well maintained and roomy; the house is right on the beach with a beautiful view; the owners are always very helpful and accomodating. We really loved our time there.

Helpful votes: 22 / 22

 

Review submitted: November 27, 2009   Date of arrival: November 27, 2009

We stayed here for a last minute getaway weekend in Nov and really enjoyed the house. The beach is beautiful and basically spent the day at the kitchen table enjoying the view of the ocean. The owner is available for questions, and the house is very warm and comfortable.

Helpful votes: 20 / 20

 

Review submitted: October 14, 2009   Date of arrival: October 14, 2009

We had a great time and great weather (especially for October)! The house was extremely comfortable for our mini family reunion and you certainly can't beat the location and views. We want to try to come back again next year.

Helpful votes: 20 / 20

 

Review submitted: October 12, 2009   Date of arrival: October 12, 2009

Rented lower unit with my two sisters as a 60th wedding anniversary gift to our parents in early October. The unit was perfect for us and view even from lower level was great. We have very fond memories of vacationing on LBI growing up and we just added one more. Weather was superb and landlord very friendly and accomodating. Very clean and well maintained.

Helpful votes: 20 / 20

 

Review submitted: September 2, 2009   Date of arrival: September 2, 2009

The whole family had a great time. It has an excellent location--1.2 miles from Beach Haven--so the beach is not as crowded as further north. And the view from the upper deck is great. We will book again.
Susan, Steve and family

Owners response: Susan, Steve and family are returning in 2010.

Helpful votes: 20 / 20

 

Review submitted: August 4, 2009   Date of arrival: August 4, 2009

We rented the upper unit for a week in July. We and our four children had a fantastic week-- in large part due to the location of the house and being right on the beach. The house is comfortable and the view from the deck is second to none. John and Diane were great hosts and responsive to our needs. Thanks for helping to make our vacation a memorable one!

Helpful votes: 19 / 19

 

Review submitted: July 31, 2009   Date of arrival: July 31, 2009

We rented the upper unit for a week in July. The five of us had a wonderful time. John's home is beautiful and we actually got to meet him, his son and his wife. Very, very nice people. We had great weather and will rent again in the future. My family loved the outdoor shower with warm water and the water pressure in the house was excellent.

Helpful votes: 19 / 19

 

Review submitted: July 26, 2009   Date of arrival: July 26, 2009

The view from the lower unit was better than we imagined, and the convenient access to the beach unsurpassed. We also really enjoyed the uncrowded beach and the cozy home. We hope to return soon.

Helpful votes: 18 / 18

 

Review submitted: July 22, 2009   Date of arrival: July 22, 2009

Had a girl's long weekend in April and rented the top floor. Had a great time. The view is beatiful. We're renting again this October and I can't wait.

Helpful votes: 16 / 16

 

Review submitted: July 17, 2009   Date of arrival: July 17, 2009

We had a wonderful stay on LBI in the lower unit of John's beautiful beach house. Everything was exactly as pictured online... even better! The unit was impeccably clean, was very comfortable, and had everything we needed. The deck was spacious and partially shaded by the deck above, and we enjoyed using the grill often for easy lunches and dinners. The beach was gorgeous, clean, and not too crowded. The super-easy access from the lower unit to the beach was wonderful, and I loved that my littlest one didn't have to go up or down stairs to get from the deck to the sand! The outdoor shower (warm water!) was terrific. Loved the house, loved the stay, definitely will be back.

Helpful votes: 16 / 16

 

Review submitted: July 16, 2009   Date of arrival: July 16, 2009

We have stayed in a lot of places up and down the east coast and
none, none, were an easier overall experience in terms of ease of setting up the
rental, getting into the unit and getting out. The owners made everything really
easy and were very nice. And the unit was great! Exactly as described and clean!
We'll be back again, you can count on it!

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Review submitted: July 16, 2009   Date of arrival: July 16, 2009

Great house! Upper level had a fabulous view. Deck
provided an experience of being on the beach without
the sand. Location is perfect... close enough to beach
haven's main drag for shopping and entertainment
and far enough for peace and quiet. Had a great week
and would rent again in a minute.

Owners response: Thanks KS & family

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Review submitted: July 15, 2009   Date of arrival: July 15, 2009

I have stayed at many houses in LBI - but this house had it all - great views, great location, and great amenities - you don't have to bring a thing - everything is there and John is wonderful to deal with - my only regret is that I am not there right now!! I would recommend this house to anyone who wants to have a fabulous time and never have to leave the deck!!

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Review submitted: July 3, 2009   Date of arrival: July 3, 2009

I've rented from John twice so far, and the best way I can describe the business rapport with John and the stay at his beach house is...it feels like staying at your favorite uncle's beach house.

