reviews for: listing #18293 - Playa Hermosa (Puntarenas), Costa Rica House rental

On Playa Hermosa! 3BR Beachfront Home w/Private Pool
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $260 - $415 /nt
    $1,650 - $2,900 /wk

sort by:

christmas 2013

Review submitted: December 29, 2013   Date of arrival: December 21, 2013

rI must write and let you know the our family of 6 just returned from a WONDERFUL weeks stay at Casa Barracuda. The grounds and our "home" for the last week was spectatular. Our family enjoyed the pool and the acess to the beach daily. The younger adults were active in many of the activities offered including surf lessons and ATVing. The older adults were thrilled to sit poolside.

Our home had everything you could possibly need from WIFY to beach towels. The hammock was popular and as were the pool "toys". The kitchen was well stocked and was used daily for the preparation of breakfasts and lunches. We did take advantage of the DELICIOUS choices of restaurants in Jaco. They were excellent and a different dining experience was achieved each night.

There was PLENTY of space for everyone to find some quiet time and yet we used the dining room table for board games. Everyone was very happy with their accommodations - the bedrooms very airly and bright. Two large bathrooms,an outside shower, paddle fans to push the AC made the warm tropical days and nights a pleasure.

Now to the meat of this email. This was truly a WONDERFUL experience for the entire family. The beach, pool and the picture perfect weather made this a vacation to remember. Having someone pick you up and return you to the airport in a country you have NEVER been too was great. The local staff made EVERY effort to make sure that we had all that we needed and was around the property daily. The pictures you view are very accurate and the owners were quick to respond to any and all questions.

Now that the return to home has happened my husband is looking for airfare for next year. All six are in agreement that this was by far the most enjoyable vacation we have had. It was DELIGHTFUL to do what you wanted to do, when you wanted to do it. I can honestly say that WE drove the schedule.

In closing, thank you for a wonderful week in paradise. This was our first experience using this site and i would not hesitate to try this again. I would also recommend this property to family and friends--- it was just that special!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Location, Excellent Staff, Charming Owners

Review submitted: June 12, 2013   Date of arrival: May 24, 2013

I spent this pass Memorial Day Weekend (2013) at Casa Baracuda. Our party consisted of 3 couples and an infant. The house is spacious, in fact we could have easily brought two more adults with us and would have been totally comfortable. The property managers were great, greeting us upon arrival and providing contact information in the event we needed to reach out. The pool features a section with jacuzzi style jets and is cleaned every morning. The house had all the amenities we needed including internet, cable tv, and a well stocked kitchen (pots, pans, dishes, etc.). I highly recommend this property and the value for the price is a rare find for a beachfront location.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Family Vacation

Review submitted: May 14, 2012   Date of arrival: May 1, 2012

Our family (two children, ages 23 and 22 and Mom and Dad...ages not necessary:-)) enjoyed the property and all its amenities immensely. Beth and Jack were very helpful from day one when we found the house on VRBO. Marielos, the onsite manager was very helpful upon arrival and Erika helped with excursions. The pool was refreshing after a long day of site seeing and/or body surfing. The surf on the beach is pretty rough for swimming and inexperienced surfers, but we managed to enjoy the water. Our activities included ziplining at Los Suenos, 1/2 day inshore fishing, Manuel Antonio and a late afternoon hike to a waterfall. The people and country are beautiful and we would definitely go back! Thank you Jack and Beth!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

3 adults and 4 teenagers had a blast

Review submitted: April 17, 2012   Date of arrival: March 22, 2012

Our trip was a success. We went for our kid's spring break week and it was everything both adults and kids wanted. The house was perfect, with air in all rooms, super nice kitchen and everyone had their favorite feature (hammock, grill, upper deck, pool, cable for iPhone to stereo speakers, right on the beach for surfing). The house was as advertised and we were very satisfied. We split our time between hanging out and going to local restaurants and Manuel Antonio (lock your car when parked!) and our favorites: the 10 in one ADR Adventure Tour as well as the intense bungee jumping in Jaco. We would easily go to this house again instead of Hawaii next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Casa Barracuda

Review submitted: February 23, 2012   Date of arrival: January 23, 2012

The house is amazing, very clean and espacious. It was very good to be able to have a BBQs and beautiful views all the time. It was also good to be able to use the wi-fi. My family and I absolutely loved it. The owners were very friendly, accessible (very quick replies), honest and easy to deal with. We really appreciated it especially since we did all the bookings overseas.
We were not asked to write a review and we usually don't give one but in this case we thought we definitely should.
We wish we were still there!
Thanks Beth and Jack!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

GR8T HOUSE!!

