reviews for: listing #183148ha - Carlsbad, California rental

LaCosta Resort/ Luxury Estate On Fairway Close To The Beach, Free rental Car
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • rates (USD)  $ 3,500 / week
  • sleeps  14
  • pets considered  no

sort by:

Much more than we expected

Review submitted: September 9, 2009   Date of arrival: August 31, 2009

We rented this home with other family members for eight days prior to Labor Day. It is a beautiful house overlooking the La Costa golf course. There was room for everyone. It is a home away from home. None of us felt the need to go out for meals as the kitchen is fully equipped and the appliances top of the line. The upstairs pool table provided hours of enjoyment. The outside seating and dining areas are comfortable and the views spectacular. I would highly recommend this place. We all felt it was one of the best rentals we have ever used.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great House

Review submitted: April 3, 2014   Date of arrival: March 22, 2014

We stayed here for a week with 13 people. It was great!! The house was huge and well maintained and everything the description said it was. There was enough room that we could all be together if we wanted, or if we wanted our separate spaces we could do that too!! The owner was great to deal with. The location was great, wonderful views from almost every room. I would definitely go back again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

"A Family Vacation to Remember"

Review submitted: March 30, 2014   Date of arrival: September 17, 2013

For months, we searched for a unique and luxurious place to celebrate our "wonderful family" and finally found the ideal place. From the moment of our arrival to the time that we left, we felt as we had found the perfect property that met all of our family's needs. A property which offered tranquility as well as adventure for the youngest to the oldest member of our family. The house is located on a beautiful golf course setting that captivates you as soon as you set foot inside the door. As we relaxed and enjoyed our time together, we found plenty of room for all of us to have our own space, while also having the space for all of us to gather together in a common space, to share memories, to laugh, and and celebrate lives. The game room with pool table was a family favorite as well as the the large outdoor patio which had a tremendous outside grill and a place we loved to gather in the mornings for coffee. The gourmet equipped kitchen, the thick bath towels, the immensely comfortable beds and soft, cotton bed linens all added to the luxurious feel that we experienced. The property was very clean and well cared for and we found that this was the perfect location for the perfect “family“getaway.” The owner, truly has a gift for creating nurturing, peaceful space and all who visit feel his care. We hated to leave this wonderful house and can’t wait to go back again. We truly had a family vacation that we will never forget!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Big Family - Awesome Visit

Review submitted: March 24, 2014   Date of arrival: March 15, 2014

Our family stayed here for a week in mid-March. The property looks great in the video/pics but it is way better in person. We used the kitchen and the grill every day - plenty of dishes, appliances, utensils, silverware, etc.. We liked having the double oven and the oversized fridge, as well as plenty of pantry space. The bedrooms were spacious and well-appointed- beds and linens were comfortable and very nice. Plenty of towels in the bathrooms - all we had to do was unpack, buy groceries, and relax. Plus, the view off of the back deck & balconies is gorgeous, especially at night. The location was perfect for us - just under 30 minutes to the zoo, the seals at La Jolla, the USS Midway, & Old Town. LA is just a couple of hours away (we did it all). In the immediate area there are plenty of places to shop, eat, get coffee, & work out (we used PureFitness in Carlsbad). The owner is very helpful and easy to work with - he's a straight shooter and up front about everything. We had a great experience all the way around. Bottom Line - this house is everything the description says it is, only better. If we come back to the area we will be staying here again.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

One of the best homes pn the golf course

Review submitted: August 23, 2013   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

The home is exactly as advertised and the owner is very attentive. You can tell he wants you to have a great vacation. Upon arrival we found the blender was not working and he delivered one within the hour. There is more than enough room for two families without compromising individual privacy!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Positive Reviews are Spot On

Review submitted: August 5, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

I am not sure this house could be any better. It is spacious and luxurious. The pool table was of good quality and made for hours of fun. Not only is there enough sleeping space for 14, but there is enough living space for 14...and that isn't always the case in sometimes-cramped vacation rentals. There is a park within walking distance that is well kept and fun for kids. Convenient access to the freeway and the beach. Pictures are accurate, but don't do the house justice.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Gorgeous house + Great Owner = Amazing Vacation