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Review submitted: June 9, 2009   Date of arrival: June 9, 2009

I went to LBI with some friends and we
loved the property. You can't get
better than a beach front house that has
such great amenities! You can't beat the
location and the owners made all the
details easy and pleasant. I would
definitely love to revisit, and can't
wait to!

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Review submitted: June 1, 2009   Date of arrival: June 1, 2009

Stunning location right on the beach with a fabulous
deck where you can grill and sunbathe.

Owners response: Emma & family enjoyed the beach level during a recent, first time stay.

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Review submitted: May 1, 2009   Date of arrival: May 1, 2009

Great place to relax and charge the batteries. Perfect stretch of beach right at your door.

Thanks John.

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 14, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

My husband and I would be hard pressed to have found a more lovely property at such a reasonable price on LBI. Not only were the accomodations just lovely, and the house so receptive to a family vacation, but the views were just magnificent! John and Diane provide attention to your needs, so much so that at times we forgot it was their house and not ours. Thank you for a wonderful Easter week and we look forward to spending more time in your love "home".

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 13, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

we had a great time..its nice that you can rent an oceanfront in the off season..the house is clean, nice and definitely well cared for by John and Diane

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 7, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

We went to the LBI house for my sister's birthday. We fell in love with the house! John and Diane have so many special touches in the entire house. We rented the beach level. The location is terrific only 1.2 miles from Beach Haven Center.
We will be back!
Sheila

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 29, 2009   Date of arrival: January 29, 2009

"Great location for family reunion, and terrific weather for Thanksgiving! Very comfortable, but do bring sunglasses as the sunshine will blind you in the mornings. We enjoyed moonrise over the Atlantic, frisbee on the beach, and the constant calming sound of the surf. Wonderfully private and very well appointed accommodations. Will definitely book again, and hope our local family will join us!" Cathy & Mike from Port Townsend, WA and Nancy & Al from Newburyport, MA

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 8, 2008   Date of arrival: October 1, 2008

First time as a guest at this house and one word sums it up. Perfect. (Trust me that word was heard so many times the week we spent there it was about to be retired !)
The location can't be beat. Truly oceanfront just steps from the sand.
The property is clean, tastefully decorated and full of well thought out amenities. Our hosts John and Diane were gracious and accomodating.
I give this property and John & Diane FIVE STARS.

Owners response: Mary Ellen & family are returning in 2009

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 12, 2008   Date of arrival: September 1, 2008

What a beautiful week! We've never been to LBI before and certainly enjoyed our stay on the beach level unit. The convenience of just walking out to the beach can't be beat. The home was comfortable, particularly the livingroom and kitchen areas. wi-fi, tvs in every room - nice touch!

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 23, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

What a great vacation! We LOVED this house. We decided to get away to celebrate our aunt's 50th birthday. All together, there were 16 of us ranging in age from 18 months - 82. There was truly something for everyone. The house was spacious, clean & views were unparalleled. You cannot beat the upper deck for coffee overlooking sunrise or cocktails at dusk. LBI is a great island. We loved the house's proximity to the bike path - our preschool & toddler boys never got in a car. Ideal, family friendly home! Thanks John & Diane.

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 11, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

This house has it all. Many nights we just could not leave the deck to investigate some of the island's entertainment because it was so pleasant sitting there enjoying the view. The location is ideal, close to the town, but not too close. It has a spacious living space and a TV in every room so you can veg out on your own if you want to. The outside shower was so convenient. It really has everything you could need right there. Being on the beach, it was nice to take breaks from the sun yet still be connected to our family still on the beach. We are definitely coming back next year!

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 11, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

We had a wonderful time vacationing in the upper
unit of this property mid-July. We are longtime LBI
renters and this was our first time on the South end
of the island. The beach view from the house is
unsurpassed. We were able to watch our teenagers
skim board in the evenings without worry, as the
deck has a panoramic view of the entire beach. The
owners were extremely attentive to our requests
and always available and friendly. The width of the
beach at this point of the island is especially
appealing and having the lifeguard directly in front
of the house is always a huge plus. The private
beachwalk was very convenient and a rarity on the
island. Thanks again!

Owners response: This anonymous family is returning in 2009.

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 10, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

What a memorable vacation at John and Diane"s beach place...we felt so at-home with all of the amenities..we didn't need a thing! The`house was so comfortable, living room furniture and beds were much more than adequate. We enjoyed`eating meals at the extra large kitchen table..our family of 8 could sit comfortably. A few special memories to share with everyone...Aly (my 20mo. grandaughter) digging for seashell crabs, flying a kite, watching dolphins, swimming and just relaxing in the sun..with such a wonderful home so nearby! I sat on the beach at night with my 2 daughters and shared such great memories...oh, I forgot...watching the beautiful sunrises with everyone! As we were leaving yesterday, my daughter said, "mom, we have to keep returning to make ner memories!" That says it all! Thanks John and Diane for sharing your home with us. We will be returning. Mary and family...