Review submitted: November 29, 2011   Date of arrival: November 19, 2011

Just got back from thanksgiving vacation at the barracuda- my whole family had an awesome time. The house was very clean n spacious. The owners provided excellent tips to make our stay as easy n smooth as possible. They were even available by email at any time. I only wish they would have provided more maid services bec we definately needed it w/ 8 people in the house. We were offered one complimentary, but could have used more. Besides that, we had a great time! !

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the kind words, Raju! We're really glad ya'll had a great time.
For future renters: we can usually arrange for maidservice during your stay...just ask.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

You MUST stay at this house!!!!

Review submitted: July 25, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

We had a fantastic time at Casa Barracuda! What a treat it was when we finally drove up to the house (after a few hours on the road). What a beautiful spot. The property was great and the house is super modern and clean and spacious! We needed the space since we were a pretty big group. We used all of the bedrooms and even had our 12 year old camped out in the living room on an air mattress but we never felt crowded. The rooftop patio was perfect for early morning tea and some peace and quiet. I didn't mind sharing the spot with the iguanas who were sunning themselves on the roof. The view from the roof was terrific and the beach was so nice. What a luxury to be able to walk across the backyard and hit the sandy beach. We saw a few surfers each morning but other than that, we literally had the beach to ourselves while we were there. Beth and Jack provided a ton of information to us that was invaluable as we travelled around Costa Rica. Be sure to print all the emailed information before you head on your vacation...it really helped us out a lot. We loved, loved, loved the house and felt like the next time we went to Costa Rica, we could just book the house for a week and stay put! :-)

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing trip....

Review submitted: May 13, 2011   Date of arrival: April 30, 2011

We had an amazing trip in Costa Rica and your house was perfect for us. The weather was great. We went down to Manual Antinio one day to the national rain forest, I took surf lessons, we went zip lining, deep sea fishing. We had a awesome time. I didn't want to leave. We all talked about buying the house and moving down there :) hehe big dreams. lol

You where wonderful to work with. With all the information and recommendations you gave us it really made a difference in our trip.

Thank you for everything!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful trip

Review submitted: March 24, 2011   Date of arrival: March 3, 2011

Our trip to Costa Rica was wonderful. We really enjoyed our stay at Beth & Jack's house. It was clean, well maintained and in a good location. All of the pictures on the website are accurate. The pool was great and the beach and sunsets were awesome. Beth gave us all the right recommendations on food and overall shopping. If you plan on renting a car, I would recommend a GPS since the roads are not well marked.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Escape

Review submitted: February 2, 2011   Date of arrival: January 24, 2011

Outstanding time....great location....clean and comfortable home....Jaco is a neat surfer/tourist town.

Pictures provided really do describe the location.

Jack and Beth are great to work with ...very helpful

Plan to pass this place on to our friends and will go back again!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing

Review submitted: January 8, 2011   Date of arrival: December 20, 2010

We stayed at Beth & Jack's place for 2 weeks over Christmas and New Years with our 3 sons. The place was awesome, the location was perfect as it was close to Jaco and many other attractions. Great place for surfing with the ocean front location. All the pictures on the website were very accurate and property was very well maintained. The pool was awesome. Beth & Jack answered all of our questions about Costa Rica and all the restaurants, car rental and tours they recommended were great. Judith(guest manager) was very helpful in organizing any tours we went on. Our sons(25, 23 & 22) had a great time, the nightlife in Jaco was good. This house made our first time in Costa Rica our best vacation and we would definitely go back and recommend it to others.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

First Trip To Costa Rica

Review submitted: September 9, 2010   Date of arrival: August 9, 2010

We stayed at this property for five days. The house was great and the view of the ocean was wonderful. It was a little hard to find the property given there are no street signs and if you don't speak Spanish, it may be a problem (especially if you don't have a car and take taxis). The owners were very gracious and prompt to all our questions given this was our first trip to Costa Rica. The on-site property managers were a wonderful resource as well. I would definitely consider returning and recommending it to anyone. Having our own private pool was a plus. The only negative I could mention was the trash on the beach.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome Vacation- Perfect Accommodations!