Review submitted: July 26, 2013   Date of arrival: May 30, 2013

This house is amazing and advertised perfectly. Craig was very accommodating for my families needs and the house was stunning. The kids felt like we were living in a castle for a week. The location of the house is perfect and set back from the road on a golf course gives you nice privacy. The porch can accommodate tons of people and the bedrooms had plenty of room. I would highly recommend this property and the owner and hope to stay at this home again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect First Time Rental Experience

Review submitted: June 17, 2013   Date of arrival: June 9, 2013

Perfect rental for our family to celebrate the graduation of our granddaughters, renewal of wedding vows, Father's Day and a birthday! The home was immaculate and perfect for our bunch of 6 adults and 8 grandchildren. The kitchen was well appointed and perfect for the "chef" to come out in everyone who cooked. The use of the van was a big plus since the majority of the family flew in. Great overall experience! We look forward to renting this home again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great stay!

Review submitted: April 22, 2013   Date of arrival: March 21, 2013

I took my kids and two grandsons out to LaCosta for spring break. The house was great, and can definitely sleep 15 yet was cozy for the five of us. Nicely stocked kitchen, great views of the golf course, and cooking on the grill on the patio was a real bonus. We want to come back next spring break with another family of three, so we better get our reservation in soon! Thanks for a wonderful experience!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfection!

Review submitted: March 18, 2013   Date of arrival: February 24, 2013

This is by far one of the most amazing vacation homes I have stayed at. It is clean, roomy, comfortable, private and conveniently located. The kitchen and dining areas were fabulous. We prefer to eat in so this was a huge plus for us. In addition to the gourmet kitchen the home has an outdoor bar-b-que on a patio overlooking the La Costa Golf Course. Each upstairs bedroom and suites had private balconies and separate bathrooms. The upstairs also has a game room for activities. It also has its own balcony. The living area is downstairs and provides space for quiet conversation and/or movie viewings. The house comes with a 7 passenger minivan for use to travel about the area. Beach chairs, towels and sand toys and bicycles are also provided. Many excellent restaurants and eateries are close by. As is shopping, theme parks, tide pools, hiking trails and the like. The home is amazing and we look forward to staying again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lovely spacious home

Review submitted: February 3, 2013   Date of arrival: January 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this house, along with our daughter, son-in-law and their four kids.
There was plenty of room for all of us.
The game room upstairs was a real hang-out room. It had a pool table, card/game table, sofa, bar with stools and a closet full of games.
The large breakfast room worked well and the formal dining room was a plus.
The living room was able to accommodate all of us at once.
The view, at night, from the master bedroom and the terraces was incredible.
The walk to the Albertson's shopping area was probably under a mile and we did it often.
We enjoyed our stay so much - would love to return.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Room for families to spread out

Review submitted: November 9, 2012   Date of arrival: October 18, 2012

The LaCosta house was as beautiful as the photos and offered great space for families to have fun being together -- but also enjoy having space of their own. The home was clean, open and well equipped.

We gathered family from three east coast states to celebrate an event in the life of our west coast family members. The house allowed the young folks to play pool and chatter upstairs or in front of the TV, while older ones visited on the large deck overlooking the golf course. Little ones loved the tiled entry floor for driving their cars and playing with their toys.

The kitchen was fantastic. So much storage and counter space! Don't know what someone could possibly NOT like at this vacation house. We'll always remember our days at "The Villa" as we all fondly dubbed our temporary home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spacious executive home!

Review submitted: December 4, 2011   Date of arrival: October 8, 2011

We traveled to Carlsbad for a girls getaway. The home was plenty big enough to accommodate the 5 of us. We prepared delicious meals in the large, gourmet kitchen. The photos that you see are very representative of the quality and setting of the home. We utilized the piano and the pool table both extensively. What fun! The property was clean and well maintained. There were plenty of beach items there for our use (boogie boards, beach chairs, umbrella, toys) as well as bicycles for our use.
The owner lives nearby and was very helpful and accommodating.