Owners response: Mary & family are returning in 2009.

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 25, 2008   Date of arrival: July 1, 2008

We had a wonderful week in LBI. Since we booked
the house on the internet, we were unsure what it
was going to be like--the house, the beach, the town--we were very pleasantly surprised! The
house was extremely clean, appropriately
decorated with beachy accessories, and ideally located ON the beach. Our 2 year-old son fell in
love with the Jersey Shore, and we found the home
surprisingly toddler-friendly. And we loved the grill
on the deck! The owners were quite accommodating, too. We highly recommend The
Turcott's home to other families.

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 19, 2008   Date of arrival: July 1, 2008

Wow, what a fabulous owner. They are very accomodating, and truly try to meet or exceed your expectations.The house location and view are unsurpassed. Thanks for the great memories. We would love to come back for another vacation!!!!

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 8, 2008   Date of arrival: July 1, 2008

We rented both units for the week of June 23 2008 and had a terrific time.
The location and its proximity to the beach was just perfect for the kids.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 4, 2008   Date of arrival: July 1, 2008

My family and I enjoyed the upper level of John & Diane's home the week of June 14th. Waking up in the morning and enjoying breakfast on a lovely deck with a fabulous ocean view is the best -get up early to catch the dolphins! The amenities were really appreciated, everything from a great ice maker to a bagel slicer! John is very attentive and a pleasure to deal with. We are looking forward to our next stay!

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 16, 2008   Date of arrival: June 1, 2008

What a wonderful time our family had in this fantastic property! I would highly recommend anyone renting this property. Our kids thoroughly enjoyed being so close to the beach. The amenities are top notch and the owners are readily available. Will rent here again in the future.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 12, 2008   Date of arrival: June 1, 2008

We had a great time with the kids at the beach. John and Diane are great hosts really going the extra mile to make the stay pleasant. The view from the upper deck is fantastic.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 8, 2008   Date of arrival: June 1, 2008

We rented the upper level the week of 4/28/08-5/5/08. This was our second time renting from John and Diane. The weather wasn't the greatest, but that didn't stop us from having a wonderful time. The views are georgous and the updates in the apartment are impressive. We especially enjoyed the Comfort Select king size matress in the master bedroom.
Ned and Diane

Owners response: Upper unit has a Comfort Select KMBR, beach level has S&F.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 2, 2008   Date of arrival: June 1, 2008

Rented both units for my family, and it was a great vacation. The view was fantastic, the private beach was great, and the house was simply perfect. If you have any doubts on renting this house please feel free to email me.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 1, 2008   Date of arrival: June 1, 2008

We took our family here for a few days and had a great time! It is exactly as it is described on the website, and it was perfect! It is right on the beach, and it is close to town. There is so much to see and do here. It was our first time in Beach Haven, but I am sure we will come back again!

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 21, 2008   Date of arrival: May 1, 2008

Spent a relaxing weekend in May At this house. It is very clean and comfortable- beautifully decorated.The best part is it's just a step away from the beach. Hope to return next year.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 3, 2008   Date of arrival: May 1, 2008

I reserved both units for a reunion with school friends. 5 couples and 6 kids. The units were clean and well furnished. The location is perfect and the views from the upper unit are beautiful. We were able to cook inside and out (with plenty of dishes, pots and utensils--no small matter for families intent on staying in for dinners). Long Beach Island has lots to offer. The owners were quick and attentive. I think we'll be back.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 26, 2008   Date of arrival: April 1, 2008

You won't be sorry if you rent this house from John. It is a very nice house in a great location. I have rented both the upper and lower units, and was able to see gorgeous sunrises from both decks. Both units are spacious and very comfortable to stay in. This is the second time I rented from John and I know it won't be the last. He is very gracious and tries to accomodate for your needs. You can sense that he truly wants you to enjoy your stay in his house.

Owners response: Grace & friends are returning for the third time in April 2009

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 17, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

We had a fantastic Thanksgiving weekend on the beach and the house had everything we could have ever wanted. John was gracious and helpful in all matters, a pleasure to rent from. We look forward to someday getting back to this amazing house.

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Great shore destination

Review submitted: January 15, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2007

My family have stayed at this beach house for the last 5 years. The owners have continued to add upgrades to the property each and every year. We would strongly recommend this home to anyone looking for a 3or6 bedroom home. It is actually 2 units decorated identically...top end. We are returning in 2008

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review