Review submitted: June 14, 2010   Date of arrival: June 6, 2010

This was our family's first time to Costa Rica! It was the perfect place to stay with a family or two families together. The home has security and is safe, quiet, and clean! We frequented the neighborhood restaurants and loved the Backyard Bar. Hermosa is a hot spot for professional surfers and it is a blast watching them right outside the back door. The house is a quick drive from downtown Jaco which is more metropolitan. We are so glad we stayed at Casa Barracuda and would recommend it to anyone who is planning a trip to Costa Rica! We hope to be back in the future~ PURA VIDA!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent Home and Excellent Location

Review submitted: June 3, 2010   Date of arrival: May 19, 2010

This home is everything and even more that the description says. The owners are very nice and made everything convienient for us. We stayed from May 19 thru 24, 2010 for a Charter Fishing Trip out of Los Suenos. The location of this home was Perfect for us. The ocean is right across the street, very nice Private Pool in the back yard, and we felt safe at this location. It was convienient for us to get to the Marina and Restraunts are within walking distance. We had such a great time we are going back and staying in this same house in March 2011. Thanks alot for allowing us to stay in your wonderful home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful, Clean and Peaceful!!!!

Review submitted: March 28, 2010   Date of arrival: March 3, 2010

My husband and I have stayed here 5 times now.....Casa Baracuda is Beautiful, Clean and Peaceful!!!!!!!.. The Pool is clear and refreshing. The location is PERFECT. Hermosa is very quiet, and beautiful. Jaco is less than 10 minutes away.....Great for night life. The price for the house is less than a "Decent" Hotel, and you have the luxuries of home. We will continue to visit Hermosa and stay at Casa Baracuda!!!!!!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The home is a joy!

Review submitted: March 28, 2010   Date of arrival: December 16, 2009

We stay at Jack and Beth's lovely home the week before Christmas and had a wonderful time. The home is a joy! House,grounds and pool was spotless and right on the beach as listed. Jack and Beth were very communicative with area information prior to our arrival and the things to do places to eat tips were right on the money. Thanks for sharing your lovely home with our family! The Walkers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Loved the house...

Review submitted: March 28, 2010   Date of arrival: February 24, 2010

We stayed at the property for a week along with my daughters and their families. Our grandchildren loved the house. It was very comfortable and cozy. Everyone enjoyed the pool, the beach, the view from the house and the convenience. Just 10 minutes away from the town, Jaco. It was very peaceful. The sunset was breathtaking. The listing description was accurate and the listing photos accurately reflected the appearance of the property. Both Jack and Beth, the owners were very helpful in answering all our questions leading up to our travel. We would surely recommend this place to anyone. If we go back to Costa Rica, this would be the place where we would stay again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A true paradise

Review submitted: March 25, 2010   Date of arrival: February 24, 2010

We stayed at the property for a week along with my daughters and their families. Our grandchildren loved the house. It was very comfortable and cozy. Everyone enjoyed the pool, the beach, the view from the house and the convenience. Just 10 minutes away from the town, Jaco. It was very peaceful. The sunset was breathtaking. The listing description was accurate and the listing photos accurately reflected the appearance of the property. Both, Jack and Beth, the owners were very helpful in answering all our questions leading up to our travel. We would surely recommend this place to anyone. If we go back to Costa Rica, this would be the place where we would stay again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 11, 2010   Date of arrival: March 11, 2010

My husband and I have stayed here 5 times
now.....Casa Baracuda is Beautiful, Clean and
Peaceful!!!!!!!.. The Pool is clear and refreshing. The
location is PERFECT. Hermosa is very quiet, and
beautiful. Jaco is less than 10 minutes
away.....Great for night life. The price for the
house is less than a "Decent" Hotel, and you have
the luxuries of home. We will continue to visit
Hermosa and stay at Casa Baracuda!!!!!!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 11, 2010   Date of arrival: February 11, 2010

Casa Barracuda is an AWESOME place to stay, everything about the house and location was perfect. 1/31/10 - 2/8/10

Jack and Beth were very easy to work with. We will definitely stay there again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: December 29, 2009   Date of arrival: December 29, 2009

We stay at Jack and Beth's lovely home the week before Christmas and had a wonderful time.
The home is a joy!
House,grounds and pool was spotless and right on the beach as listed.