I would highly recommend this lovely home for a relaxed vacation getaway.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Rental

Review submitted: October 14, 2011   Date of arrival: June 9, 2011

My family of 12 had a reunion at this house, this past June. We all fit comfortably, loved the location and really appreciated the use of an SUV for such a reasonable price. We spent many hours out on the deck over looking the golf course. Beautiful!! The owners were very nice and accommodating.
We will definitely keep your place in mind when planning another trip to Southern California.
Thanks again

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Vacation - Anniversary Retreat

Review submitted: August 28, 2011   Date of arrival: August 20, 2011

What an excellent venue this was. We had never considered a vacation home rental previously, but this was the best idea ever! The house was perfect. A luxurious hideaway with tons of room and amenities. The vehicle was also a great addition, and came in handy for picking up relatives from the airport.

Minutes to supermarket, restaurants, and the beach. I recommend "Thai-Pasta" if you like Asian food, and the "Broken-Yolk" has an excellent breakfast menu.

I would not hesitate to recommend this property, or any of the other properties Craig rents. He is absolutely top-notch, and great to deal with. Thanks Craig, and we will definitely be back!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A perfect place for a family gathering

Review submitted: June 18, 2011   Date of arrival: May 10, 2011

We had a perfect family reunion here. The space was comfortable for all ages (even little ones) and has many comfortable group locations but plenty of privacy when wanted. The owner provides everything from high chairs to boogie boards. The internet worked perfectly and the patio was the perfect place to spend the afternoon. Easily the most comfortable place I have ever rented.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Exceeded our expectations!

Review submitted: May 6, 2011   Date of arrival: April 18, 2011

My family rented this house at the last minute (3 weeks prior to arrival) for a small family reunion and to celebrate 2 birthdays. It was originally not available, but the owner contacted us after he received a late cancellation. My husband and I live locally, so we drove by to take a look, and immediately called my in-laws to say "book it"! The house is as great in person as it is in the pictures... (We have rented MANY vacation homes, and this is often not the case...) It is huge, so everyone has lots of room and there's plenty of privacy. The furnishings are beautiful, and it is well-equipped and very well-maintained. Because it was a last-minute booking, we weren't even aware that there was a pool table! (There's no picture of this in the ad.) So that was a very welcome and pleasant surprise. The back patio overlooking La Costa Golf Course is amazing... Luckily we had some good weather while we were there, so we thoroughly enjoyed it. The house really exceeded our expectations... I'm now considering it for larger reunion for my side of the family... Highly recommended! :-)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

All you could Want and MORE in a Vacation Home

Review submitted: April 27, 2011   Date of arrival: April 21, 2011

What a great home, close to beach, fine dining and great sunsets.

The owner was very helpful and we will definitely make a return trip.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Week with Family

Review submitted: March 7, 2011   Date of arrival: January 19, 2011

My family came in to town to celebrate the birth of our daughter. The owner was more than accommodating, and was very helpful in getting my family settled. The house was spectacular. All the rooms were clean and well maintained, and the view was breathtaking. We had such a great time and did not want to leave. The rooms were big, beautiful, and had very comfy beds. The house is in a great location and it was easy to get to local attractions. We will definitely be back! Thanks a million!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

FANTASTIC STAY!!!

Review submitted: September 1, 2010   Date of arrival: August 31, 2010

We rented this house from July 31 to Aug 7. This house was so nice and comfortable for our entire family. There were 12 adults and 4 children there at once for a few nights and we nevedr felt crowded. We spent most of out time in the kitchen area and on the wonderful patio. The weather was perfect and our guys even walked down and played a few holes in the evening. Craig was very accomodating to us and we used the free car only a couple of times as it came in very handy. We have every intention of retruning next year it was a perfect vacation for us all. The guys went fishing almost every day in the ocean and had a geat time doing that also. Thanks for everything. The Moores and Aquinos

