reviews for: listing #18314 - Ocean Isle Beach, North Carolina House rental

CanalWaterfront-Private Pool - Golf Cart
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Canal Waterfront
  • sleeps  16
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $250 - $400 /nt
    $1,100 - $4,140 /wk

sort by:

Truly a "Top Shelf" Property

Review submitted: June 26, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

Our extended family just completed our second summer vacation at Ocean Isle Beach. We have been renting a canal house each June on OIB for 12 years, and this one is BY FAR the best house we've had. Some of the notable things in no particular order include:
- We used to really focus on getting a canal house close to the beach. But this house has 4-5 nice bikes and comes with a like-new golf cart. The fact that the house is at the end of the road really posed no problems for us, and since it is at the end there is no traffic to worry about with the small kids. Boat access to the waterway is closer as well.
- We’ve always brought two fishing boats and paired them at houses with only one pier. Having 2 piers is really nice, and both have fish cleaning stations and a water hose. This year we actually had 3 fishing boats (18-20 feet) and the two piers handled it just fine. We also were able to roll the trailers out of the way into the side yard nearest the waterway for the week – something you can’t do at many of the rental houses.
-The pool, deck, and back yard are really nice. The kids spend a huge amount of time in the pool. The deck is large enough for the cornhole/beanbag boards, and the flood light at the pier gave enough light to play after dark, which we did nearly every night.
-The rear of this house faces east, so the main deck gets morning sun, but by mid afternoon when it starts to get hot the upper deck and pool area get shade. We’ve rented houses on both sides of the street – and we strongly prefer the orientation of this house.
-The outdoor kitchen is awesome. Granite countertops, bar seating, sink, under counter fridge, huge grill, and large outdoor burner. We boiled shrimp a few nights on the big burner, and then grilled burgers one night on the massive grill. Very nice.
- This house has a lot of toys. 3-4 kayaks, and this year there was a four-person paddle boat as well. The smaller kids really enjoyed the paddle boat. The area under the outdoor steps is used to store noodles, life jackets, boogie boards, etc. Many toys and accessories.
-The house has 4 refrigerators. A full sized one in the garage and main kitchen, the under counter at the outside kitchen, and another one in the master BR on the top floor.
-Every BR has a flatscreen, as well as the two living room areas.

Overall, we couldn't ask for a better property for our family vacation. We've reserved it again for next year.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect Vacation!!

Review submitted: June 6, 2013   Date of arrival: May 23, 2013

What a super beach house!! We had the best time in this beautiful place. It had all the amenities that you could ask for. We spent just a short time there, but, we are planning another trip in September.The owner (Paul) was absolutely wonderful to work with. The house was clean and well maintained, and I would highly recommend this house to any friend or relative that is looking for a place to rent. The pool and all of the extras (golf cart, bicycles, game room) were great. We hardly drove our vehicles while we were there, because we used the golf cart. We have a boat so, therefore, the two boat docks were a great additive. I can't wait until September, so that we can relax and enjoy this beautiful place again. Hopefully, we will be renting this house for many years to come.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Charlotte, NC Mom

Review submitted: April 30, 2013   Date of arrival: March 31, 2013

Great beach house for a large group! Well stocked with necessities and extras like games and bikes. The location on the corner of 2 canals made for interesting views which we enjoyed. Great porches(one with a hammock) and pool. Outdoor kitchen by the pool was fun for cook-out. Just a very livable house with everything you need at the beach! Owner was very accommodating with whatever we asked for.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Every Amenity

Review submitted: April 29, 2013   Date of arrival: April 21, 2013

We enjoyed our 2nd stay as much as the 1st in this beautiful canal home. With temps in the high 60’s and low 70’s, the heated pool provided yet another wonderful feature of this home. While only 2 of us, the home accommodates many more. The property sits on one of the best lots on OIB as it is a very short trip to the waterway. The owner is great to work with.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

peace an quiet

Review submitted: April 28, 2013   Date of arrival: April 7, 2013

What a wonderful vacation home !! Myself and my extented family stadey a week in this home and it was perfect. We were from ages 11 to 73. We vacation for different reasons, some like myself do it to relax. the house was great for this. I fished off the dock and napped in the hammock listining to the ocean breeze. For the ladies it is only 30 minutes to all the shops in myrtle beach, but only 5 minutes to the supermarket. So if you want a relaxing vacation that is close enough to all myrtle beach has to offer, this is the house for you, it was very clean and had every thing you will need to make great memories.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Rent this one

Review submitted: November 27, 2012   Date of arrival: November 19, 2012

Three generations under one roof for nearly a week, and the house handled it beautifully. Cleanest house we have rented on OIB. Layout is great. Outdoor kitchen has everything you could need. Owner is very easy to work with. Book a visit here, you'll love it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect!!!