Jack and Beth were very communicative with area information prior to our arrival and the things to do places to eat tips were right on the money.

Thanks for sharing your lovely home with our family!
The Walkers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 30, 2009   Date of arrival: July 30, 2009

We had such a great time at the Baracuda house. It
fit our families needs perfectly. There was a total of
7 of us and we all had a wonderful time. Our stay
was full of activities and relaxation. The house is
roomy, clean, and in the perfect location. We would
wake up every morning to the warm air and
crashing surf. Half of us were surfers so the
location was perfect. There was a point break right
in front of the house, 5 to 10ft everyday, no need
for ever leaving. For those that didn't surf they were
still able to take a dip in the ocean. The pool was a
big hit and cleaned daily. We went during the wet
season but it was absolutely beautiful. We were
able to enjoy the warm air, sunny days, and
thunderstorms. Jaco was only five minutes away
and full of great places to eat and walk around. The
recommendation given to us by Beth and Jack were
very helpful. Our favorite restaurant recommended
was the jungle surf cafe. I definite destination for
any type of family. We will defenitly planning on
returning.

Thank you Beth and Jack for everything. It was
more then we could have ever excepted!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect for people who love the jungle and the sea

Review submitted: July 10, 2009   Date of arrival: February 26, 2009

Our family really enjoyed our vacation in this house. It had everything you needed from boogie boards to spices. It was a nice quiet place but close enough to Jaco for stores and restaurants. We took surfing lessons with Freddy who was very nice and who kept in touch all week to recommend activities or restaurants. Judith organized the Canopy tour, horse backriding and ATV tours. All were absolutely fun and secure. This is a perfect place to go with teenagers. We have beautiful pictures to remind us of this wonderful trip. Thanks for everything.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 7, 2009   Date of arrival: July 7, 2009

We had a fantastic time at Casa Barracuda. The location is perfect and in close proximity to Jaco for dining, bars, and tours. The pool and yard were beautiful and we spent the majority of our time there. The kitchen is also great, and well equipped for cooking. The house had plenty of space, was well furnished and was very comfortable overall. Additionally, the owners were great with providing plenty of information and tips on what to do/where to go in the area. I would not hesitate to recommend this property to anyone considering visiting Costa Rica. We had a blast.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Casa Barracuda....Paradise in pure form

Review submitted: May 12, 2009   Date of arrival: March 9, 2009

We spent 10 great days with our friends at Casa Barracuda. This house is beautiful. Plenty of room and privacy for three couples. Everything we needed from paper and cleaning products to spices and other goodies left behind by previous renters. The days seemed to last forever with blue skies and sunshine from early morning 'til evening. The sunrises and sunsets were spectacular from the "upper deck" where we enjoyed eating meals, having drinks or listening to music while looking out at the beach.
We were lucky enough to watch the sunset over the ocean to the front and a full moon rise over the trees to the back one night. Pura Vida!
The pool was clean and cool from the shade of the palm trees on the lawn. The property was plush with green grass and pretty flowers. Staff were present but inconpicuous. The beach was fantastic...great waves for boogie boarding or body surfing and again, sooo much sunshine. We enjoyed several adventures with Judiths' assitance in arranging them or her direction in finding them. She was always ready and willing to help with any information we needed. The info provided by owners was invaluable from area attractions to good places to eat. Loved Lemon Zest where we got to meet you fine people :) I could go on forever and will continue my review after we visit Casa Barracuda again! Thankyou!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 24, 2009   Date of arrival: April 24, 2009

This place is great...perfect location, big, clean, everything you need, and just a few steps from what feels like your own private beach. The pool is crystal clear, sunsets are incredible, and the staff very helpful. Thanks, Beth and Jack, for all your help and for letting us stay at Casa Barracuda. We'll be back for sure! Thanks!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 30, 2009   Date of arrival: March 30, 2009

We are 3 couples from VT, skiers, not surfers, but still had a great time. Enjoyed the surf and the pool, traveled and relaxed, really a nice vacation. The owners, Beth and Jack, really prepared us well, even met them for dinner, and it was great to hear history and get the local favor. Canopy tour and horseback ride, set up by Judith, were awesome, highly recommended. The house was great, very private, and we felt like we had our own "mile" of private beach. Great vacation!! Can't wait to go back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful and relaxing. Best place in Costa Rica.

