reviews for: listing #18312 - Cocoa Beach, Florida House rental

A Beautiful Cocoa Beach House Rental
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Cocoa Beach Area
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $1,000 - $1,100 /wk

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Rocket launch close enough to feel

Review submitted: November 29, 2012   Date of arrival: September 8, 2012

Just wanted to tell you what a lovely time we had at your condo. We even planned on seeing the rocket launch, but it went before we all got up. All the windows and doors shook though. That was neat. Thought we would contribute the chairs to your collection of beach chairs to your beach toys etc... The kids really enjoyed the body surfing. With the hurricane out churning, we had a lot of waves. It was awsome to watch the kids faces since none of them had ever seen the ocean. My son had been to the Gulf, but this was nothing like that. Again thanks for the beautiful condo opportunity, maybe we can do that again in 5 years.
\Sharon Johnson

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

House is better in person

Review submitted: November 29, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

Just to let you know how much my family of 7 enjoyed our stay in the beach house. It had enough room for us the back deck and screened porch was great. Just having to walk a block-n-half to beach was the best. The house was better in person than in pictures. Again thank you and will recommend it to everyone.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Very clean and comfortable - 2 min from beach.

Review submitted: December 16, 2011   Date of arrival: December 9, 2011

The location is in a nice residential neighborhood. The 2-story house is well maintained and it was very clean with new paint all around and comfy furniture. Excellent living area with open kitchen, and a 4 person dining table. Two good bedrooms and a sleeping loft with bunk beds and futon. We were three adults and a dog and the layout was perfect for that since each group had private baths. It would have worked well had there been kids as well. Bed linen and towels were fine. The kitchen was OK, could need some more pots, knives, and drinking glasses, but workable with a fine stove and microwave and everything clean and neat. Good washer and dryer. The outdoor gas grill seemed brand new and worked well. A few more BBQ utensils would have been helpful. The deck was furnished with a lot of chairs and worked well for us. It is less than 2 min walk to the beautiful broad sandy beach with excellent swimming for young and old. The home has an outdoor shower when you return from the beach - very practical for getting rid of the sand. The home has fast internet included in the price. Finally, the owner was very helpful with a couple of our questions - responded to e-mail very quickly and saved us some driving. Finally, the casino boat was a blast. Would recommend this for people looking for a relaxing time on the beach.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

The best vacation ever.

Review submitted: July 19, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

The beach house on Jackson Ave was amazing. Very clean and well maintained. Tim made sure we were satisfied with the home and was very friendly. The only recommendation I would make would be that the kitchen could use the following: a mixer, a paring knife, and some mixing bowls.
We took the kids parasailing through Cocoa Beach Parasail and on an airboat ride on the St. John's River through Airboat Rides at Midway. Both were priced at an affordable rate and very enjoyable. We also were able to watch the Kennedy Space Center launch a rocket with a satellite attached, right from the beach. I recommend the Florida Seafood restaurant just off 520, and Hooters and Applebees in Merritt Island. Be sure to walk the pier.
My husband, myself and our kids ages 23, 19, and 14 all had a blast and can't wait to visit this wonder place again. And our yorkie Ozzy felt right at home, even though dogs are prohibited on the beach, the locals said we could take him to the beach without too much problem if we waited until after 5:00pm. We took him several times without any problems.
We are saving for next year already.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Owners response: Rhonda,
It was a pleasure having you in our home. I always enjoy meeting friendly people. Please tell your friends and keep us in mind for a future vacation.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Awesome"

Review submitted: June 27, 2011   Date of arrival: July 7, 2010

Very clean and comfortable! I absolutely DIDN'T want to leave!!! Just a short walk to the beach! Equipped even with a washer & dryer, and a dishwasher!!! :)

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thought the place was beautiful

Review submitted: June 27, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

Tim,

Just a couple lines to say thanks for allowing us to stay at your place last week. We had a wonderful time and thought the place was beautiful. We will be letting our friends know that if they ever want to go to that area they should contact you.

Thank you,
Jonnie Collins

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The house suited us fine

Review submitted: June 22, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

Hello Tim,

Thanks again, the house suited us fine. I even recommended it to a guy from Orlando.

Best regards,

Todd

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We'll remember this vacation as one of our best

Review submitted: June 22, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

Hi Tim,

We're headed back to Ohio. The cleaning crew is in the house cleaning right now.

Thank you so much for the wonderful accommodations. We'll definitely remember this vacation as one of our best.