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Home

Review submitted: June 30, 2010   Date of arrival: May 15, 2010

This was a beautiful home with great amenities. It was very well outfitted with wonderful views. We had 8 adults and 5 little ones in our group, and all were quite comfortable. We had plenty of room. The kitchen was great. We TRULY enjoyed our time there. Craig was a great host and very accommadating. He provided a 2010 Malibu for us to use (at no additional cost). We didn't end up needing to use it, but what a nice touch if we did. He had beach chairs, beach toys, bikes and even a couple of boogie boards to use. You can't get much more full service than that. The only possible drawback was no back yard other than a wonderful full length patio, for our little ones to play on. HOWEVER the beach was only 3 miles away and a wonderful park just a couple of miles away the other direction and plenty of room inside the house to be very comfortable. Overall we had a great time and would come back again and again. It was a very relaxing vacation. The home was also very quiet set back off the street the way it was. A very safe and private feeling. Thanks Craig for everything.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A week to remember

Review submitted: June 17, 2010   Date of arrival: May 29, 2010

My husband and 4 of our children, their spouses and 2 of our grandchildred enjoyed a fabulous time in this home the first week of June. The only thing missing was our daughter and her 3 kids who couldn't make it. It exceeded our expectations and a week was too short. Everyday was a new adventure and a challange to get out the door, and never enough time to fully enjoy the house. But at the end of the day we had a relaxing time on the patio that overlooks the golf course and a beautiful view of the sunset. The use of the vehicles and transportation to and from the airport was truly a bonus. Thank you Craig for sharing your home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 13, 2010   Date of arrival: February 13, 2010

This home is fabulous. We had the pleasure of
renting this home on January 26 - January 30,
2010. The house was conveniently located near
everything you would want or need. Craig, the
owner, was very helpful. He even drove us to our
meeting from the house so we would know how to
get there. It was great to be picked up at the
airport and have a car available to us, and also be
driven back to the airport when our stay ended. We
were in San Diego on business and wished we had
more time to enjoy our stay in the home, which was
situated on one of the best golf courses (La Costa)
in the country. I would highly recommend this
home to all and look forward to renting this home
again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 2, 2010   Date of arrival: February 2, 2010

We rented this house for a tennis tournament at La Costa. The house is beautiful and is close to the resort and the beach. All three couples had a wonderful time and we want to come back next year. Fantastic place!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: December 2, 2009   Date of arrival: December 2, 2009

We just enjoyed a wonderful Thanksgiving week with our family at this beautiful and spacious home. This house was the ideal place for our family to gather and celebrate not only Thanksgiving but the birth of our first grandchild. The bedrooms are large providing privacy for our grown children and their spouses. The upstairs family/game room provided many hours of entertainment either on the regulation pool table or at the gaming table where friendly family poker games allowed all the "kids" to play dealer's choice games well into the night. The kitchen was equipped with all the necessary pots, pans and cooking spaces to deliver a wonderful Thanksgiving meal for 10 people. The elegant dining room that overlooks the La Costa golf course was the finishing touch to a great day. We had a great time in a great setting and we will come back to this wonderful home for our next family event.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 27, 2009   Date of arrival: October 27, 2009

We just returned from a week's stay at this awesome, luxurious home in Carlsbad. We were in the area for our son's wedding. We enjoyed the beautiful views of the La Costa Golf Course. This home had every imaginable amenity that was necessary for our stay. We felt right at home with Craig's hospitality and special touches such as picking us up at the airport and driving us to the home and taking the time to explain the home and features to us. The rental car came in very handy. We will definitely rent this house again the next time we are in the San Diego area. It was so hard to leave the home on Sunday, we just wanted to stay longer. Thank you, Craig!! We will miss your beautiful home!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nice views

Review submitted: October 27, 2009   Date of arrival: September 26, 2009

The house was nice and big with great views of the La Costa golf course. It is an old house that seems dated in some areas but it definitely does the job as a nice family retreat. Nice location!