Review submitted: March 15, 2009   Date of arrival: November 1, 2008

This place is great...perfect location, big, clean, everything you need, and just a few steps from what feels like your own private beach. The pool is crystal clear, sunsets are incredible, and the staff very helpful.

Thanks, Beth and Jack, for all your help and for letting us stay at Casa Barracuda. We'll be back for sure!

Thanks!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 11, 2009   Date of arrival: February 11, 2009

We had a spectacular visit. This home was just perfect. Very pleasant, quite and comfortable. The pool was incredible and just steps to the quiet open beach. Just 1/2 mile down the road was a wonderful surfing town. The people and surroundings were perfect. We will be going back. The owners, Jack and Beth, were very helpful with hints and what to see. We had the perfect vacation thanks to them and their beautiful home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 3, 2009   Date of arrival: February 3, 2009

We stayed Jan 24 to Jan 31. Just the perfect house! Open, updated, clean and had all the amentities. The location is great, pool was perfect and the sunsets are incredible to watch from the back porch. We really enjoyed being close, but not too close, to Jaco and the little village up the street. Looking forward to returning. Jack and Beth were terrific with keeping us informed and educated on the house and the area. Thanks!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: January 12, 2009   Date of arrival: January 12, 2009

Due to personal issues, my family and I had to cancel our trip however Beth and Jack went above and beyond and were more then understanding with our trip cancellation. They are truly genuine and even though we were unable to stay at the home, my dealing with them have guaranteed I'll reach out to them for our next trip.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful sunsets, relaxation and beach walks

Review submitted: November 30, 2008   Date of arrival: November 21, 2008

We had a great time. Cannot wait to do it again! The home was gorgeous, well stocked, and roomy. The pool was inviting and the beach was uncrowded. The upstairs patio provided fantastic views of the sunset. Could not have asked for a better vacation. Everything was fantastic!!
The ¨W¨s.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What a great house

Review submitted: November 12, 2008   Date of arrival: October 13, 2008

This is a great house right on the beach, amaizing view and location. Very comfortable house and nice beds. It has everything you may need to have a great time in or do adventures around the area.

We spent time in the pool after coming from or tours arranged by Judith, the house manager, she was a great help with all the tours we wanted to do. Also a lot of good suggestions for restaurants in the area, great food .

We did a lot of adventures, canopy, ATV, water rafting, kayaking. What a time and then relaxing time at this great house. We definitely reccomend it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

nice house, lousy service

Review submitted: October 8, 2008   Date of arrival: September 13, 2008

First of all when we just came nobody was expecting us so we had to explain who we are and wait for the house to be cleaned.
Before coming we confirmed with the owners that all the detergents are provided, well they weren't. Same goes for paper towels and toilet paper (although they give a roll of paper to start).
And from then on when we had any kind of issues we were told to address it ourselves:
-when we didn't find the grill, we called manager. We were told that it's in the garage, so we have to get it out and hook up ourselves. Some arguing on the phone and we did get it installed next day;
-then again when we ran out if propane, we were told to go to town ourselves and fill it. More arguing and we had it done;
-during our 2 week stay pool was never cleaned. So if you want iguana excrements, dead crab or frog out of it, either find workers somewhere around or do it yourself. We ended up doing it ourselves, since workers were nowhere to be found that day.
By the way neither stove nor washing machine work properly. And the house does have a safe but nobody has the key.
So basically this rental is for somebody who likes doing stuff around the house. As for us we see vocation differently