Kim, Kevin, Roby, Sa'Nasha, Mayci, Zak, Owen, Kamron, Baby Jayden due in September from Reynoldsburg, Ohio. June 2011

Sent from Kim's iPhone

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Not what advertized, not on beach

Review submitted: June 6, 2011   Date of arrival: May 28, 2011

We stayed at house May28-June 4, let me tell you it is not a 90 saecond walk to beach, it is a 1 and 1/2 blocks. ( this is stated in a brochure in house) but he lied on internet. The yard is in much need of a cleaning, BB grill was nasty where it had not been cleaned since last rental. We would not clean it was so nasty. Mosquitoes will carry you away at the house. Carpet was so dirty we would not walk without shoes. Need new couch, you could feel springs when you sat down. It appears that beach is right at your backdoor on-line but it is not. Fan in living room never would work, called Tim, he said to turn on by switch on wall, that switch did not turn anything on. Some of outlets would not work. Fenced in yard in on verge of falling down in some places and neighbor on side toward beach were loud and lanuage not the best. Kids screaming late at night.Towels were very few had to purchase washclothes. We all felt Tim had miss led us because I asked him if the house was on beach, he said yes. Gargage is so full of things you can barely get a small car in. Upstairs closet had items that took up room, was using as storage. We would deffintely not visit this house again, If we could have got money back we would have went to a motel. We DO NOT RECEMOND THIS FOR ANYONE UNTIL HOUSE AND YARD ARE CLEANED UP. His add should be corrected. No wonder he was willing to cut price. Its not worth the reduction either. Stuck in Florida

Owners response: I am sorry that the guests had a bad experience. I only wish they had called me or told me when they checked in. I personally met them when the checked in.
The lock box had malfunctioned and I drove to the house immediately and let them in. They had to wait for about 15 minutes. I know this can be frustrating and Mrs B. seemed upset when I arrived.

The house is an easy 1-2 minute walk from the beach. A quiet safe walk down the sidewalk to the boardwalk on a dead end street. Always have positive comments about our great location.

We are in a drought and the Yard is a bit dry, but perfectly clean and groomed...not sure what is wrong here.

Fan and electrical outlets simply a breaker that someone had turned off.

Fence is in good shape as shown in pics. No problems here. Not sure what they are referring to.

Garage is full of beach toys, beach chairs, boogie boards...most vacationing families are very happy not to have to buy or transport these on vacation.

We provide 8 shower towels/face cloths and hand towels. Always provide extras on request.

I have never had any complaints about the neighborhood or noise....in 7 years of renting....

Tim

I only wish they had contacted me a bout these issues I would have made my best effort to mitigate or eliminate the issues as I always have.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Beach House Rental

Review submitted: March 17, 2010   Date of arrival: March 13, 2010

We had a pleasant stay and the house was nicely decorated and comfortable, with a bathroom en suite, and a second full bathroom on the ground floor for convenience and adjacent to a guest bedroom.

The kitchen was small, but workable, and we ate most of our meals at the house, so this was important to us. There were things missing (like a chef's knife, BBQ utensils, which seems to happen every time we rent a home, so it's best to bring a few things form home if you can, so that you don't have to run out and buy them, or hassle the owner to do so).

The 3rd sleeping area is actually an open loft next to the stairs which had a bunkbed and a single bed, with a TV, which we would have preferred located in the master bedroom, it was not really a problem, and the set in the living room served us well.

The garage was large enough to park our Accord in, but we only did this on the final day when packing up due to the heavy rain that day. There are beach chairs, umbrella and beach toys for kids that can be used.

The back deck and small screened in porch were comfortable, although there were far too many chairs and as most were worn out, and left residue on our clothing, we only used the better ones and moved the others to gain space.

The owner was quick to attend to a couple of minor problems we had with the exhaust duct for the clothes dryer getting blocked, and the BBQ which at first did not generate enough heat for easy cooking, and these were resolved within a day.

The short walk to the beach makes it really convenient, and in warmer weather, the lack of a pool in the backyard should not be missed by any guests. Some fine golf courses are near by and great to play at. Shopping is also very close by (short drive) with excellent Publix grocery stores, Win Dixie, CVS and Walgreens pharmacies, and a little further on route 520, you'll find the local Walmart, and also the Merritt Island Mall with plenty of stores, restaurants, and a 16 screen cinema. Also, many chain restaurants as well as others.

A few little things that could be improved: the condition of the yard, upkeep for things like hooks (we bought and installed two--one in each bathroom), the sliding glass patio doors which require maintenance and better locking security as they did not operate well, nor impart a feeling of security.

However, the neighbourhood is well patrolled by local police and their station is only a few blocks away, which puts one at ease.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 38 / 38

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review