The owner did nickel and dime us a lot which left a bad taste in our mouths. He charged me an additional fee for cleaning the car that I rented from him, something that was not mentioned in the rental agreement. Also, before we came in, he seemed to forget that we had already paid for the rental cars in the upfront payments and tried to charge us again. The rental cars are old with a ton of miles on them and while it was a good deal in terms of the price, the cars were not in the condition that they were made out to be at the time the owner tried to sell us the property. Also tried to charge me extra for some dishes that were not cleaned when we had actually cleaned them. It is not a big deal but when we just paid him a good chunk of money for the week, I dont expect to be asked for extra money to clean a few dishes. The owner could have been gracious enough to say he would take care of it, especially when we were gracious enough to not make a fuss when they were doing some major paint work in the master bathroom when we checked into the property.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: I think our pictures and virtual tour shows how nice our house is especially when you read all the other reviews,I charge for a car wash which I feel is fare when the car was free and needs to be clean for the next family same as the house.I also explain at the check in that all dishes must be clean and put away at check out,the renters were young men from a wedding and left pots and dishes on counters and in dish washer I said I normally charge extra but I didnt this time cause he got upset.I also let the guests stay later because there flights were later no charge.also I was told the young mans family was going to stay at my house and it ended up to be 10 young men I was mislead. .We try to make everybodys stay the best vacation possible.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: September 16, 2009   Date of arrival: September 16, 2009

We rented this home with other family members for eight days in late Aug. 2009. It was more than we expected. The owner went out of his way to insure our stay was perfect, and perfect it was. Our daughter was getting married in the Carlsbad area and a window washer showed up during our stay to make sure the windows would be streak free for her pictures prior to leaving for the wedding. The house is absolutely beautiful and our family of nine never felt crowded. It was, perhaps, the best vacation rental we have ever had. Even people who visited the home prior to the wedding said they would love to return and rent the house.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Can't wait to return

Review submitted: July 29, 2009   Date of arrival: July 18, 2009

If you want to visit the San Diego area, this house is the ideal place to start. The house is beautiful - just as described and pictured in the listing. All the rooms are large, very clean, and well-maintained. Beautiful setting with outdoor patios. Conveniently located close to the I-5 freeway. The owner is very responsive, knowledgable about the area, and easily reached by cell phone. There is wireless internet access - bring your own laptop. It's a short drive to the Carlsbad beach, La Jolla, and San Diego attractions. Food shopping and convenient shopping center are located less than a mile from the house. Also, it's about 100 miles to Los Angeles - less to Orange County and Anaheim. We're already talking about returning.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Wonderful Vacation

Review submitted: June 18, 2009   Date of arrival: June 7, 2009

This home is just as described. Large, beautiful, close to the beach, gorgeous views, and perfect for a family. Craig treats you like personal friends. He loaned us a very nice 2008 car that came in handy since we had travelled in a large van. Shopping is close and La Costa is a perfect central location for the San Diego area. The home is so large, and long, that the noise from the kids playing Xbox at one end did not travel to the other. We loved the pool table and the huge TV's but best of all we loved the deck, which is enormous. I could - and did - sit for days on the patio and just soak up that wonderful ocean breeze. We were in town for a wedding and would definitely stay here again. I was concerned because the price seemed a little low but as it turns out, Craig just likes to keep it rented and has priced it very well. You will not be disappointed. He even gave back our security deposit as we were leaving which I thought was a really nice final touch. Thanks Craig.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Memorial Day Fun

Review submitted: June 2, 2009   Date of arrival: May 21, 2009

My family and I just got back from a week in Craig's home. It was PERFECT. The house was gorgeous, spacious and had everything that we needed. It was close to all the attractions that we wanted to do, yet secluded and quite. There were 9 adults and a child and yet we never felt cramped. After justs a few days it flet like home. Craig even hooked us up with rental cars that saved us a lot of money. I would recommend this property to anyone who is looking to get a way.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: May 26, 2009   Date of arrival: May 25, 2009

My family stayed in this lovely home during Easter
2009. All of us were very comfortable, from the
grandparents to the grandkids. The house had
something for all of us including huge bedrooms,
very comfortable beds, plenty of bathrooms and a
huge kitchen. We had the use of the van and Craig
picked us up at the airport and dropped us back off
again at the end of our stay. We'd definitely rent
this house again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 15, 2009   Date of arrival: May 15, 2009

I was staying at this big and beautiful house from 5/4/09-5/9/09, it really is an entertainer’s delight. A large living room with a big screen TV, and if you open up the windows you get the breeze from the near by ocean. Upstairs has a large game room with a bar and a pool table, great for kids or adults.The beautiful kitchen is equipped with ample of cook wares and utensils; it has a great view of La Costa golf course from the kitchen window and patio.Great vacation home for a large family or company employees attending conferences and or have private meetings at home.The house is very secluded and quiet; yet has all the convenience of the shops and restaurants near by.I would highly recommend this vacation home to any one.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Vic's stay Spring '09