Owners response: We, the owners, are truly sorry that Casa Barracuda failed to meet this party’s expectations. While we realize things are not always perfect and that it’s impossible to “please all of the people all of the time”, we’re disappointed to receive our first review of less than 5-stars on this site as well as our other sites. To date, 65 parties have been guests of Barracuda. The feedback we’ve personally received and the online reviews have been overwhelmingly very positive. Most even comment on the cleanliness of the pool, which is cleaned daily unless our guests specifically request their privacy. Folks, please read the other reviews posted here for balance, and trust that, if you choose our house, we will bend over backwards, as always, to make your stay wonderful. Beth & Jack.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 4, 2008   Date of arrival: September 1, 2008

Casa Barracuda is perfect!! It has all the amenities that anyone could ask for...the pool, the walk across the street to the beach that is pratically your own, the gorgeous sunsets from the balcony, the spacious living area... you name it, this house has it. Not mention Jack and Beth are so helpful with all your planning to make your stay that much better!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 3, 2008   Date of arrival: September 1, 2008

Our group of 7 had an amazing time, and the house was perfect. We are extremely thankful for all the helpful information provided by you guys, we found it all very useful. :0) The restaurant recommendations came very much in handy. The location was wonderful, close enough for a cheap cab ride but far enough away to have our “own” part of the beach. It was absolutely incredible to have the gorgeous ocean view out the back of the house, and the jungle to the front. I cannot thank you enough for helping to make this one of the best vacations I have ever had!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 24, 2008   Date of arrival: July 24, 2008

Date of Arrival : Jun 30, 2008

Name on Contract : Rich and Ruth

Review Rating : 5/5

Review Title : 113960 - "WOW! Loved this place!"

"Our family of four just got back from Costa Rica, we had a perfect vacation. This house was clean, big, beautiful and we had a great time. The pool was sparkling clean and always just the right temperature. We had so much room, we surfed every day and had relaxing, lazy afternoons just hanging out together. The kids loved the look-out balcony, they could check out the waves first thing every morning. We walked to surf every day. If you go be sure to go on the horseback tour by Andrea and Chris, the brochure is in the house's well stocked binder of al local attractions. We had a marvelous time, there was a mineral mud bath and waterfall rinse, you've got to try it! We would certainly rent this house again, we felt safe and were comfortable. "

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

WOW! Loved this place!

Review submitted: July 15, 2008   Date of arrival: June 30, 2008

Our family of four just got back from Costa Rica, we had a perfect vacation. This house was clean, big, beautiful and we had a great time. The pool was sparkling clean and always just the right temperature. We had so much room, we surfed every day and had relaxing, lazy afternoons just hanging out together. The kids loved the look-out balcony, they could check out the waves first thing every morning. We walked to surf every day. If you go be sure to go on the horseback tour by Andrea and Chris, the brochure is in the house's well stocked binder of al local attractions. We had a marvelous time, there was a mineral mud bath and waterfall rinse, you've got to try it! We would certainly rent this house again, we felt safe and were comfortable.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 11, 2008   Date of arrival: April 1, 2008

This is a wonderful house... After a 2 hour drive from the San Jose airport we easily found this home. when we walked through the door the AC was on.The house was super clean and big !!
This was the best house we have ever rented !!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 10, 2008   Date of arrival: April 1, 2008

I just came back from my third vacation at Casa Barracuda. You couldn't ask for a better location. It's paradise...the weather is extraordinary, the house is beautiful and has everything you need, and having your own private pool is a MUST! Most times, it feels like you're on your own private beach. The owners are very helpful. I highly recommend this house.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 8, 2008   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

We spent Christmas in Costa Rica and stayed at this wonderful home. I don't think I can even discribe how wonderful our stay was. Perfect 10++++.
From the moment we contacted Beth it was so easy and she was beyond helpful. We got several very complete emails from her about everything we needed to know about Jaco, local activities etc.
We felt like we owned the whole beach! Very secluded, but still close enough to town. Total relaxation is paradise.
Less than 2 weeks after our return we are planning to go back very soon.
It didn't even seem like this was a rental. It felt more like we returned home. No hassle, no headache, just fun in the sun. I already recommended Casa Barracuda to several of our friends.
This was the best vacation ever!!!
Thank you.
Sincerely,
The Schatzleins

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 27, 2007   Date of arrival: November 1, 2007

Had a great stay. The house is in the perfect location - steps to the beach -and a short drive to Jaco. We couldn't have been more comfortable. We'll be back - for sure. Every aspect of the stay went flawlessly, from the reservation to aquiring the keys.