Review submitted: October 1, 2012   Date of arrival: September 1, 2012

This house was the perfect vacation spot for our family!!! It had everything to keep our children entertained and the golf cart made the beach not so far away. We loved having the pool right there to use whenever we wanted and the fully-equipped outdoor kitchen was very convenient for the nights that we fixed supper there. Paul was great to work with. We hope to stay at this house again!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great House

Review submitted: September 3, 2012   Date of arrival: August 25, 2012

This home had all the accommodations to make our vacation a great one despite hurricane Isaac. Loved opening the blinds in the morning to the view of the canal. The golf cart made getting to the beach a easy one. We enjoyed the game room, docks for fishing and kayaking for the first time. We hope to rent this home again next year the owner was a pleasure to work with.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great family vacation spot!

Review submitted: August 6, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

We had a wonderful family vacation. The home and amenities were everything that was promised. The owner was very responsive to our needs. The only suggestion I have is to get someone to heavily clean the stove or maybe even replace it. It was very dirty. I scrubbed on it with what I had but made it look only marginally better. We loved everything this home had to offer and would definitely stay there again. Having the pool was wonderful!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful canal home with incredible pool!!

Review submitted: August 3, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

Our family group loved this house. It was our first rental not right on the ocean and we loved it so much we have rented it for next year!! The owner is was wonderful with our questions and everything was exactly as listed on the website. You will love the outdoor kitchen by the pool, it provides a great addtional living area. Our favorite was the screened in porch overlooking the canal. Thanks for a great vacation!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Something for Everyone

Review submitted: July 8, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

We just returned from a week at 54 Scotland and it was wonderful. The home has some incredible features. The pool is just what you want after a day at the beach, which is a 2 minute golf cart ride away. The kayaks proved to be a hit for the adults as well as children. The dock with its crab trap and nets were a favorite to the kids who spent hours catching fish and crabs. The game room on the lower level was another attraction for all of the kids. It had not only a pool table, table tennis and fusbal as well as a large flat screen tv that the kids enjoyed with the gaming station. There was truly something for everyone. We couldn't have been more pleased with this rental.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful family reunion house

Review submitted: May 27, 2012   Date of arrival: May 18, 2012

My husband's family is from the area, has been vacationing in Ocean Isle for decades, and this was the best house ever. The kids were never bored, as the swimming pool kept them occupied while the adults enjoyed the spacious pool deck area overlooking the canal on two sides, with a huge BBQ for cooking right there. The bigger kids/adults had use of bikes, kayaks and a golf cart. The kitchen was supplied with basics, such as salt, pepper, ketchup, mustard, which made the grocery shopping easier. We recommend buying fresh shrimp from the roadside stand on hwy 179 about 2 miles west of OIB. Only go to Calabash if you like fried food. We definitely want to rent here again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Relaxing weekend

Review submitted: April 30, 2012   Date of arrival: April 25, 2012

My wife and I were looking for a relaxing weekend and this house was perfect. The only thing we needed was more time. The house was layed out perfect for a family even though we did not bring the kids this time but we will be staying again and bringing them along. We have been staying in various homes for the last 8 yrs and I can say this is a 5/5 home for sure.

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

spring dream

Review submitted: April 11, 2012   Date of arrival: April 1, 2012

this was my first time using vrbo. i will say we made an excellent choice in picking this house. the owner Paul was wonderful. we enjoyed the heated pool and loved having the golf cart to get back and forth to the beach. the beds were very comfortable and we really enjoyed the outdoor kitchen to grill our favorite meals. looking forward to coming back next april.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review