Review submitted: April 13, 2009   Date of arrival: April 4, 2009

We are just finishing our week at this house. The house is perfect for any need or desire. It sits on the back nine of one of the most prestigious golf courses in Southern CA.I have rented from VRBO for many years and have found Craig to be excellent to work with. The house was nicer, cleaner, bigger then expected. He went way above and beyond to make our stay comfortable. We were picked up from baggage claim at the airport and dropped off at the house with a car waiting. He made sure our kids had plenty of toys and offered excellent discounts to all the local attractions. It is truly a first class operation. If you are looking for a place in the area this ought to be your first choice. We look forwad to renting from Craig again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: April 13, 2009   Date of arrival: April 13, 2009

We are just finishing our week at this house. The house is perfect for any need or desire. It sits on the back nine of one of the most prestigious golf courses in Southern CA.I have rented from VRBO for many years and have found Craig to be excellent to work with. The house was nicer, cleaner, bigger then expected. He went way above and beyond to make our stay comfortable. We were picked up from baggage claim at the airport and dropped off at the house with a car waiting. He made sure our kids had plenty of toys and offered excellent discounts to all the local attractions. It is truly a first class operation. If you are looking for a place in the area this ought to be your first choice. We look forwad to renting from Craig again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 11, 2009   Date of arrival: April 10, 2009

We are just finishing our week at this house. The house is perfect for any need or desire. It sits on the back nine of one of the most prestigious golf courses in Southern CA.I have rented from VRBO for many years and have found Craig to be excellent to work with. The house was nicer, cleaner, bigger then expected. He went way above and beyond to make our stay comfortable. We were picked up from baggage claim at the airport and dropped off at the house with a car waiting. He made sure our kids had plenty of toys and offered excellent discounts to all the local attractions. It is truly a first class operation. If you are looking for a place in the area this ought to be your first choice. We look forwad to renting from Craig again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 8, 2009   Date of arrival: February 8, 2009

I stayed in this beautiful home Jan 28th, 29th and 30th. I celebrated my 50th birthday with special friends and family. There was enough room for everyone. I presently live in Del Mar in a 2 bedroom apartment and wanted to plan something special for my 50th birthday and have a nice and elegant place to celebrate my birthday.

Well I couldn't have picked a better place to share with my friends and family. I had 20 people at my party and it was so perfect. Everyone commented on how spacious and gorgeous the home was along with the breathtaking views of the golf course.

This home has everything you need. A beautiful pool table along with a elegant wet bar upstairs. The master bedroom is amazing and the views of the golf course are unbelievable.

The master bedroom has a large screen tv along with a beautiful fireplace. The king bed size is so so comfortable that I had a hard time getting up in the morning. The closet space is incredible.

The family loved the bedroom they stayed in. It was my mother and 3 teenage daughters. They said they felt like they were staying at the La Costa Resort. They also had an amazing view with 2 double beds. There was also another section of the bedroom that has a bunkbed for extra guests. The decor in there room was tropical and my family also commented on how comfortable their beds were. They loved it!

So as you can see my comments on this beautiful golf course view home are nothing but positive. Not only my comments but my guests as well. They loved my party, the home, the view, everything!

My friends and family also commented on how I picked such a perfect place for my special occasion. I was able to enjoy it the night before my birthday party, which was the 29th and the day after my party on the 30th. So I had 3 days that were more than perfect and staying here makes you feel so special. I pampered myself with the jacuzzi tub in the master bedroom, playing some pool, sitting at the wet bar having a drink and sitting in my room on the loveseat taking in the beautiful golf course views while I had love songs playing on my big screen tv. What more can you ask for.

This is the perfect vacation home. I was impressed that all we had to do is walk in the door with our bags and everything was there for us. We had all our linens, towels, silverware, utensils, pots and pans, appliances, dishes and glasses.