Thanks Beth & Jack

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 15, 2007   Date of arrival: November 1, 2007

We stayed at the house in early November and it was so exciting and relaxing. The waves are fabulous and the views are terrific. We enjoyed downtown Jaco - a seven minute ride from the house. There's a grocery store nearby if you'd like to eat in. It's a short beach stroll to a couple of the bar/restaurants. We will be going back for another visit soon. The owners and managers were wonderful.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 8, 2007   Date of arrival: June 1, 2007

March 7-14 the warmest time of year for those who like it hot was a great stay for us. I was impressed with wild life tour and surrounding. Great site seeing drive there and back. Owners and managers were both friendly and helpful with our first time adventure. We loved it and so will you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 23, 2007   Date of arrival: April 1, 2007

This house gets an "A+" in our book. The location is absolutely perfect - 10 minutes to Jaco and far enough out to be secluded, private and very safe. We had 3 surfer in our group and they were impressed with the wave action. Boogie boarding was great for the rest of us. I highly recommend this home and look forward to returning.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 2, 2007   Date of arrival: March 1, 2007

We visited Jaco the last part of Feb 2007. The home is very nice, very clean, the pool is wonderful, breakfast and dinner on the upper deck beats any spot in town (as long as you can cook :), and if you like feeling like you are the only person on the planet while on a beach, you are going to love this spot. I would go back in a heartbeat. The staff took care of any problems we had promply. Security is top notch, we never felt in danger. The locals are very nice and helpful. Beth (the owner) gets five stars. This was our first time to CR and Beth was very helpful in hooking us up with transportation, shopping and where to go. Nice job Beth. We suggest chartering a boat for fishing, we caught a 300lb marlin,what a thrill.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 7, 2006   Date of arrival: September 1, 2006

Casa Barracuda can only be described by three words: FAB-U-LOUS! The vacation of a lifetime, beautiful backdrops, friendly and professional people. It exceeded all of our expectations and is highly recommended. There were three in our party, all ladies. We felt very comfortable and very safe. Although the beach house is in a beautiful and nice area, security was always present as we journeyed out early in the morning and when we returned late at night. The Huffners graciousness was made evident by everyone in care of Casa Barracuda. I couldn't imagine a better way to enter into the fifth decade of this wonderful life.

Pura Vida!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 13, 2006   Date of arrival: June 1, 2006

This is the ultimate vacation get away! I went to celebrate my college graduation with my friends and it was absolutely amazing. The picutures online do not do it justice. From balcony sunset views, hammocks, pool, HUGE waves, black sand beautiful beach...this house ROCKS! The service from Jack and Beth, the property manager, and the maintenance crew was outstanding. Whether you want to relax or have an action-packed vacation, the Barracuda vacation home has it ALL!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 13, 2006   Date of arrival: May 1, 2006

After spending six month's in Iraq with the 10th Mountain Division, I could not have picked a better place for my mid tour leave. From hell to paradise. Beautiful sunset's, black sand beach, a convenient distance from Jaco. The house is perfect, every amenity, like being home except right on the beach without a worry in the world except what activity to experience next. To the Huffner's thanks for letting me experience paradise. I will always treasure the experience. I will definitely visit in the future. Pura Vida!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 11, 2006   Date of arrival: May 1, 2006

Went with 2 friends to Costa Rica and stayed at this house. We had a great time. This is an awesome house with everything you need down to the hair dryer. If you surf you will find none better just a few steps from this house. The private pool adds a nice touch. Have coffee in the morning in the upstairs balcony and watch the surf roll in. All the outdoor activities Costa Rica offers are a 10 minute cab drive away. The owners, Jack and Beth are very nice and helpful. Had no problem getting there and their staff is extermely helpful and very friendly. In short, if you want a great time in Costa Rica, you will not find a cooler place than Casa Barracuda. Thanks again Jack and Beth

John Heath
St Petersburg, FL

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review