Another thing I liked about this vacation rental is that the owner is there for you every step of the wa

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 7, 2009   Date of arrival: February 7, 2009

My family of five (four adults and one toddler) had a wonderful time staying at the house for five days. It is very spacious and comfortable. The view of the fairway is really great. The location is also very convenient. There is a mall with an Albertsons, a NY-style pizza place, a bagel shop and a breakfast/brunch restaurant two minutes away. Legoland and Carlsbad Premium Outlets are just a short drive away.

The owner Craig really tried to make our stay as comfortable and convenient as possible. We told him that there was no hairdryer in the house and he got us one almost immediately. He also refunded our deposit right away after his walkthrough.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What a Great Thanksgiving

Review submitted: December 1, 2008   Date of arrival: November 26, 2008

This house was just what I was looking for, A private beautiful home located on La Costa Golf Course. This place had all the amenities and more. With up th 10 @ 1 time during our stay we did'nt once feel cramped. Great appliances, great golf course views all day long, and very private and quite.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

rental review

Review submitted: November 20, 2008   Date of arrival: November 8, 2008

The home was clean, quiet & beautiful. Everything is just as the pictures show. Beautiful view of golf corse from every room. Incredible master suite with dual master bathroom a plus.
We were in town for a family wedding. Was cheaper to rent this beautiful home than the 3 or 4 hotel rooms we were going to rent. My husband, myself & our 4 adult children stayed there. People were coming & going to meet cousins, go out at night & some went to Disneyland. My husband & I just stayed at the house. We never heard anyone leave or come in. Didn't hear showers running or anyone talking or going up & down the stairs. The house was very quiet.
The kitchen was large & fully stocked with dishes, utensils, serving platters, bowls & most importantly a blender. The gas stove top had 6 burners. We grocery shopped at Alberton's right down the road. I made a nacho bar while everyone enjoyed football on the big screen tv by the fireplace. Very cozy & comfortable!
The house also had a pooltable & bar. There was a balcony & bathroom for every bedroom.
We are not golfers and intended to find a beach house. We could not find a beach house for a group our size & only needed a place for 2 nights. Craig, the owner of the property was very accomidating, renting us the house for only 2 nights. We loved this house & the view was incredible even for non-glofers. All of our kids loved it. We would definatly stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great home - just as described - highly recommend

Review submitted: November 9, 2008   Date of arrival: November 1, 2008

We rented this home for a week's vacation in the San Diego area. The home is beautiful inside. The rooms are all very large and comfortable and everything is in great condition. The kitchen is a dream to cook in. The house is convenient to shopping (grocery stores, coffee, etc. less than 5 mins away), a great beach and the freeway for access to area attractions. Legoland is just 10 mins away, and Disneyland is just over an hour. There is plenty to do in the area. The patio behind the house that looks out onto the golf course is great for dining or just relaxing. There is a table for 6 plus lounges and a second seating area. There are also balconies upstairs off the bedrooms. The neighborhood was quiet at night - no street noise - and the beds were new and comfortable for sleeping. Two of the bedrooms and the living room had large screen tvs. Beach towels and chairs were available, along with bikes. The owner was very accomodating and pleasant to work with, and his description of the property is very accurate. The house would work well for a variety of groups and ages. We were traveling with our two young children, so we spent a lot of time at the house. The space and layout made for a great place for them to play and for us to relax. We rented the car that is available with the house, and that also worked out very well too. Our security deposit was promptly refunded. We were sorry to leave, and hope to come back someday!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Fabulous week in Carlsbad

Review submitted: June 23, 2008   Date of arrival: June 8, 2008

On arrival, the home was much more than I had anticipated! The home was very clean and inviting. The 3 bedrooms are very oversized and luxurious. Beautiful golf course views from almost every window. We loved playing pool in the billiard/wet bar room. The home is very close to plenty of shopping and grocery stores. Moonlight Beach in Encinitas is close by and very family oriented. Ki's restaurant in Cardiff by the Sea is excellent. One night, we used the BBQ grill on the back porch and had a fantastic spread for my family and some friends to enjoy.

The owner responded quickly to some minor problems with one window blind and was very prompt in refunding the security deposit at time of check out.

We had a great vacation experience in Carlsbad and will definitely rent this property again when vacationing in the San Diego County area!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review